View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Samtrish
9 Sep 2005, 13:30
Hulme will be fine, dont think he will be to keen to miss out on the 2k he will get for a finals win.
Going to the game tige19 or given Benalla up to concentrate on Tatura
Be very carefull mate, unless you dont mind being relegated from the site and thrown with 10 dozen viruses to you IP just like my mate Researcher :eek: .
And i wont be going to either, unless Benalla play on the Sunday and i might head up with 1 of the boys. Anyhow im going to the GF and if you would like to talk more to me then id be happy to.
cheers
ECHUCABOY
9 Sep 2005, 14:20
haha good form tige, ganna be an interesting year next year, but first this year.....You would expect Mansfield to come back.
bradrowe#32
9 Sep 2005, 14:32
Echucaboy: Not your argument, so stay out.
Bradrowe: Fair enough re the reserves, i understand you, Ky, Tonny, etc have had lots of competition from the likes of Lancaster, Rushy, etc in the KD who take your border line players. I suppose that is country footy. GV is a good comp, and those who can't quite squeeze a game in the ones go to the KD. It is unfortunate for the smaller clubs in like Rochy, Seymour, Euroa, and Tonny but all the smaller town clubs are in the same boat.
There are years where a lot of these border line players bite the bullet and think, the ressies will be good, i might as well go an play in the better standard.
There was a guest of Eric Botts at the Benalla v Shepp finals last week, he said the standard of twos finals was better than a Latrobe Valley senior league. That is good for GV footy. There are some handy players running around in the magoo's.
Shepparton will win the ressies flag by 10 goals in the GF.
Anyone know how Tranquilli and Hulme pulled up with their strings? I heard Hulme was worse than Tranquilli.
Hulme recently missed like 8 matches, was it for the same injury? Or a different one?
I agree that Shepparton should win the ressies flag easily. Their only real competition should be Benalla.
This year was interesting for me personally as it's the first time I've played GV for 5 years. The ressies comp. was totally dominated by Shep and Benalla with a few other decent teams. I've watched a few KDFL games this year and I reckon the top reserves teams there (Ardmona, Rushworth, Stanhope) would beat the bottom 5 teams in the GV.
'There are years where a lot of these border line players bite the bullet and think, the ressies will be good, i might as well go an play in the better standard.'
I completely agree with that. Rochy had a practice match against Tongala earlier this year and two guys left our team to go to Heathcote and get paid $100 each per game.
bradrowe#32
9 Sep 2005, 14:35
A few posts on here have talked about dirty's behaviour last weekend, at half time of the game.
another post mentioned it maybe had something to do with Joey Amad whacking blokes behind play or something.
I am not having a crack at you, just interested to hear if anything happened as it has popped up from two separate sources on this thread.
Don't worry Travvy, I didn't take it as a dig - I just hadn't heard anything about it.
The 2nd quarter was pretty heated with a few little incidents. I was actually down the factory end having shots at goal from the boundary at half time (pretty ordinary effort too, I was about 2 from 20). I actually saw a few Rochy people go over as the teams came close together when they went in.
Rochy played at Seymour a few weeks ago and Dave and the crowd had a few words, but I think in this instance, it was just heat of the battle type behaviour. Both sides gave as good as they got, but Seymour obviously had the last laugh.
bradrowe#32
9 Sep 2005, 14:58
Ooohhh 3 posts in a row!
Just read in the Shep. News that the GV might block Tongala's move into the MFL. The 12 other clubs also have to vote on it.
I imagine that Mansfield, Euroa, Seymour, Benalla would be for the move as it eliminates one long drive for the season for them.
fat back pocket
9 Sep 2005, 15:21
Don't worry Travvy, I didn't take it as a dig - I just hadn't heard anything about it.
The 2nd quarter was pretty heated with a few little incidents. I was actually down the factory end having shots at goal from the boundary at half time (pretty ordinary effort too, I was about 2 from 20). I actually saw a few Rochy people go over as the teams came close together when they went in.
Rochy played at Seymour a few weeks ago and Dave and the crowd had a few words, but I think in this instance, it was just heat of the battle type behaviour. Both sides gave as good as they got, but Seymour obviously had the last laugh.
Did that maybe have something to do with the Heath Aitken incident?
Travvy43
9 Sep 2005, 17:11
Yeha well i think eric bott siad that they would refuse the application to leave the leage, but yeah good point the teams voting for the move to avoid one more long road trip. If the decision gets knocked back TFC still have the right to appeal with the Victorian Country Football League.
Ooohhh 3 posts in a row!
Just read in the Shep. News that the GV might block Tongala's move into the MFL. The 12 other clubs also have to vote on it.
I imagine that Mansfield, Euroa, Seymour, Benalla would be for the move as it eliminates one long drive for the season for them.
Travvy43
12 Sep 2005, 12:46
From what i read in the paper there wee two entrawling game on the weekend. The Maggies and lions game was a cracker, with the lead changing over 15 times throughout the game.
Howse reported, that is one the maggies will be sweating on.
Mansfield, from what i read had jsut too much class for benealla. Hotton in form. will be interesting to see if they get tranquilli and hulme back next week for the big game against the lions.
did anyone visit the games? will howse get weeks, what happened, who did he whack.
fat back pocket
12 Sep 2005, 13:24
From what i read in the paper there wee two entrawling game on the weekend. The Maggies and lions game was a cracker, with the lead changing over 15 times throughout the game.
Howse reported, that is one the maggies will be sweating on.
Mansfield, from what i read had jsut too much class for benealla. Hotton in form. will be interesting to see if they get tranquilli and hulme back next week for the big game against the lions.
did anyone visit the games? will howse get weeks, what happened, who did he whack.
Saw both games, Mansfield had just a little bit too much firepower for a galant benalla outfit. Hotton was good, trenfield was better.
Fraser Stevenson was hit pretty hard in the first or second quarter, can't remember, accidental hit, had concussion apparently, gutsy as ever, came back on and did some good things, set up some goals. Be interesting to see how he goes in another bruising encounter this weekend.
Mansfield had a half time lead of 3 goals, benalla shot out of the blocks in the 3rd to get 8 points up, with the Stevens bros. dominating, in and under. Symes had poor delivery to him all day, but finished with 6, great effort. Mansfield, through Hotton x 2, Stevenson, and Storer bounced back late in the 3rd term to steal back the lead, and although benalla tried hard in the last ran out of legs to go down.
No major injuries to come out of the game for Mansfield, Stevenson the only concern, but even then, he will play next week no worries.
SEY v EUR
What a cracker of a game, Euroa could have shell shocked the lions in the first term, but inacurate kicking cost them dearly, whilst the exact opposite kept the Lions in it.
Euroa dominated the first half, and the second half was probably even, Seymour had more of the ball, but didn't use it, 3 points to Pemberton in the first 5 mins didn't help seymour straight after half time.
Misses from Saad, Haberman and a massive chance went begging through the agency of Thomson for the Lions late in the last cost them.
Euroa seemed to have every Lions challenge accounted for, every time the Lions did something good, Euroa would dig in and get it back. They both did it, that made it the spectical it was.
Both teams had their opportunities to win, Euroa played the better footy early which in the end was the difference.
Howse should go, if he doesn't he should buy a lotto ticket, he has been reported for eye gouging Luke Jackson, he was sent off and reported. Jackson has scratches all around both eye's. He should get two, its a serious offence, Jackson could have been blinded for life if he scratches his eye ball.
Anyway, only time will tell, if he gets any weeks, and Euroa appeal, an appeal will cost them $5k. It will be interesting to see what happens.
Howse will be a massive loss if he gets rubbed out, arguably the best on ground in the second half, obviously getting sent off fired him up. He was incredible all around the ground.
Looking at Mansfield and Seymour, I don't think it matters who gets through to the GF, the GF will be a fantastic match. All 3 teams have big match winners. The GV flag is still well and trully up for grabs. But Euroa with the week off will be extremely hard to beat.
Massive crowd also great for GV footy. Largest gate for a finals game excluding the GF. $14k or around that for the gate.
Saw both games, Mansfield had just a little bit too much firepower for a galant benalla outfit. Hotton was good, trenfield was better.
Fraser Stevenson was hit pretty hard in the first or second quarter, can't remember, accidental hit, had concussion apparently, gutsy as ever, came back on and did some good things, set up some goals. Be interesting to see how he goes in another bruising encounter this weekend.
Mansfield had a half time lead of 3 goals, benalla shot out of the blocks in the 3rd to get 8 points up, with the Stevens bros. dominating, in and under. Symes had poor delivery to him all day, but finished with 6, great effort. Mansfield, through Hotton x 2, Stevenson, and Storer bounced back late in the 3rd term to steal back the lead, and although benalla tried hard in the last ran out of legs to go down.
No major injuries to come out of the game for Mansfield, Stevenson the only concern, but even then, he will play next week no worries.
SEY v EUR
What a cracker of a game, Euroa could have shell shocked the lions in the first term, but inacurate kicking cost them dearly, whilst the exact opposite kept the Lions in it.
Euroa dominated the first half, and the second half was probably even, Seymour had more of the ball, but didn't use it, 3 points to Pemberton in the first 5 mins didn't help seymour straight after half time.
Misses from Saad, Haberman and a massive chance went begging through the agency of Thomson for the Lions late in the last cost them.
Euroa seemed to have every Lions challenge accounted for, every time the Lions did something good, Euroa would dig in and get it back. They both did it, that made it the spectical it was.
Both teams had their opportunities to win, Euroa played the better footy early which in the end was the difference.
Howse should go, if he doesn't he should buy a lotto ticket, he has been reported for eye gouging Luke Jackson, he was sent off and reported. Jackson has scratches all around both eye's. He should get two, its a serious offence, Jackson could have been blinded for life if he scratches his eye ball.
Anyway, only time will tell, if he gets any weeks, and Euroa appeal, an appeal will cost them $5k. It will be interesting to see what happens.
Howse will be a massive loss if he gets rubbed out, arguably the best on ground in the second half, obviously getting sent off fired him up. He was incredible all around the ground.
Looking at Mansfield and Seymour, I don't think it matters who gets through to the GF, the GF will be a fantastic match. All 3 teams have big match winners. The GV flag is still well and trully up for grabs. But Euroa with the week off will be extremely hard to beat.
Massive crowd also great for GV footy. Largest gate for a finals game excluding the GF. $14k or around that for the gate.
Great report
Should have made the way up to see these matches, might have to make the journey for the prelim and granny. I presume they are at shepparton.
Saad is a big game player, well he was when he was with the northcote park cougars. Was talking to a mate who used to play with him and told me that he leaves straight after the match and not even showering. Is this still happening at seymour or is he staying around for a bit after the game.
Dash for cash
ECHUCABOY
12 Sep 2005, 13:35
Great report
Should have made the way up to see these matches, might have to make the journey for the prelim and granny. I presume they are at shepparton.
Saad is a big game player, well he was when he was with the northcote park cougars. Was talking to a mate who used to play with him and told me that he leaves straight after the match and not even showering. Is this still happening at seymour or is he staying around for a bit after the game.
Dash for cash
He may just have a small willy
bradrowe#32
12 Sep 2005, 13:43
He may just have a small willy
:D
Sounded like some good games over the weekend.
Euroa are obviously in the prime position to win the flag with the week off. The preliminary should be a tough game. I think I'll check that one out.
Anyone know who's won best and fairests around the league?
jmain14
12 Sep 2005, 13:48
Sounded like some good games over the weekend.
Euroa are obviously in the prime position to win the flag with the week off. The preliminary should be a tough game. I think I'll check that one out.
yeah sounds like a couple of good games over the w'end especially the euroa seymour game.
how was sat'y night rowey?? spoke to the gurf man - he sounded like he'd had a few under the belt.
bradrowe#32
12 Sep 2005, 13:50
yeah sounds like a couple of good games over the w'end especially the euroa seymour game.
how was sat'y night rowey?? spoke to the gurf man - he sounded like he'd had a few under the belt.
Oh dear, it wasn't pretty. It was the drunkest I've ever been I reckon.
Shame about those Cats. Why didn't Steve Johnson grab the ball and take it over the line?
Do you think you'll come up for the GF?
jmain14
12 Sep 2005, 14:08
Oh dear, it wasn't pretty. It was the drunkest I've ever been I reckon.
Shame about those Cats. Why didn't Steve Johnson grab the ball and take it over the line?
Do you think you'll come up for the GF?
he he. where did ya's go??
mate, I cried. I have been a pretty ordinary person to be around since friday night. yeah the dog johnson incident is one that sticks out but josh hunt deciding to stay down and not go as the third one up in that last quarter enabling f*****g nick davis to kick his second for the quarter sticks out more for mine. he had to go. anyway, I here that they have cancelled all mad monday celebrations and have opted for a full review of the game instead. I'd like to know if they have ran this past big cam moons and lingy.
yeah I might come back for the gf - what are your plans??
jmain14
12 Sep 2005, 14:09
he he. where did ya's go??
mate, I cried. I have been a pretty ordinary person to be around since friday night. yeah the dog johnson incident is one that sticks out but josh hunt deciding to stay down and not go as the third one up in that last quarter enabling f*****g nick davis to kick his second for the quarter sticks out more for mine. he had to go. anyway, I here that they have cancelled all mad monday celebrations and have opted for a full review of the game instead. I'd like to know if they have ran this past big cam moons and lingy.
yeah I might come back for the gf - what are your plans??
sorry to fat back pocket - I probably should have wrote this in the official rochy thread.
fat back pocket
12 Sep 2005, 14:13
sorry to fat back pocket - I probably should have wrote this in the official rochy thread.
lol.
ECHUCABOY
12 Sep 2005, 15:47
To right you should have, stupid rochy scum!
Im spewin I cant make it to the Granny this year, would be very interesting to see the game, hopefuly its a bit better than last years!
Travvy43
12 Sep 2005, 16:13
Andrew Reid took out tongala's
ECHUCABOY
12 Sep 2005, 16:22
Is he the big ruckman? Sure did belt the poo out of me in my first game
jmain14
12 Sep 2005, 16:35
Is he the big ruckman? Sure did belt the poo out of me in my first game
plays chf I think you'll find. echucaboy would be referring to either lurch or brent smith wouldn't he travvy??
jmain14
12 Sep 2005, 16:39
the latest with sportsbet is that one pumps jess is shortening to take out the 2's b&f at rochy.
bradrowe#32
12 Sep 2005, 16:56
the latest with sportsbet is that one pumps jess is shortening to take out the 2's b&f at rochy.
They put his name on the trophy at the start of the year.
ECHUCABOY
12 Sep 2005, 17:11
Smith, Read same thing. Yeah thats who I was talkin bout Mainy. I found an interesting article on seymour, I cut the start off cos it talks about the club history.
The bit here is about the last few years, thought it had a fair bit to do with what we have been discussing......This is from May this year.
Seymour's most recent flag came in 1991, after which the club lost its way. It made the finals in 1993 before beginning a decade of turmoil previously unimaginable at a club so accustomed to success.
"This thing of stopping at the end of August was very unusual to us. We had a month where we didn't know what to do with ourselves," Hebbard said.
Seeking a quick fix, the Lions tried high-profile coaches. In 1996, ex-Melbourne rover Ricky Jackson came and went.
"He didn't do much wrong because he just didn't do anything," said Seymour president Paul Cox.
The hiring of high-flying journeyman John McNamara in 2001 almost proved Seymour's downfall. At the end of the season, an extraordinary 27 players walked out on the club.
A slow rebuilding process began in 2002, when Cox took over as coach. Schottner filled the breach in 2003, as the club was forced to blood youngsters and won only three matches.
Finally, a three-year effort to entice renowned VFL coach Steve Daniel into country football was rewarded.
Daniel turned to coaching after a car accident ended his efforts to make the highest level as a player. When only 23, he made his debut as a senior coach at eastern suburban club Mount Waverley. After a six-year local football apprenticeship, he secured a position at the Northern Bullants, where he remained for seven seasons.
After the Bullants aligned themselves with Carlton, Daniel spent a year under the guidance of Denis Pagan. But he quickly tired of the bickering between the VFL club and the Blues.
"I just wanted to go back to local footy, where I can give something back," Daniel said. "The Goulburn Valley is held in high regard in the AFL and that really pointed me in this direction. I've been involved with a few Melbourne competitions and without a doubt, the GV is definitely better."
Daniel knew dragging Seymour up the ladder would be a massive task.
"I decided it had to be run like a VFL/AFL club if we were going to do it properly," he said.
Under his guidance, a coach's office and players' meeting room were constructed at the Lions' Kings Park headquarters. Now, every Thursday night before a game, Seymour players watch videos of their opposition and discuss in-depth tactics.
"The players feel like they're playing in the VFL with all the feedback they're getting and they just thrive on it," Daniel said.
He then hand-picked several quality recruits from the Bullants, among them former Adelaide and Melbourne defender Matthew Collins.
The injection of talent and a more professional approach paid immediate dividends, with the Lions surging up the ladder, despite losing four key players to serious knee injuries during the first half of the season.
"Our sponsorship probably doubled, our membership rose, our gate receipts went through the roof," said president Cox.
This year, the Lions have upped the ante. Suburban goalkicking machine Saad Saad has made the move north. He kicked six of the first seven goals against Rochester, and finished with 11, as the Lions won by 73 points - their first win against Rochester for almost 10 years. Also impressive in that match was local star Brendan Liddell, who has returned from the Wodonga Raiders.
Cox is adamant the club is not just trying to buy a flag. He has played a hand in starting a structured junior development program aimed at producing more home-grown talent.
"We've recruited quite heavily, but hopefully in the future, we won't have to recruit as many," Cox said. "All the young kids that are playing footy around the place want to play for Seymour when the senior side's going well. If we're continually getting beaten by 15 or 20 goals, they'll probably go elsewhere."
The biggest struggle for most country clubs is finding a way to stop the flow of talented juniors to the city. But Cox believes the Lions have the answer.
Each Tuesday, about 20 players train at La Trobe University under assistant coach Bernie Haberman. They are required at Seymour only every Thursday.
"The main thing is the enjoyment they're getting. It's not a chore for them to come up here," Cox said. "But if you don't train, you don't play. In the old days, you could just rock up and some of those blokes from Melbourne never handled a footy until Saturday. They were unfit and unskilled.
"Now we've got blokes that are 25 or 26 improving. Normally, you get to that age and there's no coming back. To have blokes improving their skills, fitness and strength at that age is unbelievable. We're bigger and stronger than we've ever been before."
Daniel knows only too well the Lions have plenty of work ahead, especially after the influx of star players into the rest of the Goulburn Valley league.
Among those heading north are former Carlton rover Darren Hulme, who has joined Trent Hotton and David Mensch at reigning premier Mansfield and former Kangaroos wingman Shane Clayton, who is proving his worth at Euroa.
Another former Roo, Anthony Mellington, has returned to Shepparton to play under Adrian Hickmott, while Blake Campbell has gone from Carlton to Mooroopna.
However, barring a disaster, Daniel is confident the Lions will be roaring come finals time.
"We don't really talk about the flag or anything like that now, but I'd like to think with all the effort we've put in, we'll certainly be up there," he said.
Name your GVFL team of the year.........
Mine:
FB: Hammil (Eur) B.Shelton (Eur) J.Anderson (Sey)
HB: Brad Campbell (Moor) P.Kirby (Tat) B.Stevens (Ben)
C: S.Clayton (Eur) D.Sage (Eur) C.Atkins (ky)
HF: P.Newman (ky) D.Mensch (Man) B.Singh (Moor)
FF: C.Bamford (Eur) R.Symes (Ben) S.Saad (Sey)
Foll: S.Schottner (Sey) T.Hotton (Man) M.Byers (Shep)
INT: S.Grainger (Eur) D.Moon (Roch) N.Trentfield (Man)
Emerge: D.Hulme N.Gilliland (Eur) M.Jansz (Eur)
I've no doubt missed people out but it looks pretty good to me. Thoughts??
bradrowe#32
12 Sep 2005, 23:38
Pretty good team Junkie. Chris McCarty from Rochy is stiff but I think it's around the mark.
Travvy43
13 Sep 2005, 10:29
Official team was annonced last night at amedia sponsors night, it reads:
Back Wellington (tat) trentfield (man) Miller (shep)
Hb: Douglas (sey) Andersan (sey) Walker (man)
C: Storer (Man) Byres (Shep) Clayton (Eur)
HF: Brad Campbell (Moor) Newman (Ky) Archard (Ech)
F: Saad (sey) Symes (Ben) Bamford (eur)
R: Schottner (sey) T Hotton (Man) Haberman (sey)
Int: Sage (eur) Hickmont (Shepp) Mench (Man)
Looks pretty good
fat back pocket
13 Sep 2005, 13:10
Looks pretty good
Few $$ worth of players there too no doubt! It'd be an expensive season for the GV.
will Howse get rubbed out?
did someone see it?
fat back pocket
13 Sep 2005, 13:31
will Howse get rubbed out?
did someone see it?
I think the tribunral is tonight. Not looking good for Howse, apparently jackson has big scratches and grooves of flesh out of his face around his eyes, on his neck and even in his ears.
Add that to a black eye and doing it right in front of the umpy. If he gets off, Euroa have obviously got Bud Tingwell (QC from the Castle) to be his advocate.
Or maybe they will go for Denis DiNenoutto. Apparently he is going to plead not guilty, why not guilty - "it's the vibe of the thing."
jmain14
13 Sep 2005, 13:46
I think the tribunral is tonight. Not looking good for Howse, apparently jackson has big scratches and grooves of flesh out of his face around his eyes, on his neck and even in his ears.
Add that to a black eye and doing it right in front of the umpy. If he gets off, Euroa have obviously got Bud Tingwell (QC from the Castle) to be his advocate.
Or maybe they will go for Denis DiNenoutto. Apparently he is going to plead not guilty, why not guilty - "it's the vibe of the thing."
lol. fatty, I am now back on your team. great movie.
Looks pretty good
$hit, didnt even know they named a team of the year... Got a few blokes right though...
Which Trentfield from Mansfield? I thought Nick played on ball and up forward??
fat back pocket
13 Sep 2005, 14:10
$hit, didnt even know they named a team of the year... Got a few blokes right though...
Which Trentfield from Mansfield? I thought Nick played on ball and up forward??
Does, played CHF on the weekend and dominated. Very good player, got a great build for AFL, 6"2' or there abouts, quick, great mark. I'm supprised he left VFL.
ANT JESS
13 Sep 2005, 14:21
Looks pretty good
Trying not to be too biased, as I don't get to see alot of the other teams in the GV play to often. But I would have thought Dean Moon of Rochester should have made this side easilly. Anyone Agree? Anyone else got names that were very stiff not to be named?
ECHUCABOY
13 Sep 2005, 14:27
your right ant jess that is biased, suprised u didnt nominate yourself!
jmain14
13 Sep 2005, 14:39
Trying not to be too biased, as I don't get to see alot of the other teams in the GV play to often. But I would have thought Dean Moon of Rochester should have made this side easilly. Anyone Agree? Anyone else got names that were very stiff not to be named?
I would have to agree with you on that one pumpa which won't come as a surprise to many of you.
ANT JESS
13 Sep 2005, 14:42
Fatty T, nar I really do think moony was pretty stiff here. He was one of the Fav's for the morrison Medal a few weeks back, and now apparently he wasn't good enough to make the bench of the team of the year.
P.S How'd your footy go on the weekend?
Blitz Train
13 Sep 2005, 15:02
While Trenfield is a gun player, it was actually Matt Trewhella who was named at full back.
ECHUCABOY
13 Sep 2005, 15:14
Fatty T, nar I really do think moony was pretty stiff here. He was one of the Fav's for the morrison Medal a few weeks back, and now apparently he wasn't good enough to make the bench of the team of the year.
P.S How'd your footy go on the weekend?
Yes very good mate won by 10 goals. Play vermont this week in the GF.....we'll do em!
Travvy43
13 Sep 2005, 15:30
I would have to agree with you on that one pumpa which won't come as a surprise to many of you.
you have to look at who you would take out of the side for moon. I agree he had a good year but who is going to miss. I would put howse in before him, sage too. Haberman, did not see enough of him this year to make a call on that one.
Travvy43
13 Sep 2005, 15:32
While Trenfield is a gun player, it was actually Matt Trewhella who was named at full back.
Right you are, my bad on that one guys
ANT JESS
13 Sep 2005, 15:33
Yeah fair call Travvy, I haven't seen enough of those other blokes to make comment. Just found it interesting that Moon was touted as a possible Morrison Medalist and couldn't even squeeze onto the bench of the side of the year!
ECHUCABOY
13 Sep 2005, 16:30
nice try fbp......Josh Maddox plays for Southport in the QAFL......if you dont believe me look in the results he usually kicks a couple
fat back pocket
13 Sep 2005, 17:20
nice try fbp......Josh Maddox plays for Southport in the QAFL......if you dont believe me look in the results he usually kicks a couple
Fair enough, i would have been supprised anyhow.
Didn't know he went up there. Was it entirely footy related, or he went up there for work? Something different? Can get good money up there, lots of sponsors, southport has a fair bit of $$.
ECHUCABOY
13 Sep 2005, 17:23
Not really sure I presume the weather, footy and work all had something to do with it. May be coming back next year tho...dunno
It must be killing northern based GV clubs that 3 little former Waranga North East clubs (Euroa, Seymour, Mansfield) are the only 3 teams left in the premiership race......
Flat Track Bully
13 Sep 2005, 21:16
Paul Kirby was the standout ruckman in the competition, Brendan Stevens was fanstastic, while Moon was on the bench in my team...but I also had Aitken as my rover...
ha ha ha
Mainy you would have to be a shoe in for most ciggies during an interchange period wouldnt you, from your game at Kiama?
bradrowe#32
14 Sep 2005, 00:26
Few $$ worth of players there too no doubt! It'd be an expensive season for the GV.
Can you tell me a bit about Schottner. Is he a local? Was he ever on the path to the AFL?
He's a fantastic player, I just don't know anything about him.
Can you tell me a bit about Schottner. Is he a local? Was he ever on the path to the AFL?
He's a fantastic player, I just don't know anything about him.
Schotty is a local Seymour boy, reporteddly knocked back a hefty offer from tatura several years ago to remain in the Lions Den. Word has it the offers will come thick and fast at the end of the GVFL with Lalor keen to obtain his services. I reckon they'll struggle to get him, the big fella is very loyal, but I guess if the $$$ are of a high amount it would tempt even the most loyal of blokes.
bit more on Shotty. He's always played for Seymour, playing 3rds in 93/94/95. he Also made his senior debut in 1995 under Jon Solomon's coaching. Played entire year in 96 under Piggy Bank Jackson (you put heaps in - get nothing back) and started to thrive when Glenn Cole took over in 97. Since then, he's won the BnF on a couple of occasions, represented the GV many times, coached the club, and has knocked back massive offers from clubs such as Lavington and Wang Rovers.
All's he wants to do is play finals and win a flag at the Lions.
Travvy43
14 Sep 2005, 10:11
Paul Kirby was the standout ruckman in the competition, Brendan Stevens was fanstastic, while Moon was on the bench in my team...but I also had Aitken as my rover...
Can you name your side FTB
GV Middle Man
14 Sep 2005, 10:22
bit more on Shotty. He's always played for Seymour, playing 3rds in 93/94/95. he Also made his senior debut in 1995 under Jon Solomon's coaching. Played entire year in 96 under Piggy Bank Jackson (you put heaps in - get nothing back) and started to thrive when Glenn Cole took over in 97. Since then, he's won the BnF on a couple of occasions, represented the GV many times, coached the club, and has knocked back massive offers from clubs such as Lavington and Wang Rovers.
All's he wants to do is play finals and win a flag at the Lions.
It has always been an interesting dual between Kirby and Schottner, I think both have had their wins, but I suppose at the end of the day, I chose Schottner for the ruck position because of his stella season this year, and his morrison medal win in 2004.
Kirby was very stiff to miss out on a game.
Kirbs was excellent this year and so was Brendan Stevens both blokes had a ripper year.
Linc Wellington made the side although ive been told he has had much better years, the guy is gun none the less.
Im pretty sure Seymours coach is giving it away next year to have a crack back at a higher level, probably in the VFL again as there seems to be a few vacancies about.
GV Middle Man
14 Sep 2005, 10:25
My Team:
B: Hamill, Shelton, Watson
HB: Stott, Walker, King
C: Clayton, Sage, Thomson
HF: Gilliland, Hyatt, Howse
F: Gibson, Grainger, Bamford
Foll: Jansz, Clayton, Lamaro
Inter: Walker, Mills, Wilson, O'Brien,
What do you think.
Has to be team of the year?
jmain14
14 Sep 2005, 10:28
Mainy you would have to be a shoe in for most ciggies during an interchange period wouldnt you, from your game at Kiama?
ha ha. chapps is it??
My Team:
B: Hamill, Shelton, Watson
HB: Stott, Walker, King
C: Clayton, Sage, Thomson
HF: Gilliland, Hyatt, Howse
F: Gibson, Grainger, Bamford
Foll: Jansz, Clayton, Lamaro
Inter: Walker, Mills, Wilson, O'Brien,
What do you think.
Has to be team of the year?
Terrible!!! Where is Kirby and Symes?? and no Saad?? i would have put Hotton at least on the interchange bench as well.
Each to there own i suppose.
Tige19 Obvisouly you didnt see the joke in GV Middlemans Post....... It happened to be the whole euroa team.... Maybe next year it will be tatura based on your old friend reaserchers details....
Flat Track Bully
14 Sep 2005, 11:40
I've lost my original, so this is a guess...
Wellington, Trewhella, Miller
Douglass, Anderson, J.Walker
M.McCarty, Byers, Storer
B.Stevens, Newman, Archard
Saad, R.Symes, Mensch
Kirby, T.Hotton, Aitken
Moon, A.Fonua, Grainger
fat back pocket
14 Sep 2005, 13:20
B: Shelton(Eur) Trawhella (Mans) Hickmont (shep)
HB: Douglas (Sey) Anderson (Sey) Wellington (Tat)
C: Storer (mans) Clayton(Eur) Archard (Ech)
HF: Trenfield (Mans) Newman (Ky) Byers (Shep)
F: Saad (Sey) Symes(Ben) Mensch (Mans)
Foll: Schottner (Sey) Hotton (Mans) A Stevens (Ben)
Pine: Haberman (Sey) Br Campbell (Moor) Forys (United)
Plenty of blokes deserves a game. But can't fit them into 21.
Travvy43
14 Sep 2005, 13:21
M.McCarty, Byers, Storer
Saad, R.Symes, Mensch
Kirby, T.Hotton, Aitken
Moon, A.Fonua, Grainger
Good side. Looking at it in more detail you have:
Back 6 all the same
McCarty instead of clayton- clayton had a good year from what i hear and smashed us when we played them
Stevens instead of campbell- again i would go with bradley
grainger instead of bamford- bamford would be apart from saad the best small forward in the league, but grainger probably had a bigger influence
kirbs instead of schotty- tuff one, kirbs smashed us, schotty did not paly against us... thank god
Aitken instead of haberman- agree with this one, i think there were better rovers than haberman this year.
moon, ake instead of sage and hickmont- both moon and ake had great years, played with ake each week and he is just a great player.
Flat Track Bully
14 Sep 2005, 13:23
Back 6 all the same
McCarty instead of clayton- clayton had a good year from what i hear and smashed us when we played them
grainger instead of bamford- bamford would be apart from saad the best small forward in the league, but grainger probably had a bigger influence
kirbs instead of schotty- tuff one, kirbs smashed us, schotty did not paly against us... thank god
Aitken instead of haberman- agree with this one, i think there were better rovers than haberman this year.
moon, ake instead of sage and hickmont- both moon and ake had great years, played with ake each week and he is just a great player.
actually in the end I had Brad Campbell on a forward flank, Archard on a wing, and then McCarty missed out all together...
fat back pocket
14 Sep 2005, 13:23
M.McCarty, Byers, Storer
Saad, R.Symes, Mensch
Kirby, T.Hotton, Aitken
Moon, A.Fonua, Grainger
McCarty is an interesting one, i actually thought of him too. Not a top line player, played in the swans 2002 reserves premiership (i think they won it that year, might have been 2001?), was a consistant player all year this year, and was solid last year.
Not sure if he posesses a match winner status, which you would almost need to get a game.
Flat Track Bully
14 Sep 2005, 13:26
Back 6 all the same
Stevens because he polled 16 votes on one leg...nobody other than Benalla people know he was on one leg until about round 12 when he was operated on.
Went with Grainger for height...Mensch would be the back up ruckman (Hotton too...) Symes at his height 6'1" could almost play as a pocket.
Kirby...better than 2003 and 2004...dominated media awards, Forty Winks, 3SR...polled well in the medal
Travvy43
14 Sep 2005, 13:39
actually in the end I had Brad Campbell on a forward flank, Archard on a wing, and then McCarty missed out all together...
That makes a bit more sense, looking at the two wingma, storer and archard, both great players, although did clayton have a better year than either of these? my thougths are that heis year was better than both of them.
Terrible!!! Where is Kirby and Symes?? and no Saad?? i would have put Hotton at least on the interchange bench as well.
Each to there own i suppose.
Oh dear tige19.
Given GV Middle Man just listed the Euroa senior 21, I think you're guilty of not quite reading the post properly before responding.
Still you have your point, Hotton Kirby, Symes and Saad would probably all get a game in the ones at Euroa!!
Flat Track Bully
14 Sep 2005, 14:43
That makes a bit more sense, looking at the two wingma, storer and archard, both great players, although did clayton have a better year than either of these? my thougths are that heis year was better than both of them.
You may be right...no, actually you are...I was remiss in not including Clayton, who will be a premiership player in both the AFL and the GV come Sunday week,,,
Oh dear tige19.
Given GV Middle Man just listed the Euroa senior 21, I think you're guilty of not quite reading the post properly before responding.
Still you have your point, Hotton Kirby, Symes and Saad would probably all get a game in the ones at Euroa!!
Hows my eyes??? I just looked through the positions i noticed first with the ruck and FF.
Is Gilliand the one that used to play for Murray Kangaroos and Port Melbourne then Bendigo??? if its the one im thinking of i never thought he was that flash, he must have improved a bit.
Grandale
14 Sep 2005, 15:48
Righto, that's enough debate about the Firsts' Team of the Year.
hey, Fat Back Pocket, how bout you give us your Ressies TOTY...
jmain14
14 Sep 2005, 15:58
would of thought there'd be a few rochy players in this side...
Any news on how the little old eye gouger Howse got on with the GVFL judiciary last night?
a eurou forward would be a certanty for the twos team of the year!!!!!!! Grandale I like your name GIDDY UP!!!!!
Doona would you agree that seymour would have a few in contention for the twos team of the year!!!! Inness,Peterson,Robinson,,,,all your poffy seymour mates arent they!!!!!!!!!
tiger19.... Your excused mate your mind is off in the clouds with all that money your getting at tat next year!!!
Grandale
14 Sep 2005, 16:29
Doona, old ``Doogie'' Howse-a doesn't go up til tomorrow night.
fat back pocket
14 Sep 2005, 16:36
Any news on how the little old eye gouger Howse got on with the GVFL judiciary last night?
Word has it Jackson has ugly scabs from the gouges are as clear as day (would make him better looking though), and the eye speciallist he had to see said he was very lucky not to damage his eye any more than he had.
So i would say that mr howse played his last game on sunday.
But the GV tribunral never ceases to amaze me or anyone outside Shepp.
fat back pocket
14 Sep 2005, 16:40
Very hard to name a reserves side.
If you are playing players that have qualified then both United and Shepp would have a few. Seymour would have to have Rudd in the side. United would have osborne, maybe pasquale latore, 3/4 of the side would be shepp blokes.
The minor spots in the twos could be anyone. How bout you start us off and give me a skeleton to work off, i'll take a few out, put a few in, probably agree with a few more.
Good luck. It all depends on what you class as a reserves player.
FTB you no everything about footy and the GV dont under estimate your knowledge.... give us your best team....
Grandale
14 Sep 2005, 16:53
Rudd, Shiels, Nick Papa and Dave Brockway (his injury was probably the reason Seymour went down to United in the elim final) are Lions that deserve to be seriously considered for selection. Could possibly fit Inness in there somewhere too.
Giddy up Grandale!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Travvy43
14 Sep 2005, 16:57
Is Gilliand the one that used to play for Murray Kangaroos and Port Melbourne then Bendigo??? if its the one im thinking of i never thought he was that flash, he must have improved a bit.
I think you are thinking about the right guy here. Right in you assessment too, i did not think he was that flash of a player.
Gilly a star, Great to see him back this year in the black and white!!!!!!!!
Monaro for Sale
An unknown assailant has pulled of the prank of the year by putting an ad on the internet selling a Monaro for under $30,000 with low kilometers. The ad has Stuart Peterson's number at the bottom of it and the back pocket has been having numerous calls from excited buyers enquiring about it. Peterson does not own a Monaro but said he would be more than happy selling his Corolla for $30,000, he has recieved little interest on that offer but is getting more than frustrated at having over 20 calls about the Monaro. It has been a rough week for the defender after his group was once again robbed at the players review. For the second year in a row they were by far the best act but were jibbed by the corrupt judges and finished in third place.
FTB just been on your website!!! Great website mate...Very Fun any one out there should check it out.... this would have to be the funnest thing on there....this blokes has been well stitched up!!!!!!!!
Giddy up Grandale!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
well worked out Chinup :D
false rumour was posted that Stuart Peterson and Nicole Brockway became engaged. This was in fact untrue. It seems as if Stuart did in fact pop the question, but Nicole refused stating that a proposal via text message wasn't enough to win over her love. The pair are still happily together although Peterson was later seen at the Glenroy cash converters getting back at least $75 for a ring he purchased from there earlier in the week.
FTB this Peterson bloke must be a bit of a tosser for all the boys to hang **** on... I surpose you get one at all clubs mate!!!!!!!
Grandale did you have to get permission for that name mate!!!!! Althought he is a rival Press great bloke that man.... had many a beers a while back.... found some form a while back!!!!!!!!
Giddy Up..... Maybe the Winnings were used to pay all your players
Ouch! - but coming from a Euroa maggies man who's team has also been at the depths for a while.... hmm?
Im yet to see some grandale winnings yet, everytime I back it - he runs no good!
Doona would you agree that seymour would have a few in contention for the twos team of the year!!!! Inness,Peterson,Robinson,,,,all your poffy seymour mates arent they!!!!!!
Hey easy Euroa boy, Inness is a good mate yes, but poofy (poffy) Im not sure. I don't know Stuie or Tommy Rob that well. For arguments sake, yes one T. Maher would make the GV 2's team of the year.
Grandale love the name, fair idea I'd know who this connection to the SFNC's horse of similar title could be.
I dont wanna get involved in all this Seymour/Euroa slanging match, I love me footy and just like reading the gossip in here . . . enough said.
For your information I called into watch the Lions train last Friday on me way home from Yea, and ya wouldn't read about it the pres, secretary and another Lions member came around thinking I was a Euroa spy . . . couldn't believe it surely that dont need to happen at GV level.
Fair call HJ.............. I take it your a seymour man!!!!!!! 32 could that be a allias for the number 32 player at seymour......... Ben Davey i see by your website..........
Or is it just a allias!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sorry DOONA boy!!!!!!!! Just cause i called INNESS Poffy didnt mean I ment u mate!!!!!!! Look I bearly no the bloke..............just going by the word around the traps......... For a man that doesnt drink.....somethinks wrong....wouldnt fit in at euroa if he didnt drink........... We'd drink the goulburn dry!!!!!!! If it was full of ****
Grandale
14 Sep 2005, 17:32
Chinup, why would I need permission to use the name Grandale? And what are you on about re rival press man?
HJ32, you must have horrible timing re punting. Since truly deplorable outings at his first two starts and another unplaced (albeit improved) effort at his third start The Great Grandale has run third, third, third, fifth, second, first and third.
Each way all day my good man.
Grandale the permission thing was a Joke mate!!!!!!!!!!!! and i ment rival press meaning rival presidant!!!!!! you would surely get that or your not a true seymour man.....
didnt realise it had that much form....good stuff...
Grandale are you mates with FTB.........wheres he dissapeared to? is he a local seymour guy...........
FTB = Flat Track Bully; FBP = Fat Back Pocket. The loyalties of FTB are uncertain, but FBP is a one-eyed Lions supporter, a former local now stationed in the metropolitan region.
Flat Track Bully
14 Sep 2005, 17:52
OK FBP= Fat Back Pocket...
FTB= Flat Track Bully...
And I would be very happy to give u my two's team of the year...
No more than 5 senior games would be my stipulation...
I'll put forward a squad of names...Richard Martiniello, Tony Evans, Glen Vallender (Ben) Glen Archer, Paul Mason, Clint Dudgeon (Shep) Anthony Cook, Dale Osborne, Kim Akers (United) Gavin Prigg (Rochester), Tom Robinson, Peter Papanicolou, John Rudd (Seymour), Tim Maher, Neal Poole (Euroa), Jason Looby, Tony Cooksey (Mansfield) Blair Suffolk, Pat Pelligrino (Echuca) Brendan McCartney (Mooroopna)
There's 20...any I've missed?
Flat Track Bully
14 Sep 2005, 17:53
FTB = Flat Track Bully; FBP = Fat Back Pocket. The loyalties of FTB are uncertain.
Let's just say I follow the football very closely...
And I would be very happy to give u my two's team of the year...
No more than 5 senior games would be my stipulation...
I'll put forward a squad of names...Richard Martiniello, Tony Evans, Glen Vallender (Ben) Glen Archer, Paul Mason, Clint Dudgeon (Shep) Anthony Cook, Dale Osborne, Kim Akers (United) Gavin Prigg (Rochester), Tom Robinson, Peter Papanicolou, John Rudd (Seymour), Tim Maher, Neal Poole (Euroa), Jason Looby, Tony Cooksey (Mansfield) Blair Suffolk, Pat Pelligrino (Echuca) Brendan McCartney (Mooroopna)
There's 20...any I've missed?
How many senior games did Benny Trenfield play at Mansfield? Obviously too many for your team coz I reckon he's had a fair season.
Grandale
14 Sep 2005, 17:58
I have no idea who FTB is. Who do you think he is?
fat back pocket
14 Sep 2005, 17:59
Rudd, Shiels, Nick Papa and Dave Brockway (his injury was probably the reason Seymour went down to United in the elim final) are Lions that deserve to be seriously considered for selection. Could possibly fit Inness in there somewhere too.
Inness is just a twos player. Played a heap of seniors when Seymour were no good. I think you will find they would have to go for youth now, he has been tried, and thats why he is in the twos.
Well if we base our team on qualified players.
You would think that the only ones to get in the side would come from the top 4 or 5 sides.
So:
B: Jaques (Shepp) Holland (shepp) Morris (shepp)
HB: P Symes (Ben) Brockway (sey) Robinson (sey)
C: B Trenfield (Mans) Boruch (sey) P. Latorre (united)
HF: Sufolk (Ech) Dudgeon (Shepp) M Burgess (shepp)
F: T Maher (eur) D Shadbolt (shepp) Papanicolour (sey)
Foll: D Osborne (United) Archer (shepp) Rudd (Sey)
Int: P Mason (shepp) Poole (Eur) Looby (Mans) O'Brien (eur)
There ya go, there is a rough team. Obviously you can have your opinion. Chockers full of shepp blokes, they are at least a 5 goal better side than any other in the comp, so they deserve to have a few extra's in there.
Fire away.