View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

jaxbac#13
14 Mar 2007, 10:04
Totally agree doona and jac if you hold players from going they may never return. My point is that to use those labels on the club is a reflection on people who i know are not of that way. There are all sorts of reasons for clubs not to clear players most of the time only the club and the player will know and then you can still get 2 different stories

No other reasons given by the hierachy other than lack of numbers.l dont know what anyone else thinks but l think this is selfish.Three of the players concerned are not even from Euroa,1 infact is a born and bred VT boy who after 1 year at Euroa wants to go home and play....

OldShepp
14 Mar 2007, 10:11
You really dont like your old club do you jarrod, I mean skillz...

As in Besty???????

Grandale
14 Mar 2007, 10:13
Nice spelling correction there PUP... Fair to say gezza has never had a root before so very much doubt he would of root my misses( if i had one).. how about you name yourself, before asking other to... Mate i dont like what gezza has done to the club, thats it i can have my opion.... Walk away after being given two premierships just cause he doesnt like the coach, he new he wouldnt be given it on a golden platter this year...we are better with out him...
And on coxy and steve, i have it on very good authority that it wasnt just the players asking the questions... but hey everyone for themself...the funny thing is, if both the guys in question pulled there finger out there *****they could quite easily play VFL or possible push towards a rookie list but both are what i call very talented but lazy...

I think you're being way too severe Researcher.
The little Gerbil would have actually had to work harder than most for his premiership medals because if he has two quiet games in a row people like you are immediately calling for his head.
He might have had been quiet at stages during the year, but injuries probably meant he kept his spot. But then when the Lions had everyone up and running towards the finals he was playing good footy again. Smart approach I say.
As for getting stuck into him for leaving after two flags, do you feel the same way about Pilling and co (who actually got paid)?

Doona2
14 Mar 2007, 10:14
No other reasons given by the hierachy other than lack of numbers.l dont know what anyone else thinks but l think this is selfish.Three of the players concerned are not even from Euroa,1 infact is a born and bred VT boy who after 1 year at Euroa wants to go home and play....

Guess it can be a tough one when numbers are short as many are eluding to may be the case up the Hume, but at the end of the day if these blokes wanted to play for Euroa in 2007 they wouldn't put these clearances in.

Dont put time or energy into blokes that dont wanna be there, what do ya achieve? If clubs dont clear them there's every chance they still wont play in spite of whats happened, let em go as I said last night and one day they'll return if it's handled on correct terms.

FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2007, 10:17
Dont think that there is too many more players on the way,long year for the club FOOTYBOSS ,dont seem to want to clear players that have been loyal to the club for a number of years,these players have been playing and giving their time for free and still wont clear them.Nothing has changed at the club,still selfish and selfcentered,they are making it hard for these players to want to return in the future.Do you think they should clear them if they want to go......http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif

Ive always believed that you should always clear a person if he doesnt want to play at the club. By clearing him straight away, you will always leave the door open for them to return to the club if they choose to. By not clearing them straight away, they soon get their backs up against the club in question and may never return. Im speaking from experience as well, when I first tried to leave my old club to head to Euroa to play footy, my clearance got knocked back 3 times. I then trained one night at the previous club and sat down with the coaches and president and put my case forward on why I wanted to leave the club. 2 days later my clearance was granted.

I wouldnt say the club is self selfish and self centred. By what they are doing isnt to bad I think. The player asking for the clearance to come and say to the playing group why he wants to leave the club. The players then know where the stand with the player wanting to leave. I have heard that a few players have done this and their clearance has gone straight through.

jaxbac#13
14 Mar 2007, 10:21
What might that problem be do you think John? Look mate I just don't like it when players leave a club then pot it down the track. As for the wheel turning, I hope you can deliver the goods with the hype that's around the Towners. Long time till September eh.

You seem to know more about the club than l do so you tell me what the problem is.As far as potting the club,it has been ten years since l have been invovled there and leaving was a good thing,it gave me a chance to coach at senior level.As for the players involved they are starting to get frustrated over all this and it wont look good for them to return to the club in the future...September is a long way off but the only realistic goal we have set is to make sure we finish in the top 5.. not talking p/ships here.The one thing l have noticed in the GVFL thread is that the only good things said about Euroa comes from within the club,you dont read too much in the way of positives from outsiders do you

FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2007, 10:21
Did Ricki Shiner from Avenel have a run Footyboss? If so, how did he go?

Yes Ricki did have a run on Sunday mate. Like everyone else on the ground he played well in spurts.

FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2007, 10:25

I agree with you there jax. The clearances should go through. I was talking to the VT boy in question on Sunday night and he basically told me the reason why he doesnt want to stay at Euroa is the fact none of the senior players acknowledged him last year, even when he did get a senior game. I totally understand where he was coming from. But he did hint at the one day he would like to play for Euroa again with his mates. So the club should clear him, as he is young and has potential to be a very handy GVFL senior player.

FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2007, 10:28
Dont think that there is too many more players on the way,long year for the club FOOTYBOSS ,IMG]http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif[/IMG]

I think many people will be under estimating Euroa this year. The senior side will be more then competitive out on the ground, but as I have said over the last few weeks, if they get a heap of injuries like last year, they will start to struggle.

As I said yesterday as well, never know what the club is doing in regards to recruiting for the upcoming season.

jaxbac#13
14 Mar 2007, 11:09
I think many people will be under estimating Euroa this year. The senior side will be more then competitive out on the ground, but as I have said over the last few weeks, if they get a heap of injuries like last year, they will start to struggle.

As I said yesterday as well, never know what the club is doing in regards to recruiting for the upcoming season.

l would say they are off to Darwin to try and poach some players from up there,this l got from the highest source.is this true

scooby-doo
14 Mar 2007, 11:15
What type of players are the recruitment guys chasing boss? more roving players or key position? how's the leg to by the way

FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2007, 11:43
l would say they are off to Darwin to try and poach some players from up there,this l got from the highest source.is this true

You are right, they are off to Darwin this weekend to entice some players down to play. But its not the only place where we might gaining some extra players.

FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2007, 11:45
What type of players are the recruitment guys chasing boss? more roving players or key position? how's the leg to by the way

they are chasing some more fleet footed roving type players and also have a few key psoition players on the radar as well.

As for the leg, I really should hang them up. Its not to bad actually, just a bit of swelling and jarring from the hard grounds. A week of this weekend and I will be right for the next practice match.

skillz
14 Mar 2007, 14:02
they are chasing some more fleet footed roving type players and also have a few key psoition players on the radar as well.

As for the leg, I really should hang them up. Its not to bad actually, just a bit of swelling and jarring from the hard grounds. A week of this weekend and I will be right for the next practice match.

you may aswell hang em up footytoss your no good on the field to anyone maybe you could run the water

skillz
14 Mar 2007, 14:41
an update on the marc bullen swans fake signiture ordeal.
I have been told by a very reliable source that the swans wanted $2500 to clear bullen
and when the swans were asked to provide a contract that the swans said he was bound too they produced a fake document thet had a forged signiture on it,
since this story has been leaked call it what you like maybe just a coincidence but the swans have done a complete 180 and cleared Bullen without pursueing the situation any further and not getting the $2500 that they were trying to scam.
What a shame that a club with well known people that have plenty of cash to pay for players would stoop so low for a liitle bit of cash back in their pocket i couldnt imagine this happening anywhere else i really guess its all about the almighty dollar.
It has just made the swans look like complete fools with egg all over their faces

OldShepp
14 Mar 2007, 15:09
an update on the marc bullen swans fake signiture ordeal.
I have been told by a very reliable source that the swans wanted $2500 to clear bullen
and when the swans were asked to provide a contract that the swans said he was bound too they produced a fake document thet had a forged signiture on it,
since this story has been leaked call it what you like maybe just a coincidence but the swans have done a complete 180 and cleared Bullen without pursueing the situation any further and not getting the $2500 that they were trying to scam.
What a shame that a club with well known people that have plenty of cash to pay for players would stoop so low for a liitle bit of cash back in their pocket i couldnt imagine this happening anywhere else i really guess its all about the almighty dollar.
It has just made the swans look like complete fools with egg all over their faces

Well well well - goes to show that Knagsy and Ms Hunter are not all they crack up to be. The Shepp News and other clubs would have a field day with this sort of thing. Considering Bullen came to the club 9relocated back from Adelaide) as his father was very ill - it's a shame that the almight Swans would do something like this. I would think that alot of new players would be checking the fine print now.

OldShepp
14 Mar 2007, 15:26
How is this on the Shepp Swans Website:

"Quote"* Players so far cleared by the Swans to other clubs in 2007 are : - Jack Smythe to Violet Town, Ricky Frappell to Tallygaroopna, Robert Osborne as coach to Tallygaroopna, Hayden Best as assistant coach to Tallygaroopna, Matthew Rowston to Tallygaroopna, Aaron Quigley to Avenel, Travis Doherty to Ardmona, and Jamie Kelly to Seymour. Wonder what Tally would do for players if the Swans weren't so generous ? "Unquote"

skillz
14 Mar 2007, 15:53
Well well well - goes to show that Knagsy and Ms Hunter are not all they crack up to be. The Shepp News and other clubs would have a field day with this sort of thing. Considering Bullen came to the club 9relocated back from Adelaide) as his father was very ill - it's a shame that the almight Swans would do something like this. I would think that alot of new players would be checking the fine print now.

absolutley ide be checking the fine print and ide put it under a blue uv light to see they havent used some sort of invisable ink to lock you in.
Its terrible i wouldnt put anything past them.

toquick
14 Mar 2007, 15:56
But then you could look at the situation as this, why would 2 millionaires worry about a measly $2500. naggsy puts heaps into that club im sure that would only be pocket money to him! im not saying its not true what has happened, naggsy might not even know anything about it!

OldShepp
14 Mar 2007, 16:04
But then you could look at the situation as this, why would 2 millionaires worry about a measly $2500. naggsy puts heaps into that club im sure that would only be pocket money to him! im not saying its not true what has happened, naggsy might not even know anything about it!

Greed - more money to secure another empolyee at Watters!!!! That would be a bonus.. in the yearly wage

FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2007, 16:38
you may aswell hang em up footytoss your no good on the field to anyone maybe you could run the water

Maybe I will just for you skillz.

FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2007, 16:40
How is this on the Shepp Swans Website:

"Quote"* Players so far cleared by the Swans to other clubs in 2007 are : - Jack Smythe to Violet Town, Ricky Frappell to Tallygaroopna, Robert Osborne as coach to Tallygaroopna, Hayden Best as assistant coach to Tallygaroopna, Matthew Rowston to Tallygaroopna, Aaron Quigley to Avenel, Travis Doherty to Ardmona, and Jamie Kelly to Seymour. Wonder what Tally would do for players if the Swans weren't so generous ? "Unquote"

Im sure Tally would still be around. Its only 4 players the Swans have cleared there. Interesting to see Jamie Kelly heading back to Seymour. Wonder why that is.

Junkie
14 Mar 2007, 16:45
.The one thing l have noticed in the GVFL thread is that the only good things said about Euroa comes from within the club,you dont read too much in the way of positives from outsiders do you

How many clubs do you hear positive things about from outside their club? Positive opinions come from positive experiences. You should be happy with the memories you have...you should look back on the club and be proud of what you achieved there. Euroa had one of the best coaches going around at the end of your rein and I would think you'd have learnt a little bit from him. Without Euroa you wouldn't be coaching.

gazza35
14 Mar 2007, 19:51
Does anyone no if saad saad is suiting up at seymour again this year yhere was talk greenvale were having a crack at him

SUPASTARR
14 Mar 2007, 20:00
Guys what about Robbie Douglas officially going up north! Massive news

jaxbac#13
14 Mar 2007, 21:14
How many clubs do you hear positive things about from outside their club? Positive opinions come from positive experiences. You should be happy with the memories you have...you should look back on the club and be proud of what you achieved there. Euroa had one of the best coaches going around at the end of your rein and I would think you'd have learnt a little bit from him. Without Euroa you wouldn't be coaching.

maybe,maybe not.As for Ged , great senior coach but didnt really care too much about the reserves though until the seniors were knocked out,but that was fine,learnt alot from him and have alot of respect for him.As for coaching,won a flag in 97,got the sack before 98 season started,went to VT and loved the club since.

Its been Euroas loss not mine wouldnt you think........
Also whats going on with the netballers,I hear they are only getting 3 or so to training and dosent look good.
l think in the KDFL if you cant field 3 grades in the comp the the footy side dosent go ahead either but not sure on this.. can anyone help me here...

Doona2
14 Mar 2007, 22:54
Guys what about Robbie Douglas officially going up north! Massive news

4-6 week old news good on him I say :thumbsu:

GVFLFAN
15 Mar 2007, 07:05
OK, Havnt posted on this forun for a very long time but feel it is time to put an end to this Euroa Bashing! We have worked extremly hard over the pre season to get to where we are and to hear all this crap coming from people who have left the club due to not being good enough to get a gig in the 2's - Yes Drew Bowman - SCOOBY DOO, is just spineless. Why dont you step up and tell blokes face to face like Xavier or Dave or even one of the loyal players who stick by the club in harder times. You scared you might get whacked like you did the other year by Spick??? I agree with what was posted about letting players go who dont want to be there but i agree with what the club is doing by making the players address the group before they leave. If Euroa allowed everyone to walk out then the club whould be stuffed. I wish all the guys who have moved to violet Town or longwood all the best and i fully understand why you left as i was in the same situation down at the bullants. What you need to understand is Euroa needs to recruit from other areas including melbourne otherwise they would not have the players to compete in the GV! Euroa will be a side to watch in 2007!

not just footy
15 Mar 2007, 11:11
maybe,maybe not.As for Ged , great senior coach but didnt really care too much about the reserves though until the seniors were knocked out,but that was fine,learnt alot from him and have alot of respect for him.As for coaching,won a flag in 97,got the sack before 98 season started,went to VT and loved the club since.

Also whats going on with the netballers,I hear they are only getting 3 or so to training and dosent look good.
l think in the KDFL if you cant field 3 grades in the comp the the footy side dosent go ahead either but not sure on this.. can anyone help me here...
Don't you worry about Euroa netballers they are looking like they will be ok. Not sure where you get some of your information from obviously not a very reliable source. A very good preseason with Neale Poole is going well.

Chance
15 Mar 2007, 12:11
Does anyone know a fella called Jesse O'keefe from the Swannies and why his transfer to Tatura keeps getting rejected? Is he another gun player theyre trying to keep similar to the Bullen fiasco?

Whippet
15 Mar 2007, 12:41
OK, Havnt posted on this forun for a very long time but feel it is time to put an end to this Euroa Bashing! We have worked extremly hard over the pre season to get to where we are and to hear all this crap coming from people who have left the club due to not being good enough to get a gig in the 2's - Yes Drew Bowman - SCOOBY DOO, is just spineless. Why dont you step up and tell blokes face to face like Xavier or Dave or even one of the loyal players who stick by the club in harder times. You scared you might get whacked like you did the other year by Spick??? I agree with what was posted about letting players go who dont want to be there but i agree with what the club is doing by making the players address the group before they leave. If Euroa allowed everyone to walk out then the club whould be stuffed. I wish all the guys who have moved to violet Town or longwood all the best and i fully understand why you left as i was in the same situation down at the bullants. What you need to understand is Euroa needs to recruit from other areas including melbourne otherwise they would not have the players to compete in the GV! Euroa will be a side to watch in 2007!

Are these players walking out, or moving on? Would anybody stick around with a girlfriend if she was disinterested?
I played at Euroa for the past two years GVLFan, and not once did the Coach talk to me about football. Might have got the occasional hello. Why would he be so interested in anybodys footballing business now they want a clearance? What does getting the players before a " Clearance Comittee" do anyway? And no use naming Drew as Scooby Doo. I doubt you have any hard evidence that it is him. The only time spineless should come into the equation is when someone pulls out of a marking contest in a critical stage of a game!!

And if they are so desperate for players, why have players from last year, and previous, not even been contacted? I'm confident I have seen a phone in the committee room before.

sparra
15 Mar 2007, 12:46
Are these players walking out, or moving on? Would anybody stick around with a girlfriend if she was disinterested?
I played at Euroa for the past two years GVLFan, and not once did the Coach talk to me about football. Might have got the occasional hello. Why would he be so interested in anybodys footballing business now they want a clearance? What does getting the players before a " Clearance Comittee" do anyway? And no use naming Drew as Scooby Doo. I doubt you have any hard evidence that it is him. The only time spineless should come into the equation is when someone pulls out of a marking contest in a critical stage of a game!!

And if they are so desperate for players, why have players from last year, and previous, not even been contacted? I'm confident I have seen a phone in the committee room before.

Geez, the s h i t has hit the wall

Whippet
15 Mar 2007, 12:49

OldShepp
15 Mar 2007, 13:46

This forum should be called the Euroa site....

Junkie
15 Mar 2007, 13:50

Not sure it's anyones loss. Euroa have played in finals more often than not since you left.

Anyway, what happened with getting sacked? Sounds pretty harsh and to be honest I didn't really know about that. Couldn't have been based on your coaching...who ended up coaching the scooby's that year?

BTW, good post by Whippet. A coach needs to give feedback to all players - let them know where they stand. A good one anyway.

slim18
15 Mar 2007, 14:26
Rochy have a thread. Will someone pls start a Euroa one so the rest of us can stay interested in whats happening elsewhere.

phillip needleman
15 Mar 2007, 15:41
Does anyone know a fella called Jesse O'keefe from the Swannies and why his transfer to Tatura keeps getting rejected? Is he another gun player theyre trying to keep similar to the Bullen fiasco?
im pretty sure his old man works on the junior development at the swannies and im pretty sure he is now gonna stay with the swannies

jaxbac#13
15 Mar 2007, 16:10
Not sure it's anyones loss. Euroa have played in finals more often than not since you left.

Anyway, what happened with getting sacked? Sounds pretty harsh and to be honest I didn't really know about that. Couldn't have been based on your coaching...who ended up coaching the scooby's that year?

BTW, good post by Whippet. A coach needs to give feedback to all players - let them know where they stand. A good one anyway.

Nipper Harvey coached the 2s after l was sacked,said he didnt want the job and he also told me they were doing the wrong thing,perhaps it was for financial reasons but it certainly wasnt for the reasons they gave me..

as for Euroa getting their own thread,write your own thread ,our threads dont stop you from doing one do they,l bet you read them anyway...

jaxbac#13
15 Mar 2007, 16:25
Don't you worry about Euroa netballers they are looking like they will be ok. Not sure where you get some of your information from obviously not a very reliable source. A very good preseason with Neale Poole is going well.

The same as the football only juniors turning up to train,my source is very reliable she is one of the 3 senior girls there and is my neighbor,l also hear a couple of them are travelling down the road tonight to train,l will comfirm this tonight....

Doona2
15 Mar 2007, 16:37

Always great to hear from the Whippet . . . . well spoken pal :thumbsu:

not just footy
15 Mar 2007, 17:39
The same as the football only juniors turning up to train,my source is very reliable she is one of the 3 senior girls there and is my neighbor,l also hear a couple of them are travelling down the road tonight to train,l will comfirm this tonight....

As for being reliable she is not one of the senior girls as she has chosen not to play. As for only juniors turning up so what. All there hard work will pay off when they are playing in the higher grades.

Junkie
15 Mar 2007, 17:59
Always great to hear from the Whippet . . . . well spoken pal :thumbsu:

Hey Doona, who are you coaching this year?

Doona2
15 Mar 2007, 18:38
Hey Doona, who are you coaching this year?

Back home to coach Broadford this season Junkie

SUPASTARR
15 Mar 2007, 18:48
4-6 week old news good on him I say :thumbsu:

Might be old news to you Doon but when asked 1-2 weeks ago about Rob you wouldn't confirm nor deny the whisper. Haven't spotted much about him on this thread or am I blind? Would have thought it was pretty big news down your way but obviously not. Super player hard to replace at the den.

hansie
15 Mar 2007, 19:12
If Euroa are scratching for numbers, they could do worse than look to the city - most comps now put back 2-4 weeks, including mine (Ammos). Perhaps a few permits may be in order, eh?

cheers,

Doona2
15 Mar 2007, 19:19
Might be old news to you Doon but when asked 1-2 weeks ago about Rob you wouldn't confirm nor deny the whisper. Haven't spotted much about him on this thread or am I blind? Would have thought it was pretty big news down your way but obviously not. Super player hard to replace at the den.

Probabaly wasn't up to me to confirm or deny it back then sorry, wasnt intending to come across as being smart - woulda been bigger news had he left his role as A-grade skipper of the local cricket club on the verge of finals.

Massive loss indeed but like the Euroa clearances topic, Im sure if it's all handled correctly and his Lions team mates understand his decisions (which they woulda Id assume) then he'll no doubt pull on the Seymour strip again down the track.

SUPASTARR
15 Mar 2007, 19:28
Thanks for that Doon! Cheers

barto #22
15 Mar 2007, 20:56
JaxBak sounds to me like the good old euroa violet town bash! always been a thing your one side or the other, this would be the first time violet town hasnt struggled for number, euroa is usually on the up side, now is there really any need to give them hell over this why not leave it and keep your nose in your own club? if you are so worryed about what is going on why not come down and sit on the side lines and tell them how to run there club ??

spike dudley
15 Mar 2007, 21:47

I don't agree with the concept of existing players having to address the club and provide what is essentially an explination as to why they want a clearance. Euroa obviously think it is necessary for whatever reasons but i think it will be very interesting to see how many players actually DO address the group. My understanding is that thus far only two reserves players have done so. Will be very interesting to see if some of the more high profile players and recruits front up. {eg: wes stott, daniel sage} And what will be even more interesting is the reasons they give for leaving!

not just footy
15 Mar 2007, 21:53
JaxBak sounds to me like the good old euroa violet town bash! always been a thing your one side or the other, this would be the first time violet town hasnt struggled for number, euroa is usually on the up side, now is there really any need to give them hell over this why not leave it and keep your nose in your own club? if you are so worryed about what is going on why not come down and sit on the side lines and tell them how to run there club ??

Good call Barto, so jaxbac why don't you come to Euroa and get your goss first hand instead of over the fence. You and I may both be wrong your neighbour trained with Euroa tonight, so who was travelling down the road? As for the transfers everyone is allowed do it there way.

not just footy
15 Mar 2007, 21:59
I don't agree with the concept of existing players having to address the club and provide what is essentially an explination as to why they want a clearance. Euroa obviously think it is necessary for whatever reasons but i think it will be very interesting to see how many players actually DO address the group. My understanding is that thus far only two reserves players have done so. Will be very interesting to see if some of the more high profile players and recruits front up. {eg: wes stott, daniel sage} And what will be even more interesting is the reasons they give for leaving!

If you were quiting your job or what ever I think that the people involved has some sort of right to know why. That way they might be able to improve what they may have been doing wrong.

spike dudley
15 Mar 2007, 22:05
If you were quiting your job or what ever I think that the people involved has some sort of right to know why. That way they might be able to improve what they may have been doing wrong.

If i was quiting my job i would write a formal LETTER or resignation. And iam sure the boss wouldn't call a staff meeting and demand i tell everyone why iam leaving before he will let me leave the job.
And so you aware, ur post was a very ordinary comparison as the vast majority of people running around in country football do so as a recreational activity not as a job.

not just footy
15 Mar 2007, 22:15
If i was quiting my job i would write a formal LETTER or resignation. And iam sure the boss wouldn't call a staff meeting and demand i tell everyone why iam leaving before he will let me leave the job.
And so you aware, ur post was a very ordinary comparison as the vast majority of people running around in country football do so as a recreational activity not as a job.

I don't think the club would be telling everyone. As far as I know it is only between the coaches and executives of the club. And why can't a club know why they want to leave, everyone has a right to know if they have done something.

spike dudley
15 Mar 2007, 22:25
I don't think the club would be telling everyone. As far as I know it is only between the coaches and executives of the club. And why can't a club know why they want to leave, everyone has a right to know if they have done something.

think you need to get some more solid information then come back and post a factual reply.

not just footy
15 Mar 2007, 22:32
think you need to get some more solid information then come back and post a factual reply.

And you know best. Then tell me the factual why don't you.

Doona2
16 Mar 2007, 00:09
Busy first up day as a Big Footy contributor there not just footy

sparra
16 Mar 2007, 07:22

If I was quitting my job, and the boss had not spoken to me for 2 years(e.g. the whippet earlier post), I would not expect that he would have any right to hear it from me that he is the reason I was leaving my job.

Like at Benalla, did the Myrtleford departees tell the club they did not like the new coach, or was the club smart enough to work it out for themselves.

Michael Dudikoff
16 Mar 2007, 10:28
Don't know about that Ice pick, sure I remember him running around in the ones for Ky, and I bet if he wanted to return now he would be rucking or holding down a kep position for them.
Can't take any of your comments too seriously though when you havent got a real name to back it up with, and if you knock around with The Fan and Peter Dyson, well well havent they both got a lot of experience playing GV ones or for that matter GV twos, or god forbid KDL ones.:eek:

Since when does having a "real name" all of a sudden give you credibility? since when does playing at a certain level mean you're an expert? Since when does NOT playing at a level mean you know nothing about it? So I guess Hank you'd have no opinion on any league you've never played in or any players in the AFL? Or that Kevin Sheedy would make a terrible Murray League coach cos he's never done it? There's a lot of people on this forum who have played some pretty good footy - doesn't automatically mean they are experts! But I guess your theory is any women football administators around the country don't know what they're doing or how to run a footy club or can't have an opinion because they've never played the game:confused: :eek:

head67
16 Mar 2007, 10:42
Agreed njf. But if you put people in front of a group of people and ask them these Qs do you think you will get the correct answers??:confused: Not likely. But if the first grade coach turned up at your house with 1/2 a dozen and said he wanted to talk to you about the situation, and made a genuine effort to understand your point of view, then all this BS may be averted.:thumbsu:

not just footy
16 Mar 2007, 11:09
Agreed njf. But if you put people in front of a group of people and ask them these Qs do you think you will get the correct answers??:confused: Not likely. But if the first grade coach turned up at your house with 1/2 a dozen and said he wanted to talk to you about the situation, and made a genuine effort to understand your point of view, then all this BS may be averted.:thumbsu:

Maybe your right, a personal touch could help in these situations. In my previous posts I was just trying to get the point across that some clubs really want to know what they have done so badly and learn by there mistakes. (hopefully)

hank1
16 Mar 2007, 13:41
Since when does having a "real name" all of a sudden give you credibility? since when does playing at a certain level mean you're an expert? Since when does NOT playing at a level mean you know nothing about it? So I guess Hank you'd have no opinion on any league you've never played in or any players in the AFL? Or that Kevin Sheedy would make a terrible Murray League coach cos he's never done it? There's a lot of people on this forum who have played some pretty good footy - doesn't automatically mean they are experts! But I guess your theory is any women football administators around the country don't know what they're doing or how to run a footy club or can't have an opinion because they've never played the game:confused: :eek:

By taking pot shots at someone (Cosby), I believe unless you come out and say who you are, no I don't take it as credible. Doesnt matter who you are, but if you want to put someone else down using their actual name then come out and give us your own name is my line of thinking.
Going off on a mighty big tangent there pall talking about Sheedy and AFL and women in football, none of that has ever come up in any of my posts. Everyone can have their opinion and I take everyones on board when talking face to face, or if I know who is actually giving the opinion, its good fun blokes having alias' on here, but when they want to bring someone down who is prepared to put a face to their statements, that I'm not prepared to cop.
Cheers.

King Kieran
16 Mar 2007, 15:06
By taking pot shots at someone (Cosby), I believe unless you come out and say who you are, no I don't take it as credible. Doesnt matter who you are, but if you want to put someone else down using their actual name then come out and give us your own name is my line of thinking.
Going off on a mighty big tangent there pall talking about Sheedy and AFL and women in football, none of that has ever come up in any of my posts. Everyone can have their opinion and I take everyones on board when talking face to face, or if I know who is actually giving the opinion, its good fun blokes having alias' on here, but when they want to bring someone down who is prepared to put a face to their statements, that I'm not prepared to cop.
Cheers.
Well said Hank, its too easy for people to hide behind their alias' in this place.

Michael Dudikoff
16 Mar 2007, 17:08
Cheers.

Hank - you don't make the rules and it's not your job to be the big footy police and fight everyone's battles for them. I'm sure most people on here take things with a grain of salt as I reckon most of the comments on here are tongue in cheek. If Cosby wants to bite back - that's for him to decide - not for you to get your knickers tied up over. As for going off on a tangent - yeah you're tight, but I was trying to make a point about your comments on blokes who hadn't played at a certain level. I can't see how this makes them any less knowledgable than the next bloke or their opinion worth any less. Sure - aliases are good fun and no doubt there's a lot more crap spoken on here because you can remain anonymous, but so what? Just because you don't use your real name doesn't mean you're wrong either. I'm sure even you have had a laugh at some of the stuff that's been written! Fact is we all reckon it's a bit of fun otherwise why would we bother?

Big Echuca
16 Mar 2007, 17:19
Hank - you don't make the rules and it's not your job to be the big footy police and fight everyone's battles for them. I'm sure most people on here take things with a grain of salt as I reckon most of the comments on here are tongue in cheek. If Cosby wants to bite back - that's for him to decide - not for you to get your knickers tied up over. As for going off on a tangent - yeah you're tight, but I was trying to make a point about your comments on blokes who hadn't played at a certain level. I can't see how this makes them any less knowledgable than the next bloke or their opinion worth any less. Sure - aliases are good fun and no doubt there's a lot more crap spoken on here because you can remain anonymous, but so what? Just because you don't use your real name doesn't mean you're wrong either. I'm sure even you have had a laugh at some of the stuff that's been written! Fact is we all reckon it's a bit of fun otherwise why would we bother?

yeah hank get over yourself! and get over tonny too! they are f***in crap! time to move on and play for a real club you woman!

jaxbac#13
16 Mar 2007, 17:58
Good call Barto, so jaxbac why don't you come to Euroa and get your goss first hand instead of over the fence. You and I may both be wrong your neighbour trained with Euroa tonight, so who was travelling down the road? As for the transfers everyone is allowed do it there way.

Euroa have finally decided to clear all players,dragged out awhile but common sense prevailed and good on them for doing so.With their credability in tact l hope the likes pat hors have another crack at GV for Euroa , he is a special talent:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

As for everyone saying alias's are easy to hide behind
Jaxbac 13 -- John Trotter nothing to hide here:)

jaxbac#13
16 Mar 2007, 18:02

Couldnt agree more big fella,Abs also tells me there are reunions at the club for the 82 and 87 premiers which l think you were in the 87 one if im correct,if so we will catch up then, should be good.:thumbsu:

scooby-doo
16 Mar 2007, 18:07
who have left the club due to not being good enough to get a gig in the 2's - Yes Drew Bowman - SCOOBY DOO, is just spineless. Why dont you step up and tell blokes face to face like Xavier or Dave or even one of the loyal players who stick by the club in harder times. You scared you might get whacked like you did the other year by Spick???
if only u knew, old mate! still good to hear from you. as for the spineless comment- what are you basing that on? didn't have to front either the playing group or the coaches when a clearance was requested, think its a crock that players should be asked to do that. now for the whack you're talking about...wat the?????? i'm confused

not just footy
16 Mar 2007, 18:14

So can you confirm who is travelling down the road.

jaxbac#13
16 Mar 2007, 21:36
So can you confirm who is travelling down the road.
Let you know this thursday:thumbsu:

hank1
16 Mar 2007, 21:54
yeah hank get over yourself! and get over tonny too! they are f***in crap! time to move on and play for a real club you woman!

Thanks for emphasing my point Big Echuca, another hero willing to have a crack at someone personally with no substance except you have found out that I am actually a woman!!
:eek:

hank1
16 Mar 2007, 22:04
Not saying I do make the rules mate, just my opinion and I'll voice it when I want, as will everyone else. I'm sure there is many that agree, and also some that will disagree, I think I'll get over that.
Not sure what you mean by not using my real name, my alias is my nickname and everyone on here that has been on here for more than a week knows who I am.
To be honest I don't get on here for the crap that is written, mainly get on here to find out how other clubs are going and movements of players.
Anyway we have wasted a page on here now and this is the stuff that clogs up the valuable info that I get on here to read, so I'll leave it at that.
Thanks for your time Michael,

Cheers,

Daryl.

slim18
17 Mar 2007, 01:22
Sainter 03, how are no's looking in town?

undercover cat
17 Mar 2007, 10:46
if scooby do is that drew bowman didnt he leave the club three years ago when euroa were buying melbourne players and didnt need any locals

Big Echuca
17 Mar 2007, 12:13
Thanks for emphasing my point Big Echuca, another hero willing to have a crack at someone personally with no substance except you have found out that I am actually a woman!!
:eek:

haha just foolin mate, tonny are alright. and i know your not a woman sorry for being rude. a valid point you made to michael there too

jaxbac#13
17 Mar 2007, 16:06
Went and watched Euroa and Mansfield last night,just woindering if there was anyone else that watched it to,if so what did you think of the game and the standard of the new lights.....

undercover cat
17 Mar 2007, 16:44
caught a bit of that game, the lights are nothing special but a lot better than what they were last year.
as for nthe game was very impressed with some of the young locals ie number 24. 47, both looked to be very dangerous and showed that they should be in there ones, number 16 i was very dissapointed in the man has muscles on muscles but with all them muscles it might be shrinking his heart coz there wasnt alot showed. but if euroa give the local players a go like they havnt been they might be able to build a competitive side

lion's_roar
17 Mar 2007, 17:27
caught a bit of that game, the lights are nothing special but a lot better than what they were last year.
as for nthe game was very impressed with some of the young locals ie number 24. 47, both looked to be very dangerous and showed that they should be in there ones, number 16 i was very dissapointed in the man has muscles on muscles but with all them muscles it might be shrinking his heart coz there wasnt alot showed. but if euroa give the local players a go like they havnt been they might be able to build a competitive side

Who won that game .. interesting that they played each other considering they meet again in round one.

undercover cat
17 Mar 2007, 17:46
euroa by about 2 goals

cosby
17 Mar 2007, 18:29
Not saying I do make the rules mate, just my opinion and I'll voice it when I want, as will everyone else. I'm sure there is many that agree, and also some that will disagree, I think I'll get over that.
Not sure what you mean by not using my real name, my alias is my nickname and everyone on here that has been on here for more than a week knows who I am.
To be honest I don't get on here for the crap that is written, mainly get on here to find out how other clubs are going and movements of players.
Anyway we have wasted a page on here now and this is the stuff that clogs up the valuable info that I get on here to read, so I'll leave it at that.

Cheers,

Daryl.
I wouldn't waste your time Hank. Dudikoff is just another alias from the stable of one of our regular shit stirrers. Funnily enough, I was actually receiving a tip-off via SMS as to who it is last night.
It's interesting to see that once the game is up and their identity is known they disappear. :rolleyes:

I agree with what you say though, there are a number of people who get on here to read and discuss other teams and how they are travelling and they do so without fuss and without having little digs or stabs at others.

Perhaps some people on here view it a bit differently and only post to have a bit of a laugh and hang some shit on players or clubs, but they should give respect to the people who are offering discussion without hiding behind a pseudonym.

Alley cat
17 Mar 2007, 19:23
Seymour beat Wangaratta by 5-6 goals in their practice match at Kings Park today. Don't know if Wang sent a strong side, but Seymour had a few missing.

jaxbac#13
17 Mar 2007, 20:56

Didnt take too much notice of 16 but it would be fair to say the conditions were pretty difficult for both sides,as for the kids, there were some real shining lights for the club and lets hope Dave gives them a real chance to prove themselves, after all these are the future.A few locals said that this is the best crop of young ones for a few years.Also l thought that Lamaro showed his class at certain stages of the game,alot gets said about this bloke but he is a class act and on his day is one of the best giong around. This will be a very interesting year for the club....

P.S spent alot of money on the lights,maybe a little bit more on a light for the scoreboard dont you thinkhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon3.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon3.gif

not just footy
17 Mar 2007, 21:41
Went and watched Euroa and Mansfield last night,just woindering if there was anyone else that watched it to,if so what did you think of the game and the standard of the new lights.....

Yes I thought the lights were not too bad considering they only had them conected friday. Some adjustments needed to a few areas on the ground. But not sure if they only got them for training and not to play night games. Will be a big plus for training nights though.

not just footy
17 Mar 2007, 21:49
Didnt take too much notice of 16 but it would be fair to say the conditions were pretty difficult for both sides,as for the kids, there were some real shining lights for the club and lets hope Dave gives them a real chance to prove themselves, after all these are the future.A few locals said that this is the best crop of young ones for a few years.Also l thought that Lamaro showed his class at certain stages of the game,alot gets said about this bloke but he is a class act and on his day is one of the best giong around. This will be a very interesting year for the club....

P.S spent alot of money on the lights,maybe a little bit more on a light for the scoreboard dont you thinkhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon3.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon3.gif

Your right there is a good crop of juniors coming up, and for all the **** that gets said about hayden he is a very talented footballer. I think it is because some are jealous of his skills. Considering he missed last season he is looking good for 2007.
The lights. One thing at a time, is hard enough getting a grant for sunscreen let alone lights for a score board that may never be used again till next year. But a valid point though, it's a wonder the scoreboard hasn't been heritage listed.

jaxbac#13
17 Mar 2007, 22:39
Your right there is a good crop of juniors coming up, and for all the **** that gets said about hayden he is a very talented footballer. I think it is because some are jealous of his skills. Considering he missed last season he is looking good for 2007.
The lights. One thing at a time, is hard enough getting a grant for sunscreen let alone lights for a score board that may never be used again till next year. But a valid point though, it's a wonder the scoreboard hasn't been heritage listed.

One l forgot to mention was the awesome running machine Shane Clayton,he is a superstar of the comp,should at this early stage be the fav for the morrison and hopefully make the GV team of the year, last years absence was nothing short of a joke.l hope they have a new selection panel this year dont you think

King Kieran
17 Mar 2007, 22:56
Seymour beat Wangaratta by 5-6 goals in their practice match at Kings Park today. Don't know if Wang sent a strong side, but Seymour had a few missing.
It was interesting to notice Saad Saad out there, all the talk here was he wasnt returning.

not just footy
17 Mar 2007, 23:18
One l forgot to mention was the awesome running machine Shane Clayton,he is a superstar of the comp,should at this early stage be the fav for the morrison and hopefully make the GV team of the year, last years absence was nothing short of a joke.l hope they have a new selection panel this year dont you think

Yes couldn't agree with you more. Not only is he a great bloke but he can run around the footy ground and most people don't even notice him he so smooth. It was such a disappointment that he did not win the Morrison medal last year. As for the GV team of the year panel what a lot of Wan Kers I think.

Alley cat
17 Mar 2007, 23:51
It was interesting to notice Saad Saad out there, all the talk here was he wasnt returning.

Good news for Seymour supporters and the GVFL in general. Should drag a few more people through the gate. Seymour will have to get a fairly large percentage of their goals from Saad because it seems like they don't have another focal point at this stage.

Doona2
18 Mar 2007, 09:05

Depends who's doing the talking you're listening to ;) With no Pilling, Gordon or Rattray as marking options the human highlight machine will be required like never before. Any hope of Jim Kelly or Dave Tomkins stepping up which may see Schotty provide another marking option forward?

zero2hero
18 Mar 2007, 10:40
Depends who's doing the talking you're listening to ;) With no Pilling, Gordon or Rattray as marking options the human highlight machine will be required like never before. Any hope of Jim Kelly or Dave Tomkins stepping up which may see Schotty provide another marking option forward?
Good call Doon,if Jim can stand up and be competitive and release Shotty up forward he will be very hard to match up on. I thought the lions looked pretty sharp yesterday and i think Wangaratta had a fairly decent side in including Paul Kirby from Tatura.

Alley cat
18 Mar 2007, 11:07
Good call Doon,if Jim can stand up and be competitive and release Shotty up forward he will be very hard to match up on. I thought the lions looked pretty sharp yesterday and i think Wangaratta had a fairly decent side in including Paul Kirby from Tatura.

I thought Kelly looked a bit proppy at times, did he get a regular game in the ones at Shepp Swans? Is Simon Boruch playing this year? He may be another option to give Shotty a rest down the forward line.

TuskenRaider
18 Mar 2007, 12:19

In all seriousness I think you'll find the scoreboard should or could be heritage listed as it was originally one of the small scoreboards at the MCG and relocated to Memorial Oval many years ago. It's actually probably the best scoreboad in the league to read. Most of the electronic ones like Seymour's last a couple of years before malfunctioning.

Take note Deakin Reserve - does anyone remember old VFL grounds that have a white background scoreboard? I can't think of many.

As for the lights, they're not designed to be of a standard for night matches, I think that'll be a one off and are meant for training purposes.

PS. Why would any club need a grant for sunscreen?

zero2hero
18 Mar 2007, 19:37
I thought Kelly looked a bit proppy at times, did he get a regular game in the ones at Shepp Swans? Is Simon Boruch playing this year? He may be another option to give Shotty a rest down the forward line.
I did notice that he copped a nice old knee to the midrift about half way through the last qtr i think . Not sure about Boruch but l also heard today that Seymour have another ruck option but didn't catch the name, so like i said as long as one of these blokes can stand up and release Shotty up forward the lions will be a real danger again this year.

head67
18 Mar 2007, 21:13
In all seriousness I think you'll find the scoreboard should or could be heritage listed as it was originally one of the small scoreboards at the MCG and relocated to Memorial Oval many years ago. It's actually probably the best scoreboad in the league to read. Most of the electronic ones like Seymour's last a couple of years before malfunctioning.

Take note Deakin Reserve - does anyone remember old VFL grounds that have a white background scoreboard? I can't think of many.

As for the lights, they're not designed to be of a standard for night matches, I think that'll be a one off and are meant for training purposes.

PS. Why would any club need a grant for sunscreen?I dont think it would matter what was put in, it would be a vast improvement on 6 or 7 HQ Holden headlights that were there.

Grandale
19 Mar 2007, 09:20
Unless he's changed his mind in the past couple of weeks, Boruch is unlikely to play this year.
And even if he does I wouldn't imagine it will be in the seniors as he has not been doing much training I don't think.

FOOTYBOSS
19 Mar 2007, 10:37

Not very good to name drop people on this forum. Could come back to bite you in the a$$ one day. Just stick to having a kick on the footy field and dont worry about what is being said on a forum.

Michael Dudikoff
19 Mar 2007, 11:20

Cheers,

Daryl.

You're spot on Hank. We have dribbled on about this for too long - but at least we're not talking about Euroa. I just want to clarify something - it was not YOU in particular I was referring to about the alias. I think everyone knows who you are on here - it's no secret. It was more of a general term. And going way back to the issue where it all started - where exactly did Fan or Dyson take pot shots at anyone? I don't know who either of these guys is, i was just using them as an example to make my point.

Thanks, Michael

Michael Dudikoff
19 Mar 2007, 11:27
I wouldn't waste your time Hank. Dudikoff is just another alias from the stable of one of our regular shit stirrers. Funnily enough, I was actually receiving a tip-off via SMS as to who it is last night.
It's interesting to see that once the game is up and their identity is known they disappear. :rolleyes:

I agree with what you say though, there are a number of people who get on here to read and discuss other teams and how they are travelling and they do so without fuss and without having little digs or stabs at others.

Perhaps some people on here view it a bit differently and only post to have a bit of a laugh and hang some shit on players or clubs, but they should give respect to the people who are offering discussion without hiding behind a pseudonym.

don't be so sure Cosby - SMS rumours are about as reliable as bigfooty rumours.

NEXT LEVEL
19 Mar 2007, 11:28
does anyone know how tatura went against Numurkah on saturday in the practice match

toquick
19 Mar 2007, 11:41
does anyone know how tatura went against Numurkah on saturday in the practice match
Tatura went down by 1 point to numerka next level. goin to be a long year over at the kennel!

Third Qtr. Spray
19 Mar 2007, 13:11
I know we all used to love to hate him, but Big Footy has not been the same since Fat Back Pocket stopped posting. He also used to do a power of work behind the scenes at the "Den" and I have noticed that nobody is updating their website any more. It used to be the best going. What's the chances of some one pulling the digit out and getting it up to date.

Cheers:thumbsu: :) :thumbsu: