View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
How did anyone rate Tim Loobys first game for the Swans?
Xavier Campbell must have had a good day !? where did he play....what position was he used !?
jaxbac#13
9 Apr 2007, 17:37
Actually zero, unlike yourself i was at the game. Rick played alright, had a run up forward which i hadn't seen him do before but good on him. No body was questioning his football ability or his endeavor at avenel. As a bloke trying to make a name for himself at a new club, surely he'd prefer to not have his performances pushed in the spotlight after one game. Maybe after 6 or even 10 games it would be fairer on him to assess how he's gone.
I thought the game itself was a bit of a fizzer actually. Thought it was gonna be a good match early on when mansfield kicked 4 early ones, but after that never really looked in it. Pascoe killed them along centre half back, think he was playing loose. Suspect that rick will hold his place, because if giovanni plays bushies, sleigh goes back to school and cunningham gets rubbed out, that would mean at least four players would have to come in for him to get dropped. I thought sleigh and cunningham looked well and truly up to it. thought tremellan (number 13, record said tremellen but it was wrong on a fair few occasions) looked a class above in the twos, he'd have to be in the ones next week.:thumbsu:Perhaps l went to the wrong game,Rick might have good endeavor but to play GV seniors you need alot more than just that,his decission making was often questionable and he was led to every contest when playing one on one.l would think that he will be a fill in player for the ones when they are short as he really is just a solid twos player..nothing against the bloke this is just my opinion
On The Money
9 Apr 2007, 19:23
Xavier Campbell must have had a good day !? where did he play....what position was he used !?
He played on ball virtually all game and did rack up and use the ball well but he and his opponent played a mile off each other which was a reflection of the type of game it was for much of it until it tightened and more contests formed.
zero2hero
9 Apr 2007, 19:28
yeah thats fair enough for sure. funny bloke rick, has already become a colt figure around the club with the young blokes haha. his heart would get him a game every week as you know, just depends whats happening with other players around the club i reckon.
what was the story with him n avenal?
Well R.T.i've heard both sides of the story and i know where my money is lets just leave it at that. Had a couple of quite ones with Rick at his joint a few weeks ago and got the scoop on the whole debarcle and i all i will say is that i've known Ricki all of life and have never known him to tell a lie. You're spot on about his ticker and it should hold him in good stead even in the G.V although Jaxbac13 seems to have his doubts, maybe thats because he never had any :D .
jaxbac#13
9 Apr 2007, 21:17
Well R.T.i've heard both sides of the story and i know where my money is lets just leave it at that. Had a couple of quite ones with Rick at his joint a few weeks ago and got the scoop on the whole debarcle and i all i will say is that i've known Ricki all of life and have never known him to tell a lie. You're spot on about his ticker and it should hold him in good stead even in the G.V although Jaxbac13 seems to have his doubts, maybe thats because he never had any :D .
"Ticker" l presume your talking about,well l can tell you that you need more than just that to play senior footy in GV, to be successful at that level,anyone can get a game from time to time when teams are short on numbers,but good players are judged by how long they play at the elite level and how much they contribute to the side.Dont know the bloke personally but l guess time will tell all,l also know where my money is....
PS Zero,have you played at GV senior level at all or do you just barrack:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
zero2hero
9 Apr 2007, 21:36
"Ticker" l presume your talking about,well l can tell you that you need more than just that to play senior footy in GV, to be successful at that level,anyone can get a game from time to time when teams are short on numbers,but good players are judged by how long they play at the elite level and how much they contribute to the side.Dont know the bloke personally but l guess time will tell all,l also know where my money is....
PS Zero,have you played at GV senior level at all or do you just barrack:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
I'll give you an example, Gezza liddell and Ricki's skill and decision making would be more or less on a par, but the formentioned played in back2back flags in two very handy teams . As long as he can contribute something i reckon Mr.Gleeson will be happy,not everyone can be a Shane Clayton. As for me JB13 i simply was not skilled enough to GV seniors only KDL AND have no problem admitting it ;)
bomber11
9 Apr 2007, 21:54
The standard of gvl footy has definately fallen over like the demons have in afl if for one ricki shiner is playing seniors and two if ricki shiner is the main topic of conversation on this thread.
howd did choppa the new coach of the swans handle being in the pressure cooker on the wkend. Watching him coach in the past we all know he's a great coach but has a short fuse..... Did he boil over, what did he throw, kick or punch on the wkend? Hope he didnt pull down the old echuca grandstand, it would be 'heritage listed' like choppa himself!
jaxbac#13
9 Apr 2007, 22:11
I'll give you an example, Gezza liddell and Ricki's skill and decision making would be more or less on a par, but the formentioned played in back2back flags in two very handy teams . As long as he can contribute something i reckon Mr.Gleeson will be happy,not everyone can be a Shane Clayton. As for me JB13 i simply was not skilled enough to GV seniors only KDL AND have no problem admitting it ;)
l hope your not saying that Rick could have possibly got a game in Seymours two premiership sides.
zero2hero
9 Apr 2007, 22:46
l hope your not saying that Rick could have possibly got a game in Seymours two premiership sides.
No not by any stretch just making a comparison between the two in that they are both quick,tough in and under players and there is still room in most levels of footy for these type of players. Like i said earlier,we can't all be Shane Claytons or players of that ilk,not that he doesn't mind going in and getting it but uses it to greater effect.Hope now you can see the point i'm trying to make if not i might have to pop over and grab some petrol,a coffee and sausage roll and sit down and try to explain it a bit better :thumbsu: .
jaxbac#13
9 Apr 2007, 22:58
No not by any stretch just making a comparison between the two in that they are both quick,tough in and under players and there is still room in most levels of footy for these type of players. Like i said earlier,we can't all be Shane Claytons or players of that ilk,not that he doesn't mind going in and getting it but uses it to greater effect.Hope now you can see the point i'm trying to make if not i might have to pop over and grab some petrol,a coffee and sausage roll and sit down and try to explain it a bit better :thumbsu: .
Spend plenty, things have been a bit tight of late:D
I bet!
Not a lot of traffic on the road this weekend?
FOOTYBOSS
10 Apr 2007, 13:48
thats because iam a Euroa supporter Footyboss. And if you won't help me out that's fine. Now i can see why so many people call you a loser
Sorry Spike, but you have commented on everything Euroa has done this pre season and would almost know more about the club then myslef. But if you really would like to know. The players you mentioned have got a game due to the fact the deserved one after doing the hard yards druing the pre season. They were given limited opportunites last year due to the list being a bit stronger on paper then this years. We have also lost quite a few boys over the summer and the boys have got there shot in the seniors.
As you were at the game on Saturday, you could see that majority of them held their own against some good opposition. The standouts for me were young Jesse Robertson who played really well down back, harry Sleigh showed great glimpses off a wing/HFF and little Saville played a really good game in the backline. He is speed and skill were eveident. to his credit he has put in a really big pre season and its paying divideneds.
Grandale
10 Apr 2007, 15:19
Lets be honest the $$$ on offer for sports journalism aint good enough at times for the hours (weekend work) expected to do the job justice. Im sure the editors would be on a fair wicket, but your standard journo is extemely underpaid IMO.
That's true, Doona, but the pros still far outweigh the cons.
There aren't many better jobs going around than sitting around writing footy all day, even if one of those days happens to be a Satdy for Sundy
FOOTYBOSS
10 Apr 2007, 15:20
Burgoyne joins Magpies in coup
April 10 2007
Shepparton News
Euroa has pulled off a coup, signing indigenous pair Jason Burgoyne and
Shane Thorne for the Goulburn Valley Football League season.
Burgoyne, cousin of Port Power brothers Peter and Shaun Burgoyne, and
Thorne will head to the Strathbogie township in the coming weeks following
the completion of the Northern Territory Football League season a
fortnight ago.
Magpies coach Dave Gleeson said the duo, which played with the Wanderers
as part of AFL Northern Territory, was expected to have an instant impact
on the game, Burgoyne known for racking up possessions in the midfield and
Thorne widely recognised as a player who shows maturity beyond his years.
Gleeson said they should line up in round four or five.
BODZY#32
10 Apr 2007, 16:20
April 10 2007
Shepparton News
fortnight ago.
I see in the local paper Matthew Pascoe is playing for Euroa this year....
Great signing there! Packa is a top bloke and an outstanding player, seen him get best on for Mount Pleasant in Heatcoate league matches many times. Just as good off the field as he is on it, great bloke to have around and i hope he goes well and enjoys his time with you boys!:thumbsu:
half time lollies
10 Apr 2007, 17:29
April 10 2007
Shepparton News
fortnight ago.
Both handy players from all reports boss. Burgoyne will be the better of the 2. Not sure how much research Euroa have done on these players but I have been informed that Burgoyne may have spent a bit of time behind bars!
zero2hero
10 Apr 2007, 17:57
Perhaps a 5% discount for a fellow bigfooty member off the fuel :p .
jaxbac#13
10 Apr 2007, 18:19
Perhaps a 5% discount for a fellow bigfooty member off the fuel :p .
show me ya shopper docket:D :thumbsu:
undercover cat
10 Apr 2007, 18:28
yes big boss man i wonder which of the hard working local players that have done a full pre season they will drop to fit thes two ring ins in
Both handy players from all reports boss. Burgoyne will be the better of the 2. Not sure how much research Euroa have done on these players but I have been informed that Burgoyne may have spent a bit of time behind bars!Don't think been behind bars will hinder his abillity to get the sherrin, unless he tends to play from behind to much now:eek:
zero2hero
10 Apr 2007, 22:46
How about some tips for the remaining games in rd.1, here go's
Shepp.utd v Benalla
Rochester v Kyabram
Mooroopna v Shepparton
Seymour v Tatura
Kyabram will be the upset win of the season then they won't win too many more.Seymour will win by an absolute street,Shepparton looked a little ragged against Seymour a couple of weeks ago so Mooroopna should be able to hold them off and Benalla have lost a couple players but should get over Shepp.utd at the " D".:thumbsu:
mainland
10 Apr 2007, 23:35
Shepp.utd v Benalla
Rochester v Kyabram
Mooroopna v Shepparton
Seymour v Tatura
Kyabram will be the upset win of the season then they won't win too many more.Seymour will win by an absolute street,Shepparton looked a little ragged against Seymour a couple of weeks ago so Mooroopna should be able to hold them off and Benalla have lost a couple players but should get over Shepp.utd at the " D".:thumbsu:
Rochester will win by the largest margin of the round I feel, saw Ky play a few weeks ago and they where nothing to write home about.
not just footy
10 Apr 2007, 23:51
Don't think been behind bars will hinder his abillity to get the sherrin, unless he tends to play from behind to much now:eek:
His ability to play football is all they want. If everyone was judged on their past then what a sad world it would be.:(
Undercover you are a Wan Ker. If you want to see Euroa do well they need some more depth than what they have got. You are not a true supporter you are truely a Wan Ker.:thumbsd:
i dont think Undercover is that far off the mark, yeh you have to get good players to the club, but you have to look after your locals and as it has been seen in the previous two years under glesso ditching locals for out of towners hasnt worked completely, if euroa keep *****ting where they eat the locals will leave, some already have.....
Shepp.utd v Benalla
Rochester v Kyabram
Mooroopna v Shepparton
Seymour v Tatura
United 15pts
Rochy 82pts
Mooroopna 21pts
Seymour 133pts
His ability to play football is all they want. If everyone was judged on their past then what a sad world it would be.:(That was my point njf.
Saints take Stott stand
http://news.mcmedia.com.au/pics/NWS/20070411/peuckerc.jpg
Stott
http://news.mcmedia.com.au/pics/NWS/20070411/GV8.jpg
April 11 2007
Shepparton News
Benalla will take the rejected clearance of Wes Stott to appeal this week following Euroa's decision to refuse the midfielder's release on three separate occasions.
Stott, who played more than 100 games with the Magpies after joining the club from Camperdown in 2001, walked out on the club in November citing a need for a new challenge.
Saints president Gary Joyce said the club was disappointed with the way the situation had been handled after being given assurances by a Euroa representative more than a month ago that Stott would be cleared.
"He told me they wouldn't hold anyone back," Joyce said.
"They wanted Wes to front the players about why he was leaving and Wes was disappointed and didn't want to do that.
"We spoke to Scott Watson and he said he would do it on behalf of Wes Stott.
"My understanding was he would then be cleared."
Euroa has maintained its stance, president Xavier Thomson saying the Magpies' committee backed coach Dave Gleeson's decision to reject the clearance.
The appeal will now be heard on Friday.
"He's still a required player at Euroa," Thomson said.
"We discussed it with the match committee and decided to appeal against it (the appeal from the Saints)."
Thomson said he made several attempts to contact Stott since the end of last season, but had not heard back from the interleague representative.
Joyce said Benalla was confident of securing Stott's services for its opening round Goulburn Valley Football League clash against Shepparton United at Deakin Reserve on Saturday, after completing a pre-season with the Saints and being appointed skills coach.
Shepp.utd v Benalla
Rochester v Kyabram
Mooroopna v Shepparton
Seymour v Tatura
Shepp.Utd vBenalla
Rochy v Ky
Mooroopna v Shepp
Seymour v Tat
FOOTYBOSS
11 Apr 2007, 13:28
yes big boss man i wonder which of the hard working local players that have done a full pre season they will drop to fit thes two ring ins in
Well thse boys have just finished playing their season's, so Im sure they are fully fit. If the boys can hold there form, I cant see them getting dropped, but if their form drops off then it might happen. It just makes the competition for a spot in the senior 21 even more competitive, which is a good thing to have around a club.
as if 2 players wont be dropped for when these guys get here, as if they are going to travel all the way down here from up north to run around in your seconds team that is so good,
come on be serious, it might even be you that will be in the twos
If anyone is after some light relief read back through toquick's posts about Tim Lanyon getting the boot from Tatura. Toquick is (I know for a fact) Tim Lanyon. It puts a whole different spin on the story.
I don't think you do know for a fact, because I know it is not him and toquick actually pretty much said who he was two or three weeks ago, yes he played footy for Tat last year and yes he is not there this year but no he is not playing in a major league and he was cleared to the minor league club a long time ago.
Grandale
11 Apr 2007, 14:31
Boss, how many blokes that played Twos for most of the year at Euroa last year were in their Rd 1 side last weekend?
FOOTYBOSS
11 Apr 2007, 14:34
as if 2 players wont be dropped for when these guys get here, as if they are going to travel all the way down here from up north to run around in your seconds team that is so good,
come on be serious, it might even be you that will be in the twos
I dont think I ever said I wouldnt get dropped skillz. I also never said our seconds team is good as well. I might be wrong here, but I think the boys might play at least 1 game in the seconds before getting a game. If 2 boys do happen to be dropped, well they just need to work a bit harder to get their spots back and prove the coaching panel wrong for dropping them in the 1st place.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Apr 2007, 14:35
Boss, how many blokes that played Twos for most of the year at Euroa last year were in their Rd 1 side last weekend?
Im pretty sure there was 5 of us that played in the twos Grand Final last year that were in the seniors Round 1.
HawkeEye
11 Apr 2007, 20:51
Im pretty sure there was 5 of us that played in the twos Grand Final last year that were in the seniors Round 1.
How did the boys go BOSS. Also how do you play.
Good signs for the young boys coming through and I think these boys from NT will sit nicely into the midfield, as its needed with stott, thomson and sage missing.
Good luck.
Rochester will win by the largest margin of the round I feel, saw Ky play a few weeks ago and they where nothing to write home about.
well i watch you play a few weeks ago! and how you are playing seniors is beyond me.
Nice call stinky box, but can gaurantee mainland wasnt playing footy for anyone a few weeks ago, or last week or months ago, maybe 12 months ago, who were you thinking he was?
zero2hero
11 Apr 2007, 21:51
United 15pts
Rochy 82pts
Mooroopna 21pts
Seymour 133pts
That's some very thorough work Hank,margins and everything :thumbsu:
Yeah why not, could be well off the mark though.
zero2hero
11 Apr 2007, 22:55
Who have you guy's got in your first game this w/end end Hank and are you chance to get your first win on the board?
TuskenRaider
11 Apr 2007, 23:20
Benalla will take the rejected clearance of Wes Stott to appeal this week following Euroa's decision to refuse the midfielder's release on three separate occasions.
Stott, who played more than 100 games with the Magpies after joining the club from Camperdown in 2001, walked out on the club in November citing a need for a new challenge.
Saints president Gary Joyce said the club was disappointed with the way the situation had been handled after being given assurances by a Euroa representative more than a month ago that Stott would be cleared.
"He told me they wouldn't hold anyone back," Joyce said.
"They wanted Wes to front the players about why he was leaving and Wes was disappointed and didn't want to do that.
"We spoke to Scott Watson and he said he would do it on behalf of Wes Stott.
"My understanding was he would then be cleared."
Euroa has maintained its stance, president Xavier Thomson saying the Magpies' committee backed coach Dave Gleeson's decision to reject the clearance.
The appeal will now be heard on Friday.
"He's still a required player at Euroa," Thomson said.
"We discussed it with the match committee and decided to appeal against it (the appeal from the Saints)."
Thomson said he made several attempts to contact Stott since the end of last season, but had not heard back from the interleague representative.
Joyce said Benalla was confident of securing Stott's services for its opening round Goulburn Valley Football League clash against Shepparton United at Deakin Reserve on Saturday, after completing a pre-season with the Saints and being appointed skills coach.
Not very good policy not clearing him. It isn't going to achieve much other than possibly keeping him from playing full stop.
Thts euroa for ya mate, im pretty sure the reject every clearance first time round, i think the have had abit of trouble keeping people who have been around the club for more then 2 or 3 years. maybe if they treated 'em better they'd keep more people round
Shoulda done some homework stinky :confused:
Who have you guy's got in your first game this w/end end Hank and are you chance to get your first win on the board?
Moama at home, yeah confident we can open up the account first up.
Mobbenfuhrer
12 Apr 2007, 10:30
Any of you Brokeback River boys interested in fielding a team? :p
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342
Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?
Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.
This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!
All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728
I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.
So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.
Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!
I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.
For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.
So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).
We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.
Onward lads! ...
wizza_2
12 Apr 2007, 10:58
Agreed Rowey. Kurt, No need to do your rag over a fwe splelling erorrsss...
Went and saw Rochester train last night. Had a Intra club practice match. They are looking very good, moving the ball fast and getting it down to Bowen one out. One out, Bowen will be unstoppable. Must have kicked 5-6 goals while I was there. Only real question is whether to play him forward or sit him at CHB. Lot of young guys coming through as well, which will help the much maligned Rochy 2's. Sam Williams played pretty well in the game and although now one of the older blokes at the club, Lenny Schmidt was killing them.
lenny didnt play mate so not sure what game u were watching
FOOTYBOSS
12 Apr 2007, 11:59
Totally agree Tusken. If a player puts in a clearance they should be cleared straight away unless they owe the club money or something.
Nice call stinky box, but can gaurantee mainland wasnt playing footy for anyone a few weeks ago, or last week or months ago, maybe 12 months ago, who were you thinking he was?
one of your cousins k
thought so, well I would like to see you play on Paulo and see how you go. He did a good job was within arms length of him every time the ball was kicked to him, the forward line was left open for him so that made it nigh on impossible to stop him.
Kyle has as big a dip as anyway, his skills may still need work but he will give you everything and thats more than I could say for a couple others in both sides that day.
FOOTYBOSS
12 Apr 2007, 14:49
How did the boys go BOSS. Also how do you play.
Good signs for the young boys coming through and I think these boys from NT will sit nicely into the midfield, as its needed with stott, thomson and sage missing.
Good luck.
The boys went really well HawkEye. They all the jobs they were supposed to do and if not did more I reckon. Thats why we had a good victory. As for me, I struggled a bit. Have played better games, but havent played a good game in a while.
Very good signs with the young boys coming through and Im sure the NT boys will fit in nicely.
Hows the travelling going?
Brahman_cavalier
12 Apr 2007, 16:36
Agreed Rowey. Kurt, No need to do your rag over a fwe splelling erorrsss...
Went and saw Rochester train last night. Had a Intra club practice match. They are looking very good, moving the ball fast and getting it down to Bowen one out. One out, Bowen will be unstoppable. Must have kicked 5-6 goals while I was there. Only real question is whether to play him forward or sit him at CHB. Lot of young guys coming through as well, which will help the much maligned Rochy 2's. Sam Williams played pretty well in the game and although now one of the older blokes at the club, Lenny Schmidt was killing them.
Lenny yet to play any praccy matches ******** and Sammy Williams couldn't get a touch in a whore house.
Johnny Tapp
12 Apr 2007, 18:43
Lenny yet to play any praccy matches ******** and Sammy Williams couldn't get a touch in a whore house.
Think he was talking about last Thursday night's training intra club that you obviously didn't turn up to or would have seen both Lenny and Sammy carving it up....
zero2hero
12 Apr 2007, 18:57
Moama at home, yeah confident we can open up the account first up.
Will Travis Wayman be playing,got the impression he is injured as he was not in Moama's goal kickers last week.
mainland
12 Apr 2007, 19:18
one of your cousins k
So stinky who are U to judge a players performance or ability by the way??
Snakeman66
12 Apr 2007, 20:55
Will Travis Wayman be playing,got the impression he is injured as he was not in Moama's goal kickers last week.
Moama MATTHEW KNOX 3, PAUL VAN DER SLUYS 2, TRAVAS WAYMAN 1, LUKE ELDRIDGE 1, BENJAMIN MASON 1, DANIEL THORP 1, BRENTON FAULKNER 1, MATTHEW JACKSON 1
Must have miss the fine print?
zero2hero
12 Apr 2007, 22:09
Moama MATTHEW KNOX 3, PAUL VAN DER SLUYS 2, TRAVAS WAYMAN 1, LUKE ELDRIDGE 1, BENJAMIN MASON 1, DANIEL THORP 1, BRENTON FAULKNER 1, MATTHEW JACKSON 1
Must have miss the fine print?
Thanks Snakeman,must be time to invest in a pair of coke bottle glasses i think :eek: .
So stinky who are U to judge a players performance or ability by the way??
A gun Ky thirds player from Stanhope. On one of Paulo's 30m leads he would be 15m behind.:p
undercover cat
12 Apr 2007, 23:09
any big ins or outs this week
No Heart
13 Apr 2007, 09:04
any big ins or outs this week
Yeah - we have 21 ins this week. No outs.
Travvy43
13 Apr 2007, 11:58
Forgive me if this has been raised as cannot be bothered reading back on pages to see if it has.
Tim Lanyon to Shepp Swans.
bradrowe#32
13 Apr 2007, 12:11
Teams:
SHEPPARTON UNITED
B: Bailey, Hatherall, Briggs
HB: Tenace, Hazelman, Carroll
C: Perkovic, Hueston, Wood
HF: Davies, Forys, Gibson
F: Black, Dawes, McLarty
Foll: Sutherland, Sidebottom, Barlow
Inter: Moore, Saville, Round
Emerg: Smith, Rendina, Cook
MOOROOPNA
B: Parsons, Connally, Barca
HB: McDonald, Norman, Hopkins
C: Aloi, Cox, Tweddle
HF: LaPorta, Osborne, Br Campbell
F: Boyer, Robbins, Sofi
Foll: Hughan, Hall, Loughran
Inter: Freer, Vandermeer, Atkinson
BENALLA
B: Croxford, Fahey, Symes
HB: McKean, Cooper, T. Rockliff
C: Stevens, Stott, Pollard
HF: D. Symes, MacKenzie, Martiniello
F: Dube, T. Rockliff, Aumann
Foll: Porter, Cole, Priest
Inter: Ferguson, Green, McKenzie
ROCHESTER
B: M. Watson, Pappin, C. Moon
HB: Schmidt, Oliver, Whitsed
C: Knight, Aitken, Hyden
HF: Whipp, Bowen, Cuttriss
F: Hann, McPhee, Lobb
Foll: Anderson, A. Watson, D. Moon
Inter: Montague, Loughman, Bubb
Emerg: Williams, Weekley
SEYMOUR
B: Innes, O'Keefe, Pemberton
HB: Penn, Hooper, Colbert
C: Reid, Scanlon, Jake Anderson
HF: Stevenson, Jeff Anderson, Spargo
F: Saad, Schotner, VanReit
Foll: J. Kelly, Liddell, Haberman
Inter: Watts, Tomkins, Russo
SHEPPARTON
B: T. Cullinan, Taylor, Hiscock
HB: L. Chapman, Mellington, B. Chapman
C: Turner, Joyce, Maddison
HF: Jacques, Saunders, O'Brien
F: McIntyre, Dudgeon, Campbell
Foll: Harrap, M. Chapman, Allan
Inter: Bekker, C. Cullinan, Kelly
Emerg: Richardson, Shadbolt, Foley
KYABRAM
B: Hunter, Thomson, Gentle
HB: Burnett, Vick, Kirkman
C: Martin, Pell, M. Finn
HF: Emmett, Andison, Mangan
F: Cooper, Newman, Butler
Foll: Pryde, J. Thomson, J. Finn
Inter: Kelly, Jones, Chambers
TATURA
To be selected from: Leahy, Chessells, Dagger, Earles, J. Barnett, C. Barnett, Burns, Keast, Crawford, McPhillamy, Josh Gledhill, Little, Coe, Neville, Anderson, Borrelli, Jones, Thorn, Kliensdienst
Emerg: Pollard, Davidson
toquick
13 Apr 2007, 12:12
Forgive me if this has been raised as cannot be bothered reading back on pages to see if it has.
Tim Lanyon to Shepp Swans.
Yeah Timmy is a Swan. Out with a hamstring at the momment though.
bradrowe#32
13 Apr 2007, 12:12
Saint's swipe
April 13 2007
Shepparton News
Benalla coach Brenton Cooper has delivered the ultimate sucker punch to his former team Shepparton United, marking versatile forward Duane Hueston as someone who "lacks a bit of character".
Cooper's explosive comments against his former teammate come on the eve of the Saints' round one clash against the Demons at Deakin Reserve on Saturday.
"We'll target Duane Hueston, physically and mentally - within the rules - because I think he lacks a bit of character," Cooper said yesterday.
"I rate him highly as a player, but we have to pick weaknesses and he lacks team character."
Cooper said he did not buy into any of the hype surrounding the game - including his homecoming to Benalla and United's hunger to avenge its semi-final loss against the Saints last season - saying it was simply a kick between two relatively even sides that he wanted to win.
"I don't think any of that comes into it," he said.
"Brad Hazelman will just be looking to get the four points like me to put us a slight step in front."
Responding to Cooper's comments yesterday, Hueston said any perceived chinks in his mental armour was the least of his concerns as he is still waiting on his clearance from Murray Football League club Echuca United.
"I'm just happy if I'll be able to play," Hueston said.
"I hope I can go out there and play well."
No stranger to controversy, Cooper's history with both clubs has had him in the headlines, coaching Benalla to a preliminary final in 2002 before being poached by United - his childhood club - less than a month after re-signing with the Saints for a third season.
toquick
13 Apr 2007, 12:13
For those who read the Shepp News what's your opinion on what Coops has said about Huey?
For those that are interested in having a flutter on the footy. On the sportsbet website the odds of the GV prmiership have been posted for all punters to try their luck. Here is the link. Very short odds on all teams if you ask me.
https://www.sportsbet.com.au/sport/event/SportID/4/CompetitionPID/12562/RoundPID/12394/EventID/710726/MenuLevel/C (https://www.sportsbet.com.au/sport/event/SportID/4/CompetitionPID/12562/RoundPID/12394/EventID/710726/MenuLevel/C)
A gun Ky thirds player from Stanhope. On one of Paulo's 30m leads he would be 15m behind.:p
i aint from stanhope buddy nor a gun
mainland
13 Apr 2007, 13:39
Did u play at all the other week then.... if so what grade??
nah did you? what is your name?
Depends which one of the two blokes is writing who get on under this alias
nah did you? what is your name?
didnt you read what I said, he hasnt played for nearly 12 months??
Mobbenfuhrer
13 Apr 2007, 14:27
A reminder to not avoid the swear filter, and also, if you see a post that is disrespectful of other users, report it (exclamation mark within upside-down give-way sign down bottom left of each post). If you challenge a troll then and there, especially if you quote their post, you end up causing more permanence to their annoyance, rather than getting it dealt with.
Play on ...
Depends which one of the two blokes is writing who get on under this alias
righto hank we will leave it at that i dont know who mian lander is. i made a misstake.
wizza_2
13 Apr 2007, 15:53
sammy williams did carve it up
no left foot
13 Apr 2007, 15:56
Heard Sutherland from Shep Swans was involved in a behind the play incident consequently an Echuca player has had to have surgery on his face. Echuca are looking into the matter don't think they are real happy.
How many times has Sutherland been involved in these sort of incidents and if more comes of this should the league take a stand to stamp out this sort of thing.
jaxbac#13
13 Apr 2007, 18:27
For those who read the Shepp News what's your opinion on what Coops has said about Huey?
l wonder what Shorty Martinello thinks of Coops questioning someone elses character as Coops was the one that flew the koop on Benalla a couple of years ago,at the time their were alot of Benalla people questioning his character,l beleive that Shorty left Benalla on bad terms due to Coops coming back believing that Coops sh1t on the club beforehand and didnt believe that the club was doing the right thing reappointing him again.Could be wrong though.....
Wes Stott goes to appeal tonight,will be very interesting to see which way this one goes,l hope sanity prevails though:thumbsu:
On The Money
13 Apr 2007, 18:53
I thought he was spot on.
May have been accurate but it came across as a tad hypocritical...
undercover cat
13 Apr 2007, 19:05
l wonder what Shorty Martinello thinks of Coops questioning someone elses character as Coops was the one that flew the koop on Benalla a couple of years ago,at the time their were alot of Benalla people questioning his character,l beleive that Shorty left Benalla on bad terms due to Coops coming back believing that Coops sh1t on the club beforehand and didnt believe that the club was doing the right thing reappointing him again.Could be wrong though.....
Wes Stott goes to appeal tonight,will be very interesting to see which way this one goes,l hope sanity prevails though:thumbsu:
couldnt agree more about stotty wes is a top bloke he shouldnt have to go to appeals they signed mathew mills away shannon gisbon nathan gilland away daniel sage why cant they just let the ppor bloke go, why reject him? obvious if he played with euroa he wouldnt e fully commited!
people put clearances in for a reason they dont want to play there?
zero2hero
13 Apr 2007, 19:14
couldnt agree more about stotty wes is a top bloke he shouldnt have to go to appeals they signed mathew mills away shannon gisbon nathan gilland away daniel sage why cant they just let the ppor bloke go, why reject him? obvious if he played with euroa he wouldnt e fully commited!
HERE , HERE :thumbsu:
HawkeEye
13 Apr 2007, 20:59
The boys went really well HawkEye. They all the jobs they were supposed to do and if not did more I reckon. Thats why we had a good victory. As for me, I struggled a bit. Have played better games, but havent played a good game in a while.
Very good signs with the young boys coming through and Im sure the NT boys will fit in nicely.
Hows the travelling going?
Good news then, goal would be the finals then. Good luck
Travelling going well, pop down to paris the other weekend for a look around and over to dublin next week.
Prob will have a kick over here at some stage. Got a few more countries to check out and prob be home maybe the summer of next.
European summer is about to hit, so look out. Could be very interesting
jaxbac#13
13 Apr 2007, 21:18
HERE , HERE :thumbsu:
Spoke to Wes Stott tonight and he informs me that he has been cleared by Euroa this morning,good news for a good bloke and good to see Euroa doing the right thing by him and footy in general ,so lets just get down to playing footy:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Snakeman66
13 Apr 2007, 21:40
Spoke to Wes Stott tonight and he informs me that he has been cleared by Euroa this morning,good news for a good bloke and good to see Euroa doing the right thing by him and footy in general ,so lets just get down to playing footy:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
13/4/2007 005252 STOTT, Wesley Euroa 2003 > Player Benalla Granted by Appeal
But not by own choice it would appear.
jaxbac#13
13 Apr 2007, 23:04
13/4/2007 005252 STOTT, Wesley Euroa 2003 > Player Benalla Granted by Appeal
But not by own choice it would appear.
Can guarantee did not go to appeal as Wes was at my place at 730pm,deal was done early that morning.....
fuzzyswan
13 Apr 2007, 23:51
see that darcy waugh has been named in the seymour twos. what are his prospects of playing seniors this year? i would have thought he'd be thereabouts
Henry24
14 Apr 2007, 19:24
Have heard the B&F winner from nightcliff is playing at Tatura? Is this correct?
vote for pedro
14 Apr 2007, 19:29
see that darcy waugh has been named in the seymour twos. what are his prospects of playing seniors this year? i would have thought he'd be thereabouts
Well, the demons had a lovely win today at deakin reserve. Simon Hatherill played brilliant at full back producing underated spoils that left the demon backline rebounding all the way to half forward. Justin Davies was more than impressive with his one percenters in the guts, then shifted to the forward line showing a bit of his class.
Watch out for Tyson Sidebottom. Started reasonably well then did the small things around contests that gave the demons the break that they needed.
Had you been at the footy you'd had noticed that the Benalla coach may have been a little embarraced about the way his CUBS went about the footy today. With exception to Mark Porter, they were quite embarrasing to the open eye. As for my opinion on the comments that surronded Heuston that was seen in the Sheparton News, Brenton Cooper carried on more like a pork chop than a leader of a football club.
Say what you want!
Duff Man
14 Apr 2007, 22:19
Good news then, goal would be the finals then. Good luck
Travelling going well, pop down to paris the other weekend for a look around and over to dublin next week.
Prob will have a kick over here at some stage. Got a few more countries to check out and prob be home maybe the summer of next.
European summer is about to hit, so look out. Could be very interesting
Sounds great Hawke. Check out the madames on the rue de la grande in their skimpy G's and tell 'em Duff says g'day. Watch out for any little fellas hidin' in the bushes in Dublin too mate. Not every thing they tell you is the honest truth. Rectal exams are not performed by leprechauns.:cool: :thumbsu: ;)
Third Qtr. Spray
14 Apr 2007, 22:35
Have heard the B&F winner from nightcliff is playing at Tatura? Is this correct?
Seen Tat play today and there did not look like there was one B & F winner amongst them. I think there count should be cancelled this year and hope for the best next year. Only 1 impressed was the newby from Sunbury, (Little), who is actually BIG.
bradrowe#32
15 Apr 2007, 00:05
Shepparton United 4.5 2.3 3.3 4.3 (13.14.92) d. Benalla 3.3 2.2 5.3 1.3 (11.11.77)
Goals
Shepparton United SAM DAWES 3, MATT FORYS 3, MICHAEL BARLOW 2, JUSTIN DAVIES 2, MICHAEL WOOD 1, JUSTIN SUTHERLAND 1, STUART SAVILLE 1
Benalla WILLIAM MARTINIELLO 5, THOMAS ROCKLIFF 2, MARK PORTER 1, PHILLIP AUMANN 1, ADAM COLE 1, SHAUN CROXFORD 1
Best
Shepparton United TYSON SIDEBOTTOM, MICHAEL BARLOW, RUSSELL GIBSON, MICHAEL WOOD, JOSEPH PERKOVIC, SEAN TENACE
Benalla MARK PORTER, SHAUN CROXFORD, PETER SYMES, MARK MACKENZIE, ROWAN PRIEST
Rochester 3.6 5.3 9.2 4.3 (21.14.140) d. Kyabram 5.2 6.1 0.4 2.2 (13.9.87)
Goals
Rochester PHILLIP LOBB 6, ANTHONY MCPHEE 6, DEAN MOON 2, ELLIOT BOWEN 2
Kyabram PAUL NEWMAN 4, RYAN BUTLER 3, RYAN EMMETT 2, JOSH FINN 1, JAMES MARTIN 1, BRADLEY MANGAN 1
Best
Rochester PHILLIP LOBB, ASHLEY WATSON, KAHL OLIVER, ANTHONY MCPHEE, BEN ANDERSON, SCOTT HANN
Kyabram JOSH FINN, TIM KIRKMAN, JOSHUA VICK, RYAN EMMETT, RYAN BUTLER
Mooroopna 5.1 4.2 8.2 3.3 (20.8.128) d. Shepparton 5.5 2.7 4.3 4.3 (15.18.108)
Goals
Mooroopna BRAD CAMPBELL 7, ROBERT OSBORNE 4, TY PARSONS 3, SHAUN ROBBINS 1, LUKE SOFI 1, NATHAN TWEDDLE 1, STEVEN COX 1, DEREK HALL 1, SAM LAPORTA 1
Shepparton JEREMY O'BRIEN 4, NICHOLAS ALLAN 2, GLENN JOYCE 2, ANTHONY MELLINGTON 2, BRENT CHAPMAN 1, MATT CHAPMAN 1, CHRIS TURNER 1
Best
Mooroopna BRAD CAMPBELL, KANE BOYER, TRENT FREER, MATTHEW MCDONALD, NICHOLAS ALOI, NATHAN TWEDDLE
Shepparton MARC HARRAP, GLENN JOYCE, JEREMY O'BRIEN, NICHOLAS ALLAN, TOM CULLINAN, DANIEL MCINTYRE
Seymour 7.4 5.9 7.10 9.4 (28.27.195) d. Tatura 2.1 0.1 0.3 1.4 (3.8.20)
Goals
Seymour SAAD SAAD 7, JEFF ANDERSON 4, BRENDAN LIDDELL 2, PAUL SCANLON 2, SHANE SCHOTTNER 2, BRETT SPARGO 2, LUKE STEVENSON 2, ADAM REID 2, DOMINIC RUSSO 1, MATTHEW O'KEEFE 1, MATTHEW PENN 1, BRENT COLBERT 1, BERNARD HABERMAN 1
Tatura ANTONIO BORRELLI 1, JOSH GLEDHILL 1
Best
Seymour RODNEY VAN RIET, JEFF ANDERSON, PAUL SCANLON, LUKE STEVENSON, SAAD SAAD, MATTHEW O'KEEFE
Tatura SCOTT THORN, TIM LITTLE, JASON DAGGER, PAUL NEVILLE, ANDREW CRAWFORD
bradrowe#32
15 Apr 2007, 00:08
Pretty good win from a Rochy perspective. Looks like they really struggled for the first two quarters, going into half time about even. But they kicked away, kicking 13 goals to 2 after that.
Phil Lobb kicked 6 goals in his debut for the club. It will be interesting to see how he fares against the top sides. It's a good luxury to have Tank McPhee sitting in a pocket. Ash Watson and Ben Anderson will add a fair bit. A big test next week at Deakin v Shepparton.
bradrowe#32
15 Apr 2007, 00:17
PS: Pretty good to see the Rochy ressies get a win.
Get on them for the flag!
jaxbac#13
15 Apr 2007, 00:32
Well, the demons had a lovely win today at deakin reserve. Simon Hatherill played brilliant at full back producing underated spoils that left the demon backline rebounding all the way to half forward. Justin Davies was more than impressive with his one percenters in the guts, then shifted to the forward line showing a bit of his class.
Watch out for Tyson Sidebottom. Started reasonably well then did the small things around contests that gave the demons the break that they needed.
Had you been at the footy you'd had noticed that the Benalla coach may have been a little embarraced about the way his CUBS went about the footy today. With exception to Mark Porter, they were quite embarrasing to the open eye. As for my opinion on the comments that surronded Heuston that was seen in the Sheparton News, Brenton Cooper carried on more like a pork chop than a leader of a football club.
Say what you want!
How did good mate Wes Stott go, did he have any influence on the game at all:thumbsu:
phillip needleman
15 Apr 2007, 05:44
what is his name?
zero2hero
15 Apr 2007, 09:15
Pretty good win from a Rochy perspective. Looks like they really struggled for the first two quarters, going into half time about even. But they kicked away, kicking 13 goals to 2 after that.
Phil Lobb kicked 6 goals in his debut for the club. It will be interesting to see how he fares against the top sides. It's a good luxury to have Tank McPhee sitting in a pocket. Ash Watson and Ben Anderson will add a fair bit. A big test next week at Deakin v Shepparton.
My round 1 tips (thread #9423) were looking pretty good at that stage ,pity the game has 4 quaters instead of 2 :o .
FOOTYBOSS
16 Apr 2007, 12:09
Why rejest him undercover, well he was heading to club that Euroa would be playing against and would only strengthen them. That was the reason why it got rejected. The other boys were going to clubs that arent involved in the GVFL, that why they got their clearnces granted straight away. But as someone else mentioned, sanity prevailed and he got cleared. I agree with you though, in that people put in clearances, its pretty obvious they dont want to be at the club, so let them go.
Duff Man
16 Apr 2007, 12:29
Heard Sutherland from Shep Swans was involved in a behind the play incident consequently an Echuca player has had to have surgery on his face. Echuca are looking into the matter don't think they are real happy.
How many times has Sutherland been involved in these sort of incidents and if more comes of this should the league take a stand to stamp out this sort of thing.
Got a mention in todays paper. Maybe Doona can put a copy on here for all to read.
On-field incident is under investigation
April 16 2007
Shepparton News
Echuca has launched proceedings for an investigation into an incident which left defender John Halloran with a facial injury.
The Murray Bombers filed the request for the investigation with Goulburn Valley Football League on Thursday, in relation to their round one clash against Shepparton Swans at Victoria Park on Easter Saturday.
"An investigation into an incident that took place in that game between Jarrod Sutherland and John Halloran has commenced," league general manager Eric Bott said.
Norm Gillespie has been appointed the investigating officer and will have 21 days to make a recommendation as to whether there is a charge to answer.
Echuca president Leo Welch said Halloran underwent surgery for the injury on Friday, but would not speculate when he would be fit to return to the Murray Bombers' lineup.
"It was an off the ball incident which we really can't comment on any further except to say we're just supporting our player," Welch said.
Meanwhile, Euroa young gun Brad Cunningham will face the tribunal tomorrow after being reported by central umpire Darren Meek for a head-high bump on Mansfield's Warren Smith.
In a busy night for the tribunal, Benalla's Brendan Stevens is also expected to be up on a striking charge after being yellow-carded during Saturday's clash against Shepparton United.
Stevens has been offered a onematch set penalty by
Duff Man
16 Apr 2007, 13:01
Cheers Doona.
sutherland has been involved in these sorts of things too often, but there is not much else the league can do, if it happened behind play and no one saw it how can it be proven, that is why they have an investigation and work to their best abilities to solve the situation by trying to find witnesses and all that other stuff and whatever conclusion they come to if suddsy is found guilty then im sure he will be dealt with accordingly but that is pretty much it.
Grandale
16 Apr 2007, 14:28
On-field incident is under investigation
April 16 2007
Shepparton News
Echuca has launched proceedings for an investigation into an incident which left defender John Halloran with a facial injury.
The Murray Bombers filed the request for the investigation with Goulburn Valley Football League on Thursday, in relation to their round one clash against Shepparton Swans at Victoria Park on Easter Saturday.
"An investigation into an incident that took place in that game between Jarrod Sutherland and John Halloran has commenced," league general manager Eric Bott said.
Norm Gillespie has been appointed the investigating officer and will have 21 days to make a recommendation as to whether there is a charge to answer.
Echuca president Leo Welch said Halloran underwent surgery for the injury on Friday, but would not speculate when he would be fit to return to the Murray Bombers' lineup.
"It was an off the ball incident which we really can't comment on any further except to say we're just supporting our player," Welch said.
Meanwhile, Euroa young gun Brad Cunningham will face the tribunal tomorrow after being reported by central umpire Darren Meek for a head-high bump on Mansfield's Warren Smith.
In a busy night for the tribunal, Benalla's Brendan Stevens is also expected to be up on a striking charge after being yellow-carded during Saturday's clash against Shepparton United.
Stevens has been offered a onematch set penalty by
Why so long is Grandale's question?