View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 [99] 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Long Wait Over
17 May 2007, 16:25
Scotty Hahn from Rochy would also have to be in the mix :thumbsu:
Scott Hahn from Rochester would have to be a certainty for an under22 side.

hpvectra
17 May 2007, 17:03
whats this under 22 thing is like an interleague side or is it just something getting thrown around on this thread whens the cut off point for under 22 start of season or start of year like is the norm for these things

undercover cat
17 May 2007, 22:17
Missing the last few years you think undercover. Didnt Euroa make a grand final 2 years ago, so I owuld say they were playing as team to make a grand final. Its not to hard to see who is standing behind the goals at one end when you are playing at full back champ, pretty easy to do in fact, especially when the ball is at the other end of the ground. Maybe you cant do this, but alot of senior players can. Hayden was injured last week, you did state that he left the ground early the week before, so surely your smart enough to put 2 and 2 together. I think he should be back on the field this week. The write up wasnt that big compared to other articles that have appeared in the shep news last week.

When are you due back from your injury?

a couple of years before you arrived in the goulburn valley, the shepp swans tried to do the same thing, and from what i read in the papers it may be happening again, imports! and from what i seen of euroa the last two years these blokes play the game amongst themselves, and exclude blokes in the team. And then from what ive seen then fighting occurs.
Would you agree there has been a bit of fighting there the past few years amonst players?
Shoulder is good and am back this week with the aid of mad mick and 40 rolls of elastoplast and don't think it will move very far at all.

bradrowe#32
18 May 2007, 10:26
SEYMOUR
B: Stevenson, Inness, Jake Anderson
HB: Meiselbach, Colbert, O'Keefe
C: Reid, Scanlon, Pemberton
HF: Spargo, J. Anderson, VanReit
F: Rosso, Saad, Schottner
Foll: Kelly, Liddell, Haberman
Inter: Tomkins, Judge-Williams, Salakowski

MOOROOPNA
B: Boyer, Connally, Marks
HB: McDonald, Hall, LaPorta
C: Atkinson, Tweddle, Russell
HF: Aloi, Hughan, Parsons
F: Robbins, Osborne, Warnett
Foll: Norman, Bl Campbell, Cox
Inter: Hopkins, Sofi, Gemmill
In: Hall
Out: Collyer

SWANS
B: Uebergang, Looby, May
HB: Barton, B. Ryan, S. Ryan
C: Lanyon, Bell, Baker
HF: McCarty, White, Gibbs
F: Rachele, Dundovic, Hare
Foll: F: Veale, Yze, Hackett
Inter: Wilson, Montgomery, Byrt
Emerg: Henery
In: Wilson, Uebergang
Out: Hebbard, Henery

EUROA
B: Wilson, Shelton, McBrien
HB: Lamaro, Pascoe, Watson
C: Sleigh, S. Clayton, Bamford
HF: Morphett, Hyatt, King
F: Jansz, Grainger, Hobbs
Foll: Clarke, M. Clayton, Cunningham
Inter: Robertson, Saville, Ivill
In: Sleigh, Lamaro
Out: Giovanini, Powell

SHEPPARTON
B: Hiscock, Saunders, L. Chapman
HB: T. Cullinan, Jacques, Taylor
C: Turner, B. Chapman, Campbell
HF: Mellington, M. Chapman, C. Cullinan
F: Maddison, Bekker, Joyce
Foll: Harrap, Allan, O'Brien
Inter: Pullen, Dudgeon, Thorsen

TATURA
B: Dagger, Anderson, Flanagan
HB: Chessells, Brun, Burns
C: MacGibbon, Crawford, Borelli
HF: Thorn, Chivers, Kay
F: Pollard, Kliensdienst, Gledhill
Foll: Little, J. Barnett, Neville
Inter: Coe, Davidson, C. Barnett

BENALLA
B: Fahey, Levy, J. Rockliff
HB: Stott, Cooper, Pollard
C: Priest, Polwarth, Green
HF: Symes, Stevens, Gallagher
F: T. Rockliff, MacKenzie, Croxford
Foll: Porter, Priest, Cole
Inter: McKenzie, Ashton, Aumann
Emerg: DeFazio

UNITED
B: Bailey, Hazelman, Tenace
HB: Rendina, Carroll, Davies
C: Briggs, Perkovic, Bingham
HF: Saville, Hueston, Forys
F: Round, McLarty, Dawes
Foll: Sutherland, Barlow, Gibson
Inter: Black, Smith, Wood
Emerg: Cook, Wright, Sidebottom
In: Saville
Out: Daniels

MANSFIELD
B: Lockhart, Trewhella, Trenfield
HB: Roy, Smith, Mahoney
C: Storer, Stevenson, Chapman
HF: Blunt, Taylor, Boshevski
F: Herridge, Browne, Purcell
Foll: T. Hotton, C. Hotton, Millott
Inter: McCaughey, Alcaniz, Warren
In: Stevenson, McCaughey, Blunt
Out: Mahoney, Jones, Saunders

KYABRAM
B: Andison, Vick, Kelly
HB: Burnett, Kirkman, Mangan
C: Croxford, Finn, Martin
HF: Emmett, Morgan, Cooper
F: Finn, Newman, Casey
Foll: Jones, Pell, Thomson
Inter: Chambers, Hunter, Pryde

ECHUCA
B: Welch, Sutton, Maddox
HB: Halloran, Prendergast, X. Campbell
C: McKittrick, Crossman, Deledio
HF: J. Campbell, Kennaugh, Butler
F: Guinan, Murphy, Gregor
Foll: Edgar, Durie, Dohnt
Inter: Kervin, Casey, Agg

ROCHESTER
B: K. Oliver, M. Watson, Pappin
HB: Palmer, Whitshed, Hyden
C: Loughman, H. Aitken, Knight
HF: Hann, Bowen, Whipp
F: Cuttriss, McPhee, Lobb
Foll: Anderson, A. Watson, D. Moon
Inter: Cavalaro, Tuohey, C. Moon

FOOTYBOSS
18 May 2007, 12:09
a couple of years before you arrived in the goulburn valley, the shepp swans tried to do the same thing, and from what i read in the papers it may be happening again, imports! and from what i seen of euroa the last two years these blokes play the game amongst themselves, and exclude blokes in the team. And then from what ive seen then fighting occurs.
Would you agree there has been a bit of fighting there the past few years amonst players?
Shoulder is good and am back this week with the aid of mad mick and 40 rolls of elastoplast and don't think it will move very far at all.

Well you definately need to get your eyes examined. As I said, Euroa made a Grand Final 2 years ago, so obviously no fighting that year. I totally disagree with you in regards to fighting within the team. How can they play the game amongst themselves when there is 18 players on a footy ground?

TRAIN OF THOUGHT
18 May 2007, 15:04

enough is enough
as a casual observer of this forum and in particular your posts undercover you force me to respond
I have to say buddy it is not the Euroa footy clubs fault that you are not up to playing senior GV footy.
So get over it-- move on -- and direct your energies to enjoying playing the standard you are attempting now
If we dont have ďmports"the considerable number of kids from the district that are capable of playing in a major league comp would have to go to elsewhere and Euroa go into a district league
The vast majority of people involved with the club find that prospect unacceptable
As far as you questioning the contribution of the guys from out of town who have played here over the last decade I would suggest their contribution(both on and off the field) has been far greater than their detractors - including yours.
So please undercover try and keep your insecurities to yourself !!

BlindTurn
18 May 2007, 16:31
Matty Bell will stop talking crap about your former club and concentrate on getting a kick at your new club in the KDFL. Everyone knows why you left and it wasnt that lame excuse you gave the playing group. The real reason why you left the club is because you got dropped for the reserves finals last year. Matty Bell you have always been a hack on the footy field and always will be. Have fun playing for VT this year and it would be very funny if you got dropped from their finals team this year, should they make it.

Duff Man
18 May 2007, 17:11

Duff Man says.....KA-POW!....Oooohhh Yeah :cool:

(Think you just been K.O'd undercover)

jaxbac#13
18 May 2007, 18:30
Matty Bell will stop talking crap about your former club and concentrate on getting a kick at your new club in the KDFL. Everyone knows why you left and it wasnt that lame excuse you gave the playing group. The real reason why you left the club is because you got dropped for the reserves finals last year. Matty Bell you have always been a hack on the footy field and always will be. Have fun playing for VT this year and it would be very funny if you got dropped from their finals team this year, should they make it.
Keep going at it boys,more fighting means more hacks coming
our way CHEERS :thumbsu:

TheJuddstarr#3
18 May 2007, 18:39
People on here are well versed on my thoughts on Trewhella.

A fat head that looks a lot older, but I do remember his 21st last year (sort of).

He would just about be captain of an under 22 side .. probably along with Nick Allen.

Here's a quick go at one .. No Bench and not all clubs represented because i don't know there sides too well and remember I'm in Tassie and haven't seen much GV for a while.

So open slather.

B: Mahoney (mans), Carroll (utd), Roy (mans)

HB: Looby (swa), (c)Trewhella (mans), Lanyon (swa)

C: R Preist (ben), Barlow (utd), W Martinello (ben)

HF: M Chapman (bears), F Priest (ben), Hiscock (bears)

FF: Millott (Mans) , Neville (tat) , Rendina (utd)

Foll: Browne (mans), (vc) Allen (Bears), Sheahan (mans),

Just had a look at the under 22's side thought i would post a few names from some shepp district clubs that could be eligable?

BEARS
Cullinan
M. Chapman
D. McIntyre

SWANS
Looby
Hackett
Hebbard
Montgomery (How old is he?)

UNITED
Barlow
Normington
Sidebottom (Again his age?)

MOOROOPNA
Tweedle
Hockey
Warnett
K. Boyer

TATURA
Crawford

Ok ill have a crack at this side now.. which is just an interest thing, no inter-league matches or that.

B:Carrol (Unt) Pappin (Roch) Joyce(ben)
HB:Ubergang(swa) Trewhella (Mans) Looby(swa)
C:Van Reit (sey) Hann(roch) Anderson (Seymour)
HF:Crawford(tat) Chapman (Shep) Lanyon(tat/swa)
FF:Montgomery(Swan) Dundovic(Swan) roy(mans)
R:Kenneugh(Ech) Barlow (Unt) Priest(ben)
INT: Kirkman(swan/ky) Montague(roch) Hiscock(shep) Cutriss(roch)

probably wanting guys in that have been developed in this league for more for either a few years or most of their careers.
so guys like mick hare, tweedle ive left out..
and also guys who are between 18 and 22, so left out guys like martinello and shehan.
also guys like tonizzo,kirkby,Bovalino and james martinello who have left the league this season miss..
and nick allens to old
if ive left anyone out, shout it out, also unsure with ricky joyce and pappins age, think they are both 22 though.
i believe this sides lacking a decent CHF and promonent ruckman, chapmans prob only a forward flanker, Kirkby would been the ideal choice at CHF. Possibly Van Shaik if he was still around too..
Solid backline though!

Big Kim
18 May 2007, 19:01
Fair call but in regards to williams and watts, they might not well known outside of the seymour footy club but are held in high regard by the coach and others around the club. A bit unfair on russo, won a 2's b&f last year in a good team and has done extremely well since being promoted to the 1's and i would say has played better in the first five games this year then G. Liddell did all last year in the same spot.

Dom Russo is an awesome player. Not sure I'd say he's done better in the first 5 games than Gezza though. They're different types of players. But it's been noticeable that one of the main areas Seymour has dropped off in this year is toughness. ie Mark Philling's agression. But also, Gezza's intensity. He was unbelievable at applying forward pressure, chasing opposition backmen down and keeping the ball in the forward line.
Luckily for Seymour the standard of the whole GV has dropped off this year. For the first 4 rounds they were able to get away with not applying so much pressure. But against United this was one area they were clearly exposed in.

tonysgone
18 May 2007, 19:21
i think benalla will be in good form tomorro with young gun in Farran Priest back in the side from vic try outs laast week, should turn it on!

barto #22
18 May 2007, 19:25

:thumbsu: :D about time :D :thumbsu:

undercover cat
18 May 2007, 19:29

What was the reasons i gave to the footy club for leaving the footy club.
i know i aint the a gun footballer i never said i was. did i?

undercover cat
18 May 2007, 19:57

Now you have thrown my name out there why don't you throw your name out there, i am quite ok with pople havn a go at me thats what 90% of this forum is blokes havn ago at one another.
If you can quite easily give shit out and name names give us your name

nintendoboy#23
19 May 2007, 00:22
Scott Hahn from Rochester would have to be a certainty for an under22 side.

Matty Haistma from rochy couldn't be too far off either could he LWO?

scooby-doo
19 May 2007, 08:42
Predictions for todays matches? Could be a few upseats with the recent rain bringing teams closer together, thoughts?

lion's_roar
19 May 2007, 09:54
Ok ill have a crack at this side now.. which is just an interest thing, no inter-league matches or that.

probably wanting guys in that have been developed in this league for more for either a few years or most of their careers.
and also guys who are between 18 and 22, so left out guys like martinello and shehan.
also guys like tonizzo,kirkby,Bovalino and james martinello who have left the league this season miss..
and nick allens to old
if ive left anyone out, shout it out, also unsure with ricky joyce and pappins age, think they are both 22 though.
i believe this sides lacking a decent CHF and promonent ruckman, chapmans prob only a forward flanker, Kirkby would been the ideal choice at CHF. Possibly Van Shaik if he was still around too..
Solid backline though!

Great side .. as i said i wasn't sure on a lot of people's ages when i named my side.

Didn't realise Van Reit, Pappin, Kirkman, ubergang and dundovic were that young.

bradrowe#32
19 May 2007, 18:09
Echuca 5.6 3.4 8.5 7.1 (23.16) d. Tatura 1.1 1.0 1.2 1.2 (4.5)
Goals
Echuca XAVIER CAMPBELL 5, ADRIAN DOHNT 3, COLIN DURIE 2, THOMAS MCKITTRICK 2, SEAN MURPHY 2, LEIGH DELEDIO 2, CRAIG SUTTON 1, BENJAMIN WELCH 1, CAIN GREGOR 1, LIAM GUINAN 1, LEIGH CROSSMAN 1, LUKE AGG 1, DYLAN BUTLER 1
Tatura JEREMY KLEINDIENST 2, PAUL NEVILLE 1, GREGORY CHIVERS 1
Best
Echuca ADRIAN DOHNT, COLIN DURIE, LEIGH CROSSMAN, XAVIER CAMPBELL, DYLAN BUTLER, CRAIG SUTTON
Tatura TIM LITTLE, PAUL NEVILLE, JASON DAGGER, JEREMY KLEINDIENST, ADAM MACGIBBON, SHANE KAY

Seymour 3.3 3.4 3.7 6.4 (15.18) d. Mansfield 1.3 2.0 3.1 0.3 (6.7)
Goals
Seymour SAAD SAAD 5, DOMINIC RUSSO 3, BRENDAN LIDDELL 2, JEFF ANDERSON 1, BERNARD HABERMAN 1, PAUL SCANLON 1, BRETT SPARGO 1, LUKE STEVENSON 1
Mansfield TRENT HOTTON 2, BEN MILLOTT 2, FRASER STEVENSON 1, MATT STORER 1
Best
Seymour MATTHEW O'KEEFE, JAKE ANDERSON, BRENT COLBERT, SAAD SAAD, BRENDAN LIDDELL, PAUL SCANLON
Mansfield WARREN SMITH, TRENT HOTTON, ADAM BOSHEVSKI, FRASER STEVENSON, ANDREW BROWNE, CAMERON HOTTON

Shepparton United 1.4 2.6 3.4 5.3 (11.17) d. Mooroopna 0.2 2.2 3.4 2.3 (7.11)
Goals
Shepparton United GRANT MCLARTY 3, MICHAEL BARLOW 2, RUSSELL GIBSON 2, DUANE HUESTON 2, JUSTIN DAVIES 1, MICHAEL WOOD 1
Mooroopna SAM LAPORTA 2, ROBERT OSBORNE 1, SHAUN ROBBINS 1, NICHOLAS ALOI 1, KANE ATKINSON 1, SHANE GEMMILL 1
Best
Shepparton United RUSSELL GIBSON, JUSTIN SUTHERLAND, MICHAEL BARLOW, SAM DAWES, DUANE HUESTON, SEAN TENACE
Mooroopna SAM LAPORTA, KANE ATKINSON, SHANE GEMMILL, SHAUN ROBBINS, GEOFF CONNALLY, NATHAN TWEDDLE

Shepparton Swans 3.3 5.5 11.2 5.7 (24.17) d. Rochester 2.1 2.3 1.4 3.0 (8.8)
Goals
Shepparton Swans JASON RACHELE 4, LUCAS WHITE 3, RAMADAN YZE 3, MATTHEW MCCARTY 3, HEATH BARTON 2, GLENN DUNDOVIC 2, JAMES HACKETT 1, TIM LANYON 1, NATHAN BELL 1, JONATHAN BYRT 1, KANE UEBERGANG 1, SHANE SALI 1, MARK BAKER 1
Rochester ANTHONY MCPHEE 2, NATHAN WHIPP 2, CLINT WHITSED 1, ASHLEY WATSON 1, NICK KNIGHT 1, PHILLIP LOBB 1
Best
Shepparton Swans NATHAN BELL, TIM LOOBY, LUCAS WHITE, MATTHEW MCCARTY, MICHAEL HARE, JOSHUA WILSON
Rochester BEN ANDERSON, ELLIOT BOWEN, ANTHONY MCPHEE, CLINT WHITSED, DYLAN CUTTRISS, SCOTT HANN

Euroa 4.2 2.3 8.3 3.2 (17.10) d. Shepparton 3.3 4.2 4.2 3.5 (14.12)
Goals
Euroa SCOTT GRAINGER 4, CRAIG BAMFORD 3, MARK JANSZ 3, HAYDEN LAMARO 2, HAROLD SLEIGH 1, DAVID KING 1, MARK CLAYTON 1, SHANE CLAYTON 1, ASHLY HOBBS 1
Shepparton ANTHONY MELLINGTON 3, MATT CHAPMAN 3, GLENN JOYCE 2, BRENT CHAPMAN 2, TYSON SAUNDERS 1, SIMON THORSEN 1, CHRIS TURNER 1, MATTHEW BEKKER 1
Best
Euroa SHANE CLAYTON, MARK CLAYTON, MARK JANSZ, BRADLEY CUNNINGHAM, ASHLY HOBBS, HAROLD SLEIGH
Shepparton JEREMY O'BRIEN, MATTHEW MADDISON, MATT CHAPMAN, MATTHEW CAMPBELL, SIMON THORSEN, NICHOLAS ALLAN

Benalla 7.3 4.1 5.1 6.4 (22.9) d. Kyabram 5.0 0.3 3.4 2.0 (10.7)
Goals
Benalla MARK MCKENZIE 11, JAMES ROCKLIFF 4, MATTHEW ASHTON 2, JACK GALLAGHER 2, FARRAN PRIEST 2, BRENDAN STEVENS 1
Kyabram PAUL NEWMAN 4, JOSH FINN 2, RYAN EMMETT 2, BRADY COOPER 1, THOMAS PRYDE 1
Best
Benalla MARK MACKENZIE, BRENDAN STEVENS, ANDREW POLWARTH, JAMES ROCKLIFF, BRADY GREEN, ADAM COLE
Kyabram THOMAS PRYDE, JOSH FINN, STEVEN THOMSON, BRADLEY MANGAN, RYAN EMMETT

anzac
19 May 2007, 18:23
Fair call but in regards to williams and watts, they might not well known outside of the seymour footy club but are held in high regard by the coach and others around the club. A bit unfair on russo, won a 2's b&f last year in a good team and has done extremely well since being promoted to the 1's and i would say has played better in the first five games this year then G. Liddell did all last year in the same spot.[/I]

Simple maths, if a side thats won the last two GV flags has blokes playing in the seniors that couldnt get a game when they were winning flags, then the team (comp) has slipped.
Williams would not get a game in a good KD team, he is lazy and doesnt chase defensively. Stop pumping his chest out like his brother and start pumping the klms out on the track.

When Dom has two premiership medals around his neck every body can stop hanging sh*t on Gezza. This site has gone to the dogs, U all talk absolute sH*t.

western star
19 May 2007, 22:00
Predictions for todays matches? Could be a few upseats with the recent rain bringing teams closer together, thoughts?

how are the pies at the tuck shop???. looks like you have been in a good paddock. would like to suck on your dd breast.......

western star
19 May 2007, 22:03
long time away.....

why is it a under 22 side????

pls fill in!

undercover cat
19 May 2007, 22:55
Well you definately need to get your eyes examined. As I said, Euroa made a Grand Final 2 years ago, so obviously no fighting that year. I totally disagree with you in regards to fighting within the team. How can they play the game amongst themselves when there is 18 players on a footy ground?

another win today boss how did the game unfold

TuskenRaider
20 May 2007, 18:19
Fair call but in regards to williams and watts, they might not well known outside of the seymour footy club but are held in high regard by the coach and others around the club. A bit unfair on russo, won a 2's b&f last year in a good team and has done extremely well since being promoted to the 1's and i would say has played better in the first five games this year then G. Liddell did all last year in the same spot.[/I]

Simple maths, if a side thats won the last two GV flags has blokes playing in the seniors that couldnt get a game when they were winning flags, then the team (comp) has slipped.
Williams would not get a game in a good KD team, he is lazy and doesnt chase defensively. Stop pumping his chest out like his brother and start pumping the klms out on the track.

When Dom has two premiership medals around his neck every body can stop hanging sh*t on Gezza. This site has gone to the dogs, U all talk absolute sH*t.

Whilst the competition standard may be a bit lower than the last couple of years, it's not simple maths at all to say a young bloke like Russo has only got a game because of that. Is it possible that he may have worked harder on his fitness, improved his football to find himself a spot in the side? Of course it is.

Remember, there were players on Brisbane's list that didn't play in their first flag but they made their way into the side the next year to play in the competition's best side.

hpvectra
20 May 2007, 19:35
just wondering if any news of interleague side for next week been selected yet or when is announced

fat back pocket
20 May 2007, 23:15

Not sure if its absolute sh!t mate, im sure many people will say Gezza was probably a little lucky to get a gig in the senior grand final last year. His form throughout the year was below par for a guy with his roll, and dom russo got 40+ possy's and kicked 5 goals in numerous twos games late in the season, but the coaches wanted to stick with what they had.

Your point is valid, at the end of the day, Gezza got a senior medal, Dom didn't. But if you saw a large portion of the Seymours seniors and reserves last year, which it sounds as if you didn't, you would take back what you said.

Dom Russo would have played Seniors at 10 other clubs last year. And im sure if you get to see him play, you will re-think your opinion of the little guy.

FBP

Big Kim
21 May 2007, 09:00
Not sure if its absolute sh!t mate, im sure many people will say Gezza was probably a little lucky to get a gig in the senior grand final last year. His form throughout the year was below par for a guy with his roll, and dom russo got 40+ possy's and kicked 5 goals in numerous twos games late in the season, but the coaches wanted to stick with what they had.

Your point is valid, at the end of the day, Gezza got a senior medal, Dom didn't. But if you saw a large portion of the Seymours seniors and reserves last year, which it sounds as if you didn't, you would take back what you said.

Dom Russo would have played Seniors at 10 other clubs last year. And im sure if you get to see him play, you will re-think your opinion of the little guy.

FBP

FBP last I heard you're living in WA these days. So when have you seen Dom play this year? Sure you saw him play ressies last year, but when have you seen him play seniors this year?
Big difference between senior and reserves footy.

Speaking of luck though. How the hell did Lockie Peterson get a game in the Seymour Reserves P'ship team?

Grandale
21 May 2007, 10:23
Great side .. as i said i wasn't sure on a lot of people's ages when i named my side.

Didn't realise Van Reit, Pappin, Kirkman, ubergang and dundovic were that young.
I reckon Rocket might just be a little bit too old. I remember playing seniors with him in 2002 when I reckon he was in the last year of 3rds.

scooby-doo
21 May 2007, 12:36
how are the pies at the tuck shop???. looks like you have been in a good paddock. would like to suck on your dd breast.......
not sure what your on about there mate, talking rubbish as usual. keep the posts about footy next time champ....

Peelers
21 May 2007, 18:23
So are we going to have to wait untill thursday for the team to be announced or will it be earlier????

ECHUCABOY
21 May 2007, 19:28
How are we boys??

Been along time between drinks for Echucaboy on this illustrious forum. How are the Echuca boys looking at the moment, seem to be travelling quite well, whats everyone's thoughts? Are they ganna make an impact in September and can the young freak Chris Casey be stopped??

Big Echuca
21 May 2007, 19:31
How are we boys??

Been along time between drinks for Echucaboy on this illustrious forum. How are the Echuca boys looking at the moment, seem to be travelling quite well, whats everyone's thoughts? Are they ganna make an impact in September and can the young freak Chris Casey be stopped??

no! no one can stop that freak!

the eye
21 May 2007, 20:40
I reckon Rocket might just be a little bit too old. I remember playing seniors with him in 2002 when I reckon he was in the last year of 3rds.

Was speakin to rodney at uni today mate, said your are right he did play seniors in 2002 but was only 16 and informs me that he only turned 22 this year so can still be considered under 22

anzac
21 May 2007, 20:58
Whilst the competition standard may be a bit lower than the last couple of years, it's not simple maths at all to say a young bloke like Russo has only got a game because of that. Is it possible that he may have worked harder on his fitness, improved his football to find himself a spot in the side? Of course it is.

Remember, there were players on Brisbane's list that didn't play in their first flag but they made their way into the side the next year to play in the competition's best side.

They made their way into those sides when gaps appeared, jus as gaps have appeared on Seymours list.
UMMMMM lets see, Pilling V Russo. Gordon V Russo. Douglas V Russo.
And before you cr*p on and say hes a small man, I am making my point that "holes" have appeared... "IT IS SIMPLE MATHS"

TuskenRaider
21 May 2007, 21:58
They made their way into those sides when gaps appeared, jus as gaps have appeared on Seymours list.
And before you cr*p on and say hes a small man, I am making my point that "holes" have appeared... "IT IS SIMPLE MATHS"

Take it easy tiger and don't hop on here and make assumptions on what I may or may not say in reply to your response. No need for me to crap on, plenty of others on here do enough of that.

Of course gaps can and do appear in lists, but you are missing the point of my post entirely. Players can and do improve, other players form may wane.

Grandale
22 May 2007, 09:52
Was speakin to rodney at uni today mate, said your are right he did play seniors in 2002 but was only 16 and informs me that he only turned 22 this year so can still be considered under 22

I stand corrected. You'd think he'd be a walk-up start for a spot in a GV under-22 side then.

jazzy
22 May 2007, 17:59
I think anyone who watched the Seymour seniors and reserves last year would agree gezza was extremely lucky all year to keep his spot, surely 7 goals or thereabouts isn't enough output from a small forward in anyones book. Dom Russo would have that already this year and kicked 3 on the weekend.

I do agree also with the standard having slipped this year a little, but still so good standard of football being played. :thumbsu:

Doggies#8
22 May 2007, 20:18

and nick allens to old
Solid backline though!
how old is brett deledio?? he played for ky, if hes u22 surely hed be in there

cantmarkcantkick
22 May 2007, 20:21
bring back the body SALAKOWSKI AND ROOSTER. LOL

hank1
22 May 2007, 21:18

I'm sure it is people who are playing GV.

roberts-thompson
22 May 2007, 21:31

you could name another half a dozen afl players that came outa the gv and play AFL fool

fat back pocket
22 May 2007, 21:32
FBP last I heard you're living in WA these days. So when have you seen Dom play this year? Sure you saw him play ressies last year, but when have you seen him play seniors this year?
Big difference between senior and reserves footy.

Speaking of luck though. How the hell did Lockie Peterson get a game in the Seymour Reserves P'ship team?

Mate, i've seen enough senior footy and senior players to know who is good enough and who is not. Dom is a very good player who works very hard. And when good mates of mine tell me he is going really well. And the radio commentators say he is going really well.

Plus last year he played about 4 or 5 games last year and was more than capable.

As for Lockie, why wouldn't he get a game? He is 6"3' who can fill any position, up forward, down back. Not to mention the fact that he did the hard yards over the past 3 years on and off the track.

Yeah, he was probably in the final 2 picked. But the captain and vice captain both wanted him in there, as did Ben Davey and the other coaching staff...so they must have thought he was good enough. Why don't you ask them. I didn't pick the side.

Who deserved a game infront of him?

What are you doing with yourself these days???

fat back pocket
22 May 2007, 21:38

Ask yourself this question mate. Why did Gezza liddell leave? He still lives in seymour, works in Seymour. Maybe because he thought his position was under threat by Dom.

I do know he had a falling out with habers. Can't say what over. But maybe it was because habers thought Dom would take his spot? There is no point comparing Dom to any of the players above. its silly, you know it, as does everyone else. Compare Dom to Gezza liddell, Gezza has held his spot for a few years. But IMO, Dom would have had the small crumbing forward spot this year. Gezza probably new it, so took a good offer in the murray league.

Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 13:43
Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL) (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=322536)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320213&page=6), Donkey Floggers (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320211&page=8), the North-Eastern Wolves (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320215&page=6) and the Western Wallabies (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320214&page=13).

These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?

(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
North-Eastern Wolves - Goulburn Valley FL - FOOTYBOSS
North-Eastern Wolves - Goulburn Valley FL - Johnny Tapp
x North-Eastern Wolves - Goulburn Valley FL - Zippa

anzac
23 May 2007, 14:42
Ask yourself this question mate. Why did Gezza liddell leave? He still lives in seymour, works in Seymour. Maybe because he thought his position was under threat by Dom.

I do know he had a falling out with habers. Can't say what over. But maybe it was because habers thought Dom would take his spot? There is no point comparing Dom to any of the players above. its silly, you know it, as does everyone else. Compare Dom to Gezza liddell, Gezza has held his spot for a few years. But IMO, Dom would have had the small crumbing forward spot this year. Gezza probably new it, so took a good offer in the murray league.

Youve always been a stool muncher.

If a two time premiership player came back to the club right now, namely Gezza, he would get a game, end of story.

You could play both in the same side.

Your only claim to fame was screaming you guts out at your team mates like a DH..

koshy
23 May 2007, 14:43
bring back the body SALAKOWSKI AND ROOSTER. LOL

best 37 yr old pecks in the buisness

Utility_07
23 May 2007, 14:56
I'm disappointed about all this hype on Dom Russo.. i havnt seen him play much but i had the pleasure of tagging him 4 a half when rochy got pumped by seymour a few rounds ago and he had 1 disposal for a half and that was a goal that was a handball from saad in the goal square... so basically he got 1 gimmy and that was it....

Wear The Fox Hat
23 May 2007, 17:20
I'm disappointed about all this hype on Dom Russo.. i havnt seen him play much but i had the pleasure of tagging him 4 a half when rochy got pumped by seymour a few rounds ago and he had 1 disposal for a half and that was a goal that was a handball from saad in the goal square... so basically he got 1 gimmy and that was it....

Are you fair dinkum utility07?

First of all - Saad doesn't handball.
Secondly - dirty must think your a good tagger if you can shut Russo down.:rolleyes: Reckon he'd be more worried about the likes of Scanlon, Stevenson, Van Riet, Haberman or Liddel wouldn't he.

Geez...you must have picked up a few votes that day!

S Wrench
23 May 2007, 17:49
Are you fair dinkum utility07?

First of all - Saad doesn't handball.
Secondly - dirty must think your a good tagger if you can shut Russo down.:rolleyes: Reckon he'd be more worried about the likes of Scanlon, Stevenson, Van Riet, Haberman or Liddel wouldn't he.

Geez...you must have picked up a few votes that day!

without doubt dirt was worried about those other blokes more than russo. but russo is the type of player who can lurk and might get himself those cheap goals as a small forward if hes roming round the forward line without an opponent. i think utility probably meant to say he played on russo and dom didnt get a touch.

personaly i too beleive that there is too much hype on this kid, because at one end of the scale he is being talked up as the next big thing. and at the other end there is talk of whether he should even be playing senior footy. it sounds to me as if bias seymour people over rate him, whereas unbias spectators/opponents realise he's not much to talk about other than a handy 2's player.

fat back pocket
23 May 2007, 20:05
Youve always been a stool muncher.

If a two time premiership player came back to the club right now, namely Gezza, he would get a game, end of story.

You could play both in the same side.

Your only claim to fame was screaming you guts out at your team mates like a DH..

Not sure if we were talking about my claim to fame. I wouldn't have any claims to any fame in the football circles. Scream my guts out at my team mates??? Not sure where you got that from?

I'm sure Mr Fox Hat could confirm Gezza was a little lucky considering Dom's form last year. He could probably confirm the reasons behind him leaving and his spat with Bernie Haberman.

stool eater???? good on ya champ.

FBP.

bradrowe#32
24 May 2007, 10:41
Ovens and Murray preliminary squad
Matt Fowler, Ayden Brown, Lee Schmidt, Kade Stevens, Daniel Maher, Brad Horn, Brendan Page, Jason Sheather, Dan Leslie, Adam Prior, David Steer, Josh Walker, Mark Doolan, Ben Cosgriff, Brett Doswell, Leigh Corcoran, Xavier Leslie, Paul Kirby, Brent Lewington, Matt Wollington, Matt Shir, Tim Hargreaves, Craig Ednie, Marcus McMillan, Scott Oswald, Lance Oswald, Dallas Gallagher, Kyle Archibald.

Goulburn Valley squad of 26

Ben Fahey (Benalla), Xavier Campbell, Colin Durie (Echuca, captain), Matthew Pascoe (Euroa), Paul Newman (Kyabram, vicecaptain), Steven Cox (Mooroopna), Tim Hooper, Jeff Anderson (vice-captain), Matt O'Keefe, Saad Saad, Paul Scanlon, Rodney Van Reit (Seymour), Nick Allan, Marc Harrap, Jeremy O'Brien, Glenn Joyce (Shepparton), Nathan Bell, Lochlan Veale, Lucas White, Tim Looby (Swans), Matt Forys, Justin Davies, Mick Barlow, Sam Dawes, Duane Hueston (Shepparton United), Tim Little (Tatura).

Dookie Flops
24 May 2007, 13:15
If he spent less time looking at himself in the mirror!!!!

vantheman32
24 May 2007, 16:21
Dom Russo is a good young footballer, i played junior football with him and im glad to see hes pushed on to play 1s at seymour, doesnt matter if players have left the club or then posing hypothetical questions of if this player came back he wouldnt get a game? a good saying is, "its not where your from, its where your at!" and doms at a good place right now n thats bobbing up each week kicking a couple of goals here n there, i dont know what the role of his game is expected at seymour and around the league but id say hes doing well enough.
also on another note, congradulations to mick barlow for making the goulburn valley rep squad, he is a YOUNG GUN no doubt bout that! big birds killing them from all reports.

barto #22
24 May 2007, 21:08
Dom Russo is a good young footballer, i played junior football with him and im glad to see hes pushed on to play 1s at seymour, doesnt matter if players have left the club or then posing hypothetical questions of if this player came back he wouldnt get a game? a good saying is, "its not where your from, its where your at!" and doms at a good place right now n thats bobbing up each week kicking a couple of goals here n there, i dont know what the role of his game is expected at seymour and around the league but id say hes doing well enough.
also on another note, congradulations to mick barlow for making the goulburn valley rep squad, he is a YOUNG GUN no doubt bout that! big birds killing them from all reports.

Guys i think there has been enough post on Dom Russo think every one is getting sick of you guys posting how good he is or how bad you think he is, make some consturctive comments and keep ya suilking about it else where, let the kid prove him self on the field and then slam him or give him a rap, an as in other post you are saying he should be droped or kept there if he is worthy of his spot he will hold it let his performence speak for it self cheers

Doggies#8
25 May 2007, 09:44
you could name another half a dozen afl players that came outa the gv and play AFL fool
yes mate, i didnt know you were picking players who were playing GV. sorry

Doona2
25 May 2007, 10:57
Got word of this one a fortnight or so back from a former Lion (excellent mail mate :thumbsu: )

Collins signing a boon for Hawks

By Rob Harris

May 25 2007
Shepparton News

Former Melbourne grand final player and Seymour premiership star Matt Collins has joined Barooga in a major mid-season coup for the Murray Football League premiership aspirant.

Collins, who played 43 games for Adelaide and Melbourne, is expected to line-up for the Hawks when they next take to the field against Tongala in round 10.

Hawks coach Matt Byers confirmed the star's signature yesterday, giving credit to his teammate Gerard Liddell for coaxing the dangerous forward out of retirement.

"It's pretty exciting actually and I think it's going to help our side a lot," Byers said.

"We went down and met with him on Tuesday night and he's really keen to come on board, which is great.

"Gerard Liddell obviously became pretty good mates with him while they were together at Seymour and he's been nagging away at him I think."

Collins joined Seymour alongside 10 ex-AFL/VFL players in 2004 and spent two injury-interrupted seasons with the Goulburn Valley club before retiring last year.

His underachieving career was cursed with bad luck, missing many matches through injury.

He had chronic arm and wrist complaints at the Demons, as well as a broken leg and bad back.

When he did get it all right, Collins, 27, was a key defender in Melbourne's 2000 grand final team, keeping Essendon star Scott Lucas quiet on the grand stage of the MCG.

"I just think his experience to pass on to the young guys and even some of the older guys is going to be fantastic," Byers said.

With successive byes, the Hawks have the chance to get full-forward Sean Harrap (AC joint), midfielder David Tough (hamstring) and Liddell (ankle) right before their next game on June 9.

Chance
25 May 2007, 12:37
Anyone know whats happening with Shepp Swans and the Tim Looby transfer fiasco?? Heard they have lost all their points for this season!!! Hope its true!! Love to see a rich club fall down!!!

skillz
25 May 2007, 12:53
Anyone know whats happening with Shepp Swans and the Tim Looby transfer fiasco?? Heard they have lost all their points for this season!!! Hope its true!! Love to see a rich club fall down!!!

they lost one lot of 4 points when they gave euroa a flogging and were fined a grand, euroa ended up with the points

vote for pedro
25 May 2007, 18:09

I agree! The pensioner is a machine!

undercover cat
25 May 2007, 22:24
they lost one lot of 4 points when they gave euroa a flogging and were fined a grand, euroa ended up with the points

i know i aint the biggest fan of euroa which has been stated in previous pages of this thread.
But rules are rules and if tim looby wasnt supposed to play thems are the breaks. but after hearing the news on the ruling of the allocation of points, was there a leak of news that lead to this situation.
And just a query have many clubs done it over the years?
played players that wernt allowed to play, people prob wont say but have they done it?

undercover cat
25 May 2007, 22:26
[quote=Doona2;7630872] Got word of this one a fortnight or so back from a former Lion (excellent mail mate :thumbsu: )

Collins signing a boon for Hawks

By Rob Harris

May 25 2007
Shepparton News

Former Melbourne grand final player and Seymour premiership star Matt Collins has joined Barooga in a major mid-season coup for the Murray Football League premiership aspirant.

Collins, who played 43 games for Adelaide and Melbourne, is expected to line-up for the Hawks when they next take to the field against Tongala in round 10.

Hawks coach Matt Byers confirmed the star's signature yesterday, giving credit to his teammate Gerard Liddell for coaxing the dangerous forward out of retirement.

"It's pretty exciting actually and I think it's going to help our side a lot," Byers said.

"We went down and met with him on Tuesday night and he's really keen to come on board, which is great.

"Gerard Liddell obviously became pretty good mates with him while they were together at Seymour and he's been nagging away at him I think."

Collins joined Seymour alongside 10 ex-AFL/VFL players in 2004 and spent two injury-interrupted seasons with the Goulburn Valley club before retiring last year.

His underachieving career was cursed with bad luck, missing many matches through injury.

He had chronic arm and wrist complaints at the Demons, as well as a broken leg and bad back.

When he did get it all right, Collins, 27, was a key defender in Melbourne's 2000 grand final team, keeping Essendon star Scott Lucas quiet on the grand stage of the MCG.

"I just think his experience to pass on to the young guys and even some of the older guys is going to be fantastic," Byers said.

With successive byes, the Hawks have the chance to get full-forward Sean Harrap (AC joint), midfielder David Tough (hamstring) and Liddell (ankle) right before their next game on June 9.[/quote

Did collo play in there grand finals the past few years

morphous
25 May 2007, 22:44
i know i aint the biggest fan of euroa which has been stated in previous pages of this thread.
But rules are rules and if tim looby wasnt supposed to play thems are the breaks. but after hearing the news on the ruling of the allocation of points, was there a leak of news that lead to this situation.
And just a query have many clubs done it over the years?
played players that wernt allowed to play, people prob wont say but have they done it?

I think the main thing in this case is that the GVFL passed and signed off on the rego of Looby so the Swans have done everything right and above board. It is interesting that the VCFL can impose a penalty on the Swans when they didn't do anything wrong, it seems it was an admin error from the GVFL league its self.

Dalkeith
26 May 2007, 09:28
I think the main thing in this case is that the GVFL passed and signed off on the rego of Looby so the Swans have done everything right and above board. It is interesting that the VCFL can impose a penalty on the Swans when they didn't do anything wrong, it seems it was an admin error from the GVFL league its self.
not sure but has the qestion been asked did money change hands btween looby and pt melb,if so where the swans aware of it, also if money did change hands does this make the contract more binding, not sure just asking the question

lion's_roar
26 May 2007, 10:12
not sure but has the qestion been asked did money change hands btween looby and pt melb,if so where the swans aware of it, also if money did change hands does this make the contract more binding, not sure just asking the question

My source told me that Port promised to find Looby a job when he joined from SA, but when they didn't he decided to go back to Shepp, because the Swans would do what Port hadn't.

Not sure if any money changed hands.

While i'm not a big swans fan or the way they go about things, they went by the book and it does look like an admin error by the GV and therefor they shouldn't be penalised.

Also i know a hundred cases of club playing ineligible players under false names etc ..

morphous
26 May 2007, 10:15

Alan Sutherland (spelling) was on fm 98.5 this morning giving the Swans side of events. Was quite interesting to hear. In summary Looby had signed a contract with Port Melb but was not registered, there was an amount for a bond outstanding and he as soon as he heard wanted to drive from Shepp to Port Melb to sort it out but Port weren't interested. They are appealing and they felt that the league (VCFL) didn't appoint a fair tribunal bench as the advocate who is suppose to offer advice to the clubs of the league was the chair along with his two mate who all traveled together. The club had advice from a Solicitor that there was no case to answer as too the advice given to the league. They are prepared to fight the matter in court if they feel they haven't had a fair hearing.

half time lollies
26 May 2007, 10:57
My source told me that Port promised to find Looby a job when he joined from SA, but when they didn't he decided to go back to Shepp, because the Swans would do what Port hadn't.

Not sure if any money changed hands.

While i'm not a big swans fan or the way they go about things, they went by the book and it does look like an admin error by the GV and therefor they shouldn't be penalised.

Also i know a hundred cases of club playing ineligible players under false names etc ..

Can you please name the LR??

lion's_roar
26 May 2007, 11:11
[/B]

Can you please name the LR??

if you expect me to name a hundred then you're kidding yourself. I used it as a round figure.

You can't tell me that you don't know of any.

It happens all the time in two's footy, where you get a mate of a player to fill in cause you're short and they play under another blokes name.

I've done it myself down on the peninsula .. (no point in signing up a bloke who can't get a kick in a karate fight.)

watthe
26 May 2007, 20:27
gday guys pretty big rumour flying around moroopna that they have signed a young bloke by the name of r.hocking only 18 plays for the bullants, bout 6.4 probably one of the better players(young) at the bullants, my source who is very credible say hes on large amounts of money, he played against tatura and dominated their ruckman few weeks back, can anyone give any more info on this rumour???

bradrowe#32
27 May 2007, 18:33
Seniors

Ovens & Murray FL 4.4 5.5 1.1 2.0 (12.10) d. Goulburn Valley FL 4.0 2.2 1.2 5.3 (12.7)
Goals
Ovens & Murray FL CRAIG EDNIE 2, BRENDAN PAGE 2, TIMOTHY HARGREAVES 2, MARCUS MCMILLAN 2, SCOTT OSWALD 2, LANCE OSWALD 1, KADE STEVENS 1
Goulburn Valley FL SAAD SAAD 4, PAUL NEWMAN 2, SAM DAWES 2, PAUL SCANLON 1, MATT FORYS 1, DUANE HUESTON 1, MATHEW PASCOE 1
Best
Ovens & Murray FL SCOTT OSWALD, KADE STEVENS, XAVIER LESLIE, DANIEL LESLIE, AYDAN BROWN, LANCE OSWALD
Goulburn Valley FL PAUL SCANLON, COLIN DURIE, MATTHEW O'KEEFE, NICHOLAS ALLAN, MICHAEL BARLOW, TIM HOOPER, TIM LOOBY

Under 18's
Ovens & Murray FL 8.2 4.1 2.3 0.2 (14.8) d. Goulburn Valley FL 3.1 2.2 1.4 3.0 (9.7)
Goals
Ovens & Murray FL NATHAN WAITE 4, JACK PRICE 3, ZACHARY JONES 2, KURT BRADSHAW 2, JAMES BRAIN 1, NICHOLAS CARTER 1, JOSHUA HAMILTON 1
Goulburn Valley FL FARRAN PRIEST 3, MATTHEW RENDINA 2, ANDREW GREEN 1, JOSHUA STRACHAN 1, BRADEN PULLEN 1, DAVID FERRIER 1
Best
Ovens & Murray FL NICHOLAS CARTER, JOSHUA HAMILTON, MATTHEW FLYNN, LUKE SVARC, JACK PRICE
Goulburn Valley FL BRADLEY CUNNINGHAM, ADAM BOSHEVSKI, BRENDEN KEAST, MATTHEW RENDINA, THOMAS ROCKLIFF

centreman
28 May 2007, 12:36
Alan Sutherland (spelling) was on fm 98.5 this morning giving the Swans side of events. Was quite interesting to hear. In summary Looby had signed a contract with Port Melb but was not registered, there was an amount for a bond outstanding and he as soon as he heard wanted to drive from Shepp to Port Melb to sort it out but Port weren't interested. They are appealing and they felt that the league (VCFL) didn't appoint a fair tribunal bench as the advocate who is suppose to offer advice to the clubs of the league was the chair along with his two mate who all traveled together. The club had advice from a Solicitor that there was no case to answer as too the advice given to the league. They are prepared to fight the matter in court if they feel they haven't had a fair hearing.

Contract and registration are the same thing in the VFL. Sign one you automatically sign the other.

juddy wce
28 May 2007, 12:44
Seniors

Ovens & Murray FL 4.4 5.5 1.1 2.0 (12.10) d. Goulburn Valley FL 4.0 2.2 1.2 5.3 (12.7)
Goals
Ovens & Murray FL CRAIG EDNIE 2, BRENDAN PAGE 2, TIMOTHY HARGREAVES 2, MARCUS MCMILLAN 2, SCOTT OSWALD 2, LANCE OSWALD 1, KADE STEVENS 1
Goulburn Valley FL SAAD SAAD 4, PAUL NEWMAN 2, SAM DAWES 2, PAUL SCANLON 1, MATT FORYS 1, DUANE HUESTON 1, MATHEW PASCOE 1
Best
Ovens & Murray FL SCOTT OSWALD, KADE STEVENS, XAVIER LESLIE, DANIEL LESLIE, AYDAN BROWN, LANCE OSWALD
Goulburn Valley FL PAUL SCANLON, COLIN DURIE, MATTHEW O'KEEFE, NICHOLAS ALLAN, MICHAEL BARLOW, TIM HOOPER, TIM LOOBY

Under 18's
Ovens & Murray FL 8.2 4.1 2.3 0.2 (14.8) d. Goulburn Valley FL 3.1 2.2 1.4 3.0 (9.7)
Goals
Ovens & Murray FL NATHAN WAITE 4, JACK PRICE 3, ZACHARY JONES 2, KURT BRADSHAW 2, JAMES BRAIN 1, NICHOLAS CARTER 1, JOSHUA HAMILTON 1
Goulburn Valley FL FARRAN PRIEST 3, MATTHEW RENDINA 2, ANDREW GREEN 1, JOSHUA STRACHAN 1, BRADEN PULLEN 1, DAVID FERRIER 1
Best
Ovens & Murray FL NICHOLAS CARTER, JOSHUA HAMILTON, MATTHEW FLYNN, LUKE SVARC, JACK PRICE
Goulburn Valley FL BRADLEY CUNNINGHAM, ADAM BOSHEVSKI, BRENDEN KEAST, MATTHEW RENDINA, THOMAS ROCKLIFF

Any kyabram players play in the interleague team?

You Know It
28 May 2007, 13:08
Any kyabram players play in the interleague team?

Yeah Paul Newman played, Josh Finn was in the squad!

not just footy
28 May 2007, 18:56
congrats to brad cunningham on BOG 4 GV under 18's side.. is a great player and well deserved...

bradrowe#32
29 May 2007, 10:55
Interesting story out of Rochester:

Tigers sitting in sixth position
May 29 2007
Campaspe News

After round six, Rochester is sitting in sixth spot on the Goulburn Valley Football League ladder with a three and three win/loss ratio.
On Saturday, they face the undefeated Shepparton United at Deakin Reserve and a loss could see them drop out of the six.

The Tigers have yet to play to their full potential for more than a quarter each game.

The Tigers' forward structure has the ability to kick winning scores, if the ball gets into the forward line quickly and effectively.

With Elliot Bowen, Anthony McPhee, Phil Lobb and Clint Whitsed up forward, the Tigers have the necessary marking power and body strength to test any Goulburn Valley team.

The Tigers need to get it right further up the field, around the stoppages and centre bounces and across half back.

If the ripplings are right that Sammy Brennan will be back in the Tigers colours within weeks, it could not come at a better time and it would change the structure of the line-up.

In the games the Tigers have lost, they have had trouble around the stoppages and centre bounces.

Brennan would go a long way in changing this and give the onballers and midfielders first use of the ball, allowing quick delivery into the potent forward structure.

Ben Anderson has worked tirelessly in the ruck but needs support and the Tigers need strength and aggression once the ball hits the turf.

The Tigers have classy, fast and elusive onballers in Ash Watson, Dean Moon, Heath Aitken and Scott Hann and, once the ball can be cleared away from the packs, all have the skill and ability to carve up opposition sides.

Rochester may look at adding more pace in their back half to assist Oliver, who is having a consistent season.

The Tigers must settle the back six fairly quickly and allow the players to gain knowledge and confidence in each other.

Daniel Schmidt has missed the past two games with an injury and there is no doubt the Tigers have missed him.

Schmidt is a ball carrier, along with Nick Knight and Matt Hyden.

The Tigers have some players who are down on confidence and they need to take some risks.

Confidence will come if they are prepared to take their opportunities and work hard with aggression, hard running and effective use of the football.

The Tigers need to dare their opposition players to match their attacking game plan.

Rushy Tiger
29 May 2007, 12:38
If Brennan played that would be as big a pick up as Ash Watson or Ben Anderson. The bloke just bleeds for the footy club and has a massive heart. Would be great to see him back at tigerland. Possibly one of the best ruckmen going around in last few years if i have my facts right?

bradrowe#32
29 May 2007, 12:42
If Brennan played that would be as big a pick up as Ash Watson or Ben Anderson. The bloke just bleeds for the footy club and has a massive heart. Would be great to see him back at tigerland. Possibly one of the best ruckmen going around in last few years if i have my facts right?

Who is Danny Ponting that has just been cleared from Tally?

BlindTurn
29 May 2007, 14:13
Now you have thrown my name out there why don't you throw your name out there, i am quite ok with pople havn a go at me thats what 90% of this forum is blokes havn ago at one another.
If you can quite easily give shit out and name names give us your name
You want my name Matthew Bell aka undercover cat I will give it to right now. My name is Ian Wrigglesworth. See what you can find out about me and let me know. I will be more than happy for you to bag me. But doubt if you will.

Matt12
29 May 2007, 15:35
You want my name Matthew Bell aka undercover cat I will give it to right now. My name is Ian Wrigglesworth. See what you can find out about me and let me know. I will be more than happy for you to bag me. But doubt if you will.

I seriously doubt you are Ian Wrigglesworth. He lives in the Sale region and why would he be commentinon the GVFL.
By the way Ian played cricket for Victoria and was a Premier Cricket bitch, playing with at least 4 clubs.

Urple
29 May 2007, 16:54
I seriously doubt you are Ian Wrigglesworth. He lives in the Sale region and why would he be commentinon the GVFL.
By the way Ian played cricket for Victoria and was a Premier Cricket bitch, playing with at least 4 clubs.
Surely a bloke could have the same name. I know of 2 people that went to my high school who had the same name. There was about 3 or 4 years in between them, but both had the same christian and surnames.

BlindTurn
29 May 2007, 17:08
I can guaranty my name is Ian Wrigglesworth, Im not afraid of people knowing my name. I do not live in the Sale region, I live in the Western Suburbs of Victoria in Altona. I have never bowled a cricket ball in my life. I know a fair bit about all football leagues as I tend to watch and do a bit of research on each league.

FOOTYBOSS
29 May 2007, 17:27
another win today boss how did the game unfold

Sorry undercover been on holidays and me writing this post, means I will be late for training at Arden St tonight. The game against Shep was a very tough hard fought game. Was good to get another win on the board and hopefully we can back it up against Tatura this week. Unfortunately for us, it was Ben Sheltons last game of the year.

head67
29 May 2007, 17:29
Sorry undercover been on holidays and me writing this post, means I will be late for training at Arden St tonight. The game against Shep was a very tough hard fought game. Was good to get another win on the board and hopefully we can back it up against Tatura this week. Unfortunately for us, it was Ben Sheltons last game of the year.
Where's Shelts off to Boss?

Bonge69
29 May 2007, 19:32
Does anyone know ex TAC cup player Mark O'sullivan champion player and champion bloke

HawkeEye
29 May 2007, 21:59
Where's Shelts off to Boss?

European adventure - Borat style

bradrowe#32
29 May 2007, 22:52

Very nice.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i88/mickiki/borat-green-thong-swimsuit.jpg

HJ32
29 May 2007, 23:13
that will be James Brayshaw on Thursday night

undercover cat
30 May 2007, 06:35

yeah whatever

Flat Track Bully
30 May 2007, 08:46
Does anyone know ex TAC cup player Mark O'sullivan champion player and champion bloke

Quality defender with Benalla in 2005...forced into retirement by recurring shoulder injuries.

FOOTYBOSS
30 May 2007, 14:15

Shelts left last Thursday and was heading to US for the 1st 3 weeks of his trip, then to the bahamas for a couple of weeks finally settling down over in Europe. Will be gone for roughly 8 months. He definately does look like Borat and I feel sorry for all the ladies that will be harrassed by this specimen that looks like Pete Sampras, Borat and ANdy Beckett of the movie philidelphia. His tour is called "Booty Hunter World Tour..."

MasterOfRoc
30 May 2007, 15:08
Who is the police officer who was playing for Mooroopna last year?

THanks in Advance

Urple
30 May 2007, 16:07
yeah whatever
Up early this morning undercover. Dont worry about BlindTurn, his just being an idiot on every thread. We know why you left the club and are now playing at VT.

Hows the form and injury going?

Duff Man
30 May 2007, 17:20
Who is the police officer who was playing for Mooroopna last year?

THanks in Advance
Russell Franze.

Cheers

undercover cat
30 May 2007, 18:12
Up early this morning undercover. Dont worry about BlindTurn, his just being an idiot on every thread. We know why you left the club and are now playing at VT.

Hows the form and injury going?

Always up early urps have to be in shepp for work at 7 15
so i occassionally i read a couple of threads over a hot chocolate in the mornings

MasterOfRoc
30 May 2007, 18:30
Russell Franze.

Cheers

Bout 6ft 2, would be about 20?

From what im told, he played at Mooroopna... then went off to the Police Academy

WHy im asking is, hes now stationed here @ St Arnaud - just tryin to find out a name

bobcat23
30 May 2007, 21:40
gday guys pretty big rumour flying around moroopna that they have signed a young bloke by the name of r.hocking only 18 plays for the bullants, bout 6.4 probably one of the better players(young) at the bullants, my source who is very credible say hes on large amounts of money, he played against tatura and dominated their ruckman few weeks back, can anyone give any more info on this rumour???

can any 1 tell me wats wrong with benalla ... grand finalist to nothing? what happened to there players ? watched interleague on sunday coupled of born and breed benalla players in matt shir and daniel mahers .. can ask y benalla cant get them to play there.. seems stupid.... ??????????????????

anzac
31 May 2007, 06:13
Bout 6ft 2, would be about 20?

From what im told, he played at Mooroopna... then went off to the Police Academy

WHy im asking is, hes now stationed here @ St Arnaud - just tryin to find out a name

La Sard and Mahoney were extremely pleased with his performance in the academy.:p

MasterOfRoc
31 May 2007, 10:20
im not overally familiar with GVFL, so that one went way over my head lol... Are ya sure its "Franze"? theres no one with that name on the VCFL Database

Cheers - Roc

Peelers
31 May 2007, 13:02
Just wondering what the wash up was of interleague. I know its been a week but just wondering if O and M were to good, if GV had there chances but werent good enough, and if the best players named was on the money??
If any one saw the game and could fill me in that would be great.
cheers peelers..

bradrowe#32
31 May 2007, 13:50
O and M takes the honours as late GV charge just falls short
By DAVID JOHNSTON

THE Ovens and Murray was able to hang on and record the tightest victory in inter-league clashes against arch-rival Goulburn Valley at the Norm Minns Oval yesterday.

The 20th encounter between the country footy heavyweights rested on a kick for goal after the siren by GV defender Tim Hooper, which came up short and presented the O and M with an epic three-point victory.

In 2000 the O and M’s golden run of four successive championships was brought to an end by a 12-point win to the GV, but no match had been decided by less than a goal until the visitors stormed back from 24 points down at the last change to almost snatch an unlikely victory.

For the most part the O and M was the superior outfit and led at half-time by 25 points following a game breaking seven-minute burst late in the second quarter.

The GV clawed its way back and closed to within six points before Marcus McMillan stepped up for the O and M.

He kicked two goals, one from a set shot and the other from a snap in tight confines, but his vision and awareness to find resting ruckman Brendan Page in the clear 25m out from goal underlined his star quality.

Page made no mistake with the set shot and the O and M had wrested back the control at the long break.

The brilliance of Kade Stevens (38 possessions) and Xavier Leslie (34), including 19 handballs, in the midfield and a water-tight defence of Matt Wollington, Daniel Leslie and Aydan Brown had set the tone early for the O and M.

The O and M was able to blanket the GV’s major avenues to goal and was relieved to see Matt Forys start the game in defence opposed to McMillan.

The O and M made a flying start with two goals each to Lee Schmidt and Tim Hargreaves, but their impact for the remainder of the game was minimal.

Apart from the final stages of the second term, the GV defence of Jeff Anderson, Matthew Pascoe, Matt O’Keefe and Hooper prevented the O and M forwards from blowing the game totally apart.

Colin Durie, Paul Scanlon and Michael Barlow also had their moments in the midfield with Scanlon igniting the GV fightback in the final term.

The margin was reduced to 12 points with early goals to Forys and Saad Saad, but a timely goal to Lance Oswald restored some breathing space for O and M.

Oswald’s younger bro-ther Scott Oswald also rose to the occasion in the pressure-cooker encounter to be a stand-out player in defence.

But his decision to play on after taking a courageous mark resulted in a free kick and goal to the surging GV.

The margin was suddenly six points with Sam Dawes kicking another goal from a tight angle.

The O and M had lost its ascendancy in the middle of the ground with Stevens surprisingly starting the final quarter on the bench and Tim Little becoming an influential player in the ruck for GV.

Page was replaced in the ruck by Kirby midway through the term, but the Lavington player worked his way onto the end of a bouncing ball to kick a crucial goal.

But the GV kept coming with Scanlon, Barlow and Hooper prominent and when Saad kicked his third for the term the GV was within three points.

“They just used the ball, the ground and the space more effectively,” GV coach Richard Warburton said.

“They set up and rebounded off half-back from the start, whereas we got to half-time before we played smart footy.

“We didn’t react and we put a lot of pressure on ourselves.

“It was disappointing we couldn’t steal the game in the end.”

Urple
31 May 2007, 15:03
I was just reading the EDFL thread and noticed that they have done a top 50 players who are currently playing. Would be interested to know who people would have and wouldnt have in their top 50. Doesnt have to be in any order. But it could create a good talking point.