View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
bradrowe#32
31 Mar 2005, 13:40
Thought it might be a good idea to keep all GV comments, results, news etc in the one thread.
Today, the Shepparton News released their 2005 guide:
Mansfield (Last Year 1st)
Recruits:
Darren Hulme, Anthony Tranquilli, Heath Martin, Casey Briggs, Ross Hopkins
Departures:
Jarrod Kayler-Thomson, Ben Murphy, Chris Laing, Brendan Hehir, Nathan Reynoldson
Tatura (2nd)
Recruits:
Jason Dagger
Departures:
Danny Stevens, Mark Richardson, Simon Lee, Damien Toomey, Steve Ellis, James Thompson, David MacDonald
Rochester (3rd)
Recruits:
Ryan Connaughton, Michael Loughman, Clint Whitsed
Departures:
Steve Rasmussen, Tim Rasmussen, Simon McCarty, Brenton Gray, Daryl Harrison, Mark McInerney, Ben Anderson, Jeremy Campbell
Seymour (4th)
Recruits:
Saad Saad, Adam Reid, Mark Pilling, Damien Barton, Brendan Liddell, James Kelly
Departures:
Steve Shaw, Paul Cox, Jon Soloman
Echuca (5th)
Recruits:
Mark Emonson, Brent Borkowski, Dylan Butler, Luke Agg, Xavier Campbell, Jamus Campbell
Departures:
Rick Pritchett, Michael Walker, Greg Byrne, Anthony Baker, Troy O'Callaghan
Shepparton (6th)
Recruits:
Matt Byers, Jeremy O'Brien, Anthony Mellington, Simon Laing, Nick Miller, Ben Tremellan, Steve Dickinson
Departures:
Phil Guthrie, Daniel Thompson, Jake Sprunt, Adam Golding
Shepparton United (7th)
Recruits:
Danny Stevens, Steve Hazelman, Brad Hazelman, Matt Forys, Russell Gibson, Simon Lee
Departures:
Duane Hueston, Joel Sofi
Eurora (8th)
Recruits:
Shane Clayton, Mark Clayton, Dean Clayton, Daniel Sage, Mark Jansz, Ben Shecton, Jake McKenzie, Chris Tate, Daniel Milo
Departures:
Hayden Buckley
Benalla (9th)
Recruits:
Anthony Stevens, Adam Cosham, Shannon Downey, Mark O'Sullivan
Departures:
Jarrod Hayse, Adam Cole, Richard Bull
Shepparton Swans (10th)
Recruits:
Jason Rachele, Mark Rachele, Matt Rachele, Jack Smythe, Brett Creighton
Departures:
Jason Trianidis, Kane Hoskin, Luke Durling, Greg Clohesy, Rod Osborne
Kyabram (11th)
Recruits:
Chris Atkins, Paul Newman, Dion Ciavola, Tim Watson
Departures:
Michael Power, Adrian Dullard, Adam Thompson
Mooroopna (12th)
Recruits:
Blake Campbell, Jarrod Harbrow, Rod Osborne, Dale Walkingshaw, Brad Maxwell
Departures:
Daniel Nicholson
Tongala (13th)
Recruits:
Adrian Baker, Arke Fonua, Tevita Fonua, Glenn McIntyre
Departures:
Hayden Howard, Shane Webber, Brent Smith
Let the games begin!
Flat Track Bully
31 Mar 2005, 15:14
Good work Rowey....An official GV thread is the way to go.
Yes, must say I'm impressed with the Shepp News liftout...looks like a lot of time and effort has gone into it.
One rumour floating around is the return of Shepp United coach Brenton Cooper to the field.
It's beliebed he's contemplating lining-up in Saturday's practice match, with a view to lining up round one against Tatura.
bradrowe#32
31 Mar 2005, 20:26
Good work Rowey....An official GV thread is the way to go.
Yes, must say I'm impressed with the Shepp News liftout...looks like a lot of time and effort has gone into it.
One rumour floating around is the return of Shepp United coach Brenton Cooper to the field.
It's beliebed he's contemplating lining-up in Saturday's practice match, with a view to lining up round one against Tatura.
I recall hearing that 2 or so weeks ago. I only remember Cooper from years ago when he dominated. He hurt his knee didn't he?
The Shepp News lift-out is very good. Provides excellent info on the whole area. They should be congratulated.
Think it was chronic hamstring BradRowe. Could be wrong though. Worrying times for my beloved Tat, lot of quality players moved on and not much coming back in. They would want to hope they have some extremely talented juniors.
centreman
1 Apr 2005, 09:37
Boys. Brenton Cooper will not play this week (practice match against Mooroopna), and will not play for United at all this year. He has a chronic hamstring straing similar to Nathan Buckley's injury.
"You can run around at 3/4 pace, but you just can't step up a pace without fear of it going,'' was what Coops said about his injury.
pekay-norwest
1 Apr 2005, 12:45
very informative thread for footy nerds like me.gee Tatura have lost a plethora,will they be thereabouts again this year?see United have picked up the trio from Belconnen,and a fella i played with once,Mick Loughman(Finley HS)is playing in GVFL,last i saw he was at Kangaroo Flat for memory.when is first round and who has who?
Pekay - Starts next weekend
KYABRAM v SHEPP SWANS
MANSFIELD v BENALLA
SHEPPARTON v TONGALA
TATURA v SHEPP UNITED
ROCHESTER v ECHUCA
SEYMOUR v EUROA
Flat Track Bully
3 Apr 2005, 17:02
Does anybody have any information on what happened in weekend practice matches...
I know Shepp beat the Swans by around 5 goals, while United hammered Mooroopna by 10.
bradrowe#32
3 Apr 2005, 23:22
Does anybody have any information on what happened in weekend practice matches...
I know Shepp beat the Swans by around 5 goals, while United hammered Mooroopna by 10.
Rochester were beating Tongala 57 to 14 about half way through the 2nd quarter. Tongala had about 3 players that played reserves and then had to play in the ones.
Rochester looked OK. They didn't have many talls and were missing quite a few, like Chris McCarty. The new Bendigo boys looked pretty good.
Overall, the standard wasn't that good.
Flat Track Bully
4 Apr 2005, 09:18
Rochester were beating Tongala 57 to 14 about half way through the 2nd quarter. Tongala had about 3 players that played reserves and then had to play in the ones.
Rochester looked OK. They didn't have many talls and were missing quite a few, like Chris McCarty. The new Bendigo boys looked pretty good.
Got hold of the stats from the United-Mooroopna game...Steve Haezleman 40 possies, Danny Stevens 38 and 3 goals...Forys kicked 5...
Interesting times.
pekay-norwest
4 Apr 2005, 10:42
Got hold of the stats from the United-Mooroopna game...Steve Haezleman 40 possies, Danny Stevens 38 and 3 goals...Forys kicked 5...
Interesting times. looks like the Belconnen(i should say ex)boys did alright,Forys and Hazelmann,and can i possibly get Danny Stevens on temporary transfer?stats like that in GVFL equates to 90 touches and 13 goals in Sydney.cmon Danny its for the good of footy!!
cookie33
5 Apr 2005, 13:05
How are the boys from VFL going at Seymour and Benalla?? I know Saad Saad is a gun he can jump,run,kick,mark the kid can do anything. What about Adam Cosham and Shannon Downey the former Coburg Tiger youngsters? I saw the Burgers play Werribee last season and Adam Cosham can find the footy seems to be a tad slow but is able to get in and under and get a hard ball which is what makes him a very good player and a must have type. Also on that day Shannon Downey played he impressed me and a few others alot, he is very very smart around the goals and is exciting to watch has that uncanny ability to get front and square everytime more of a match winner than Cosham but both are very handy pick ups and should go real well.
I will be real interested to see how Darren Hulme the Hottons and fat Mensch carry Mansfield this season, no doubt Hulme will dominate i got see him play alot last year because we always get to the Northern Bullants games to see how our young guys are going and Hulmey should be a real pick up, 30+ possie a game player.
Boys just watch young Saad Saad play, he would be my tip for the league B&F a bit of a hot head though which could hold him back.
Anyone wanna know anymore about the AFL pick ups or the VFL guys let me know i have a fair bit of info on all of them.
footyman
5 Apr 2005, 17:09
How are the boys from VFL going at Seymour and Benalla?? I know Saad Saad is a gun he can jump,run,kick,mark the kid can do anything. What about Adam Cosham and Shannon Downey the former Coburg Tiger youngsters? I saw the Burgers play Werribee last season and Adam Cosham can find the footy seems to be a tad slow but is able to get in and under and get a hard ball which is what makes him a very good player and a must have type. Also on that day Shannon Downey played he impressed me and a few others alot, he is very very smart around the goals and is exciting to watch has that uncanny ability to get front and square everytime more of a match winner than Cosham but both are very handy pick ups and should go real well.
I will be real interested to see how Darren Hulme the Hottons and fat Mensch carry Mansfield this season, no doubt Hulme will dominate i got see him play alot last year because we always get to the Northern Bullants games to see how our young guys are going and Hulmey should be a real pick up, 30+ possie a game player.
Boys just watch young Saad Saad play, he would be my tip for the league B&F a bit of a hot head though which could hold him back.
Anyone wanna know anymore about the AFL pick ups or the VFL guys let me know i have a fair bit of info on all of them.
Thought Downey was a defender when he was at Coburg? Where do you see him lining up at Benalla?
Do you know how tall is Saad Saad?
Cheers
cookie33
5 Apr 2005, 19:01
Thought Downey was a defender when he was at Coburg? Where do you see him lining up at Benalla?
Cheers
Downey was a defender for Coburg and he did some solid jobs however i think towards the end of the year in 2003 he played on the ball againts Bullants and kicked a few smart goals that he crummed.
Saad Saad is about 5ft10 or there abouts, watch out for him he can really play. Are you keen Football follower footyman? and in particular the GVFL?
Flat Track Bully
5 Apr 2005, 22:58
Cheers
Downey is injured...Cosham looks the goods and will partner A.Stevens on-ball at the Saints...
In some other GVL news...former Tatura coach Danny Stevens won't play when his new club Shepp United meet the Bulldogs on Saturday...he's making the move to Sydney, however this won't be one of his 12 games.
Chris Atkins from Kyabram has suffered a bad hamstring injury according to my operatives, and may miss a number of weeks.
Shepp United's Matt Forys is believed to have suffered a broken hand in an off-field incident.
Shepparton's Anthony Mellington is suffering some type oif back injury, and is unlikely to line-up against Tongala round one.
Benalla will wear St.Kilda's home jumper this year, after spending its first 7 years in the GVL in the strip the Saints wore in the 1997 grand final against Adelaide.
purple hills
6 Apr 2005, 09:37
very informative thread for footy nerds like me.gee Tatura have lost a plethora,will they be thereabouts again this year?see United have picked up the trio from Belconnen,and a fella i played with once,Mick Loughman(Finley HS)is playing in GVFL,last i saw he was at Kangaroo Flat for memory.when is first round and who has who?
Finley HS boy are ya Pekay?? Did you do all your schooling there and which local club did you play with??
purple hills
6 Apr 2005, 09:40
Yeah Rochy sure look short when cartsy's out rowey. They look even shorter when he's in. I heard he was missing as it was his last opportunity to spend the weekend in DT's
heard the same thing purple hills funnily enough.
Flat Track Bully
7 Apr 2005, 12:14
Former Adelaide listed player Belraj Singh will play with Mooroopna this year, just days after being cleared to Griffith in the Riverina League.
David_02
7 Apr 2005, 13:34
Former Adelaide listed player Belraj Singh will play with Mooroopna this year, just days after being cleared to Griffith in the Riverina League.
Hes playing for griffith dont b stupid
Flat Track Bully
7 Apr 2005, 13:41
Hes playing for griffith dont b stupid
Check the transfer list on the GVL website gvfl.com.au if you don't believe me
He is overated this kid, loves to chase the coin ive known him for a while and dont rate him 1 bit.
David_02
7 Apr 2005, 13:51
He is overated this kid, loves to chase the coin ive known him for a while and dont rate him 1 bit.
thats pretty dumb saying that. Anyone that gets on an AFL list is a gun. u cant say they r ********.
And he dominated in the dvfl last yr. very good player. Like to see u take him.
thats pretty dumb saying that. Anyone that gets on an AFL list is a gun. u cant say they r ********.
And he dominated in the dvfl last yr. very good player. Like to see u take him.
Mate your a egg head, anyone could have got a kick at Lower Plenty and be a star the club is a rabble. He will find it alot harder in the GV the standard of football is alot higher than DVFL and to call him a star at DVFL level is overated.
Ever heard of a bloke by the name of Izac Thompson from the Bulldogs?? go watch him play a game at Werribee reserves and tell me if he is a gun or Zac Dawson at Box Hill. You my friend are a twit, go and play some more local 18s.
centreman
7 Apr 2005, 14:04
Signh is seeking a clearance to Mooroopna after kicking eight for Griffith at the weekend. It's likely to be a drawn out battle because he signed a contract at Griffith. Sounds like Mooroopna will be foolish to get someone who seems like a mercenary, but they've done it before I suppose.
Matt Forys did NOT injury his hand in an off-field incident. Just gossip - he will line-up for United after kicking five at the weekend against Mooroopna in a practice match.
pekay-norwest
8 Apr 2005, 10:56
Finley HS boy are ya Pekay?? Did you do all your schooling there and which local club did you play with?? i wish!played a state carnival there in 96,got billeted with a fella named Rob Ryan, top bloke.Loughman was playing for Murray,me for Sydney.give me the chance id love to go back there,great footy ground,top people,beautiful town. cant remember much else of that weekend,got knocked out big time.and i remember Copperhead Road on the school bus every morning,ad bloody naseum!!!but good times.
bradrowe#32
10 Apr 2005, 23:30
Round 1 results:
Kyabram 16.11 def Shepparton Swans 14.8
Benalla 13.11 def Mansfield 11.12
Shepparton 25.19 def Tongala 11.7
Shepparton United 19.16 def Tatura 9.6
Echuca 18.6 def Rochester 10.16
Eurora 13.11 def Seymour 10.10
Notes:
* Eurora defearing flag favourites Seymour.
* Benalla defeating last years premiers Mansfield. Mensch and Hulme both injured. Anthony Stevens debut went very well.
* Last years grand finalist Tatura being flogged.
* Rochester struggled in the first match.
TheBigV
14 Apr 2005, 09:42
Apparently barring a court injunction Singh will be lining up for Mooroopna this weekend.
jmain14
14 Apr 2005, 09:48
Apparently barring a court injunction Singh will be lining up for Mooroopna this weekend.
all the best for harbijaan. hope all goes well for him.
purple hills
15 Apr 2005, 00:29
i wish!played a state carnival there in 96,got billeted with a fella named Rob Ryan, top bloke.Loughman was playing for Murray,me for Sydney.give me the chance id love to go back there,great footy ground,top people,beautiful town. cant remember much else of that weekend,got knocked out big time.and i remember Copperhead on the school bus every morning,ad bloody naseum!!!but good times.
--
purple hills
15 Apr 2005, 00:31
i wish!played a state carnival there in 96,got billeted with a fella named Rob Ryan, top bloke.Loughman was playing for Murray,me for Sydney.give me the chance id love to go back there,great footy ground,top people,beautiful town. cant remember much else of that weekend,got knocked out big time.and i remember Copperhead on the school bus every morning,ad bloody naseum!!!but good times.
Rob Ryan is playing for Barooga in the Murray league now i believe. Watched them get done by Cobram on Good Friday. Could be a long season for the Hawks this year
bradrowe#32
15 Apr 2005, 16:40
This week's games:
BENALLA v KYABRAM
TONGALA v MANSFIELD
ECHUCA v TATURA
EUROA v ROCHESTER
SHEPP SWANS v MOOROOPNA
SHEPP UNITED v SHEPPARTON
Home team is written first.
Flat Track Bully
15 Apr 2005, 16:45
This week's games:
BENALLA v KYABRAM
TONGALA v MANSFIELD
ECHUCA v TATURA
EUROA v ROCHESTER
SHEPP SWANS v MOOROOPNA
SHEPP UNITED v SHEPPARTON
Home team is written first.
Word is Dion Ciavola will again miss for Kyabram...Balraj Singh to debut with Mooroopna and the Deakin Derby (United/Shepp) to be the most keenly anticipated since the 2000 Grand Final.
cookie33
15 Apr 2005, 20:00
Can someone tell me how Blake Campbell went for the Cats in there round 1 match? Also interested to see how Saad Saad from Seymour and the other VFL boys running are going. Seems a strong league the GV i will have to get up to watch a game, any suggestions in the coming weeks? preferbly closer to Melbourne.
bradrowe#32
15 Apr 2005, 22:23
Can someone tell me how Blake Campbell went for the Cats in there round 1 match? Also interested to see how Saad Saad from Seymour and the other VFL boys running are going. Seems a strong league the GV i will have to get up to watch a game, any suggestions in the coming weeks? preferbly closer to Melbourne.
Mooroopna didn't play last weekend as they had the bye. They should beat Shepp. Swans.
Not sure how Saad went, but Seymour lost their first game to Eurora.
Flat Track Bully
16 Apr 2005, 07:55
Mooroopna didn't play last weekend as they had the bye. They should beat Shepp. Swans.
Not sure how Saad went, but Seymour lost their first game to Eurora.
Saad Saad didn't play last week because of suspension carried over from DVFL, will line up bnext week against Rochester
bradrowe#32
16 Apr 2005, 22:38
I didn't catch the other results, but Rochester lost today to Eurora. They were down about 5 or 6 goals at half time, but fought back well to be down by a goal at 3/4 time. They started off the 4th quarter well, but missed 4 or 5 easy shots at goal. Eurora kicked the last 3 to win the game.
mykidzrokk
17 Apr 2005, 09:52
oh, it's gonna be a long season for the Tiges!!!!!
bradrowe#32
17 Apr 2005, 11:49
oh, it's gonna be a long season for the Tiges!!!!!
It probably will be. They have been around the mark in both games, but their goalkicking has costed them. They are relatively injury free, so I'm not sure if they will improve. They should win 6-8 games.
Other results:
BENALLA 22.16 v KYABRAM 8.15
TONGALA 7.6 v MANSFIELD 23.9
ECHUCA 19.15 v TATURA 5.7
EUROA 15.12 v ROCHESTER 9.18
SHEPP SWANS v MOOROOPNA (play today)
SHEPP UNITED v SHEPPARTON (play today)
I was at Benalla and watched them demolish Kyabram. Benalla just had far too many winners all over the ground. Kyabram didn't help thier cause by kicking plenty of points particulary in the first half when they were still in the game. Kyabram found it very hard to get past the brilliant half back line of Benalla which consisted of Polwarth, Fahey and the legend Anthony Stevens who for some unknown reason was playing HBF for the whole second half. Polwarth marked everything then gave it off to the running stevens who had around 30 touches for the game. Stevo's brother Brendon was close to best on ground and was in everything. They gave good supply to Ricky Symes up forward who must have kicked 7 or 8 goals but I wasn't counting so not sure. McKenzie was also having a good day at CHF but really Benalla had the ball going forward so often that it was a good day to be playing in Benalla's forward half. I reckon Stevo was itching to get up forward but for some reason Coach McFarlane left him across half back for the 2nd half. He did all the kickouts from fullback and this was a treat to watch with his pinpoint passing. Benalla will be tough to beat this year.
Almost forgot to mention Matt Sharp. He was BOG last week from all reports and was very good again yesterday. Benalla's only weakness seems to be their lack of height however with a fast running game and players who can use the ball well they may be able to get around this problem. They don't just bang it long. They go sideways quiet a bit and find a lose man then run hard forward. It's an exciting brand of footy.
TheBigV
19 Apr 2005, 08:43
Massive blow to United with both the Hazelmans' copping season ending injuries. Shocking luck for the 2 boys.
Flat Track Bully
19 Apr 2005, 10:39
Massive blow to United with both the Hazelmans' copping season ending injuries. Shocking luck for the 2 boys.
Huge...would almost have United is only a maybe for finals action instead of a definite...although he wasn't dominating, the Demons lost their way after Steve got injured against the Bears.
Let's hope Forys doesn't go down as well
bradrowe#32
22 Apr 2005, 20:11
Fixtures for Round 3 23/4/2005
MOOROOPNA v BENALLA
MANSFIELD v SHEPP UNITED
SHEPPARTON v ECHUCA
TATURA v EUROA
ROCHESTER v SEYMOUR
KYABRAM v TONGALA
My tips:
Mooropna in an upset, Mansfield by 2 goals, Shepparton by 4 goals, Euroa by plenty, Seymour by 2-3 goals and Kyabram by 10 goals.
SheppBear
26 Apr 2005, 15:26
Shepparton Bears comfortably accounted for Echuca by a margin of 36 points. They are looking good.
ANT JESS
26 Apr 2005, 15:52
Rochester were beaten again, quite an easy win for the Lions. Quite possibly the worst tigers side to take the ground for 10 years though, so a 10 goal win is nothing to write home about I wouldn't think.
jmain14
26 Apr 2005, 16:18
Fixtures for Round 3 23/4/2005
MOOROOPNA v BENALLA
MANSFIELD v SHEPP UNITED
SHEPPARTON v ECHUCA
TATURA v EUROA
ROCHESTER v SEYMOUR
KYABRAM v TONGALA
My tips:
Mooropna in an upset, Mansfield by 2 goals, Shepparton by 4 goals, Euroa by plenty, Seymour by 2-3 goals and Kyabram by 10 goals.
great work rowey tipping the cats to beat benalla. would of thought the majority were tipping a saints win so well done by you.
jmain14
26 Apr 2005, 16:28
Rochester were beaten again, quite an easy win for the Lions. Quite possibly the worst tigers side to take the ground for 10 years though, so a 10 goal win is nothing to write home about I wouldn't think.
yeah fair call jessy, the indications are that it might be a long year for those involved down at tigerland. on a positive note though, it was pleasing to see 3 of their players named in the interleague squad and the word is that all 3 will play. most pleasing I feel is the inclusion of sam "stretch / sammy" brennan who has been in sizzling form and has been a consistent performer for the past 3 seasons. think his selection in the squad was well overdue.
It may well be the worst side since 1987 if they fail to make the finals, 1991 is the only other year I can recall Rochy not making it and that was not a bad side then either. How's the season shaping up for you anyway Mainy ??
cookie33
27 Apr 2005, 10:40
Seymour seem to be coming along nicely as do Mooropana, people may be suprised but they did recruit well especially with the former Carlton listed player Blake Campbell.
Just on the Mooropana vs Benalla game ive noticed that neither Cosham or Downey have been in the best but other recruits like Sharp and of course Stevens are there. whats the status with them players?
Early season form seems to suggest what most people have already predicted with Tongala being terrible and sides like Euroa and Seymour back up there and fighting it out for the top few spots.
bradrowe#32
27 Apr 2005, 22:16
It may well be the worst side since 1987 if they fail to make the finals, 1991 is the only other year I can recall Rochy not making it and that was not a bad side then either. How's the season shaping up for you anyway Mainy ??
I think they missed in 1995 and 1996. In 1994 they made the finals with an aging list and played injured players in the final Vs Tatura and lost.
The 3rds then won the flag in 1996 and had some really good players that stayed with the club and helped them into the 1997 finals. They also recruited well locally. They then won the flag in 1999, which I'm sure you know.
bradrowe#32
27 Apr 2005, 22:18
great work rowey tipping the cats to beat benalla. would of thought the majority were tipping a saints win so well done by you.
Thanks mate. I had a look at their team on the Friday and was suprised how well they have picked up. Mooroopna have been crap for as long as I can remember.
jmain14
28 Apr 2005, 10:05
yeah not too bad rosco, only played the one game to date though - for albatross in a very budget league in nsw. I guess I will probably head up there a couple more times throughout the year. I also intend on pulling the boots back out for the rochy seconds against tatura in round 5. will you be playing that day rowey / hyrisolakous?? tat seconds - shouldn't be too good should they??
how about you rosco - a couple of good performances by the roos thus far??
jmain14
28 Apr 2005, 10:14
Thanks mate. I had a look at their team on the Friday and was suprised how well they have picked up. Mooroopna have been crap for as long as I can remember.
yeah they look to be a pretty good side this year. might be the year of the cat not only in the afl but also the gv!!
what's on for this bye w'end anyway rowey - will you be home??
pekay-norwest
28 Apr 2005, 10:36
a shame to see Rochy not as dominant as i last remember.hows Forys going in the goals for Shepp?and jmain,whats your go at Albatross?you may as well have a crack at SydAFL Prems with Wollongong up the road if you dont rate the SCAFL,you do come from footy country after all.go up and smack some of the pretty boys from Penno,North Shore et al. and a bit of coin doesnt go astray,for purchasing fine amber refreshments
bradrowe#32
28 Apr 2005, 17:21
yeah they look to be a pretty good side this year. might be the year of the cat not only in the afl but also the gv!!
what's on for this bye w'end anyway rowey - will you be home??
Probably just hanging around Rochy. Might go see some local footy. Are you coming back?
jmain14
29 Apr 2005, 09:00
Probably just hanging around Rochy. Might go see some local footy. Are you coming back?
yeah mate, got my sister's enagagement party on tomorrow night so i'll be around. staying at red's (josh thurgood's) house tonight so should be a pretty big one no doubt.
carts was telling me you have kicked all of the seconds' goals so far this year - not a bad effort...
pekay-norwest
29 Apr 2005, 13:35
forgive my ignorance,but how on Gods green earth do i access Leading Goals for GV on that website of theirs?
ANT JESS
29 Apr 2005, 13:55
here's the link here:
http://goulburnvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/toptenplayers.asp?comp=2335&OrgID=359
Jesus Mainy, how did you come to be up there ?? Roos not travelling too bad, Lorrie missed last 2 1/2 games and 5-6 of our best 10 still out injured. I broke my hand in Rd2 and will miss 8 (although I don't count myself in the abovementioned 5-6). Got Elmore this week, almost back to Rochy .....
ANT JESS
29 Apr 2005, 13:56
not the easiest web-site to navigate though hey?
ANT JESS
29 Apr 2005, 13:59
Jesus Mainy, how did you come to be up there ?? Roos not travelling too bad, Lorrie missed last 2 1/2 games and 5-6 of our best 10 still out injured. I broke my hand in Rd2 and will miss 8 (although I don't count myself in the abovementioned 5-6). Got Elmore this week, almost back to Rochy .....
Rosco actually heading to the game tomorrow, with rochy having the bye. Who are the players to keep an eye on?
Flat Track Bully
29 Apr 2005, 14:18
not the easiest web-site to navigate though hey?
and they've still got their office address as Win TV, when they've made the move to Dunkirik Avenue
TuskenRaider
29 Apr 2005, 14:32
I think they update their website once every solar eclipse.
jmain14
29 Apr 2005, 15:36
my mate coaches albatross as he is in the defence up there.
might have to go for a look at the bloods v roos clash myself. you confident??
bradrowe#32
2 May 2005, 11:22
This weekend's results:
Mooroopna 21.10 Tongala 7.5
Shepp United 12.6 Kyabram 10.14
Mansfield 13.14 Echuca 13.3
Eurora 19.10 Shepp 14.7
Seymour 20.18 Tatura 3.10
Benalla 14.13 Shepp Swans 4.11
Rochester - bye.
Eurora are looking the goods. Shepp got the jump on them and were leading by 4 or 5 goals at one stage.
Next week is the interleague bye. Team to be announced within the next few days.
Flat Track Bully
3 May 2005, 16:18
This weekend's results:
Mooroopna 21.10 Tongala 7.5
Shepp United 12.6 Kyabram 10.14
Mansfield 13.14 Echuca 13.3
Eurora 19.10 Shepp 14.7
Seymour 20.18 Tatura 3.10
Benalla 14.13 Shepp Swans 4.11
Rochester - bye.
Eurora are looking the goods. Shepp got the jump on them and were leading by 4 or 5 goals at one stage.
Next week is the interleague bye. Team to be announced within the next few days.
Shane Clayton reported for striking Shepp's Jeremy O'Brien...not sure if he's taken a set penalty or not, which is only a week in the GV.
bradrowe#32
3 May 2005, 22:21
Shane Clayton reported for striking Shepp's Jeremy O'Brien...not sure if he's taken a set penalty or not, which is only a week in the GV.
Jeremy O'Brien is a pretty handy player from the stuff I've heard. Rochester play them in 3 weeks so it'll be good to have a look at him.
Flat Track Bully
4 May 2005, 13:10
Jeremy O'Brien is a pretty handy player from the stuff I've heard. Rochester play them in 3 weeks so it'll be good to have a look at him.
Part of the interleague squad having been recruited to Shepp from Wang Rovers, J O'B is a damaging left foot kick and a good bloke to boot.
Will be aiming to work his way off the wing and into an ball rotation with Byers and Ash by season's end.
Part of the interleague squad having been recruited to Shepp from Wang Rovers, J O'B is a damaging left foot kick and a good bloke to boot.
Will be aiming to work his way off the wing and into an ball rotation with Byers and Ash by season's end.
you aren't the man himself are you jock??
pekay-norwest
4 May 2005, 16:38
anyy news on Interleague team yet?curious to see if Matt Forys gets a guernsey..also for those that play in the great GV,purely for hindsight purposes,but would the former Belconnen brothers Hazelmann be a chance for a game if still playing?
sorry mate, not sure if forys is in the squad. it was in the shepp news a couple of weeks back but the side has changed so much since then due to players pulling out (heaps of), and they even introduced a couple more players to the squad earlier this week. hard to say whether the hazelmann brothers would have been selected but the reports are that they are pretty bloody handy players so my guess is that they would have been every chance of gaining selection.
Flat Track Bully
4 May 2005, 18:52
sorry mate, not sure if forys is in the squad. it was in the shepp news a couple of weeks back but the side has changed so much since then due to players pulling out (heaps of), and they even introduced a couple more players to the squad earlier this week. hard to say whether the hazelmann brothers would have been selected but the reports are that they are pretty bloody handy players so my guess is that they would have been every chance of gaining selection.
No I'm not Jeremy himself, although In know the young man well.
Forys has withdarwn from the squad due to injury, along with Hotton, Mensch, MacKenzie, Mellington etc...need I go on.
Linc Wellington from Tatura has been elected captain, with Seymour's Shane Schottner his deputy.
Will be a youngish squad, but a talented one, which will hopefully break an 11 year drought at VCFL level, albeit in a "mickey mouse" competition.
bradrowe#32
4 May 2005, 19:25
Saad Saad didn't get picked for interleague. He kicked 11 goals in his first game, but wasn't selected because he started the season in round 3. Ridiculous decision if you ask me. A guy from Eurora also kicked 10 in his first game but wasn' selected.
However, turns out that Saad broke his arm on the weekend. He kicked 3 in the 1st five minutes of the 1st quarter.
Saad Saad didn't get picked for interleague. He kicked 11 goals in his first game, but wasn't selected because he started the season in round 3. Ridiculous decision if you ask me. A guy from Eurora also kicked 10 in his first game but wasn' selected.
However, turns out that Saad broke his arm on the weekend. He kicked 3 in the 1st five minutes of the 1st quarter.
the guy must be an absolute freak - am disappointed that I didn't get to watch him play when they played rochy.
Can anyone provide a link to where we can get the results, best players and goal kickers for every game each week?
bradrowe#32
5 May 2005, 10:34
the guy must be an absolute freak - am disappointed that I didn't get to watch him play when they played rochy.
It was an incredible display 'Noodles'. I played ressie and by the time I came out of the rooms he has kicked 6 in the first quarter.
He took the best one handed mark I've seen since Robbie Stirzaker's in the under 14s.
It was an incredible display 'Noodles'. I played ressie and by the time I came out of the rooms he has kicked 6 in the first quarter.
He took the best one handed mark I've seen since Robbie Stirzaker's in the under 14s.
geez it must have been some sort of mark if you are comparing it to some of robbie's. he had a great pair of hands did robbie and a brilliant football brain. an awesome bloke off the ground to was robby.
pekay-norwest
5 May 2005, 12:42
sorry mate, not sure if forys is in the squad. it was in the shepp news a couple of weeks back but the side has changed so much since then due to players pulling out (heaps of), and they even introduced a couple more players to the squad earlier this week. hard to say whether the hazelmann brothers would have been selected but the reports are that they are pretty bloody handy players so my guess is that they would have been every chance of gaining selection.THANX JMAIN.dont know any of them,just followed Canberra footy last year and they were dominant in that comp, was keen to see how they hold up in a strong country league...who do GV play out of interest?
THANX JMAIN.dont know any of them,just followed Canberra footy last year and they were dominant in that comp, was keen to see how they hold up in a strong country league...who do GV play out of interest?
bit of a round robin over 2 days I think mate down at skilled stadium in geelong. being in div 1, I presume they play geelong fl, ovens and murray, and mornington peninsula but I stand to be corrected.
Flat Track Bully
5 May 2005, 13:00
bit of a round robin over 2 days I think mate down at skilled stadium in geelong. being in div 1, I presume they play geelong fl, ovens and murray, and mornington peninsula but I stand to be corrected.
As I will do now...Ballarat as division two champions take MP's spot...Geelong the team to beat again, looking for the hat-trick...O and M without title for 4 years (2001 last win) GVFL has gone 11 (1994), while Ballarat hasn't won divvy one since I think Swooper Northey took 'em to a few titles in the early 80's.
bradrowe#32
16 May 2005, 10:37
Round 5 results:
Shep United 17.11 Mooroopna 16.10
Echuca 15.10 Kyabram 13.12
Mansfield 21.19 Eurora 16.7
Shepparton 17.13 Seymour 13.7
Rochester 18.13 Tatura 9.9
Shepp Swans 31.11 Tongala 6.7
Benalla - Bye
The Shep United-Mooroopna game was pretty good, from what I've heard. For me, that was the hardest to tip. Mooroopna are definately a finals chance. Suprising losses to Eurora and Seymour, although Mansfield and Shepp are quality teams. I believe Eurora and Seymour are missing a few.
Flat Track Bully
16 May 2005, 13:09
Round 5 results:
Shep United 17.11 Mooroopna 16.10
Echuca 15.10 Kyabram 13.12
Mansfield 21.19 Eurora 16.7
Shepparton 17.13 Seymour 13.7
Rochester 18.13 Tatura 9.9
Shepp Swans 31.11 Tongala 6.7
Benalla - Bye
The Shep United-Mooroopna game was pretty good, from what I've heard. For me, that was the hardest to tip. Mooroopna are definately a finals chance. Suprising losses to Eurora and Seymour, although Mansfield and Shepp are quality teams. I believe Eurora and Seymour are missing a few.
Euroa were without Shane (suspension) and Mark (injury) Clayton...as a result they tumbled from first to fourth.
Benalla was the big mover...jumping from 5th to 2nd, despite having the bye.
bradrowe#32
17 May 2005, 00:34
Euroa were without Shane (suspension) and Mark (injury) Clayton...as a result they tumbled from first to fourth.
Benalla was the big mover...jumping from 5th to 2nd, despite having the bye.
Do you like that system? I'm not sure why they give teams 4 points for a bye as every team has the same amount of byes throughout the year.
jmain14
17 May 2005, 09:43
Do you like that system? I'm not sure why they give teams 4 points for a bye as every team has the same amount of byes throughout the year.
think we might need to take it rowey as it means rochy have 8 points so far. think we need all the points we can get!!
Flat Track Bully
17 May 2005, 09:50
I think it's six of one, half dozen of the other...everybody ends up with an extra eight points by the end of round 20...it doesn't change the ladder, and I think coaches are smart enough to know that it can inflate your position on the ladder.
bradrowe#32
17 May 2005, 15:40
think we might need to take it rowey as it means rochy have 8 points so far. think we need all the points we can get!!
I think the next two weeks will determine if it's season over. They play Shepparton at home and Mansfield away. If they lose those two, they will be 1-5.
BTW, There is the players ball at the shire hall on the weekend mate.
jmain14
17 May 2005, 16:59
I think the next two weeks will determine if it's season over. They play Shepparton at home and Mansfield away. If they lose those two, they will be 1-5.
BTW, There is the players ball at the shire hall on the weekend mate.
yeah pi$$a - I heard that. you going??
bradrowe#32
22 May 2005, 17:09
Rochester caused a massive upset by defeating Shepparton by one point. It was typical Rochy spirit that has got them over the line for a long such a long time. They were down 3 goals 20 mins into the last quarter, but managed to manufacture two quick goals. Rochester then got a free kick to Anthony McPhee about 15m out and kicked truly with only 30 or so seconds left.
Echuca 20.10 bt Mooroopna 15.8
Seymour 17.15 bt Mansfield 10.66
Rochester 17.12 bt Shepparton 16.17
Shepparton Swans 13.14
Benalla 26.20 bt Tongala 13.9
jmain14
23 May 2005, 09:38
Rochester caused a massive upset by defeating Shepparton by one point. It was typical Rochy spirit that has got them over the line for a long such a long time. They were down 3 goals 20 mins into the last quarter, but managed to manufacture two quick goals. Rochester then got a free kick to Anthony McPhee about 15m out and kicked truly with only 30 or so seconds left.
Echuca 20.10 bt Mooroopna 15.8
Seymour 17.15 bt Mansfield 10.66
Rochester 17.12 bt Shepparton 16.17
Shepparton Swans 13.14
Benalla 26.20 bt Tongala 13.9
yes, that must have been a mighty win by the tigers rowey. you can simply never under-estimate them. to beat a side who had knocked off seymour the week before minus andrew palmer is a huge effort.
the 2's, however, not so good hey rowey?? what happened?? seems to me as though the full forward is playing a lone hand down there, and kicked 100 percent of their score at the w'end - not for the first time this year apparently.
Flat Track Bully
23 May 2005, 09:42
yes, that must have been a mighty win by the tigers rowey. you can simply never under-estimate them. to beat a side who had knocked off seymour the week before minus andrew palmer is a huge effort.
the 2's, however, not so good hey rowey?? what happened?? seems to me as though the full forward is playing a lone hand down there, and kicked 100 percent of their score at the w'end - not for the first time this year apparently.
More than nuisance value the Tigers...United in trouble... couple of reports and Danny Stevens injured...
Seymour back, Benalla roll into a tough month and the Swans put their hand up for a top six berth...Echuca continue to quietly go about their business.
bradrowe#32
23 May 2005, 19:54
Biggest loss I've been involved in mate, and I've played in some shocking teams (most of them with you). We lost 39.18 to 1.0. I kicked the goal at the 15m mark of the last quarter after a dodgy free and then a 50 m penalty.
I saw your brother at the footy function. Great night.
bradrowe#32
23 May 2005, 19:59
More than nuisance value the Tigers...United in trouble... couple of reports and Danny Stevens injured...
Seymour back, Benalla roll into a tough month and the Swans put their hand up for a top six berth...Echuca continue to quietly go about their business.
Echuca are the big suprise to me. They knocked off Mooroopna fairly comfortably, who I thought would be the great improver.
Swans are impressive, especially since losing Yze.
Biggest loss I've been involved in mate, and I've played in some shocking teams (most of them with you). We lost 39.18 to 1.0. I kicked the goal at the 15m mark of the last quarter after a dodgy free and then a 50 m penalty.
Rowey, that was a humungous loss, nearly on a par with Nagambie's 217 point loss to Stanhope on Saturday.
Lucky Bert Aitken's not coaching the 2's again, he would have lost the plot even for an easy going bloke like him.
Why did so many blokes leave this year anyway ??
bradrowe#32
23 May 2005, 20:18
Rowey, that was a humungous loss, nearly on a par with Nagambie's 217 point loss to Stanhope on Saturday.
Lucky Bert Aitken's not coaching the 2's again, he would have lost the plot even for an easy going bloke like him.
Why did so many blokes leave this year anyway ??
It's not very good form Rosco.
It's difficult to pinpoint one reason as to why there was a mass exodus.
Last year, the 2nd's won 10 games and just missed out on the finals. A lot of these guys left to get a senior game at other district clubs. A fair few of these are now getting paid, as opposed to getting nothing for staying. Also, as Rochy have recruited very well from around the district, some of these players have returned, such as Brenton Gray and Darryl Harrison returning to Stanhope. A few players have opted to stay and play in Melbourne rather than travel home every weekend.
The interesting thing is that none of these players have gone to competing GVFL teams, such as Echuca, Tongala or Kyabram. They have all gone to teams in the HDFL, KDFL and the Echuca league.
Overall, the seniors lost 10-15 quality players and the second tier has also left which has caused the problems. Not sure how to fix it either.
Money is the killer, I can attest to that. best of luck anyway Rowey. Caught up with Bert the other week when we played Elmore at Elmore, his young bloke was playing for Elmore but is out with a knee he tells me. Couldn't really make it at Rochy either. Is it time for a coaching change ??
jmain14
24 May 2005, 10:00
yeah I heard icky ran the length of the ground to give you a high 5 when you kicked the goal as well he he. yeah we played in some junior sides that were fairly accustomed to the old touch-up. I don't think our preparation for games at under 16 level was first class he he.
yeah so the formal was a good night, get a few there did they??
bus trip to mansfield on the cards for sat'y??
jmain14
24 May 2005, 10:15
Money is the killer, I can attest to that. best of luck anyway Rowey. Caught up with Bert the other week when we played Elmore at Elmore, his young bloke was playing for Elmore but is out with a knee he tells me. Couldn't really make it at Rochy either. Is it time for a coaching change ??
yeah his son brayden has played a couple of senior games at elmore this year but never quite made it at senior level at rochy. his other son, heath, is co-captain at rochy this year and is a very good player.
berty was a fantastic coach last year, but having said that he had the players out there that could win a few games and compete with the better sides. unfortunately this year's coach seemingly doesn't have those players - my understanding is that he coaches alright though - that right rowey??
bradrowe#32
24 May 2005, 11:21
yeah his son brayden has played a couple of senior games at elmore this year but never quite made it at senior level at rochy. his other son, heath, is co-captain at rochy this year and is a very good player.
berty was a fantastic coach last year, but having said that he had the players out there that could win a few games and compete with the better sides. unfortunately this year's coach seemingly doesn't have those players - my understanding is that he coaches alright though - that right rowey??
Yeah our coach is doing the best he can, with limited players.
Saturday night was excellent. There was a great turn out.
Bus trip = Big mess
bradrowe#32
25 May 2005, 19:08
Ladder
Benalla 20 points
Mansfield 16
Shepparton 16
Eurora 16
Echuca 16
Seymour 16
--------------
Shepp. Swans 16
Mooroopna 12
Shepp. United 12
Kyabram 12
Rochester 12
Tatura 4
Tongala 0
Round 7
Mooroopna v Eurora
Kyabram v Seymour
Mansfield v Rochester
Shepparton v Tatura
Shepp. Swans v Echuca
Benalla v Shepp. United
Tongala bye
Very interesting round. There are about 8 really good teams this year so it might be a year that a team pinches a flag.
footy12345
25 May 2005, 19:41
hows Yze playing this, i havent seen much of him this year