View Full Version : Heathcote District FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

Bazil
9 Jul 2006, 03:22
Pencil in an upsetwin for the Roos for me - Farmer will sleep better 2nite knowing Dobson is out, he absolutely killed em up at Locky round 2. Shaun Duggan in for David Hall the only change I think - No Finch again I heard.

Elmore, White Hills & Mounts in the other games.
Ok Doona2 , where did you go wrong with your upset win? Did you get down for a look at the local game ? Good win by the broady 2's I see, blackbeard turn it on?

Doona2
9 Jul 2006, 11:16
Ok Doona2 , where did you go wrong with your upset win? Did you get down for a look at the local game ? Good win by the broady 2's I see, blackbeard turn it on?

Mate to be honest I never really thought theyd win after I saw the round 2 demolition at LBU - but made the comment as I come under a bit of heat from Big Footy people down this way for not being loyal with me tips.

After yesty Im guna find it hard to tip em again, very light bodied side and not a lot of structure there. All indicators I took note of they were smashed in, with skill errors and turnovers very costly.
Wasn't a lot of support for Dunny and Fletch yesty, players might give em a handball and then spectate to let em get tackled instead of putting in a block or shepherd. Dont think Dunne had one bounce which is normally his go (bounce and carry the pill). Grant Wearne contested well in the ruck, Brendan Walsh looked comfortable leading up the ground. I think Glenny Rowbotham must've been crook as he didnt spend any time on the ball.

Blair Suffolk dominated the first half (7 contested marks inside 50m) as Dunney & Flecth stood out, and Eddie Neilson was the only defender who I thought looked in control - the rest were under the pump (little voice was costly) and regularly turned it over coming outa defence due to the LBU forward's intense pressure.
Newth (5 goals), Harris, Martin along with Pritchett and Sims across half back looked good I thought. Palmer kicked 4 goals in about 10 mins during the 2nd term before leaving the field with I reckon a hammy.

LBU were missing a few blokes, McFarlance and Major looked good in the 2's and I reckon they're gunna be right in it until the last 2 weeks of the year.

In the Roos defence, like I said very very light side, a lot of kids who show glimpes (Wearnce, Moran, Duggan, Walsh) but at this stage cant sustain 4 quarters of intensity against the top bigger bodied teams.

They will be ok in time . . . . be patient Roo fans it will come, dont forget the Mounts game!!!

Doona2
9 Jul 2006, 11:20
As for the Adam Dalton question with regards to money, I doubt he would be on megabucks. He is a very capable player and releases guys like Webb, Jamie Gee and Ferrier. He is no Matt Pascoe but he makes his presence felt.

Well Pascoe musta been on a squillion coz Dalton is getting some quality $$$ - and another guy they phoned up about joining them is a personal mate of mine and I know for a fact what he was offered.

Bazil
9 Jul 2006, 11:30
Mate to be honest I never really thought theyd win after I saw the round 2 demolition at LBU - but made the comment as I come under a bit of heat from Big Footy people down this way for not being loyal with me tips.

After yesty Im guna find it hard to tip em again, very light bodied side and not a lot of structure there. All indicators I took note of they were smashed in, with skill errors and turnovers very costly.
Wasn't a lot of support for Dunny and Fletch yesty, players might give em a handball and then spectate to let em get tackled instead of putting in a block or shepherd. Dont think Dunne had one bounce which is normally his go (bounce and carry the pill). Grant Wearne contested well in the ruck, Brendan Walsh looked comfortable leading up the ground. I think Glenny Rowbotham must've been crook as he didnt spend any time on the ball.

Blair Suffolk dominated the first half (7 contested marks inside 50m) as Dunney & Flecth stood out, and Eddie Neilson was the only defender who I thought looked in control - the rest were under the pump (little voice was costly) and regularly turned it over coming outa defence due to the LBU forward's intense pressure.
Newth (5 goals), Harris, Martin along with Pritchett and Sims across half back looked good I thought. Palmer kicked 4 goals in about 10 mins during the 2nd term before leaving the field with I reckon a hammy.

LBU were missing a few blokes, McFarlance and Major looked good in the 2's and I reckon they're gunna be right in it until the last 2 weeks of the year.

In the Roos defence, like I said very very light side, a lot of kids who show glimpes (Wearnce, Moran, Duggan, Walsh) but at this stage cant sustain 4 quarters of intensity against the top bigger bodied teams.

They will be ok in time . . . . be patient Roo fans it will come, dont forget the Mounts game!!!

Nice work Doona2, Think Coutts got best for LBU on a forward flank.
Please explain the paragraph in bold above?

On The Money
9 Jul 2006, 12:57
Nice work Doona2, Think Coutts got best for LBU on a forward flank.
Please explain the paragraph in bold above?

I think firstly he was saying McFarlane and Major played in the 2nds and then that that Lockington will still be in the race in the last 2 weeks of the season. Prelim Final or Grand Final.

Great game out Elmore by the looks of it did any 1 see it?

gta3
9 Jul 2006, 15:56
how good are the Broadford thirds this year. Percentage is around 1000. There are a few players that could easily be playing senior footy at Broadford. what do you reckon?

hillsy
9 Jul 2006, 22:12
locky had about 40 touches against mounts as hes had against pretty much every side. hes an awesome leader and puts up with a lot of crap from oppostion players and supporters who dont know s h i t about him

Doona2
9 Jul 2006, 23:13
I think firstly he was saying McFarlane and Major played in the 2nds and then that that Lockington will still be in the race in the last 2 weeks of the season. Prelim Final or Grand Final.

Thanks OTM thats exactly what I meant - just forgot the punctuation!!!

Doona2
9 Jul 2006, 23:22
how good are the Broadford thirds this year. Percentage is around 1000. There are a few players that could easily be playing senior footy at Broadford. what do you reckon?

Mate we had sides in the early 90's that would smash em by 10-15 goals - 9 flags in a row got us one senior flag from what shoulda been a goldmine of talent . . . . shows it doesn't always work out to plan.

I think Ive said it on the GV 3rds thread - the sides with the more developed bodied kids usually win under age competitions. How often does 30-35 touches week in week out against lesser developed boys equate to bugger all when you progress to open age footy.

The boys in question should play at least 3 games of senior footy this year to help their progression but Im of the belief there is a misunderstanding that means no thirds kids will play seniors is this true???

Yes Broady should win the flag by 10-15 goals without little bother, but the real show of that worth to the club will be in 4-5 years time and how many are still playing there.

nesko_25
10 Jul 2006, 12:50
Big news with Ryan Hayes breaking his ankle and also doing ligiment damage. Dunno how long he'll b out 4 but its a big loss 4 elmore. Can any1 tell me how Grant Weeks went?

Was at the Broady Locky match and locky won the match in the first half with Suffolk and Palmer taking many pack marks but after half time broady really took it up to LBU. 1 of broadys tactics seem 2 be take sammy newth, still a very dirty team (dont get angry just tellin it how it is). Dont get me wrong dunney is a gun player but they always seem 2 look 4 him and dont always use the best option and shuttin him down will go along way 2 shuttinf broady down.

andypipkin
10 Jul 2006, 13:37
its interesting you say that locky cops a heap hillsy, from both the oppostition players and supporters. can you tell me how that differs from many of the other talented players in the league that cop it fom the opposition. it s just part of the game pal. and besides its not like he doesnt have a little bit more ammo that can be used against him courtesy of his past. sledging is still definately a part of country footy, and it can sometimes can be used to get that edge

Doona2
10 Jul 2006, 14:24
Big news with Ryan Hayes breaking his ankle and also doing ligiment damage. Dunno how long he'll b out 4 but its a big loss 4 elmore. Can any1 tell me how Grant Weeks went?

Was at the Broady Locky match and locky won the match in the first half with Suffolk and Palmer taking many pack marks but after half time broady really took it up to LBU. 1 of broadys tactics seem 2 be take sammy newth, still a very dirty team (dont get angry just tellin it how it is). Dont get me wrong dunney is a gun player but they always seem 2 look 4 him and dont always use the best option and shuttin him down will go along way 2 shuttinf broady down.

Must admit saw a couple of things that didnt impress me, but these are young kids crying out for some leadership - dont let the actions of 2-3 players tarr these boys images!!!

wobbler
10 Jul 2006, 15:59
Has anyone seen Travis Kelly

gta3
10 Jul 2006, 19:31
Mate we had sides in the early 90's that would smash em by 10-15 goals - 9 flags in a row got us one senior flag from what shoulda been a goldmine of talent . . . . shows it doesn't always work out to plan.

I think Ive said it on the GV 3rds thread - the sides with the more developed bodied kids usually win under age competitions. How often does 30-35 touches week in week out against lesser developed boys equate to bugger all when you progress to open age footy.

The boys in question should play at least 3 games of senior footy this year to help their progression but Im of the belief there is a misunderstanding that means no thirds kids will play seniors is this true???

Yes Broady should win the flag by 10-15 goals without little bother, but the real show of that worth to the club will be in 4-5 years time and how many are still playing there.

yeah i suppose your right doona2. They are playing a bunch of spastics every week aswell. There isn't really any other teams apart from Broadford with any gun players on it this year in the thirds

On The Money
10 Jul 2006, 19:42
yeah i suppose your right doona2. They are playing a bunch of spastics every week aswell. There isn't really any other teams apart from Broadford with any gun players on it this year in the thirds

Well The Heathcote League played Lodden Valley in an Under 17 game yestie and the best few players for the day weren't from Broadford.
White Hills have quite a handy side. No doubt the Roos appear to be a good thing for the flag but I think you might have gone over the top with that statement.

Frankenreiter
10 Jul 2006, 20:12
Just a question for Doona. I notice that the Broady twos had a great win over Locky. I was wondering whether Broady had any senior players back in their twos side or whether they just played really well.

Doona2
10 Jul 2006, 20:35
Just a question for Doona. I notice that the Broady twos had a great win over Locky. I was wondering whether Broady had any senior players back in their twos side or whether they just played really well.

It was a great win - David Hall got dropped and the rest was basically the same blend of keen kids and a few experienced players considered not good enough anymore to cracka senior game.
The Roos played the ground to perfection, plenty of ball ups and choked the more faniced LBU preventing them the luxury of a running brand of football.

I reckon it would be a different story on a bigger ground, but it gives the Broady Boys confidence and its exciting as they are starting to mention that "F" word . . . . FINALS!!!

nesko_25
10 Jul 2006, 23:26

Mate thats a load of crap! Broady r clearly the best side in the comp theres no doubting that but they dont play a bunch os spastics each week. There r many "guns" in the league. Many 3rds play in the 1s, Sam Vale from colbo (also pios under 16s), Ash Benbow and Greeney from white hills, just off the top of my head. Best players in the under 17s inter-league match were Mick Checkley from mounts, Seth Hill form colbo (under 15s pios) and Jayden Baldwin from locky and there was prob not broady boys in the top 5. But with all that said i would have to say Williams from broady is clearly the best player in the league with Gillard (Cannons) not far behind.

andypipkin
11 Jul 2006, 11:45
an interesting comment that you made gta3, to lable young blokes that want to get out and have a kick of the footy, SPASTICS. now i understand that broady's thirds are well clear on top of the ladder and havent really looked like being beaten, this along with the fact that you think they have, clearly the best couple of players in the under 17's comp running aroun in there team. but i can tell you know mate, i have never seen a team win a grand final, just beacuse they have the best couple of players in the league running around in there team, it sometimes just doesnt come down to ability of a few players. i really do hope that the young players from broady thirds, havent got the mind set, to be as cocky, and arrogant as what you come across pal. because seasons can be lost on those factors

blackbeard
11 Jul 2006, 12:01

Fantastic win by the lads on Satdy. The team has just started to play a better brand of footy over the past fortnight. We have always had plenty of the ball but just never kicked with any kind of direction or plan. Hally does give us a focal point up forward as does Skip and the on ballers dominated on Saturday. Number #13 for Locky, i think it might be Major, was good for them but he didn't have a lot of assistance around him in the middle. Matt Page would have won 90% of hit outs I recon and was good at hitting a target which is a great news for the lads up forward. Lockington just didn't play real smart footy and think they were expecting a bit of a walkover.

Heathcote this week on their bigger home ground should be a another good test and hopefully we'll get up and hold our spot in the 5.

nesko_25
11 Jul 2006, 14:22
Fantastic win by the lads on Satdy. The team has just started to play a better brand of footy over the past fortnight. We have always had plenty of the ball but just never kicked with any kind of direction or plan. Hally does give us a focal point up forward as does Skip and the on ballers dominated on Saturday. Number #13 for Locky, i think it might be Major, was good for them but he didn't have a lot of assistance around him in the middle. Matt Page would have won 90% of hit outs I recon and was good at hitting a target which is a great news for the lads up forward. Lockington just didn't play real smart footy and think they were expecting a bit of a walkover.

Heathcote this week on their bigger home ground should be a another good test and hopefully we'll get up and hold our spot in the 5.

Yep thats Brad Major, gun. Broady did play better footy that suited their side, the bottled it up and didnt let locky run the ball as they normally would. It was a very close match and i think locky will b better for the run and hopefully have there full side this week.

andypipkin
11 Jul 2006, 20:10
on your rumour a couple of threads back nesko, regarding luuan marsh to elmoew, i have an even bigger one for you mate. the rumour is marsh will head back to echuca at the end of the year and take his good mate, souvalaki favleaki with him. reportedly the deal is already in the pipe lines???
its still only early but elmore, i have heard is not an option

Doona2
11 Jul 2006, 22:03
on your rumour a couple of threads back nesko, regarding luuan marsh to elmoew, i have an even bigger one for you mate. the rumour is marsh will head back to echuca at the end of the year and take his good mate, souvalaki favleaki with him. reportedly the deal is already in the pipe lines???

No better way of trying to derail a genuine contender for the flag there andy - their gun recruit and one of the faves for the Cheatley Medal on the move before the season ends you reckon???

On The Money
11 Jul 2006, 22:13
I wouldn't worry to much about the rumour file even if he does plan to move on I don't think it will affect his efforts for the rest of the season. At the end of the day he proberly should head to a major competition to see how good he is.
There worry is that Ryan Hayes has gone down and he has been the difference in a couple of games this season.

andypipkin
12 Jul 2006, 16:54
doona, i'm by no means trying to derail elmores football season, just stating what has been mentioned between these certain lads. i have no doubt souvalaki will play to his potential for the rest of the year, i was just replying to an earlier post stating a player would join him at the bloods next year. i was just making the point, it is highly unlikely that anyone will join him because he wont be there, and otm, a major club it isntthey may be joining.

how big is the loss of hayes for probably the rest of the year. i would have him in the top two or three youngsters in the comp

blackbeard
12 Jul 2006, 18:03
Hayes gone, Favleaki half way out the door and a near loss loss to colbo. Sounds like the wheels are falling off at the bloods.!!!!

Doona2
12 Jul 2006, 18:23
Hayes will be massive loss - almost enough for me to predict and LBU v Mounts finale.

Andy Id reckon it would be Hayes and Weeks as the two best youngsters

If the Favleaki rumour is true, I still cant see it as a positive heading into finals.

On The Money
12 Jul 2006, 18:44
Hayes gone, Favleaki half way out the door and a near loss loss to colbo. Sounds like the wheels are falling off at the bloods.!!!!

Very silly to say the wheels are falling off a side that is undefeated.
If the wheels are falling off the bloods all the Roos have left is a tube with many holes in it.

Wayne Weideman
12 Jul 2006, 19:13
If the wheels are falling off the bloods all the Roos have left is a tube with many holes in it.

can't argue with the OTM. right on muffin:thumbsu:

Hardluck Harry
12 Jul 2006, 20:35

Doona

Why is it Broady has not been more successful in the ones?
I reckon Broady would have to have had one of the most successful eras in under-age footy ever in the VCFL.
Do the stacks of good kids you've had at the club in recent years move to other areas for work or uni??
Or is more a problem of not having the right coaches to help these kids make the next step??
I'm not having a go at the club. I'm just interested in how things work down there.

On The Money
13 Jul 2006, 14:59
Going to take you onto another issue guys and it is to do with the number of teams we have in the comp. We have 9 teams and only play 16 games which I don't think it enough. I know the league are keen to get another side and I reckon 10 teams with 18 home and away games would be ideal.
Any one got any suggestions??
I reckon unless Kangaroo Flat are able to considerably turn around their fortunes by the end of next year it could be a good option for them.

andypipkin
13 Jul 2006, 16:00
otm, although struggling i think that you would find kangaroo flat wouldnt be interested. there a club with a proud heritage and i think although they have won only a handful of games over the past few years they are looking long term bendigo league. personally i am of the opinion that a nine team comp is not such a bad thing to have, and i really cant think of another club that would be willing to join the hdfl??? what are your thoughts otm, can you think of any team???

blackbeard
13 Jul 2006, 17:46

I just couldn't resist stirring a little, that's all otm. The wheels may not be falling off but there are a couple of wheel nuts missing.

Hardluck Harry
13 Jul 2006, 19:43
Going to take you onto another issue guys and it is to do with the number of teams we have in the comp. We have 9 teams and only play 16 games which I don't think it enough. I know the league are keen to get another side and I reckon 10 teams with 18 home and away games would be ideal.
I reckon unless Kangaroo Flat are able to considerably turn around their fortunes by the end of next year it could be a good option for them.

I wouldn't think Flat would leave the BFL.
Even if they did leave it would make more sense to go to the Loddon Valley rather than Heathcote.
I reckon the HDFL is stuck with nine teams. I can only see the league shrinking rather than expanding.
In 20 years time I reckon we could see a combined HDFL-LVFL competition that could even become division two of the Bendigo league.
Then you could have promotion and relegation to and fom each division.

roaring tiger
13 Jul 2006, 21:12

I hear from a good source that next year is the year that elmore is going to go all out and get as many high profile recruits as they can. My source said that there current coach will coach them next year and he will have a huge chance of getting a couple of big names from the BFL to head to elmore. So even if they lose favleaki they will probably replace him straight away.

Doona2
13 Jul 2006, 22:27
One sided round by the looks, so for what its worth my tips this week are . . .

North Bendigo v Elmore (43 pts)
Huntly v Mount Pleasant (87 pts)
LBU v White Hills (59 pts)
Heathcote v Broadford (31 pts)

Frankenreiter
13 Jul 2006, 23:01

As a player and being pretty involved within a club in the Heathcote and District football league I personally believe 16 games is enough. I can officially speak on behalf of a number of players who also believe playing 16 games with 2 byes, breaks the season up nicely. I think we need to remember that we are playing a country footy league where preseason starts in January and we still have a pretty heavy 9 months of footy. Although bringing in another club would be a great asset for the league (promotion wise and financially), I think having the bye also attracts players knowing that their season will be broken up.

On The Money
13 Jul 2006, 23:10
As a player and being pretty involved within a club in the Heathcote and District football league I personally believe 16 games is enough. I can officially speak on behalf of a number of players who also believe playing 16 games with 2 byes, breaks the season up nicely. I think we need to remember that we are playing a country footy league where preseason starts in January and we still have a pretty heavy 9 months of footy. Although bringing in another club would be a great asset for the league (promotion wise and financially), I think having the bye also attracts players knowing that their season will be broken up.

Wouldn't think that someone would pick a side on whether they had an extra bye or not!! I think what you would do is have the general bye through the middle and one split round which would give you two byes. I don't think sides would start training any earlier as most train before xmas now anyway. Many district leagues you will find play 18 and what i think you will find is that some people will choose the leagues with the extra games because they will be paid for more.

Frankenreiter
13 Jul 2006, 23:23
Wouldn't think that someone would pick a side on whether they had an extra bye or not!! I think what you would do is have the general bye through the middle and one split round which would give you two byes. I don't think sides would start training any earlier as most train before xmas now anyway. Many district leagues you will find play 18 and what i think you will find is that some people will choose the leagues with the extra games because they will be paid for more.

Yep - fair enough comment. The split round would work well. Sorry On the Money, I didn't mean a player would pick a club on whether they had an extra bye- I just know for a fact that it is a nice attraction within a league. In regards to your last comments I would hope that the clubs persona would recruit the player, not whether you get paid for 2 extra games.

On The Money
13 Jul 2006, 23:35
Yep - fair enough comment. The split round would work well. Sorry On the Money, I didn't mean a player would pick a club on whether they had an extra bye- I just know for a fact that it is a nice attraction within a league. In regards to your last comments I would hope that the clubs persona would recruit the player, not whether you get paid for 2 extra games.

Yer your right but I'm sure it's a factor for some blokes. Look at the number of players around different comps that were prepared to shift mid season proberly as much for the money as the chance to play finals.

old saint
14 Jul 2006, 09:56
One sided round by the looks, so for what its worth my tips this week are . . .

North Bendigo v Elmore (43 pts)
Huntly v Mount Pleasant (87 pts)
LBU v White Hills (59 pts)
Heathcote v Broadford (31 pts)

1 sided for your first 3 picks donna2 but i cant see broadford getting over heathcote, not unless the saints have a few out.
but you never know.

Doona2
14 Jul 2006, 11:51
1 sided for your first 3 picks donna2 but i cant see broadford getting over heathcote, not unless the saints have a few out.
but you never know.

$HIT it was actually a misprint!!! Meant Heathcote to win

HJ32
14 Jul 2006, 13:45
hey boys some responses on some of your posts.

10th team - yeah could be a goer, but we may still need to look at a 9th if LBU push strongly for the old echuca comp to be revamped. What's the latest on that one?

I too enjoy the byes. keeps the enthusiasm ticking during the year with mini breaks along the way.

Elmore is going along ok. They got a massive fright on saturday but the important thing is that they're learing how to win. Would suggest however that Mounts are looming as the major threat, and heathcote and LBU will get better with players returning - same with colbo.

North V Elmore will be interesting and a closer game than some think. mount will account for Hawks, LBU too strong for hillies, and the Saints will pull away from Broady in the second half of their game.

HJ32 signing off

Ykickamoocow
14 Jul 2006, 16:19
Perhaps Bamawm might break away from Lockington and get the Lions revamped. Heard a possible line up of players still getting around might look like this in 2007.

Backs Andy Cochrane Nathan Laffy Jamie Kornman

Half Backs Aaron Sands Andrew Palmer Matt Adams

Centres Liam Main Brad Mundie Bomber McManus

H/ For Sam Newth Jason Smith Brad Major

For Ash Tointon Anthony McPhee Sharelle McMahon

Rucks
R- Matt Tointon
Mick Dobson
Paul McMahon

Interchange From-
John Bluey Wright
Warrick Kuiper
Troy Kornman
Jared Mundie
Brook Nichol
Cal Randall

:D :D

hansie
14 Jul 2006, 16:55
Perhaps Bamawm might break away from Lockington and get the Lions revamped. Heard a possible line up of players still getting around might look like this in 2007.

Rucks
R- Matt Tointon
Mick Dobson
Paul McMahon

Interchange From-
John Bluey Wright
Warrick Kuiper
Troy Kornman
Jared Mundie
Brook Nichol
Cal Randall

I'll stick my hand up to play in the Back Pocket for every side AGAINST this one! :) :thumbsu:

nesko_25
14 Jul 2006, 17:18

Rucks
R- Matt Tointon
Mick Dobson
Paul McMahon

Interchange From-
John Bluey Wright
Warrick Kuiper
Troy Kornman
Jared Mundie
Brook Nichol
Cal Randall

I seen that bluey pulled the boots on for the rochy scoobs the other day, didnt go 2 bad either. Thats a bloody handy side i reckon it'd give a lot of teams a run 4 their money.

On The Money
14 Jul 2006, 17:33
In day conditions it promises to be the most one sided round of the season although some rain could make things interesting.
I think Heathcote would still be right as the Roos have alot of inmature bodies on deck at the moment.
It would bring North closer to Elmore I think A day in the mud at Atkins St with a couple out would be a test.
I don't think Huntly can trouble Mounts it might turn a 20 odd goal flogging in a 12 ish.
White Hills could come right into the game in the wet if the Angoves, Benny Toy and David Wright and co have good days.
Were about due for an upset or 2.

Back onto the 10th team talk the Echuca league formation is believed to be on the back burner for time being. I reckon Harcourt could be worth approaching they would seem to have the backing and players to compete.

nesko_25
14 Jul 2006, 17:43
Elmore over the Zoo by 70 points
Mounts over Huntly by 100 points
LBU over Hills by 20 points
Heathcote over Broady by 40 points.

Wats the injury going around, hayes is gone 4 the home and away season might make it back 4 finals. Has Finch been named for the roos?

Doona2
14 Jul 2006, 17:48
Elmore over the Zoo by 70 points
Mounts over Huntly by 100 points
LBU over Hills by 20 points
Heathcote over Broady by 40 points.

Wats the injury going around, hayes is gone 4 the home and away season might make it back 4 finals. Has Finch been named for the roos?

Spoke with Matt last Saturday and I think he is still a couple of weeks away with that shoulder

blackbeard
14 Jul 2006, 17:59
I think I might just do the tipping for the midday matinee games this week.

Elmore over the Zoolanders by 8 goals.
Mounts over Huntly......how far???? Brent Davies to shine for the Hawks.
Lockington to bounce back over Hillies. 10 goals if it rains, 20 if it's a good day.
Broadford over heathcote by 3 goals.

Have a good day tomorrow lads and I'll catch ya's all next week. Keep figthing the good fight!!!:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

On The Money
14 Jul 2006, 18:34
I think I might just do the tipping for the midday matinee games this week.

Elmore over the Zoolanders by 8 goals.
Mounts over Huntly......how far???? Brent Davies to shine for the Hawks.
Lockington to bounce back over Hillies. 10 goals if it rains, 20 if it's a good day.
Broadford over heathcote by 3 goals.

Have a good day tomorrow lads and I'll catch ya's all next week. Keep figthing the good fight!!!:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Gettting a bit excited about the Roos chances in the Ressies arent u B/Beard. B/Beard or Doonet
I was wondering whether the kids Coomans had played a senior game yet?
& what was the name of the kid that got called up to the calder cannons last week?

blackbeard
14 Jul 2006, 19:25
Gettting a bit excited about the Roos chances in the Ressies arent u B/Beard. B/Beard or Doonet
& what was the name of the kid that got called up to the calder cannons last week?

NOt excited there OTM just a little more interested than following our big boys, who seem to be a little out of touch. Besides this forum is about the HDFL and the magoos are an integral part of any saturday!!! The seniors are simply there to perform for the seconds benifit and give us something to watch while we knock back cans.

Coomans has not played a senior game to date. He did fill in for the 2's a few weeks back against huntly and went well. Good skills and a good sized kid!! NOt sure if he wants to play 1's yet or just hasn't been asked.

The name of that other kid escapes me at the minute but I think he may be the one coming 2nd in the U/17 goalkicking. Doon??

hank1
14 Jul 2006, 19:59
[QUOTE=blackbeard]NOt excited there OTM just a little more interested than following our big boys, who seem to be a little out of touch. Besides this forum is about the HDFL and the magoos are an integral part of any saturday!!!

OTM wasnt having a go at your preview of the twos, he was just stating that he thought the Broady twos may be up against it. That was the way I read it anyway. Cheers

nesko_25
14 Jul 2006, 21:41

Gillard, dunno his first name but i was talkin 2 coomans and willo on sunday and they said he didn play cos he pulled up sore. Coomans did try out 4 calder but didnt make it, i think. I do no pioneers were interested in him till they found out he's a broady boy. Young Nash from broady has also tryed out 4 under 16s calder but hasnt got the letter 2 say he's in or not

dukes06
14 Jul 2006, 23:04
I heard that david fevaleaki got locked up in the clink on thursday night after a big night on the ****

dukes06
14 Jul 2006, 23:07
the word jip quick is coming back from the UK to play the rest of the year with the mountain men :thumbsu:

On The Money
15 Jul 2006, 00:12
the word jip quick is coming back from the UK to play the rest of the year with the mountain men :thumbsu:

That would be a bonus if it is true he will be underdone but if he can get a handful of games under his belt would be handy.
I see Shawcross is named for tommorrow's game so it will be interesting to see if he plays. Can't believe LBU haven't put Brad Major in the seniors yet his best days are behind him but his class just finishing a goal off and setting up play here and there would be highly valuable. There obviously making him do a few hard yards for choosing to start the season late but time to throw him I think.

JGraf
15 Jul 2006, 00:28
Been extremely hard on Mr.Lock there Graffy.
He may have had a quiet game against you blokes but he has had a very good season overall. Elmore sit undefeated and I remembered he tallied 38 possessions against them the first time and according to the web produced a big game against them again today to.

Troy Shannon is a good player who gets the best out of himself but at the end of the day I'm not sure he will poll the most votes for Mounts in the Sam Cheatley. Dennis Ryan with 68 goals, Cam Carter and Dennis Grinton are all likely to poll well.

Grinton shouldnt get many at all he has not had a great season. Carter missed a fair bit of footy. Ryan will get votes and is an excellent forward. Had 25 kicks at full forward last week. Other than them no one else will take any so he should be up there.

Did Lock's team win? No... Losing teams shouldnt receive votes or the top two anyway unless he get 7 or 8 goals.

JGraf
15 Jul 2006, 00:32
In day conditions it promises to be the most one sided round of the season although some rain could make things interesting.
I think Heathcote would still be right as the Roos have alot of inmature bodies on deck at the moment.
It would bring North closer to Elmore I think A day in the mud at Atkins St with a couple out would be a test.
I don't think Huntly can trouble Mounts it might turn a 20 odd goal flogging in a 12 ish.
White Hills could come right into the game in the wet if the Angoves, Benny Toy and David Wright and co have good days.
Were about due for an upset or 2.

Back onto the 10th team talk the Echuca league formation is believed to be on the back burner for time being. I reckon Harcourt could be worth approaching they would seem to have the backing and players to compete.

Ben Toy is not a good senior player. Wouldnt get a game in most senior sides and when at Mounts he was a reserves player.

On The Money
15 Jul 2006, 00:45
Ben Toy is not a good senior player. Wouldnt get a game in most senior sides and when at Mounts he was a reserves player.

You've come out firing a few bullets tonight Graffy.
I'll have to agree to disagree with you on the Mounts votes for the Sam Cheatley. Grinton slayed Huntly early in the year and was the difference and should have polled against White Hills even though he missed a quarter. Carter will poll 8 votes plus I would think Coaches are at the forefront of the ump's mind and he collects the ball all day and you say that no 1 else should take any. Trevor Douglas will poll multiple times I reckon, Jaimie Gee will poll and Brad Shepperd kicked a couple of 5's and Zac East should sneak into voting at some stage too. Ferrier was B.O.G at Colbo so you might have sold a few of your mates short I think.

Ben Toy's not a quality senior player but 1 who gets the best out of himself a better player now than when he was @ mounts I would think. I mentioned his name in reference to if it was wet it would suit a player like him who gets to alot of contests and battles hard.

roaring tiger
15 Jul 2006, 08:48
I seen that bluey pulled the boots on for the rochy scoobs the other day, didnt go 2 bad either. Thats a bloody handy side i reckon it'd give a lot of teams a run 4 their money.

I hear that Andrew Palmer will not be in cats colours next year. Not overly happy out there at cat land and will be on the move. A good CHB would be handy to many sides havin had gvfl experience.

Doona2
15 Jul 2006, 09:55

Pretty sure its Michael Gillard and I reckon he has another year n the 3rds available - he is named in the seniors today. Will Price and ressies ruckman Matt Page also come in, Alwin Neilson out I believe and still no Finch

Coomans and Nathan Simpson both named in the magoo's to fill a few gaps with injuries and unavailablities.

It has rained here all night so if they got it in Heathcote also it could make for interesting viewing!!!

Doona2
15 Jul 2006, 10:02
Nick Redenbach out too

Bazil
15 Jul 2006, 10:27
I hear that Andrew Palmer will not be in cats colours next year. Not overly happy out there at cat land and will be on the move. A good CHB would be handy to many sides havin had gvfl experience.

Not trying to start something are you roaring tiger?
He is back at his home club where he lives and with his mates. At 30 with a growing young family and another on the way, less than 5 minutes to training and games close in the HDFL suit him to a T.
Also knowing him personally, I can tell you he is happy mate !

OTM- Yes, Major is due for a promotion but he failed to train this week.

Matthew Pillios
16 Jul 2006, 19:19
Not trying to start something are you roaring tiger?
He is back at his home club where he lives and with his mates. At 30 with a growing young family and another on the way, less than 5 minutes to training and games close in the HDFL suit him to a T.
Also knowing him personally, I can tell you he is happy mate !

OTM- Yes, Major is due for a promotion but he failed to train this week.

How did Adam Dalton play for Mt Pleasant on the weekend? Heard he was vintage Barry Hall.

On The Money
16 Jul 2006, 19:57
How did Adam Dalton play for Mt Pleasant on the weekend? Heard he was vintage Barry Hall.

Jagged one goal but the Mountain Men are pretty happy with his output at this stage. Starting to build nicely Mounts and this weeks game against LBU should be a belter.

Broadford 2's snared a tight win go Black beard you good thing while the Bloods are quietly confident that their reserves can give it a shake come September too.

Doona2
16 Jul 2006, 21:17
Jagged one goal but the Mountain Men are pretty happy with his output at this stage. Starting to build nicely Mounts and this weeks game against LBU should be a belter.

Broadford 2's snared a tight win go Black beard you good thing while the Bloods are quietly confident that their reserves can give it a shake come September too.

Yeah the Broady 2's keep finding ways to win, four wins in a row and they now are talking about who they need to get qualified . . . think they have a real sniff of finals!!
Pity they cant qualify Alwin Neilson as I hear he's a chance to be going back to the ressies!!!

Blackbeard will be looking forward to the bye to rest up after a couple of big weeks.

Squeaky
17 Jul 2006, 11:25

Rucks
R- Matt Tointon
Mick Dobson
Paul McMahon

Interchange From-
John Bluey Wright
Warrick Kuiper
Troy Kornman
Jared Mundie
Brook Nichol
Cal Randall

Nice,
tell me Ykicka, did Dobson & Major ever play a game for Bam-wam??
You're also forgetting the great Clark Christian from Ext. days...
Go lingo!!

Ykickamoocow
17 Jul 2006, 11:40
Nice,
tell me Ykicka, did Dobson & Major ever play a game for Bam-wam??
You're also forgetting the great Clark Christian from Ext. days...
Go lingo!!
Dobson comes in under Father - Son rule and Major in the Banter recruitment zone.
Unfortunately Clark Christian is ruled out through suspension for headbutting an umpire !;)

Doona2
17 Jul 2006, 15:27
HAPPY BIRTHDAY Scotywok :thumbsu:

Squeaky
17 Jul 2006, 16:00
Dobson comes in under Father - Son rule and Major in the Banter recruitment zone.
Unfortunately Clark Christian is ruled out through suspension for headbutting an umpire !;)
Very technical isn't it...
In the local derby, we'd play Leaping Lee Harris on Maj. Good track record there.
:D

On a more serious note, looks like Broady are on a roll in the 2's.
Another good win on the weekend.

Doona2
17 Jul 2006, 16:05
Very technical isn't it...
In the local derby, we'd play Leaping Lee Harris on Maj. Good track record there.
:D

On a more serious note, looks like Broady are on a roll in the 2's.
Another good win on the weekend.

Had a few faces missing also, with 5 games to go it's not too late to qualify Angwin and Finch for the finals!!!

TENN
17 Jul 2006, 17:42

I believe Ykicka, that if there was to be a match between the Lingo & Banter, banter probably don't have enough depth to be able to match it with the lingo, as this is usually the case with the cricket!!!:p ... But on the other hand would love to see some sort of game like that take place!

BODZY#32
17 Jul 2006, 17:50
Just wondering how Big Azza Taylor went for broady two's on the wkend? Stamp authority on the match....... or stuck in 2nd gear?

Conrad
18 Jul 2006, 13:57
I believe Ykicka, that if there was to be a match between the Lingo & Banter, banter probably don't have enough depth to be able to match it with the lingo, as this is usually the case with the cricket!!!:p ... But on the other hand would love to see some sort of game like that take place!

What do u reckon the other line up would be for the lingo boys?? do they have enough to field a team tenn?? who would be capt's for each team?? and likely scores if this was to really happen??

Conrad
18 Jul 2006, 14:02

Rucks
R- Matt Tointon
Mick Dobson
Paul McMahon

Interchange From-
John Bluey Wright
Warrick Kuiper
Troy Kornman
Jared Mundie
Brook Nichol
Cal Randall

Ykicka, who would be coach, a.c, capts, water boys and runner etc... u cant just name a team u know. also need president treas, sec etc... got any ideas.

Trottyboya
18 Jul 2006, 14:34
Went along to the Heathcote v Broady game Satdy with Doona2 and was disappointed not one Broady person hung back for a beer, back in my day we'd stay all night.

I tried me best to drink everyone's share but Doona dragged me out a tick after 6pm after a big day :thumbsu:

scotywok
18 Jul 2006, 15:37
Have heard around town that a former Roos skipper has been informed that his services will no longer be required in the senior team for the remainder of the season. Seems a shame when the blokes blood run royal blue and white stripes.

Doona2
18 Jul 2006, 16:10
Have heard around town that a former Roos skipper has been informed that his services will no longer be required in the senior team for the remainder of the season. Seems a shame when the blokes blood run royal blue and white stripes.

Dont think Alwin has been formally told but I did hear it at the game on Saturday that his days in the one's possibly could be numbered.

blackbeard
18 Jul 2006, 17:52
Blackbeard will be looking forward to the bye to rest up after a couple of big weeks.

Think I started resting a week early, conditions were sub zero and to be honest I was more concerned with wether I'd ever see my balls again rather than chase the slippery pill around heathcote's newest extension to Lake Eppalock.
It was another great win by the boys and a probably a weaker side than that which played LBU the week B4. Not sure if the bye will work for or against us as we are started to get a bit of a roll on, time will tell.

White Hills after the bye, looking for a clean sweep of all grades of netball and football!!!

blackbeard
18 Jul 2006, 17:55
Went along to the Heathcote v Broady game Satdy with Doona2 and was disappointed not one Broady person hung back for a beer, back in my day we'd stay all night. :thumbsu:

To be fair young fella I think you need to have mentioned the fact that players had to be back in the bean for the clubs mid-season ball and that the heating at heathcote's bar/storeroom was non existent.

HJ32
18 Jul 2006, 17:59
Dont think Alwin has been formally told but I did hear it at the game on Saturday that his days in the one's possibly could be numbered.

From an outsider POV, the young fellas need some direction in the Broady senior side. You've got a guy there with 200+ games experience and yer telling him his days are numbered??? I can understand this if the club was sitting in the top 3 and flying along :confused: :confused:

GOONA
18 Jul 2006, 19:07
Hey Doon. Tell him to come down to Wallan. I'm sure I could find a spot for him with us.

Doona2
18 Jul 2006, 19:09
To be fair young fella I think you need to have mentioned the fact that players had to be back in the bean for the clubs mid-season ball and that the heating at heathcote's bar/storeroom was non existent.

In Chicken Man's defence he is used to the good old days when cold showers were the norm week in week out - we had a few beers apologised on the club's behalf and were in home with plenty of time to get ready for the ball at 7.30pm Cinderella :p

Doona2
18 Jul 2006, 19:13
Hey Doon. Tell him to come down to Wallan. I'm sure I could find a spot for him with us.

They coulda told him a few weeks ago, his brother Billy is bleeding as he coulda been a very handy late inclusion to the 1's at Tigerland!!!

In all serious that was the word (him not being wanted in the 1's) at the game on Saturday, time will tell if it was just banter or not!!!

On The Money
18 Jul 2006, 22:30
Went along to the Heathcote v Broady game Satdy with Doona2 and was disappointed not one Broady person hung back for a beer, back in my day we'd stay all night.

I tried me best to drink everyone's share but Doona dragged me out a tick after 6pm after a big day :thumbsu:

Trottyboya good to see you made it and that is a valid point you make in your debut post Broadford should have made the effort to go in for at least one drink ball on or not.

nesko_25
19 Jul 2006, 14:02
Simon Cluff is injured for elmore, dunno wat he's done or how long he'll b out. There was another injury 4 elmore but i carnt remember i'll try 2 find out.

Matthew Pillios
19 Jul 2006, 18:01
Simon Cluff is injured for elmore, dunno wat he's done or how long he'll b out. There was another injury 4 elmore but i carnt remember i'll try 2 find out.

What do people from the Comp think of the tough man from Mount Pleasant ADAM DALTON???
How has the man's form been?

He is one man a Backman doesn't want to fight. Super bloke.

blackbeard
19 Jul 2006, 18:17
What do people from the Comp think of the tough man from Mount Pleasant ADAM DALTON???
How has the man's form been?

He is one man a Backman doesn't want to fight. Super bloke.

Haven't seen the lad play yet but mounts aren't particularly well known for there attack on the man so maybe that's why they got him. Don't think he has set the world on fire as yet and conditions certainly weren't suited to a big forward on Sat.
Any truth to the rumour I heard that recons, Dalton is the bloke who was locked up O/S last year or the year before for belting a bloke who fell, hit his head and carked it??? The case got a fair bit of press coverage at the time and from memory his parents spent a fair quid getting him home.

nesko_25
19 Jul 2006, 21:44
Haven't seen the lad play yet but mounts aren't particularly well known for there attack on the man so maybe that's why they got him. Don't think he has set the world on fire as yet and conditions certainly weren't suited to a big forward on Sat.
Any truth to the rumour I heard that recons, Dalton is the bloke who was locked up O/S last year or the year before for belting a bloke who fell, hit his head and carked it??? The case got a fair bit of press coverage at the time and from memory his parents spent a fair quid getting him home.

I believe that it is the same Dalton, did hear from a bloke from huntly the he just came back from a holiday paid 4 by the government

nesko_25
19 Jul 2006, 21:45

70% sure that it is the same Dalton, did hear from a bloke from huntly the he just came back from a holiday paid 4 by the government. Will find out if it is tom and get back 2 ya

nesko_25
19 Jul 2006, 22:06
What do u reckon the other line up would be for the lingo boys?? do they have enough to field a team tenn?? who would be capt's for each team?? and likely scores if this was to really happen??

I dont have an idea who could play but i'll start it off and hopefully Tenn, Bazil, Conrad, Ykickamoocow can help me out

FB: --------- Trav Mancer ----------
HB: --------- Lee Harris ----------
C: ---------- Nat O'Brien Scooter Hann
HF: --------- Nige Vanden Boch Phil Job
FF: --------- Brian North
Rucks:
Paul Van Den Boch
Ash O'Brien
Matt Bongiovanni

Wouldn have a clue who avalible just taking a few guesses here

On The Money
19 Jul 2006, 23:24
It says on the back of the Yabba that the following clubs will host a final this year. Broadford, Colbinabbin, Heathcote, LBU and White Hills.
It won't be easy to set out for a start with Colbo, Heathcote and LBU looking likely to be in the finals.
Which finals should be played where do you think guys?
I reckon If Heathcote finish 4th which position they are in now and Colbo 5th then that game should be the Broadford final as Heathcote are only a bit over half an hour away and Colbo have a good following that will travel.

nesko_25
20 Jul 2006, 10:52
I dont have an idea who could play but i'll start it off and hopefully Tenn, Bazil, Conrad, Ykickamoocow can help me out

HB: --------- Roo Byrne Lee Harris
FF: --------- Brian North Trav Fimmel
Rucks:
Paul Van Den Boch
Ash O'Brien
Matt Bongiovanni

I made a few inclusions

Squeaky
20 Jul 2006, 11:13

HB: --------- Lee Harris ----------
FF: --------- Brian North
Rucks:
Paul Van Den Boch
Ash O'Brien
Matt Bongiovanni

Probably want to include current day players:
such as Nig Harris, Stoney, Micos, Geckle etc
a few 'lost' sons: Jezza Campbell, Chopper Palling, Squizzy Taylor, Simsy
& a handful of O'Briens: (Bomber, Vincenzo and Jack)
plus, Worm Rorke, coach Roo Byrne & Paul Byrne.

We'd give those Banter boys a right old hiding...
Apologies to anyone I have forgotten.

Squeaky
20 Jul 2006, 11:15
I made a few inclusions
Good one,
Yeah forgot the Fimmels, put em all in...

Bazil
20 Jul 2006, 11:47
Probably want to include current day players:
such as Nig Harris, Stoney, Micos, Geckle etc
a few 'lost' sons: Jezza Campbell, Chopper Palling, Squizzy Taylor, Simsy
& a handful of O'Briens: (Bomber, Vincenzo and Jack)
plus, Worm Rorke, coach Roo Byrne & Paul Byrne.

We'd give those Banter boys a right old hiding...
Apologies to anyone I have forgotten.

It's quite obvious that the Lingo team would struggle, I can't see Bomber, Vin and Jack O'b running around in 2007 as well as Paul Byrne & Worm Rorke.
Ykickas Banter line up would spank the pants off that Lingo team (rabble ) you boys are trying to assemble !

Conrad
20 Jul 2006, 11:54
It's quite obvious that the Lingo team would struggle, I can't see Bomber, Vin and Jack O'b running around in 2007 as well as Paul Byrne & Worm Rorke.
Ykickas Banter line up would spank the pants off that Lingo team (rabble ) you boys are trying to assemble !

Sorry Baz, but i think u are getting a bit a head of urself here. I think that the lingo boys can very much take out a win in a banter lingo team... I think the obriens would all love to make the step up to take on the banter boys

TENN
20 Jul 2006, 12:09
Just wonderin Ykicka, if Nathan Cameron would be eligible for the Lingo? Only a couple games last year, but would be a good match up on Sharelle, could keep her accuracy % down if he jus talks to her!!! :D

Squeaky
20 Jul 2006, 12:38
GOLD TENN!! :D :D

BTW Bazil, in response to your query about some Locky legends: when was the last time big Wazza Koops pulled on a boot?? Or Jim Kornmann for that matter. (Hasn't played since the min. kicking distance for a mark was increased from 10 to 15 metres...):p