View Full Version : Heathcote District FL
nesko_25
22 Sep 2006, 18:33
yeah good tactics, pretending these players wont play! i think you overdid it just a little but nice try anyway. i dont think the mounts blokes are that dumb.
No **** fellas, did happen. I was over there my self. Still got depth in Luke Polglaze, Marty Cook and Cam Williams.
On The Money
22 Sep 2006, 18:40
No **** fellas, did happen. I was over there my self. Still got depth in Luke Polglaze, Marty Cook and Cam Williams.
Who do you think won't play??
ROOBOY007
24 Sep 2006, 09:12
Bloodhound are you out there haven't heard your comments about the game yesterday Elmore got flogged
carltonfan43
24 Sep 2006, 14:43
dalton is a dirty thug he was takin out players everywhere and in the last minutes of the game elbowed an elmore player in the head. it was good 2 see sum fans in the crowd getting into him after that act
Did that thug dalton get reported
ROOBOY007
24 Sep 2006, 18:50
Did that thug dalton get reportedWinners are grinners
ROOBOY007
24 Sep 2006, 18:55
dalton is a dirty thug he was takin out players everywhere and in the last minutes of the game elbowed an elmore player in the head. it was good 2 see sum fans in the crowd getting into him after that actIdiot you must have missed the countless down fields and 50m penalties that Elmore gave away for off the ball and after the player got rid of the ball incidents . Elmore played the man to much and where second to the ball
dalton is a dirty thug he was takin out players everywhere and in the last minutes of the game elbowed an elmore player in the head. it was good 2 see sum fans in the crowd getting into him after that act
Did anyone give Dalton some of his own back
ROOBOY007
24 Sep 2006, 19:01
Did anyone give Dalton some of his own backye the whole Elmore side stood up and went toe to toe with him
ye the whole Elmore side stood up and went toe to toe with him
Bet your glad his going back to the EDFL next year
Seeking Glory
24 Sep 2006, 19:07
i hear that broadford have signed 2 gvfl players in james kelly shepp swans and robbie douglas seymour can anyone tell me is this true!!!
ROOBOY007
24 Sep 2006, 19:12
Bet your glad his going back to the EDFL next yearI don't see how he can go to Marby without clearance from Glenroy
I don't see how he can go to Marby without clearance from Glenroy
Didnt he need a clearance to play in the Heathcote District?
ROOBOY007
24 Sep 2006, 20:52
Didnt he need a clearance to play in the Heathcote District?but to come back to edfl b grade he needs something from Glenroy if it is whithin so many years
Matthew Pillios
24 Sep 2006, 21:05
but to come back to edfl b grade he needs something from Glenroy if it is whithin so many years
Congratulations to Mt Pleasant on the weekend. Great to see for their fans that they got up and got the chocolates.
How did Adam Dalton and Dennis Ryan up forward go?
Was it a good match to watch?
ROOBOY007
24 Sep 2006, 21:11
Congratulations to Mt Pleasant on the weekend. Great to see for their fans that they got up and got the chocolates.
How did Adam Dalton and Dennis Ryan up forward go?
Was it a good match to watch?Not a great day for forwards very windy Dalton doesn't do enough
ROOBOY007
24 Sep 2006, 21:13
Mat you blokes looked to big and slow in the Garnd Final without recruiting another big slow bloke
the waterboy45
24 Sep 2006, 21:47
The writing was on the wall very early for the bloods... A Champion team will always beat a team of champions... Mounts no-name players were willing to work hard for each other all day.. they were terrific... the bloods on the other hand were undisciplined, admitidly the boys in white were very, very whistle happy.... but its a trait that spreads among the team like the plague... eventually costing them the cup...
Best players from each side anyone...:thumbsu:
i hear that broadford have signed 2 gvfl players in james kelly shepp swans and robbie douglas seymour can anyone tell me is this true!!!
Douglas would be completely mad to go to Broadford - Kelly walked out on Shepp Swans with a round to go, word from up there is had he played 2's against Seymour last round he woulda played finals in the 1's the following week.
The writing was on the wall very early for the bloods... A Champion team will always beat a team of champions... Mounts no-name players were willing to work hard for each other all day.. they were terrific... the bloods on the other hand were undisciplined, admitidly the boys in white were very, very whistle happy.... but its a trait that spreads among the team like the plague... eventually costing them the cup...
Best players from each side anyone...:thumbsu:
Mount Pleasant 19.13 def. Elmore 13.12
Goals:
(MtP) JAMIE GEE 4, DENIS RYAN 4, DENIS GRINTON 3, CAMERON CARTER 3, ADAM DALTON 3, BENJAMIN MCCLEARY 2 (Elmore) SIMON CLUFF 2, ROBERT LECEK 2, WILLIAM LONGFORD 2, MARCUS MCKERN 1, ADAM WILLIAMS 1, BRETT COWAN 1, DAVID FEVALEAKI 1, ANDREW GRANT 1, RYAN HAYES 1, LEON CARTER 1
Best:
(MtP) DENIS GRINTON, JAMIE GEE, BENJAMIN MCCLEARY, CAMERON CARTER, CRAIG FERRIER, ZACHARY EAST
(Elmore) BRIAN WESTLEY, JARROD WIESE, ROBERT LECEK, RYAN WIESE, RYAN HAYES
carltonfan43
24 Sep 2006, 22:29
just wondering who was awarded best player for the grand final. even though his side didnt win i thought David Fevaleaki was a real chance. i can see know why he was a clear winner in the league best and fairest. wat an athlete
oldmanemu
25 Sep 2006, 10:30
just wondering who was awarded best player for the grand final. even though his side didnt win i thought David Fevaleaki was a real chance. i can see know why he was a clear winner in the league best and fairest. wat an athlete
Fevaleaki......you don't get a medal for a good 1st quarter and then going missing.....he wasn't even named in his team's best. athlete.....maybe if he lost 10kgs.
Grinton, Carter and Jamie Gee were the best easily, closely followed by Zac East, McCleary and Troy Shannon. Grinton got the medal.
Just in case anyone didn't know, because the Addy certainly won't bloody say much, Mounts won the seconds as well!!! A great effort by each and every player got us over the line, especially as Locky had 3 extra players on the field all day. I have said this before, but if you were actually at the game, the umpiring was bloody hopeless, and they gave them medals for it.......
I should say the dark haired ump was good until he gave that ridiculous decision of throwing the ball in Elmore's goal square late in the game. The other two were bad.
Jarrod Milsom was great in the last quarter with 3 goals.
It may not be Troy's fault, but the Addy ran 5 pages of Bendigo League write-ups, and 1 on the HDFL, and it was all about the seniors. The BFL netball even got a whole bloody page.....Surely, they could have written more than 20 words about the HDFL 2nds, and there was no mention (apart from the score), about the 3rds which is ordinary. It was the grand final ffs.
I will mention the great sportsmanship of the Locky players in the line-up handshake after the game. To go down by a point in a GF is shattering (I have been there), and they held their heads high as they should. It was a great game.
yeah well done to the 'Grinch' for his BOG efforts (was next from Pascoe to win it last year IMO). Has copped his flack over the years but keeps getting the football and uses it well. Sounds like he's hung them up too if you read the addy article...
has anyone from Elmore volunteered to clean up the road at Goornong? maybe someone from mounts has sent the bloodhound a mop and bucket!
Fevaleaki......you don't get a medal for a good 1st quarter and then going missing.....he wasn't even named in his team's best. athlete.....maybe if he lost 10kgs.
Grinton, Carter and Jamie Gee were the best easily, closely followed by Zac East, McCleary and Troy Shannon. Grinton got the medal.
Just in case anyone didn't know, because the Addy certainly won't bloody say much, Mounts won the seconds as well!!! A great effort by each and every player got us over the line, especially as Locky had 3 extra players on the field all day. I have said this before, but if you were actually at the game, the umpiring was bloody hopeless, and they gave them medals for it.......
I should say the dark haired ump was good until he gave that ridiculous decision of throwing the ball in Elmore's goal square late in the game. The other two were bad.
It may not be Troy's fault, but the Addy ran 5 pages of Bendigo League write-ups, and 1 on the HDFL, and it was all about the seniors. The BFL netball even got a whole bloody page.....Surely, they could have written more than 20 words about the HDFL 2nds, and there was no mention (apart from the score), about the 3rds which is ordinary. It was the grand final ffs.
I will mention the great sportsmanship of the Locky players in the line-up handshake after the game. To go down by a point in a GF is shattering (I have been there), and they held their heads high as they should. It was a great game.
It's probably because the mojority of the people that read the Bendigo Addy, couldn't give a f uck about HDFL 2's!! Why waste good paper on it!
Dirk Diggler
25 Sep 2006, 18:02
fevaleaki best on? didnt have much of the ball at all, he has shocking disposal but in other games he made up for that by getting heaps of it. i thought cam carter was close to it kicking crucial goals from midfield. Bill Longford should have been shot after all the stupid free kicks and 50s he gave away. no one from elmores point of view should be dirty on dalton when they have cluff, westley and longford sniping blokes.
andypipkin
25 Sep 2006, 19:38
totally agree with you waterboy, mounts alr ound team effort was superb, and the bloods really couldnt get on a roll all day. i must say that a couple of theboys from tooleen really do step up to the plate when it comes finals time, jamie gee thrives on the big occasions, and coach carter just leads the boys from the front, i know its easy to say because they have won the flag, but tactically he is clearly the best coach going around.
umpires, i must say need to remove the whistles from there throats because every breath taken by them resulted in a whistle. good to be able to sit back and watch the whole game. interesting to hear people complaining about dalton, he holds his aggresion well i think, before ppl say his a thug, just watch closely in tight when he cops the little jabs in a contest, he gave as good as he got
and people i have to ask for your assistance in what i am about to say
WARREN, being the scum you are, and with the dribble that literally rolls off your keyboard on the bendigo thread, i kindly ask that you refrain from bringing your shiity posts that you deliver so well on the bendigo thread to ours. this is a f uck wit free zone
the waterboy45
25 Sep 2006, 19:51
i don't know fev nor have i seen him play b4 satdy but he was far from disgraced... he and andy grant shone class while the rest of the elmore boys need to spend more time on the track doing skill work if they want to win the big one...
Lionel Ritchie
26 Sep 2006, 09:30
It's probably because the mojority of the people that read the Bendigo Addy, couldn't give a f uck about HDFL 2's!! Why waste good paper on it!
Warren they waste good paper on Kangaroo Flat every year. I seem to remember Kangaroo Flat coming to colbo with a full strength side and getting pumped by colbo by 10 and 15 goals in consecutive years. Colbo tried to get them out again last year but they refused. Go and talk your crap on the BFL.
old saint
26 Sep 2006, 10:33
fevaleaki best on? didnt have much of the ball at all, he has shocking disposal but in other games he made up for that by getting heaps of it. i thought cam carter was close to it kicking crucial goals from midfield. Bill Longford should have been shot after all the stupid free kicks and 50s he gave away. no one from elmores point of view should be dirty on dalton when they have cluff, westley and longford sniping blokes.
well said, elmore didnt look like they wanted to win, and when you have players that are so undisiplined the way that they were they dont deserve to win. i think dalton handled himself well, didnt do heaps but didnt waste the footy when he had it and at times brought other players into the game. elmore have a lot to learn before they win another flag.
Joeyboy
26 Sep 2006, 12:20
Douglas would be completely mad to go to Broadford - Kelly walked out on Shepp Swans with a round to go, word from up there is had he played 2's against Seymour last round he woulda played finals in the 1's the following week.
Heard that a couple of other key Lions, may be interested in heading down to Broadfrod next year also
Echuca's Riv herald ran more of a story on 1st's, 2nd's and 3rd's than the addy.
The Snortch
27 Sep 2006, 17:41
Snortch i tend to waffle on a bit most of the time!! Im not trying to insult the intelligence of the mounts blokes but i know what i saw and heard and im telling the truth. If you know anyone from elmore then i suggest you give them a call because its true.
I prob should not have said what i did say but il be expecting an apology snortch come saturday when those lads dont run out.
Yeah my apologies bloodhound, those blokes didnt play...... you were right. (well i didnt notice them on the field anyway)
The whole game was a let down. should have been locky v mounts would have been a far better game to watch and better standard. Elmore had nothing going for them the whole day. feel sorry for the guy who had to pick elmores best cos they were all ****!
zakster
27 Sep 2006, 20:10
i wood put mccleary up a bit higher than 4th, emu
dalton is going to broadford isnt he ?
fev needs to lose a good few kgs as people have said
and yeah the bloods had a few snipers but cluff wood be the best at it ... and the easiest to see doing it
My Shout
27 Sep 2006, 21:20
Is it true Shawn Filo and Birchmore are playing at North this year with Filo to coach????
i wood put mccleary up a bit higher than 4th, emu
dalton is going to broadford isnt he ?
fev needs to lose a good few kgs as people have said
and yeah the bloods had a few snipers but cluff wood be the best at it ... and the easiest to see doing it
Dont think so my EDFL informer tells me he's heading back to Melbourne.
Whilst on the topic of Broadford, what has happened to our word on the inside Blackbeard? Surely not on holidays again . . . . . I shoulda been a school teacher!!!!
Is it true Shawn Filo and Birchmore are playing at North this year with Filo to coach????
About a month ago I thought both Huntly & North announced their current coaches were already signed up for 2007
On The Money
27 Sep 2006, 23:02
About a month ago I thought both Huntly & North announced their current coaches were already signed up for 2007
Yes North Bendigo have re-appointed club champ Micky Simpson and the Dogs are confident of several ex-players returning to the club to bolster their list.
bloodhound!
28 Sep 2006, 10:27
Morning Everyone
Well i thought i better get on today and say well done to mounts on a really good win and commiserations to elmore but well done on a great year (il get to that in a minute)
As you all know my predictions about people playing were just a bit of fun and i obviosly couldnt put anything past this contingent of intellectual minds
Mounts won on the day because they were not overawed by the occasion having played in a grand final last year and more in previous years. They knew what to expect and adapted to the conditions alot better than what we did. If you dont think experience counts for anything then your an idiot because it just won mounts a grand final. Mounts have alot of experienced players who have played footy for a long time and have played alot of finals (grinton, gees, shannon, carter, rojeski, ryan, etc). They can then pass that experience on to the couple of younger blokes they have in the side.
Elmore were probably a little overawed and inexperienced. This S HIT about them not wanting it enough is exactly that S HIT. So pipe down those who are saying it because you know F UCK ALL.
Discipline did cost us il admit but old man emu made a comment about there being 3 extra players for locky (umpires) well if you all can't admit that the umpires severely favoured mounts then you are all lying to yourselves and must have been at a different game coz thats the worst ive seen it all year and i think i would have lost it if i had been out there as well. Umpires are there to control the match not determine it and while im not taking anything away from mounts they did have 3 extra contributors.
As for the comments about feva being fat well he might be bigger than he was at bombers but its actually muscle.
Snortch saying that we didnt have any good players is a joke Jarrod Weise playing across half back was excellent all day cut off alot of attacks, kept his head and his feet and showed exactly my point earlier about having grandfinal experience (2 flags at harcourt) Ryan Weise beat Dalton for 3 out of 4 quarters.
Despite his indescretions bill played well in the ruck and around the ground. Fev was good early, agats tried all day, williams good when he came on.
But mounts had more contributors across the ground. Well done to them but remember There was alot of new faces at elmore this year and alot of them were young faces in a pretty young side. We are building a side to be competitive for along time just as mounts have done. We are at the start of our journey and mounts are at the end of theirs so i hope they enjoy it coz the next one will be a while to come!!!
We are building a side to be competitive for along time just as mounts have done. We are at the start of our journey and mounts are at the end of theirs so i hope they enjoy it coz the next one will be a while to come!!!
8 of the past 14 flags says to me Mounts are rarely down
ROOBOY007
28 Sep 2006, 13:25
bloodhound was wondering when you would bob up as doona2 just said 8 flags in 14 years i don't think it even looks like ending the hunger is still there. The committe was talking about next year on saturday night
old saint
28 Sep 2006, 13:47
[quote=bloodhound!]
Elmore were probably a little overawed and inexperienced. This S HIT about them not wanting it enough is exactly that S HIT. So pipe down those who are saying it because you know F UCK ALL.
Discipline did cost us il admit but old man emu made a comment about there being 3 extra players for locky (umpires) well if you all can't admit that the umpires severely favoured mounts then you are all lying to yourselves and must have been at a different game coz thats the worst ive seen it all year and i think i would have lost it if i had been out there as well. Umpires are there to control the match not determine it and while im not taking anything away from mounts they did have 3 extra contributors.
bloodhound the only reason the umpires were against elmore was because of the way the players conducted themselves and play the game. undisipline footy attracts extra attention from the umpires, most people playing the game were taught that in about U16. they elmore players have only themselves to blame. bill longford gave away 3 50 meter penalties and still couldnt work out why the umpiring was going against him. the umpiring was pretty ordinary but it was much the same for both sides.
wake up to yourself and stop blaming the umpires, elmore had their chances and didnt take them, simple as that.
bloodhound was wondering when you would bob up as doona2 just said 8 flags in 14 years i don't think it even looks like ending the hunger is still there. The committe was talking about next year on saturday night
Who else am I supposed to "bob up" as? :confused:
blackbeard
28 Sep 2006, 16:18
Who else am I supposed to "bob up" as? :confused:
I think he just forgot the common there Doon. Or are you just trying to knock off porthos as the top poster by submitting anything??????
No news from the bean to date coach. I won't be in attendance friday night, which is presentation night for those unaware, so fear I may be outta the loop.
here's my two bobs worth on current topics.....
Good win by the mountain men. Top effort by the Magoos probably more so.
Umps were bad across the board in the seniors. Over umpired the whole game and seemed intent on sticking their beak in wherever possible.
Elmore just didn't fire up forward and in the middle. although grant and Fev were good around the ground, they struggled with clearances from out of the guts. Roy and Webby certainly strengthened the blues in that area.
Dalton is a big unit but not worth the coin he is gettin. Fair enough if he was a local and getting base rate, but he just doesn't do enough for mine. His leads are no more than 5 meters long and appears to put in at around 20%. He has reasonable hands but doesn't take a lot of contested overhead marks. Not what Broady are after. That said if he does step out for the roos I'm in a bit of strife!!! In his favour he is a sensational kick for goal. Prelim and Granny showed this.
Off the Bench
28 Sep 2006, 16:24
Can anyone tell me how Damien Smith from Heathcote went this year?
andypipkin
28 Sep 2006, 17:24
doona, heard it the other day that a few of the broady thirds boys were ejected by the coppers last saturday at the granny, know anything about it or why it hppened
The Talking Goat
28 Sep 2006, 17:53
Old Man Emu, i don't think it's any secret who i am. a district league grand final versus a major league grand final, who do you think is going to get the most coverage. what do you expect when the hdfl schedules grand final same weekend as bfl. of course the bfl will get the most coverage, number one league around the area.
you're also probably wondering why there was no hdfl netball scores in the monday paper. well, they weren't supplied. enough said.
instead of winging about the monday paper, did the riv herald have two pages devoted to the grand final on the friday, did it run the grand final teams, and the teams every week, did it have a mounts premiership poster this week. they may well have because i don't read that paper, so i'm just asking.
Seeking Glory
28 Sep 2006, 17:59
Heard that a couple of other key Lions, may be interested in heading down to Broadfrod next year also
i heard that too, robbie inness for one and i think dom russo as well.
fifth quarter
28 Sep 2006, 20:06
hey Mr T. Goat ----when are u going to tell the troops Mrs Goat had a very healthy baby kid the other day ??
And how about those color news paper posters. Harcourt on the back of Mounts and vice versa .. how does that work.
Hang it up on the wall and the team behind would shine thru .... well not shine exactly but be VERY visible with the light shining directly on it !!
roaring tiger
28 Sep 2006, 21:18
So are elmore looking looking at losing most of there better players for next year. You would think favleakie would move on, way to good for the heathcote league? Is southcombe going to stay on for another year?
i heard that too, robbie inness for one and i think dom russo as well.
Let the Seymour blokes be hey . . . Robbie Inness will stay at Seymour and Dom Russo will b a regular GV player next year so unsure where ya mail is from mate - or are you just trying to upset things in the Den prior to Sunday?
andypipkin
29 Sep 2006, 08:31
fifth quarter, im sure if you hang it up on a wall, the light wont allow you to see the other side, just dont hang it up on a window or you will get the best of both worlds.
not a hard problem to solve, i dont think!!!!!
diggidog
29 Sep 2006, 10:02
[QUOTE=bloodhound!]Morning Everyone
Mounts won on the day because they were not overawed by the occasion having played in a grand final last year and more in previous years.Elmore were probably a little overawed and inexperienced. This S HIT about them not wanting it enough is exactly that S HIT. So pipe down those who are saying it because you know F UCK ALL.
You absolute knob joblet!!!, off the top of my head i can recall 2 crucial and incorrect decisions against mounts!!! The first was in the 1st q when the ball was in the mts fwrd line and McKern was doing his tough guy thing wrestling and bumping Matty Johnson 150 metres away from the ball and somehow was paid the free!!!!!!!! Absolute shocker and so critical when mts were a good chance to score into the breeze and the ump blows his whistle and gives elmore a free shot at the opposite end for nothing (he kicked the goal, 12 point turnaround!!!) And the second was Webbys report.... Enough said!!! So in reality Elmore had the extra man at the start ( Yes, I know cunff was sent off later on) SO WHY DONT YOU ADMIT MOUNTS WERE THE BETTER TEAM
AND STOP MAKING EXCUSES YOU PATHETIC SORE LOSER. And you got balls saying elmore will win won before mounts,because over the last 20 years history shows you have had a 2 in 20 chance of making the gf and guess what F ucker- that was this year and 97!!! See you in another 10 years and better luck next time!!!!
scotywok
29 Sep 2006, 11:24
doona, heard it the other day that a few of the broady thirds boys were ejected by the coppers last saturday at the granny, know anything about it or why it hppened
Can confirm Andy that the police didn't eject any of the thirds during the day, but did make the presence felt with two older lads during teh netball who were very offensive, after which some of the younger lads decided at the clubs advice that it was probably best if they left the ground if they were going to continue drinking.
Also heard that the police apprehended two lads, not sure on the clubs or lads whereabouts through the league, for urinating on the bowling greens at Colbo during the half time break in the senior match. Anybody know anything about that?
old duck
29 Sep 2006, 17:54
I dunno old man emu if you have ever stopped to have a look at a few of mounts players eg: Dalton, Grinton. But...... Fevaleaki's 10kgs is nothing compared to their 30kgs that need to be lost & as for them getting a medal ha we love to see that!
old duck
29 Sep 2006, 18:01
i dunno old man emu if you have ever stopped to have a look at a few of mounts players eg: Dalton, Grinton. But..... Fevaleaki's 10kgs is nothing compared to the 30kgs that those two need to lose & as for them getting a medal ha we love to see that!
Having seen Lockie - Damian Lock previously at Doutta being a edfl follower just interested to know from all you hdfl or Colby supporters how Locks season wen't (1.) Personally his own game went & (2.) How he handled coaching,was he a natural at it or did he struggle to put words togethor ! All that know him would say he would lead from the front because he's a tough little b a s t a r d but just a veiw on how those other indicators went w him and is he coaching again next year !?
Sniping is not tough.
And for Old duck, Dalton and Grinton are wearing premiership medallions so I dont think they need to lose any weight... Especially Grinton as he knocked up getting touches to be voted best on the ground.
Winning the league medal means nothing without a premiership so paying well during the season as Fev did means zero when you play crap in the big game. Look at Goodes in the AFL... Means very little now. Footy is a team game not an individual sport.
Sniping is not tough.
And for Old duck, Dalton and Grinton are wearing premiership medallions so I dont think they need to lose any weight... Especially Grinton as he knocked up getting touches to be voted best on the ground.
Winning the league medal means nothing without a premiership so paying well during the season as Fev did means zero when you play crap in the big game. Look at Goodes in the AFL... Means very little now. Footy is a team game not an individual sport. Look just after a legit answer...yes or no !? fair enough, looking beyond that (sniping !)....your saying as well he won the HDfl B & F
nah big ant he was talkin about another bloke winning the b & f. Anyway Lock copped his fair share of hits from blokes as they are jealous cos they dont have half the talent he has. so fair enough if he gets a bit of revenge on some s h i t kicker tagger. he started slowly with form but started to dominate mid season and will win the club b & f. with his coaching he was a bit quiet at the start but his leadership on the field was great. by the end of the season he was speaking great and earned the whole clubs respect.
nah big ant he was talkin about another bloke winning the b & f. Anyway Lock copped his fair share of hits from blokes as they are jealous cos they dont have half the talent he has. so fair enough if he gets a bit of revenge on some s h i t kicker tagger. he started slowly with form but started to dominate mid season and will win the club b & f. with his coaching he was a bit quiet at the start but his leadership on the field was great. by the end of the season he was speaking great and earned the whole clubs respect. Cheers Stringy thats all i was after and is the boy been reappointed yet !? any others veiws would be gr8 !
im not 100% but im pretty sure hes been reappointed. if not he will be soon hes made it pretty clear he wants to stay and the club will be very keen to keep him. i dare say he will attract plenty of interest else where so it would be wise to sign him up again quickly.
Look just after a legit answer...yes or no !? fair enough, looking beyond that (sniping !)....your saying as well he won the HDfl B & F
Sniping was in reference to Lock not Fev.
nah big ant he was talkin about another bloke winning the b & f. Anyway Lock copped his fair share of hits from blokes as they are jealous cos they dont have half the talent he has. so fair enough if he gets a bit of revenge on some s h i t kicker tagger. he started slowly with form but started to dominate mid season and will win the club b & f. with his coaching he was a bit quiet at the start but his leadership on the field was great. by the end of the season he was speaking great and earned the whole clubs respect.
Dont know any person who would be jealous of Lock.
mounts best and fairest held today.results include
seniors: 1st Cam Carter(136)
2nd Trev Douglas(125)
3rd Troy Shannon(108)
Seconds: 1st Ben Milsom(84)
2nd Jess Obrien(51)
3rd Adrian Cronin(43)
Thirds: 1st Michael Checkley(90)
2nd Jeremy Brewer(65)
nesko_25
2 Oct 2006, 11:02
LBU B and F
1s Rick Pritchett
Mick Dobson
2s Chad Jones
Jarred Mundie
3s Jayden Baldwin
Brent McMinn
Congrats to Daz Jensen on being awarded a life membership to LBU!
Wildcard
2 Oct 2006, 13:11
mounts best and fairest held today.results include
seniors: 1st Cam Carter(136)
2nd Trev Douglas(125)
3rd Troy Shannon(108)
Seconds: 1st Ben Milsom(84)
2nd Jess Obrien(51)
3rd Adrian Cronin(43)
Thirds: 1st Michael Checkley(90)
2nd Jeremy Brewer(65)
One other interesting point of Mounts b+f yesterday was that Dennis Ryan was presented with the ball he kicked to bring up his 100 and in his thankyou speech declared that he will be going around again next year!
What about big Adam Dalton, any word or commitment from him yet?
aker2dogs
2 Oct 2006, 15:58
Cheers Stringy thats all i was after and is the boy been reappointed yet !? any others veiws would be gr8 !
i dare say he will be appionted. Colbo's presentation is coming up soon and i'd imagine it will be announced then. His coaching started off good, with his experiance at higher levels of football real handy with the pre season training. Gradually through out the year his people skills grew and was very good at getting his point across to the players. Everyone loves him at the club, colbo will be bigger and better next year.
oldmanemu
2 Oct 2006, 16:40
To the Goat, my point was that all the HDFL article was on the seniors. The publicity officer should have been at all 3 games and been able to write up a match review of all games. If the Addy then cuts it out fair enough, but I don't think a review was written at all.
And sure the teams were in the paper each week, but it was again, only the seniors. Grab a Border Mail and check out how footy reporting is done.
Without 2nds and 3rds, there are no seniors. Even the BASL (soccer) has articles on their 1sts, 2nds, youth and women's comps.
To bloodhound, my comment on 3 extra players was in reference to the seconds and Lockington. I'd had 7 or 8 cans by the end of the seniors so didn't really notice the umps, just the scores!!
Trent the flight Steward
3 Oct 2006, 15:56
any truth in the rumors olocky prodgical son Paul McMahon returning to coach next season?
And who will troy"chalky" Auld be pulling the boots on next season, word has it he was getting itchy feet end of the season, and was he was using his role with the league to find a potential home for him next season
i reckon if chalky would ever play in hdfl it would be for colbo. but i think he would just play for stanhope wouldnt he?
any truth in the rumors olocky prodgical son Paul McMahon returning to coach next season?
And who will troy"chalky" Auld be pulling the boots on next season, word has it he was getting itchy feet end of the season, and was he was using his role with the league to find a potential home for him next season
Reckon the blue and white stripes might look ok to me :p at least the Roos recent run of positive publicity he has afforded the club would be guaranteed to continue
andypipkin
3 Oct 2006, 17:47
i reckon that no matter what the addy puts in the paper about the hdfl, ppl are always going to be unhappy and bitch about something. i think troy aulds done a ripper job, lets not forget its his first year at the capper
oldmanemu, im sure if you asked the fiddler whether everything that he wrote in his articles went in, he would say no. but it it hasnt changed over the last couple of years, it wont change anytime soon.
also i think the soccer league has a reporter for each league, so are you saying that you will put up your to happily chat to the advertiser about the two's write up. cant wait to hear round one's.
The Talking Goat
3 Oct 2006, 19:45
To the Goat, my point was that all the HDFL article was on the seniors. The publicity officer should have been at all 3 games and been able to write up a match review of all games. If the Addy then cuts it out fair enough, but I don't think a review was written at all.
And sure the teams were in the paper each week, but it was again, only the seniors. Grab a Border Mail and check out how footy reporting is done.
Without 2nds and 3rds, there are no seniors. Even the BASL (soccer) has articles on their 1sts, 2nds, youth and women's comps.
To bloodhound, my comment on 3 extra players was in reference to the seconds and Lockington. I'd had 7 or 8 cans by the end of the seniors so didn't really notice the umps, just the scores!!
how many sport reporting staff has the border mail got??
bloodhound!
4 Oct 2006, 16:24
Morning Everyone
Well i thought i better get on today and say well done to mounts on a really good win and commiserations to elmore but well done on a great year (il get to that in a minute)
As you all know my predictions about people playing were just a bit of fun and i obviosly couldnt put anything past this contingent of intellectual minds
Mounts won on the day because they were not overawed by the occasion having played in a grand final last year and more in previous years. They knew what to expect and adapted to the conditions alot better than what we did. If you dont think experience counts for anything then your an idiot because it just won mounts a grand final. Mounts have alot of experienced players who have played footy for a long time and have played alot of finals (grinton, gees, shannon, carter, rojeski, ryan, etc). They can then pass that experience on to the couple of younger blokes they have in the side.
As for the comments about feva being fat well he might be bigger than he was at bombers but its actually muscle.
Snortch saying that we didnt have any good players is a joke Jarrod Weise playing across half back was excellent all day cut off alot of attacks, kept his head and his feet and showed exactly my point earlier about having grandfinal experience (2 flags at harcourt) Ryan Weise beat Dalton for 3 out of 4 quarters.
Despite his indescretions bill played well in the ruck and around the ground. Fev was good early, agats tried all day, williams good when he came on.
But mounts had more contributors across the ground. Well done to them but remember There was alot of new faces at elmore this year and alot of them were young faces in a pretty young side. We are building a side to be competitive for along time just as mounts have done. We are at the start of our journey and mounts are at the end of theirs so i hope they enjoy it coz the next one will be a while to come!!!
Howdy Everyone
Just thought i would post this one again and highlight a few things for those of you that cant read. As you can see i have clearly given mounts credit for their win and have not "blamed" the umpire for the loss. I have merely highlighted that i believed the umpiring to be one sided, (apart from webbys send off) and i believe that the bad umpiring caused our players to lose their tempers which contributed to more decisions going against us. And before you all jump on with the stock standed "well they never change their minds" and "you just have to accept the umpires decision" dont bother ive just written it for you!!
I also nticed that none of you jumped down old man emu's throat when he criticised the umpires in the 2's??
Thanks to whoever pointed out the double standard on this website in regard to weight i found that one pretty interesting! Just another on fev the bloke is 19 and has had alot of expectation on him and has delivered in a way that showed alot from a bloke that age.
JGraf you are a joke, we all know that there is nothing that compares to a flag and a best on in a winning grand final side but to say winning aleague medal or a brownlow means nothing is one of the dumber things you have said Steffi and you have said a few! Plus i dont know who you are but im tipping your not a footballers a rsehole.... locky is a gun player so maybe you are alittle jealous of that???
My point about mounts being over.....well we will have to see but hey im not saying they havn't been great but all things come to an end im hoping this is one of them!! And im hoping elmore take another forward step next year!
bloodhound!
4 Oct 2006, 17:16
[quote=bloodhound!]Morning Everyone
Mounts won on the day because they were not overawed by the occasion having played in a grand final last year and more in previous years.Elmore were probably a little overawed and inexperienced. This S HIT about them not wanting it enough is exactly that S HIT. So pipe down those who are saying it because you know F UCK ALL.
You absolute knob joblet!!!, off the top of my head i can recall 2 crucial and incorrect decisions against mounts!!! The first was in the 1st q when the ball was in the mts fwrd line and McKern was doing his tough guy thing wrestling and bumping Matty Johnson 150 metres away from the ball and somehow was paid the free!!!!!!!! Absolute shocker and so critical when mts were a good chance to score into the breeze and the ump blows his whistle and gives elmore a free shot at the opposite end for nothing (he kicked the goal, 12 point turnaround!!!) And the second was Webbys report.... Enough said!!! So in reality Elmore had the extra man at the start ( Yes, I know cunff was sent off later on) SO WHY DONT YOU ADMIT MOUNTS WERE THE BETTER TEAM
AND STOP MAKING EXCUSES YOU PATHETIC SORE LOSER. And you got balls saying elmore will win won before mounts,because over the last 20 years history shows you have had a 2 in 20 chance of making the gf and guess what F ucker- that was this year and 97!!! See you in another 10 years and better luck next time!!!!
Fantastic everyone we have another deads hit!!
I would only expect you to be able to think of 2 incorrect decisions of the top of your head mate coz im sure thats all you can count to....anymore and you would need a panadol and a lay down!!
Macca sucked in johnson who was doing alot of his own "tough guy thing" so dont make him out to be innocent, johnson made contact to maccas face in the scuffle and was penalised and since you have to take the kick from where the indescretion takes place Macca kicked a goal.
Webby's was the only one that could have gone the other way.
Cunff?? is that supposed to be a joke funnyman or was i right ealier you are just a dumb s hit who cant spell or count?? Its Cluff for future reference
At no time you nagging little s hit have i been a sore loser and if you read carefully i have said mounts were the better team but you mounts people get so precious if you detect the slightest little bit of criticism and lash out like a red headed step child coz you think the whole worlds against you. Elmore gets paid out on constantly on this thread sweetheart so just relax take your panadol and your nap and get back to me when you have a clue.
Let it go hound, I think we all get your point mate so dont stress abut it.
Lets move onto talking up club break-ups, upcoming pre-seasons, player movements and the 2007 season.
bloodhound!
4 Oct 2006, 17:37
Let it go hound, I think we all get your point mate so dont stress abut it.
Lets move onto talking up club break-ups, upcoming pre-seasons, player movements and the 2007 season.
Fine by me Doona good to see a voice of reason......but i just wanted to be clear....
Are you taking the helm at Yea again? Any of the Newcommen's still involved in the club i know some boys who went to school with Scott??
From an Elmore point im not sure if anyone has left yet or if Bluey is staying coz there has been no announcement but im tipping him to be there he did a great job this year and hates to lose so he has some unfinished business i reckon.
Any other news?
andypipkin
4 Oct 2006, 20:13
bloodhound,
i heard on the grapevine the other day, and i'm only asking you what i have been told, but i heard that bluey's name has been passed around as one of three or for men who have been approached, maybe even interviewed. heard anything of this.
surely bluey wouldnt leave after the promising year the club had this year
On The Money
4 Oct 2006, 22:42
bloodhound,
i heard on the grapevine the other day, and i'm only asking you what i have been told, but i heard that bluey's name has been passed around as one of three or for men who have been approached, maybe even interviewed. heard anything of this.
surely bluey wouldnt leave after the promising year the club had this year
He has already been approaching players so I would suggest that an appointment is close by.
2007 looms as another great season as It would seems that every side in the competition is looking to have a good go. Some are obviously better placed than others to make an assault on the flag but if the bottom sides recruit some quality it will ensure the highly competitive nature of league.
Righto Groovers
where are your clubs going on their end of season trip? The Hoppers are jetting off to Sin City on Friday arvo however it is more of a cricket trip as only 11 blokes are going! Anyhoo Randwick Races for the epsom on satdy has been locked in along with a massive sunday session at Bondi then onto Coodgee bay hotel, coming home hopefully in one piece on monday!
Ive heard the Bloods are off to Cairns
Doona, quality standard game on sunday at deakin reserve. I did see you there and tried to get your attention at the games end but you were too busy recruiting :-) however when i read your post about a few gas attacks at the game and lack of memory for the second half, I put two and two together! Im spewin i couldnt head back to Kings Park sundy nite but from all reports it was a cracking day on Monday.
no country footy this weekend? maybe Doona you are planning a road trip to AAMI stadium for the SANFL GF???!!!
Doona, quality standard game on sunday at deakin reserve. I did see you there and tried to get your attention at the games end but you were too busy recruiting :-) however when i read your post about a few gas attacks at the game and lack of memory for the second half, I put two and two together! Im spewin i couldnt head back to Kings Park sundy nite but from all reports it was a cracking day on Monday.
no country footy this weekend? maybe Doona you are planning a road trip to AAMI stadium for the SANFL GF???!!!
By then I woulda been only looking at recruiting drinking buddies for the Kings Park session. No footy for a while so Im gunna stand behind the stumps for the round 1 Kilmore v Seymour one dayer.
On The Money
4 Oct 2006, 23:14
[quote=HJ32]Righto Groovers
where are your clubs going on their end of season trip? The Hoppers are jetting off to Sin City on Friday arvo however it is more of a cricket trip as only 11 blokes are going! Anyhoo Randwick Races for the epsom on satdy has been locked in along with a massive sunday session at Bondi then onto Coodgee bay hotel, coming home hopefully in one piece on monday!
I think the Bloods might have gone last weekend.
Whats your line up for the trip HJ taking a good mixture youth & experience?
the baby powder brothers
hdfl 2nds runner up
the sweaty mexican
the mauler
beatlejuice
silly hilly
funky miller
hj32
fat jack
and everyones favorite C TRAIN
Ykickamoocow
4 Oct 2006, 23:54
Righto Groovers
Locky Lads are off to Adelaide Thursday afternoon around 4pm and back Monday night about 7pm.
I hear they are doing a booze cruise on the way down, meeting around 10am at the Locky local ... they may not be allowed on the plane by 4 then !!
Think the itinarary? looks something like Thursday -smashed, Friday mandatory -smashed, Morphettville Saturday -smashed, AAMI GF onto Grand Hotel Sunday Night (say no more )and Monday the Downlow Medal( venue TBA) then death I would think !!
Pity, they had Sydney ( Coogee )just about locked in apparantly, but Newthy could not meet his Mrs their again. :D
They could of hooked up with the colbo mob n had a beer off.
Pity, they had Sydney ( Coogee )just about locked in apparantly, but Newthy could not meet his Mrs their again. :D
Poor form from Newth!
Wouldn't expect anything less...
Page 2 and 4 days without action - c'mon lads must be some news out there!!!
nesko_25
11 Oct 2006, 10:46
Howdy howdy, been a long time. Bluey was apointed half way through the season. Big news with the locky footy trip, on the way back from melbourne a few boys were in an accident with a truck at kilmore. Car is a ride off and the boys involved are a bit shaken up. no injurys. Elmore have signed up a few locals (1 for sure, other major possibility) that will b making their way back from down the highway. Young boys, 1 played seniors as a 15 year old and was a vic rep and the other tried out for northern nights before moving to elmore but won the goal kicking in the Shep Schools District FL.
So who retired so far: Peter Molony, Grinton, Bar fridge?
Locky Lads are off to Adelaide Thursday afternoon around 4pm and back Monday night about 7pm.
I hear they are doing a booze cruise on the way down, meeting around 10am at the Locky local ... they may not be allowed on the plane by 4 then !!
Think the itinarary? looks something like Thursday -smashed, Friday mandatory -smashed, Morphettville Saturday -smashed, AAMI GF onto Grand Hotel Sunday Night (say no more )and Monday the Downlow Medal( venue TBA) then death I would think !!
They could of hooked up with the colbo mob n had a beer off.
Don't want to make light of the situation but Ykicka was nearly right ... Extremely lucky boys indeed !!
Footy coach found guilty
RACHEL HEWITT
Wednesday, 11 October 2006
A FORMER footballer who struck an opponent in the face during a game at North Bendigo is facing a possible jail term after being convicted by a jury.
Former Broadford senior coach Paul Lawrence Tilly, 42, was found guilty of intentionally causing serious injury to North Bendigo's
Travis Lomas during a Heathcote District Football League reserves match on July 31, 2004.
Mr Lomas, 32, was taken from the Atkins Street oval to hospital, suffering extensive facial fractures to a cheekbone and an eye socket.
He had surgery to reposition the bones, including the insertion of a plate and wire, and had sustained a permanently sunken eye.
He told the court he could not remember the incident, which happened after Tilly replaced another player on the field during the first quarter of the match.
"The first thing I remember was waking up in the rooms with ambulance officers over me," Mr Lomas said.
The jury handed down the guilty verdict on Monday.
During a pre-sentence submission to Judge Roy Punshon yesterday, defence lawyer Graeme Keil argued Tilly had used an open palm to push Mr Lomas, claiming it was a reaction to the victim spitting at him.
But the judge questioned whether it mattered if Tilly had used a clenched fist or an open palm.
"What does it matter? Either can be an effective method," he said.
"A karate expert might prefer the latter, a boxer might prefer the former.
"A gentle or moderate push couldn't have caused this damage."
Mr Lomas has denied the spitting allegation.
Mr Keil argued the behaviour displayed by Tilly, who played VFL football for St Kilda and Fitzroy in the 1980s, was out of character.
"In 22 years, he hadn't been reported," Mr Keil said.
The court heard the defendant had played football since he was six, receiving numerous accolades including several best and fairest awards.
Addressing the judge, wife Samantha Tilly said her husband, who conducts skills training programs for organisations including universities and prisons, had never been a violent man.
"He has never shown any violence towards myself, my children, family, friends, anybody," she said.
Mrs Tilly said she held grave concerns for her husband's mental state following the incident.
"He was just devastated," she said.
Mr Keil argued it was an unusual case because the incident happened on a sporting ground.
But Judge Punshon said the courts had made it clear in recent years that it was a serious offence that usually resulted in imprisonment.
andypipkin
11 Oct 2006, 19:44
hj, what chance is wharfy of returning now he has left his post as developement officer at the pioneers, and is running his own business????
BAR FRIDGE
11 Oct 2006, 22:48
So who retired so far: Peter Molony, Grinton, Bar fridge?
Some would say i've been retired for years young Nesko you cheeky little bugger! If i retire now who's going to watch your back next year when you step up and play with the big boys! I better have one more year mate and chase that elusive flag, you never no Mounts and Colbo may get sick of winning them at some stage. Grints and Big Pete would be quite welcome at our club if they wanted to have one more year!:)
hj, what chance is wharfy of returning now he has left his post as developement officer at the pioneers, and is running his own business????
50/50
Just copped a pay out on the RDFL 2007 thread lads by the Free Press sports reporter - seems some people think the RDFL is a better standard than the Heathcote league :(
matt_nicholls
12 Oct 2006, 11:15
Just copped a pay out on the RDFL 2007 thread lads by the Free Press sports reporter - seems some people think the RDFL is a better standard than the Heathcote league :(
Just my opinion Doona, I'm sure most RDFL people would believe theirs is better, and the same for HDFL people. From observation of both league's I rate the Riddell League a little better, having said that I haven't played in the Heathcote League. As for a pay out, I hardly think that is an appropriate description of what I said.
On The Money
12 Oct 2006, 12:10
Just my opinion Doona, I'm sure most RDFL people would believe theirs is better, and the same for HDFL people. From observation of both league's I rate the Riddell League a little better, having said that I haven't played in the Heathcote League. As for a pay out, I hardly think that is an appropriate description of what I said.
pffh wouldn't think it would be a patch on the Heathcote league not the same calibre of players in the Riddell. Fevealeki, Waters, Angwin, Lock, Hill, Carter, Ryan, Dobson, Newth, Geary the list rolls on
blackbeard
12 Oct 2006, 12:39
Who is this Squid????? U poor misinformed simpleton. I pity you, I really pitty you.
blackbeard
12 Oct 2006, 12:41
Hey HJ or Sars, Any news on tills sentencing? Brought the Addy today and couldn't find anything. Do you know when it is?
Joeyboy
12 Oct 2006, 13:10
A little better??? Obviously your not familiar with the HDFL mate, you should research alot better before you go posting waffle like that again. The HDFL is by far a superior league to the Riddell, alaways has been always will be, end of story.