View Full Version : Heathcote District FL
Bronco Billy
24 Nov 2006, 12:06
You are one f u c ked up emu!!!
Hey Emu you are an absolute goose! As if walking in with the bowler and then back to your psoition would be difficult. I am sure if you exerted yourself fully in both cricket and football then football would twice as demanding.
A lot more demanding Id reckon - no news from Heathcote yet, spoke with their number one trainer over lunch who said a decision aint be made yet.
scotywok
24 Nov 2006, 12:50
Back to the footy gents, has the league held the AGM and if so was there much introduced or discussed for 2007 :thumbsu:
The HDFL hold their AGM next Wednesday Night I'm led to believe.
good player out of luck
24 Nov 2006, 14:16
Re heathcote , very interesing no coach as yet, incoming president quoted during week that things have to change at heathcote as they have spent $3,000 per week to have a side on the park. he is keen to cut back on this figure.
Heard that byrne all but reappointed at lbu.
Re heathcote , very interesing no coach as yet, incoming president quoted during week that things have to change at heathcote as they have spent $3,000 per week to have a side on the park. he is keen to cut back on this figure.
Heard that byrne all but reappointed at lbu.
Would be very suprised by that GPOOL as things were not good at the end of the year. Perhaps they have mended their bridges. Milligan was the hot tip for that job a few days ago.
old saint
24 Nov 2006, 14:38
A lot more demanding Id reckon - no news from Heathcote yet, spoke with their number one trainer over lunch who said a decision aint be made yet.
head trainer at the saints would have to be "nooks" reid, if he doesnt know then nobody does.
oldmanemu
24 Nov 2006, 14:58
OK I concede emu i had forgotten how physically intense walking was........what do you weigh mate coz i reckon that would be why you quit cricket if walking was getting too physically demanding:D
I was actually a keeper but i did have a bowl occasionally and because i wasnt an opener i didnt bat all day. GET ON THE TREADMILL EMU!!
anyway thats enough of that fun and games whats happening in the footy world?? Anybody started training yet?
hahaha. do you know me or something?????
I quit cricket though when I was 20, due to moving to Bendigo, as well as being bored with the game. Was fit, weighed about 75kg back then. I would guarantee none of you are quick, opening bowlers, that have had to bowl 20 or more overs. If you haven't, then you don't know what you are talking about. In footy if you are tired, you can come off and sit down. Can't do that in cricket.
To TruthHurts, who didn't answer my question about where he played footy or cricket - I played cricket at Tallangatta and played in an A grade premiership when I was 16 and was a bowler. Played footy at Calivil but that was 12/13 years ago. Since I sit on my arse all day at work I have hit triple figures on the scales, but have still been able to fill in over the past couple of years at Mounts for a quarter or two!!
To the others who have bagged me as well - footy is demanding, I have no qualms about that, but cricket at a decent level is as well. I'm not talking about just fielding, and probably didn't make this clear so that is my fault, but being a bowler you need to be as fit as any footballer running around.
If you don't like it, this is my opinion, which I am entitled to. You are also entitled to yours, but to go around calling people soft and a goose on the internet is a bit childish. I can take it and have put up with more ******** that anyone here can dish up.
bloodhound!
24 Nov 2006, 15:23
I quit cricket though when I was 20, due to moving to Bendigo, as well as being bored with the game. Was fit, weighed about 75kg back then. I would guarantee none of you are quick, opening bowlers, that have had to bowl 20 or more overs. If you haven't, then you don't know what you are talking about. In footy if you are tired, you can come off and sit down. Can't do that in cricket.
To TruthHurts, who didn't answer my question about where he played footy or cricket - I played cricket at Tallangatta and played in an A grade premiership when I was 16 and was a bowler. Played footy at Calivil but that was 12/13 years ago. Since I sit on my arse all day at work I have hit triple figures on the scales, but have still been able to fill in over the past couple of years at Mounts for a quarter or two!!
To the others who have bagged me as well - footy is demanding, I have no qualms about that, but cricket at a decent level is as well. I'm not talking about just fielding, and probably didn't make this clear so that is my fault, but being a bowler you need to be as fit as any footballer running around.
If you don't like it, this is my opinion, which I am entitled to. You are also entitled to yours, but to go around calling people soft and a goose on the internet is a bit childish. I can take it and have put up with more ******** that anyone here can dish up.
Fair enough emu good stuff there retaliating with a bit of a bouncer! we are all entitled to our opinions but i just dont ever remember Merv Hughes looking that fit or like he could run out a quarter of footy in any position;)
You've got me worried now tho because i have a desk job and really dont want to get into triple figures:eek:
TuskenRaider
24 Nov 2006, 15:31
You're fighting a losing battle emu.
Everyone's entitled to their opinion, but I'm afraid the vast majority aren't going to agree with you on this one, especially when as an example you say a football player can have a rest if he's tired whereas a cricketer can't. I'd argue he can - as a cricketer you've obviously heard of fine leg, it's hardly strenuous down there. Not many bowlers I know of ever bowl even 10 overs in a row, especially in local cricket.
You're simply wasting your time comparing the two, just leave it.
Back to football.
You're fighting a losing battle emu.
Everyone's entitled to their opinion, but I'm afraid the vast majority aren't going to agree with you on this one, especially when as an example you say a football player can have a rest if he's tired whereas a cricketer can't. I'd argue he can - as a cricketer you've obviously heard of fine leg, it's hardly strenuous down there. Not many bowlers I know of ever bowl even 10 overs in a row, especially in local cricket.
You're simply wasting your time comparing the two, just leave it.
Back to football.
The mediator has arrived.....
Truth Hurts
24 Nov 2006, 15:35
You can smoke my poll before i answer any of your questions...
I'm a bowler also, have bowled more than 20 overs in a match on many occasions.... cricket = walk in the park, footy = hard if you aren't very fit, like myself.
Quit because its "too hot" = soft
Just my opinion.
both sports require different fitness levels.
for example, mark taylor and david boon had enough fitness to play at the highest level of cricket for a long time and were consistant scorers but their fitness levels would not of been high enough to play top level football(afl)
you have to be fit to be a car racing driver but i bet they cant run far at a decent speed.
top level cricket pre-season is hard compared lower level cricket but not comparitive with equal standard sports.
You can smoke my poll before i answer any of your questions...
I'm a bowler also, have bowled more than 20 overs in a match on many occasions.... cricket = walk in the park, footy = hard if you aren't very fit, like myself.
Quit because its "too hot" = soft
Just my opinion.
20 overs of spinners and in the bush leagues somewhere? People who say it is a rest at fine leg are mistaken. In the field you are in the game ALWAYS... Cricket is not a walk in the park at a decent standard eg. Bendigo A grade...
bloodhound!
24 Nov 2006, 16:27
20 overs of spinners and in the bush leagues somewhere? People who say it is a rest at fine leg are mistaken. In the field you are in the game ALWAYS... Cricket is not a walk in the park at a decent standard eg. Bendigo A grade...
Is that what the captain tells you each week when he puts you down at fine leg is it graffy? ;)
zakster
24 Nov 2006, 17:16
anyone a chance out there in this leag now that mounts have snaffled brownie and a couple of other handy flat players elmore didn't give a yelp grand final day fevver was a big chubster who hardly fired a shot
Wayne Weideman
24 Nov 2006, 20:46
bit of a rumour floating around is julian lake of south bendigo maybe on the move to elmore. best mates with macca mckern and has other good mates who play out there. if he does end up at elmore and is fit with no niggles he would be a great pick up for the bloods, hard at the nut which is what elmore need more of. go bloods:thumbsu:
Hi Weed,
Elmore have been the most dissapointing club in HDFL history. Weak, infighting pack of rodents the comp have ever seen. Had no chance of beating Colbo or Mounts in finals. HDFL league clubs must look hard at themselves. If you keep giving westley, lececk, cluff, cail, mckearn, longford money and any support, keeping handing the flags to mounts and colbo as they seem to be the only clubs with structure, get a life bloods
Players who are fair dinkum about footy, should be able to have the initiative and self-discipline to keep themselves fit over summer.
Mounts don't usually start proper training until mid-late January each year, with maybe one run before christmas for a family/meet the coaches day, so I think that's a pretty good guide.
@nesko - perhaps your quote outlines the thinking at LBU......
"Also I think players may burn out by round 1 and not have the hunger, they just get sick of footy. " ;)
Old Man
The most profesional combination in HDFL was the threepeat performance of Wilson @ Colbo. Manufactured 3 flags by managing the list. Remember public that white Hills were fav but lost due to be poorly coached ant the right time of the season in 04. Managing the list by a player manager wins the cup
nesko_25
25 Nov 2006, 17:55
@nesko - perhaps your quote outlines the thinking at LBU......
"Also I think players may burn out by round 1 and not have the hunger, they just get sick of footy. " ;)
Sorry guys I've just spent a couple of days down the coast. OME, I've played at a standard a lot higher than HDFL and we started pre-season in november and had 2 trainings a week. Hard trainings (also got a training guide for the break, running/swimming/riding or weights 3 times a week) and by the time of our first game majority of the players were mentally exausted.
That has nothing to do with LBU it was just my opinion O.K? You dont know anything about the club.
Also I'm sorry for bringing up the physical needs of cricket, it was a general comment but if any of you know anything about physical fitness or studied it you would have heard of the "Stages of change model". If somebody has done footy training 2 times a week (pre-season in late jan) and a game they would come under the "Maintenance" cateogory and to stay at this level all they have to do it do some sort of physical activity 3-5 times a week.
Old Man
The most profesional combination in HDFL was the threepeat performance of Wilson @ Colbo. Manufactured 3 flags by managing the list. Remember public that white Hills were fav but lost due to be poorly coached ant the right time of the season in 04. Managing the list by a player manager wins the cup
Takes a bit more than just player managment to win a grand final Row5 have you ever heard of Teamwork, displine, passion just to name a few?
I'd have to disagree with you on the most profesional combination as well mounts played in 6 grand finals in a row in the early 80's and lost 1.
That name Al Meldrum keeps getting brought up in the same sentences as the words Heathcote and coach . . . was told this morning that a Romsey guy that may have won their goalkicking has the job :confused:
punters123
26 Nov 2006, 11:45
That name Al Meldrum keeps getting brought up in the same sentences as the words Heathcote and coach . . . was told this morning that a Romsey guy that may have won their goalkicking has the job :confused:
Tell you now he does not want job as his two mates who heathcote wanted as well are not coming . Club is in diarray no coach as yet and smith is going back to Melb.
blues12
26 Nov 2006, 11:51
Tell you now he does not want job as his two mates who heathcote wanted as well are not coming . Club is in diarray no coach as yet and smith is going back to Melb.
why are these 2 blokes not coming now, is it possible that meldrum will stay at romsey and these 2 might go there instead.
Is Smith the club's link to it's outa town players? Good club Heathcote lets hope an announcement is made shortly then if Meldrum is outa the equation. He did have an interview though???
body & soul
26 Nov 2006, 12:29
Is Smith the club's link to it's outa town players? Good club Heathcote lets hope an announcement is made shortly then if Meldrum is outa the equation. He did have an interview though???
alistar meldrum is on board at heathcote! spoke to 1 of their players last night! some people on this thread really have no idea whats going on they just speculate.. but i heard this from a player so id say its a done deal..
punters123
26 Nov 2006, 14:41
why are these 2 blokes not coming now, is it possible that meldrum will stay at romsey and these 2 might go there instead.
They are brothers and play with him, if they dont come he wont come. Looks like W. Bell will have to do the job.
On The Money
26 Nov 2006, 16:51
Wouldn't think the Saints are in Dissaray gained a player who is known to be a quality player as Coach in Meldrum and look like maintaining the guts of the list.
I did hear that a couple of ex- Heathcote players that have been away from the club are thinking about playing at another H.D.F.L Club in 2007.
Dirk Diggler
26 Nov 2006, 22:48
yeah spot on on the money i hear that steve and shane cox are gonna play for colbo too
old saint
27 Nov 2006, 07:48
yeah spot on on the money i hear that steve and shane cox are gonna play for colbo too
whats the connection with the cox brothers & colbo ?
dunno about the cox brothers, but there are a few former premiership players who have committed to season 07 with the hoppers.
bloodhound!
27 Nov 2006, 08:19
Hi Weed,
Elmore have been the most dissapointing club in HDFL history. Weak, infighting pack of rodents the comp have ever seen. Had no chance of beating Colbo or Mounts in finals. HDFL league clubs must look hard at themselves. If you keep giving westley, lececk, cluff, cail, mckearn, longford money and any support, keeping handing the flags to mounts and colbo as they seem to be the only clubs with structure, get a life bloods
First of all Elmore didnt need to worry about beating Colbo in this years finals and we did beat mounts in the first final we played at Heathcote so to say we had no chance of beating either of those two teams is misinformed. In my WHOLE time at elmore and in all my times around football at various clubs elmore is the club with the LEAST amount of infighting i have ever seen. Everyone there is united and on the same page. How else do you think a side with a fair few people that had never played together made the grand final. Its the culture of the club tht is all about everyone being a part of something.
As for those players you have mentioned Brian Westly is one of the Best examples of leadership i have ever seen, yes he used to be undisciplined but in the last 3 years he has taken that right out of the game and has averaged over 30 possessions a game coming of a back flank is held in the highest regard by everyone at the club. Bill Longford may be undisciplined at times but puts in countless hours at the club organises almost every social function at the club and gives his all as a player. Simon Cluff is one of the most gifted footballers i have seen and i have known him since he was a kid. He is injury prone at the moment but that bloke is targeted every week coz of his size and has learnt to protect himself and dish it out which upsets a few of you out there and did a great job as assisstant coach. Cam Cail similar to Brian great leader and a hard player cant wait to have him back next year.
Again another uneducated comment by someone who knows nothing about the club and what its players get paid and has nothing to contribute to this site other than club bashing. YOU ARE A JOKE ROW5
scotywok
27 Nov 2006, 08:25
dunno about the cox brothers, but there are a few former premiership players who have committed to season 07 with the hoppers.
Good to hear from ya HJ. Who are the Premiership players you mentioned?
Luke Hill is back at the club which will bolster the midfield. He's played the last 3 yrs at Newtown in the Geelong league. Billy Odgen is aiming at a comeback after 2 yrs out of the game post ankle reco, and Damian Ellis is also on the comback trail after shoulder surgery and a couple of yrs stint with Rochester.
bloodhound!
27 Nov 2006, 10:01
Disappointing to see Grant Weeks didnt get drafted. From what i saw of him he seemed a hugely talented player with a fair bit of go in him. Hopefully for him and the Colbo faithful he gets picked up in the rookie draft. Always good to see people from your league make it in the big time regardless of what club they are from.
Anyone from colbo know if he is a shot at the rookie draft??
patty O'furnicha
27 Nov 2006, 10:54
Luke Hill is back at the club which will bolster the midfield. He's played the last 3 yrs at Newtown in the Geelong league. Billy Odgen is aiming at a comeback after 2 yrs out of the game post ankle reco, and Damian Ellis is also on the comback trail after shoulder surgery and a couple of yrs stint with Rochester.
HJ, Hope your weekend was super!
Just read on one of the ammo's threads that Sammy Hill is playing down there next year at West Brunswick? is that a done deal?
HJ, Hope your weekend was super!
Just read on one of the ammo's threads that Sammy Hill is playing down there next year at West Brunswick? is that a done deal?
not a clue mate, as far as im aware, Sammy will be in colbo colors again in 2007.
Disappointing to see Grant Weeks didnt get drafted. From what i saw of him he seemed a hugely talented player with a fair bit of go in him. Hopefully for him and the Colbo faithful he gets picked up in the rookie draft. Always good to see people from your league make it in the big time regardless of what club they are from.
yeah it was a bit of a shame bhound, id say he will go into the rookie draft. I suppose he may have missed out due to a broken foot that didn't heal (no pun intended) properly and he was unable to attend the draft camp and do all the work. Was strutting around with a moon boot on for a while but aparently made it worse. He's been down at Bendigo Bombers training, but is still out of action at this stage.
[QUOTE=patty O'furnicha;6296538]HJ, Hope your weekend was super!
QUOTE]
oh and yeah my weekend was super, I did nothing but fluff around home and watch the cricket, finishing off with a little gas attack last nite with my old mate KR Gould.
Massive weekend approaching though for HJ32 ;)
Geez Coxy and Bocca must be getting on
Only connection i can think of in relation to this rumor is that Bocca plays cricket at Bendigo United with a couple of colbo footballers.
nesko_25
27 Nov 2006, 12:51
Was a bit unlucky for Weeka, bit to slow to play as a rover and not big enough to play as a KPP. Dare say he will get picked up in rookie draft. Very modest bloke but few clubs interested. I better be careful of what I say as he does float around and read the threads.
Be careful what you say??? ohhh gee thanks for the warning!! wouldn't want to offend anyone!
Who cares!
nesko_25
27 Nov 2006, 14:05
Be careful what you say??? ohhh gee thanks for the warning!! wouldn't want to offend anyone!
Who cares!
You are a ********er, Grant is a mate of mine and I dont want to offend him, you be nice to your friends, which I'm sure you know nothing about since your only friend is woogi and the people who drop their smoke butts. I'm sure he wont care what you say, nobody does.
How's the flat going I hear they are looking to join the LVFL and are hoping to win a game or 2 next year.
patty O'furnicha
27 Nov 2006, 14:38
[quote=patty O'furnicha;6296538]HJ, Hope your weekend was super!
QUOTE]
oh and yeah my weekend was super, I did nothing but fluff around home and watch the cricket, finishing off with a little gas attack last nite with my old mate KR Gould.
Massive weekend approaching though for HJ32 ;)
very low key indeed, just finishing off your weekend with a ritual few beers with KR. the end of an era some would say. All the best mate.
And keep me posted if you hear anything on Hilly as he may line up on me if he decides to leave colbo.
scotywok
27 Nov 2006, 16:34
Get a laugh at the latest rumour I've heard, been wetting myself all weekend since hearing this one of Saturday from a Saints source that Big Show, Jacko, Hirdy, Mannix and Joffa are heading down south to play at the Roos. The source while a little unreliable when on the gas, said this was gold and at the time had yet to have any of the amber substance within his body or arms length.:D
Can't say Ive heard that one . . . . although I could have one guess at the source who likes to gee me up and is known for late night phone calls.
On The Money
27 Nov 2006, 19:03
My mail has Cunningham and Hird a realistic chance while Mannix is keen to play senior footy.
i heard from sum1 else now that dalton has signed at elmore for 750 large one's.
regardless of the amount if elmore has signed dalton then they are not doing themselves any justice.
overcreek
27 Nov 2006, 20:01
i heard from sum1 else now that dalton has signed at elmore for 750 large one's.
regardless of the amount if elmore has signed dalton then they are not doing themselves any justice.
thats seems way to out there to be true
anyone know when clearances start? jan or feb?
Frankenreiter
27 Nov 2006, 20:35
Is that Justin Hird - if so, he would be a good pick-up. Did he play anywhere this year?
nesko_25
27 Nov 2006, 21:38
Every1 is also saying that Dalton has signed in the EDFL. Adam does have relations in Elmore, Locky and Rochy so does have alot of family up this way.
If he was to play in the HDFL I couldnt see him playing for any1 other than mounts, after all thats were he got a premiership medel and mounts would have to clear him to Elmore and I doubt if the mountain men would ever do that.
On The Money
27 Nov 2006, 22:00
Is that Justin Hird - if so, he would be a good pick-up. Did he play anywhere this year?
Yer Frankie it's Justin Hird I don't believe he played this season based in Melbourne now.
scotywok
28 Nov 2006, 08:41
My mail has Cunningham and Hird a realistic chance while Mannix is keen to play senior footy.
This rumour seems to gathering some strength OTM, but there is little if no chance that any of those mentioned in the rumour will be at Roo park next season.
scotywok
28 Nov 2006, 08:45
Can catgorically deny this rumour ablett. Adam and his mate Robbie Powell have both signed at Maribyrnong Park in the EDFL for somewhere around the equivalent amount of coin.
Couldn't see Mounts clearing him to Elmore or anywhere else in this comp as well. But it could make for interesting viewing should he line up against the Mountain Men.
blues12
28 Nov 2006, 09:22
thats seems way to out there to be true
anyone know when clearances start? jan or feb?
clearances open feb 1st
This rumour seems to gathering some strength OTM, but there is little if no chance that any of those mentioned in the rumour will be at Roo park next season.
Did my little mate Joffa mention this as I had one of his infamous late night calls from Benny Knights engagement party on Satdy night? Joffa was coming to Yea the past 4 seasons also and never fronted . . . . . so this will be another believe it when it happens thing.
bloodhound!
28 Nov 2006, 11:03
Did my little mate Joffa mention this as I had one of his infamous late night calls from Benny Knights engagement party on Satdy night? Joffa was coming to Yea the past 4 seasons also and never fronted . . . . . so this will be another believe it when it happens thing.
Haha i actually know Joffa and that definitely sounds like something he would do. Spoke to Hirdy recently as well and he didnt mention anything about going to broady when we talked footy but it may be a development of the last few days/weeks
Played a bit of rep footy with Hirdy when we were in the 3rds, very good player and will be handy wherever he lobs.
There's a group of us that feel somewhat repsonsible for the unleashing the beast that is Joffa, following a now infamous week at Bendigo Country Week where as a 15-16 year old he became one of the legends of SDCA for that memorable tour of duty :thumbsu:
diggidog
28 Nov 2006, 13:36
Ha ha doon, sounds like joff for sure! pretty good mates with him myself, but now you bring that infamous country week up, i can recall playing against seymour at kennington that year and you were batting and a big dumb bowler (hint: a ruckman who has had more clubs than woodsy!) thought he would mouth (more like threaten) the doona! Joff tells me there is more to that story that may have occured on the thursday night on the turps!!!!
scotywok
28 Nov 2006, 16:32
You would be right, my source was the one and only ....
Ha ha doon, sounds like joff for sure! pretty good mates with him myself, but now you bring that infamous country week up, i can recall playing against seymour at kennington that year and you were batting and a big dumb bowler (hint: a ruckman who has had more clubs than woodsy!) thought he would mouth (more like threaten) the doona! Joff tells me there is more to that story that may have occured on the thursday night on the turps!!!!
Ha ha yeah thats right had words with Big Al Morris that day - think I was still emotional about the day he spat at my idol Steve "Whale" Pannell up at Elmore. Also think I was surprised at the pace (lack of) he generated from that lenghty run up . . . . more like admiration coz after 4-5 nights on the gas we were all well and truly off the short run ups by then.
Now Im entrigued, geez that Thursday was against Northern United C.C. or Campaspe from memory, sorry but I cant quite remember, especially since our earliest to bed was about 4am for the week . . . . good times!!!
Allan was a bit older than me, but lets be honest was a pretty damn good ruckman in the HDFL in his day, does he still play?
aker2dogs
28 Nov 2006, 20:21
Yeah I have been reading that on the GV thread, was wondering if it was true. You were saying you'll start pre-season in dec and see how many locals are keen then start recruiting. Have you got most locals on board? I wish you all the best Doona as I can very confidently say you have the best group of 17-21 year olds, I just hope you hold onto them as it will be good for the comp and the reputation of the league.
hey nesko mate, just wondering on your opinion (or anyone else) on colbo's group of 15-21 year olds.. i can confidently say that they would run rings around broadford's.
ben johnson, blair mccormick, tim hill, sam hill, tom hill, seth hill, sam vale, darcy gorman, hugh barlow, jake weppner, hadleigh sirett, kev bloom, jarod ryan just off the top of my head, all capable of playing senior footy next year.
BAR FRIDGE
28 Nov 2006, 21:02
Ha ha yeah thats right had words with Big Al Morris that day - think I was still emotional about the day he spat at my idol Steve "Whale" Pannell up at Elmore. Also think I was surprised at the pace (lack of) he generated from that lenghty run up . . . . more like admiration coz after 4-5 nights on the gas we were all well and truly off the short run ups by then.
Now Im entrigued, geez that Thursday was against Northern United C.C. or Campaspe from memory, sorry but I cant quite remember, especially since our earliest to bed was about 4am for the week . . . . good times!!!
Allan was a bit older than me, but lets be honest was a pretty damn good ruckman in the HDFL in his day, does he still play?
Yeah Doon! Big Als still having a kick. He's been playing with Pyramid Hill in the Lodden Valley FL the past 3 seasons, they got rolled by Calivil in this years granny after finishing on top. Before that he was playing up in Canberra somewhere for a few years, but like diggidog said he's had more clubs than Woodsy! I played against him about 10 years ago when he won a league medal playing for Kerang in the old Northern and Echuca FL, not a bad player, good tap ruckman strong mark but had one of the most awkward kicking styles i've seen for a while! James Manson eat your heart out!!! Not a bad bloke but a bit of a loose cannon at times!
On The Money
28 Nov 2006, 21:26
Yeah Doon! Big Als still having a kick. He's been playing with Pyramid Hill in the Lodden Valley FL the past 3 seasons, they got rolled by Calivil in this years granny after finishing on top. Before that he was playing up in Canberra somewhere for a few years, but like diggidog said he's had more clubs than Woodsy! I played against him about 10 years ago when he won a league medal playing for Kerang in the old Northern and Echuca FL, not a bad player, good tap ruckman strong mark but had one of the most awkward kicking styles i've seen for a while! James Manson eat your heart out!!! Not a bad bloke but a bit of a loose cannon at times!
Pyramid Hill actually got Al Morris from Eaglehawk where he played in 2003 and 2004. He has been based in Canberra for the past few years and flown home for games.
Just on Pyramid Hill some might be interested to know that Phil Birchmore Assistant Coach of North Bendigo in 2005 is meant to be Coaching the Lodden Valley Dogs in 2007.
body & soul
28 Nov 2006, 21:52
how are our ur grounds holding up? its gona be a ******* hot summer and with little resources for water what will clubs do. we will be fine at elmore but input from other clubs would be useful so we will know what the bloods will be up against in 07 when on the road.
jobbytonny
28 Nov 2006, 22:27
Hey Doona you have been a little bit quiet on whos playing at broadbean this year just quietly going about your business you have to give us somthing anything ******** mate make it up and knowing the SDCA you blokes would have been lucky to see the ball come Thursday
BAR FRIDGE
28 Nov 2006, 22:33
Pyramid Hill actually got Al Morris from Eaglehawk where he played in 2003 and 2004. He has been based in Canberra for the past few years and flown home for games.
Just on Pyramid Hill some might be interested to know that Phil Birchmore Assistant Coach of North Bendigo in 2005 is meant to be Coaching the Lodden Valley Dogs in 2007.
Forgot about Eaglehawk OTM! Just another one of his old clubs!!! I think he may of had a stint with South Bendigo back in the late 90's as well! I heard he had put in for the coaching job at the Hill so he may be a little upset if Phil has got the job! Although it would be hard to coach if still based in Canberra!
Obe Wan
28 Nov 2006, 23:08
Any news on the 3 Bendigo clubs Huntly, North Bendigo or White Hills. I have heard that 1 of the 3 grounds are in pretty good nick the other 2 are like a ROAD!
BAR FRIDGE
29 Nov 2006, 08:43
Three handy players there HJ! All tasted premiership glory! Elsy a quality CHB, lets hope he can have a full year of footy injury free! Billy a 7 foot wingman who can play anywhere and Butch Hill who is an absolute gun! Played with him about 4 years ago when we flogged the pants off the Lodden Valley! Not the quickest player but knows how to get the pill and uses it well. Gun bloke to. If you can keep the same list as last year HJ with these inclusions and possibly a couple of others, you guys wont be far away!
oldmanemu
29 Nov 2006, 09:04
Any news on the 3 Bendigo clubs Huntly, North Bendigo or White Hills. I have heard that 1 of the 3 grounds are in pretty good nick the other 2 are like a ROAD!
Unfortunately Huntly's ground is a disgrace. When we played there last year, admittedly it poured rain, but their were lakes everywhere and no grass at all. The council have totally stuffed it up when they make it bigger and "levelled it out". Should have been left alone as there was nothing wrong with it.
White Hills ground is also as hard as a rock. Prelim final day was a shocker.
North's ground wasn't too bad in footy season but dunno what it's like now.
I guess this is just a sign of things to come really. Sporting events will need to take a backseat or clubs will need to install half a dozen or so water tanks before next summer to help them with water. It's like people complaining that pools will be shut down over summer in Bendigo. Now, do you people want to swim, or have something to drink and use at home???
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 09:13
i spose white hills will be in luck, thanks to the " super pipe" running past the ground along the creek bed. rumour is the ground will start to be watered from late feb or early march
matt_nicholls
29 Nov 2006, 10:12
Here's a good story for you fella's
(Mitchell Shire residents didn't get this story in full in The Free Press, only readers of the Romsey/Lancefield edition did).
Meldrum leaves Redbacks
by Matt Nicholls
ROMSEY’S hopes of winning the Riddell District Football League premiership in 2007 have been dealt a massive blow, after skipper Alistair Meldrum was appointed as coach of Heathcote last week.
Meldrum’s appointment means that the Redbacks have lost three premiership players since the season ended, with Mark Strack and Brydon Morgan heading to Wangaratta and Diggers Rest respectively.
There is also strong speculation that Meldrum will bring team-mates Daniel and Luke Carroll to the Saints.
If the Carroll brothers join Meldrum at Heathcote and veteran forward Shaun Hunter retires as expected, it could mean that the Redbacks will start the season without six of their key players.
The losses are likely to sting newly appointed senior coaches Mark Dipietro and Darren Lingard, who have big plans for Romsey next year.
Although Dipietro and Lingard are speaking to a number of players to enlist next year, and are confident of recruiting well, they have a lot of holes to fill.
A two-time club best and fairest winner and winner of the RDFL’s best and fairest, the Bowen Medal, Meldrum is excited about the prospects of his first senior coaching role.
Heathcote president Andrew Conforti is also pleased the Saints were able to obtain Meldrum, believing he can lead the club from finals contenders to premiers.
“We’re thrilled that Alistair has come on board. We were desperate for a playing coach,” he said.
“We tried to sign him last year as a player, we see him as a very good prospect for Heathcote.”
After making the finals in the past two years in the Heathcote District League, the Saints will be desperate to win their first premiership since 1992, despite making the grand final seven years running between 1989 and 1995.
One bonus for Meldrum at Heathcote is that two fellow police officer friends, Dan O’Bree and Wayne Sanders, will stay at the club next year.
No doubt their presence was a big factor in getting Meldrum’s signature, who found it hard making the decision to leave Romsey.
While there is no doubt that Meldrum’s presence will be a positive for Heathcote, it is the question mark over Romsey’s 2007 season that has most people talking.
It’s going to take some good recruiting by Dipietro and Lingard if the Redbacks are to be a force next year.
The footy season is hotting up!
nesko_25
29 Nov 2006, 10:12
i spose white hills will be in luck, thanks to the " super pipe" running past the ground along the creek bed. rumour is the ground will start to be watered from late feb or early march
I know Colbo's ground is looking good and Elmore's is getting watered thanks to the pioneers.
nesko_25
29 Nov 2006, 10:33
hey nesko mate, just wondering on your opinion (or anyone else) on colbo's group of 15-21 year olds.. i can confidently say that they would run rings around broadford's.
ben johnson, blair mccormick, tim hill, sam hill, tom hill, seth hill, sam vale, darcy gorman, hugh barlow, jake weppner, hadleigh sirett, kev bloom, jarod ryan just off the top of my head, all capable of playing senior footy next year.
Ah aker..... Colbo do have a good young group but you know as well as I do that Seth Hill and Vale are at ACK next year and wont play much. Kev Bloom has no chance of playing seniors and Weppy, Hadders and Jarod were in and out of the 1s. Barlow does go alright but wasnt he in the 2s? Correct me if I'm wrong.
All the Hills are good, Butch will be a massive inclusion next year. Whats the go with Silly, is he on the move?
Broady have very good youngsters in Morgan, Duggan, Littlewood *2, then there was the underfeated 3rds team. Coomans (league skipper, B&F winner), Gillard (Calder), Williams, Simpson and Webb (Calder). Any1 else Doon? This is just my opinion Aker, I could say Elmore have the best youngters with Hayes and Fev or I could say LBU, Main, O'Brien, Bongy, Emmerson. So Aker what are your plans, playing wise next year?
Hey oldmanemu, are mounts holding onto the young fallas coming out of 3rds or are they heading back into Bendigo? Theres a bit of talent there.
MaxPower
29 Nov 2006, 13:14
Hi Weed,
Isnt Westly a convicted criminal? and that is who they have as a captain??? no wonder elmore are the way they are! a good leader doent go around belting up cops! what a ********er.
and whats the go with Cluff? is he sick or something??? looks like he has aids.
kip mcgrath
29 Nov 2006, 13:20
Isnt Westly a convicted criminal? and that is who they have as a captain??? no wonder elmore are the way they are! a good leader doent go around belting up cops! what a ********er.
and whats the go with Cluff? is he sick or something??? looks like he has aids.
i am a newbie to this thread, and am an elmore fan. wes is a good mate of mine and not sure he would like what you just wrote there maxxy, keep it clean mate
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 13:24
so what, he's not the first and he wont be last to do it. just one thing hes not a convicted criminal, he was found guilty in court but a conviction wasnt put on his record.
is that right bloodhound
bloodhound!
29 Nov 2006, 13:32
so what, he's not the first and he wont be last to do it. just one thing hes not a convicted criminal, he was found guilty in court but a conviction wasnt put on his record.
is that right bloodhound
Sure is andy no conviction there for wes and not something that needs to be discussed on this website by people who dont know all the facts but listen Max if you want to discuss any of that with Wes face to face you just let me know and il arrange a meeting for you and you can relay your thoughts directly to him......
I actually got a laugh out of the cluffy call but he's a very good friend of mine so i can. Not sure if you are mates with him Max are you??
kip mcgrath
29 Nov 2006, 13:37
how does the new coach of heathcote go as a player? what position does he play?
matt_nicholls
29 Nov 2006, 13:42
how does the new coach of heathcote go as a player? what position does he play?
Centre half forward. Captained Romsey last year. Club and league best and fairest winner. GUN
He and the Carroll brothers are massive recruits, Luke Carroll is one of the best wingers going around and Daniel can play anywhere, but is most dangerous on a half forward line.
Centre half forward. Captained Romsey last year. Club and league best and fairest winner. GUN
He and the Carroll brothers are massive recruits, Luke Carroll is one of the best wingers going around and Daniel can play anywhere, but is most dangerous on a half forward line.
Sure is gunna settle that RDFL vs HDFL banter from a while back, to see how well these RDFL guns go in the better going at HDFL level :p
a chf will take some pressure and realiance(spell check) off waters and smith.
they'll need another ruckman to replace conheady heading back to a swan hill club.
matt_nicholls
29 Nov 2006, 13:58
Sure is gunna settle that RDFL vs HDFL banter from a while back, to see how well these RDFL guns go in the better going at HDFL level :p
Riddell would have beaten Mount Pleasant this year. Simple as that. The HDFL is stronger overall, but the gun sides from both sides would have been about equal. Let's not go back to this! Haha.
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 14:01
i dont really think its fair either way to compare competitions unless you play them in an interleague match with everyone available. even then it is not a real indication i dont think, i remember 4 or 5 year ago when hdfl thumped the lvfl by about 10 goals. clearly our league is alot stronger than that
HDFL has there AGM tonight lads, any word on topics for discussion, possible positional changes at the top?
I reckon it's about time they bit the bullet and increased the age limit from 17's to 18's and get in line with the majority of the VCFL. Outa interest Id be keen to know how many leagues across the state have 17's compared to 18's?
Id like to see em approach the BFL and consider using the QEO as a grand final venue. Amazes me that so many minor leagues continue not to explore the possibility of their big day at a major venue.
Dont jump down me throat HJ32 and the Colbo faithful, just a thought :D
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 14:07
im with u doona, i really think we could showcase the granny in bendigo. from what i have seen of colbo, i loved playing on it, but why not move it into town, if not the qeo, wade st has got the facilities, now it just needs to get the ground in order. it could evn host the granny.
under 18's i think is the way to go doona, but not if your boys keep going the way there going doona
nesko_25
29 Nov 2006, 14:08
i dont really think its fair either way to compare competitions unless you play them in an interleague match with everyone available. even then it is not a real indication i dont think, i remember 4 or 5 year ago when hdfl thumped the lvfl by about 10 goals. clearly our league is alot stronger than that
Last year the HDFL flogged Golden rivers, they thought they had an awesome side and when I watched the game down at Ballarat I couldnt help but notice some of "our" guns were not playing. I think thats the reason why there was no inter-league match this year which is a shame.
Maybe someone can bring it up at a league meeting.
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 14:09
i thought the last interleague game was against lexton plains???
bloodhound!
29 Nov 2006, 14:09
HDFL has there AGM tonight lads, any word on topics for discussion, possible positional changes at the top?
I reckon it's about time they bit the bullet and increased the age limit from 17's to 18's and get in line with the majority of the VCFL. Outa interest Id be keen to know how many leagues across the state have 17's compared to 18's?
Id like to see em approach the BFL and consider using the QEO as a grand final venue. Amazes me that so many minor leagues continue not to explore the possibility of their big day at a major venue.
Dont jump down me throat HJ32 and the Colbo faithful, just a thought :D
I think minor leagues would find it tough to run an 18's comp in competition to the major leagues surrounding them. eg BFL and GVFL where the kids get more exposure in the higher standard.
I would love to see the GF held at the QEO. The MCDFL run there grand final at Princess Park in Maryborough and Each club gets a cut of the gate and they rotate the canteen and raffles and BBQ and beer tent every year. It would also gain a bit more exposure from the general public in and around Bendigo. Could only be a positive i reckon.
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 14:12
ablett,
from what i have been told eddy dickens was chased pretty hard by south, but from what i have told he will line up for white hills again. I would hop so anyway. he would probably be the most consistant player for white hills since 2001-2002. he is well liked around the club, and while i have no doubts he would be a fine player for south, i'd hope he stayed at white hills.
i've also been told that if he left, he'd return to dookie, where his father is el presidente
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 14:14
bloodhound, ben dyett the greedy f--k has about 40 on his lists each year, square are going the same way. surely some of the disheartened ones could find there way down the highway
I think minor leagues would find it tough to run an 18's comp in competition to the major leagues surrounding them. eg BFL and GVFL where the kids get more exposure in the higher standard.
I would love to see the GF held at the QEO. The MCDFL run there grand final at Princess Park in Maryborough and Each club gets a cut of the gate and they rotate the canteen and raffles and BBQ and beer tent every year. It would also gain a bit more exposure from the general public in and around Bendigo. Could only be a positive i reckon.
Exactly maximum exposure, and who knows a few Bendigo people might see how good a standard the HDFL has become, and then ya's all can pillage BFL clubs some more ;)
I dont think 18's would matter too much re: exposure. As Ive said to a few Broady kids tossing up about the GV 18's, if you aint in the respective squads (Bushies, Pioneers, Cannons) by now you're gunna be hard pressed anyway. There are other options once you're better developed, but for me 18's footy is 18's footy.
So why dont our clubs get selfish, and use the final years development for our own benefit, instead of losing these kids to BFL and GVFL just for the sake of one more year of junior footy
nesko_25
29 Nov 2006, 14:17
I wouldnt mind that Doona but I doubt alot of clubs will do for it, I think the reason why it isnt in place already it that Elmore, Colbo and Locky have under 14 sides in the GC comp and alot of parents dont want their kids going fromplying against kids their age in 14s to playing against young men in under 17s the gap is to big so they sent them off to play under 16s in rochy. mounts I'm guessing would be opossed maybe along with the other Bendigo clubs because they get their players from between the age groups that play in Bendigo and if they went to the same age groups there would be less juniors willing to play in the HDFL
ablett,
from what i have been told eddy dickens was chased pretty hard by south, but from what i have told he will line up for white hills again. I would hop so anyway. he would probably be the most consistant player for white hills since 2001-2002. he is well liked around the club, and while i have no doubts he would be a fine player for south, i'd hope he stayed at white hills.
i've also been told that if he left, he'd return to dookie, where his father is el presidente
Pretty sure Chas Dickens stood down a season or so ago, Virgina Boyd I think is Dookie's current president. Reading the PDFL and KDFL threads they have been rather aggressive in the recruiting thus far.
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 14:19
when i was running around in the under 17's years ago, alot of the boys left after that to go play 18's in bendigo. the problem was although not in any rep squads they belived to make it to them you had to play a major league, they were also told that. they need look no further than blokes like weeks, featherstone, bongiavanni, to realise, you can play country footy and still make the big boys
Off the Bench
29 Nov 2006, 14:20
a chf will take some pressure and realiance(spell check) off waters and smith.
they'll need another ruckman to replace conheady heading back to a swan hill club.
rumour has it the Smith is leaving too, can anyone confirm this?
andypipkin
29 Nov 2006, 14:20
my error, sorry doona
another good reason for the gf to be played at the qeo is there won't be any home ground advantage.
you would think the crowd would be bigger by attracting more bfl and lvfl supporters being in bendigo rather than colbo.
regarding the move from 17's to 18's.
one positive would be the kids that are 18 b4 or during the season can drive themselves and team mates taking a big strain off parents especially considering some of the distances travelled and the time of 3rd's games.
alot off hdfl clubs loose players purely just because they wan't to stay in the age group opposed to wanting to play in bfl 3rd's.
i think it bridges a big gap from just turning 17 to just turning 18 in meturity and body size.
andy, i also heard the dickens dad once played for sth and his father would like him to have season their too.
you should ask him, being a fellow teacher aswell.
nesko_25
29 Nov 2006, 14:25
i thought the last interleague game was against lexton plains???
Sorry Andy you're totally right
I dont think 18's would matter too much re: exposure. As Ive said to a few Broady kids tossing up about the GV 18's, if you aint in the respective squads (Bushies, Pioneers, Cannons) by now you're gunna be hard pressed anyway. There are other options once you're better developed, but for me 18's footy is 18's footy.
I know plenty of kids from this league that have went on to play rep footy. Grant Weeks under 15s-18s, Seth Hill under 15s, Sam Vale under 15s-16s (Colbo), Rob Tuohey under 15s-18s, Ryan Hayes under 16s-18s, Norm Kortum under 15s (Elmore), Matt Bongiovanni under 15s, Nat O'Brien under 15 and 18s? (LBU), Daniel Anderson under 16s-18s, Lech Featherston under 18s, Salidino under 15s-16s (Heathcote). There is also a kid from WH thats trying out this year.