View Full Version : Heathcote District FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

nesko_25
14 Dec 2006, 21:15
who won the locky thirds BnF?

Jayden Baldwin from Brent McMinn

andypipkin
15 Dec 2006, 08:24
how many fellas did you get to training last night bloodhound????

bloodhound!
15 Dec 2006, 14:57
how many fellas did you get to training last night bloodhound????

Last night was just a bit of a get together and a run. 15 blokes ran a few laps of the lake and had a bit of a kick. Training will begin in earnest Tuesday next week with another session on Thursday and a BBQ, then xmas break then back into it full on in early Jan.
Apparantly 2 new faces there last night no word if they are signed players or just having a train.

JGraf
15 Dec 2006, 17:08
What a crap post!

Is that all you can say? Very intelligent. I guess you are entitled to an opinion.

I have from very good authority before the game the man was extremely confident that his side would win. So I am just stating the facts sorry for even saying anything.

Mylo
15 Dec 2006, 17:48
Any news recruiting down south doona

Doona2
15 Dec 2006, 21:02
Any news recruiting down south doona

Nah got no one mate ;) Got any names for me?

On The Money
16 Dec 2006, 08:54
Doona is there any thruth to the rumour that loyal supporter ''David Green'' could be performing at Broadford home games in a Straunie type role for the club!! Some pundits believe that this could double or even triple home game gates for the Roos in 2007!!.

Doona2
16 Dec 2006, 09:49
Doona is there any thruth to the rumour that loyal supporter ''David Green'' could be performing at Broadford home games in a Straunie type role for the club!! Some pundits believe that this could double or even triple home game gates for the Roos in 2007!!.

The chicken man will have a role around the club of some description, think he is one of the gate boys, but Im sure any home game after about half time he's usually primed for a display of some sort.

body & soul
16 Dec 2006, 17:49
is there any truth in the rumour that wayne landry is heading to the saints in 2007? confirm/dismiss:confused:

jumpingjackflash
17 Dec 2006, 12:15
just heard Locky have signed ex Pioneers player Trent Williams. Ex echuca boy been travelling for past few years had a bad break in his leg a few years back but apparently is "fit as a fiddle" and raring to go. anyone know of him??

nesko_25
17 Dec 2006, 15:01
Speaking to Hayesy last night and I think he'll be staying at elmore next year.

Mylo
17 Dec 2006, 19:17
Talkin to a mounts bloke on the weekend, said they have a new 2's coach who played seniors at square and is gonna play at mounts too. Can anyone confirm who it is? Also big news down at saint land with Tim Gleeson rumoured to be thinking of donning the boots again after long term injury.

BAR FRIDGE
17 Dec 2006, 22:01
emu, think maybe you should have a look in your own back yard. you say a few grounds ain't much chop but tooleen isn't the greatest either pal. drought or no drought

Yeah fair call Andy i think, for a club that is reasonable well financial off i think sometimes they would be better off spending a bit of Mary's money on there ground/change rooms but it's there choice how they spend it i spose and good luck to them, but most dominent clubs in most leagues do generaly have the best facilities, not Mounts!

Trigga
17 Dec 2006, 22:42
Yeah fair call Andy i think, for a club that is reasonable well financial off i think sometimes they would be better off spending a bit of Mary's money on there ground/change rooms but it's there choice how they spend it i spose and good luck to them, but most dominent clubs in most leagues do generaly have the best facilities, not Mounts!

Mounts only play at the Toolleen, it's not there ground to do as they please with, all up grades would have to go through the toolleen rec reserve committee (from what i hear isn't that easy) and i know our ground isn't the best in the league but i don't think it's the worst, and why would we want money spent on the visitors change rooms? they only get used 8 times a year.

big Ton
18 Dec 2006, 09:27
is there any truth in the rumour that wayne landry is heading to the saints in 2007? confirm/dismiss:confused:

Wayne is heading over to Perth Sortly will NOT line upi for heathcote next year.

bobbill
18 Dec 2006, 21:38
News heard over the weekend Shane Gilchrist is to be Ass. Coach of north bendigo. Has spent the last three years playing seniors and being seconds coach at P/hill in loddon valley league.

On The Money
18 Dec 2006, 23:08
News heard over the weekend Shane Gilchrist is to be Ass. Coach of north bendigo. Has spent the last three years playing seniors and being seconds coach at P/hill in loddon valley league.

Yer good news for the Dogs I heard he may bring a few more with him too which will add some depth to the list. Retaining Smyth and Maloney will be a neccessity for the Dogs if they are too push to make the finals.
The Smyth to White Hills rumour hasn't gone away yet either.

bobbill
19 Dec 2006, 08:55
Yer good news for the Dogs I heard he may bring a few more with him too which will add some depth to the list. Retaining Smyth and Maloney will be a neccessity for the Dogs if they are too push to make the finals.
The Smyth to White Hills rumour hasn't gone away yet either.

Same person told me Smythe spoke to white hills last week and also spoke to north. Smythe has thrown his job in and told north that they have to find him a job to keep him at north, I dare say he told the same thing to white hills and he does not play for nothing either!!!
A bloke of 37 y.o should know better!!!

On The Money
19 Dec 2006, 09:45
Same person told me Smythe spoke to white hills last week and also spoke to north. Smythe has thrown his job in and told north that they have to find him a job to keep him at north, I dare say he told the same thing to white hills and he does not play for nothing either!!!
A bloke of 37 y.o should know better!!!

Sounds like he will be playing again which is good because he had a pretty good year. What does he do with himself workwise??

nesko_25
19 Dec 2006, 14:29
So boys its the biggest cricket game of the year on saturday, Locky v Bamawm. Who will win?

Bronco Billy
19 Dec 2006, 15:15
So boys its the biggest cricket game of the year on saturday, Locky v Bamawm. Who will win?

Who Cares nesko! Talk footy mate not some dud cricket match.

andypipkin
19 Dec 2006, 16:19
do you think the fact that the bendigo leaugue has been pushed back by about a month that it might eintice some players out to the heathcote league for the forthcoming season???

Doona2
19 Dec 2006, 16:37
do you think the fact that the bendigo leaugue has been pushed back by about a month that it might eintice some players out to the heathcote league for the forthcoming season???

Not long term, no doubt clubs will try and get a few blokes on permits until the BFL kicks off. Reckon there'd be a few blokes in the BFL who like the $$$$$ that have already looked into a few extra match payments until their comp kicks off.

gta3
19 Dec 2006, 17:18
Yeah sounds bout right Conrad, hopefully they can get up over Jezza! Broady will be good witrh Gillard, Webby and co still running around (if not cannons) and if Doona doesnt want them in the 1s

Gilard and webby are to old for under 17s and Gilard is the only person from Broadford at cannons, don't know where you heard that webby is there. Broadford under 17s wont even fill a side next year with only 5 players not too old from the premiership side still playing (Nash, walsh, A.hibbet only gun players still eligable) Most of the players from Broadford under 15s are going to play at kilmore under 16s next year or so they say. so if they do there wont be many players for the under 17s next year

BAR FRIDGE
19 Dec 2006, 20:13

Bamawm Banter to win there 5th VB title in 6 years easily! You'd be a Banter boy under the father son rule i reckon Nesko!
Back to the HDFL, is there any chance we might get pushed back a month as well or is it just the BFL?

On The Money
19 Dec 2006, 21:24
Bamawm Banter to win there 5th VB title in 6 years easily! You'd be a Banter boy under the father son rule i reckon Nesko!
Back to the HDFL, is there any chance we might get pushed back a month as well or is it just the BFL?

Sounds like a good day out for you Cats boys whats the format?

At this stage the league thinks they can stay on schedule with the possibility of playing games saty- sunday. it is thought Elmore, Colbo and possibly White Hills can be up and running which would be enough.

If players are thinking of starting the year in the HDFL they must get cleared as they are unable to step from a major league back to a minor on permits. Permits are allowed for minor league listed players playing with major league clubs.
If there is no BFL in the early rounds and it saty/sunday it could mean for some pretty big gates i'd think which would one positive out of a negative situation.

Bazil
20 Dec 2006, 09:37
Sounds like a good day out for you Cats boys whats the format?

At this stage the league thinks they can stay on schedule with the possibility of playing games saty- sunday. it is thought Elmore, Colbo and possibly White Hills can be up and running which would be enough.

If players are thinking of starting the year in the HDFL they must get cleared as they are unable to step from a major league back to a minor on permits. Permits are allowed for minor league listed players playing with major league clubs.
If there is no BFL in the early rounds and it saty/sunday it could mean for some pretty big gates i'd think which would one positive out of a negative situation.

Day usually involves starting at the Locky Hotel around 10 am, Late comers get shots as penalties.
Teams are split by zones or family/ friends ties ie - Bamawm = Bamawm Ext, Rochy ... And Locky - Pinegrove -Tennyson & both usually get Echuca players.
From memory last year was $35 all you can drink & bbq must have VB in hand while playing and only a 3 step run up for the bowler in a limited overs fixture. I think there was about 25 per side last year so gaps in the field are hard to find :D
Team that fields second are usually disadvantaged as no one is in any condition ( and can't be stuffed ) to field.
Then back to Locky Hotel for team photos/song and presentations.
Usually held Xmas eve day but given Xmas a Monday this year it is held on Saturday which will make quite a few family's happy as this day has ruined xmas lunch for quite a few.
Anyway.. lots of fun and nudity ( males unfortunately) and bashing of the outgoing batsmen.
Think official scorers are on the cards this year to try curb Locky Lingo's cheating.
Banter may have a training run at Locky Hotel tonight :D

Squeaky
20 Dec 2006, 13:14
That's a good summation there Baz,
Hit em hard at training tonight boy!
Who is organising the marquee?

nesko_25
20 Dec 2006, 15:48
Who Cares nesko! Talk footy mate not some dud cricket match.

Thats right Billy, no 1 cares! gta3 sorry i didnt mean Webby i ment Dave "Goath" Nash I think he played or tried out for under 16s. Dunne goes alright also.

Elmore had their first official training last night with a good turn up....5 players. Rex Bennent, Rick Smith, 2 guys I didnt know (dont think they were new recruits just fringe players) and Aggots Grant did show...

bloodhound!
20 Dec 2006, 15:53
Thats right Billy, no 1 cares! gta3 sorry i didnt mean Webby i ment Dave "Goath" Nash I think he played or tried out for under 16s. Dunne goes alright also.

Elmore had their first official training last night with a good turn up....5 players. Rex Bennent, Rick Smith, 2 guys I didnt know (dont think they were new recruits just fringe players) and Aggots Grant did show...

Yeah not a good turn out but its really not the right week to try and have everyone there and im sure bluey understands that the week leading up to xmas is a very busy 1 but he was just giving any guys who had the time the opportunity to train. Also alot of boys away on holidays or working away dosnt help
Should hpefully be more on Thursday night for a train and a xmas drink.

Hows everyone else' training going

MaxPower
21 Dec 2006, 07:37
Elmore had their first official training last night with a good turn up....5 players. Rex Bennent, Rick Smith, 2 guys I didnt know (dont think they were new recruits just fringe players) and Aggots Grant did show...[/quote]

Sounds more like a Poofters Convention than a training run there Nesko!!

bloodhound!
21 Dec 2006, 08:17

Sounds more like a Poofters Convention than a training run there Nesko!![/quote]

Isnt it funny that something that sounded like a "poofters convention" sparked your attention. Is there something your not telling us d....... i mean max.
I thought you might have a bit of sympathy for old elmore given that you blokes at square got pumped in this years grand final as well. How did you play in that game mate?

oldmanemu
21 Dec 2006, 08:32
Sounds more like a Poofters Convention than a training run there Nesko!!

Isnt it funny that something that sounded like a "poofters convention" sparked your attention. Is there something your not telling us d....... i mean max.
I thought you might have a bit of sympathy for old elmore given that you blokes at square got pumped in this years grand final as well. How did you play in that game mate?[/quote]

I thought max might be a bit nicer to Elmore too, considering Square might end up playing games out there on a Sunday, seeing Wade Street is resembling a cricket ground in India......:D

scotywok
21 Dec 2006, 09:00
Hows everyone else' training going

Popped in at training down here at roo land last night and noticed quite some handy numbers on the track, 38 was the count with two players watching from the side lines, taking the total number of players to have trained down here passed the 55 mark in the first seven sessions. Doon has given the players time off ove rthe festive season with training due to start back in early January I believe.:thumbsu:

Amongst the group training I noticed several faces that have returned to the club for the season and a few faces I've not seen before, but it look like Doon has got the nucleus for what could be side to be in finals contention.:)

Wok signing out for '06. All the best to everybody over the Holiday's.

Doona2
21 Dec 2006, 09:44
Popped in at training down here at roo land last night and noticed quite some handy numbers on the track, 38 was the count with two players watching from the side lines, taking the total number of players to have trained down here passed the 55 mark in the first seven sessions. Doon has given the players time off ove rthe festive season with training due to start back in early January I believe.:thumbsu:

Amongst the group training I noticed several faces that have returned to the club for the season and a few faces I've not seen before, but it look like Doon has got the nucleus for what could be side to be in finals contention.:)

Wok signing out for '06. All the best to everybody over the Holiday's.

54 players so far, a few of them thirds Wok but yeah repsonse has been good thus far. It means little this time a year though, but as long as the boys keep coming along when we return (Jan 17) we then can work at getting back into the top 5. Still no signings, plenty of enthusiastic young kids, a yeah a few locals returning, all in all has been totally Broadford boys which is great

Conrad
21 Dec 2006, 12:51
Hopefully the lingo can pull it off in the local cricket match this weekend. should be a ripper of a match and my bet is on who ever bats first.!!

TENN
21 Dec 2006, 14:48
Hopefully the lingo can pull it off in the local cricket match this weekend. should be a ripper of a match and my bet is on who ever bats first.!!

I'm sure if Lingo can keep S. Newth away from the score sheet it will be a comfortable victory for the locky boys once AGAIN!!...:D

Conrad
21 Dec 2006, 15:33
I'm sure if Lingo can keep S. Newth away from the score sheet it will be a comfortable victory for the locky boys once AGAIN!!...:D

Who will be the stars from each team do u think tenn?? whats the starting line ups

gta3
21 Dec 2006, 18:08
[quote=nesko_25;6426092]gta3 sorry i didnt mean Webby i ment Dave "Goath" Nash I think he played or tried out for under 16s. Dunne goes alright also.

Dave "Goath" Nash tried out for the murry bushrangers 16s side don't know if he made it though. Dunne is too old for the 17s as well. He is no way near as good as his brother though when he was that age

On The Money
21 Dec 2006, 18:29
[quote=nesko_25;6426092]gta3 sorry i didnt mean Webby i ment Dave "Goath" Nash I think he played or tried out for under 16s. Dunne goes alright also.

Dave "Goath" Nash tried out for the murry bushrangers 16s side don't know if he made it though. Dunne is too old for the 17s as well. He is no way near as good as his brother though when he was that age

What about the medal winner coomans does he look like making a TAC list.

Doona2
21 Dec 2006, 18:34
[quote=gta3;6432819]

What about the medal winner coomans does he look like making a TAC list. Coomans

Young Matt is staying at Broadford, unfortunately didnt get onto Calder's list. Wouldn't stress though, he'll get some more experience with the senior boys and he'll play a higher standard one day I reckon.

jez17
21 Dec 2006, 19:13
What about the medal winner Cooman's does he look like making a TAC list.
having played with and against coomans this year, i dont think he will get on any TAC team's list. dont get me wrong, great player and well deserved league medal winner, killed it all year, but i dont think at his current skill level he would be able to make it onto a TAC list just yet. in particular, if his kicking improved and he works hard on it then he could go far in the game. not saying hes not a bad player but thats my opinion after playing with and against Matt this year.

nesko_25
22 Dec 2006, 10:13
having played with and against coomans this year, i dont think he will get on any TAC team's list. dont get me wrong, great player and well deserved league medal winner, killed it all year, but i dont think at his current skill level he would be able to make it onto a TAC list just yet. in particular, if his kicking improved and he works hard on it then he could go far in the game. not saying hes not a bad player but thats my opinion after playing with and against Matt this year.

Good footy player, good bloke. Stands out because he breaks tackles and runs it from the centre, He wont make it onto a TAC cup list untill he can do this in a major leage, GVFL. In the HDFL he has a bigger frame than most and can bust through the packs and alot of people were afraid to lay tackles on him, if Doona can keep him I'm sure he'll go well in the ever improving Broady side!

Doona2
22 Dec 2006, 10:49
Good footy player, good bloke. Stands out because he breaks tackles and runs it from the centre, He wont make it onto a TAC cup list untill he can do this in a major leage, GVFL. In the HDFL he has a bigger frame than most and can bust through the packs and alot of people were afraid to lay tackles on him, if Doona can keep him I'm sure he'll go well in the ever improving Broady side!

Go easy on us Nesko, last time I looked at a HDFL ladder Broadford sat 6th and a with ball yet 2 b kicked in '07 so we're still sitting 6th :thumbsu:

Bronco Billy
22 Dec 2006, 12:40
Go easy on us Nesko, last time I looked at a HDFL ladder Broadford sat 6th and a with ball yet 2 b kicked in '07 so we're still sitting 6th :thumbsu:

Hey Doona any truth to the rumour that Baker is coming back to broady in 07

Copa Mundial
22 Dec 2006, 13:53
Have heard that former Sandhurst senior player Brenton Dillion will be playing at the Grasshoppers next year. Played seniors for Belmont down in Geelong last year and he can run like a hare, word is that he won the league grand final sprint while running bare feet. Has not signed on the dotted line but is as good as done.

Mylo
22 Dec 2006, 15:09
Just want to say congratulations on webby getting the ass. coaching job at yc. Gun player, gun bloke too. Will be sorely missed at mounts but hopefully back one day. Ah the Pirate!!

Bronco Billy
23 Dec 2006, 07:48
Just want to say congratulations on webby getting the ass. coaching job at yc. Gun player, gun bloke too. Will be sorely missed at mounts but hopefully back one day. Ah the Pirate!!

Hey Mylo, Catfish don't have kittens and eggs dont bounce! Wake up to yourself and smell tthe cheese,:eek:

On The Money
23 Dec 2006, 11:48
Hey Doona any truth to the rumour that Baker is coming back to broady in 07

A couple of things might prevent a Baker return to Broadford
1) I believe the league might have an agreement with the roos that he doesn't play at the club again &
2) I'm not sure he would fit into new coach Nolan's plans.

Mylo
23 Dec 2006, 18:00
Hey Mylo, Catfish don't have kittens and eggs dont bounce! Wake up to yourself and smell tthe cheese,:eek:

um..... ok dude

BAR FRIDGE
23 Dec 2006, 23:18
A couple of things might prevent a Baker return to Broadford
1) I believe the league might have an agreement with the roos that he doesn't play at the club again &
2) I'm not sure he would fit into new coach Nolan's plans.

I've played with and seen some good players, but pound for pound he's as good as I've ever seen, he enjoys a drop as we all do, but I hope one day he can return to the HDFL.

nesko_25
24 Dec 2006, 09:37
I've played with and seen some good players, but pound for pound he's as good as I've ever seen, he enjoys a drop as we all do, but I hope one day he can return to the HDFL.

Ah Fridgey what are you doin yet I thought you'd be at home by now. Well done to Banter on their efforts but once again THE MIGHTY LINGO WON. Was a messy messy night and it was good to meet the new coach, seems like a good bloke and knows what he's talking about.

On The Money
24 Dec 2006, 10:22

Gun player no doubt, 2 tons in the G.V speaks for itself.
Does anyone know what sort of season he had for West Preston this year?

hank1
24 Dec 2006, 10:37

Kicked another ton OTM i think. They finished fifth, only a final four.

Doona2
24 Dec 2006, 15:17

Reckon Bakes got 3 GVFL tons and a 95 when at Euroa, then booted 120 odd for Broady. He won the DVFL this season gone with about 80 odd.

Can't wait to see him back in the blue & white :thumbsu:

nesko_25
25 Dec 2006, 08:57
Merry X-Mas all, hope you have a good day, now its only about 2weeks till we really hit pre-season. Gotta work off all that food haha

On The Money
25 Dec 2006, 18:11
Merry X-Mas all, hope you have a good day, now its only about 2weeks till we really hit pre-season. Gotta work off all that food haha

Heard that Colbo could resume pre-season with Nick Knight having a run and considering stripping with the Grasshoppers. Heard he may have a romantic link out that way these days not sure of her name but think she drinks ''Tuoheys''.

nesko_25
25 Dec 2006, 20:29
Heard that Colbo could resume pre-season with Nick Knight having a run and considering stripping with the Grasshoppers. Heard he may have a romantic link out that way these days not sure of her name but think she drinks ''Tuoheys''.

I'd be very suprised if he went to hopper land. Has followed ex South Bendigo coach to Swanhill were he's on a bit of $$$ and they've got him a job. You would think he'd go back to Rochy beforew Colbo if he wasnt to play at SB

adidas preditor
25 Dec 2006, 20:45
I'd be very suprised if he went to hopper land. Has followed ex South Bendigo coach to Swanhill were he's on a bit of $$$ and they've got him a job. You would think he'd go back to Rochy beforew Colbo if he wasnt to play at SB

nesko i think the move up north for him is in the air at the minute, talked to him chrissie eve and has been offered good job in melbourne. we will have to wait and see. not sure he knows what he is doing. lol

Wayne Weideman
25 Dec 2006, 20:52
nesko i think the move up north for him is in the air at the minute, talked to him chrissie eve and has been offered good job in melbourne. we will have to wait and see. not sure he knows what he is doing. lol

he probably wasn't talking much sense chrissie eve though, as you said have to wait and see. he ain't that switched on.

BAR FRIDGE
26 Dec 2006, 23:27
he probably wasn't talking much sense chrissie eve though, as you said have to wait and see. he ain't that switched on.

Yeah fair call Weed, he's not that sharpest tool in shed! He's been up Locky way chasing Harold Holts Daughter on a number of occasions OTM, maybe he's found a better drop!:)

innocentbystander
28 Dec 2006, 18:28

Nick Knight signed with old club Rochester on boxing day I believe

On The Money
28 Dec 2006, 22:19
Nick Knight signed with old club Rochester on boxing day I believe

He must carry pens in his back pocket!!

nesko_25
30 Dec 2006, 07:41
Just wondering how many players in the HDFL have played AFL or have been on an AFL clubs list

Chris Dunne...........Dogs/North?
Lock..............Carlton
Ryan............Calton
Robbie Lecek?

galloping gasometer
30 Dec 2006, 08:57
Just wondering how many players in the HDFL have played AFL or have been on an AFL clubs list

Ryan............Calton
Robbie Lecek?

Dennis Ryan definitely on a list but I thought it may have been Hawthorn
Lock definitely Carlton
Rob Lecek has never been on an AFL list
Unsure about Chris Dunne

On The Money
30 Dec 2006, 09:05

Ryan............Calton
Robbie Lecek?

Dunne spent time with the Dogs and North but I believe he was only on the supp list at North. It was when they were the Murray Kangaroos and had an alignment with the Ovens and Murray League and were playing some home games up that way.
Lock played about 20 senior games with a good one against West Coast one day.
Dennis Ryan was drafted to Geelong from Kyabram in the early 90's although didn't register a senior game.

SUPASTARR
30 Dec 2006, 09:39
Pretty sure Dunne was rookie or supp. listed at the bulldogs.
Haven't seen him play in a while but was a star of a junior.

Lozza01
30 Dec 2006, 14:24
Dunny was on the supplimentary list at the Bulldogs & played Kangaroos reserves, I'm pretty sure he never played an AFL senior game.

Nesko, you forgot Laurence Angwin on your list!

shagger
30 Dec 2006, 16:52
Dennis Ryan was drafted to Geelong from Kyabram in the early 90's although didn't register a senior game.

I remember watching Dennis play in a Fosters? Cup match for Geelong.
Acquitted himself well.

bobbill
31 Dec 2006, 15:47
Heard rumour that Charlie Smythe from North Bendigo may be coaching Calivil in the loddon valley league.

nesko_25
1 Jan 2007, 13:43
Happy New Year everybody. Was out on the town last night and caught up with a few Heathcote boys, while they didnt give me any names they told me they have a few signings in the pipeline

andypipkin
2 Jan 2007, 13:18
doona, after imposing a ban on talking to possible recruits, from outside broadford until after christmas, and instead focussing on the locals, which i think was a top idea. its after christmas so, any recruits from outside in the pipeline???

Obe Wan
2 Jan 2007, 13:26
Anyone know if Huntly have signed anyone yet?

andypipkin
2 Jan 2007, 13:30
Anyone know if Huntly have signed anyone yet?

the only one that i have heard of so far is ash wilson from eaglehawk. how old would he be these days??? 35 or 36. didnt do much at this year apparently, are huntly recruiting the right sort players they need to make a climb up th ladder????

Doona2
2 Jan 2007, 13:46
doona, after imposing a ban on talking to possible recruits, from outside broadford until after christmas, and instead focussing on the locals, which i think was a top idea. its after christmas so, any recruits from outside in the pipeline???

yes :D

On The Money
2 Jan 2007, 14:12
the only one that i have heard of so far is ash wilson from eaglehawk. how old would he be these days??? 35 or 36. didnt do much at this year apparently, are huntly recruiting the right sort players they need to make a climb up th ladder????

Wilson would be a good pick up they badly needed some quality through the midfield to create more chances for Manley and Ezard up forward and Wilson will do that he keeps himself in good nick. Has he committed or are they just talking to him?

ablett
2 Jan 2007, 14:19
wilson is staying at e/hawke as just a player non assistant.
hunlty have lost curls and the bourke brothers to newbridge, huntly are hoping that geary can lure a few over from e/hawke.

nesko_25
2 Jan 2007, 14:37
Andrew Palmer on his way back to Rochy, I think thats what he was sayin NYE. I could of misheard him

big Ton
2 Jan 2007, 15:14
WILSON is just a player
Huntley will have lost Nick Manley to Elmore so i have been told Will be offical as soon as he tells the club / Coach he is not playing.
Colbo are chasing Jeremy Brown who played at E/hawk HBF / CHB?? caN anyone Confurm that????

andypipkin
2 Jan 2007, 15:40
have heard that he is as good as signed big ton, but on the other hand i also hear that he wont play there???

On The Money
2 Jan 2007, 16:37
Andrew Palmer on his way back to Rochy, I think thats what he was sayin NYE. I could of misheard him

Yer I had heard that one, have the Cats got any recruits in the gun nesko?

On The Money
2 Jan 2007, 16:39
WILSON is just a player
Huntley will have lost Nick Manley to Elmore so i have been told Will be offical as soon as he tells the club / Coach he is not playing.
Colbo are chasing Jeremy Brown who played at E/hawk HBF / CHB?? caN anyone Confurm that????

Multiple BFL Rep is Ash Wilson you might be selling him short.
You would think Huntly would have to dig their heels in if Manley attempts to go to Elmore.

bigboofer
2 Jan 2007, 16:53
Multiple BFL Rep is Ash Wilson you might be selling him short.
You would think Huntly would have to dig their heels in if Manley attempts to go to Elmore.
multiple bfl rep a few years ago thats why most of the young blokes are leaving because of allthe older blokes playing and gettihg top money when most of them werent worth it let him go to huntly or more like dads army as well so much for dillons policy of playing the young local blokes like he said he was only going to do

tommahawk_07
2 Jan 2007, 18:03
is rex bennett from elmore any good?

nesko_25
2 Jan 2007, 19:35
Yer I had heard that one, have the Cats got any recruits in the gun nesko?

Not sure OTM, last time I was out Locky was the Lingo v Banter match, lets just say I was concentrating on footy talk.

gta3
2 Jan 2007, 20:40
do you all know how James Ezard got delisted from port adalaide well i heard a wisper that he is coming back to play at Broadford with two of his brothers Ben and Luke who have returned to the blue and white. Ben and Luke have both trained every pre-season training so far so they are definately playing. i've heard about 10 people mension it so he could be coming back. maybe hes a recruit that hasn't been said yet on bigfooty?

Obe Wan
2 Jan 2007, 20:42
Where would manley fit in elmore's side? They already have a good forward line.

On The Money
2 Jan 2007, 20:50
do you all know how James Ezard got delisted from port adalaide well i heard a wisper that he is coming back to play at Broadford with two of his brothers Ben and Luke who have returned to the blue and white. Ben and Luke have both trained every pre-season training so far so they are definately playing. i've heard about 10 people mension it so he could be coming back. maybe hes a recruit that hasn't been said yet on bigfooty?

Heard James Ezard was staying in SA to play in the SANFL with possibly Norwood.

On The Money
2 Jan 2007, 20:52
Where would manley fit in elmore's side? They already have a good forward line.

Rout is going overseas and Simon Cluff was said to be considering his options so that may be the logic behind trying to intice Nick.

godatorp
2 Jan 2007, 21:26
Come on boys, Wilson is well past it these days. He would be better suited to the MCDFL or that hack of a league KDFL.

BAR FRIDGE
2 Jan 2007, 22:44
Come on boys, Wilson is well past it these days. He would be better suited to the MCDFL or that hack of a league KDFL.

Let's be honest lads he may be 36/7 but he would still be a handy player in our league! Same with Manley, had an ok year last year in a weaker side, but if a bit fitter (10 kilos) would be a great pick up for any HDFL side! And by the big grin on Doona's face there's a good chance that Ezard may be coming back to Broady? Or there's something else in the pipeline that he's not saying? Is James Ezard any relation to the former Essendon champ Alan Ezard?

Lionel Ritchie
3 Jan 2007, 07:33
WILSON is just a player

Jermery Brown has just taken up a job with Bendigo bank in South Melbourne, I can confirm that he has signed with doutta Stars in the EDFL along with Jarrod Kelly

Doona2
3 Jan 2007, 07:41
Let's be honest lads he may be 36/7 but he would still be a handy player in our league! Same with Manley, had an ok year last year in a weaker side, but if a bit fitter (10 kilos) would be a great pick up for any HDFL side! And by the big grin on Doona's face there's a good chance that Ezard may be coming back to Broady? Or there's something else in the pipeline that he's not saying? Is James Ezard any relation to the former Essendon champ Alan Ezard?

Jimmy, Ben and Luke are all nephews of the Bomber champ, with a 4th brother Sam I think beginning 3rds this season. Club Stalwart Peter is Alan's brother and his son Jackson is stepping outa 3rds to open age in 2007 . . . . . the Ezard's are quite a prominent local footballing family.

Wayne Weideman
3 Jan 2007, 08:16
Jermery Brown has just taken up a job with Bendigo bank in South Melbourne, I can confirm that he has signed with doutta Stars in the EDFL along with Jarrod Kelly

is that the same jeremy brown that played for echuca in the late 90's. wore number 8. if so he was a gun!!!!

Squeaky
3 Jan 2007, 08:40
is that the same jeremy brown that played for echuca in the late 90's. wore number 8. if so he was a gun!!!!

Jeremy Smith maybe??

andypipkin
3 Jan 2007, 08:50
i was trying to get the point across that maybe they should be focussing on recruiting younger blokes to the club instead of mid to late 30 year olds. i mean why not spend the money on a young bloke who is not gettin a go in the bfl, and hope he signs and stays for 4 or 5 years. even longer??

BAR FRIDGE
3 Jan 2007, 10:13
i was trying to get the point across that maybe they should be focussing on recruiting younger blokes to the club instead of mid to late 30 year olds. i mean why not spend the money on a young bloke who is not gettin a go in the bfl, and hope he signs and stays for 4 or 5 years. even longer??

Point taken Pipy, the kids are the future of any club, but i'm not sure that spending a lot of money on people who can't get a game in the BFL is the way to go! Our leagues not that bad is it!:confused:

andypipkin
3 Jan 2007, 11:22
not at all bar fridge , its getting stronger definately. i might have coined the wrong phrase. when i said not getting a go in the bfl, i didnt mean two's players. i meant blokes in and out of the senior team. example is gavin bowles. was struggling to get a game at eaglehawk in the ones, wins a sam cheatley and has cemented a spot as a senior vfl footballer. sometimes kids just need to be given a real run, not on and off the bench, dropped every second or third week. it gives them no confidence whatsoever

BAR FRIDGE
3 Jan 2007, 11:43
not at all bar fridge , its getting stronger definately. i might have coined the wrong phrase. when i said not getting a go in the bfl, i didnt mean two's players. i meant blokes in and out of the senior team. example is gavin bowles. was struggling to get a game at eaglehawk in the ones, wins a sam cheatley and has cemented a spot as a senior vfl footballer. sometimes kids just need to be given a real run, not on and off the bench, dropped every second or third week. it gives them no confidence whatsoever

Well said Pipy!:thumbsu: Hows things looking out Hillies way mate, recruits/ground etc! When do you guys strart training?

Wayne Weideman
3 Jan 2007, 12:06
Jeremy Smith maybe??

yeah spot on it was smith not brown. love your work squeaky