View Full Version : Heathcote District FL

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

Rushy Tiger
19 Dec 2005, 08:32
Doona, Colbo have their first training run this sunday. But the training has been cancelled and were on the gas. Hopefully recruits will show up for a look and a pot, then we'll get them into the Colbo pub where toot will shout them all arvo then shove a clearance form under their nose with a big sticker attached saying "sign here!"

it's the colbo way....

has anyone heard the rumour that Rochy young gun half back flanker Dylan Cuttriss is heading to the grasshoppers this year after a bit of pressure from his girlfriend who is from out that way?

HJ32
19 Dec 2005, 21:24
has anyone heard the rumour that Rochy young gun half back flanker Dylan Cuttriss is heading to the grasshoppers this year after a bit of pressure from his girlfriend who is from out that way?

That Chick must have some pulling power to be able to bluff a young fella like him? She's obviously doing something right :p

HJ32
19 Dec 2005, 21:26
maybe he has a Mr Plow jacket?!!

Astra
19 Dec 2005, 21:39
wouldn't be a great loss, most likely to play 2s off the bench next year !

Giantbug
23 Dec 2005, 12:36
Has anyone heard what has been happening down in heathcote lately (besides the usual stabbings, money laundering, attempted kidnappings etc) They snuck into the finals last year for the first time in years but I havent heard much from them this year. Can anyone help out?

HJ32
23 Dec 2005, 13:41
they're the big smokey's of the HDFL for 2006. If they keep their list and add 3-4 top line senior players, they'll give it a shake.
judging by your post giantbug, the paroll board is going to have a big say in the sainters 2006 chances..............

On The Money
23 Dec 2005, 14:20
Has anyone heard what has been happening down in heathcote lately (besides the usual stabbings, money laundering, attempted kidnappings etc) They snuck into the finals last year for the first time in years but I havent heard much from them this year. Can anyone help out?

I read on another thread and have heard it too that Heathcote have got Tom Tobin back from Kyneton and he has a couple of team mates in the gun to come with him too. I think Heathcote are a real top 3 prospects they've go doe and kids coming through from the past two 3rds flags to build on the 2005 5th placing.

wheelbarrow
23 Dec 2005, 19:02
I read on another thread and have heard it too that Heathcote have got Tom Tobin back from Kyneton and he has a couple of team mates in the gun to come with him too. I think Heathcote are a real top 3 prospects they've go doe and kids coming through from the past two 3rds flags to build on the 2005 5th placing.

Mark Dickins has poached Adam Harrop over to Kangaroo Flat.

Doona2
23 Dec 2005, 19:24
Mark Dickins has poached Adam Harrop over to Kangaroo Flat.

Good bloke Adam but lets hope Dicko hasnt underestimated the standard of BFL, Adam should be left to be a consistent performer at district level for an injury free season and then let loose - no need to rush time is on his side.

Wayne Weideman
28 Dec 2005, 21:36

have seen the boy play a few times. if the rumour is true he will certainly have the best foot skills in the comp but will definently struggle with the physical side of things. he will be targeted by every club who have lots of meat heads just wanting to smack younger players just like dylan who learnt the art of sledging like a few other young players from rochy from steve rass. apart from his foot skills {haven't seen him handball} he will struggle immensley

On The Money
29 Dec 2005, 14:21
Good bloke Adam but lets hope Dicko hasnt underestimated the standard of BFL, Adam should be left to be a consistent performer at district level for an injury free season and then let loose - no need to rush time is on his side.

Yer Harrap would be better off gettting some runs on the board at Heathcote you would think. Had an average year in all starting on the bench a handful of games but did play a good game in Heathcote's losing elimination final. Plus Heathcote will see September Kangaroo Flat most likely not.

HJ32
30 Dec 2005, 07:37
Matt Waters to Mounts?

Paul Frew to Huntly?

Doona2
30 Dec 2005, 11:56
Matt Waters to Mounts? Paul Frew to Huntly?

Colbo wasnt a show to get im back???

On The Money
30 Dec 2005, 15:20
Colbo wasnt a show to get im back???

Mounts had a big dip at Waters prior to the 2004 season (played in a night game for them at Marybrough) but I think he found it hard to get his head around playing for Colbo's arch rival. He stayed at Kyneton and had a brillant season that year kicking 70 but I had heard he was also on Heathcote's shopping list for 2006.

I had heard the Frew one not sure if it has legs or not, but talking to a guy who got approached by the Hawks and the wallet has flown open there and they must think it time to have a crack. Nothing wrong with that just as long as they have it. I think there admin has been alright over the last couple of years so they may have a bit to roll with.

killa
1 Jan 2006, 18:47
HJ... you might be able to tell me who are colbos recruits this season

On The Money
2 Jan 2006, 02:41

Doona can you give me a rating on the following players
Redenbach-
Kevin Brown-
Phil Fisher-
Ray Rowbottom- ( Gets it and turns it over lots?)
It's not a recruiting gig or anything just seen the 2003 granny on tape great game and wondered how u rated them?
Whats the level of professionalism at Roo land? They got rolled in the Qual Final that year and a handful of blokes where squirted the next day at the final do they drink friday nights?

Doona2
2 Jan 2006, 17:43
Redenbach-
Kevin Brown-
Phil Fisher-
It's not a recruiting gig or anything just seen the 2003 granny on tape great game and wondered how u rated them?
Whats the level of professionalism at Roo land? They got rolled in the Qual Final that year and a handful of blokes where squirted the next day at the final do they drink friday nights?

I cant comment too much about the past 3-4 years as Ive been committed elsewhere (YEA), and Im not sure about the Friday night thing. Only 2 blokes I can confident say could pull the Friday night off without fail - Kenny "Bush Ablett" Beaumont and Trav Blackwell. Make it 3 because it didnt hamper Bakes at all either.

Redenbach - Exceptional left foot goalkicking midfielder, fitness freak who gets frustrated others who aren't as committed or serious enough on their footy. Roos' runner-up B & F 2005, many thought he shoulda scored a runaway win.

Brown - I believe Yea actually tried to get him in '02/'03 after a stint at Mansfield. Getting on a bit and appears to get frustrated that he cant do what he used to be able to but still has a smart footy brain and good hands. Will still get a kick no worries in DVFL Div 2 in '06. He won a DVFL DIv 1 medal didnt he???

Fisher - I rate Fish when he's just playing footy, very creative and a damaging finisher. Unfortunately the past few years an undisciplined side has overshadowed his input. Unsure where he'll play this coming year, but it would be a shame if he stopped playing football.

Ray - I actually think Ray is the Roos best bet at full back. When Trav Blackwell stopped playing I reckon Ray had his most consistent season when on the last line. No one can question his commitment or endeavour, but yes he does turn it over regularly which can hurt. If Ray was more sound around the 30-40m mark by foot he'd be a very very productive player as he has strength at a contest and good hands.

HJ32
3 Jan 2006, 09:33
HJ... you might be able to tell me who are colbos recruits this season

Would love to be able to Killa, but as the old saying goes, you ain't got them until they've signed.

HJ32
3 Jan 2006, 09:40
Redenbach-
Kevin Brown-
Phil Fisher-

I don't think Kevin Brown played in the 2003 GF, doona might be able to help here. He can get the ball though, loves to run with the footy and handball it out infront of himself - something I havent seen since junior days!!

That 2003 Granny was a cracking game. Dunne played a top game, Baker kicked a blinder from the boundary evading 2 colbo players, and Toot Morgan kicked 6 goals in his last senior game for Colbo. And an 18yo Sam Hill was judged BOG playing at CHF

Doona2
3 Jan 2006, 10:05
I don't think Kevin Brown played in the 2003 GF, doona might be able to help here. He can get the ball though, loves to run with the footy and handball it out infront of himself - something I havent seen since junior days!!

That 2003 Granny was a cracking game. Dunne played a top game, Baker kicked a blinder from the boundary evading 2 colbo players, and Toot Morgan kicked 6 goals in his last senior game for Colbo. And an 18yo Sam Hill was judged BOG playing at CHF

Was one of the best games of district level football you'll ever see. Broadford's side woulda won the flag any other year in the HDFL but they copped a Colbo side that I reckon woulda contested finals in the BFL easily in 2003.

T.Perry
3 Jan 2006, 10:17
Was one of the best games of district level football you'll ever see. Broadford's side woulda won the flag any other year in the HDFL but they copped a Colbo side that I reckon woulda contested finals in the BFL easily in 2003.

The hoppers had a pretty talented side, but that's a huge call about them easily making BFL finals! Didn't they play a praccy match against Rochy and get beaten by 30 odd goals that year? Doubt Rochy would have beaten any BFL finalists by that much.. still, I guess the point you're trying to make is that they had a ridiculously strong side that year, which cant be argued against..

HJ32
3 Jan 2006, 10:54
The hoppers had a pretty talented side, but that's a huge call about them easily making BFL finals! Didn't they play a praccy match against Rochy and get beaten by 30 odd goals that year? Doubt Rochy would have beaten any BFL finalists by that much.. still, I guess the point you're trying to make is that they had a ridiculously strong side that year, which cant be argued against..

No, not that year. I think that mighta been in the late 90's when rochy were dominant...

killa
3 Jan 2006, 17:17
Would love to be able to Killa, but as the old saying goes, you ain't got them until they've signed. Yeah your dead right... what about locals such as ellis, hill X 3,tuohey and fraser? will any be making a return...

Doona2
3 Jan 2006, 18:04
Yeah your dead right... what about locals such as ellis, hill X 3,tuohey and fraser? will any be making a return...

What about Scotty Barlow and Marty's brother Tim, they were a couple of great fella's I played in rep sides with

killa
3 Jan 2006, 19:33
As far as i know both have not played for a long time....Think Tim may play at rushy

HJ32
4 Jan 2006, 07:54
Ellis probably won't play due to injury. Ben Tuohey is coaching the 3rds so he's right to go, and the Hill boys may be returning but i'm not 100%. Nick Fraser is still at Mitta Utd as far as i know.

Giantbug
4 Jan 2006, 07:55
What about Scotty Barlow and Marty's brother Tim, they were a couple of great fella's I played in rep sides with

Both of those bloke's careers were cut short by bad hernia problems and have not played for several years. Scotty is up in the Riverina and Maaaaaaaartin's brother Tim Borger is almost single handedly keeping Tasmanian Potato Growers afloat by eating every packet of chips within 100 miles amongst other sorts of activities.

Giantbug
4 Jan 2006, 07:59
Ellis probably won't play due to injury. Ben Tuohey is coaching the 3rds so he's right to go, and the Hill boys may be returning but i'm not 100%. Nick Fraser is still at Mitta Utd as far as i know.

Big Lobes Ellis has been approached to play for Mt Pleasant, which is still a possibility. His father played there for many years and won a couple of flags. His aunty is the netball president, his uncle Phil is the runner and there has been a huge family involvement over there. I know he is secretly fond of the joint, so if his shoulder comes good, do not be surprised to see him rejoin his family at mounts

HJ32
4 Jan 2006, 13:00
Big Lobes Ellis has been approached to play for Mt Pleasant, which is still a possibility. His father played there for many years and won a couple of flags. His aunty is the netball president, his uncle Phil is the runner and there has been a huge family involvement over there. I know he is secretly fond of the joint, so if his shoulder comes good, do not be surprised to see him rejoin his family at mounts

:D :D :D

just signed
4 Jan 2006, 15:49

Boots celebrated his appointment by writing his car off, didn't he. Chill is no hope of returning and I doubt that Sammy would either. "Gums" Andrews will be back the second half of the year though.

killa
4 Jan 2006, 16:53
Boots celebrated his appointment by writing his car off, didn't he. Chill is no hope of returning and I doubt that Sammy would either. "Gums" Andrews will be back the second half of the year though.Nah not chill...Sam.Tim and luke.. write off was it? good footballer...not many brains!! Have heard his name being floated around in a package deal with two others

just signed
4 Jan 2006, 17:25
Nah not chill...Sam.Tim and luke.. write off was it? good footballer...not many brains!! Have heard his name being floated around in a package deal with two others

Was going to be a great footballer! Now just average.

killa
4 Jan 2006, 18:17
Was going to be a great footballer! Now just average.fitness and injuries have not helped him... or he just cant play?

hank1
4 Jan 2006, 18:47
fitness and injuries have not helped him... or he just cant play?

Who r u 2 talking about, not easy to follow, Ben Tuohey or Sam Hill?

killa
4 Jan 2006, 19:09
Who r u 2 talking about, not easy to follow, Ben Tuohey or Sam Hill?Tuohey i think!

hank1
4 Jan 2006, 19:13
Tuohey i think!

Thought so, thanks.
Yeah probably hasnt got the best out of himself, played Colbo ones at 14 i think.

killa
4 Jan 2006, 19:27
not a bad effort... prob should have done a little more than he has then in 10 years of senior footy....

HJ32
5 Jan 2006, 08:02
not a bad effort... prob should have done a little more than he has then in 10 years of senior footy....

Hmmm... has played in 4 senior flags. Probably done a bit more than some others around the traps in terms of success.....

Doona2
5 Jan 2006, 09:40
Hmmm... has played in 4 senior flags. Probably done a bit more than some others around the traps in terms of success.....

Second that motion, has been a very good servant for the Hoppers for still being such a young fella

T.Perry
5 Jan 2006, 11:57
I understand what Doona and HJ32 are saying, and there is definitely no disgrace in being a top HDFL footballer and winning flags, but I think the point Hank, Killa and Just signed are trying to make is that for the potential he had at 15/16, you prob would have thought he would have starred at major league level.
There was a lot of talk when he was younger that he "could" play AFL, which is obviously said about a lot of kids that age who, for whatever reason, don't make it, but given that he got selected to play for the state along side Goodes, Tarrant, etc when he was younger, it's prob a touch surprising that he hasn't tried at a higher level.

Giantbug
5 Jan 2006, 14:42
I understand what Doona and HJ32 are saying, and there is definitely no disgrace in being a top HDFL footballer and winning flags, but I think the point Hank, Killa and Just signed are trying to make is that for the potential he had at 15/16, you prob would have thought he would have starred at major league level.
There was a lot of talk when he was younger that he "could" play AFL, which is obviously said about a lot of kids that age who, for whatever reason, don't make it, but given that he got selected to play for the state along side Goodes, Tarrant, etc when he was younger, it's prob a touch surprising that he hasn't tried at a higher level.

Colbo has always had a pretty good canteen. The pies are good quality Gillies, and hotdogs in the past were always served with nice fresh bread. Some of the Bendigo League Clubs have McCoys pies which would not be of interest to young Ben at all, its not always about footy.

Doona2
5 Jan 2006, 15:01
Colbo has always had a pretty good canteen. The pies are good quality Gillies, and hotdogs in the past were always served with nice fresh bread. Some of the Bendigo League Clubs have McCoys pies which would not be of interest to young Ben at all, its not always about footy.

Bloody hate McCoys so I can sympathise with Benny there - & many would suggest Id know a bit about Pies also. Personally the steamed dim rocks at Colbo the little hot chip cups were a favourite of mine for years.

hank1
5 Jan 2006, 15:25

Yeah no probs there mate, will go down as one of the better footballers to play at colbo and has still got many years ahead and can totally sympathise with him wanting to play at his home club in a minor league where he was born and bred. A lot of people who grow up in towns that play in major leagues dont have this problem where the heartstrings are pulled and it is very hard to leave.
In saying that, as Trevor Perry is saying he probably could have done a lot more and I'm sure he would admit that himself, but would still be content with his bag so far.

just signed
6 Jan 2006, 10:49

Did he end up winning 4, HJ32? I thought that he got left out of one? Can certainly remember hearing him on the sidelines.

killa
6 Jan 2006, 13:01
Did he end up winning 4, HJ32? I thought that he got left out of one? Can certainly remember hearing him on the sidelines.Did he play 98/99 then 03/04... think he missed 02..i might be wrong

killa
6 Jan 2006, 13:14
Doona- whats nessy up to these days? thinking about a comeback?

HJ32
6 Jan 2006, 14:49
ben played in 98/99/03/04

missed 02 with broken ribs

HJ32
6 Jan 2006, 14:52

I really am looking forward to reading the reply on this question!

Doona2
6 Jan 2006, 15:44

Why you ask? With a brave nickname like killa Id reckon you'd mix in similar circles wouldnt ya :p

I know ya's will think Im full of it, but Nesbitt had a little bit of ability and came from good football stock in Broadford. We did actually get Anthony out of self imposed retirement to Yea for a run in 2003 whilst he was working for Finchy. He held down CHF in the two's quite well, booted 39-40 goals and we had a bit of fun along the way. He was a really good contributor and was one of the most disappointed blokes after the prelim final loss which showed he was fair dinkum about his footy that season.

Still living here locally but hasn't played since.

killa
7 Jan 2006, 10:26
Yeah me and ness pretty tight..No doubt he could actually play.... just a bit loose.. Did he get reported one grand final day for fighting an umpire...? Or the umpire fighting him? never a dull moment we he was around!

jock555
8 Jan 2006, 10:00
Doon. Are there many guys still playing at Broadford that have come through the 3rds from up there. They were a powerhouse during the 90's with some very good footballers it seemed, just wondering how many of them have stayed. I believe some of them played in the senior flag some years back.

Doona2
8 Jan 2006, 11:32
Doon. Are there many guys still playing at Broadford that have come through the 3rds from up there. They were a powerhouse during the 90's with some very good footballers it seemed, just wondering how many of them have stayed. I believe some of them played in the senior flag some years back.

There were 10 players in the 1996 premiership side that had previously played in an under 17's premiership, and a further 10-15 on the list at that time so I guess back then the club had reaped the rewards of that golden era of underage development.

It has been 6 years since that run ended, and the club had won another thirds flag in that time - but in 2005 I'd say there were 7 players in total from that 90's era left on the club's list. 2006 I think will include Daniel Fletcher, Chris Dunne and Stuart Denness, along with a couple of other returning players so that number should again be in double figures.

On The Money
8 Jan 2006, 13:21
There were 10 players in the 1996 premiership side that had previously played in an under 17's premiership, and a further 10-15 on the list at that time so I guess back then the club had reaped the rewards of that golden era of underage development.

It has been 6 years since that run ended, and the club had won another thirds flag in that time - but in 2005 I'd say there were 7 players in total from that 90's era left on the club's list. 2006 I think will include Daniel Fletcher, Chris Dunne and Stuart Denness, along with a couple of other returning players so that number should again be in double figures.

I remember Nesbitt he was a bit of a character! How are Broadford shaping up Doona I see Andrews hinted in the Shepp News he was talking to Broadford blokes any word on that?. Do you reckon losing that 2003 Granny broke there back a bit after going so close? They had an OK side in 2004 finishing 4th but not a patch on the year before and obviously in 2005 they slipped further off the pace.

Doona2
8 Jan 2006, 14:46
I remember Nesbitt he was a bit of a character! How are Broadford shaping up Doona I see Andrews hinted in the Shepp News he was talking to Broadford blokes any word on that?. Do you reckon losing that 2003 Granny broke there back a bit after going so close? They had an OK side in 2004 finishing 4th but not a patch on the year before and obviously in 2005 they slipped further off the pace.

The biggest problem when you have relatively young lists is continuing to turn over coaches. Broadford have some fantastic talent on its books (Littlewood x2, Sanders, Coomans to name a few), but with every coach comes fresh ideas and it's tough as a teenager to learn the game let alone a different style every 1-2 years.

I couldnt tell you the last time Broadford had a coach for more than 2 years in succession, although I honestly reckon had the incident with Paul Tilley not occured, Tills would still be in charge and the Roos would still be ultra competitive.

I think to recruit well one must really promote one's club, it's facilities and positives, what the club has to offer etc etc and not focus on "how much do you want . . . or . . . . we can give you this" in the first conversation with prospective players.

I dont think 2003 broke their back at all, but off the top of me head losing Ake & Tevita Fonua, Adrian Baker, Phil Waite, Tom Webster, Bill & Eddie Neilson in that time hasn't helped things. Daniel Fletcher hasn't played much in recent years, and if Dunney returns as reported all of a sudden the Roos become more competitive Id think.

For me the 2003 Colbo side was the best team I've seen in the 18-19 years Ive followed the HDFL.

killa
8 Jan 2006, 19:24
What about jarvis did he kick on at broady after 3's? Not sure why redda inness left either would he consider a return?

Doona2
8 Jan 2006, 19:55
What about jarvis did he kick on at broady after 3's? Not sure why redda inness left either would he consider a return?

You play with or against these blokes killa? Jarvis joined the navy at 18 and probably played a dozen senior games prior to that.

Redda left to play a better standard (GVFL), and in doing so copped the usual simple minded grief any gets in Broadford who try to better themselves.
He concentrated on his work for 2-3 years after that and then came across to Yea for a kick in 2004-05.

Couldn't say if he'll return to Broadford, if he didn't play at Yea Id love to see him in at Seymour with his brother Robbie, but he is extremely popular in Yea and after two injury ravaged seasons Id say if he plays he'll have one last shot at it at Tigerland.

Doona2
9 Jan 2006, 15:16
Just read on the Loddon thread that Robbie Bennett may be leaving North Bendigo. Would be a massive loss for the Doggies hey, has been a very consistent player for them for a fair while.

killa
9 Jan 2006, 16:21
Played agianst them doona for a year then went up north...
Yeah bennet leaving is strange one considering he would have played alot of footy with simpson...

Tilt Carter
9 Jan 2006, 17:00
Has anyone got any news on the Hillies all i keep hearing is how many they are losing and if Sawyer plays for the bombers res i would say they will be in more s**t than the early settlers. With Pedrotti, Bowles, Keating, MaCumbers, Stynes and the rest of their melb based boys not returning they have some serious recruiting to do and i am not sure if Jimmy has the time these days with the pub.:rolleyes:

On The Money
10 Jan 2006, 12:34
Has anyone got any news on the Hillies all i keep hearing is how many they are losing and if Sawyer plays for the bombers res i would say they will be in more s**t than the early settlers. With Pedrotti, Bowles, Keating, MaCumbers, Stynes and the rest of their melb based boys not returning they have some serious recruiting to do and i am not sure if Jimmy has the time these days with the pub.:rolleyes:

Yer I've heard all them plus Shannon Hayes and Rick Coburn to South Bendigo, Tyrell to Square and Josh Ancrum is meant to be going overseas. Strong recruiting needed to stay in the mix you would think. They were advertising for an Assistant Coach

Giantbug
11 Jan 2006, 10:00
Does anyone whether the Strathfieldsaye Blues have made the commitment to move from Oniongrass park at Toolleen yet. Personally the sooner they move from Toolleen the better. Even the rats and possums refuse to stay in the hell hole they call the visitors change rooms. I wonder what theyve been spending their money on?

killa
11 Jan 2006, 11:04
Does anyone whether the Strathfieldsaye Blues have made the commitment to move from Oniongrass park at Toolleen yet. Personally the sooner they move from Toolleen the better. Even the rats and possums refuse to stay in the hell hole they call the visitors change rooms. I wonder what theyve been spending their money on?Here here bug... About time that was raised...It is by far the worst change rooms and ground in the league....

Doona2
11 Jan 2006, 11:30
I wonder what theyve been spending their money on?

climbing back up the ladder!!!

shagger
11 Jan 2006, 16:21
Does anyone whether the Strathfieldsaye Blues have made the commitment to move from Oniongrass park at Toolleen yet. Personally the sooner they move from Toolleen the better. Even the rats and possums refuse to stay in the hell hole they call the visitors change rooms. I wonder what theyve been spending their money on?

Sorry, as someone who lived in Toolleen a lifetime ago, this is news to me.
Have Mounts changed their name or am I missing some sarcasm?

Doona2
11 Jan 2006, 21:09
Sorry, as someone who lived in Toolleen a lifetime ago, this is news to me. Have Mounts changed their name or am I missing some sarcasm?

Fairly strong rumour Shagger that Mounts are keen to hop into the BFL and set up base at Strathfieldsaye in the near future.

shagger
12 Jan 2006, 10:03
Thanks Doona.
It will be a sad day if that occurs.
Toolleen supported a successful team when the population was well below what it is now.
Getting bigger and better is fantastic but the effects on small towns can be disasterous.

Doona2
12 Jan 2006, 11:20
Thanks Doona.
It will be a sad day if that occurs.
Toolleen supported a successful team when the population was well below what it is now.
Getting bigger and better is fantastic but the effects on small towns can be disasterous.

I know what you're saying but the rumour is quite strong and Lockington have apparently also entertained the thought of a move if the old Northern Echuca was to re-form which would spell disaster for the HDFL.

On The Money
12 Jan 2006, 13:28
I know what you're saying but the rumour is quite strong and Lockington have apparently also entertained the thought of a move if the old Northern Echuca was to re-form which would spell disaster for the HDFL.

I couldn't see it happening in the article going back a while the Mounts spokesperson was pretty vaig didn't sound like there had been any real work put into it. It's a rare occurance that you see a club stepping up a comp in country footy it's usually the other way round. Mounts would need the core of a new side to be a competitive Bendigo League Team.

Bazil
12 Jan 2006, 14:50

LBU was approached and has watched the progress of the old league ( NEFL ) which they originally came from , but I can say that they are happy in the HDFL .
The Club rely's heavily on the progress of its local kids to fill senior positions in future years as it does not have the money to import high paid players and (in my opinion) would spend the least amount of $$$ in the HDFL.
The club has an excellent auskick program and a Under 14's team playing in another league . Once they are over age for Under 14's the players have the pressure of Under 16's football from Echuca / Rochester which most go to school at , or stepping into the LBU Under 17's team .

Last season the LBU under 17's had 2 general byes and 4 other byes due to forfeit ( 2 Elmore 2 Mounts ) leaving 12 games for a season .
Not trying to downgrade the bottom 4 teams in the Under17's as we know it is hard to keep kids , but those next 8 games do nothing to develop the kids ( 10 - 20 goal wins ) , leaving 4 good games for a season in which as a Farming community these kids can quite easily miss in school holidays in winter or through injury.
Some of these kids can go 4 weeks plus without a game of football when they can play in town (Echuca / Rochy ) every weekend with school mates and develop into good footballers but stay in Echuca or Rochy Clubs or lose interest all together , giving LBU club & community nothing to look forward to .

The old NEFL league had similar community's with Under 14's Under 17's & Senior grades in football and netball each weekend all played at the same ground/ court on the same day.
Going off the Senior / Reserve (2005 ) finals squads 6 blokes out of approx 55 did not play under 17's at the club with a few moving into the area after under 17's and 1 or 2 coming out to play with mates.

I think ( again in my opinion ) if the HDFL lost anymore Under 17's teams it would be hard for LBU to ignore the posibility of the old League ( should it ever come up ) .
I personally hope Mounts and Elmore can get back Under 17's teams and the league remains strong ( all grades ) and maybe pick up an extra club or 2 .

boncer34
12 Jan 2006, 14:55
I personally hope Mounts and Elmore can get back Under 17's teams and the league remains strong ( all grades ) and maybe pick up an extra club or 2 .
Mounts are apparently struggling again but wasnt there a rumor about them picking up Strath's U/16.5's?
As for Elmore they claim they have enough to field a team but they claimed this last year at the moment the rumored figure is 15 U/17 players. Also Locky's U/17's didnt have 10-20 goal wins against teams like White Hills and even Colbo pushed for most of the game in the Semis.
Can I ask why U/18's was knocked back?

galloping gasometer
12 Jan 2006, 15:29

Remove Lockington and you dont have a riduculous geographic spread. Lockington should probably be playing against Echuca United and the other teams in that league ( either Murray or Picola would be closer fit) Also if Mt Pleasant was serious about moving out of the HDFL it would be better to lose 2 clubs and not 1.

Lockington dont have a traditional rival in the HDFL and probably never will. They will not get a game like Mounts Vs Colbo and we are kidding ourselves if removing Lockington from the scenerio is seen as detrimental

Doona2
12 Jan 2006, 15:50
Remove Lockington and you dont have a riduculous geographic spread. Lockington should probably be playing against Echuca United and the other teams in that league ( either Murray or Picola would be closer fit) Also if Mt Pleasant was serious about moving out of the HDFL it would be better to lose 2 clubs and not 1.

Lockington dont have a traditional rival in the HDFL and probably never will. They will not get a game like Mounts Vs Colbo and we are kidding ourselves if removing Lockington from the scenerio is seen as detrimental

I think when the VCFL reshuffle football throughout the state in the next 2-3 years - geographically things will begin to make more sense. Lockington would have clubs from other leagues situated closer to them than the HDFL clubs and they dont compete against them . . . . hard to work out hey.

Broadford are the same, they have more than a dozen clubs within an hours drive, yet the play against only one (Heathcote).

Bazil
12 Jan 2006, 15:58

Hahaha , you must be still taking the horse and cart - trotting maybe galloping gasometer ? HDFL has 9 teams with the eight remaining (apart from Locky) 7 of these clubs are under 50 minutes travel and Broadford is 1.5 hrs - Elmore is only 10 minutes away , not to many leagues with all bar 1 game under 50 minutes travel in the country . I beg the differ on the tradition rivals - Elmore vs Locky ( 10 minutes apart ) or on a further scale I think Broadford vs Locky have had some great Finals matches which nearly put's them in that bracket !
Alot more travelling in The Picola or Murray Leagues .

Boncer34 - During the year I think you will find they did , Colbo did push LBU in the Semi going down by 6 goals and Colbo beat White Hills by 9 -10 goals the week before . I beleive they had some great kids drop back after the seniors season finished ?
Anyways that not my point - I just hope the other teams can field sides.
Even Huntly who finished 6th had to forfeit through lack of numbers at the end of the season.

galloping gasometer
12 Jan 2006, 16:03
I think when the VCFL reshuffle football throughout the state in the next 2-3 years - geographically things will begin to make more sense. Lockington would have clubs from other leagues situated closer to them than the HDFL clubs and they dont compete against them . . . . hard to work out hey.

Broadford are the same, they have more than a dozen clubs within an hours drive, yet the play against only one (Heathcote).

Doona totally agree.
The VCFL need to get a bit smarter and start talking to clubs with a view to this happening. What has happened so far is the VCFL has come in at the end of the year and told the clubs to find a new home. Surely you have a plan and tell the club where the VCFL sees them playing and the reasons. I think most clubs have variuos concerns when this happens as the clubs are the lifeblood of the towns and as such they also have strong history to support this. I struggle to understand with the amount of money the VCFL takes from Local footy why they dont have more people to discuss these issues and help a struggling team or league to either make a harsh decision and relocate or fold as required. Not many teams in the last few years have folded but look at the early 90's and that was rationalisation through lack of involvement from the VCFL.

I think a league could be quite easily constructed around regional location as long as the standard of footy didnt go from quite solid ( like the HDFL ) to farsical like Benalla and District with their 6 teams.

If the HDFL was to approach teams you would drop a couple off and go for Rushworth , Stanhope, Violet Town, Shepp East and then include the others. White Hills and Lockington would then be put into another league which included some Loddon Valley Teams- or into the Loddon Vally league is is about the same standard as HDFL - if not a little stronger-

hank1
12 Jan 2006, 16:14
I think a league could be quite easily constructed around regional location as long as the standard of footy didnt go from quite solid ( like the HDFL ) to farsical like Benalla and District with their 6 teams.

If the HDFL was to approach teams you would drop a couple off and go for Rushworth , Stanhope, Violet Town, Shepp East and then include the others. White Hills and Lockington would then be put into another league which included some Loddon Valley Teams- or into the Loddon Vally league is is about the same standard as HDFL - if not a little stronger-

Rushworth and Stanhope left the Heathcote league because of the travelling, among other things.
Stanhope had only one club within 15min when it was in HDFL (Rushworth), it now has 5 under 15min in KDFL, obviously bringing Violet Town and Yea in make the travelling a little more, but could not see either side wanting to head back to HDFL.

Bazil
12 Jan 2006, 16:21
Mounts are apparently struggling again but wasnt there a rumor about them picking up Strath's U/16.5's?
As for Elmore they claim they have enough to field a team but they claimed this last year at the moment the rumored figure is 15 U/17 players. Also Locky's U/17's didnt have 10-20 goal wins against teams like White Hills and even Colbo pushed for most of the game in the Semis.

Can I ask why U/18's was knocked back?

Sorry missed the bottom bit boncer34 - To be honest i don't know much about this .... maybe it was because some parents would take kids elsewhere ( Clubs ) to play under 16's etc because they did not want 14 year kids playing against 18 year olds , once you lose them at that age you rarely get them back as they progress to under 18's in the club they have left for .

Tilt Carter
12 Jan 2006, 17:06
Doona totally agree.
The VCFL need to get a bit smarter and start talking to clubs with a view to this happening. What has happened so far is the VCFL has come in at the end of the year and told the clubs to find a new home. Surely you have a plan and tell the club where the VCFL sees them playing and the reasons. I think most clubs have variuos concerns when this happens as the clubs are the lifeblood of the towns and as such they also have strong history to support this. I struggle to understand with the amount of money the VCFL takes from Local footy why they dont have more people to discuss these issues and help a struggling team or league to either make a harsh decision and relocate or fold as required. Not many teams in the last few years have folded but look at the early 90's and that was rationalisation through lack of involvement from the VCFL.

Ha G G your kidding yourself pal if you think that the LV is stronger than the HDFL, Why do you think the LV won't play HDFL in interleague anymore. I 'll tell you it's because they would get their pants pulled down.
I think the two leagues should play a sunday game on the QEO once a year so that it is an even playing field, central for both leagues and promote the day, I beleive they would pull a good crowd and just split the gate takings.

Tilt Carter
12 Jan 2006, 17:41

Yes GB i would agree with you re the state of the visitors change rooms at Oniongrass Park, i think they are by far the worst in the league and probably close to the state, I thought the money that was left to the club after the passing of their number one ticket holder was to be spent on facilities and upkeep of their ground, not for pinning another flag on the wall of there rooms, or maybe they see that as redecorating. I think the league should perhaps have a quiet word to them and see if they can do something about their visitors room.
Perhaps they don't wish to spend anything on O park if their on the move to strath and into new facilities.
Also i was under the impression they would still be affiliated with the HDFL.

galloping gasometer
13 Jan 2006, 08:19
[quote=Bazil]Hahaha , you must be still taking the horse and cart - trotting maybe galloping gasometer ? HDFL has 9 teams with the eight remaining (apart from Locky) 7 of these clubs are under 50 minutes travel and Broadford is 1.5 hrs - Elmore is only 10 minutes away ,

Bazil, all good points mate. If you can get from Elmore to Locky in 10 minutes you may have missed your calling in driving an F1 car:D

Giantbug
13 Jan 2006, 08:41
Yes GB i would agree with you re the state of the visitors change rooms at Oniongrass Park, i think they are by far the worst in the league and probably close to the state, I thought the money that was left to the club after the passing of their number one ticket holder was to be spent on facilities and upkeep of their ground, not for pinning another flag on the wall of there rooms, or maybe they see that as redecorating. I think the league should perhaps have a quiet word to them and see if they can do something about their visitors room.
Perhaps they don't wish to spend anything on O park if their on the move to strath and into new facilities.
Also i was under the impression they would still be affiliated with the HDFL.

I am not sure any money was left to them or not, but i do know a sizeable parcel of land was left to them, just south of Colbo. Right next to Marty Borger's property as fate would have it. Maybe they could shift the old shed over there and put hay or farming implements in it - that is about all it is good for.

It will take the old Mounts stalwarts a lot of convincing in order to get them to move camps I think. its hard to see this happening in the time frame that Strath want it to happen, and its hard to see Mounts giving up their name. But the Strathy Blues does have a ring to it.

Bazil
13 Jan 2006, 09:23
Bazil, all good points mate. If you can get from Elmore to Locky in 10 minutes you may have missed your calling in driving an F1 car:D[/quote]

Take the Hunter or Wharparilla Rd , and don't go through Rochester .
It may not be exactly 10mins ( over zelous maybe) but definately under 15 minutes.
Such a lovely drive , maybe it only feels like 10:)

Anyway its close enough for traditional rivalary - they even have a Jenhaywil Shield first home game of each year .

Squeaky
13 Jan 2006, 11:37
In response to a bit of banter re: LBU. No doubt the club is happy where it is currently. The under 17 issue (not getting games) is certainly a sticking point as no games could lead to kids going elsewhere to play (and as Bazil pointed out, they would be hard to get back)
The HDFL has a fair bit of travel but no more than a move to the MFL or Picola leagues would entail. Nowadays travel is a part of it.
There is no perfect 'fit' at the moment.
I'd like to think LBU certainly has built up rivals as eluded to by Bazil. Elmore is a rival as our closest team geographically coupled with the fact that most of the boys from each club catch up for a beer quite often - no one wants to lose those encounters. The Jenharwil Shield also recognises this rivalry.
Another rival would be Broady, based on several cliffhanger games at Broady and a final in '03 that went into 2 x OT. All after they beat the living suitcase out of us in a 2001 or 02 qual. final at Nth Bendigo.

On The Money
13 Jan 2006, 12:00
BREAKING NEWS!! I have it on good authority that Jim Angove has resigned as Coach of White Hills sighting a trip to the soccer world cup with his brother. He is expected to still play around that but the Demons are really under the pump. There are more players gone than first expected with Jones & Avery others to heading. (Oversea's)

Doona2
13 Jan 2006, 13:40
BREAKING NEWS!! I have it on good authority that Jim Angove has resigned as Coach of White Hills sighting a trip to the soccer world cup with his brother. He is expected to still play around that but the Demons are really under the pump. There are more players gone than first expected with Jones & Avery others to heading. (Oversea's)

Obviously not a case of the captain sinking with the ship, Jim has jumped before the Dee's hit rock bottom hey. Would be a shame if they slipp away after some productive seasons of late.

boncer34
13 Jan 2006, 15:15
Bazil, White Hills beat Colbo by 10 goals the week before that and they carried a lot of injured and/or sick players into that final and had a couple of key players missing due to injury and illness but thats another story and old news. If the story about Jimmy is true then by golly are White Hills going to be struggling this year.

HJ32
13 Jan 2006, 17:38

that's massive......

No doubt he'll still play there but i suppose with the OS trip and business interests in the pub there would be enough sway to quit the post - however doing it in jan is a tough call. The hillies will be on the charge for a coach now

Doona2
13 Jan 2006, 20:11
that's massive......

No doubt he'll still play there but i suppose with the OS trip and business interests in the pub there would be enough sway to quit the post - however doing it in jan is a tough call. The hillies will be on the charge for a coach now

Tough call for sure H - does leave them a fair bit behind the 8 ball considering pre-season is underway for most clubs and blokes looking to coach would already have gigs.

HJ32
13 Jan 2006, 22:49
righto lets look at the hillies in depth from their granny side (or close to it!) last year

Shannon Hayes - rumored to be heading to south bendigo / also some heathcote return is possible

Craig Sutton - missed granny with injury, think he's departed

Rick Coburn - Joined South bendigo

Eddy Dickens - not sure what is going on here although past posts indicate he could be on the move. easily a major league footballer

Brian Lassey - not sure on the woofa, does dabble in the world game. may stick with that

Chris Avery - will probably stay OS as well??

Matt Tyrell - gone to golden square

Dylan Simmons - not sure here either

Matt Sawyer - preseason with bendigo bombers, may return though if things dont go his way

Brad McConnell - spicka will be there again next year

Scott Macumber - gornnnn

david Stynes - possibly Gornn back to melb?

Grant Connelly - would be feeling heat from YCW i'd imagine

Jim Angove - see posts above

The Ancrum Brothers - will probably stay - one of them OS?

Ben Jones and Ben Burns - which one of these blokes is still having nightmares about Adrian Baker? Jones OS?

Pete Angove - see above posts

Dallas Pedrotti - supposedly heading back to eaglehawk

gavin Bowles - with the bendigo bombers

matt broad - likely to depart.

nick orr - will stick around if the price is right

Simon keating - not travelling up from melb i suspect

have probably missed a couple but as you can see, a potential mass exodus is on the cards... you never know though the hilles may have recruited well. Any news on that front?

oh and by the way, the father of a former hillies player who kept telling the colbo boys "that the reign's over" during season 2004 - I dont think he's there anymore either!!!

killa
14 Jan 2006, 12:17
White hills gone for sure!!! Heard josh hunt has put his hand up for the coaching job! can soomeone tell me if matt waters has definatly signed at tooleen?

Jock Clark 2
14 Jan 2006, 13:33
AITCH Jay, does that mean with all the gaps 2 b filled, Spicka's bro. Dave will get a seniors gig ??

boncer34
14 Jan 2006, 15:19
AITCH Jay, does that mean with all the gaps 2 b filled, Spicka's bro. Dave will get a seniors gig ??
Quite possibly, Dave still has enough in the tank for one last show in the seniors but it all depends on whether he wants to or not.

Doona2
16 Jan 2006, 17:44
Quality fella Dave McConnell, hope things work out up at White Hills for him and Spick's sake two very loyal Demons over the years. Is Mark still running around?

Doona2
16 Jan 2006, 17:46
Footy finals clash
Luke West
Saturday, 14 January 2006

THE All Seasons Bendigo Football League grand final and the Heathcote District Football League's showpiece day are set to clash this year.
The BFL and HDFL grand finals have both been set down for Saturday, September 23.

However, the possibility of the BFL grand final being shifted to Sunday, September 24, will be discussed at the league's club meeting on February 10.

What may also save a possible clash of grand finals is if the HDFL doesn't play an inter-league match.

The HDFL has set aside the Queen's Birthday long weekend in June as an opportunity for an inter-league game.

The HDFL is talking to both the Golden Rivers and Benalla and District leagues about playing inter-league, but neither is yet to commit.

If the league is unsuccessful in securing an opponent for a representative match, one option could be to bring the season forward a week for the remaining 10 rounds, therefore avoiding a grand final clash with the BFL.

HDFL secretary Trevor Arnel said the league couldn't afford to wait until February 10 to see what the BFL would do about its grand final scheduling before releasing its fixture to its nine clubs.

The Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League grand final will also be played on September 23.

Arnel said it wouldn't suit the league to switch its grand final to the Sunday.

"It seems clubs struggle to even play on a Sunday when they have those two Sunday finals on the first two weekends (of the finals)," Arnel said.

"And tradition as well - the HDFL has always had a Saturday grand final, whereas the BFL has sometimes had a Sunday grand final.

"But hopefully, we can all work in together and in one way or another, it all works out for everyone involved."The last BFL grand final played on a Sunday was in 2001 when Golden Square defeated Sandhurst.

If the HDFL grand final is played on the Saturday and the BFL decider is played on the Sunday, there is the possibility of a joint ticketing system being put in place that would allow entry into both games.

The HDFL season will start on Saturday, April 22.

BFL general manager Tony Pierce or chairman Damian Drum couldn't be contacted yesterday.

"What a waste of time an interleague clash vs the BDFL would be, the HDFL would cane them to the tune of 20 goals Id reckon"

scotywok
17 Jan 2006, 10:48
The HDFL executive must be looking to pump up with accomplishments and hope that a 20 goal annihilation of the Benalla and Districts Football League would make them look unbeatable in achieving such a grand result.

What a joke!!! Anybopdy who's no bandy legged and crossed eyed would get a game for the Benalla and Districts Interleague team.

Colonel Klink and Co. must really be looking for a pat on back, if they are to continue with train of discussions.

Giantbug
17 Jan 2006, 13:06
The HDFL executive must be looking to pump up with accomplishments and hope that a 20 goal annihilation of the Benalla and Districts Football League would make them look unbeatable in achieving such a grand result.

What a joke!!! Anybody who's no bandy legged and crossed eyed would get a game for the Benalla and Districts Interleague team.

Colonel Klink and Co. must really be looking for a pat on back, if they are to continue with train of discussions.

You are spot on - I'll have one of whatever the executive (of one) is on. Why not take on a Japanese Schoolboys side or an over 60's side dressed as one of the Muppetts, it would be just as meaningful. Put the GF a week earlier than proposed and be done with it. That way we dont have to worry about dual ticketing systems etc, inagine what that would to the poor Lions CLub blokes on the gate. Seriously - the lunatics are in charge of the asylum.

boncer34
17 Jan 2006, 13:39
Quality fella Dave McConnell, hope things work out up at White Hills for him and Spick's sake two very loyal Demons over the years. Is Mark still running around?
No Mark retired after the 2004 reserves GF if I recall correctly.

chief wiggum
17 Jan 2006, 22:54
righto lets look at the hillies in depth from their granny side (or close to it!) last year

Shannon Hayes - rumored to be heading to south bendigo / also some heathcote return is possible

Craig Sutton - missed granny with injury, think he's departed

Rick Coburn - Joined South bendigo

Eddy Dickens - not sure what is going on here although past posts indicate he could be on the move. easily a major league footballer

Brian Lassey - not sure on the woofa, does dabble in the world game. may stick with that

Chris Avery - will probably stay OS as well??

Matt Tyrell - gone to golden square

Dylan Simmons - not sure here either

Matt Sawyer - preseason with bendigo bombers, may return though if things dont go his way

Brad McConnell - spicka will be there again next year

Scott Macumber - gornnnn

david Stynes - possibly Gornn back to melb?

Grant Connelly - would be feeling heat from YCW i'd imagine

Jim Angove - see posts above

The Ancrum Brothers - will probably stay - one of them OS?

Ben Jones and Ben Burns - which one of these blokes is still having nightmares about Adrian Baker? Jones OS?

Pete Angove - see above posts

Dallas Pedrotti - supposedly heading back to eaglehawk

gavin Bowles - with the bendigo bombers

matt broad - likely to depart.

nick orr - will stick around if the price is right

Simon keating - not travelling up from melb i suspect

have probably missed a couple but as you can see, a potential mass exodus is on the cards... you never know though the hilles may have recruited well. Any news on that front?

oh and by the way, the father of a former hillies player who kept telling the colbo boys "that the reign's over" during season 2004 - I dont think he's there anymore either!!!

As one wise man said, there is a window of opportunity (premierships) , I believe Hillies window has been closed. Jimmy has jumped off the sinking ship, all players have realised that premierships are not won by talking up flags in July.

chief wiggum
17 Jan 2006, 22:57
Ha G G your kidding yourself pal if you think that the LV is stronger than the HDFL, Why do you think the LV won't play HDFL in interleague anymore. I 'll tell you it's because they would get their pants pulled down.
I think the two leagues should play a sunday game on the QEO once a year so that it is an even playing field, central for both leagues and promote the day, I beleive they would pull a good crowd and just split the gate takings.

Hey Tilt, do you play and have you played interleague,??

Tilt Carter
18 Jan 2006, 20:11
Hey Tilt, do you play and have you played interleague,??

why do u ask c w? r u currently running around and r u up to interleague standard?:rolleyes:

Norfolk & Clew
18 Jan 2006, 20:54
Gee, I am surprised you guys have not posted anything about David Favaleaki playing at Elmore. i was speaking to him tonight and when he said he was playing there I came straight home to Bf to check out the goss on it. he will be a very handy pick up for Elmore.

By the way Doona.... Go the Roos!!! (I am a broady boy) Premiership at harley hammond reserve this year!!!