View Full Version : Heathcote District FL
Barry "The Cougar" Dawson
5 Apr 2007, 17:19
what's happening out at Mounts with recruits?
is Jeremy Quick returning to the club this year? I knew he was overseas in 06 but there was some suggestion he'd be back this year. Very good player to come back into the fold.
Early days, but havent seen Webby's clearance come up on the net yet? is he sticking with the blues?
Also notice Dalton's clearance has been knocked back again by Mounts. Wasnt there talk that he and Kruger were a straight swap for Marby park?
And my little pal Zacca East, has he been training yet? I did hear some chatter about him going to Inglewood, which i'd reckon is a little bit pie in the sky.
and Finally.... Can Miss Finland make it 4 wins on the trot against the big boys in the AJC Derby?
Doubt Quick will be back this year, Webby definitely at YCW, Dont know about the big fella at this stage, Kruger is playing, and easty is still looking for his dead pelican up in Dookie but pretty sure he will play again.
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
5 Apr 2007, 17:35
ive just moved down for uni and am playing footy with elmore. they have been great to me and all the blokes there seem to be real easy going, great to get along with. cant seem to understand why elmore keeps copping a flogging on this website???? should have a strong side this year think were gonna be pretty good. anyways thats my two cents worth:D
As an previous Bloods Senior Player I Couldn't endorse your comments more newblood, Best of luck for the season on what sounds like it is one of the only green ovals around.
hpvectra
5 Apr 2007, 19:55
webby cant put in for clearence yet because still has time on suspension definitely playing at yc
is Jeremy Quick returning to the club this year? I knew he was overseas in 06 but there was some suggestion he'd be back this year. Very good player to come back into the fold.
Early days, but havent seen Webby's clearance come up on the net yet? is he sticking with the blues?
Also notice Dalton's clearance has been knocked back again by Mounts. Wasnt there talk that he and Kruger were a straight swap for Marby park?
And my little pal Zacca East, has he been training yet? I did hear some chatter about him going to Inglewood, which i'd reckon is a little bit pie in the sky.
and Finally.... Can Miss Finland make it 4 wins on the trot against the big boys in the AJC Derby?
webby cant put in clearense has still suspension to serve once served then will put clearence in definitely playing at ycw
Wildcard
6 Apr 2007, 03:05
Jip most likely won't be back this year. Was back in town before Chrissy and caught up with him then. Loves it over there in UK so much he went back early new year.
Webby definitely going to YCW. Didn't know that bening suspended prevented you from being cleared but he will be going.
Dalton still not certain on wanting to play at Maribyrnong this year so Mounts knocking him back in the hope they may entice him to stay should some conditions be aggreed to by both parties.
Easty will be back at Mounts again. Looking like a tank too apparently after spending the summer working up in Nth Qld.Never considered going to Inglewood but possibly thought of playing with Dookie this year, less travel with him attending uni there. Decided against it in the end.
hpvectra
6 Apr 2007, 09:06
Jip most likely won't be back this year. Was back in town before Chrissy and caught up with him then. Loves it over there in UK so much he went back early new year.
Webby definitely going to YCW. Didn't know that bening suspended prevented you from being cleared but he will be going.
Dalton still not certain on wanting to play at Maribyrnong this year so Mounts knocking him back in the hope they may entice him to stay should some conditions be aggreed to by both parties.
Easty will be back at Mounts again. Looking like a tank too apparently after spending the summer working up in Nth Qld.Never considered going to Inglewood but possibly thought of playing with Dookie this year, less travel with him attending uni there. Decided against it in the end.
yep apparently can not lodge a clearence whilst under suspension and it can only be served in the league that he was suspended in so if say the hdfl season was not due to start because of the grounds for lets say 4weeks after the start of the lvfl he must wait until mounts have played the number of games he was suspended for then he can put in for a clearence after that
Note Book
6 Apr 2007, 10:19
The human cement bag aka 'Big dolts' is staying at mounts. Not playing in Melbourne. So for all the blokes who thought they saw the end of him think again. I heard that he has a list of everyone that had a go at him during the year, a few are already in his sights. Poor opposition :eek:
andypipkin
6 Apr 2007, 19:45
really note book. how big could the list of blokes be that he has in his sights really be??? considering he was only at he mountain men for half a year. means there must have been a few bloke that pissed him off. does that mean that anyone who touched him is in for a pummeling. considering the umpires would probably show him plenty of attention would probably slow him down a bit. whatdo you think
hoppalong
6 Apr 2007, 20:43
really note book. how big could the list of blokes be that he has in his sights really be??? considering he was only at he mountain men for half a year. means there must have been a few bloke that pissed him off. does that mean that anyone who touched him is in for a pummeling. considering the umpires would probably show him plenty of attention would probably slow him down a bit. whatdo you think
ha good to hear dalts is staying at mounts.great entertainment.nothing better then seein a few scared defenders. i no i'll be watching him from outside the boundary fence..
The human cement bag aka 'Big dolts' is staying at mounts. Not playing in Melbourne. So for all the blokes who thought they saw the end of him think again. I heard that he has a list of everyone that had a go at him during the year, a few are already in his sights. Poor opposition :eek:
Heard the same from a Maribyrnong Park player last week, said Dalton wasn't playing at Marby and looked likely to stay at Toolleen.
who is the...
best player from your team...
another team...
best defender...
best forward...
best midfielder...
best young player...
and who do you believe will win the g/f this yr...
showmethemoney
7 Apr 2007, 12:19
who is the...
best player from your team...
another team...
best defender...
best forward...
best midfielder...
best young player...
and who do you believe will win the g/f this yr...
Rowbottom
D Geary
Fevlecki ?
Broady u17 captain from last year not sure of name
Colbo
Rowbottom
D Geary
Fevlecki ?
Broady u17 captain from last year not sure of name
Colbo
broady under17s captian was Matt Coomans
andypipkin
8 Apr 2007, 10:02
[who is the...
best player from your team... jim angove
another team... chris dunne
best defender... ryan weiss
best forward... dennis ryan
best midfielder... andy grant
best young player... david faveleaki
and who do you believe will win the g/f this yr... mounts
best player from your team... ? not sure
another team...sam hill
best defender...bill longford
best forward...daniel geary/ linton jacobs
best midfielder...dacvid favleki/ben johnson/
best young player... easty
and who do you believe will win the g/f this yr..elmore/ mounts
anyone agree with my list?
Tilt Carter
8 Apr 2007, 14:12
best player from your team... ? not sure
another team...sam hill
best defender...bill longford
best forward...daniel geary/ linton jacobs
best midfielder...dacvid favleki/ben johnson/
best young player... easty
and who do you believe will win the g/f this yr..elmore/ mounts
anyone agree with my list?
Definately NOT if your leaving liability longford in it!!!!!
[quote=footy_5;7142017]who is the...
best player from your team... T Douglas
another team... C Dunne
best defender... G Byrne
best forward... D Ryan
best midfielder... C Carter
best young player... B Mcleary
and who do you believe will win the g/f this yr... Mounts
Tilt Carter
9 Apr 2007, 14:36
[quote=footy_5;7142017]who is the...
best player from your team... T Douglas
another team... C Dunne
best defender... G Byrne
best forward... D Ryan
best midfielder... C Carter
best young player... B Mcleary
and who do you believe will win the g/f this yr... Mounts
Ha trigga, yours not a mounts fan by any chance are you????
kip mcgrath
9 Apr 2007, 18:04
who would be colbo's top 5 best senior players? in order
Whats the Practice match schedule this weekend lads. We have YCW in Bendigo, who else is having a run???
whats the details here 4 mounts
Mounts are playing YCW at YCW on Saturday mate, thats bout all i know. Should be a few in from the other weekend when we took on Pascoe Vale so will be good to see how we come up
After a disappointing 6 goal loss to Sunbury Roos Broadford will welcome Romsey over on Saturday for 3 games of footy and 2 of netball.
showmethemoney
10 Apr 2007, 11:53
who would be colbo's top 5 best senior players? in order
Does any one really care http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
1 Rod Doak
2 Rod Doak
3 Rod Doak
4 Rod Doak
5 Matt Barkla
Bronco Billy
10 Apr 2007, 14:08
1 Rod Doak
2 Rod Doak
3 Rod Doak
4 Rod Doak
5 Matt Barkla
Is R Doak (Roderick Doak) the lunchbox legend from Huntly???
Definately NOT if your leaving liability longford in it!!!!!
ill get rid of longford then
Here's another topic footy fans ...
Which player do you expect to have a standout year in the HDFL and why? Is it that they're in flying preseason form or is there another reason? Can they win the Cheatley?
From what ive seen Cam Carter looks very fit and played awesome in mounts only practice match againts Pascoe Vale. Hard at it good skills and would easily be up there with the fittest in the league. Never seems to tire!
Also Rick Smith apparently looking good, been drinking with some mounts boys here and there and it really seems to be rubbing off on him:D
Fantom Maggot
10 Apr 2007, 18:23
1 Rod Doak
2 Rod Doak
3 Rod Doak
4 Rod Doak
5 Matt Barkla
Hmmmm, good call but I would have slotted Rod Doak in at number 5 just ahead of Matt Barkla
Fantom:thumbsu:
Jeremy Brown one of colbos gun recruits theres about 6 new fellas out there that i here will be worth watching. from all reports turned it on at centre half forward on the weekend, very good mark of the footy and his foot skills are class. i think he is a fromer eaglehawk player
A semi final appearance last year was a marked improvement after the club had a year they had to have in 2005 (second bottom). The depth will start to come thru with the younger fellas getting more senior experience this year :thumbsu:
i see mate. i here brown was good on the weekend and buctch hill is still a gun. is jacobs far off? you guys do seem like the late charges, seems like you have the right balance
ROOTA#6
10 Apr 2007, 22:14
i see mate. i here brown was good on the weekend and buctch hill is still a gun. is jacobs far off? you guys do seem like the late charges, seems like you have the right balance
Yeah Jeremy Brown is all class, am looking forward to lining up aganst Colbo. Will be a great game of footy
Tilt Carter
10 Apr 2007, 22:40
Yeah Jeremy Brown is all class, am looking forward to lining up aganst Colbo. Will be a great game of footy
Ha Roota, How did you go last week against PV out at Onion grass park?
Heard they were thinking of running a bus out from Benders just so the boys from B F could all see you strut your stuff.
What posi did you play?
ROOTA#6
10 Apr 2007, 22:43
Ha Roota, How did you go last week against PV out at Onion grass park?
Heard they were thinking of running a bus out from Benders just so the boys from B F could all see you strut your stuff.
What posi did you play?
Haha i heard that rumour too Tilt. I was waiting for a bit of banter from the crowd but nothing was forthcoming.
I think i went ok. Played on a wing and managed to jag a couple of goals and get a few kicks. Not a bad first one. Havn't plauyed on the wing since i was about twelve so it was interesting
Tilt Carter
10 Apr 2007, 22:50
Haha i heard that rumour too Tilt. I was waiting for a bit of banter from the crowd but nothing was forthcoming.
I think i went ok. Played on a wing and managed to jag a couple of goals and get a few kicks. Not a bad first one. Havn't plauyed on the wing since i was about twelve so it was interesting
I thought that the boy from Lalbert was going to hold down CHF in dalts spot, what happened? Who took your posi.
ROOTA#6
10 Apr 2007, 22:53
I thought that the boy from Lalbert was going to hold down CHF in dalts spot, what happened? Who took your posi.
Yeah dunno what happened there mate. I went in preparing myself to play CHF but not to be :D I think we had a few float through there no one permanent which is probably not a bad thing coz recent reports suggest the big man is on board again this season
Joeyboy
11 Apr 2007, 12:22
David Cini, will impress has had a big pre season, former pioneers player, looks very fit.
oldmanemu
11 Apr 2007, 13:00
Roota/Trigga/Wildcard,
are Mounts playing a full day of footy against YCW. That is, 3rds, 2nds and 1sts, or is it just a 6 quarter ones game?
Also what time do the twos start if there is a twos game?
cheers.
patty O'furnicha
11 Apr 2007, 14:04
Did Colbo play Wedderburn on the weekend? anyone go to it and can give a report?
Lionel Ritchie
11 Apr 2007, 15:09
Did Colbo play Wedderburn on the weekend? anyone go to it and can give a report?
They had a good hitout Roderick Doak was the stand out for me Kicking 10 Goals. He is looking the fittest I have ever seen him and has really hit the gym hard.
Yeh they beat the burn by 6 goals. ran over the top of them in the second half. to much spped and rmoved the ball quick ith there hands. from all reports brown was a standout and worked well with irwin and hill. ben johonson was silky on the wing and butch hill was strong over the footy in the middle. young bloke scott dishan from melbourne played and showed a bit as well. with several players to come back in looking alright. mounts till the team to beat
[quote=ROOTA#6;7181931]Haha i heard that rumour too Tilt. I was waiting for a bit of banter from the crowd but nothing was forthcoming.
So tilt can u tell me why u guys are gonna be the team to beat again?
lost 5 pretty good players. brown was a massive lost but sound like a bit of business goin on under the table, is quick back pretty classy cat.
Tilt Carter
11 Apr 2007, 18:25
[quote=ROOTA#6;7181931]Haha i heard that rumour too Tilt. I was waiting for a bit of banter from the crowd but nothing was forthcoming.
So tilt can u tell me why u guys are gonna be the team to beat again?
lost 5 pretty good players. brown was a massive lost but sound like a bit of business goin on under the table, is quick back pretty classy cat.
Ha Jet i think you would have to ask that question to a mounts player or supporter, both of which i am not.
I do agree though big losses and not premiership favourites in my mind.:D
ROOTA#6
11 Apr 2007, 18:44
[quote=A_JET8;7187398]
Ha Jet i think you would have to ask that question to a mounts player or supporter, both of which i am not.
I do agree though big losses and not premiership favourites in my mind.:D
Excellent, i hope a few more people under rate us a bit :D Just Joking Tilt. I am really looking forward to this year i think it will be super competitive with plenty of teams a chance for success. Just the way country footy should be
ROOTA#6
11 Apr 2007, 18:46
Roota/Trigga/Wildcard,
are Mounts playing a full day of footy against YCW. That is, 3rds, 2nds and 1sts, or is it just a 6 quarter ones game?
Also what time do the twos start if there is a twos game?
cheers.
Emu,
I know that the thirds are having their own game but ia m unsure what the go is with the one's and two's. I know they were shooting for 2 seperate games but i will know more after training tomorrow night :thumbsu:
the 'burn missed your good self and Rooey in the midfield
lanky midget
12 Apr 2007, 09:36
Heard a rumour elmore are close to signing brenton hall, bendigo boy and pioneers player last year. pretty sure he featured in the bfl towards the end of the season and possibly finals. brother of star cameron. any of the elmore boys confirm this?
blackbeard
12 Apr 2007, 10:08
Doona,
With Broadfords history of recruiting ex-AFL players with questionable drug histories and setting them on the straight and narrow, I naturally assume you'd have made contact with Ben Cousins and possibly Kerr about playing for the roos. Still a few months before clearances close!!
Mobbenfuhrer
12 Apr 2007, 10:28
Any of you McIvorians folks interested in fielding a team? :p
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342
Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?
Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.
This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!
All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728
I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.
So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.
Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!
I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.
For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.
So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).
We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.
Onward lads! ...
Doona,
With Broadfords history of recruiting ex-AFL players with questionable drug histories and setting them on the straight and narrow, I naturally assume you'd have made contact with Ben Cousins and possibly Kerr about playing for the roos. Still a few months before clearances close!!
Just as long as the HDFL dont bring in testing :p
The Tibbinator
12 Apr 2007, 11:15
Heard a rumour elmore are close to signing brenton hall, bendigo boy and pioneers player last year. pretty sure he featured in the bfl towards the end of the season and possibly finals. brother of star cameron. any of the elmore boys confirm this?
Mr Lanky Midget,
you are stealing The Tibbinators thunder!
The Tibbinator hears rumors.....
stringy
12 Apr 2007, 11:36
Mr Lanky Midget,
you are stealing The Tibbinators thunder!
The Tibbinator hears rumors.....
i also heard the same rumour, but also heard that mr hall is close to playing for heathcote as well. furthermore, he also has close associations with a few colbo boys and would probably prefer to play there but knows he wont get the right money.
On The Money
12 Apr 2007, 11:47
i also heard the same rumour, but also heard that mr hall is close to playing for heathcote as well. furthermore, he also has close associations with a few colbo boys and would probably prefer to play there but knows he wont get the right money.
Pretty sure his mates are Smythe and Cavallaro from his Mildura background that trained with Heathcote before settling with Elmore.
I heard he is likely to strip with Elmore and would be another handy addition up forward.
Is that you Cam? :D
Tibbinator would have undoubtedly heard this one already but I heard a Mounts player got touched up last week over an incident which stemmed from all the way back to mad Monday last year. Tibb or anyone else care to elaborate?
bloodhound!
12 Apr 2007, 13:51
Tibbinator would have undoubtedly heard this one already but I heard a Mounts player got touched up last week over an incident which stemmed from all the way back to mad Monday last year. Tibb or anyone else care to elaborate?
Il be interested to see what the tibbanator comes back with here! Care to elaborate Santoz? I think i may know what you are referring to....
vantheman32
12 Apr 2007, 15:01
brenton hall or should i say the "gastros" biggest set of calves on mankind, howd he go with footy last yr, i played in a premiership with him at ACK in 2005. Will be a good get for elmore, loves a drink.
Does brenton live on camerons name a little bit from all accounts he is no were near as good as cam?
vantheman32
12 Apr 2007, 17:15
he is a shadow of the player cameron is, although brenton is still a handy player can only play foward, looks very awkward yet has an uncanny ability to take contested marks. also awkward kicking style but usually goes through the two big ones, good character
patty O'furnicha
12 Apr 2007, 17:41
the 'burn missed your good self and Rooey in the midfield
Read your PM's HJ!
ROOTA#6
12 Apr 2007, 23:21
Disappointing news for all Mounts people with YCW pulling the pin on this weekends Praccy match. YCW ground not fit to play on and they are not prepared to come to play at Toolleen. Disappointing. We will now play an intra club game on Saturday
Match-ups will be interesting ;) who's guna play on Carter or Dalton you a chance mate?
lanky midget
13 Apr 2007, 10:05
Is that you Cam? :D
na not cam just an old friend of brenton.
looks like elmore have a strong sunraysia connection..leon carter, fev, now hall and the other two boys...tibbinator any rumours circulating?
I heard a pretty good one last night but I'll give the Tibbinator til this arvo to post it as rumours are his specialty and I dont wanna steal his thunder :thumbsu:
On The Money
13 Apr 2007, 11:01
I heard a pretty good one last night but I'll give the Tibbinator til this arvo to post it as rumours are his specialty and I dont wanna steal his thunder :thumbsu:
Let us have it Doon pretty sure the Tibbinator has pot and parm day at the windy Fridays so he doesn't report!!
Lionel Ritchie
13 Apr 2007, 13:19
Hey roota
Word is that mounts rang YCW at 8.00 last night telling them that they were not going to play them unless they played at tooleen. Wouldn't you say that Mounts were the ones who pulled the pin, not YCW
Hey roota
Word is that mounts rang YCW at 8.00 last night telling them that they were not going to play them unless they played at tooleen. Wouldn't you say that Mounts were the ones who pulled the pin, not YCW
So there's a twist :confused:
oldmanemu
13 Apr 2007, 17:06
Hey roota
I would suggest to you that the fact that YCW's ground is no good, yet Mounts offered to still play at Tooleen, and then YCW didn't want to, would say that YCW have pulled the pin.
Intra-club games are dodgy affairs too. Expect a few injuries.
Keep dancin' lionel.
The Tibbinator
13 Apr 2007, 17:09
Mr Doona
The Tibbinator covers a far and wide area in the land of footy, however sometimes rumors can slip through the Tibbinator's net!
Should it be controversial, scandal, or just plain innuendo and you're a little afraid to post it, Please PM the Tibbinator and he'll gladly break the rumor for you - it's his speciality.
The Tibbinator will keep on rocking, if you're gonna keep on rocking too.
the Tibbinator hears rumors.....
bobbill
13 Apr 2007, 17:52
Roota get your facts right ycw trained last night, after training sides were read out with everybody expecting a game but mounts inspected ycw ground sometime on Thursday and said they didn't want to play there and that they wanted to play at tooleen. Pretty hard to change everything when everything organised. Also we didn't finish training until 8.15 p.m.
First ycw players knew of it was at 8.45 a.m. this morning when we had to get ready for a intra-club.
I think they will incounter whose grounds then ycw's during the year. Wandella didn't mine playing on it two weeks ago and hasn't got any worse since then.
Tilt Carter
13 Apr 2007, 18:13
Roota get your facts right ycw trained last night, after training sides were read out with everybody expecting a game but mounts inspected ycw ground sometime on Thursday and said they didn't want to play there and that they wanted to play at tooleen. Pretty hard to change everything when everything organised. Also we didn't finish training until 8.15 p.m.
First ycw players knew of it was at 8.45 a.m. this morning when we had to get ready for a intra-club.
I think they will incounter whose grounds then ycw's during the year. Wandella didn't mine playing on it two weeks ago and hasn't got any worse since then.
I heard today that the mounts brains trust decided after their loss of five handy players (ferrier, shannon, webb, grinton and the uncertain return of dalts), that they didn't want to be beaten by a side from a lesser league as this would not be good for the confidence of their remaining squad just two weeks out from the start of their season. Thus opting for an intra club as this way the result does not matter.
overcreek
13 Apr 2007, 18:45
I heard today that the mounts brains trust decided after their loss of five handy players (ferrier, shannon, webb, grinton and the uncertain return of dalts), that they didn't want to be beaten by a side from a lesser league as this would not be good for the confidence of their remaining squad just two weeks out from the start of their season. Thus opting for an intra club as this way the result does not matter.
i heard today that Assistant Coach Waymien of YC didnt want to drive to Tooleen
R U SERIOUS
13 Apr 2007, 18:46
They had a good hitout Roderick Doak was the stand out for me Kicking 10 Goals. He is looking the fittest I have ever seen him and has really hit the gym hard.
Hey Rich sounds like has someone invented a piece of gym equipment to grow the heart bigger???:D
ROOTA#6
13 Apr 2007, 18:46
Match-ups will be interesting ;) who's guna play on Carter or Dalton you a chance mate?
Nah mate, i have specifically requested to be on the same team as those 2 :D
ROOTA#6
13 Apr 2007, 18:50
You are a funny man Tilt!!!
Wouldn't say Dalton's return is uncertain. Have been informed that the big lad, who is currently training for his boxing debut is an almost certain starter for us. Apparently is looking a picture of fitness. Glad i am not the man jumping in the ring with him
On The Money
13 Apr 2007, 18:51
You are a funny man Tilt!!!
what do you do for a crust Roots?
ROOTA#6
13 Apr 2007, 18:53
what do you do for a crust Roots?
Work in Employment Industry OTM why is that mate?
On The Money
13 Apr 2007, 18:57
Work in Employment Industry OTM why is that mate?
I was just curious to see what the newest superstar of the competition did in between Big Footy Posts. You been cleared yet?
ROOTA#6
13 Apr 2007, 19:00
I was just curious to see what the newest superstar of the competition did in between Big Footy Posts. You been cleared yet?
Definitely not a superstar OTM. The job actually allows me to spend copius amounts of time on the internet, hence the amount of posts:D
Got the clearance early last week thank christ
Gillabbey24
14 Apr 2007, 18:12
Expect to hear a few relatively unknown youngsters from down Heathcote way that may make big impressions this season. ;)
nesko_25
15 Apr 2007, 11:30
HDFLHawkfan, how'd you go agaist Serp? How did the new recruit 6"4 ruckman Chris Long go? Huntly are keen dishing out $250 a game to a bloke not long turned 18 and just came out of Sandhurst 18s were he was 4th ot 5th string ruckman (behind Martin, Sloan etc). He even told me that Huntly havnt even seen him play a game, just train.
Hows the other recruit going Jason someone (could be Jason May) heard he goes alright.
Expect to hear a few relatively unknown youngsters from down Heathcote way that may make big impressions this season. ;)
they certainly did yesterday against Colbo.
Plenty of young runners and guys working well to their coaches' instruction.
The coach is a fair sized lad too - he goes allright. Colbo played well in patches, and tried guys in different positions, but lacked match fitness.
I think heathcote won by about 3-4 goals.
andypipkin
15 Apr 2007, 12:33
white hills ventured to pyramid hill fo there first hit out yesty, goin down by a couple of goals. some pleasing signs for the demons with a few of the recruits making an impression, and jones in his first year back from a stint overseas slotting through a few majors. looks like better signs than last year. who played well for the hoppers hj??
Fantom Maggot
15 Apr 2007, 17:01
white hills ventured to pyramid hill fo there first hit out yesty, goin down by a couple of goals. some pleasing signs for the demons with a few of the recruits making an impression, and jones in his first year back from a stint overseas slotting through a few majors. looks like better signs than last year. who played well for the hoppers hj??
I too ventured out to Bedrock on the weekend and watched this game. Guys looked good and played some good footy. Good to see young Jonesy get a "few" majors. Wrighty went well also in the ones after a full game in the two's. Hey Pinnacle, You decided where you may be playin this year? Reckon you'd slot into this line up just nicely
Phantom:thumbsu:
nesko_25
15 Apr 2007, 17:04
Locky played Calival and only won the thirds for the day. Lacked numbers and ended up with only 14 players in the 2s.
The ones were competitive all day untill the end with Calival winning by 2-3 goals. Had 7-8 players out and Smythe went down early and was good to see a lot of news faces running around in the 1s and there was alot of positives to get out of it.
Fantom Maggot
15 Apr 2007, 17:22
Had 7-8 players out and Smythe went down early and was good to see a lot of news faces running around in the 1s and there was alot of positives to get out of it.
What happened to the Big fella and is he gonna be okay?
ROOTA#6
15 Apr 2007, 21:56
What happened to the Big fella and is he gonna be okay?
So how will Locky shape up for round 1?
On The Money
15 Apr 2007, 22:03
So how will Locky shape up for round 1?
How did the intra club game Roota? Heard Heathcote had a good win over the Grasshoppers with Lec Fetherstone playing a good game I'm sure the large contingent of Colbo posters can give us a good run down.
ROOTA#6
15 Apr 2007, 22:07
How did the intra club game Roota? Heard Heathcote had a good win over the Grasshoppers with Lec Fetherstone playing a good game I'm sure the large contingent of Colbo posters can give us a good run down.
Intra club went well OTM, obviously would have been better to play against YCW, but it was good to have a run around any way. Better than what i would have been doing anyway!!!
I must say i am really looking forward to the season starting
ROOTA#6
15 Apr 2007, 22:15
Locky played Calival and only won the thirds for the day. Lacked numbers and ended up with only 14 players in the 2s.
The ones were competitive all day untill the end with Calival winning by 2-3 goals. Had 7-8 players out and Smythe went down early and was good to see a lot of news faces running around in the 1s and there was alot of positives to get out of it.
Waht happened to Big Axe. Hope my old team mate will be right for the first round
We played host to Romsey yesterday, ripper crowd saw us sell out of tucker early in the one's - and extra trips for grog meant a successful day all round.
Broady 3rds went down by a goal or so, good signs considering they went up against an under 18 outfit although we had a few guys from last years 3rds (Simpson, Hibbert, Gillard) assist.
Two's had a huge win, Aaron Bray kicking 9 from full forward.
In the main game, we won by I think by about 14-15 points, not much in it all day.
With 17 guys injured or unavailable for the day (inlcuding Fletcher, John Taylor, Redenbach, Rowbotham) plus a recruit or two not playing I was rapt with how the young blokes went. The tough task will now be getting 44 for round one and keeping everyone happy . . . . . probably good Im not living in town anymore!!!
Anyway 44 of us capped off an enjoyable pre-season with a bit of a day in Melbourne today - lawn bowls, swim, bbq lunch and the VFL game at Coburg.
Sorry to waffle on gents but is it just me or has this pre-season seemed the longest in history? Im sure we're all looking forward to April 28th when there are actual points on offer - me I cant wait for round 3 as Roota has already put his hand up for the job on Chris Dunne ;)
PINNACLE HEALTH
15 Apr 2007, 23:38
I too ventured out to Bedrock on the weekend and watched this game. Guys looked good and played some good footy. Good to see young Jonesy get a "few" majors. Wrighty went well also in the ones after a full game in the two's. Hey Pinnacle, You decided where you may be playin this year? Reckon you'd slot into this line up just nicely
Phantom:thumbsu:
I'm still undecided mate, but will have to make a decision soon.
Do you know if Hills have another praccy match this weekend?
nesko_25
16 Apr 2007, 13:03
Waht happened to Big Axe. Hope my old team mate will be right for the first round
He pulled out before the match and had a bit of work on his calfs then decided he was right to play. Strained his calf in the 1st or 2nd quarter, dunno when he'll be back
ROOTA#6
16 Apr 2007, 13:09
He pulled out before the match and had a bit of work on his calfs then decided he was right to play. Strained his calf in the 1st or 2nd quarter, dunno when he'll be back
They are a pretty big set of calfs that he has so any injury to them is a big worry
The Tibbinator
16 Apr 2007, 13:46
The Tibbinator Hears Rumors and has breaking news!
Tibbinator's spies tell him that a certain HDFL Century Goalkicker will be back in the comp this year as part of a last minute recruiting coup........ big big news
Christ do we really need anotha gun 2 try & cover - give a few of us middle of the road clubs a chance will ya's :p
nesko_25
16 Apr 2007, 14:15
Any names Tibbinator? Where did you hear this from?
They are a pretty big set of calfs that he has so any injury to them is a big worry
RRRR so the Lalbert boys are right, you are playing in this league, ive come back from a working holiday to find out that Lalbert Reserves player is playing against me this year i heard that you have left your old nick name behind FIGJAM or FIGGY and have replaced it with one of your mates nick names ( who you base your bigfooty name on) ROOTA ha ha ha i find that funny giving yourself that nick name
Iceman27
16 Apr 2007, 14:51
Doona, on the DVFL thread it's rumored that Adrian Baker signed with you guys last Thursday night. Any truth to this.
Get your old Yabbas out and have a look Nesko... then you will put 2 and 2 together!
I do believe this person the Tibbinator is informing us about did his ticket around xmas time and cannot travel to his current club.