View Full Version : Heathcote District FL
I have been told by a good source no back chat,no swearing and no hands in back no matter who u r u will get penalised may be the Elmore brians trust should get this across to the players. They were undiscipined when i saw them play against Heathcote sounds like they have not learned????
are rochy umps and bendigo umps doing the same rules. i heard from rochy umps that the hands in the back was not going to be done this year. they said their main concern was protecting the man over the ball and any one that makes contact with a player head on with head over the ball will be awarded a free kick against and yellow carded. has this happened to anyone yet??
Big Ump
15 May 2007, 15:13
are rochy umps and bendigo umps doing the same rules. i heard from rochy umps that the hands in the back was not going to be done this year. they said their main concern was protecting the man over the ball and any one that makes contact with a player head on with head over the ball will be awarded a free kick against and yellow carded. has this happened to anyone yet??
I would have thought so, you would have thought they ( Rochy&Bendigo Umpires) would have got their heads together at the start of the season and talk about what they where going to really clamp down on.I will have talk with my source and mention what u wrote to me and see what he comes up with.He is pritty well on the mark most time's.And to your last part of your quote no i have not seen this happen i have only seen Bendigo umpire's this year:thumbsu:
toquick
15 May 2007, 16:07
Who ever does the recruiting for North Bendigo needs to have a good hard look at themselves...Trent Davie on $150 a game is an absolute joke! Im from his home town of Shepparton and heard this on the weekend from one of the North Bendigo boys and laughed.
stringy
15 May 2007, 18:21
i see the great roderick doak snagged a few on the weekend, i thought he was playing down back. i know he fancys himself as a forward, apparently a bit too lazy to man up down back. any thoughts?
crybaby
15 May 2007, 19:28
i see the great roderick doak snagged a few on the weekend, i thought he was playing down back. i know he fancys himself as a forward, apparently a bit too lazy to man up down back. any thoughts?
must hav had a goat playing on him did he, thoguht he was too slow to be playn up forward.
crybaby
15 May 2007, 19:33
Apparently Moulday is playing and Billings is still coaching.
pls tel me ths is not the same moulday that played at starnaud. unless he has improved 100 percent as a player then i dont know how he is getn a kick. sounds like there are raps on him. haha must be and ordinary side
ROOTA#6
15 May 2007, 22:24
Must of got a few kicks on the weekend roota? Looking for doona to mention yourself?
No no Bingle i know Doona far too well to think that he would fall for that!!! Just interested to get the opinion of the oppositions Non playing coach coz he gets a totally different perspective of the game
scotywok
16 May 2007, 11:15
Ventured down to training last night and noticed former Yea Premiership player Tom Butterworth running around. Doubt he would be available this season after committing to play down Apollo Bay way.
Interesting to see around a dozen players undertaking disciplinary tasks of sprints for around 15 minutes. Believe it had something to do with talking and joking through the awards ceremony on Saturday night. Good move form the coaching staff if that's the case.:thumbsu:
nesko_25
16 May 2007, 15:04
So what did happen to locky, nesko. Too young of a side against experienced opposition. They did have some injury problems but surely they shouldn't have lost by that much. How long is their gun rover Bongi out for?
Not that the team is too young just they havnt played enough footy together, about 10 new players that will be in and out of the 1s this year so got to give them time to gel. Injuries played a big part but its no excuse, colbo just ran over they top as they moved the ball quickly. From watching the game I thought we made them look better with poor skills and turn overs. Full credit to the colbo boys they played well. How long untill Tim Hill is back HJ? Bongy is back at work and would say he's another month away, expect him back fitter than ever.
Squeaky
16 May 2007, 15:38
Bongo will have to be back at work because they are another man down now after Nig did his shoulder.
BackPocketBattler
16 May 2007, 21:06
From an outside point of view stringy, it appears there is not enough room for R. Doak to play in colbo's forward half for extended periods. what with the likes of Basil Brown, Irwin and Old lemon Face himself Silly Hill up front permanently. Just a thought.
blowfish
16 May 2007, 23:31
Moulday played twos at south bendigo, is just a twos player... a shocking kick for goal and his max distance would be 30m. Good bloke though. top fella.
You are giving him to much credit he cant kick over a jam tin let alone 30m.
NathCameron
17 May 2007, 12:01
make sure your watching the footy show tonight boys. you might get a glimpse of me with the wheel as the billy's wheel heads our way tonight
old saint
17 May 2007, 12:24
i see former collingwood player barry rist died yesterday. i am pretty sure that he coached broadford to the 1996 flag.
i hope he was able to make it to their reunion last year.
make sure your watching the footy show tonight boys. you might get a glimpse of me with the wheel as the billy's wheel heads our way tonight
nath,you are a pest. what the hell are you on about this time?
NathCameron
17 May 2007, 15:41
nath,you are a pest. what the hell are you on about this time?
the "wheel" billy'ss wheel on the footy show.... you know sam newman!!. heads to wunghnu tonight. i'll be their with bells on make sure you look out for me!!:p
i see former collingwood player barry rist died yesterday. i am pretty sure that he coached broadford to the 1996 flag.
i hope he was able to make it to their reunion last year.
Yeah Baz coach us in 1996 & 97. I was fortunate enough to work alongside him as runner that year and got the coaching bug from his and Finchy's influence. Pretty sure a Wallan premiership coach, also won a flag at Kilmore as well as numerous DVFL clubs.
An absolute local footy legend who's hard but fair approach was memorable. Never gave it to the kids, but rode the guns and those that dare put their hand out for a quid like ya wouldnt believe.
Yesterday's news rocked many of us in Broadford who had seen him at last years ten year reunion. Might even spend a portion of tonights training session doing what we called "Risty's Diamond" out of respect to a great man.
old saint
17 May 2007, 15:56
[
Yesterday's news rocked many of us in Broadford who had seen him at last years ten year reunion. Might even spend a portion of tonights training session doing what we called "Risty's Diamond" out of respect to a great man.[/quote]
had the pleasure of doing ristys diamond when gavin mutz coached up in QLD. i must say it wasnt my favourite drill.
woof woof
17 May 2007, 17:08
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974
had the pleasure of doing ristys diamond when gavin mutz coached up in QLD. i must say it wasnt my favourite drill.
Still haven't worked out who u are oldsaint, but the mutz connection is getting me warmer I hope :thumbsu: Gav is a legend bloke too IMO, again if not for Bazz we would never have had the priviledge either.
old saint
17 May 2007, 17:50
Still haven't worked out who u are oldsaint, but the mutz connection is getting me warmer I hope :thumbsu: Gav is a legend bloke too IMO, again if not for Bazz we would never have had the priviledge either.
we had a couple after the footy when springwood played caloundra, back in about 98. you and the young lad blackwell
Big Ump
17 May 2007, 17:57
Also shocked me, i was growing up in Melbourne at the time (Mid 70's) were i was playing sometime's he would come to our club rooms on a Sunday ( they were called pleasant sunday mornnings in them day's) i think he was playing at North Heilderberg at the time
BrentmeisterGeneral
17 May 2007, 22:44
Boys and girls of the HDFL,
This is an open invitation to friends, players, officials and supporters of all clubs who have over the years had the pleasure of knowing/playing against Dave and Brad McConnell (or Poopsy and Spicka as they are more affectionately known)
In Round 7 during the home game against LBU, the White Hills Footy Club will be recognising Dave and Brad's 200th Senior Game for the club, a fantastic achievement by two of the best blokes going round the league! That night festivities will kick on at the clubrooms, where we will make some presentations aswell as hearing from a few speakers who have been closely involved with the lads over there lengthy careers.
Details of the event are as below.
Poopsy and Spicka's 200th Game Testimonial Night
Where: White Hills Club Rooms (Scott Street)
When: June 9th at 7:30pm
Dress: We have stated semi formal but neat casual will do fine.
Cost: $20 per person (Under 15 FREE)
There will be light refreshments provided on the night with drinks at better than bar prices.
Sorry to ramble on abit, but if people from other clubs want to spread the word on this event to those who might be interested, that would be great. Hopefully a fantastic night will be had by all!
Thanks again guys.
Boys and girls of the HDFL,
This is an open invitation to friends, players, officials and supporters of all clubs who have over the years had the pleasure of knowing/playing against Dave and Brad McConnell (or Poopsy and Spicka as they are more affectionately known)
In Round 7 during the home game against LBU, the White Hills Footy Club will be recognising Dave and Brad's 200th Senior Game for the club, a fantastic achievement by two of the best blokes going round the league! That night festivities will kick on at the clubrooms, where we will make some presentations aswell as hearing from a few speakers who have been closely involved with the lads over there lengthy careers.
Details of the event are as below.
Poopsy and Spicka's 200th Game Testimonial Night
Where: White Hills Club Rooms (Scott Street)
When: June 9th at 7:30pm
Dress: We have stated semi formal but neat casual will do fine.
Cost: $20 per person (Under 15 FREE)
There will be light refreshments provided on the night with drinks at better than bar prices.
Sorry to ramble on abit, but if people from other clubs want to spread the word on this event to those who might be interested, that would be great. Hopefully a fantastic night will be had by all!
Thanks again guys.
Sounds like a fitting celebration for two quality fella's :thumbsu:
Wallygrout
18 May 2007, 00:57
Hows The Big Roota Going
Utility_07
18 May 2007, 11:38
MT PLEASANT VS White hills
nth bendigo VS BROADFORD
COLBINABIN VS heathcote
ELMORE vs huntly
Going with a few upsets this week with mounts over white hills and Colbo over heathcote but both should be great games. I think colbo have to much power up forward with danny irwin and sam hill for the heathcote defence but should be a cracker..... I think mounts will bounce back over all the media speculation about them as they have done over the years.... and Broadford to get up over north by a couple of goals in another good game for ronud 4..... and as for the last game, lets just say, Bad luck huntly.........
you could hardly call any of those two upsets as they will be close games. am agreeing with you anyway utility.
MT PLEASANT VS White hills 5goals
nth bendigo VS BROADFORD 9goals
COLBINABIN VS heathcote 7points
ELMORE vs huntly ......:o ......
matt_nicholls
18 May 2007, 12:01
Mount Pleasant by 40 points.
Broadford by 55 points.
Heathcote by 3 points.
Elmore by 95 points.
good to see Colbo lad Grant Weeks crack his first senior VFL Game this weekend. Hopefully all that time spent on the massage table this week will give him the vital edge competing against the big boys......
Bronco Billy
18 May 2007, 14:06
good to see Colbo lad Grant Weeks crack his first senior VFL Game this weekend. Hopefully all that time spent on the massage table this week will give him the vital edge competing against the big boys......
Young Weeksy hey. Good on him, hope he goes well. Just hope those massages didn't come with a happy ending it may distract his onfield performance!
scotywok
18 May 2007, 14:45
The Wok's selections for Round 4:
Mounts comfortably over White Hills
Broadford over North
Colbo by under 10 poaints against Heathcote
Elmore by plenty over Huntly
But the wet weather we've had could spring a few suprises with scores not being overly high.
is it just me or is it a disgrace that weeka didnt get drafted...
StanTsaikos
18 May 2007, 16:52
you could hardly call any of those two upsets as they will be close games. am agreeing with you anyway utility.
MT PLEASANT VS White hills 5goals
nth bendigo VS BROADFORD 9goals
COLBINABIN VS heathcote 7points
ELMORE vs huntly ......:o ......
Can anyone in the know @ Huntly tell me if a Juan Garry Moulday is going to make his long awaited comeback tomorrow. Heard he is keepin it pretty low key but in actual fact he is chomping at the bit to get out there and silence all the critics! This bloke is untapped and after feeling abit guilty bout "fleecing" the club the past 2 years im sure all the money forked out by Huntly will be worth it come 2.10pm tomorrow!
Mt. Pleasant vs White hills - 3 goals
North Bendigo vs Broadford - 8 goals
Colbinabbin vs Heathcote - 3 goals
Elmore vs Huntly - 10 goals
Mounts to kickstart their year. Broadford too strong. Heathcote were flat last week but I expect them to keep on winning. Elmore too strong.
the red white and black
18 May 2007, 19:46
Taught him everything you know H?
blackbeard
18 May 2007, 20:18
[quote=Santoz;7565573]Mt. Pleasant vs White hills - 3 goals
quote]
Ill stick with above tips but I'll change da margins.
Mounts by 80 points
Broady by 57.....its a bit wet at the zoo
heatcote by 3points
Elmore by 100 plus.
Bad news with barry. Bit of a Guru in my mind as I was only a young impressional teen when he was around the BFNC. No doubt Doon will get the boys primed for tomorrow!!
ROOTA#6
18 May 2007, 20:22
[quote=Santoz;7565573]Mt. Pleasant vs White hills - 3 goals
quote]
Mounts by 80 points
heatcote by 3points
Elmore by 100 plus.
Bad news with barry. Bit of a Guru at in my mind as I was only a young impressional teen when he was around the BFNC. No doubt Doon will get the boys primed for tomorrow!!
Thats a big change in the margin for Mounts Blackbeard, whats the thoughts behind that mate???
blackbeard
18 May 2007, 21:15
[quote=blackbeard;7567095]
Thats a big change in the margin for Mounts Blackbeard, whats the thoughts behind that mate???
I think mounts comin off two losses on the trot will see you boys ready to set things back on track. I had a look at white hills V's elmore last week and white hills aren't much chop. Elmore played fairly ordinary despite the scoreboard indicating otherwise. They just didn't play the same kind of footy that saw them touch up Broady the week before. Keep a hold of Angove and Sawyer in the middle and the rest will sort it's self out roota.
Mounts by 80 points
heatcote by 3points
Elmore by 100 plus.
Bad news with barry. Bit of a Guru in my mind as I was only a young impressional teen when he was around the BFNC. No doubt Doon will get the boys primed for tomorrow!!
How wet are we talking beard? I did hear the ground had a tinge of regrowth after a seed but all this rain and 3 games of footy may make it tough to get the ground up for a while now. Do the juniors train there? Reason I ask is that Im of the belief Heathcote have had the kids training at the showgrounds to lighten the traffic are any other clubs doing similar?
overcreek
19 May 2007, 00:45
just seen Dalton has been cleared to Maribyrnong Park. Wonder if the hierarchy will be on the chase for a replacement?
Gillabbey24
19 May 2007, 12:26
Should be a cracker weekend of wet weather footy which should result in some close matches around the league.
Down the road from the tin shed the Mountain men should bounce back against the Hillies. Young Pat 'windscreen' Obrien will love the wet weather whilst they will rely on Dennis 'shampoo' Ryan to kick some goals. 'Tom' Sawyer and Christian Sargeant 'Croydon' will battle hard for the Hills.
Doggies and the Roos should be a fiery affair as both clubs like to get dirty. The skillful pair of Robbie Morris and Corey Isley should give the dogs abit of bark but I rate the roos and think they will be to good in the end with Nick leftfootkick Redenback in form.
Match of the round is the Grasshoppers and the Saints with both teams getting off to a good start to the season. In the guts Damien 'Goldielocks' and Joel 'give me back my pizza' Condon will be keys for their respective teams. Sam Hill is the demon the saints need to stop with the Winchester brothers ready for another episode at their new club. I am tipping scores to be level with Tommy Tobin kicking the winning point after the siren for the saints.
Elmore will beat a undermanned Huntly by 1153 points with Andy Grant and Fev getting 80 kicks each.
braaza#10
19 May 2007, 14:55
Who ever does the recruiting for North Bendigo needs to have a good hard look at themselves...Trent Davie on $150 a game is an absolute joke! Im from his home town of Shepparton and heard this on the weekend from one of the North Bendigo boys and laughed.
apparently hes on $250 not $150 so that may make u laugh even more toquick:confused:
ROOBOY007
19 May 2007, 21:41
Reality Check Whitehills, You Are Involved In A Sporting Organisation And You Are Playing A Team Sport. Today I Witnessed Two Of The Most Pis.s Weak Performances I Have Ever Seen. Firstly They Got Flogged But At The End Of The Game Jimmy Angove, Not Only Did He Refuse To Acknowledge His Team Mates, He Walked Of The Ground Without Doing The Sportsman Like Thing And Recognising His Opposition By Shaking Their Hands. This Individual Performance Was Second Only To The Whole Clubs Non Attendance In The Club Rooms After The Game Which Every Other Club In The Competition Participates In Win Lose Or Draw.
the red white and black
19 May 2007, 23:01
Reality Check Whitehills, You Are Involved In A Sporting Organisation And You Are Playing A Team Sport. Today I Witnessed Two Of The Most Pis.s Weak Performances I Have Ever Seen. Firstly They Got Flogged But At The End Of The Game Jimmy Angove, Not Only Did He Refuse To Acknowledge His Team Mates, He Walked Of The Ground Without Doing The Sportsman Like Thing And Recognising His Opposition By Shaking Their Hands. This Individual Performance Was Second Only To The Whole Clubs Non Attendance In The Club Rooms After The Game Which Every Other Club In The Competition Participates In Win Lose Or Draw.
Not the first time he's been known to do something like that. Fairly arrogant type of a bloke full stop.:thumbsd:
Agree with ya there rooboy very pi$$ poor, hard to see white hills going anywhere this year with a team full of sheep dogs and very little sportsmanship. I was told, after the same game last year walshy told the players not to come into the mounts club rooms after the game.
Bronco Billy
20 May 2007, 10:34
Agree with ya there rooboy very pi$$ poor, hard to see white hills going anywhere this year with a team full of sheep dogs and very little sportsmanship. I was told, after the same game last year walshy told the players not to come into the mounts club rooms after the game.
Hey Roota you fudge packing goat. The fences out at tooleen must be be looking spot on at the moment. After watching the game yesterday you are the best fence painting sheep dog I have ever seen.
North Bendigo toughed out a thrilling 5-point boy yesterday. Full credit to teh Dogs who unlike our boys were prepared to do whatever it took, bodies on all the line and all the important team orientated things.
Had plenty to play for yesterday, beauty of it is it's round four, we said a 2-2 start could be a stepping stone forward but 3-1 after yesterday woulda been much better.
Thought Robbie Morris was very good, Lomas took some important marks when the game was in the balance, Watson & Isley presented inside 50 all day and #45 caught my eye. For us Grant Wearne, John Rowe and Shaun Duggan all battled hard. Brent Littlewood's first half was good whilst Tayls kicked 2.6 and put one on the full which coulda been the difference.
Certainly a wake-up call as to what happens when we play outside instructions, be a tad lazy and at times selfish. Big test to see how we bounce back against the flag favourites Colbo next week.
hey guys can some one tell me how Heathcote went yesterday and who were there best players?
Colbinabbin 3.4 2.6 2.2 4.5 (11.17)
Heathcote 0.3 2.3 0.2 3.2 (5.10)
Goals
Colbinabbin SAMUEL HILL 4, DANIEL IRWIN 3, JEREMY BROWN 2, SCOTT DISHON 1, GUY RATHJEN 1
Heathcote JUSTIN HANCOCK 1, ANTHONY RING 1, ANDREW SALADINO 1, TOMAS TOBIN 1, STEPHEN TRAVAGLIA 1
Best
Colbinabbin DAMIEN LOCK, MATTHEW PINNIGNER, THOMAS HILL, SAMUEL HILL, JEREMY BROWN, LUCAS HILL
Heathcote JACOB HARMAN, STEPHEN TRAVAGLIA, CHRISTOPHER ANDERSON, LECH FEATHERSTONE, ANDREW SALADINO, DANIEL CARROLL
Colbinabbin 3.2 2.0 3.4 4.0 (12.6)
Heathcote 1.2 3.2 3.1 0.1 (7.6)
Goals (C) CAMERON LADD 4, BRENT MILLAR 4, BART LEAHY 2, MATTHEW BROAD 1, BRADLEY ATKIN 1
Goals (H) JORDAN DELLAR 2, ANTHONY MORGAN 1, DARREN O'BREE 1, BRENTON SHEPPARD 1, MICK TOBIN 1, DANIEL CASEY 1
Best (C) MARTIN BORGER, BRENT MILLAR, ANDREW HICKINGBOTHAM, TIMOTHY MATHESON, KANE GOULD, MATHEW CURRY
Best (H) DARREN O'BREE, JARROD AYRES, BRENTON SHEPPARD, STEPHEN WYLIE, LUKE LOMAX, GERARD RING
ROOTA#6
20 May 2007, 12:00
Hey Roota you fudge packing goat. The fences out at tooleen must be be looking spot on at the moment. After watching the game yesterday you are the best fence painting sheep dog I have ever seen.
Piss of ********. I couldn't get near the fence to be honest coz thats where the whole White Hills team were hiding while we were slamming on goals. I reckon you blokes should ave a good hard look at yourselves. I have only been in the league 4 weeks and have already worked you blokes out PISS WEAK.
I really hope the White Hills club take on board some of ROOBOYS comments, coz to just take of after a game like that and not have at least one drink goes against everything that makes country footy great.
Can we get over this Roota bashing lads it getting a bit tiring. Imagine if you hada actually come to Broadford pal they'd really be hating ya :p
Dont think its White Hills only mate, the Mounts boys were ok last week, but I know my own club has been poor at it for our two road trips to date. Only a handful at Elmore, and then the coaching team, our legendary supporter Trottyboy and two players hung back til about 5.45 last night at North.
We all gotta get better at it I say :thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
20 May 2007, 12:14
Can we get over this Roota bashing lads it getting a bit tiring. Imagine if you hada actually come to Broadford pal they'd really be hating ya:p
Dont think its White Hills only mate, the Mounts boys were ok last week, but I know my own club has been poor at it for our two road trips to date. Only a handful at Elmore, and then the coaching team, our legendary supporter Trottyboy and two players hung back til about 5.45 last night at North.
We all gotta get better at it I say :thumbsu:
Yeah bloody oath mate bloody oath. I will make it my mission to ensure that it does :thumbsu:
diesel7
20 May 2007, 13:15
apparently hes on $250 not $150 so that may make u laugh even more toquick:confused:
apparently you have no idea so stop talking shit about money and talk about the football.
hey guys can some one tell me how Heathcote went yesterday and who were there best players?
heathcote struggled. colbo were to physical for them and lots of players went missing. meldrum being one of them. can he kick at all? oi thought chf's were meant to kick goals from inside 40,not pass it off.?? #13 harman i think was best. #23 saladino was ok and condon put in. featherstone got some easy kicks but was rattled by colbos hardness. he couldve been better if he wasnt so lazy. might just be me but he looked a bit scared sometimes. the forward line was not working for them. shouldve been changed at half time. waters couldnt get a sniff. tobin and co were to far up the ground most the time to score. beaten by a better, more experienced team basically.
Thanks to Farva and Doona#2 its good to get good reports from descent footy followers
just seen Dalton has been cleared to Maribyrnong Park. Wonder if the hierarchy will be on the chase for a replacement?
Kicked 4 in Marby's magoos yesterday
teams are certainly matching up differently against each other... mounts beat locky,broadford beat mounts and nth beat broady after locky flogged nth.... interesting.... broadford v l.b.u in round 6 should be a good match. what u think Doona? many young fellas running around in the 1s? locky are definately a young side,and with injuries more younger guys have had to step up in the past few weeks. how do you think the two teams will match up?
andypipkin
20 May 2007, 17:53
reality check for you rooboy, james angove is a leader at our football club and after the phone calls his parents and grandparents recieved from your fine club establishment, and the language they used in those calls after the grand final from two years ago, i really dont think jim angove would give two crackers what you think. and that may be where he lost his respect for your club came from. as for the second comment that is probably fair enough, we probablly didnt make the effort we should have by not making it back to your rooms afterwoods. not sure about this story about walshy telling us not to go back though, thats a new one though.
and as for the footy, all the boys would admit that the effort the team put in yesterday was nothing short of disgraceful. so roota you can take pot shots if you want mate, but people get sick of that pretty quick
andypipkin
20 May 2007, 18:04
the red white and black, im sure you know angove well, i'd like to hear of the other times he shown this sort of behaviour, maybe you can give us a few stories
andypipkin
20 May 2007, 18:05
doona, what was the low down on the game from yesterday pal, broady have always had tight tussles with the doggies at the zoo, i know its your first year back but can you think of any reasons why??
reality check for you rooboy, james angove is a leader at our football club and after the phone calls his parents and grandparents recieved from your fine club establishment, and the language they used in those calls after the grand final from two years ago, i really dont think jim angove would give two crackers what you think. and that may be where he lost his respect for your club came from. as for the second comment that is probably fair enough, we probablly didnt make the effort we should have by not making it back to your rooms afterwoods. not sure about this story about walshy telling us not to go back though, thats a new one though.
and as for the footy, all the boys would admit that the effort the team put in yesterday was nothing short of disgraceful. so roota you can take pot shots if you want mate, but people get sick of that pretty quick
Didn't see Pete Angove having any problems shaking mounts players hands, not to sure about the ringing of their parents and grandparents thats a new one though.
andypipkin
20 May 2007, 18:14
ask the bloke or peter, im sure that they would be honest enough to give you the truth
the red white and black
20 May 2007, 18:25
the red white and black, im sure you know angove well, i'd like to hear of the other times he shown this sort of behaviour, maybe you can give us a few stories
Just speak to Heathcotes coach from last year and he'll tell you what Angoves all about. Surely it's not hard to shake a couple of blokes hands at the end of a game of football Andy????
doona, what was the low down on the game from yesterday pal, broady have always had tight tussles with the doggies at the zoo, i know its your first year back but can you think of any reasons why??
I remember some fantastic wins at the Atkins St ground so dont think its a hoodoo place or anything, dropped our guard and a more committed and deserved team got the chocolates.
As stated this morning we were lazy and selfish at times, it wasn't a skillful affair but the Doggies were more hungry and their want got em over the line. I felt our guys rolled up and expected that after last weeks second half effort that yesty's game would just pan out in our favour.
We have set team indicators (stats) that we failed to reach and Tayls' 2 goals from 9 attempts hurt.
Farva, I managed to see both LBU/B'ford games last year so hoping we can get things right, Dunney's first game back which will be good and plenty two's blokes knocking hard on the door.
is "roudy" crackin a game in the ones doona?
ROOTA#6
20 May 2007, 19:35
Andy was just firing back after one of your boys took a pot shot at me. Not usually my style but just thought i would defend myself. I am sure White Hills have some great blokes there but unfortunatley didn't get to share a beer with any of you yesterday. I will be sure to get into your rooms next time to have a beer :thumbsu:
just randomly, are mounts' away rooms disgraceful or what. surely they can afford a decent set of rooms... last year there was no hot water or lights in there on one occasion...any comments?
ROOTA#6
20 May 2007, 20:12
just randomly, are mounts' away rooms disgraceful or what. surely they can afford a decent set of rooms... last year there was no hot water or lights in there on one occasion...any comments?
Dunno never been in there :D
nesko_25
20 May 2007, 20:34
heathcote struggled. colbo were to physical for them and lots of players went missing. meldrum being one of them. can he kick at all? oi thought chf's were meant to kick goals from inside 40,not pass it off.?? #13 harman i think was best. #23 saladino was ok and condon put in. featherstone got some easy kicks but was rattled by colbos hardness. he couldve been better if he wasnt so lazy. might just be me but he looked a bit scared sometimes. the forward line was not working for them. shouldve been changed at half time. waters couldnt get a sniff. tobin and co were to far up the ground most the time to score. beaten by a better, more experienced team basically.
Heathcote are a very young side. Featherstone turning 18, Condon 19 and Saladino turning 17 so expect them to get better but colbo are looking very good. they cannot afford to drop there guard though, looking forward to them playing the bloods.
nesko_25
20 May 2007, 20:39
Isnt Hills getting new rooms?
Congrats to Weeka who kicked 2 goals in the Bombers win over Frankston.
the ghost who walks
20 May 2007, 22:04
G'day long time listener first time caller!! I am disappointed to hear that the hillies boys didn't stay back for a beer, as this is often the social lifeline of many country clubs. As for the comments made about one J Angove not showing sportsmanship towards the mounts as witness to some of the 11 (I kid you not) phonecalls made to his parents, grandparents and place of business on the eve of the grand final defeat I wouldn't blame the bloke (that is of course this was really the case). These phonecalls were not to gloat, they were an absolute disgrace, probablly the best case of bad sportsmanship I have ever witnessed, and these calls were made by a Mounts committee (coward) man. So here is your reality check ROOBOY007
the ghost who walks
20 May 2007, 22:30
gday nesko yeah seen the plans first hand today down at meridian oval after playing gods greatest game they should rival any facility in country vic if all goes ahead and i believe the money has been granted. using te rooms today they are fairly poor but in relation to the tin shed visitors rooms white hills have a five star rating
Mr hdfs
20 May 2007, 22:52
Heathcote are a very young side. Featherstone turning 18, Condon 19 and Saladino turning 17 so expect them to get better but colbo are looking very good. they cannot afford to drop there guard though, looking forward to them playing the bloods.
Heathcote had some very good players out with injury with the likes of wayne saunders and luke carrol wich are creative dominate middfielders that heathcote missed on the weekend but don't take no credit away from colbo they were too quick and polished for heathcote on the day. If these key players played on the weekend i bet it would be a very different result
old saint
21 May 2007, 10:48
Heathcote had some very good players out with injury with the likes of wayne saunders and luke carrol wich are creative dominate middfielders that heathcote missed on the weekend but don't take no credit away from colbo they were too quick and polished for heathcote on the day. If these key players played on the weekend i bet it would be a very different result
mr hdfs, i dont agree. colbo wanted the footy more and did more with it when they had it. there actually wasnt much in it until the 3rd qtr.
heathcote won the 2nd qtr with about 90% of the play and then let colbo kick 2 very easy goals. in the 3rd qtr when heathcote were kicking with the breeze they were bombing the ball long in to waters, hoping for him to win it 1 out. waters was in the forward line on his own with the rest of heathcotes forwards chasing kicks up the ground. pinniger was all over waters as one of colbos best players and mopped up all the loose balls which then resulted in colbo running the ball down to their forwards who had a shot at goal. the players heathcote were missing wouldnt have made any difference to the result. heathcote need to structure their forward line better and play they way they did against mounts if they want to play finals . they also need their onballers to attack the ball they way damien lock did in order to have first use of it out of the middle.
Big Ump
21 May 2007, 11:44
You wright they were too quick & too polished. I quoted after the North Bendigo game if they played like that against Colbo they would go down by 10 gaols.Not far wrong it was 7 and by the way now after 4 rounds have been played i will stick my neck and say the top 3 sides at the end of the year not in this order will be Elmore. Colbo & Mounts 4&5 who care's they will not beat these side's in the final's.I rumour going around Heathcote that Conheady may be returning
agree and disagree. colbo will be top two, should find out just how good elmore are in round 6 and 8. they look to be top 2 material aswell. mounts, heathcote and locky will fight out 3rd spot. i genuinly believe locky could match it with colbo and mounts when they have their best team in(if that ever happens), could be a while though with injuries. locky may be the darkhorse come finals time..
nesko, locky are also getting new rooms. extending from the visitors rooms towards the gate. new visitors rooms and toilet block and knocking out the wall between original home and away rooms to make home rooms rather large. saw plans the other day. will be "very nice, hi 5!" may even rival mounts' visitors rooms:D
old saint
21 May 2007, 12:42
dont write heathcote off just yet. they did play poorly against colbo on saturday. however they also played very well in patches also. their young kids will gain confidence as the year progresses and they will perform better in the bigger games.
BrentmeisterGeneral
21 May 2007, 12:53
Just to respond to a few comments re: White Hills non-post game attendence on the weekend, Im more than happy to put my hand up on behalf of the club and admit it wasnt a great effort from us, and one that has and will be brought up and improved upon over the coming weeks.
BUT...that being said, I can guarentee you the majority of our senior players were pretty embarrassed about our efforts on the park, and for any one of the readers out there who have been on the end of a 17 goal pumping (something I doubt many Mounts people would be familiar with) you will probably agree its not all that easy to find the enthusiasm to go and have a drink with the blokes who have made you look pretty ordinary!
In all honesty I think most of us just wanted to get home and forget about the previous 2 hours!!! (Once again, not trying to make any excuses, just hoping some of those who have been quick to jump all over the club will take a step back and look at it from our perspective.)
Full credit to the Mounts boys, they were a class or 2 above, and would be hard to split them or Elmore at present having now played the both (although Colbo are flying and will take some beating with such a quality m/field and front 6)
Finally, to all those people out there having a crack at Jim Angove, claiming he is arrogant and a sore loser. First of all, you could not be further from the truth. One of the toughest competitors going round, but also a genuine and honest bloke aswell. While Im sure its easy to get on here and gob off from behind the safety of a keyboard and computer screen, unless you actually know the bloke (and not just basing your opinions on what someone else told you) then you shouldnt throw around bullshit accusations like some of the worldbeaters on here have been.
I just wonder how much self satisfaction some of the heroes on here get out of taking pot shots at people in the knowledge they will never have to back them up?? Ayway, hope thats the last we hear of the subject, and that we can all get back to taking about footy
ROOTA#6
21 May 2007, 14:31
Just to respond to a few comments re: White Hills non-post game attendence on the weekend, Im more than happy to put my hand up on behalf of the club and admit it wasnt a great effort from us, and one that has and will be brought up and improved upon over the coming weeks.
BUT...that being said, I can guarentee you the majority of our senior players were pretty embarrassed about our efforts on the park, and for any one of the readers out there who have been on the end of a 17 goal pumping (something I doubt many Mounts people would be familiar with) you will probably agree its not all that easy to find the enthusiasm to go and have a drink with the blokes who have made you look pretty ordinary!
In all honesty I think most of us just wanted to get home and forget about the previous 2 hours!!! (Once again, not trying to make any excuses, just hoping some of those who have been quick to jump all over the club will take a step back and look at it from our perspective.)
Full credit to the Mounts boys, they were a class or 2 above, and would be hard to split them or Elmore at present having now played the both (although Colbo are flying and will take some beating with such a quality m/field and front 6)
Finally, to all those people out there having a crack at Jim Angove, claiming he is arrogant and a sore loser. First of all, you could not be further from the truth. One of the toughest competitors going round, but also a genuine and honest bloke aswell. While Im sure its easy to get on here and gob off from behind the safety of a keyboard and computer screen, unless you actually know the bloke (and not just basing your opinions on what someone else told you) then you shouldnt throw around bullshit accusations like some of the worldbeaters on here have been.
I just wonder how much self satisfaction some of the heroes on here get out of taking pot shots at people in the knowledge they will never have to back them up?? Ayway, hope thats the last we hear of the subject, and that we can all get back to taking about footy
Having played all of my footy at Lalbert mate i have been on the end of many 17+ goal hidings over the past couple of years and i can honestly say that each and every one of the players that played in those games made it in to the opposition rooms for a beer. Its not about the margin its about getting together getting to know people and enjoying country footy. I am sure that blokes gain a lot more respect by fronting up and having a drink or two after a game then they do disappearing home
BrentmeisterGeneral
21 May 2007, 15:05
Having played all of my footy at Lalbert mate i have been on the end of many 17+ goal hidings over the past couple of years and i can honestly say that each and every one of the players that played in those games made it in to the opposition rooms for a beer. Its not about the margin its about getting together getting to know people and enjoying country footy. I am sure that blokes gain a lot more respect by fronting up and having a drink or two after a game then they do disappearing home
Roota, couldnt agree with you more. The thing is not many of our blokes have been on the end of such a hiding and as a result didnt know the best way to react to it.
Its nothing personal bewteen the two clubs Im sure, I personally have never had a problem with any of the lads from Mounts (other than scoreboard related problems of course ;)) but after the match I would have found it abit of a battle being social with a bunch of blokes that had mate us look 2nd rate. And Im not trying to make excuses here Roots, but all in all we are a pretty proud club down here at Scott Street and we were pretty embarassed about Saturdays effort. Probably as a result we responded in a poor way, but its happened now....not much we can do about it other than be better next time. I also think we are looking to gain more respect for exploits on the ground, not off it!
But like I said, after game activities have been mentioned to all players, and with some hard work and a few changed attitudes around the place hopefully wont happen again.
nesko_25
21 May 2007, 15:31
gday nesko yeah seen the plans first hand today down at meridian oval after playing gods greatest game they should rival any facility in country vic if all goes ahead and i believe the money has been granted. using te rooms today they are fairly poor but in relation to the tin shed visitors rooms white hills have a five star rating
Whats the go with the rooms, are the going up during footy season or during the cricket? I'm guessing they would go in the same place as the rooms are now.
the red white and black
21 May 2007, 15:34
Shouldn't you be out doing something constructive during work hours Big Ump??
the red white and black
21 May 2007, 16:01
Unfortunately it's not going to be the last Brentmeister because it has happened not just once to the Heathcote boys(the great man Angove walking off the ground), but on several occasions and that includes after the Hills beat Heathcote by nine points at Meridian Oval two years ago. I don't think that the Heathcote people had been ringing his family gloating over the fact that they hadn't beaten White Hills for a couple of seasons, so why in bush footy do you do stuff like that. Bad form. The trouble with White Hills is when you have a little bit of success for a couple of seasons you run around thinking that you are the almighty if the comp (as was heard the same day at Meridian Oval when a certain woman in the canteen yelled out to the Heathcote boys, and I quote, "See your'e still down the bottom of the ladder Heathcote where you belong." Hold the phone, coming for a White Hills supporter. Sort of the pot calling the kettle black isn't it, like I know that you have a great record since you come into the comp 25 years ago. How about you blokes take a leaf out of the Mounts boys, the Colbo boys, the Huntly Hawks, the Gees, the Tobins, the Neilsons of this great league of ours, eat some humble pie and do what every other footballer does at the end of the game and what every club strives to do, have a beer and a chat in the clubrooms. Believe me, try it, you'll probably find out that it's not so bad.
bloodhound!
21 May 2007, 16:37
Well im shocked..... mounts ringing people after a grand final win and mouthing off !!! not once but twice sorry red white and black thats not a book anyone should be taking a leaf out of.
sordeo veritas
21 May 2007, 16:57
Well im shocked..... mounts ringing people after a grand final win and mouthing off !!! not once but twice sorry red white and black thats not a book anyone should be taking a leaf out of.
knew you would pop up here bloodhound. its football for god sake. its a pack of blokes running around in the HDFL, everyone mouths off so get over it. i know the mounts boys got a good laugh last week when chris dunne walked past them after the game and said "bford beat mounts and they didnt even have Dunn in." he thought he was alright and mouthed off a bit and they had a laugh at him.
you elmore people love bagging mounts and that fine, we love to bag to bag you back, but youll always look stupid cos it footy and we win the flags. so give up. and when elmore people go and write a massive go bloods signs across the main street of goornong and then loose the flag the next day and now have a sweet reminder of the one that got away everytime they drive to training i think they deserve some stick.
imalive
21 May 2007, 17:10
Angove what a p#le smoker. One of the worst sports i have had the displeasure of playing against. What a pity, as he is one of the classiest footballers i have seen in the league and as you said brent, tries his heart out. Must be getting to old WALSHY too. Blind in puggs saturday night describing his side as quote "weak, sheep dog soft c#*ks." Maybe meridian needs more changes than new clubrooms!!!
bloodhound!
21 May 2007, 17:21
knew you would pop up here bloodhound. its football for god sake. its a pack of blokes running around in the HDFL, everyone mouths off so get over it. i know the mounts boys got a good laugh last week when chris dunne walked past them after the game and said "bford beat mounts and they didnt even have Dunn in." he thought he was alright and mouthed off a bit and they had a laugh at him.
you elmore people love bagging mounts and that fine, we love to bag to bag you back, but youll always look stupid cos it footy and we win the flags. so give up. and when elmore people go and write a massive go bloods signs across the main street of goornong and then loose the flag the next day and now have a sweet reminder of the one that got away everytime they drive to training i think they deserve some stick.
Umm righto champ what exactly do you want us to give up?? That sign was acutally written by an ex players mrs just to clarify.
I think there is a difference between walking past a group of people and saying something to their face after a home and away win that sounds like it was said in jest and ringing up and abusing someones parents or grand parents and ringing up and mouthing an opposition player after winning a grand final. The argument here is about sportsmanship and behaviour of people after the game. There is nothing wrong with rivalry but in good spirit and these are examples of bad spotsmanship. When stuff like this happens eg, abusive phone calls, non shaking of hands, people not heading into opposition club rooms, they are detrimental to the commaraderie of our league and good will between clubs. Rivalry is great but you have to draw the line somewhere.
the red white and black
21 May 2007, 18:14
I was implying the way they stick around and have a drink. If you go back through what I have written I don't think you will find that I have condoned those actions by any stretch of the imagination. How's the great man Jeff Trewick travelling?
Umm righto champ what exactly do you want us to give up?? That sign was acutally written by an ex players mrs just to clarify.
I think there is a difference between walking past a group of people and saying something to their face after a home and away win that sounds like it was said in jest and ringing up and abusing someones parents or grand parents and ringing up and mouthing an opposition player after winning a grand final. The argument here is about sportsmanship and behaviour of people after the game. There is nothing wrong with rivalry but in good spirit and these are examples of bad spotsmanship. When stuff like this happens eg, abusive phone calls, non shaking of hands, people not heading into opposition club rooms, they are detrimental to the commaraderie of our league and good will between clubs. Rivalry is great but you have to draw the line somewhere.
What, no expletives Hound? :confused:
I agree with you nevertheless :thumbsu:
Fantom Maggot
21 May 2007, 20:28
Hey Brent or Andy, whats the go with The Dobsters finger. My little girl copped a glance of it as he came off and she said it weren't pretty. How long is he likely to be missing?
Just my two cents on the Jim Angove issue: During the game he laid a late one on one of the Mounters which didn't look intentional but happens in footy (I have seen Jim cop more than his fair share). The fella that wore it wasn't to happy and had a bit of a scuffle with the Bartman as I think he thought he did it. Any way what I then saw was Jim appearing to apologise for this indiscretion and give the guy a pat on the buttocks (looked to me like good sportsmanship, well done!).
Hey Roota, You went good on the day,well done.
And Finally to the ghost who walks ... Check out my photo! ;)
Fantom:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
21 May 2007, 21:09
Roota, couldnt agree with you more. The thing is not many of our blokes have been on the end of such a hiding and as a result didnt know the best way to react to it.
Its nothing personal bewteen the two clubs Im sure, I personally have never had a problem with any of the lads from Mounts (other than scoreboard related problems of course ;)) but after the match I would have found it abit of a battle being social with a bunch of blokes that had mate us look 2nd rate. And Im not trying to make excuses here Roots, but all in all we are a pretty proud club down here at Scott Street and we were pretty embarassed about Saturdays effort. Probably as a result we responded in a poor way, but its happened now....not much we can do about it other than be better next time. I also think we are looking to gain more respect for exploits on the ground, not off it!
But like I said, after game activities have been mentioned to all players, and with some hard work and a few changed attitudes around the place hopefully wont happen again.
Fair enough Meister, I hope to have a few beers with the Hillies at Scott Street after our next clash later in the year. As i said earlier i am new to the league and I am interested to meet all the blokes and learn a little about the proud histories of all the clubs in the league :thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
21 May 2007, 21:17
Hey Brent or Andy, whats the go with The Dobsters finger. My little girl copped a glance of it as he came off and she said it weren't pretty. How long is he likely to be missing?
Just my two cents on the Jim Angove issue: During the game he laid a late one on one of the Mounters which didn't look intentional but happens in footy (I have seen Jim cop more than his fair share). The fella that wore it wasn't to happy and had a bit of a scuffle with the Bartman as I think he thought he did it. Any way what I then saw was Jim appearing to apologise for this indiscretion and give the guy a pat on the buttocks (looked to me like good sportsmanship, well done!).
Hey Roota, You went good on the day,well done.
And Finally to the ghost who walks ... Check out my photo! ;)
Fantom:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Thanks Fantom, have still got a lot of work to do though :thumbsu:
There seems to be some pretty fierce rivalries around the league which is fantastic. It adds that little bit extra to each game and makes any win just a little bit sweeter and any loss a litter more bitter as many of us have said lets keep it out on the park then get together of it, have a beer and talk about the good old days
Cash Man
21 May 2007, 21:36
Can anyone inform me how Brock Ezard is going at Huntly or if going at all? A homing pigeon dropped a note by last week saying that he wasn't happy with the footy and wanted out back to the saints? ( ST.ARNAUD )
the ghost who walks
21 May 2007, 21:37
Whats the go with the rooms, are the going up during footy season or during the cricket? I'm guessing they would go in the same place as the rooms are now.
Looking at the plans nesko it looks as if they are adding to thier and refurbing the existing building and the addition and what looked like a super box on the roof with full facilities . Could not see it being started until late this year but the hill boys could probably start in september because i think the will have some spare time
Wallygrout
21 May 2007, 21:58
Is There A Bloke Still Around Called Showbag
ROOTA#6
21 May 2007, 22:03
Is There A Bloke Still Around Called Showbag
Not at Mounts
Wallygrout
21 May 2007, 22:10
Not at MountsNO WAS AT BROADFORD
WHEN DAD PLAYED THERE I WAS AT SEYMOUR NUMBER 1 IN ALL MY JUNIORS :)
the ghost who walks
21 May 2007, 22:11
[quote=Wallygrout;7599498]Is There A Bloke Still Around Called Showbag[/quote
i believe he works as a chef in local hotel in g/square if im am thinking of the right showbag:thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
21 May 2007, 22:13
NO WAS AT BROADFORD
WHEN DAD PLAYED THERE I WAS AT SEYMOUR NUMBER 1 IN ALL MY JUNIORS :)
Doona would be the man to ask Wally he knows everthing and every one around Broadford and Seymour. He even remembers a mate of yours. Bloke called Rooney from his time in Seymour as a lad
BrentmeisterGeneral
21 May 2007, 22:15
Angove what a p#le smoker. One of the worst sports i have had the displeasure of playing against. What a pity, as he is one of the classiest footballers i have seen in the league and as you said brent, tries his heart out. Must be getting to old WALSHY too. Blind in puggs saturday night describing his side as quote "weak, sheep dog soft c#*ks." Maybe meridian needs more changes than new clubrooms!!!
Ahh....just another typical b/s comment from someone who Ive no doubt would probably be considered a dead set oxygen thief! Lets all get this clear....Jim Angove didnt shake the coach of Heathcote's hand 2 years ago after witnessing the same bloke make a pretty gutless and cowardly effort off the ball towards a teammate at the time in Shannon Hayes. In fact the coach of Heathcote, knowing that he had overstepped the line, called Jimmy the folowing day to apologise, all sorted. No bad blood there as far as I know of.
As for Saturday, and ROOBOY I hope your reading this you clown, go and ask Trev Douglas or Rob Rojoweski (just to name a couple) if Jimmy spoke to them after the game and shook there hands. Think you'll find a much different answer there.