View Full Version : Heathcote District FL
Junky Bish
5 Nov 2007, 09:18
heard today, shadbolt from south and knight from rochy keen to do the joint coach thing at colbo
There is a little bit accuracy but a bit is incorrect in this statement.
The Grasshoppers approached Shadbolt to coach and they met while they are chasing to Knight to play. Heard they are having an interview this week with a high profile Bendigo league player than has popped up on a number of recruiting lists in the area recently.
PINNACLE HEALTH
5 Nov 2007, 09:23
There is a little bit accuracy but a bit is incorrect in this statement.
The Grasshoppers approached Shadbolt to coach and they met while they are chasing to Knight to play. Heard they are having an interview this week with a high profile Bendigo league player than has popped up on a number of recruiting lists in the area recently.
Shane Davis from Gisbourne?
Junky Bish
5 Nov 2007, 09:46
Not sure if it's him or dave edwards from square.
andypipkin
5 Nov 2007, 11:56
wether dave would leave the goal saure during the end of quarters to address players, would be the main concern to clubs
I think you'll find Dog will follow his former Gis. President. to another league..
PINNACLE HEALTH
5 Nov 2007, 14:55
wether dave would leave the goal saure during the end of quarters to address players, would be the main concern to clubs
The only time he leaves the goal square is in the air,
Jessalenco you beauty!
PINNACLE HEALTH
5 Nov 2007, 14:57
I think you'll find Dog will follow his former Gis. President. to another league..
Has'nt he shifted to Goornong, thats why he's linked to every club Echuca side of Bendigo.
I thought he was a chance to go to Barooga :confused:
Rumour flying around on the LV thread that Marcus McKern is heading to Bridgewater next year. Any truth to this Elmore people?
Big Boj Any update who is coming to Huntly? how bout those players that are mates with Hammo?
ALSO have heard daniel anderson form Ben Bombers is heading to Rochy to play along with a few others.
Is long going to stay ?
rat1234 they will cross Rochy of their list Rochys offer was no good:thumbsd:
GG Rides Again
6 Nov 2007, 13:33
heard today, shadbolt from south and knight from rochy keen to do the joint coach thing at colbo
Last comment is correct. Shadbolt was in discussion with Colbo and has no experience coaching but Colbo need some key positions players and he wants to coach.
Knight had a discussion with Colbo and will play at Rochy.
bloodhound!
6 Nov 2007, 15:59
Rumour flying around on the LV thread that Marcus McKern is heading to Bridgewater next year. Any truth to this Elmore people?
Spoke to Macca about a week and a bit ago and he hadnt made up his mind where he was playing. If Lake is heading there then he may be a chance.
Jarrod Weise will not be at the club next year. Was unlucky not to get back into to the GF side after being injured. Whole thing was not well handled if you ask me. He has been chased by Port Melbourne Colts but may also try his luck at the Uni Blues as he knows a few blokes there through his brother Ryan who trained with them and who may even join him there along with former Elmore captain Tony White who jets back in tomorrow from O/S
geofferysmith
6 Nov 2007, 17:48
Yes i know this is a HDFL thread, but have you read who is supposed to be coming to play in HDFL. For a moment i thought it was a AFL retired players thread.:D
can you produce a list of names of ex-afl players in the league atm? just interested to see how many the league has. current players or those who are coming would be good.
mightymagoos
6 Nov 2007, 17:51
straight from the horses mouth he is staying at north next year ,but 09 he might look at going some-were else ,and heading home wasnt on the cards:confused::confused:
with all the pick ups that north have got how do they look for finals nxt year ? some handy players heading 2 north .
Spoke to Macca about a week and a bit ago and he hadnt made up his mind where he was playing. If Lake is heading there then he may be a chance.
Jarrod Weise will not be at the club next year. Was unlucky not to get back into to the GF side after being injured. Whole thing was not well handled if you ask me. He has been chased by Port Melbourne Colts but may also try his luck at the Uni Blues as he knows a few blokes there through his brother Ryan who trained with them and who may even join him there along with former Elmore captain Tony White who jets back in tomorrow from O/S
Bloodhound, interested to know your opinions on who would have made way in the GF team to slot Jarrod in? Not to say that any of the 22 weren't up to it but come finals time the best 22 need to be picked. How many games would Jarrod have missed?
bloodhound!
7 Nov 2007, 08:42
Bloodhound, interested to know your opinions on who would have made way in the GF team to slot Jarrod in? Not to say that any of the 22 weren't up to it but come finals time the best 22 need to be picked. How many games would Jarrod have missed?
I dont think its fair to name who I think he should have been in ahead of. IMO he should have been in the team and il leave it at that dont want to dwell on the negatives on what was a great day for the club and all the people involved. THere are always unlucky people come GF day and he handled himself with dignity and class all the way through. Fortunately for Jarrod he has played in 2 winning senior flags at harcourt and also the losing flag at elmore, had 4 years at the club played interleague and thoroughly enjoyed the majority of his time at the bloods and im sure the club will wish him well. Its a shame to lose a bloke of his calibre.
He should've got a game ahead of Nick Manly , he is the most overweighted i mean rated player going around.
Need A Win!!
7 Nov 2007, 12:03
He should've got a game ahead of Nick Manly , he is the most overweighted i mean rated player going around.
We all know he only got a game because McKern was rubbed out.
Heresay McGossip
7 Nov 2007, 13:03
A birdy told me Jarrod Weise is not the only player elmore will lose..............Hall, Manley, Fevaleki, Ryan Weise, Williams, Cavalaro, McKern, Pedretti, Crockett, Waddington, bloodhound, 4 young blokes in the reserves apparantly good players all going to Inglewood and a couple more who are not happy...........
So who will Elmore try to keep and who will they just let go?
Seeking Glory
7 Nov 2007, 15:15
anyone know if broadford has recuited any big names yet?
bloodhound!
7 Nov 2007, 16:13
Thats news to me genius, as are most of those people mentioned. Would like to know who your "birdy" is becaue I think they are feeding you with a bit of bird sh! t. A couple of those people mentioned will be leaving but not all of them.
I'v head Fev's heading to Wedderburn, Good mates with Gash, and Rick Smith has moved for workto Wyche so most likely will play there, its good for bussiness for him to play where he is working, the local farmers like the Elders boys to play at there local club. And heard from hayses cousin he is undecided as to where he will be lining up next year, might be going north or west.
I reckon their main priority should be getting the coaching situation sorted out :D
Have been wondering the same thing, although do they necessarily have to be big names as such?
Gents, great to be back on here are a hiatus due to work commitments and I wish to address some of the issues.
Last week I attended the AGM at Roo park and after viewing the annual financial report there was no evidence of any netball coaches being paid, unlike what Matt said. The figures showed however, that Doona did achieve his goal of reducing the player payments made by the club, severing about $8k from previous years payments.
Was talking to the great man after and before the meeting and was also aware that he had recommended that the committee advertise the position prior to the AGM so that a coach could be appointed asap, whether that be Doona or another. But he is keen to re-apply for the position when the advertisement is printed and keen to have discussions on the objectives and directions of the club in the future. I know for a fact that the emphasis of the Club was not on the first XVIII the day of the last home and away match, as the coaching staff was booted from the coaches box to make way for a sponsors function. The club also failed during the year to construct a new coaches box that would have alleivated the problem.
This is one of the major issues that Doona wishes to discuss and have cleared during the interview process. He's just trying to decipher the direction and what is the main emphasis of the club heading into the future, before any decision on his commitment is made.
However, I have heard him in on numerous occasions state the BFNC is his prime and sole coaching objective at the moment.
I saw all BFNC coaching positions advertised in the local paper when I was home last week... so I guess the big question is - Is Doona applying?
I don't really understand why he wasn't re-appointed as soon as the season was over... he was a driving force behind some positive changes at the club and also a senior finals appearance, an improvement on the past couple of seasons.
I know it's apparently in the club's constitution that the coach can't be appointed before the AGM but last year, Doona was appointed before the AGM. The club described that move as ``exceptional circumstances for the good of the club'' which I totally agree with - so why didn't they do that this year?
It's unsettling for all involved to not have a senior coach appointed - for the players, for the supporters and for the potential coaching staff.
On the financial matters, I don't know the current situation but in the past, a netball co-ordinator was paid. I don't think that's a big issue because it's usually quite minimal and they do put in a lot of hours & sometime even pass on the money as incentives to players.
I'm know Doona would have liked to see some of the $8K he saved on footballer payments go towards a new coaching/interchange bench - I'm pretty sure it was this time last year, when he told me it was one of his first priorities to get some of the club's facilities improved. Although it did look pretty funny him & Trav on the back of ute watching the last game at Broadford, it was only a one-off. Maybe he could build his own shed on top of the cricket nets for a more permanent, better view!! :D
andypipkin
8 Nov 2007, 03:08
doons, heard that you were not re-applying for the top job. surely this was a bit of mis-information i recieved wasnt it?
bloodhound!
8 Nov 2007, 08:07
I'v head Fev's heading to Wedderburn, Good mates with Gash, and Rick Smith has moved for workto Wyche so most likely will play there, its good for bussiness for him to play where he is working, the local farmers like the Elders boys to play at there local club. And heard from hayses cousin he is undecided as to where he will be lining up next year, might be going north or west.
Yeah Dick Rat Smith is definitely leaving which is a shame but understandable given his work commitments im sure the wyche people will find him as entertaining as the elmore people. I have heard that about fev but lets just wait and see if he makes it back from up north!! Ryan Hayes gets offers every year and in all honesty if he decided to have a crack at a higher standard league then who could blame him, he's a big talent and im sure the club would support him if he left for the right reasons.
Morning all,
I appreciate the constant airtime thru these pages, but surely there are more important things to discuss.
I asked the position be advertised for the first 2 weeks of October as I wasnt 100% certain what I wanted to do. That woulda meant all applicants in by the AGM, interviews the days following with a decision by Oct 20. The timing of all this is out of my hands, but Id never stand in the way of a better credentialled applicant, and would look at a lesser role within the club had that happened.
To be perfectly honest I was gunna walk away last week, twice my wife talked me out of it. She knows I love me footy and would be lost without it, so with Sarah's push I met the BFNC committee last Friday night.
Not only that but I neede time to use my sounding boards for advice, and thanks to a few fella's on here whom I have friendship's with away from footy.
The talk was more about where Im at, where they're at and making sure that if I go round again we are on the same wavelength. I left feeling confident that senior success is paramount and Id have the full support of the board and that improvements will be made where highlighted.
Dont worry about players as Ive been in regular contact with potentials for the club regardless of my role, just disappointed that my now annual appraoch to Tav Perry fell short again . . . . one day Tavis :D
Now I have to talk with my men and ensure that should I do i will be comfortable with those working around me otherwise it wouldne be enjoyable.
Sorry to be longwinded but to be honest Im sick of reading all the questions so give it a week lads and you'll be the first to know ;)
Oh yeah HJ32 what happened to the call? I hear Colbo are offering plenty!!!
[QUOTE=
Oh yeah HJ32 what happened to the call? I hear Colbo are offering plenty!!![/QUOTE]
Colbo have been speaking with former Melbourne and Richmond Rover Ricky Jackson about a non playing coaching role.
silver_bullet
9 Nov 2007, 14:45
the biggest name ive heard is that James Ezard is definatly back to broadford next year to play with brothers Luke and Sam so there is one huge name. And broadord is a bees d i c k away from getting seymour premiership players in Robbie Douglas and Brett Spargo (Luke Spargo will come to broadford if Brett does)
Seeking Glory
9 Nov 2007, 18:49
the biggest name ive heard is that James Ezard is definatly back to broadford next year to play with brothers Luke and Sam so there is one huge name. And broadord is a bees d i c k away from getting seymour premiership players in Robbie Douglas and Brett Spargo (Luke Spargo will come to broadford if Brett does)
Ezard, douglas, spargo would be unreal pick ups for broady(maybe not spargo as much) ezard won't give up on his afl dream just yet tho. heard douglas is chasing $$$, so they have a chance to grap him, but at what price?
silver_bullet
10 Nov 2007, 19:38
Ezard, douglas, spargo would be unreal pick ups for broady(maybe not spargo as much) ezard won't give up on his afl dream just yet tho. heard douglas is chasing $$$, so they have a chance to grap him, but at what price?
Whats wrong with Spargo? hes a gun. Ezard is definatly playing for broadford might just be for 1 season though
theflash
11 Nov 2007, 16:58
Nah i have just played against him and i am mates with Cam Rooney who plays there. My former club has been asking me to follow him up for them as they were trying to get him a couple of years back and were hoping for another crack
hey roota talking to a bloke from goornong he tells me u took 8 ror 11 of 13 not bad figures
ROOTA#6
11 Nov 2007, 17:33
hey roota talking to a bloke from goornong he tells me u took 8 ror 11 of 13 not bad figures
Wasn't a bad day flash. They came out ok for a change. I am a bit dirty on the bloke bowling from the other end. He chipped in and grabbed the other 2 on me:D
Must be a good standard out there Roota :D
Big Ump
11 Nov 2007, 20:14
Must be a good standard out there Roota :D
About C Grade standard Doona:D
ROOTA#6
11 Nov 2007, 20:29
Yeah thanks you blokes
So was that one of ya fill-in days or have you got the bug? Do they throw the coin around for cricket like footy up around that way?
ROOTA#6
11 Nov 2007, 20:54
So was that one of ya fill-in days or have you got the bug? Do they throw the coin around for cricket like footy up around that way?
Yeah was oone of the few that i will get to play due to weddings, buck shows and family stuff. No money in the cricket here mate. Plenty of frothies though :D
theflash
11 Nov 2007, 21:31
Yeah was oone of the few that i will get to play due to weddings, buck shows and family stuff. No money in the cricket here mate. Plenty of frothies though :D
that the way it should be nothing wrong with a frothie :p
ROOTA#6
11 Nov 2007, 21:36
that the way it should be nothing wrong with a frothie :p
More frothies for everyone i reckon :thumbsu:
Bit off the topic lads but is anyone taking part in "MO-vember" this year???
If not, I'm doing the Mo thing in the spirit of a fantastic cause - so if anyone HDFL Big Footy fans would like to make a donation PM me, or send me thru a valid email address and I can give you all my details.
:thumbsu:
nesko_25
12 Nov 2007, 12:57
Bit off the topic lads but is anyone taking part in "MO-vember" this year???
If not, I'm doing the Mo thing in the spirit of a fantastic cause - so if anyone HDFL Big Footy fans would like to make a donation PM me, or send me thru a valid email address and I can give you all my details.
:thumbsu:
I've got a nice bit of facial hair going Doon. As for the standard of cricket in NUCA, its a joke. Ony a few good teams (Kamo, Dingee and maybe Goornong and Bagshot) but they are mainly carried by good batsmen.
Hey Roota you didnt pick up that 8 against the Elmore caravan park did you?
diggidog
12 Nov 2007, 16:40
I've got a nice bit of facial hair going Doon. As for the standard of cricket in NUCA, its a joke. Ony a few good teams (Kamo, Dingee and maybe Goornong and Bagshot) but they are mainly carried by good batsmen.
The same park that you lined up for last year Nesko:p
ROOTA#6
12 Nov 2007, 17:55
Nah mate not against Elmore, was against Colbo. The boys from the Caravan Park got smacked around by Cronin the game before
Big Ump
12 Nov 2007, 18:11
Root#6 can you remember a bloke from Swan Hill Steve Korp if so how is his form on the footy & cricket fields.
GG Rides Again
12 Nov 2007, 18:50
have heard Colbo are chasing a ruckman from Melb who is first ruck for an A Grade Ammo team. Apparently can play and is good family friends with the Pres.
Also still chasing player from Rochy but Shadbolt wont coach there and they have other options.
More frothies for everyone i reckon :thumbsu:
I hear you nearly killed a man on the frothies a few weeks back Roota?:D
have heard Colbo are chasing a ruckman from Melb who is first ruck for an A Grade Ammo team. Apparently can play and is good family friends with the Pres.
Also still chasing player from Rochy but Shadbolt wont coach there and they have other options.
Shadbolt has been appointed ass,coach at Sth.
ROOTA#6
12 Nov 2007, 20:23
Root#6 can you remember a bloke from Swan Hill Steve Korp if so how is his form on the footy & cricket fields.
Yeah mate, Korpy was a year above me at school. Is a good little footballer. Tough never say die type of player. Played in many GF's in his time at Nullawil but was originally from Lake Boga. As for his cricket. He didn't play a lot in the seniors but was a handy junior cricketer when we were at school. I actually ran into him at Locky on Prelim day. Is he over your way is he???
ROOTA#6
12 Nov 2007, 20:25
I hear you nearly killed a man on the frothies a few weeks back Roota?:D
Haha yeah, he thought he would take on the lad from Lalbert!!! I noticed him at the cricket on the weekend so he looks to have recovered but he did disappear awful quick after we wrapped the game up:p
Shadbolt has been appointed ass,coach at Sth.
Ass coach..... I'm not touching that!:D
Big Ump
13 Nov 2007, 07:31
Yeah mate, Korpy was a year above me at school. Is a good little footballer. Tough never say die type of player. Played in many GF's in his time at Nullawil but was originally from Lake Boga. As for his cricket. He didn't play a lot in the seniors but was a handy junior cricketer when we were at school. I actually ran into him at Locky on Prelim day. Is he over your way is he???
Thanks for that, he is working with me at the moment
the red white and black
13 Nov 2007, 08:18
Thanks for that, he is working with me at the moment
Somewhat an oxy moron that quote from the Umpire:D Saints busy on the recruiting trail at the minute and it appears that Steve (Boner) Cox has all but stitched up the Ressies coaching job, which is great for the club. Congratulations to the King Carey who got off the mark on the recent footy trip to Coogee and averaged about 'forty'. Great work.
Everyone needs their boiler ticket, on ya KING :thumbsu:
It was mentioned on LV board that cox is coaching serp.
Big Ump
13 Nov 2007, 15:39
Ablett, take RW&B's quote very lightly it's hard to get true info on HDFL footy news from his arm chair at home.:D
Ummm its actually Fox that is coaching Serp.. Well in the seniors anyway...
the red white and black
13 Nov 2007, 20:39
Ablett, take RW&B's quote very lightly it's hard to get true info on HDFL footy news from his arm chair at home.:D
I think you'll find that my mail is correct. After all, it is from a couple of the blokes that interviewed him you idiot. And Ive got his brother giving me the mail at work as well, so I think I would know Umpire:mad: Where were you Sunday, see the wife was down the pub having a few with the outgoing publican and friends but no Umpire!!!:D:D:D
ROOTA#6
13 Nov 2007, 20:44
I think you'll find that my mail is correct. After all, it is from a couple of the blokes that interviewed him you idiot. And Ive got his brother giving me the mail at work as well, so I think I would know Umpire:mad: Where were you Sunday, see the wife was down the pub having a few with the outgoing publican and friends but no Umpire!!!:D:D:D
Looks like trouble in the Heathcote camp lads :D :D :D
the red white and black
13 Nov 2007, 20:48
Looks like trouble in the Heathcote camp lads :D :D :D
He is only Heathcote when he feels like it Roota!!!! Shouldn't have said that actually because the big streak of duck sh*t has jumped on the committee this year. Makes for a long and meaningless meeting with him and a few of the girls involved in netball on there! Who'd be a committee man now!:D:D
ROOTA#6
13 Nov 2007, 20:57
He is only Heathcote when he feels like it Roota!!!! Shouldn't have said that actually because the big streak of duck sh*t has jumped on the committee this year. Makes for a long and meaningless meeting with him and a few of the girls involved in netball on there! Who'd be a committee man now!:D:D
Haha fair enough mate. From what i remember most committee meetings are long and boring. How are you blokes shaping up any way???
the red white and black
14 Nov 2007, 07:20
Haha fair enough mate. From what i remember most committee meetings are long and boring. How are you blokes shaping up any way???
Should be OK. Not too sure of who they have in mind to play or who they have convinced but if the silly season talk is accurate then they will be extremely competitive again.:thumbsu:
we'restreaking
14 Nov 2007, 11:23
RWB if the ump is in you can count me out.. The bloke couldn't organise me a root in a brothel let alone try and get a team on the park. Meldrum will have his work cut out for him with you saint boys in 08.. :p
the red white and black
14 Nov 2007, 11:31
RWB if the ump is in you can count me out.. The bloke couldn't organise me a root in a brothel let alone try and get a team on the park. Meldrum will have his work cut out for him with you saint boys in 08.. :p
Can't believe that you're just going to drop us like that Streaker, but I can see your point and fair enough. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
we'restreaking
14 Nov 2007, 13:08
Can't believe that you're just going to drop us like that Streaker, but I can see your point and fair enough. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Mate, maybe you can get bocca on the board as well.. Can you imagine the dribble those two could drench themselfs in.:D How's the gimp, recovered from the week up north?
the red white and black
14 Nov 2007, 13:46
Mate, maybe you can get bocca on the board as well.. Can you imagine the dribble those two could drench themselfs in.:D How's the gimp, recovered from the week up north?
Which Gimp are you talking about?? If it's Turkey, he's OK, if it's Big Ump, haven't seen him, if it's O'Bree, he's a powertripper, if it's Bocca, he's no gimp.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Big Ump
14 Nov 2007, 15:32
Ok you blokes you are having a fair dip, i can see it's going to be a long winter. I will wait to then for pay back.:p
scotywok
14 Nov 2007, 15:54
Was pretty certain one particular Ump told me he had no time to get on and chat. Funny how he seems to have found time to rekindle the love hate relationship with RWB. I just wish they'd get a motel and get it over and done with.
He did however, confirm that Coxy has been appointed as reserves coach and that he may be bringing a recruit with him.:thumbsu:
the red white and black
14 Nov 2007, 16:00
Was pretty certain one particular Ump told me he had no time to get on and chat. Funny how he seems to have found time to rekindle the love hate relationship with RWB. I just wish they'd get a motel and get it over and done with.
He did however, confirm that Coxy has been appointed as reserves coach and that he may be bringing a recruit with him.:thumbsu:
The great man is back...obviously tax dead lines have come and gone and the workload is a bit lighter. Yes I wouldn't be surprised to see the great Jovi bring a couple of recruits at least. One would be around the 18yo mark and one around the 35 yo region, with the latter to more than likely line up at full forward in the magoos and the former to play around the middle in the seniors. Beautiful left footer I'm told the young bloke and great kick at goal the old bloke.:thumbsu:
Big Ump
14 Nov 2007, 18:16
Yes scotywok you are correct i had no time to get on and chat.Yes i told you about Coxy,But RWB cannot help himself and open his East&West and blabber on about who is coming and who might be coming to H/cote this year:D:D
the red white and black
14 Nov 2007, 18:19
Yes scotywok you are correct i had no time to get on and chat.Yes i told you about Coxy,But RWB cannot help himself and open his East&West and blabber on about who is coming and who might be coming to H/cote this year:D:D
Don't think I'm giving much away there Onions, giving the name of the second's coach. Don't see any other names mentioned or are your eyes painted on again!!!!!
Big Ump
14 Nov 2007, 18:32
Don't think I'm giving much away there Onions, giving the name of the second's coach. Don't see any other names mentioned or are your eyes painted on again!!!!!
No i don't see any other names but it will not be long knowing you lubba lips.
On afternoon shift are we,wasting tax payers money:p
the red white and black
14 Nov 2007, 20:45
No i don't see any other names but it will not be long knowing you lubba lips.
On afternoon shift are we,wasting tax payers money:p
Eight til Six with a couple hours of overtime thrown in for good measure. What a great country!!:thumbsu::thumbsu: I've done great things with these lips, don't know about your chicken legs though.:eek: Seriously, I thought that was what this thread was for, to discuss all things HDFL and be that player movements to Heathcote, I'll get it out there. If you go back on the GV thread I think that you will find I let it out in early September that Dirty Dave Williams would be coaching Ky and Daniel Schmidt would be coaching Rochy (Doona, find those quotes for me, the boss is nearby!!). Only the good oil from me Trevor and it will be accurate oil too, not some made up crap you put on.:p:p
Guys can some of you please jump on the loddon valley thread and back me up, a few of them reckon lv is better footy than hdfl.
So stay here then you knobend. Simple.
BAR FRIDGE
15 Nov 2007, 07:54
See if they want to play an interleague match against us this year ablett! That seems to shut them up a bit!!!:D
we'restreaking
15 Nov 2007, 08:29
Mate we all know our better twos sides would beat half their ones sides
investor
15 Nov 2007, 14:54
Mate we all know our better twos sides would beat half their ones sides
there not much difference between both, i've played in both and as its been said hdfl clubs have more $ to spend, which attracts better quility, but would love to see the leauges play off again,and to say your better two's side would beat the half snr sides, is crap, give the lv some respect.
we'restreaking
15 Nov 2007, 15:06
there not much difference between both, i've played in both and as its been said hdfl clubs have more $ to spend, which attracts better quility, but would love to see the leauges play off again,
Investor, I travelled out to ingelwood to watch the prelim final between Newbrige and Mitiamo and i must say i honestly didn't think either of those sides would have made it into the hdfl top 5. Maybe Newbridge.. Both sides seemed to have a couple of guns, who could play anywhere in country vic. Four to five good solid players, but the depth falls away alot quicker than in the hdfl i feel. Especially in the last year or two, where i think the standard has improved over here.. This is probably because of the extra$$$$$
Who's Barry Badrinath?
15 Nov 2007, 16:21
Speaking of $$$, i have it on very,very good authority that elmore coach tony southcombe recieved $22,000 to coach the bloods in 2007...
a lot of clubs wouldnt spend that on all their players let alone one coach.
now im assuming i will get some stupid response from bloodhound and others alike who will jump in to deny this statement even though they have no idea... but as i said, very,very good authority forum frollickers...
i suppose it bought,hm,i mean won them a premiership though.:cool:
NathCameron
15 Nov 2007, 16:32
twenty too thousand dollars.
WOWZA. sory guys the top line of my keyboard is nt working. how r all you guys at locky goin? traning yet? i might be movin back so i might catch up with ya all for a few coldies at the pub. thats a lot of money to pay a couch. it takes me too years to earn thatt.
Speaking of $$$, i have it on very,very good authority that elmore coach tony southcombe recieved $22,000 to coach the bloods in 2007...
$22k Geez wish I lived an hour further to the north :eek: find that pretty hard to believe, although it was rumoured Matty Byers got $30k at Barooga, he did play though and did win the comp medal.
Surely there wouldnt be any clubs paying under that for their playing list?
ROOTA#6
15 Nov 2007, 18:15
now im assuming i will get some stupid response from bloodhound and others alike who will jump in to deny this statement even though they have no idea... but as i said, very,very good authority forum frollickers...
No wonder they had to dip into the Footy trip fund to pay the players out there :D
Fantom Maggot
15 Nov 2007, 18:18
Fantom thinks it may not be too long now and the bye could be a thing of the past in the HDFL.:D:D:D
What colour jumpers do you think Lockington Bamawm Elmore United would wear????:)
Fantom:thumbsu:
"Hillies back to back 08 - 09"
ROOTA#6
15 Nov 2007, 19:26
Wagga Tigers Coaching Positions 2008 Season
The Wagga Tigers Football Club seeks expressions of interest for coaching for season 2008 in the following grades:
First Grade (RFL) - Playing or Non Playing
Senior PlayersNew players are also very welcome. Please contact the club if you would like information regarding lifestyle, employment or accommodation details.
The club has a strong tradition and is a premier club in the RFL competition. It offers excellent facilities, a strong Committee and a region offering a great lifestyle with many employment opportunities.
Wagga Tigers has a very strong junior base and we are looking to build on an excellent 2007 with the First Grade being premiers.
Applications for the coaching job and any players that are interested in playing please email me at
Email: tom@jupitermotors.com.au
Website: www.waggatigers.com.au (http://www.waggatigers.com.au)
Not having much luck up there Chawk???
Fantom Maggot
15 Nov 2007, 19:53
Hey AndyP, Heard on the grapevine that a handy backflanker in Avery may be jetting back into the country around March after being MIA for a couple of years. Any truth to this? and do you reckon he may pull on the boots again?
nesko_25
15 Nov 2007, 20:00
WOWZA. sory guys the top line of my keyboard is nt working. how r all you guys at locky goin? traning yet? i might be movin back so i might catch up with ya all for a few coldies at the pub. thats a lot of money to pay a couch. it takes me too years to earn thatt.
I tell you what Nath "the serial pest" Cameron, I wouldnt pay more than $1500 fir a couch, it'd wanna be a massaging one too!
Shouldn't u have been at cricket training instead of writing on big footy Nath?
investor
16 Nov 2007, 06:35
well, coach balranald, and you get 70k,thats not bad
Yet Again
16 Nov 2007, 07:50
Well, you know the old saying, pay peanuts and you get monkeys!! I bet the teams that finished in the bottom half of the ladder for yet another year, going ten plus years without a flag, would kill to have a decent coach who can attract players if they could afford it.
bloodhound!
16 Nov 2007, 08:19
I take exception to the "stupid comment" line Baz, defending your club when people are continually attacking it under false pretenses is not "stupid". Secondly just because you say you have a "very, very good source" dosnt make what your saying true anyone can type that when they want to make what they are saying sound more believable so unless you are prepared to name that source there is really no point saying it.
Thirdly I dont know what Bluey got paid I would hope that the figure you quoted was for the last 2 years not just this year........If that is true I would be pretty disappointed (but not surprised) especially given rootas comment, but as I said until you can prove something its just another rumour.
BrentmeisterGeneral
16 Nov 2007, 08:53
Hey AndyP, Heard on the grapevine that a handy backflanker in Avery may be jetting back into the country around March after being MIA for a couple of years. Any truth to this? and do you reckon he may pull on the boots again?
Sorry to jump in before Andy Fanto, but when I last spoke to young Chris he thought he would be unlikely to play in 2008, he wil be returning from o/s around Chrissy for a short period before jetting back off to Europe to finish his 2 year stint.
Beyond that he wasnt sure. Would be a handy acquisition for the Hillies though, abit of dash off half back.
Training starts Monday for the red and black, hopefully it involves 15 minutes of kick to kick in the shade before a couple of frothies! Its too bloody hot for cricket let alone footy preseason!!
On The Money
16 Nov 2007, 09:03
No wonder they had to dip into the Footy trip fund to pay the players out there :D
Thats interesting that someone has come up with that figure because he told me that he did it for nothing which had turned into an expensive exercise given the travelling and phone calls associated with it.
Andy Grant has been given the senior gig for 08 hasnt he?
What ever happened to "for the love of it" a membership, club jacket, phone calls and fuel :D though thats how we all do it :D
On The Money
16 Nov 2007, 09:25
Andy Grant has been given the senior gig for 08 hasnt he?
Bluey i heard
Trottyboya
16 Nov 2007, 10:45
What ever happened to "for the love of it" a membership, club jacket, phone calls and fuel :D though thats how we all do it :D
you are the only bloke foolish enough to do it that way
Well, you know the old saying, pay peanuts and you get monkeys!! I bet the teams that finished in the bottom half of the ladder for yet another year, going ten plus years without a flag, would kill to have a decent coach who can attract players if they could afford it.
yes but how long can a club go on forking out that much money??? surely not very long,unless your balranald who must have a diamond mine under the footy sheds... elmore couldnt go on doing it much longer... or they might not be around much longer...the last time bluey and trout were president and coach together at a club the club had to fold for that reason...
theres some trivia.:confused:
should be up your alley nesko...