View Full Version : Heathcote District FL
aimar21
4th April 2005, 10:34
White Hills FC 17.5 (107) D Lockington Bamawn United FC 5.10 (40)
Heathcote FC 9.13 (67) D Colbinabbin FC 6.6 (42) v
North Bendigo FC 20.17 (137) D Huntly FC 8.2 (50)
Mount Pleasant FC 21.13 (139) D Broadford FC 12.8 (80)
word is White Hills and Mt Pleasant looking strong
Heathcote beat Colbinabbin for first time in years
North good winners over Huntly
caveman
4th April 2005, 22:05
Hi everyone,
Just letting you know that I have expanded the forum on my webpage
www.geocities.com/bendigofooty
to include the following leagues:
North Central Football League
Loddon Valley Football League
Maryborough Castlemaine District Football League
Heathcote District Football League
Just click on the fans forums section or alternatively go directly to
http://caveman20.proboards36.com/
Although my page will only have results and news for the BFL I will add the other leagues logos on my front page with links to their official webpages.
Let me know what you think!
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
5th April 2005, 09:46
Really looking forward to seeing Elmore's Debut this season - word on the street is they are looking ******** hot
caveman
5th April 2005, 10:55
I have heard the same thing. Should be an interesting year in the HDFL!!!
aimar21
5th April 2005, 11:15
Really looking forward to seeing Elmore's Debut this season - word on the street is they are looking ******** hot
well there playin white hills this week who seem to have only got better since last years grand final loss, so this will be the real test
caveman
5th April 2005, 12:33
well there playin white hills this week who seem to have only got better since last years grand final loss, so this will be the real test
It will be a great test but I wouldnt read too much into their first game of the season!
Guys come and join the forum I have set up specifically for the HDFL.
http://caveman20.proboards36.com/
aimar21
5th April 2005, 12:53
i would
Rosco5
8th April 2005, 20:25
Mounts very impressive, moved the ball well to their forwards and will be hard to stop. Pascoe at CHF very good, on-ballers worked well together and backs were committed.
Looks like White Hills recruiting went well and they will be hard to beat too, good win over LBU.
Heathcote have picked up a few and a few coming back to the club but Colbo have obviously dropped off the pace. Winning 3 in a row, you can't blame them I s'pose.
Broadford hard to beat at home though, might be different 2nd time round with blokes back from injury and becoming available, we'll see what pans out. :)
aimar21
12th April 2005, 08:33
id have to say the word on the street was wrong cause they got pumped by white hills by 96 points. dont believe everything you here on the street
jmain14
12th April 2005, 09:37
id have to say the word on the street was wrong cause they got pumped by white hills by 96 points. dont believe everything you here on the street
he he he
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
12th April 2005, 12:17
Yeah looks like the laughs are on the Bloods he Jim. Didn't know you followed the HDFL, do you think you may be able to put a bit in Inside Footy next week about the league?
I hear Elmore has recruited a few more that may be availble in 2-8 weeks , Leigh Ayson is one of them and will really fit in well with the likes of Warren, Lecek and Weeks. You could only hope Niven is back for the finals
diggidog
15th April 2005, 17:03
Mounts very impressive, moved the ball well to their forwards and will be hard to stop. Pascoe at CHF very good, on-ballers worked well together and backs were committed.
Looks like White Hills recruiting went well and they will be hard to beat too, good win over LBU.
Heathcote have picked up a few and a few coming back to the club but Colbo have obviously dropped off the pace. Winning 3 in a row, you can't blame them I s'pose.
Broadford hard to beat at home though, might be different 2nd time round with blokes back from injury and becoming available, we'll see what pans out. :)
Hey Rosco, how did Angwin get in your best? Form what I heard he only had 10 touches, most of them ineffective
Rosco5
18th April 2005, 17:37
Hey Rosco, how did Angwin get in your best? Form what I heard he only had 10 touches, most of them ineffective
Diggidog,
I don't do the best for the paper so I don't know. He wasn't great early but he did stop a bit of Pascoe form when he went on to him -v- Mounts. Played better against Huntly before getting concussed and missed the Colbo win. Should be back this week, he is getting better and fitting in nicely ....
diggidog
27th April 2005, 10:56
Should be a cracker of a game up at Locky vs mounts this week. Will Locky join mts and the hillies as the main contenders so far? Or will mounts's relatively new team with many stars continue to improve and pose a serious threat to frontrunners White Hills.
Mobbenfuhrer
27th April 2005, 19:53
Any price LBU?
What is the damn story with them. They more or less owned the NEFL ... would be it be that the HDFL is that much a better league than the NEFL was, or is LBU a lesser side, perhaps players finding other local clubs now that they travel so far.
After a few years not getting a flag, why wouldn't they be on the blower the CMFL fixturers? Even Golden Rivers, for that matter?
diggidog
28th April 2005, 09:05
Any price LBU?
What is the damn story with them. They more or less owned the NEFL ... would be it be that the HDFL is that much a better league than the NEFL was, or is LBU a lesser side, perhaps players finding other local clubs now that they travel so far.
After a few years not getting a flag, why wouldn't they be on the blower the CMFL fixturers? Even Golden Rivers, for that matter?
If you are implying they join the central murray, i think that would be a bad move they would really struggle, would have to travel just as much or more. They were ok in the bendigo league for a bit, but not for long enough periods to warrant the status of a major league team!
Mobbenfuhrer
28th April 2005, 20:50
Yep, either Central Murray FL or Golden Rrvers FL, depending on strength. I would have though these were closer clubs.
Something's obviously going wrong at LBU, either that I have grossly underestimated the strength of the HDFL, which is very possible. I would have thought Northern & Echuca FL and HDFL were on reasonably even pegging.
Rosco5
2nd May 2005, 21:04
Broadford with a come from 6 goals behind 2 point win, Mounts upset by LBU bu 5 goals, White Hills keep on winning, 10 goals this time. LBU might be better than everyone thinks .....
madtiger
3rd May 2005, 09:32
Locky will be a damn good side. I have seen a lot of greg Byrne and Rick Pritchett and they are verry good players. Also opposition clubs will have to play very tight on Troy mitchell if you give that bloke any space he will kick a bag. He is only a small bloke but super quick AND deadly accurate in front of goals.
Rosco5
3rd May 2005, 11:07
Locky will be a damn good side. I have seen a lot of greg Byrne and Rick Pritchett and they are verry good players. Also opposition clubs will have to play very tight on Troy mitchell if you give that bloke any space he will kick a bag. He is only a small bloke but super quick AND deadly accurate in front of goals.
MT, re Mitchell, I worked that out last year when he kicked a couple of bags for Lancaster against us. One to keep on a leash undoubtedly. They look like a very good side and it was good to see someone upset Mounts early and put it all into some perspective .....
bradrowe#32
3rd May 2005, 12:08
MT, re Mitchell, I worked that out last year when he kicked a couple of bags for Lancaster against us. One to keep on a leash undoubtedly. They look like a very good side and it was good to see someone upset Mounts early and put it all into some perspective .....
Very good player. I remember playing 3rd against him in the GV when he was with Kyabram.
He has kicked a few bags of 100 the last few years. Kicked 7 for LBU last weekend. Might be their missing link this year.
ANT JESS
3rd May 2005, 14:16
Good win on the weekend Rosco, I thought the boys stuck to the task very well. Allthough Angwin rucked quite well, he was very little value around the ground. Is that the way he has been playing? or did he have an off day?
Flat Track Bully
3rd May 2005, 16:16
Good win on the weekend Rosco, I thought the boys stuck to the task very well. Allthough Angwin rucked quite well, he was very little value around the ground. Is that the way he has been playing? or did he have an off day?
Yep, Rosco, good win...now where are you guys playing this weekend?
madtiger
5th May 2005, 11:06
When are you guys playing locky Rosco? i can give you a bit of info on some of the players if that would help you.
Rosco5
5th May 2005, 11:33
Tige, played LBU round 4, they beat us in 10 minutes of footy in the 2nd when they kicked 6 and won the game by 7. Any info greatly appreciated though !! Next play them Rd 13 July 2nd.
Jock, play White Hills this week at home, will again be missing a few more but who knows, will need to play extremely well I am thinking to get over them.
Ant, Loz did turn the game with his ruckwork and 2nd and 3rd efforts. It was his first game back from a quaddie and concussion and he is still finding his feet a bit so I am prepared to give him a lot of time. His tackling and attack on the ball are great and his attitude around the club is fantastic ... although he hasn't put in a blinder yet ..
ANT JESS
5th May 2005, 13:11
Tige, played LBU round 4, they beat us in 10 minutes of footy in the 2nd when they kicked 6 and won the game by 7. Any info greatly appreciated though !! Next play them Rd 13 July 2nd.
Jock, play White Hills this week at home, will again be missing a few more but who knows, will need to play extremely well I am thinking to get over them.
Ant, Loz did turn the game with his ruckwork and 2nd and 3rd efforts. It was his first game back from a quaddie and concussion and he is still finding his feet a bit so I am prepared to give him a lot of time. His tackling and attack on the ball are great and his attitude around the club is fantastic ... although he hasn't put in a blinder yet ..
Didn't realise it was his first game back for a while Rosco, but I still think your being a bit too kind to him in accessing his game. Yes his Ruckwork was fairly good, as it should be. But his efforts around the ground and his workrate off the ball was second-rate IMO.
madtiger
5th May 2005, 17:21
rosco i think if you can find the right match up for Mitchell expose their backlines lack of pace and tag Dobson you would be on the right track in beating them.
Rosco5
9th May 2005, 17:30
rosco i think if you can find the right match up for Mitchell expose their backlines lack of pace and tag Dobson you would be on the right track in beating them.
Agreed, they are a good side but obviously can be beaten with the right match-ups. Played White Hills on the w/end, beat us by 25 pts but rated LBU better.
diggidog
9th May 2005, 18:43
Hey Rosco, now that youve played the top 3 teams so far id be interested how you rate them all. !Mounts hillie and lbu)
madtiger
10th May 2005, 12:58
Agreed, they are a good side but obviously can be beaten with the right match-ups. Played White Hills on the w/end, beat us by 25 pts but rated LBU better.
thats interesting cos white hills gave LBU a huge touch up in round one. I think that locky rely heavily on Mitchell he has kicked bags in all of the wins. It would be interesting to see if they can win without his influence.
Rosco5
10th May 2005, 15:43
thats interesting cos white hills gave LBU a huge touch up in round one. I think that locky rely heavily on Mitchell he has kicked bags in all of the wins. It would be interesting to see if they can win without his influence.
Apparently White Hills had a few out but then again so have most sides, including us, at various times and you're only as good as your depth. I certainly rated LBU a good side, then Mounts then White Hills. LBU are a better running side than WH, Mounts certainly have more potency in their run game, delivery and forward set up (in the games we have played). I think those 3 sides are the ones to fight it out from what I have seen but I certainly believe, and hope, that we would be able to match it with them when we get to full strength (if we ever do!) and there are other sides who will upset a few apple carts along the way including Elmore. We only set ourselves the task of playing finals and we'll take it from there .....
madtiger
10th May 2005, 18:48
Good attitude to have hopefully you can make the finals this year and retain all your players and get a couple more next year and give it a real shake. Echuca United who i have been watching a bit of are in the same boat, they have had a couple of KPP go down with injuries including Simon Mcarty and just can't seem to be able to play at full strength. They also prob also need 2 or 3 more class players to be able to really cement themselves as a true contender.
Mobbenfuhrer
11th May 2005, 07:21
Glad to see I've been proven wrong over the last few weeks by LBU :o :)
purple hills
11th May 2005, 16:31
Gee's you make it sound pretty easy to shut a guy down who's kicked nearly 40 goals in 6 games there tige. How do you think most teams should go about it?? You dont think that he's kicked all of the goals as a result of the supply from the midfielders by any chance as well??
madtiger
11th May 2005, 16:37
Gee's you make it sound pretty easy to shut a guy down who's kicked nearly 40 goals in 6 games there tige. How do you think most teams should go about it?? You dont think that he's kicked all of the goals as a result of the supply from the midfielders by any chance as well??
He is not your traditional full forward PH he is more a quick crumbing type I thinkif you can find a match up that has his legspeed as well as a bit of physicality you would be able to dampen his influence. Also by having another defender/ruckman drop back and invade his space. I also said Dobson would need to be tagged as he is a ball magnet in the midfield he won the league B&F a while back.
jmain14
11th May 2005, 16:58
He is not your traditional full forward PH he is more a quick crumbing type I thinkif you can find a match up that has his legspeed as well as a bit of physicality you would be able to dampen his influence. Also by having another defender/ruckman drop back and invade his space. I also said Dobson would need to be tagged as he is a ball magnet in the midfield he won the league B&F a while back.
I can back you up on both those calls madtige. the quantity of goals mitchell has kicked over the past 5 seasons or so has amazed me but then again we must realise that he has kicked these bags in minor leagues. he had a crack (returned to) in the gv a couple of seasons back and had not near the same influence mainly due (I think) to the added physicality that comes with playing in the gv and defenders being more accountable to him. this is not to take anything away from him as he can obviously play - it's just that from what I have seen of him I think a physical, accountable and smart defender can restrict his influence in a big way. as for dobson, yes he is a very good player and needs to be paid attention to - no question about that.
purple hills
11th May 2005, 17:32
I can back you up on both those calls madtige. the quantity of goals mitchell has kicked over the past 5 seasons or so has amazed me but then again we must realise that he has kicked these bags in minor leagues. he had a crack (returned to) in the gv a couple of seasons back and had not near the same influence mainly due (I think) to the added physicality that comes with playing in the gv and defenders being more accountable to him. this is not to take anything away from him as he can obviously play - it's just that from what I have seen of him I think a physical, accountable and smart defender can restrict his influence in a big way. as for dobson, yes he is a very good player and needs to be paid attention to - no question about that.
Sorry guys i didnt mean to take anything away from the guy, what i was getting at is that the opposition coach would attempt to shut him down each week i dare say. And so far they all appear to have been unsuccesful so easier said then done. Not every team will have a good match up for him in the HDFL and if the midfield keeps pumping the ball in there he's bound to kick 5 or 6 each week.
madtiger
12th May 2005, 08:30
Sorry guys i didnt mean to take anything away from the guy, what i was getting at is that the opposition coach would attempt to shut him down each week i dare say. And so far they all appear to have been unsuccesful so easier said then done. Not every team will have a good match up for him in the HDFL and if the midfield keeps pumping the ball in there he's bound to kick 5 or 6 each week.
The thing with a player like him is he is best with the ball on the ground with space to run into if you can limit his space he and make him really earn his kicks he will struggle to have the same impact. A couple of Murray league clubs around the Echuca area spoke to him and apparantley was concerned about them being to 'intense' so the GV would have been way to physical for him.
a4brianp
16th May 2005, 17:33
Any of you people seen huntly play and how far off the pace are they.Really havent improved over the last few years most dissapointing.
Rosco5
16th May 2005, 20:16
Any of you people seen huntly play and how far off the pace are they.Really havent improved over the last few years most dissapointing.
A4BP, Huntly have got some good running on-ballers and seem to be far more competitive than in recent years. They will push a lot os dies for 1/2 to 3/4's but probably don't have the depth to cover any losses as their 2's are struggling.
diggidog
16th May 2005, 20:30
Hey Rosco what happened to you guys on saturday, I had yous pencilled in for a win. Were they good, yous bad or a bit of both?
Rosco5
16th May 2005, 20:34
Hey Rosco what happened to you guys on saturday, I had yous pencilled in for a win. Were they good, yous bad or a bit of both?
They have recruited fairly well and played well, we played like dogs in the first 1/2, got a humungous spray and came from 7-8 goals down to be within 2 at 3/4 time, petrol tickets used up and got done. We missed a lot of set shots and played a fairly poor game, 20 minutes of footy will not win anyone a game against anybody. So, yeah, a bit of both. Got to be realistic about it though, I had us pencilled in for a win also but you never know do you, it is a strange game and if the boys haven't got the footy heads on it's a long day in the coaches box !!
diggidog
16th May 2005, 20:44
They have recruited fairly well and played well, we played like dogs in the first 1/2, got a humungous spray and came from 7-8 goals down to be within 2 at 3/4 time, petrol tickets used up and got done. We missed a lot of set shots and played a fairly poor game, 20 minutes of footy will not win anyone a game against anybody. So, yeah, a bit of both. Got to be realistic about it though, I had us pencilled in for a win also but you never know do you, it is a strange game and if the boys haven't got the footy heads on it's a long day in the coaches box !!
I went to watch White hills mounts, real good standard game. How do you rate Heathcote then compared to the rest of the 5?
Rosco5
17th May 2005, 14:00
They will go oka on their day but I don't think they have the 'big gu8ns' to go with the top 3. Their full forward and two others in the fwd line did well, on-ballers ok and a good strong mobile ruckman, they'll do ok if they don't have any injuries.
Rosco5
23rd May 2005, 19:52
Where have all the HDFL posts gone ?? I feel like I'm talking to myself out here in cyberspace ..... maybe I am, you know what they say ! :p
jmain14
24th May 2005, 10:25
Where have all the HDFL posts gone ?? I feel like I'm talking to myself out here in cyberspace ..... maybe I am, you know what they say ! :p
yeah what is happening with this thread?? would be interested to hear how smokey rathjen is getting on at colbo (diggidog/gohoppers)...
how is lorrie going rosco??
shagger
24th May 2005, 17:13
Can anyone tell me how Denis Ryan is going at Mount Pleasant?
There was mention of Mounts spending up big earlier this year, does anyone know if the locals are getting a run or are they all imported players?
diggidog
25th May 2005, 16:49
Can anyone tell me how Denis Ryan is going at Mount Pleasant?
There was mention of Mounts spending up big earlier this year, does anyone know if the locals are getting a run or are they all imported players?
Yeah Denis Ryan is coming second in the league goalkicking, kicked about 40 i think. There is plenty of imports in the team and while theres not many locals in the team, there are hardly any locals to choose from. The thirds have had to disband this year i think due to lack of numbers
shagger
26th May 2005, 16:01
I lived there in the late 70s and they were fielding decent junior sides.
The population would have doubled since then. :confused:
Very sad for a proud club. :(
Is Denis Ryan playing as a permanent forward?
diggidog
26th May 2005, 16:31
I lived there in the late 70s and they were fielding decent junior sides.
The population would have doubled since then. :confused:
Very sad for a proud club. :(
Is Denis Ryan playing as a permanent forward?
Yeah nearly all the time. He could just about still dominate anywhere though. It is sad for the thirds, you cant go on forever without them I suppose. Im sure they'll be back soon
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
31st May 2005, 16:10
Hey rosco what club are you affiliated with in the HDFL
jmain14
31st May 2005, 16:24
Hey rosco what club are you affiliated with in the HDFL
I will answer that one for ya rosco. tb, he is a first year coach at broadford.
ECHUCABOY
3rd June 2005, 09:25
Nathan O'Brien is a gun footballer for locky. Only 18 has the potential, very hot propety!
ANT JESS
3rd June 2005, 09:35
Nat is awsome!
Hey ECHUCABOY you wouldn't happen to know a bloke named Dave Glenn would you?
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
3rd June 2005, 10:21
Pheh... was reading a few comments out of order there and it nearly crossed my mind that the mitchell reference was re the great Dean or Corey - two of the most borderline two's players I have ever seen pull on the blue and white for LBU
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
3rd June 2005, 10:29
Crumbing type fwd - doesn't LBU already have the best F pocket in the area in old 'two grabs gramps' lookalike Sammy Newth???
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
3rd June 2005, 10:35
A4BP, Huntly have got some good running on-ballers and seem to be far more competitive than in recent years. They will push a lot os dies for 1/2 to 3/4's but probably don't have the depth to cover any losses as their 2's are struggling.
would have to agree there rosco - Huntly seem to be very similar to their form of the last 10 years - competitive but just dont have those top half a dozen players to cement their spot in the finals come late august. Watched them against Elmore a few weeks ago. I see they still even have the likes of pentreath still running around in the ones. Was very impressed with R. Campbell's form after a stint down in the gippsland football league for Traralgon. He was very valuable across HF.
Any early favourites for the Sam Cheatley medal this year... Dobson a chance again after returning form WAFL?
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
3rd June 2005, 10:39
Nathan O'Brien is a gun footballer for locky. Only 18 has the potential, very hot propety!
Would have to agree their, his old man Shane used to now how to get the pig skin. Lets hope his collar bones/ shoulders are a bit stronger than his brothers...
ECHUCABOY
3rd June 2005, 11:12
haha true that mate. nat will be right. Locky will be unstopppable played senior footy last year with pritch and roo absolute guns. Get on the Locky Bandwagon.
ahaha and yes slobsy its Trav brown.
jmain14
3rd June 2005, 11:26
ha ha slobsy. good to see you back anyway ant jess, haven't heard from you on here in a while.
ANT JESS
3rd June 2005, 11:28
Hey Twavy, its doodz mate not slobsy. You really reakon pumpa would know how to use the net? he he.
bradrowe#32
3rd June 2005, 18:42
Any early favourites for the Sam Cheatley medal this year... Dobson a chance again after returning form WAFL?
Had a few beers with Dobbo a couple of weeks ago. Apparently he has been chased by Rochester for the last few years. Not sure if he will take up the offer.
ECHUCABOY
6th June 2005, 10:56
haahha dooza you hotman. My bad very sorry, that was a terrible thing to say, me calling you pumpa haha!
Whats goin on ya cracker? Im home this weekend so might go watch nat play. Who do Locky play and where?
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
6th June 2005, 12:48
haha true that mate. nat will be right. Locky will be unstopppable played senior footy last year with pritch and roo absolute guns. Get on the Locky Bandwagon.
Unstoppable may be slightly incorrect as White Hills defeated Locky by a lazy 10 goals on the weekend....
ECHUCABOY
6th June 2005, 13:28
Ahh tou che'
jmain14
6th June 2005, 13:44
Unstoppable may be slightly incorrect as White Hills defeated Locky by a lazy 10 goals on the weekend....
yeah white hills must be a fair side, and after talking to brett 'stoneman' stone on sat'y night they will be very hard to beat. might be time for liam 'whisky' main to be recalled to the seniors for the cats.
jmain14
6th June 2005, 14:10
[QUOTE=ECHUCABOY]My bad very sorry, that was a terrible thing to say, me calling you pumpa haha![QUOTE]
pumpa has been very good in the rochy seconds of late. seems to have really stepped up, and is looking more like a key position player each game he plays.
ECHUCABOY
6th June 2005, 15:33
hahahaha thats funny.
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
8th June 2005, 11:12
Four Day Warning For Elmore Football Club - 2005 Sav Day, Sunday 12 June @ Picanniny Hilton. 20 Years On And Still Going Strong. As Usual No Chicks.
jmain14
8th June 2005, 11:41
Four Day Warning For Elmore Football Club - 2005 Sav Day, Sunday 12 June @ Picanniny Hilton. 20 Years On And Still Going Strong. As Usual No Chicks.
yes, although there will be no chicks present one terry warren will be making an appearance. his presence should be enough to make all those in the surrounding area who have nothing planned on sunday get there. it is days like this that terry look forward to so much, and he would be odds on for yet another 3 vote performance I'd say.
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
8th June 2005, 11:54
I'll Second That Mainey - Recon Laura Will Be Worst On That Night When She Wants To Go Home...
jmain14
8th June 2005, 11:59
I'll Second That Mainey - Recon Laura Will Be Worst On That Night When She Wants To Go Home...
yeah although I think laura knows better these days and understands how much this day means to young terry. it is like a grand final for him. I don't think he will be heading anywhere until he considers the job is done which unfortunately for laura's sake may very well be later on in the night.
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
8th June 2005, 12:07
STOP PRESS: wORD ON THE STREET IS THAT THE GREAT NIGEL 'FREAKA' DOBELL HAS FINALLY TIED THE KNOT... GOOD TO SEE HE GOT THE JOB DONE ON THE SATURDAY OF THE BYE. CANT WAIT TO SEE SOME LITTLE FREAKS KICKING GOALS FROM NOWHERE IN THE ELMORE THIRDS
jmain14
8th June 2005, 12:21
STOP PRESS: wORD ON THE STREET IS THAT THE GREAT NIGEL 'FREAKA' DOBELL HAS FINALLY TIED THE KNOT... GOOD TO SEE HE GOT THE JOB DONE ON THE SATURDAY OF THE BYE. CANT WAIT TO SEE SOME LITTLE FREAKS KICKING GOALS FROM NOWHERE IN THE ELMORE THIRDS
fair dinkum... who did he get engaged to tb?? yeah geez the little freaks are going to be exciting to watch. also, note by that centrebet are now taking bets on what age their kids start going bald on top ala their old man.
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
8th June 2005, 14:09
I hear the freak's kids are odds on with David Coulston's from Rand in the Correen league. Married some Corprate Sydney bird...
purple hills
8th June 2005, 14:48
I hear the freak's kids are odds on with David Coulston's from Rand in the Correen league. Married some Corprate Sydney bird...
I'm backing Brent Guerra's kids to have the stomper look somewhere in their mid teens, just pipping Colsto's kids in their late teens
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
10th June 2005, 08:32
Nice one P Hills, Kevin Bartlett is a late mover into 3-2
shagger
6th September 2005, 17:10
Anyone got any info how the teams fared?
I did see Mounts had a win.
Could anyone let me know where they ended up prior to the finals and who were their best?
RiverinAFL
6th September 2005, 19:00
Here's their website
http://heathcotedfl.vcfl.com.au/
Here's the ladder and Finals
http://heathcotedfl.vcfl.com.au/ladder.asp?comp=2305&OrgID=362
HJ32
8th September 2005, 08:53
Anyone got any info how the teams fared?
I did see Mounts had a win.
Could anyone let me know where they ended up prior to the finals and who were their best?
Matt Pascoe was awarded the VCFL medal - he turned the game in the 3rd term where mounts kicked 5 unanswered goals. Dennis Grinton was probably stiff not be get it, he played a pretty good game in the centre from start to finish, as Pascoe was reasonably well held in the 1st half. Others good for mounts were coach Cam Carter (onball), Daniel O'Connell (back flank) and Rob Rojewski (back flank). Veteran Dennis Ryan finished a a few goals up forward.
back to drawing board for White Hills, they did suffer a few unfortunate injuries towards the season's end, but they also had a few big guns who didn't fire a shot on the day. Will be interesting to see their financial situation, and if they can keep their list together for next year.
Doona2
8th September 2005, 09:12
HJ32 glad you could finally make it, although I think you may have joined under an alias earlier this season. Go Hoppers was a bit of a livewire and a few from Broadbean thought it was I taking the p*#$.
Got onto the website, Meatheads a ********a, "best of luck to those you get laid" on this week's trip away - inspiring stuff from the pres!!!
Have had some great input from darryl this year, has helped the transition into coaching a tad easier.
You home for a trundle this summer or staying at Strath?
HJ32
8th September 2005, 16:25
HJ32 glad you could finally make it, although I think you may have joined under an alias earlier this season. Go Hoppers was a bit of a livewire and a few from Broadbean thought it was I taking the p*#$.
Got onto the website, Meatheads a ********a, "best of luck to those you get laid" on this week's trip away - inspiring stuff from the pres!!!
Have had some great input from darryl this year, has helped the transition into coaching a tad easier.
You home for a trundle this summer or staying at Strath?
Nah, GOHoppers wasn't me mate! Bully Bishop put me onto this one. Speaking of the Bully, he's coming up to have a kick with me next year which will be good.
Trip departs tomozza, should be good .Meaty's words are always inspiring - you just have to know the man to get his humor!!!
DW knows his stuff, im glad you got onto him to help you out. Gonna be interesting to see where he ends up next year. He may take over the BB2's job but there will be the odd club or two sniff him out during the off season around b'go.
Good luck in the granny too. What's gonna happen when the league disbands, must be a bit of a worry heading into an unknown future! especially with recruiting and stuff....
Cricket - at the Jets again. I had my chance with the maroons and enjoyed good year at jets last year. Hopefully that elusive flag ive been wanting is not far away this year!
Doona2
14th September 2005, 15:04
Ruckman Bernie Hourigan beat short priced favourite Nick Redenbach by a vote in Broadford's best and fairest count on Saturday. Redenbach was amongst the Roos best on 15 of 18 occassions for the season - which asks the question who are the vote cards handed to?
Nickos must've had an inkling though coz he wanted to back big Bernie before the jump
acciarito
14th September 2005, 17:52
wait til colbo are back on top
no one will have a chance
the melbourne boys are coming back soon and they will dominate
Wizz
14th September 2005, 17:59
Anyone catch a bloke at Elmore by the name of Darren Seabrook play? Was playing there but has been known to go missing for a few weeks and then just rock back up to training again when you least expect it.
Also Rodd 'snake' Rathjen heard he was killing them at Colbo before a devastating shoulder injured him, heard Colbo are trying to keep him however due to commitments to Terminator 4 this may hinder there chances.
jmain14
15th September 2005, 10:29
Anyone catch a bloke at Elmore by the name of Darren Seabrook play? Was playing there but has been known to go missing for a few weeks and then just rock back up to training again when you least expect it.
Also Rodd 'snake' Rathjen heard he was killing them at Colbo before a devastating shoulder injured him, heard Colbo are trying to keep him however due to commitments to Terminator 4 this may hinder there chances.
yeah I have heard of both these players you have mentioned. darren was runner up in the 2's club b&f which isn't a bad effort for someone who probably only played half a dozen games. I saw his last h&a game against locky and he played fairly well. he is a pretty rare piece of work that is for sure. I copped a message off him and adz just before actually wizz - they were just about to fly up to darwin for their footy trip. word is that he isn't booked on their return flight to tullamarine like the rest of the players, chook instead has opted to take a direct flight to alaska from darwin.
regarding rodd (smokey) - yeah he was killing them until his shoulder went. word is the hoppers are keen to regain his services in '06 however he may not be able. it appears commitments on the set of terminator 4 will occupy most of his w'ends next year along with various other commitments he has scheduled with spielberg, michael moore and others.
Wizz
15th September 2005, 18:11
yeah I have heard of both these players you have mentioned. darren was runner up in the 2's club b&f which isn't a bad effort for someone who probably only played half a dozen games. I saw his last h&a game against locky and he played fairly well. he is a pretty rare piece of work that is for sure. I copped a message off him and adz just before actually wizz - they were just about to fly up to darwin for their footy trip. word is that he isn't booked on their return flight to tullamarine like the rest of the players, chook instead has opted to take a direct flight to alaska from darwin.
regarding rodd (smokey) - yeah he was killing them until his shoulder went. word is the hoppers are keen to regain his services in '06 however he may not be able. it appears commitments on the set of terminator 4 will occupy most of his w'ends next year along with various other commitments he has scheduled with spielberg, michael moore and others.
Seabrook not having a return flight home from the footy trip does not surprise me what so ever, he would also be making a trip to Thailand to i would imagine.
Yes Rathjen does sound busy, great to see he finally got his big break after trying for so many years, wish him the best. Will always be remembered for his game in the 99 GF for colbo 2's and his speaky in a school game in 98.
Doona2
28th September 2005, 15:56
Who are the latest movers and shakers in regards to the HDFL in 2006? Word has it Colbo are set to bounce back with the return of some highly credentialled players, and the possible signing of former Swan Rowan Warfe. Lets hope Danny Irwin gets more support in 2006, the big fella deserves a year with some $$$ at his disposal.
A source from Wallan has alledged Adam Bruni has apparently shown an interest in applying for the vacant senior coaching position, whilst at Broadford 2005 coach Ross Andrews, reserves coach Skip Bray and a Craigieburn premiership player (name unknown) are the 3 candidates for the Roos' top job at this stage.
Guinea
28th September 2005, 16:04
How on earth would Rowan Warfe end up at Colbo?? What's the connection there? Where has he been playing since he left the swans? It never ceases to amaze me that a town with a population of 100-200 can stay successful and attract players to their club. Credit to them. Shows what having a good loyal committee and rich cockies prepared to pump money into a club can do.
What is the likely wash-up from White Hills second GF loss in a row? Did they spend a lot of $ to do it, or do they have a good bunch of locals?
hank1
28th September 2005, 17:10
Warfe was Ass Coach for Bendigo Pioneers this year and believe he has the role again next year. Didnt pull on the boots this year but is talk if scheduling permits he may play for Golden Square when available. The club he was drafted from.
White Hills do have a fair nucleus of bendigo mates with Bendigo league experience led by coach Jim Angove, would say they will be up there again. Mounts would need to recruit a few though I would think, as a lot of their players would be looking to hang up the boots, Denis Ryan, Matt Pascoe, Jamie Gee etc.
Doona2
3rd October 2005, 22:13
How on earth would Rowan Warfe end up at Colbo?? What's the connection there? Where has he been playing since he left the swans? It never ceases to amaze me that a town with a population of 100-200 can stay successful and attract players to their club. Credit to them. Shows what having a good loyal committee and rich cockies prepared to pump money into a club can do.
Care to add to this one HJ32? Any early news out of Colbo re: 2006?
HJ32
3rd October 2005, 22:25
Nothing at this stage mate - I'm still pumped after seeing the Lions win!
I think a few guys from the 2003/04 flags might be gonna play again after having a year off in 05. A couple of locals who have been at other clubs may also be coming back.
bradrowe#32
3rd October 2005, 23:37
Nothing at this stage mate - I'm still pumped after seeing the Lions win!
I think a few guys from the 2003/04 flags might be gonna play again after having a year off in 05. A couple of locals who have been at other clubs may also be coming back.
G'day H, I reckon I played Colbo ressies with you in 2000.
fat back pocket
4th October 2005, 00:14
G'day H, I reckon I played Colbo ressies with you in 2000.
G'day H, i think i played Seymour ressies with you in 2002.
You get around abit.
How's the hip champ? Coming to presentation evening on Saturday night? It is suit and tie, but if you don that signed 91' T-shirt i reckon i will let you off the hook on this occasion and grant you entry!
HJ32
4th October 2005, 12:40
G'day H, i think i played Seymour ressies with you in 2002.
You get around abit.
How's the hip champ? Coming to presentation evening on Saturday night? It is suit and tie, but if you don that signed 91' T-shirt i reckon i will let you off the hook on this occasion and grant you entry!
Ha ha!
BradRowe32 - yep been at Colbo since '00 - I Kicked plenty of points that year - much to jarmo's disgust! - and have been snagging more minors ever since at grasshopper land!
FBP - Hip is good after first practice hit out against the maroons on saturday which was a great day. Yeah filled in once in 2002 for the Lions, some stocky little blonde headed fella kept drilling me on the chest that day, only thing was, he wasnt in the back pocket, instead he was playing in the centre. :D
Grandale
4th October 2005, 13:51
Ha ha!
...some stocky little blonde headed fella kept drilling me on the chest that day, only thing was, he wasnt in the back pocket, instead he was playing in the centre. :D
And you were playing centre half back!!! Ah, the Lions Twos of 2002. What a combination!!!
Doona2
4th October 2005, 15:50
The Rowan Warfe to Colbinabbin whisper is getting stronger. Heard from a fairly handy Bendigo/HDFL source that it is likely to progress, along with the return of many senior players from the 2002-04 era.
HJ32
4th October 2005, 16:33
have you been speaking to DG Wilson again Doona?
fat back pocket
4th October 2005, 18:47
And you were playing centre half back!!! Ah, the Lions Twos of 2002. What a combination!!!
I hear the bloke who won the B and F that year in the twos went onto much bigger and better things after that.
His weight went sky rocketing upward, his kicking ability went spiraling downward, and he quickly found himself in the back pocket!!
Doona2
4th October 2005, 20:15
have you been speaking to DG Wilson again Doona?
A good journo never gives up his source!!!. I do have myself what I would call a hugely respected role model whom I've bounced ideas off regularly, has been extremely helpful to a first year coach - and occasionally we even just talk about footy gossip.
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.