View Full Version : If Courtney can get fit...
Sports Capital
5 Apr 2005, 11:23
I like the look of this spine:
Fletcher
Bradley
Stanton?
Johns
Lloyd
Leaves Lucas to do his own thing, I just think that the idea of Scotty being able to run around without an opponent is.......... :D :D :D
bOmBeR_BoY1
5 Apr 2005, 11:30
Yeah, IF...
Stanton in the center worries me, and I'd rather have Lucas at CHF than Johns anyday of the week...
Longy413
5 Apr 2005, 11:55
Rioli in the centre.
nonchalance
5 Apr 2005, 12:04
If Johns can get fit...
If Hird can clone himself...
If Lucas grows a right foot...
If Hille finds a heart...
If Cupido puts in some effort...
That is a bloody big if. A bad hip is not what you want to bring onto a football field. Just ask Dermie a man who as a player was pretty much finished at 28. John's has a hip in far worse condition than dermie's. The forward line is such a collision position due to the amount of people that now occupy it in part due to flooding tactics. If he did get back how long before a solid bump puts him out indefinately again?
Sadly I think the Bombers stuffed up by taking Johns, fair enough they knew it was a gamble but it doesn't look like it's ever going to pay dividends.
The writing was probably on the wall when the Shockers weren't interested and lets face it they're not the smartest cats in town.
DonsRule
5 Apr 2005, 17:06
Sadly I think the Bombers stuffed up by taking Johns, fair enough they knew it was a gamble but it doesn't look like it's ever going to pay dividends.
The writing was probably on the wall when the Shockers weren't interested and lets face it they're not the smartest cats in town.
True enough, the Hip injury was a very worrying sign, however sometimes things like this do pay off, not to make a comparison, but Hird had some serious injuries before he was drafted to the bombers, and has had some serious injuries throughout his entire career.
Judd in the centre
Collingwood board? :D
Arsene Wenger
6 Apr 2005, 01:29
i hear alot about this fella Courtney Johns
How good is he
obviously been very unfortunate with injuries?
nonchalance
6 Apr 2005, 10:21
How good is he
His initials are no accident. He is Christ Jesus, the Messiah of Football.
He has the kicking skills of Lloyd, the pace of Judd, the leap of Jesaulenko, and the strength of Lockett.
Unfortunately, his Achilles heel is a hip with no cartilage in it, and he can barely walk, let alone play football.
His initials are no accident. He is Christ Jesus, the Messiah of Football.
He has the kicking skills of Lloyd, the pace of Judd, the leap of Jesaulenko, and the strength of Lockett.
Unfortunately, his Achilles heel is a hip with no cartilage in it, and he can barely walk, let alone play football.
well i don't know about the pace of judd but the other stuff is kind of in the right ballpark. i don't think he has quite lost all the cartilage in his hip and he is running again so he is not exactly a cripple. He played footy the other year for bendigo and did ok - and he is in the exact same position now - if not better - as he was then so he can play with his hip. yes he has had to have 2 ops since then but that was because he still had bone floating around in his hip from the initial injury that had mamaged to disloge itself from its hiding place. its all gone now (apparently) and he has only got 6 weeks according to the injury list. i don't doubt that he will get back to playing but after that who knows. my only critisism of him (and probably some people at the club), is that bloody hair of his that really needs a cut. someone should buzz him when he's asleep
nonchalance
6 Apr 2005, 11:15
I love hyperbole.
Sports Capital
6 Apr 2005, 11:43
How good is he
He was playing in the WAFL the year when he was being touted as a top 10 draft pick and some how he got his thigh bone jammed into his hip socket. Can't imagine that being to much fun.
How good is he
I remember venturing down to windy hill to watch the last half of the reserves play late 03 season (i think)
I saw this huge blonde headed kid hit packs like carey. Guys choping at his arms and defenders backing back into him. Hitting the pack at full pace.... One grab.
To which I commented calmly "holy ******** is that courtney johns?" the guy next to me said he was doing that all day. Teddy richards was having a blinder that day too, i think he got his 2nd or 3rd senior birth the next week from it.
Having said that, if memory serves me well, Johns went off later in the last qtr and I don't think he played again that year.
Fit and firing, he could well be the next carey. Unfortunately so far he's the next McAllister.
jackie_bombers
6 Apr 2005, 13:27
Courtney will be a star, just unlucky with injury. Started running again and could be in the team by late May. I hope so. Would be good for our forward line, however, maybe not CHF. FP or HFF.
nonchalance
6 Apr 2005, 13:40
He has to be CHF, jackie - he's too big to be a flanker or a pocket.
We won't see him in the AFL this year, though. Next year at best.
jackie_bombers
6 Apr 2005, 13:54
Where the hell is Scott Lucas gonna play? Surely not at CHB - bradley is devloping there. They need to stay in one position to develop truley in that area. Scotty has changed from CHB to CHF too much, and I think he belongs at CHF. Courtney will be a star, I'll be looking forward to seeing him playing. Just not sure where to put him.
nonchalance
6 Apr 2005, 14:28
Where the hell is Scott Lucas gonna play?
IMO
Lucas is a HFF, and always has been. He is an absolute champion forward flanker, who's been forced to fill in the key position, and done very well - credit that to his versatility.
If Johns Himself gets into the team, I'd have him at FF, Lloyd at CHF, Lucas on a HFF, and Cupido and Hird as small forwards.
Bradley must stay at CHB, as you said. For the remainder of the season, preferably.
jackie_bombers
6 Apr 2005, 14:44
Mmm...
IMO, Lloyd is the best FF in the competition and must be played there. Has a deadly left foot kick.
Johns could well be our next star CHF, though still needs time to slowly develop into that position. MJ could also be a small forward, and Lovett as another crumbler.
HF:Lucas Johns Hird
F:MJ Lloyd Cupido/Watson
Mj might play in the BP....and leave Watson in the pocket. Don't forget chook is another marking forward. With possibly Lloyd, Lucas, Henno, Johns and Watson in there, is our forward line too tall?
nonchalance
6 Apr 2005, 15:14
IMO, Lloyd is the best FF in the competition and must be played there. Has a deadly left foot kick.
I'd rather have a great CHF than a great FF, and I think Lloydy could be a great CHF. Also, FF is easier to play than CHF, and is thus a better spot for the youngster.
MJ could also be a small forward[quote]
Whoops. Can't believe I left him out of my proposed forward line. Absolutely loved his game on Friday, and think he's the missing hard worker in the pocket. We need him to balance blokes like Cupido, who doesn't have a defensive bone in his body.
[quote]With possibly Lloyd, Lucas, Henno, Johns and Watson in there, is our forward line too tall?
Yep. Someone's going to miss out.
gPhonque
6 Apr 2005, 15:33
I'd have him at FF, Lloyd at CHF,
Lloyd has always looked lost at CHF.
His strengths are leading into space, and the one-one-one contest in front of the square.
Why on earth would you change that!?
I've seen this idea mentioned numerous times over the years, and it has never made any sense whatsoever.
henneman_dud
6 Apr 2005, 21:29
if he can get fit he will be in for henneman!!!
jackie_bombers
6 Apr 2005, 21:49
Lloyd has always looked lost at CHF.
His strengths are leading into space, and the one-one-one contest in front of the square.
Why on earth would you change that!?
I've seen this idea mentioned numerous times over the years, and it has never made any sense whatsoever.
Spot on there mate. Don't think he knows how to play CHF as well as FF. And isn't as effective. Leads strongly from the square, can mark strongly and is always impossible to beat in one on one situations. Lucas/Johns can fill up CHF/HFF.
jackie_bombers
6 Apr 2005, 21:50
Oh and get lost 'henneman dud' for heavens sake, give the guy a break. he's showed something in the past few weeks, which im sure have pleased the supporters. doesnt mean hes a star but hes improved, so give him a chance will ya?
Winderlich
7 Apr 2005, 23:45
To hear that the kid could be like Carey is brilliant, I'm just worried, like many Bomber fans probably would be. If he gets fit and runs out onto the MCG, his hip will be targetted! How many bumps or hits to his hip will it take to screw him up again!!
Essendon took the gamble, let's hope it comes off!
Spot on there mate. Don't think he knows how to play CHF as well as FF. And isn't as effective. Leads strongly from the square, can mark strongly and is always impossible to beat in one on one situations. Lucas/Johns can fill up CHF/HFF.
I can remember him kicking a couple of bags and winning a game or two out at CHF. But I would prefer he remains at FF, it's definately his best position.
If he gets fit and runs out onto the MCG, his hip will be targetted!!
Which is 100% fair and within the spirit of the game - if it is done at the correct time - when he's hunched over in pain, moments after leaving the arms of the trainer.
ManWithNoName
8 Apr 2005, 10:42
I think that every Essendon fan will hold their breath the first time Courtney cops a hip and shoulder, if he gets back up there'll be a massive cheer, if he doesn't it will be the end for Courtney.
I just want the great white hope to get out there already :( Im sick of waiting....
Winderlich
8 Apr 2005, 13:36
Well Ari, the longer we wait, maybe the better! Because it's a better chance that he'll last longer! Let's just hope he can get out there first of all!