View Full Version : Is DVFL the best local footy league in Melbourne
Andrew Lovett
5th April 2005, 14:41
Great standard of footy and great players old and young. Do most people agree.
Arabian Goggles
5th April 2005, 14:49
The VFL is better. Jeez.
BlueBoy41
5th April 2005, 14:50
Took a lot of interest in it last year and was impressed with the standard. A highly scrutinised league due to high player payments and ageing administration (who some regard are quite resistant to change). Treatment of ex-AFL players who join the DVFL has come under question recently, also... eg Mellington at Montmorency who had his jaw broken behind play against North Heidelberg last year.
I wouldn't say Div 1 of the DVFL would be as good a standard as VAFA A section.
Andrew Lovett
5th April 2005, 14:54
The VFL is better. Jeez.
LOL Local footy which excludes afl vfl
Arabian Goggles
5th April 2005, 15:09
LOL Local footy which excludes afl vfl
SANFL then.
AFL isn't local footy.
David_02
5th April 2005, 15:12
SANFL then.
AFL isn't local footy.
R U STUPID?
Magnum PI
5th April 2005, 15:20
VAFA is clearly the cleanest and most highly skilled local league in Australia.
David_02
5th April 2005, 15:25
dought it. I think eastern gets that.
Dv would b the hardest but
Arabian Goggles
5th April 2005, 15:52
dought it.
Who's the stupid one again?
David_02
5th April 2005, 15:59
Who's the stupid one again?
u???????
tige19
5th April 2005, 16:08
Ovens&Murray, Goulbourn Valley and Geelong leagues are all miles and miles shead of DVFL and i would say Eastern and VAFA are also ahead of it. Some good players run around in the DVFL league but compared to the top country comps it has nothing on them at all.
cheers
pazza
5th April 2005, 16:16
As someone told me yesterday..Diamond Valley..home of the thug.
Would rather go watch Div. 1. in the WRFL!
David_02
5th April 2005, 16:20
As someone told me yesterday..Diamond Valley..home of the thug.
Would rather go watch Div. 1. in the WRFL!
u do that then hero
Magnum PI
5th April 2005, 16:23
"Best League"= Sportsmanship, Loyalty, Quality, Cleanliness & Structure.
If these are the indicators then you can't go past the VAFA.
Just ask Steve McKee and Simon garlick.
David_02
5th April 2005, 16:40
"Best League"= Sportsmanship, Loyalty, Quality, Cleanliness & Structure.
If these are the indicators then you can't go past the VAFA.
Just ask Steve McKee and Simon garlick.
Do they get paid?
Magnum PI
5th April 2005, 16:42
Do they get paid?
No they don't. And the fact that the VAFA can attract ex-AFL players without pay is a reflection of the quality of the league!
David_02
5th April 2005, 16:49
No they don't. And the fact that the VAFA can attract ex-AFL players without pay is a reflection of the quality of the league!
Steve mckee wanted 30,000 and a car to play for lalor in the dvfl. and suddenly goes to xavier where players dont get paid whats wif that hey?
plz explain?
Magnum PI
5th April 2005, 16:55
Steve mckee wanted 30,000 and a car to play for lalor in the dvfl. and suddenly goes to xavier where players dont get paid whats wif that hey?
plz explain?
For the love of the game... (cough, cough)
David_02
5th April 2005, 16:56
For the love of the game... (cough, cough)
exactly
pazza
5th April 2005, 16:58
plz explain?
St. Kevins for starters....
The VAFA A Grade is of a standard above even VFL Reserves level. That would sway a few. As I understand, McKee's mate Jarrod Molloy is also down amongst the SKOBS men (Garlick went there as he is mates with Giansiracusa, who's cousins play there)
purple hills
6th April 2005, 09:49
Ovens&Murray, Goulbourn Valley and Geelong leagues are all miles and miles shead of DVFL and i would say Eastern and VAFA are also ahead of it. Some good players run around in the DVFL league but compared to the top country comps it has nothing on them at all.
cheers
Pretty sure that only Eastern and VAFA are in Melbourne tige. Half the bloody O&M clubs arent even in Victoria let alone Melbourne. And to that nut that said SANFL.
So you guys have agreed that VAFA & Eastern are cleaner and more highly skilled but the DVFL would be able to beat them into submission??
Magnum PI
6th April 2005, 10:31
Pretty sure that only Eastern and VAFA are in Melbourne tige. Half the bloody O&M clubs arent even in Victoria let alone Melbourne. And to that nut that said SANFL.
So you guys have agreed that VAFA & Eastern are cleaner and more highly skilled but the DVFL would be able to beat them into submission??
No... DVFL players would be too fat and slow to catch players from the VAFA or Eastern league!!!
diamond8
8th April 2005, 12:30
David Votoupal
8th April 2005, 12:42
Other underrated leagues are the MPNFL (I think they were Country league Premiers 2 years ago) and Geelong league.
Ovens & Murray is clearly an excellent league but I haven't included them because of the NSW connection.
Yes but the O&M and a few other leagues with NSW clubs which straddle the border are technically under VCFL jurisdiction. Then there are leagues wholly within NSW and ACT which are technically under AFL NSW/ACT jurisdiction (e.g. ACTAFL, Sydney FL, the Riverina comps including Riverina, Farrar, Coreen, Hume, Northern Riverina, etc). There's been a few threads on here on league rankings before, check out one of them: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=125070&page=2&pp=15
Bobby Beecroft
8th April 2005, 23:51
Eastern have beaten the DVFL for the last 2 years interleague games.... with some questionable player selections on top of that.
cats56
9th April 2005, 00:01
VAFA would be the best fairly comfortably. Eastern would just shade DVFL then Western, Essendon. Southern league would be a long last.
dogman22
11th April 2005, 11:19
In the last two weeks, Vermont from the Eastern Football League have played a team from the DVFL (Northcote Park) and a team from the VAFA (St. Kevin's) and beaten both teams convincingly (in excess of 15 goals).
Doesn't prove a lot, I know, but can be used as an effective argument about the standard of the leagues if needed.
long_live_alstey
11th April 2005, 11:30
I have checked out some results from practice games. Although you can't look too far into them - if a team is getting smased it would indicate their club isn't as strong as the opposition.
Apart from East Burwood losing some games playing B Grade sides, not a single Eastern side lost a practice match.
East Ringwood beat Essendon's Strathmore by 25+ goals, East Ringwood not being one of the best sides this season.
A Vermont game against a side from the DVFL had to be called off after 3 players were taked to hospital following off the ball incidents (the DVFL club was down by 10 goals+ in the first half). Is this what local footy is all about? Good way to turn people off playing the game...
Eastern = streets ahead. VAFA would be the best skilled but the bigger bodies of the EFL would see a great contest.
hahaha
11th April 2005, 11:41
Eastern ********s on every other competition.
Eastern has beaten other leagues in Interleague so many times it's not funny. As previously mentioned an understrengthed Vermont smashed St.Kevs by 25 goals and Vermont will be lucky to make the grand final this year.
There would be at least 15+ ex AFL players running around in the EFL at the moment.
I seriously can't see how anyone else can think Eastern is not the best metro league.
cats56
11th April 2005, 13:26
Yes the top 4 or so in Eastern are exceptional sides. The problem lies in the depth of Div. 1. would be nowhere near the depth of the VAFA A Section.
The bottom sides in Eastern Div 1. would struggle in VAFA B Section.
hahaha
12th April 2005, 19:49
Yes the top 4 or so in Eastern are exceptional sides. The problem lies in the depth of Div. 1. would be nowhere near the depth of the VAFA A Section.
The bottom sides in Eastern Div 1. would struggle in VAFA B Section.
Then how come we saw Donvale beat East Burwood twice last year?
How come we saw Blackburn beating East Ringwood?
Lilydale even led Vermont both times at 3/4 before narrowly losing.
eddiesmith
12th April 2005, 23:06
The EFL is ********, no where near the level of VAFA
Some of the VAFA D1 sides could defeat EFL division 1 sides
hahaha
12th April 2005, 23:08
Once again another logical post with great evidence to back it up.
East Ringwood beat Old Haileybury
Vermont beat St.Kevs by 25 goals!
Both EFL sides playing half a side to rest guys, need I say more?
Stick to goal umpiring, although if the Goal Umpire at the Ess v Haw match is the best this country has to offer I'd hate to see how ******** you are!
Bobby Beecroft
12th April 2005, 23:40
Pies supporter & a goal umpire.
Limited thinking capacity & Can't see.
No wonder this type of opinion appears.
Lethal mix that.
eddiesmith
13th April 2005, 00:24
Once again another logical post with great evidence to back it up.
East Ringwood beat Old Haileybury
Vermont beat St.Kevs by 25 goals!
Both EFL sides playing half a side to rest guys, need I say more?
Stick to goal umpiring, although if the Goal Umpire at the Ess v Haw match is the best this country has to offer I'd hate to see how ******** you are!
I guess you know for a fact that the VAFA sides had full strength lineups? :rolleyes:
Anyway, East Ringwood is a super side and of course they would win, unbeatable the mighty Roos
Who gives a ******** about a ********ing practice match? Means nothing, doesnt show who is better at all.
Dont worry, when I get up to the AFL you can guarantee I wont be giving any easy goals to Essendon :D
hahaha
13th April 2005, 00:42
I guess you know for a fact that the VAFA sides had full strength lineups? :rolleyes:
Anyway, East Ringwood is a super side and of course they would win, unbeatable the mighty Roos
Who gives a ******** about a ********ing practice match? Means nothing, doesnt show who is better at all.
East Ringwood super side? That hardly boosts your credentials.
Maybe in the past, but will be lucky to make the top 4 this year.
And yes I do know both VAFA teams had players out but not as much as the EFL sides who played a mixture of 1's and 2's.
And when a team wins by 25 goals I think it shows that they would beat the opposition on any given day of the year.
eddiesmith
13th April 2005, 00:45
East Ringwood super side? That hardly boosts your credentials.
Maybe in the past, but will be lucky to make the top 4 this year.
And yes I do know both VAFA teams had players out but not as much as the EFL sides who played a mixture of 1's and 2's.
And when a team wins by 25 goals I think it shows that they would beat the opposition on any given day of the year.
So which ********ty EFL side do you play for?
You do realise your ********ty club, Essendon, gets thumped each pre season, but still do quite well in the regular season.
Richmond beat the dons by 12 goals or something in a praccy match, are you saying they are a better side than Essendon?
diamond8
13th April 2005, 13:44
St.Kevins were only a B-Grade Amateur side last year so I'm not sure if you can compare the two.
I'd love to see a game between St.Bernards and Vermont or Mornington vs Old Xaverians.
eddiesmith
13th April 2005, 14:03
St Bernards would absolutely smash them
localfootyguru
13th April 2005, 14:23
As someone who has played in both competitions I would say that the EFL first division is more than comparable with A section in VAFA. The EFL competition is far tougher and physical than the ammos who play a far more open and running game due to the bigger grounds and generally better surfaces.
Have to say that some of the posts on the matter are a bit far fetched though - East Ringwood - unbeatable I dont think so, perennial bridesmaids and generally underachievers considering the list they have had in recent years.
From my observations, Noble Park is far and away the best team in any standard of local football that I have seen, great players, well coached and organised, supported by a professional administration and will probably continue to win the premiership in 1st division EFL due to their ability to recruit quality players.
If I had to make a decision on what is better, I would say the EFL is the best competition in Melbourne and as for D section VAFA teams beating EFL 1st division teams - forget it!!!
rick James
13th April 2005, 14:41
I couldn't imagine Vermont or Noble Park losing too many games against anyone in the VAFA.
yikes
13th April 2005, 14:41
Noble Park played Old Haylibury in a practice match this year and beat them comfortably.
In the Eastern league obvioulsy the players are getting paid and the VAFA calling themselves an ammo comp you would believe that the players don't get paid. The way clubs would get the quality players would be by securing them jobs. When Brett O'Farrel was looking for a club with the best offer and he wanted a job in the media Noble found him a job but Halibury some how got him a job at channel 7 so played for Halibury. Getting players jobs may be the way ammo clubs get the quality players to play for them.
Lenny*
13th April 2005, 14:55
Im only young but I've played a couple of under 19 games in the VAFA and now in the Eastern league and the difference is huge IMO.
VAFA is much like school-boy footy where everyone would be played just so they can get a kick and have some game time. But in Eastern league it is far more professional and comraderie between players and oppenents from other teams is very high.
Eastern footy is a tough hard brand of footy that consistantly draws a much larger crowd to the footy than any VAFA game.
EFL>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>VAFA
eddiesmith
13th April 2005, 14:58
So you are comparing VAFA u/19 to EFL senior, div 1 footy?
Of course the difference would be huge
cats56
13th April 2005, 15:23
Noble Park played Old Haylibury in a practice match this year and beat them comfortably.
In the Eastern league obvioulsy the players are getting paid and the VAFA calling themselves an ammo comp you would believe that the players don't get paid. The way clubs would get the quality players would be by securing them jobs. When Brett O'Farrel was looking for a club with the best offer and he wanted a job in the media Noble found him a job but Halibury some how got him a job at channel 7 so played for Halibury. Getting players jobs may be the way ammo clubs get the quality players to play for them.
So Noble Park should have. They were far and away the best side in Eastern last year while Haileybury only won 6 games ( and apparently are going to really struggle this year). Hardly an accurate comparison.
Practice match form is hardly an indicator.
Depend's on who's available, where it's played, coaches experiments, some player's don't care as there are no point's at stake. I can recall some player's not getting a kick in praccies and by the first round would absolutely dominate. They just couldn't get fired up for praccies whereas some players will nearly kill you in a one on one at training.
When i coached i virtually took nothing from the result in praccies, more of what i got out of experimentation with players and game plan.
hahaha
13th April 2005, 15:40
St Bernards would absolutely smash them
Is this the same St.Bernards that East Ringwood beat last year?
Face it the EFL is by far a better standard, the players get paid for their efforts and this helps attract better quality players.
Have a look the clearances from VAFA to EFL this year, all going in the one direction in search of the almighty $$$.
I can't wait for the VAFA to finally accept the challenge of an Interleague game. The EFL has been asking for about 5 years now and still the VAFA refuses, they know when they get beaten their reputation will be shot to pieces.
eddiesmith
13th April 2005, 16:05
Why would the VAFA waste their time with the EFL? They play better opposition from other states
cats56
13th April 2005, 16:19
I also played and coached in both Eastern and VAFA but it was going back to the 80's and 90's. I would have to say the VAFA was a lot better standard of football back then. The VAFA won 2 out of 4 rep. games vs. VFA in the mid 80's. Wouldn't have thought Eastern or any metro league would have got within a bull's roar of the VFA.
The area Eastern was superior in was better crowds and better atmosphere and township rivalry. I found both competion's to be exceptionally well run.
Also most players who came from Eastern to VAFA would comment how much superior the standard was in the VAFA.
I have watched a bit of both lately and also understand that with the inclusion of Noble Park the Eastern standard has lifted substantially.
There are still far more players with AFL experience on VAFA lists and i feel many players more capable of playing AFL but are unable due to studying to be doctor's, professor's, lawyer's etc.
Cameron Bruce was running around in C grade amateurs from memory.
Also the fact that the VAFA is a metropolitan wide competition and that Eastern is only a local competition would tip the scales in the VAFA'S favour.
Yes Eastern is a more physical competition but VFA wasn't?
Just feel in an interleague game VAFA would run Eastern off their legs.
Lenny*
13th April 2005, 16:42
I also played and coached in both Eastern and VAFA but it was going back to the 80's and 90's. I would have to say the VAFA was a lot better standard of football back then. The VAFA won 2 out of 4 rep. games vs. VFA in the mid 80's. Wouldn't have thought Eastern or any metro league would have got within a bull's roar of the VFA.
The area Eastern was superior in was better crowds and better atmosphere and township rivalry. I found both competion's to be exceptionally well run.
Also most players who came from Eastern to VAFA would comment how much superior the standard was in the VAFA.
I have watched a bit of both lately and also understand that with the inclusion of Noble Park the Eastern standard has lifted substantially.
There are still far more players with AFL experience on VAFA lists and i feel many players more capable of playing AFL but are unable due to studying to be doctor's, professor's, lawyer's etc.
Cameron Bruce was running around in C grade amateurs from memory.
Also the fact that the VAFA is a metropolitan wide competition and that Eastern is only a local competition would tip the scales in the VAFA'S favour.
Yes Eastern is a more physical competition but VFA wasn't?
Just feel in an interleague game VAFA would run Eastern off their legs.
Depends on what area it is played in. If its an Eastern ground I wouldnt expect too many blokes from Eastern being overly tired due to the amount of stoppages there would be.
hahaha
13th April 2005, 18:23
Why would the VAFA waste their time with the EFL? They play better opposition from other states
Scared ********less.
maccas_no1
13th April 2005, 18:48
Other underrated leagues are the MPNFL (I think they were Country league Premiers 2 years ago)
The MPNFL is a fantastic league with loads of talent I played for Hampton Park just ressies, but still thought there was alot of talent in the MPNFL.
Deefer4
15th April 2005, 22:56
A lot of opinions expressed without supporting data. Having been involved with recruiting players for my EDFL club over recent years, and having watched DVFL, Ammo's Ballarat, Bendigo and the WRFL, and a few EFL games, the DVFL, in my view is not the best comp.
Of the comps that I have seen, the EFL is the strongest. This view was supported by a former Carlton player, now coaching in the EFL, and having played and coached in both the EDFL and the Ammos.
Top Ammo teams would strugle to beat any of the top teams from the other leagues, mainly because of the style of play, not physical. Their game has been sanitised to the extreme. Maybe DVFL should follow.
Of the rest, would rate Ballarat, followed by Bendigo and EDFL even. WRFL and DVFL bringing up the rear.
MadRyan
17th April 2005, 12:44
MPNFL would rival the EFL.
hahaha
17th April 2005, 13:21
MPNFL would rival the EFL.
You have got to be kidding?
Squeak
17th April 2005, 19:53
You obviously have something personal against the EFL, what is it? The fact that you fail to acknowledge the fact that it is a very good league is quite astounding.
Speaking of good comps, GVFL is OK at the moment. Mansfield's on-ball division consists of Trent Hotton, Darren Hulme and Andrew Tranquilli!
Fatboy35
28th February 2007, 17:09
A lot of opinions expressed without supporting data. Having been involved with recruiting players for my EDFL club over recent years, and having watched DVFL, Ammo's Ballarat, Bendigo and the WRFL, and a few EFL games, the DVFL, in my view is not the best comp.
Of the comps that I have seen, the EFL is the strongest. This view was supported by a former Carlton player, now coaching in the EFL, and having played and coached in both the EDFL and the Ammos.
Top Ammo teams would strugle to beat any of the top teams from the other leagues, mainly because of the style of play, not physical. Their game has been sanitised to the extreme. Maybe DVFL should follow.
Of the rest, would rate Ballarat, followed by Bendigo and EDFL even. WRFL and DVFL bringing up the rear.
I think the cream rises to the top, the best sides in any comp are great even when compared to other comps. For example Heildelberg, Vermont Strathmore all very good sides its hard to split them. What I have seen is the level from leagues doesn't change much DVFL have 26 sides, measure them from best to worst and the standred would be the same comparing them to EFL 39 teams, Ammos 70 odd teams.
Lets not argue over the VAFA v EFL or DVFL or EDFL why not create a 'premier' league where all the best metro teams go into one or two divisions where money teams play other money teams. Then see if these sides are great, at the moment its hard to say that any metro comp is better then another when its clearly the biggest cheque book wins. Heidelberg, Strathmore and Vermont all have the biggest player payments and all won the flag in 06 in their league, sh#t anyone can do that!
Conduct Unbecoming
1st March 2007, 10:44
Have played A Grade VAFA finals and Eastern FL (Div 1 & 4). While in the VAFA we played Vermont in practice matches 3 years in a row in the early 90s when they won all those flags, and we beat them each time. Point is, praccy matches mean absolutley nothing.
Top 2-3 sides in A Grade VAFA and EFL would be very evenly matched. In fact, top 2 sides in Div 1 of all respective metro leagues would be pretty even. Agree that VAFA would be the less physical in the top couple of divisions but in the lower divisions things pretty similar across the board (sides like Bulleen-Temp, West Brunswick, North Brunswick, Prahran, Sth Melb Districts, Oakleigh, Kew, Williamstown, etc are all physical district sides in the VAFA who play the same brand of footy as you get in DVFL etc.).
Overall, in terms of 2nd and subsequent divisions, Eastern would be better football than the all other leagues bar the Ammos - when you have 8 Senior divisions and some sides fielding 3 senior teams each week (as they do in the VAFA) weigth of numbers ensures a very strong competition. Add in 5 under 19 divisions and the inflow of talent is always strong.
2nd division DVFL is just too big.
aberdaberdo
1st March 2007, 13:21
Have played A Grade VAFA finals and Eastern FL (Div 1 & 4). While in the VAFA we played Vermont in practice matches 3 years in a row in the early 90s when they won all those flags, and we beat them each time. Point is, praccy matches mean absolutley nothing.
Top 2-3 sides in A Grade VAFA and EFL would be very evenly matched. In fact, top 2 sides in Div 1 of all respective metro leagues would be pretty even. Agree that VAFA would be the less physical in the top couple of divisions but in the lower divisions things pretty similar across the board (sides like Bulleen-Temp, West Brunswick, North Brunswick, Prahran, Sth Melb Districts, Oakleigh, Kew, Williamstown, etc are all physical district sides in the VAFA who play the same brand of footy as you get in DVFL etc.).
Overall, in terms of 2nd and subsequent divisions, Eastern would be better football than the all other leagues bar the Ammos - when you have 8 Senior divisions and some sides fielding 3 senior teams each week (as they do in the VAFA) weigth of numbers ensures a very strong competition. Add in 5 under 19 divisions and the inflow of talent is always strong.
2nd division DVFL is just too big.
West Brunswick? North Brunswick? Same brand as DV? You have got to be kidding. Tigers would beat them by 20 goals.
Conduct Unbecoming
1st March 2007, 13:35
West Brunswick? North Brunswick? Same brand as DV? You have got to be kidding. Tigers would beat them by 20 goals.
Na mate, you missed the point. Same 'brand' as in 'tough, non-schoolboy in-and-under' footy that you see in most local leagues but not necessarily in all A & B grade clubs in the Ammos. It is exactly the same 'type' of footy you see in the DV. Was just trying to highlight the misconception that all VAFA footy is soft. These district clubs have the same approach as any disctrict club in any other league.
There was no comparison made regarding the quality or ability of the top Divison 1 DV club (Heidelberg) with the 2nd bottom VAFA D4 divison club (Nth Brunswick).
And FYI, Heidelberg would beat them by more than 20...
epping pingers
2nd March 2007, 15:13
the DVFL is one of the best in Vic.
Our 15's and 16's team have won the grand final and have beat eastern and essendon district etc.
vinnyd
9th March 2007, 13:58
dvfl is a very good league. bundoora beat vermont last year in a practice match and we lost the grand final. vafa is not as physical as eastern or dvfl.
mffftt i can smell lies
13th June 2007, 19:07
people are so bias every league has both its good and bad areas...ive seen the vafa the eastern and the dv or nfl and my view is that heildburg would beat any side in these 3 comps they have good name afl players like murphy and Mckernan(over 200 afl games) unlike vafa(mckee was a dud so was garlick) and local freak players who would with ease walk into vfl clubs its just that vfl club are so unreliable with paying players. bundoora have had their twos poached away because they were so strong last year and would and have walked into other teams 1's..my experience is the dv is a team not as skilled but play as a unit making them better teams...n thats wat makes a league better vermont are good n a well run club but its all well n good playing 1 practice match play a season full on n c how many of the players in the other leagues still have their heads over the ball..dv is the working class football..vafa is a private school league..eastern fall in between..dv and eastern too close to call but if i remeber right in the rep games dv beat them..
magpie#18
14th June 2007, 23:21
the roosters played old brighton in a praccy match and won- all 3 grades!
and from what ive heard....old brighton are doing well in their league
port-man_fc
15th June 2007, 12:17
the roosters played old brighton in a praccy match and won- all 3 grades!
and from what ive heard....old brighton are doing well in their league
As stated before, Elthams D4 ammo's(effectively 8th division) defeated Mernda who arent that far off finals in praccy this year, DVFL has one good side (bergers) and the rest have dropped off in a big way since the late 90's, it is not the best league going round....
mffftt i can smell lies
15th June 2007, 17:45
As stated before, Elthams D4 ammo's(effectively 8th division) defeated Mernda who arent that far off finals in praccy this year, DVFL has one good side (bergers) and the rest have dropped off in a big way since the late 90's, it is not the best league going round....
wat bout bundoora monty north heildburg and ealtham **** stick..late 90's are u on crack or are u just a complete wanka the afl has drafted players from the league in the past 3 or 4 years
dont comment unless u have an idea n i dont wanna hear some shit bout a prac match it could have been 19s vs seinors for all that u no
junior29
15th June 2007, 18:41
i think we should all give up on talking about who wins practice matches, they mean shit all. example t/town beat macleod by 10 goals this year come round 4 macleod wins by 5 goals which win would you rather??? I think in the 90s the vally was easy the best but over the last 3,4 years has drifted off, lets just hope the new nfl get it right and it wont be to long before we kick away from the other leagues.
looker
16th June 2007, 06:07
A couple of years ago (bout 5-7), VAFA was by far the most outstanding football league (A-grade). During this time, many players from the ammos have taken off to local leagues, since dropping their standard. Not by too much tho. Physically it is not as tough. It is fast and hard, altho ammo players do not need eyes in the back of their head, for the off ball hit.
Local leagues - DVFL has fallen a fair way off the pace to where the standard used to be. Top divvy 1 teams are very good outfits. Same can the same be said for Eastern and Essendon. Not too sure bout Western, and Southern was Balwyn (now eastern).
Eastern has much more depth in their good teams in both section 1 and 2 than any other league in the state. Only comparision would be ammos.
Leagues cannot be judged alone upon their top 2 or 3 teams. Every leagues top 2-3 teams are financially secure and can afford the top players who may rotate between clubs from year to year.
I would base the 'best' league upon depth of good teams. Eastern will win hands down.
I know of many guys who have left ammos clubs and DV clubs, and played in Eastern. Most went into divvy 2 eastern clubs, and their opinion is the standard is very high compared to divvy 2 DV and C/B grade ammos.
Lets not kid ourselves, DV or NFL is an okay league, but no where near Eastern. Our grounds are no-where near as good, money no where near as high, and professionalisin of our clubs no where near as high. Eastern is a long way ahead of all other leagues atm. Followed by Essendon.