View Full Version : Woodville-West Torrens to don Heritage strip

raboyle
7 Apr 2005, 17:59
From the SANFL website...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

To commemorate a milestone in the history of the Woodville West Torrens Football Club, the Eagles are set to celebrate 15 years as an SANFL Club.

On Monday 25th March 1991 the Eagles played their first match for premiership points against Sturt at Football Park. Saturday April 9th, Woodville Oval will see the Eagles wear a replica Guernsey from the first match as they take on Sturt to mark this highlight.

Players of the ilk of Andrew Payze, Steve Geyer (captain on the day), David Niemann, Stuart Totham, Garry Haylock and Scott Morphett have been invited back to enjoy the celebrations of the day. They will get a chance to see current day stars such as Gavin Colville, Paul Lindsay and Mark McKenzie in action for the RO Shearman Cup.

Current Eagles Coach and 200 game player in 1991 Ron Fuller, thinks the day is a fantastic initiative by the Club. It is a chance to acknowledge the history of the Eagles. The Club has been building the foundations since the inception in 1991 and it’s marvellous for past players to be recognised in such a way.
Ron Fuller says, “I look forward to catching up with my former team-mates and hopefully we can do the right thing on the day and win the match.”
The players that represented the Club in 1991 will be presented to the crowd on the oval prior to the League match.

Each current player will sign their Guernsey after the game and they will be available as an individual auction item on the Club’s website – www.wwtfc.com.au

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

A worthy addition to any collection.

Adelaide Hawk
7 Apr 2005, 18:47
What I'd like to see is a match with the old West Torrens jumpers, the ones with the big eagle on the chest, then another game with old Woodpecker jumpers. I miss those old jumpers. The eagles one was one of my favourites.

McAlmanac
7 Apr 2005, 19:42
What I'd like to see is a match with the old West Torrens jumpers, the ones with the big eagle on the chest, then another game with old Woodpecker jumpers. I miss those old jumpers. The eagles one was one of my favourites."Big eagle" Torrens guernsies were fantastic. Why they changed to "small eagle" was a mystery. The Woodville ones would have to be circa 1969. Both would have to be lace up. Noel Teasdale could be guest coach for both games.....

Adelaide Hawk
7 Apr 2005, 20:18
"Big eagle" Torrens guernsies were fantastic. Why they changed to "small eagle" was a mystery. The Woodville ones would have to be circa 1969. Both would have to be lace up. Noel Teasdale could be guest coach for both games.....

I have an amusing story to relate. A mate of mine from Victoria came over on holidays and wanted to buy an SANFL League football jumper. I showed him all the 10 different jumpers and the one he liked was the West Torrens lace up with the small eagle. (I agree McAlmanac, why they ever changed from the large eagle is a mystery).

My friend's reasoning was the West Torrens lace up was uniquely South Australian, so I took him to Vic Hill who tailor-made his guernsey. He wore it with pride in the knowledge he had this SA league jumper.

I never had the heart to tell him about three weeks later, West Torrens changed their guernseys to the Hawthorn style blue and gold vertical stripes.

For my money the best two guernseys in footy was the West Torrens eagle on the chest and the corporate power colours of the St.Kilda jumpers.

dbcrow
8 Apr 2005, 10:31
Great initiative by the club, and hopefully they can also occasionally wear the old West Torrens and Woodville jumpers.

I believe the guernseys from the weekends game will be up for auction on ebay next week.

Will be a great game. My 18-month old daughter will be going to her first game.

Flat Track Bully
8 Apr 2005, 16:04
where can I get the last style of Woodville jumper and original WWT jumper from...I don't reckon you can go past a green, gold and blue jumper...

any help would be appreciated...

The best jumper I ever wore was the old Leopold one, when we wore the wool jumper before changing material, which was dark green, with the gold yoke, and with white shorts, looked sensational

FattyLumpkin
8 Apr 2005, 18:29
A heritage Woody jumper (Peckers of course). A heritage miniscule crowd of "Pecker-heads" bravely facing the taunts of opposition supporters. A heritage Mike Coward in the press box. A heritage Singer Edwards flogging off raffle tickets near the scoreboard gate. A heritage wander onto the ground to hear <insert coach of the day here> heartfelt pleas to the players. And most important, a heritage upset win against all the odds.

:rolleyes:

mickyj
8 Apr 2005, 23:28
"Big eagle" Torrens guernsies were fantastic. Why they changed to "small eagle" was a mystery. The Woodville ones would have to be circa 1969. Both would have to be lace up. Noel Teasdale could be guest coach for both games.....

From memory of something i was told when i was very young the eagle craked or broke on the jumper , but as i say that was a very distant memory.
Oh and for the record i am told i used to run around in a West torrens jumper with a big eagle and number 17 when i was a wee little one. Seeing L. Head retired before i was born it was along long time ago.

cheers and go you eagles tomorrow.