View Full Version : VAFA forum
mark zanotti
9th April 2005, 15:16
I would just like to take this opportunity to wish all those teams in the VAFA the very best for this week and the rest of the season.
Magnum PI
9th April 2005, 15:29
They tried to shut us down but we will not be silenced!
For all your VAFA news and rumours this the place to be...
ben.carbonaro
9th April 2005, 16:19
Yes, I do remember when that happened.
Keep up the good work with all the VAFA news, information and results. No longer involved as an official at VAFA level, having done stats with Rupertswood (d2) for two seasons and now working with Werribee in the VFL.
Still intend on getting down to watch some footy at Rupo, as have most of our VFL games this year are played on Sundays.
SonOfScray
10th April 2005, 21:56
Looking forward to kicking things off this Saturday. Been a long summer thats for sure.
topgun 18
11th April 2005, 08:33
Any results from this weekends practice game?? I was lucky enough to witness a very high skilled intra club game b/n OEG. I must admit OEG look the real deal in 2005.
The Big Pineapple
11th April 2005, 08:45
Any results from this weekends practice game?? I was lucky enough to witness a very high skilled intra club game b/n OEG. I must admit OEG look the real deal in 2005.
A massive pre-season for Murray Makris appears to have paid dividends...
mark zanotti
11th April 2005, 08:50
i confirm there were scouts video taping murray at the prctice match on sat. word is he has some interested parties from wa.
Magnum PI
11th April 2005, 09:25
Anyone know how Collegians went on the weekend?
The Slitherin' Snake
11th April 2005, 11:33
i confirm there were scouts video taping murray at the prctice match on sat. word is he has some interested parties from wa.
I heard big things about this Makris a couple of years back. Apparently he was a big time soccer star in Greece before moving to Australia. Last I heard he was still learning the game but was a bit of a raw talent with huge upside. Lets just hope these WA rumours arent just that and something does come of it.
On a more local front, apparently Williamstown and Port Melbourne were very interested.
The Slitherin' Snake
11th April 2005, 11:36
Parade got up by about 15 goals over Banyule. Banyule look like they're going backwards, the team on saturday fielded 3 Essendon Grammar rejects
Scott MacFlaherty
11th April 2005, 11:44
Old Carey looked very good on the weekend. As a club in a lower grade, we played some skillful footy at times. Will get better as we develop and stick to the game plan
Magnum PI
11th April 2005, 11:48
I heard big things about this Makris a couple of years back. Apparently he was a big time soccer star in Greece before moving to Australia. Last I heard he was still learning the game but was a bit of a raw talent with huge upside. Lets just hope these WA rumours arent just that and something does come of it.
On a more local front, apparently Williamstown and Port Melbourne were very interested.
My sources tell me that he trained with Essendon over the summer but they decided on Zantuck instead... must be able to kick a footy!
The Big Pineapple
11th April 2005, 11:49
Parade got up by about 15 goals over Banyule. Banyule look like they're going backwards, the team on saturday fielded 3 Essendon Grammar rejects
Portia, Mc Dermott and the Helmet???
Jono Dixon
11th April 2005, 12:20
Anyone know how Collegians went on the weekend?
Our boys were given a touch up by the Cardinals leaving our pre-season record at 2 - 2. Heritage was the focal point up forward while I rested my torn gooch. I should be ok for Round 1.
BlueBoy41
11th April 2005, 13:08
Swinburne got beaten by Elsternwick by about 20 pts.
In the under 19s, Ormond (which is in a lower division) ran over the top of Bentleigh in a firey encounter which saw six players sent off.
Guys, it's only an under 19s practice match!
mark zanotti
11th April 2005, 13:09
I know a good gooch specialist if your interested. His name is Dr Parker. He does this special massage with his tongue that is said to do wonders.
Jono Dixon
11th April 2005, 13:34
I know a good gooch specialist if your interested. His name is Dr Parker. He does this special massage with his tongue that is said to do wonders.
I might have to see this doctor...
Heritage has been attending to my gooch but his nose keeps getting in the way!
My North
11th April 2005, 13:34
In the under 19s, Ormond (which is in a lower division) ran over the top of Bentleigh in a firey encounter which saw six players sent off.
boys will be boys on the footy field.
The Big Pineapple
11th April 2005, 13:37
Sound's like Ormond are still angry men after losing the 2002 Under 19 Grand Final...
I suggest they knock it before Round 1...
topgun 18
11th April 2005, 14:04
Geez its great to see that Rupo have really kicked on in there footy! D2!! I wouldn't waste your time mate!! Give it away!!
Jono Dixon
11th April 2005, 14:19
Geez its great to see that Rupo have really kicked on in there footy! D2!! I wouldn't waste your time mate!! Give it away!!
Give OEG another couple of years and that's where you will be too!
My North
11th April 2005, 14:40
that were they were or was it D1 a few years ago and lost a couple of back to back grand final to be promoted to B Grade. Good chance of losing another grand final and be promoted to A Grade :p :D
mark zanotti
11th April 2005, 14:41
at least we will look good unlike u purple wearing hommas
Jono Dixon
11th April 2005, 14:53
at least we will look good unlike u purple wearing hommas
You're a very angry man Zanotti... but I'd be angry too if I had to play at OEG!
Scott MacFlaherty
11th April 2005, 15:20
Ease up on the fella, he obviously loves his footy and his club, very passionate. Something suburban footy needs more of.
The Slitherin' Snake
11th April 2005, 15:29
can anyone explain what a gooch is?
The Slitherin' Snake
11th April 2005, 15:31
Portia, Mc Dermott and the Helmet???
correct.
The Slitherin' Snake
11th April 2005, 15:37
Does anyone from Old Essendon know how Chris Brook is progressing? I heard he showed glimpses in early practice games, but a Jay Schultz like incident may have dented his confidence and affected his level of play.
I've taken an interest in the boy since a mate of mine told me he also has the nickname the Snake. You can see why i like him...
Magnum PI
11th April 2005, 15:44
Looking forward to kicking things off this Saturday. Been a long summer thats for sure.
Which club are you from?
rightfoot_sloth
11th April 2005, 15:58
Old Carey looked very good on the weekend. As a club in a lower grade, we played some skillful footy at times. Will get better as we develop and stick to the game plan
Scott - How do you think Old Carey will go this week against Glen Eira ?
topgun 18
11th April 2005, 16:24
Boys here is the lastest odd courtesy of Sportsbet.
05 B Grade Premiership Market
Old Ivanhoe $3.00
OEG $3.00
Whitefriars $3.50
DLS $4.00
St Bedes $8.00
MSOB $15
Old Brighton $17
Nobs $25
Mazenod $40
Caulfield $50
Scott MacFlaherty
11th April 2005, 16:52
Scott - How do you think Old Carey will go this week against Glen Eira ?
Always tough to say going into round one. I've got confidence in our boys and think we'll be competitive to say the least. Look for me, i'll be wearing number 11
diamond8
11th April 2005, 16:55
Magnum PI
11th April 2005, 16:59
Could someone tell me how young Pugwall (I think thats his name) has been going in the practice games at Essendon Grammar?
I've heard he's been performing brilliantly off the field - nightclubs, triathlons etc... but hasn't performed on the parker..I mean park.
The nightclub is where he does his best work...
Another BOG performance at Prince on Saturday night.
As usual he got the 4 points...
The OC
11th April 2005, 17:23
Having attended the Collegians vs Old Scotch game on saturday, it appears that Collegians have the best looking forward line in the VAFA.
Dixon was showing no signs of his reported gooch tear.
Does Magnum PI know a girl called "Fierce"?
I hear that Snake bloke has a sleeping problem.
mark zanotti
11th April 2005, 19:14
can anyone explain what a gooch is?
Of latin origin,the Oxford dictionary defines the Gooch as ' the area between ones anus and ball bag'
Does that help you out
SonOfScray
11th April 2005, 20:13
Which club are you from?
Started at NOBS last year.
ben.carbonaro
11th April 2005, 20:15
Well, I have moved onto a VFL club for stats work.
Is that what you mean ?
The Big Pineapple
12th April 2005, 09:29
Very short odds Top Gun...
The Big Pineapple
12th April 2005, 09:30
Having attended the Collegians vs Old Scotch game on saturday, it appears that Collegians have the best looking forward line in the VAFA.
Dixon was showing no signs of his reported gooch tear.
Does Magnum PI know a girl called "Fierce"?
I hear that Snake bloke has a sleeping problem.
It also appears they have the most raging forward line in the VAFA!
The Slitherin' Snake
12th April 2005, 10:18
Of latin origin,the Oxford dictionary defines the Gooch as ' the area between ones anus and ball bag'
Does that help you out
Thanks Zanotti, I can only imagine the pain of tearing a gooch. What sort of work would a Physio do to help mend a gooch injury?
The Slitherin' Snake
12th April 2005, 10:19
Started at NOBS last year.
You must know Alphonse then. Ask around at training to see if anyone answers to the name of Alphonse
Magnum PI
12th April 2005, 11:03
You must know Alphonse then. Ask around at training to see if anyone answers to the name of Alphonse
How are NOBS looking this year?
Is Alphonse in the 1's yet?
How many goals will SMC kick this year?
topgun 18
12th April 2005, 13:32
Is that a carrear move?? Do u do footy stats for a living??? VFL stats!! Look out!!!
diamond8
12th April 2005, 13:57
The Slitherin' Snake
12th April 2005, 14:39
I think you've all got it wrong with "The Gooch"
From memory "The Gooch" was the villainous character that had numerous run-ins with the diminutive Arnold in the quality 70's and 80's sitcom "Different Strokes"
Now the world don't move to the beat of just one drum.....
Whatchoo talkin' 'bout, Willis?
mark zanotti
12th April 2005, 15:32
I think you've all got it wrong with "The Gooch"
From memory "The Gooch" was the villainous character that had numerous run-ins with the diminutive Arnold in the quality 70's and 80's sitcom "Different Strokes"
Now the world don't move to the beat of just one drum.....
now do you really think the Oxford dictionary would lie you clown.
mark zanotti
12th April 2005, 15:34
Thanks Zanotti, I can only imagine the pain of tearing a gooch. What sort of work would a Physio do to help mend a gooch injury?
Not sure what sort of physio- ask the collegians boys, they specialise gooch rehabilitation.
Eddie Woloschek
12th April 2005, 15:43
Boys here is the lastest odd courtesy of Sportsbet.
05 B Grade Premiership Market
Old Ivanhoe $3.00
OEG $3.00
Whitefriars $3.50
DLS $4.00
St Bedes $8.00
MSOB $15
Old Brighton $17
Nobs $25
Mazenod $40
Caulfield $50
You're joking.
The Slitherin' Snake
12th April 2005, 15:44
Not sure what sort of physio- ask the collegians boys, they specialise gooch rehabilitation.
do they use the Gray st clinic?
topgun 18
12th April 2005, 15:45
Anyone seen Old Brighton play this yr?? How have they gone in practise games?? Have they recruited well??
The Slitherin' Snake
12th April 2005, 15:46
You're joking.
I agree... terrible odds TopGun, what are your thoughts as to the contenders for teh flag this year Eddie?
Scott MacFlaherty
12th April 2005, 15:54
Anyone seen Old Brighton play this yr?? How have they gone in practise games?? Have they recruited well??
I was speaking to a mate who plays at Brighton and he was saying they are confident against Old Essendon in round 1. Apparently Essendon have lost their gun CHF, and they dont rate the other big men likely to fill that void. Funnily enough a few Brighton players think that the weakness to Essendon is a guy called Flaherty
Eddie Woloschek
12th April 2005, 15:55
I agree... terrible odds TopGun, what are your thoughts as to the contenders for teh flag this year Eddie?
Wouldn't know about B Grade and neither would Sportsbet - i'm sure they are not fielding the VAFA 2nd Div!
Haven't heard too much from practice games in a Section, but if you take St Bernards and Xavs each way every year, you would have had a good decade.
The Big Pineapple
12th April 2005, 16:07
do they use the Gray st clinic?
Yes they do... ask for a physio by the name of Tracy and she will treat your gooch for $40!
diamond8
12th April 2005, 16:31
The Big Pineapple
12th April 2005, 16:33
I also heard that Essendon Grammar lost their CHF.
A couple of guys I know who play down there reckon that he went missing in big games and he was petty soft.
What have you heard?
The CHF wasn't as soft as thier FB... talk about going missing in big games!
mark zanotti
12th April 2005, 16:33
Yes they do... ask for a physio by the name of Tracy and she will treat your gooch for $40!
tracy??? thats my mums name.....and she is a physio....
topgun 18
12th April 2005, 16:38
Ill give u the tip, if Old Brighton take this Flaherty bloke lightly, they don't know what they r in for. Big things r expected for Flaherty in 05!!
Scott MacFlaherty
12th April 2005, 16:42
I also heard that Essendon Grammar lost their CHF.
A couple of guys I know who play down there reckon that he went missing in big games and he was petty soft.
What have you heard?
they never said he was a hard nut, just that he will leave a hole that Flaherty might not able to fill
The Big Pineapple
12th April 2005, 16:43
tracy??? thats my mums name.....and she is a physio....
Brown hair and massive cans???
The Big Pineapple
12th April 2005, 16:45
Ill give u the tip, if Old Brighton take this Flaherty bloke lightly, they don't know what they r in for. Big things r expected for Flaherty in 05!!
Who expects these big things?
mark zanotti
12th April 2005, 16:47
Brown hair and massive cans???
yeh....
topgun 18
12th April 2005, 16:52
Just the word around the VAFA circles! I am suprised u haven't heard all they hype??
Magnum PI
12th April 2005, 16:54
Just the word around the VAFA circles! I am suprised u haven't heard all they hype??
I reckon you are this Flaherty bloke talking yourself up... how lame!
The OC
12th April 2005, 17:12
I think Old Essendon's major losses will be Dragolo and Oxnam. Can't afford to lose 2 of the few hard nuts in the team.
Also, the former captain has gone o/s and his fiancee will be missed dearly from the sideline eye candy.
The OC
12th April 2005, 17:31
I hear blood nut and repeat plumper offender Chops Campbell is primed for a big season at Old Essendon.
I also hear that Parker has retired to become a triathlete travelling on the onelove circuit...??
mark zanotti
12th April 2005, 20:05
I think Old Essendon's major losses will be Dragolo and Oxnam. Can't afford to lose 2 of the few hard nuts in the team.
Also, the former captain has gone o/s and his fiancee will be missed dearly from the sideline eye candy.
i think i can speak for all in saying we will all miss the recently departed CHF mother serving dinners on the thurs nights..... now thats eye candy
ben.carbonaro
12th April 2005, 20:18
Is that a carrear move?? Do u do footy stats for a living??? VFL stats!! Look out!!!
Nah, I only do it part time.
However, it would be good if any statistician at either AFL or VFL level could make it a full time form of employment.
Magnum PI
12th April 2005, 20:34
I think Old Essendon will thrive on having more room in the forward line now that Herro's massive nose will not be taking up space there anymore...
Dragolo and Oxnam have been replaced by hard nuts Hand and Ward...
The OC
12th April 2005, 21:49
I think Old Essendon will thrive on having more room in the forward line now that Herro's massive nose will not be taking up space there anymore...
Dragolo and Oxnam have been replaced by hard nuts Hand and Ward...
But are they the hard nuts that will win you close games and be the first blokes in to defend their team mates in a brawl? I think not.
I hear Heritage's nose has been replaced by Danny Ryan's self proclaimed massive chest.
Anyhow, how will any team in B Grade shape up to the Old Essendon boys, I think St.Kevins will vouch for that...... Something about "sleeping with the light on", to quote a famous snowdog.
Are there any updates on Duggan's gooch?
Magnum PI
13th April 2005, 08:41
But are they the hard nuts that will win you close games and be the first blokes in to defend their team mates in a brawl? I think not.
I hear Heritage's nose has been replaced by Danny Ryan's self proclaimed massive chest.
Anyhow, how will any team in B Grade shape up to the Old Essendon boys, I think St.Kevins will vouch for that...... Something about "sleeping with the light on", to quote a famous snowdog.
Are there any updates on Duggan's gooch?
Tim Duggan's gooch is on the mend but he isn't expected to play until round 5...
The forward line space left vacant by Herro's nose has quickly been filled by Flaherty's ego...
And any comment on the Old Essendon/St Kevin's saga will have to wait until after the court case because OEG have been placed on a media ban.
topgun 18
13th April 2005, 09:06
Flaherty's ego!! Common Magnum we all know A Parker has the biggest ego at OEG!!
Magnum PI
13th April 2005, 09:35
Flaherty's ego!! Common Magnum we all know A Parker has the biggest ego at OEG!!
Exhibit A
"Ill give u the tip, if Old Brighton take this Flaherty bloke lightly, they don't know what they r in for. Big things r expected for Flaherty in 05!!"
From TopGun 18 (AKA Daniel Flaherty)
The OC
13th April 2005, 09:39
Parker's ego is large, not quite sure why!
Work on your spelling TopGun.
Good to hear about poor Tim Duggan's gooch, hasn't been the same since he became impaled on the member of a former Old Essendon U/19 coach on a recent USA/Europe junket.
Will Skurrie play 1's this week????
Magnum PI
13th April 2005, 09:43
Duggan's gooch injury is actually dance floor related from a pre season trip to Byron Bay!
The OC
13th April 2005, 09:45
Please answer....
Magnum PI
13th April 2005, 09:53
Please answer....
Only time will tell...
The Slitherin' Snake
13th April 2005, 12:09
Please answer....
What did you think of what was effectively a trade between Old Essendon and Collegians, involving Heritage and Skurrie?
In my opinion Old Essendon clearly got the better end of the deal. I think Collegians may have landed themselves a washed-up, wannabe surfer and not much else
The Big Pineapple
13th April 2005, 12:13
What did you think of what was effectively a trade between Old Essendon and Collegians, involving Heritage and Skurrie?
In my opinion Old Essendon clearly got the better end of the deal. I think Collegians may have landed themselves a washed-up, wannabe surfer and not much else
"Washed up" implies that he was once good... this is not the case!
Butch McHutcheon
13th April 2005, 12:59
A mate of mine reckons that his mate Reiffel got a game in the 1s and he played U18 2s last year. Is B Grade Ammo's really that bad?
diamond8
13th April 2005, 13:10
Jono Dixon
13th April 2005, 13:15
I know a guy who lives with the friend of this bloke who buys his cigarettes from a lady who has a brother that works at the same place that the uncle of a colleague of mine works at. This colleague knows someone on the coaching panel at OEG and he categorically confirms that player Reiffel will not be lining up in the Seniors this week.
Good luck to young Ryan Heritage & Seth Dixon from the OC next week. I hear they're an awesome combination.
That's right... that's why we are in A grade!
The OC
13th April 2005, 14:02
That's right... that's why we are in A grade!
Jono, you speak a lot of sense my good man.
I think Ryan and Seth is complementary to Heritage and Dixon. They have both slayed some awesome birds and have movie star looks, better insults please.
The OC
13th April 2005, 14:06
Skurrie has had a massive preseason, this will hold him in good stead. He looked very fit during the recent BRW triathlon.
Magnum PI
13th April 2005, 14:09
Jono, you speak a lot of sense my good man.
I think Ryan and Seth is complementary to Heritage and Dixon. They have both slayed some awesome birds and have movie star looks, better insults please.
All I can remember is that plumper with the knee brace???
diamond8
13th April 2005, 14:09
The Slitherin' Snake
13th April 2005, 14:43
A mate of mine reckons that his mate Reiffel got a game in the 1s and he played U18 2s last year. Is B Grade Ammo's really that bad?
I think he will nicely fill that hole that Legudi has left
The OC
13th April 2005, 14:48
Legudi is an interesting character. His alter ego has been out in recent times.
Butch McHutcheon
13th April 2005, 15:33
Is Gordon Lloyd a chance to debut Rd 1? Apparently he knocked back a solid offer from Old Carey who are searching for a CHF
The OC
13th April 2005, 15:41
Big Pineapple, you have gone missing.
I hear that Pineapples going missing is not uncommon in some circles.
The Big Pineapple
13th April 2005, 16:09
Big Pineapple, you have gone missing.
I hear that Pineapples going missing is not uncommon in some circles.
I'm still here... but I do go missing from time to time!
The Big Pineapple
13th April 2005, 16:11
With his large rear end, it's a massive hole to fill!
Scott MacFlaherty
13th April 2005, 16:20
Is Gordon Lloyd a chance to debut Rd 1? Apparently he knocked back a solid offer from Old Carey who are searching for a CHF
I'm from Old Carey and one thing we do need is a good CHF. Can you shed a bit more light on this Lloyd for me
topgun 18
13th April 2005, 16:20
Big Pinapple just wondering which Vafa team u played for??
The Big Pineapple
13th April 2005, 16:28
Big Pinapple just wondering which Vafa team u played for??
I don't play anymore...
I'm the senior runner for Syndal Tally Ho in D3.
What about you TopGun?
topgun 18
13th April 2005, 16:34
U sure u aren't an on baller for OEG??
The Big Pineapple
13th April 2005, 16:36
U sure u aren't an on baller for OEG??
Not unless I can be in 2 places at once come 2pm Saturday!
Butch McHutcheon
13th April 2005, 16:38
I'm from Old Carey and one thing we do need is a good CHF. Can you shed a bit more light on this Lloyd for me
Moves like a Duck, kicks like Jason Daniels, built like gumby and plays like a fairy. So yeah, should fit in very nicely at Old Carey.
topgun 18
13th April 2005, 16:40
I just spoke to Jonny Wu from Sydnal Tally Ho a good mate of mine. He reckons they don't have a runner down there! Reckons u r full of sh*t! U aren't telling porlies are u Pineapple??