View Full Version : Tasmanian Football Results (April 9th/10th)

Kingpin
9th April 2005, 17:58
Victorian Football League
Geelong 22.9.141 - TFC Devils 21.13.139 Att: 4528 at North Hobart Oval

TAC Cup
Tassie Mariners 17.10.112 - Bendigo 12.12.84 at North Hobart Oval

AFLST Premier League
New Norfolk 23.15.153 - Clarence 16.12.108 at Bellerive Oval
Glenorchy 19.13.127 - Kingborough 13.9.87 at KGV Park
North Hobart 14.16.100 - Hobart Lions 13.13.91 at TCA Ground
Lauderdale 21.21.147 - Brighton 6.6.42 at Pontville Oval

AFLST Regional League
Cygnet 18.8.116 - Kermandie 17.9.111 at Geeveston Oval
Huonville Lions 16.15.111 - Claremont 5.11.41 at Abbostfield Park
Lindisfarne 17.12.114 - Channel 10.12.72 at Snug Park
Dodges Ferry 19.9.123 - Sorell 12.6.78 at Pembroke Park

Old Scholars Football Association
St Virgils 19.20.134 - OHA 10.14.74 at New Town Oval
Hutchins 13.14.92 - Friends' 7.12.54 at Queenborough Oval
DOSA 17.15.117 - Richmond 4.16.40 at Dominic Oval

Oatlands District Football Association
Bothwell 16.10.106 - Triabunna 11.3.69 at Bothwell Oval
Mt Pleasant 22.12.144 - Swansea 8.9.57 at Swansea Rec. Ground

Northern Tasmanian Football League
Burnie 19.15.129 - South Launceston 10.6.66 at Youngtown Oval
Latrobe 27.14.176 - East Devonport 13.13.91at Latrobe Rec. Ground
Launceston 14.16.100 - Smithton 5.6.36 at Smithton Football Ground
Wynyard 16.11.107 - Ulverstone 12.14.86 at Wynyard Oval
North Launceston 34.19.223 - Penguin 6.10.46 at Aurora Stadium

Northern Tasmanian Football Association - Division One
Deloraine 15.19.109 - Hillwood 14.11.95
Scottsdale 16.17.113 - Bridgenorth 12.10.82
George Town 30.14.194 - Bracknell 5.8.38
Rocherlea 14.17.101 - Longford 9.8.62

Northern Tasmanian Football Association - Division Two
Fingal 35.8.218 - Tamar Cats 7.0.42
Perth 15.13.103 - St Patricks 12.7.79
University/Mowbray 20.16.136 - Evandale 9.10.64
Campbell Town 25.14.164 - Old Launcestonians 4.4.28

North East Football Union
Branxholm 24.25.169 - Lilydale 12.10.82
Winnaleah 27.17.179 - Ringarooma 10.8.68
Bridport 12.21.93 - St Helens 9.5.59

Kingpin
9th April 2005, 19:41
Interesting day's play on a very warm afternoon.
We called into Pembroke Park and saw the second quarter of the Sorell - Dodges Ferry local derby, which Dodges led by 2 points at the long break when we left (8.3 to 7.7). There was a very large crowd down there as well.

Also sat in the car in the back carpark of the TCA Ground (cottage end) and looked through the fence at the Lions - North Hobart match.
At three quarter time the Dees led by a couple of points, but kicked away a little in the early stages of the last quarter, but Hobart looked to have got back a little in the end with North winning. When we drove off it was North 13.13.91 - Lions 11.9.75
Not a large crowd up there, in fact, just looking through the binoculars at the Main Stand most of the people sitting in the Hobart supporters section were Reserves & Colts players, with the rest being parents/partners of players. Not many supporters. Bar area was pretty empty as were the rest of the stands.
Saw the clique standing on the mound beside the Burn Gate, all looking pleased with themselves.
I went and had a look for myself at Hobart. I'm not enamoured with the new uniform and colours at all, it means nothing to me, I won't be following it again.

The Eagles gave last years Premiers Clarence a big touch-up at Bellerive of all places, that would be one of New Norfolk's biggest wins there for decades.
The Magpies put all thier off season troubles behind them and gave the Windmills a trouncing at Football Park, and Brighton..........well.........they're just being Brighton, Bombers pumping them by over a hundred.

Cygnet and Kermandie looks to have been an awesome game, and the Two Blues stay 2nd - amazing stuff.
Huonville doing it easily over the Mont to continue thier good start as well.
Caught the last 15 mins or so of the Devils game on telly as well, that was an excellent game from what I saw, with just under 5000 there.

WCL
9th April 2005, 20:48
Looked to be a fairly good round of footy, good to see my mighty Geelong Cats get up over the Devils, makes up for last night :mad:

Good to see the Eagles give the Roos a pounding, and the Mighty Glenorchy Magpies scored a solid win against the odds. Lauderdale won a game they would of been expected to win and the Dees got one on the board early. When you look at 5,000 going to the Devils at North Hobart and nearly 4,000 in total attendance to the 2nd round of the NTFL then they really arn't that far in front and Local footy is still fighting pretty hard. We can't give up we must defy the odds and win.

Megan
9th April 2005, 22:05
Damnit who do I have to sleep with to get the NEFU results around here?

(shouldn't say that as I was up until very recently seeing the vice pres. of the NEFU :D )

Kingpin
9th April 2005, 23:15
;) hehehehehe :D

Actually I get the results off of ABC-Radio in Hobart on thier 5pm roundup Megan, the rest I get out of the Sunday Tasmanian down here.
If you get the Lonnie Examiner you might wanna post them up here for us, as the ST doesn't usually report them. Last year I was getting them from Timelord's site (an ex-poster on here) but he hasn't updated them this year. :)

maccas_no1
9th April 2005, 23:17
North Launceston 34.19.223 - Penguin 6.10.46 [COLOR=Blue]at Aurora Stadium

And there is the whooping of the w/e right there folks :eek:

Kingpin
9th April 2005, 23:19
And there is the whooping of the w/e right there folks :eek:
Yeah, poor ol' Penguin, they were alright in the first round but have copped two absolute floggings in a row now. 220-points last week and 183-points today :eek:

maccas_no1
9th April 2005, 23:19

(shouldn't say that as I was up until very recently seeing the vice pres. of the NEFU :D )

Naughty, Naughty Megan :p

sherb
9th April 2005, 23:22

I am in Sydney, so I am of little use to you. ;)

I am trying to remember who would be in the NEFU - Branxholm, Ringarooma, Winnaleah......thinking, thinking.......Lilydale maybe, hmmm that is about all I can remember.

Thanks for the scores again Tigers 1945 (can I call you Guv? :D ). Now, if only you could get the Darwin association scores there that would be the bees' knees!

Kingpin
9th April 2005, 23:29
Thanks for the scores again Tigers 1945 (can I call you Guv? ). Now, if only you could get the Darwin association scores there that would be the bees' knees!
Yeah mate you can call me Guv :cool:
I might grab a copy of the Lonnie Ex tommorrow sometime, and put them in :)
Timelord used to have them (and I used to pinch them ;) ) but he doesn't put them on now.

Kingpin
10th April 2005, 13:53
SFL Premier League Round-Up - Round 1

Clarence - New Norfolk at Bellerive Oval
New Norfolk: 2.5 - 9.6 - 17.9 - 23.15.153
Clarence: 5.1 - 9.4 - 13.6 - 16.12.108
Goals: (NN) M.Thompson 5, S.Salter 5, M.Smith 3, J.Britten 2, N.Barwick 2, A.Burdon 2, D.Maddox 1, B.Ackerley 1, B.Carver 1, J.Hodge 1.
Goals: (CL) J.Baker 3, B.Cato 2, A.McVilly 2, D.Archer 1, B.Ranger 1, S.Beechey 1, T.Whitelaw 1, J.Read 1, S.Tamlyn 1, T.Standen 1, S.McCallum 1, N.Leitch 1.
Reserves: New Norfolk 15.9.99 - Clarence 9.11.65
Under 19's: Clarence 10.9.69 - New Norfolk 4.10.34

Glenorchy - Kingborough at KGV Park
Glenorchy: 8.5 - 12.8 - 15-9 - 19.13.127
Kingborough: 1.2 - 4.4 - 9.8 - 13.9.87
Goals: (GL) Millhouse 9, Churchill 3, Bennetts 2, Moles 2, Newitt 1, Hunt 1, Foale 1.
Goals: (KI) Godden 4, Lamprill 2, Clark 1, Pestrucci 1, Philp 1, Steele 1, De Gooyer 1, Doran 1, Jones 1.
Reserves: Kingborough 13.10.88 - Glenorchy 9.11.65
Under 19's: Glenorchy 6.12.48 - Kingborough 4.10.34

Hobart Lions - North Hobart at TCA Ground
Nth Hobart: 3.7 - 6.11 - 11.12 - 14.16.100
Hobart Lions: 2.1 - 6.5 - 11.9 - 13.13.91
Goals: (NH) R.Devine 4, S.Cooper 2, J.Veitch 2, T.James 1, J. Smith 1, A.Palmer 1, J.McDonald 1, K.Heazlewood 1, A.Cox 1.
Goals: (HB) S.Youd 3, B.Dickson 2, J.Mason 1, J.Nibbs 1, B.Davis 1, B.Dodge 1, J.Dykes 1, T.Nicholls 1, J.Di Ienno 1, A.Lemm 1.
Reserves: Hobart Lions 13.9.87 - North Hobart 9.9.63
Under 19's: Hobart Lions 18.9.117 - North Hobart 3.4.22

Brighton - Lauderdale at Pontville Oval
Lauderdale: 5.1 - 9.6 - 13.14 - 21.21.147
Brighton: 1.2 - 3.2 - 6.5 - 6.6.42
Goals: (LA) B.Stewart 6, S.Allen 4, J.Marriot 3, P.Hudson 2, N.Grubb 1, C.Mayne 1, G.Frankcombe 1, S.Viney 1, D.Mead 1, N.Wright 1.
Goals: (BR) G.Splann 3, D.Smith 3.
Reserves: Brighton 10.5.65 - Lauderdale 8.12.60
Under 19's: No match.

Regional League - Tonight.

WCL
10th April 2005, 17:08
Big Millhouse had a day out for the pies. Were any of the crowds decent or were they all under 500. I really hope we can have a big season this year, as the league really needs to get in gear.

Blues_Man
10th April 2005, 17:14

I can post the nefu results for you Megan ...do you snore ??? :eek:

Blues_Man
10th April 2005, 17:21
just for you Mandy

NEFU
Branxholm 24.25 (169) D Lilydale 12.10 (82)
Winnaleah 27.17 (179) D Ringarooma 10.8 (68)
Bridport 12.21 (93) D St Helens 9.5 (59)

If you want goalkickers and best players ..plus reserves scores then that may involve breakfast in bed ;)

Megan
10th April 2005, 23:07
Orright party people...

Something to note from the seconds in the NEFU - Winnaleah 37.15 237 d Ringarooma 0.0.0 <- THAT is the flogging of the weekend boys and girls.

Furthermore they had Ringarooma - best - team effort. Should've been Water boy :eek:

Blue_man, kind of you to offer but I found out from the paper before I read it on here, sorreeeeee :cool:

I shall endeavour to post the scores up here every Sunday or Monday where I can!

Kingpin
11th April 2005, 06:16
The Sunday Tasmanian - 10th April 2005 - New Norfolk gets revenge but at price

By David Stockdale.
New Norfolk yesterday avenged last year's SFL Premier League grand final loss to Clarence at Bellerive - but it came at a heavy price.
Three of its players were reported for striking - two of them after an ugly boundary-side brawl involving more than 25 players.
First to go was playing coach Matthew Smith for striking Jarrod Read in the opening quarter.
Just before the half-time siren Gavin Hanlon was reported twice for striking Ben Cato and Shane Bonnitcha for striking Scott McCallum.
Fists flew willy-nilly and such was the ferocity of the the brawl it nearly spilled over the fence, where New Norfolk and Clarence fans traded abuse.
But while New Norfolk came out second best in those battles, it comprehensively won the war.
And it was the Eagles' big-man power led by Brad Carver that provided the artillery for their 45-point demolition of the reigning premier, 23.15 (153) to 16.12 (108).
Carver showed he has versatility as well as strength, switch-hitting between centre half-back, the ruck and centre half-forward in a best-afield performance.
Despite being booked, Smith could still crack it for a smile.
"What Clarence said after last year's grand final about us carrying too much weight really sank in and we came here today determined to show them what a good side we are and that we're still up there with the best of them," he said.
"And our Mt Pleasant recruit Nathan Barwick played really well on debut and kicked a couple of goals.''
Nor did the young Roos have any answer to the strong, mature bodies of Michael Thompson and Sean Salter, who each kicked five goals, while Brock Ackerley was a winner around the packs.
Rival coach Nick Davey said the youth of his Roos, average age 21, had counted against them.
Hayden Thorp and Joel Doyle were lively and Daniel Archer a handy forward with three goals.
* Despite its heavy loss of players, Glenorchy showed it won't be a pushover with a 19.13 (127) to 13.15 (93) win over Kingborough at KGV.
The Magpies got off to a roaring 8.5 to 1.2 start and the star of the show was big forward Dean Millhouse, who kicked nine goals.
* North Hobart showed no fear of the new-look Hobart Lions at the TCA Ground by holding on for a thrilling nine-point win, 14.16 (100) to 13.13 (91).
Axed Devil Kurt Heazlewood returned to form and Robbie Devine snagged four goals.
As expected, Lauderdale made short work of Brighton at Pontville, recruit Ben Stewart leading the way with six goals in a 21.21 (147) to 6.6 (42) romp.

Kingpin
11th April 2005, 06:19
The Sunday Tasmanian - 10th April 2005 - Kermandie just gives Cygnet too big a start

By Brett Stubbs.
In round one it was the first quarter which cost Kermandie, yesterday it was the second but the result remains the same and the highly fancied Robins are now winless after two weeks.
Hosting arch-rival Cygnet, fast-finishing Kermandie gave too big a lead to the three-time regional premier and fell frustratingly short, 18.8 (116) to 17.9 (111).
Kermandie got the start it wanted, kicking the first goal of the second term to have a 13-point lead, but then the Cygnet machine kicked into gear and the Robins went missing.
In an incredible 10 minutes of football of the highest calibre, the Port slammed on nine unanswered goals and eventually went to the half-time break six goals in front.
From there, the Robins fought desperately to get back into the game, kicking seven goals in the last quarter to three but the damage done in the second term was too great.
Kermandie coach Adam Henley said it was clearly a mental problem.
"We hit them hard early, we were as hard and as competitive as them,'' Henley said.
"We just thought it would happen again rather than really striving to keep that work rate up.
"We dropped back a gear and to their credit they ran over us in the middle.''
While happy with the win, Cygnet coach Anthony Cole said he was feeling extremely nervous as the Robins stormed home.
"I tried to get a guy loose in the back half a kick behind the ball and hopefully try to save it,'' Cole said.
"I think the boys with their will to win probably just did enough to get us over the line.''
Kermandie fullback Darren Johns kept Cygnet dual century goalkicker Michael Darcy scoreless in the perfect conditions, while the Robins' Charles Mills kicked four last-quarter goals to lead the fightback.
For the Port, no one was better than nuggety centreman Damien Dillon.
He was the prominent midfielder all day and had great assistance from Grant Clark, while Damien Clark and Daniel Walter chimed in with four goals each.
Lindisfarne only won two matches in the past two seasons but already has equalled this tally to be undefeated after round two.
The Blues built a match-winning seven-goal lead in the first half, eventually winning by the same margin against a disappointing Channel at Snug Park.
Leigh Proud kicked six goals for Lindisfarne while Todd Willing was best on ground.
Claremont jumped Huonville early at Abbotsfield Park to lead by 11 points at quarter-time, but from then on it was all the Lions as they won by 70 points.
Huonville restricted the Magpies to just two more goals for the rest of the game while adding 15 of its own in its solid win.
To make it a perfect round for last week's winners, Dodges Ferry also overcame a slow start to easily defeat Sorell by 55 points at Pembroke Park.
The win leaves four teams - Cygnet, Dodges Ferry, Huonville and Lindisfarne - with two wins from two games, while the remaining four sides - Kermandie, Channel, Claremont and Sorell - are all winless.

Kingpin
11th April 2005, 07:13
Orright party people...

Something to note from the seconds in the NEFU - Winnaleah 37.15 237 d Ringarooma 0.0.0 <- THAT is the flogging of the weekend boys and girls.
Furthermore they had Ringarooma - best - team effort. Should've been Water boy
Hehehe I remember a Kermandie - Hobart colts game at Geeveston about 5 years ago where Hobart won 36.12.228 - 0.0.0.
In the paper during the week they had the reserves and colts scores and best players and goal kickers, and they named in alphabetical order the first six Kermandie colts players out of the program to fill out the best players for Kermandie.
Trouble was about three of those never even played according to a few of our colts boys at training that night, and at least one had not even played that year :D

I shall endeavour to post the scores up here every Sunday or Monday where I can!

Cheers Megan - Luv ya work :cool:

WCL
11th April 2005, 09:40
Apparently there was a crowd of around 450 at the North Hobart V Hobart Game, not bad considering there was a devils game on at the same time.

wattsy
11th April 2005, 16:43
I would take that 450 attendence as a grain of salt unless some one is prepared to post how much cash was taken at the gate is a true indication of paying patrons.
That 450 would include players all three grades 132 and blow ins.
Is it a reasonable request that football tasmania release all attendances and gate takings to be printed in the press so every body can see for them selves how things are going after all what has any body got to hide.

The Doctor '73
11th April 2005, 21:12
Great to see Lindisfarne off to such a good start to the season with two wins from two games. Does anybody know the last time the two Blues were last in the finals? I know that they haven't been in one at lease since 1998.

Whilst is still very early in the season and they haven't been tested at all yet this a great sign for a club that wanted to drop out and join the Old Scholars Comp in the off season.

Barge
11th April 2005, 22:47
Lindisfarne haven't been in the finals since 1997 when the finished the roster series 3rd and then went out in straight sets.

Whilst they have indeed beaten Claremont and Channel pretty comprehensively, Cygnet, Kermandie and Dodges Ferry will be the games where we see if they're up to hanging with the Big Boys and if they're getting VALUE FOR THEIR MONEY (if you know what I mean - spending an absolute fortune!)

BoyerBoy
12th April 2005, 21:17
has to be the most amount of wins the Double Blues have had in the last four years, good to see the Eagles beat those damn maroon and white mongrels :D ..atleast we got them back for the grand final. Now all we have to do is go all the way and win it :)

Kingpin
14th April 2005, 14:00
http://home.iprimus.com.au/hutch05/round1_015fourOO.jpg
Hobart Lions hit the TCA Ground for the very first time.

http://home.iprimus.com.au/hutch05/vNH_Rnd1_seniors_02twoOO.jpg
Lions' Jamie Di Ienno takes a great mark above North's Robbie Devine.

http://home.iprimus.com.au/hutch05/vNH_Rnd1_seniors_030fourOO.jpg
Lions' Steven Willis goes into attack to the Cottage End.

Kingpin
14th April 2005, 14:01
http://home.iprimus.com.au/hutch05/vNH_Rnd1_seniors_18twoOO.jpg
Lions' Trent Nicholls takes a spectacular mark.

http://home.iprimus.com.au/hutch05/round1_008fourOO.jpg
Lions' Jay Nibbs kicks to the Smith Stand End.

bakerman
14th April 2005, 20:21
I think the jumper looks OK. I know it is not the Tigers but at least it looks professional.

BoyerBoy
14th April 2005, 20:24
Take away the white shorts, and it would be better.