View Full Version : Derek Murray

Santos L Helper
9 Sep 2001, 12:55
I've waited until the morning after to post this, so my anger didn't influence my writing and just turn this into a tirade.

Derek Murray must be traded as he is a weak link within our team. I will agree that he has some skill and is quick on his feet, but his size and lack of skill for his size are a hindrance to the team.
I've had enough of watching players come streaming out of defence and try to kick it to Murray on the lead, just to see him pushed off the ball like a little kid. Because of his size, if you don't hit Murray on the chest with the kick he has no chance of taking it. If the ball is slightly over chest height, opposition players have no trouble spoiling him and if the kick makes him have to balk in his lead then he's just bumped out of the contest and he has absolutely no overhead skills anyway.
I've also grown tired of him seemingly having no idea about team plans. Last night when we needed a goal in the third quater and Flash is running into a virtual open goal, who should he have to get around at the crucial moment just before settling?......Derek Murray. Flash gets caught from behind as a golden opportunity is missed. This is not the first time it's happened as I vividly remember him standing in Scott Bassett's way, looking like a startled rabbitt, against WC earlier in the year too.
This guy is just too small and dosen't have the extremely high skill level needed to compensate for his lack of size. Some have said to me that he will be ok in a couple of years, well I think that's just fine, but it should be at another team.
There, I got through that without losing my temper, although it is starting to rise as I write this, and just being abusive about him.

Aaarrgh........I can't do it!! He's bloody useless, please get rid of him before I kill someone!!

blackdiamond
9 Sep 2001, 16:23
I will have to agree with your thoughts on Derek Murray

The only problem I see is that because he is actually playing senior finals football there is no doubt he will be on our list next year unless he is traded. However I can't see a club wanting to pick him up.

What I find most disappointing is his goal kicking. Since his first game in 1999 he has only managed 7 goals and only 1 this year and when he has a set shot right in front he never looks like kicking it. He seems to fair alright at South Adelaide but he has trouble stepping up to the big league.

He had a pretty good game against West Coast when on Ben Cousins in Round 22 because Cousins took him to the ball. Mark Williams might of thought his good form this effort warranted a go against Brisbane but what was forgotten was West Coast's lack of pressure as a team through middle can't be measured against that of Brisbane.

For me I think Kane Cornes should have been recalled, he can play through the middle and at either end of the ground and is tough.

If we do keep Derek lets hope he puts on a bit of muscle, comes back looking like Fabian Francis and gets rid of those jitters in front of goals.

Macca19
9 Sep 2001, 19:55
I dunno about that Santos. He is a bit too small for AFL footy but i do think he has plenty of skill. His form at South warrants a game at AFL, same as how Lyles form warranted a recall.

His brother Allan looks the goods as he looks a bit like Dean Rioli without the massive stomach. I think we should keep Derek. One last year, but him on a weights program similar to what Tredrea was on back in 98 which saw him bulk up. I dont think you can single him out because of last night - as there was about 7-8 other players who played just as bad as Derek.

Santos L Helper
9 Sep 2001, 20:10
Macca, I'm not singling him out because of last night, I'm pointing out that in every game he's played I think he's a massive liability. A weights program won't help him, it will just slow him down.....trust me, I know these things. ;)

SANFL form should not mean instant selection. There are some guys who should never play AFL, namely LYLE and MURRAY.

Macca19
10 Sep 2001, 00:22
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Macca, I'm not singling him out because of last night, I'm pointing out that in every game he's played I think he's a massive liability. A weights program won't help him, it will just slow him down.....trust me, I know these things. ;)

SANFL form should not mean instant selection. There are some guys who should never play AFL, namely LYLE and MURRAY.

true, he isnt our best player...but if you play well in the SANFL and are best player for 4-5 weeks in a row then you just have to get a call up. I think he will be given another year, just because of the brother factor

Tredders#16
11 Oct 2001, 14:29
I can't see Derek Murray being delisted this year, because, as u said Macca, of the brother factor. I think if Port were to get rid of D.Murray this year, then it would almost certainly see the end of brother Allan in the near future. I say give him another year, let him bulk up, and give him some screw-in studs on his boots- have u ever seen anyone fall over as much in a game of footy as Derek? It's frustrating! He needs to sharpen up in front of goal with the set-shot also. Worth keeping though.
Tredders#16

Santos L Helper
11 Oct 2001, 15:24
Originally posted by Tredders#16
I can't see Derek Murray being delisted this year, because, as u said Macca, of the brother factor. I think if Port were to get rid of D.Murray this year, then it would almost certainly see the end of brother Allan in the near future. I say give him another year, let him bulk up, and give him some screw-in studs on his boots- have u ever seen anyone fall over as much in a game of footy as Derek? It's frustrating! He needs to sharpen up in front of goal with the set-shot also. Worth keeping though.
Tredders#16

A rover who can't keep his feet or kick straight. Give it up Tredders we need to get rid of him now!

Porthos
11 Oct 2001, 18:27
I reckon if Murray was played in the forward pocket, instead of in midfield, he'd do a lot better.

Eago77
11 Oct 2001, 22:52
Poor old Derek, sure he can't kick for goal (his field kicking isn't that bad!), he falls down a lot without being drunk and he is small. But i think he will stay (mainly because of bro Allan) and also because he does add something to our forward line (no not confusion) but chasing and generally making it harder for teams to rebound as easily, his tackling is first rate and well he may improve!
Yes, would somebody get him som Screw-ins PLEASE!!

Modem_muncher_PAFC
12 Oct 2001, 13:45
Hey guys, I know Derek and my mate is good friends with him and I've seen him perform at his best and frankly, you're right, he isn't doing that, but give him a chance. He's only young and his best will come out over time.
MODEM.

Porthos
12 Oct 2001, 21:22
he's 21, isn't he? 3 years on the list already, makes him a pretty late youngster to be ready...

Tredders#16
13 Oct 2001, 15:21
Ahh, if only everyone that showed promise actually delivered then every team would be unbelievable. Derek shows PROMISE, but at this stage has not delivered. I agree that he can become a good player in the AFL, but his opportunities have not been taken, and must be considered for delisting. However, as said in earlier posts, I believe he'll stay due to the brother thing.
Interesting thing - promise, sort of goes along with potential.