View Full Version : Elliot - thanks for nothing

nicho_magic
15 Apr 2005, 18:57
I feel very strongly about this, as i think mathew elliot moving to S.A. is an absolute disgrace to victorian cricket. Mathew Elliot is good at cricket due to cricket victoria and its pathway cricket program. He started in the Dowling shield (U-16 rep cricket) and has gone from there. Cricket Victoria have helped him get to where he is and have put plenty of cash and time into Elliot. Why he would want to move to a state that won't do anything in the next 10 years, against popular theory, i don't know. Mathew Elliot you ungratefull prick how about you have some respect for cricket victoria, and play for the state that has helped you get to where you are today instead of dropping them like they did nothing for you.

DaveW
15 Apr 2005, 19:17
Elliott has given as much if not more to Victoria - you know like a Sheffield Shield for instance - than Victoria has given him.

Incidentally I hope you hold yourself to the same standards you expect of cricketers. Your location says you're in Saudi Arabia. That wouldn't by any chance be for financial reasons?

edit: Forget that last para, I've since discovered you're a fraud.

silky-smooth
15 Apr 2005, 19:21
Hey nicho, why don't you appreciate what Elliott has done for Victorian Cricket, rather than bagging him.

nicho_magic
15 Apr 2005, 19:27
Hey nicho, why don't you appreciate what Elliott has done for Victorian Cricket, rather than bagging him.
because he can offer so much more, and its a travesty that the place that brings him up and gets him to where he is now, just gets the cold shoulder. You are laughing because you gain a great player but you and nobody else deserve him.

silky-smooth
15 Apr 2005, 19:38
because he can offer so much more
You don't watch cricket much, do you? He's past his peak already. I doubt he'll get any better.

and its a travesty that the place that brings him up and gets him to where he is now, just gets the cold shoulder.
Well that's life. How do you think I felt when Nick Stevens (Port Adelaide) went to Carlton? Port raised him for plenty of years, then bang - off to Carlton.

You are laughing because you gain a great player but you and nobody else deserve him.I'm not laughing. I'm happy that we've got him. "Deserving" doesn't even come into this argument because it isn't about deserving. He wanted to move away for whatever reasons (be it money or family reasons or whatever), but no team can be deserving of a player. A player can be deserving of himself and the team can benifit from him.

PowerKop
15 Apr 2005, 19:43
I feel very strongly about this, as i think mathew elliot moving to S.A. is an absolute disgrace to victorian cricket. Mathew Elliot is good at cricket due to cricket victoria and its pathway cricket program. He started in the Dowling shield (U-16 rep cricket) and has gone from there. Cricket Victoria have helped him get to where he is and have put plenty of cash and time into Elliot. Why he would want to move to a state that won't do anything in the next 10 years, against popular theory, i don't know. Mathew Elliot you ungratefull prick how about you have some respect for cricket victoria, and play for the state that has helped you get to where you are today instead of dropping them like they did nothing for you.
I know how you feel mate. At my cricket club, we have lost so many guns that have played Cricket for us since they were 10 / 11. It does get really frustrating, especially if they go to one of your main rivals, as Elliot has done.

Apart from that go and call the Waaaaaaaaaaaaaambulance! Go you Redbacks. Should have pretty competitive side next year.

nicho_magic
15 Apr 2005, 19:43
You don't watch cricket much, do you? He's past his peak already. I doubt he'll get any better.

Well that's life. How do you think I felt when Nick Stevens (Port Adelaide) went to Carlton? Port raised him for plenty of years, then bang - off to Carlton.

I'm not laughing. I'm happy that we've got him. "Deserving" doesn't even come into this argument because it isn't about deserving. He wanted to move away for whatever reasons (be it money or family reasons or whatever), but no team can be deserving of a player. A player can be deserving of himself and the team can benifit from him.
1) yes i don't watch much state cricket because i am playing allmost everytime, however i follow it very closely, and he might be still past his peak but he can still offer us a lot.
2)its nothing like football, you receive something in return for football. in cricket you receive nothing in return we get nothing for our work, where as you get something for the work you have put into him
3) ok i agree with you there

PowerKop
15 Apr 2005, 19:53
1) yes i don't watch much state cricket because i am playing allmost everytime, however i follow it very closely, and he might be still past his peak but he can still offer us a lot.
2)its nothing like football, you receive something in return for football. in cricket you receive nothing in return we get nothing for our work, where as you get something for the work you have put into him
3) ok i agree with you there
I agree with ya nicho. Victoria has lost a great player and got bugger all for him. Can't be compared to footy. Also it doesn't seem right that players can just move states. Its not like a club competition. This is STate cricket.

Anyone know if there is a salray cap for the Pur Cup?

just maybe
15 Apr 2005, 22:15

Er...Port got nothing in return for Stevens. He went in the Preseason Draft.

So yes, it can be exactly like football. You're just wrong.

dr nick
15 Apr 2005, 22:24
You are laughing because you gain a great player but you and nobody else deserve him.
I've heard it all now

YOTC
15 Apr 2005, 22:26
You are laughing because you gain a great player but you and nobody else deserve him.
If he is so great why isnt he in the Test team? :cool:

nicho_magic
15 Apr 2005, 23:57
Er...Port got nothing in return for Stevens. He went in the Preseason Draft.

So yes, it can be exactly like football. You're just wrong.
that was there decision tho, they could have got draft picks or at least something in return for stevens but they opted not to do that, so no it is nothing like footy.

nicho_magic
15 Apr 2005, 23:58
If he is so great why isnt he in the Test team? :cool:
moron. nothing needs to be said about this comment.

Unwritten_Law
16 Apr 2005, 00:42
You should be grateful.

We'll give you Cox, I can't believe he is playing on, he should have retired this year.

Donkey
16 Apr 2005, 01:25
[QUOTE=nicho_magic]Why he would want to move to a state that won't do anything in the next 10 years[QUOTE]

Is that some kind of a joke? I can't see any way they can be stopped from winning the Shield within the next half a decade with all the young talent they have at their disposal, and I reckon anyone who saw the Warriors-Redbacks game at the WACA in March would agree.

Donkey
16 Apr 2005, 01:28
I agree with ya nicho. Victoria has lost a great player and got bugger all for him. Can't be compared to footy. Also it doesn't seem right that players can just move states. Its not like a club competition. This is STate cricket.

Anyone know if there is a salray cap for the Pur Cup?

Pretty sure there is. Also, you can't "just move states" if you are contracted, which I can only assume Elliott is not. If they are contracted then the association has the option not to release the player. It's probably about time the Vics around here stopped complaining. There was no foul play involved, blame your own association for not doing enough to keep him if you have to blame someone.

silky-smooth
16 Apr 2005, 01:32
There was no foul play involved, blame your own association for not doing enough to keep him if you have to blame someone.
Dead bloody correct!

His contract finishes/has finished IIRC.

nicho_magic
16 Apr 2005, 12:57
Pretty sure there is. Also, you can't "just move states" if you are contracted, which I can only assume Elliott is not. If they are contracted then the association has the option not to release the player. It's probably about time the Vics around here stopped complaining. There was no foul play involved, blame your own association for not doing enough to keep him if you have to blame someone.yes but they had no idea he was leaving there were no negotiations he just left. its not like you say, i no they would have done everything in there power to keep him but they can't as he has made up his mind

ManWithNoName
16 Apr 2005, 13:00
Dead bloody correct!

It wasn't, he's asked for it to be cancelled.

*EDIT* Just checked, it finishes on June 30. I stand corrected.

silky-smooth
16 Apr 2005, 13:00
yes but they had no idea he was leaving there were no negotiations he just left. its not like you say, i no they would have done everything in there power to keep him but they can't as he has made up his mind
Cricket Victoria were well aware of his intentions a while ago. If they really wanted to keep him, why didn't CV cease the opportunity of others to snap him up and sign him a new contract - as they knew his contract was finishing mid-2005.

If CV wanted to keep him, they would of put up a bit more of a battle to keep him. As it is, they didn't and he is off to South Australia.

Bitching and moaning won't achieve anything.

- PC -
16 Apr 2005, 13:07
Soooo if Matthew Elliot played for SA and came to Victoria he would still be a dog in your eyes? Get some perspective. I was proud that shield cricket held out on transfers for so long, but now it seems to be open slather...loyalty has gone out of the window. I can accept that ..even if it means Darren lehmann went to Victoria..but that was ok wasnt it?

Please find a bucket if you want to spew and leave your sad parochialism there.

ManWithNoName
16 Apr 2005, 13:12
Soooo if Matthew Elliot played for SA and came to Victoria he would still be a dog in your eyes? Get some perspective. I was proud that shield cricket held out on transfers for so long, but now it seems to be open slather...loyalty has gone out of the window. I can accept that ..even if it means Darren lehmann went to Victoria..but that was ok wasnt it?

Please find a bucket if you want to spew and leave your sad parochialism there.
Boof hadn't been playing for SA for as long as Elliott had been playing for Victoria.

silky-smooth
16 Apr 2005, 13:13
Boof hadn't been playing for SA for as long as Elliott had been playing for Victoria.
So because he hadn't played as much, it didn't matter? Strange...

johnnyhoward
16 Apr 2005, 13:16
Dead bloody correct!

I thought he had an ACB contract.

ManWithNoName
16 Apr 2005, 13:54
Its like James Hird walking out on Essendon. No-one would care if a 2nd year player did because they hadn't been there as long as Jim Bob.

Turtleman3
16 Apr 2005, 14:54
Elliott has been a great player for Victoria. He has also had his issues, both personally and within the team.

YOTC
16 Apr 2005, 15:20
moron. nothing needs to be said about this comment.
Hurts don't it?

dA Crow
16 Apr 2005, 16:38
Sort of like Darren Lehmann and Paul Nobes?

Donkey
16 Apr 2005, 17:06
yes but they had no idea he was leaving there were no negotiations he just left. its not like you say, i no they would have done everything in there power to keep him but they can't as he has made up his mind

And you think that's a good enough reason to say "thanks for nothing"? Elliott is one of the greatest servants of Victorian cricket ever. Have you forgotten he led your otherwise pathetic excuse for a state team to the Sheffield Shield a season ago? (With some amount of help from Hodge and Lewis, but let's face it, not much else)

Some people here are very opinionated considering they know so little and obviously watch so little domestic cricket.

johnnyhoward
16 Apr 2005, 22:18
And you think that's a good enough reason to say "thanks for nothing"? Elliott is one of the greatest servants of Victorian cricket ever. Have you forgotten he led your otherwise pathetic excuse for a state team to the Sheffield Shield a season ago? (With some amount of help from Hodge and Lewis, but let's face it, not much else)
I wouldnt say that...Hodge, Lewis and Elliott were our only stars that year, and the only Test-standard players. But nearly every player contributed very well to our cause, and it was a true team effort like Geelong's season in 2004.

Even McDonald the hack got plenty of wickets that year, while Moss wasn't inconsistent and players like Arnberger being solid.

johnnyhoward
16 Apr 2005, 22:20
how would you feel if Byron Pickett or Matty Primus, legends at Port, left for your enemy Adelaide? You'd feel annoyed (obviously you'd get over it, like some people should do with Elliott on this board) but it wouldn't hurt as much if you got rid of someone like Shattock.

Bresh
17 Apr 2005, 00:06
how would you feel if Byron Pickett or Matty Primus, legends at Port, left for your enemy Adelaide?

If they wanted to go, why would you still want them? If you love them, set them free ;)

silky-smooth
17 Apr 2005, 00:13
how would you feel if Byron Pickett or Matty Primus, legends at Port, left for your enemy Adelaide? You'd feel annoyed (obviously you'd get over it, like some people should do with Elliott on this board) but it wouldn't hurt as much if you got rid of someone like Shattock.
Hey if Primus or Pickett left... simple - they leave! I'd feel gutted, but I wouldn't go around then bad-talking or making abusive remarks towards them. Definitely wouldn't act in a manner as some of the Victorian supporters have on this board towards Elliott.

It's called... building a bridge, and getting over it. Appreciate what he has done. Abusing him achieves nothing. Won't rectify the situation.

Bresh
17 Apr 2005, 00:20
...and before you point out the Nick Stevens situation, there were extenuating circumstances. He stopped putting in during the season, and tried to screw the club over during trade period. The difference between him and Josh Carr is night and day.

ManWithNoName
17 Apr 2005, 11:45
Elliotts leaving, and we're getting what in return?

Similar to Stevens.

- PC -
17 Apr 2005, 12:02
Elliotts leaving, and we're getting what in return?

Similar to Stevens.
''Please Sir may I have another''

Its not AFL..its cricket what you get is nada . There comes a time when a player sometimes gets stale and content..and a professional cricketer does as well. Maybe its the best thing for Victoria and ME..he could have stayed at Victoria and wandered through another year. But would that do Vic good?Promote a new star in his place

nicho_magic
17 Apr 2005, 12:23

Some people here are very opinionated considering they know so little and obviously watch so little domestic cricket.
you clearly know so little, saying that there were only 3 contributers, what about white, and hussey who did plenty for the team, and berry a top class keeper.... on your bike donkey.

nicho_magic
17 Apr 2005, 12:26
Cricket Victoria were well aware of his intentions a while ago. If they really wanted to keep him, why didn't CV cease the opportunity of others to snap him up and sign him a new contract - as they knew his contract was finishing mid-2005.

If CV wanted to keep him, they would of put up a bit more of a battle to keep him. As it is, they didn't and he is off to South Australia.

Bitching and moaning won't achieve anything.
what is the point of having an opinion, infact what is the point of having bigfooty.

Donkey
17 Apr 2005, 12:41
Okay, I should've worded it differently and referred not just to the Shield-winning season. I'll admit that there were a lot of players who had good seasons in 2003/04 for Victoria, but I still maintain you wouldn't have had a chance of winning it without Elliott.

Here's what I meant to say: Victoria have been consistantly pathetic as a team for a long while now, and Elliott has been one of the few consistant performers, in fact probably one of the best ever for Victoria. I think this is why you should respect him for what he has done for your mob in the past, and not let his latest decision get in the way of that.

This is not a Simon Katich "thanks for all the hard work you put into nurturing me, now I'll leave to play for someone else in the prime of my career" type of deal, we're talking about a fantastic servant of Victorian cricket. I'd hardly call that "nothing". Don't you think that is worth respecting, and even being thankful for?

silky-smooth
17 Apr 2005, 12:48
what is the point of having an opinion, infact what is the point of having bigfooty.
No, I said bitching and moaning. Not having a genuine argument.

You've just bitched and moaned about why SA don't deserve him (for whatever reason) and why he is a disgrace. Yet, what are you basing this on?

It's hard to believe you know anything about domestic cricket. You've just looked at his reputation and assumed - rather than tracing the facts as to why he left.

Kane McGoodwin
17 Apr 2005, 19:04
Elliott has been a great servant for Vic Cricket, so he should be able to change states to envigorate his career after 1 poor season. It would be worse if a young talented player left, such as when Lehmann left SA.

nicho_magic
19 Apr 2005, 00:07
No, I said bitching and moaning. Not having a genuine argument.

You've just bitched and moaned about why SA don't deserve him (for whatever reason) and why he is a disgrace. Yet, what are you basing this on?

It's hard to believe you know anything about domestic cricket. You've just looked at his reputation and assumed - rather than tracing the facts as to why he left.
well the fact is its just speculation about why he is leaving, many speculate for monetary reasons which i would beleive due to the fact he will probably lose his ACB contract, so all we can do at the moment is assume. look at most arguments on bigfooty they are similar to this and many if not most are worse. I beleive my comments are mostly fair.

nicho_magic
19 Apr 2005, 00:19
Okay, I should've worded it differently and referred not just to the Shield-winning season. I'll admit that there were a lot of players who had good seasons in 2003/04 for Victoria, but I still maintain you wouldn't have had a chance of winning it without Elliott.

Here's what I meant to say: Victoria have been consistantly pathetic as a team for a long while now, and Elliott has been one of the few consistant performers, in fact probably one of the best ever for Victoria. I think this is why you should respect him for what he has done for your mob in the past, and not let his latest decision get in the way of that.

This is not a Simon Katich "thanks for all the hard work you put into nurturing me, now I'll leave to play for someone else in the prime of my career" type of deal, we're talking about a fantastic servant of Victorian cricket. I'd hardly call that "nothing". Don't you think that is worth respecting, and even being thankful for?
i agree with most of your final paragraph, however why leave victoria now, when they have done nothing wrong and have been fantastic to elliot for his whole cricketing career and he will lose so much respect for the move which is pointless and he will gain so little from the move.

your middle paragraph is a joke... did u just forget hodge, and berry two outstanding contributors not to mention warne when he plays. How can you say his latest decision shouldn't get in the way of what he has done for us in the past. I could then say what about the time and effort we put into him when he was young and coming up... now he just walks away from the state that is in the past but its why he is so good now. The fact is the Elliots move is just not right... it gains little and does nothing but get Cricket Victoria and Victorians offside.