View Full Version : good match ... but what do you think of Primus?

Lajon
17 Apr 2005, 02:59
good match guys ... thought the result was pretty fitting considering the missed opportunites of both sides.

Now I'm not trying to start trouble here but I have thought this for a long while and only just reaffirmed it in my mind seeing the Power tonight .... the side is so much better without Primus.

He may be a good leader, and I'm sure he is, but as far as I'm concerned he's just not up to it anymore. Injuries, age, whatever .... his skills are ordinary (especially his execution once getting the ball), his decision making under pressure is shocking, his presence on the ground as a big man is only felt very occassionally and goes missing for HUGE amounts of the game.

What do Port supporters think of their captain?

Again, just my thoughts.

PAFC2004
17 Apr 2005, 03:02
There are many other posts on this.
And btw, it was not a good game. Does anyone know what the free kick was paid for in the last quarter when James was running towards goal about to kick?

TheBlueblood
17 Apr 2005, 03:28
primus looked slow man. not sure if it was the pace of the game but he had no real impact dude

top game felas to bad both teams aint full strength :D

What_the
17 Apr 2005, 05:05
primus looked slow man. not sure if it was the pace of the game but he had no real impact dude

So what should we do? Throw him on the scrap heap? Primus may have a bit to go but right now I am glad for the players that we have. Maybe when some of the others get back we can be picky.

top game felas to bad both teams aint full strength :D

What the?????? That was not a good game. That was crap.
Port weren't full strength at the beginning of last season either and they managed to win games. While it may be a reason for gaps in the squad it is not an excuse for missing those shots at goal in the last quarter.

gytre
17 Apr 2005, 09:31
I agree the game was crap. Some people need to get off Primus's case. He did some really good things for us, and at least he is having a red hot go, unlike some of our other blokes at the moment. :(

Ford Fairlane
17 Apr 2005, 10:10
Does anyone know what the free kick was paid for in the last quarter when James was running towards goal about to kick?

No idea. I even watched the tape of the last qtr again and I'm still flummoxed.

Hasus
17 Apr 2005, 10:43
I don't like Primus, never have, never will. I think he is highly overrated.

PortProudWA
17 Apr 2005, 10:52
good match guys ... thought the result was pretty fitting considering the missed opportunites of both sides.

Now I'm not trying to start trouble here but I have thought this for a long while and only just reaffirmed it in my mind seeing the Power tonight .... the side is so much better without Primus.

He may be a good leader, and I'm sure he is, but as far as I'm concerned he's just not up to it anymore. Injuries, age, whatever .... his skills are ordinary (especially his execution once getting the ball), his decision making under pressure is shocking, his presence on the ground as a big man is only felt very occassionally and goes missing for HUGE amounts of the game.

What do Port supporters think of their captain?

Again, just my thoughts.

I love the guy, maybe he is just trying to hard!! Of course his skills arnt up to it or his decision making.......he has missed just on two years of footy!! But bloody hell, he isnt the only one out there doing that. The whole team, apart from Dewy and Kane seem to be the only ones busting their guts for the last 4 weeks.
The blokes all look up to him, everyone knows that. Tredders said it on GF day.

PJ Power
17 Apr 2005, 11:27
It has got nothing to do with whether Matty is trying or not - he is trying very hard and his smothers tonight were excellent. It is just that he is not creating opportunities for us to clear the ball from stoppages and as a ruckman he is not helping an undermanned defence by getting back and plugging holes. Ladey (if fit?????) is the guy who can turn things around - he is our best tap ruckman and is a great reader of the play. Drops back well and takes strong marks. I would like to see Matty trialled full-time from the goalsquare - make the opposition defenders panic a bit by having the likes of Dew and Ebert get it in long and quickly to him.

Edgar
17 Apr 2005, 13:43
Does anyone know what the free kick was paid for in the last quarter when James was running towards goal about to kick?

It was right in front of me, and I certainly didn't see anything that looked remotely like a free. Umpire gestured a push in the back, I think against Thursans. If anyone actually saw it, I would appreciate a comment on whether it was there or not.

PJ Power
17 Apr 2005, 13:50
Strange that Pagan started his press-conference by lamenting the fact that it was not the players who were allowed to determine the outcome of the game. That suggested to me that he had a problem with some umpiring decisions late in the match. I thought Carlton got a pretty good deal and scored 3 goals from frees with Fevola's clearly being contentious. We got one through White from memory and of course Tredders missed that one just before half-time from a holding call. I didn't think he had much to complain about.

jasnik
17 Apr 2005, 14:58
It was right in front of me, and I certainly didn't see anything that looked remotely like a free. Umpire gestured a push in the back, I think against Thursans. If anyone actually saw it, I would appreciate a comment on whether it was there or not.
I'm pretty sure that, although it looked like the umpire paid a free kick, he was actually making the gesture that it he was paying a mark to White's opponent (can't remember who it was). The Carlton player took the mark and half a second later White stripped him of the ball and gave it to James, but the umpire brought it back for the mark. Well, that's what I reckon anyway, and seemed to make sense at the time.

Fullarton Power
17 Apr 2005, 15:38
What do I think? Overdue for the tap on the shoulder.
Another abysmal performance from him last night, added to another impresive showing by White, illustates the point even more clearly that it's time for Primus to go. His ruckwork is pathetic, he has no place on the forward lines, and his leadership is worthless ATM.
Act now Choco, beofre the season is shot.

Arsene Wenger
17 Apr 2005, 16:14
As much as I love the big fella - he is really struggling... I blame chocco - Russel Ebert goe son about how Primus wants to play in the ruck but guys he just is not good enough to be in the middle for so bloody long!!

Hel get a game next week coz of Brogans stupidity. Headbutted French right in front of me...

Next week is crunchtime

Edgar
17 Apr 2005, 19:02
I'm pretty sure that, although it looked like the umpire paid a free kick, he was actually making the gesture that it he was paying a mark to White's opponent (can't remember who it was). The Carlton player took the mark and half a second later White stripped him of the ball and gave it to James, but the umpire brought it back for the mark. Well, that's what I reckon anyway, and seemed to make sense at the time.

Thanks mate, you might be right. Ump might have got it right too - it was pretty hard to work out exactly how and when White got hold of he footy, and the Carlton player might have completed the mark before White stripped him. Then again, I'm not sure how the umpire would have seen whether the mark was actually completed, because he was on the wrong side of the contest to see that.

Go BlUez!!
17 Apr 2005, 20:05
I agree the game was crap. Some people need to get off Primus's case. He did some really good things for us, and at least he is having a red hot go, unlike some of our other blokes at the moment. :(

buddy, lets say Port scored one more behind in the dieing stages of the last quarter, to win by a point. Would it have been a crap game then? it was a really good game to watch. The blues played really good, and im happy to come away with 2 points.

As for Primus, i think his overrated, but still presents when you guys need him. Needs to have a bigger impact on the game inorder for you guys to win more games without half your premiership team in.

gytre
17 Apr 2005, 20:47
buddy, lets say Port scored one more behind in the dieing stages of the last quarter, to win by a point. Would it have been a crap game then? it was a really good game to watch. The blues played really good, and im happy to come away with 2 points.
Yes, it would have been crap. It was a disappointing game. I thought the standard was poor. Just because it's a close game doesn't mean it's a good game. It was a game Port should have won and it was there to be won.

As for Primus, i think his overrated, but still presents when you guys need him. Needs to have a bigger impact on the game inorder for you guys to win more games without half your premiership team in.
Just coming back from a knee reco, it isn't known whether Primus will ever get back to anything like his best. But I think he's going ok and it's very obvious to me right now that there's a lot of Port fans here who are using Primus as a scapegoat for our poor form. I believe our problem is that we are simply playing poorly right across the board. Our whole team looks slow, unfit and with the exception of Dew and maybe one or two others we are way underperforming.

PJ Power
17 Apr 2005, 22:13
Matty belongs in our side's 22. He is certainly not our worst player this year. But he is not giving us great service as a ruckman either at ball-ups or as a marking presence around the ground. He has been outrucked in consecutive weeks and our midfield has not been good enough to compensate for it.

At the start of the year we all had him penned in to play on the FF line. Put him there. Give Ladey full responsibility for the ruckwork and the around the ground stuff, and forget about how much Primus wants to play on the ball. It is a team game, and right now, when he is in the middle, we are not looking our best.

gytre
17 Apr 2005, 22:37
Matty belongs in our side's 22. He is certainly not our worst player this year. But he is not giving us great service as a ruckman either at ball-ups or as a marking presence around the ground. He has been outrucked in consecutive weeks and our midfield has not been good enough to compensate for it.
I can't believe he's copping so much crap. At the moment he's our in-form ruckman. Brogan is struggling and Lade's not going that well either.

sog35
18 Apr 2005, 00:09
Lade is going better.

PJ Power
18 Apr 2005, 00:21
I can't believe he's copping so much crap. At the moment he's our in-form ruckman. Brogan is struggling and Lade's not going that well either.

How do you define in-form?

I am not saying drop the bloke, just get a system in the middle that works. It's not just the midfielders who are to blame for a lack of clearances.

Bresh
18 Apr 2005, 00:30
We don't have an in-form ruckman. Lade is the least out-of-form ruckman. The fact that Primus and Lade can barely get off the ground probably isn't suited to the new ruck circle possibly?

bringbackbucky
18 Apr 2005, 10:03
Primus as an around the ground ruckman is finished. Four of his turnovers directly resulted in goals. Choco has a lot to answer for IMO. The only time we even looked a chance of getting up against carlton was when Primus was on the pine.

Either play him in the forward pocket or make him do his time back at Norwood and earn his place in the side like any other player who has missed the best part of 2 years would be required to.

With Primus in our side - we will struggle.