View Full Version : Port Call For Crow Support!!!

QT
11 Sep 2001, 22:53
HAHAHHAAHAHHAAHAHAHA!

Port Adelaide want Crow Supporters to come out and support you "never won a final before" filth this saturday night!

I thought your huge loyal supporter base would of been enough :rolleyes:

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAA

CARN YOU CROWS!!

carb70
12 Sep 2001, 11:01
Well it's not like you have anything else to do.

Boof458
12 Sep 2001, 11:07
Originally posted by carb70
Well it's not like you have anything else to do.

There are so many other things that we can do and will be doing

I would prefer to watch paint dry

Go the Hawks

carb70
12 Sep 2001, 11:24
Originally posted by Boof458

There are so many other things that we can do and will be doing

I would prefer to watch paint dry

Go the Hawks

You probably do have other things to do. It's not like you would be expecting to Crows to be playing much football in September.

Boof458
12 Sep 2001, 11:26

You probably do have other things to do. It's not like you would be expecting to Crows to be playing much football in September.

Says you

Finals record

Played 2 Lost 2.

1st and nowhere my friend, first and nowhere.

carb70
12 Sep 2001, 11:42
Boof, for someone who has such an exciting life and follows such a great football team, you seem to be spending a lot of time on the Port Adelaide board. :confused:

Piss off loser and leave us alone, we don't care.

Blues_Brat
12 Sep 2001, 11:51
I find it very strange that Port would want the Crows to support them. Port Adelaide supporters laughed when the Crows were knocked out of the finals in 93. I knew of quite a few Port supporters who went to Crows games in the early days to support whoever the Crows were playing. Now they want the Crows to get behind them.. get real.

Boof458
12 Sep 2001, 12:28
Boof, for someone who has such an exciting life and follows such a great football team, you seem to be spending a lot of time on the Port Adelaide board. :confused:

Piss off loser and leave us alone, we don't care.

Carb

That's two posts in about two months on this board

I saw that it was a topic with Crows in it by my good mate QT and I responded

If you can't stand the heat get out of the kitchen.

Good natured ribbing and you call me a loser.

Don't drive angry!

Santos L Helper
12 Sep 2001, 13:23
We don't need any cow suporters jumping ship to barrack for us. **** off and stay home!!!

Boof458
12 Sep 2001, 14:14
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
We don't need any cow suporters jumping ship to barrack for us. **** off and stay home!!!

That's true it would be embarrassing for there to be 54000 people there

22000 barracking for the Power and the rest wearing blue red and gold and shouting "GO HAWKS".

I have a 21st party to go to anyway.

For what its worth (not much) I think Power will win easily.

Macca19
12 Sep 2001, 14:53

That's true it would be embarrassing for there to be 54000 people there

22000 barracking for the Power and the rest wearing blue red and gold and shouting "GO HAWKS".

I have a 21st party to go to anyway.

For what its worth (not much) I think Power will win easily.

I wont expect there to be many Port supporters at the game to be honest. $41 or $47 is bloody steep!! Its almost criminal. My Dad, Mum (hawk fan) and myself are going and it has already cost $129!!!! Its a joke....just to go to a game of footy it cost well over $100. Not to mention if we want a drink or food at the game. They know Port are in the lowest common social demoinator (according to that poll) yet they put the price so high that not many people would be able to afford it. If they want people to show up they should of kept the price below $20

Pessimistic
12 Sep 2001, 15:01
SA supporters barracking for the hawks ? I hope so. I suppose there would have been quite a few hawks fans bac (before adelaide crows)

powerboi
13 Sep 2001, 11:29
I agree, $35 would have been a more reasonable amount, thats about 50% more than the standard gate price of $23.

I too have a 21st (my sister's!) but will be at the game for the first 3 quarters to lend my voice to the noise, before hurriedly dashing to the city in time for the speeches :)

Chris_23
13 Sep 2001, 12:06
Just a couple of questions....

What is everyone's crowd estimate for the game? Obvioulsy i have no idea but you would think it would be a sell out being a final and all....

Whats the deal with this swearing ban at Footy park? Has it been enforced or was it just a scare tactic? I don't want to be kicked out!

Macca19
13 Sep 2001, 12:41
Originally posted by Chris_23
Just a couple of questions....

What is everyone's crowd estimate for the game? Obvioulsy i have no idea but you would think it would be a sell out being a final and all....

Whats the deal with this swearing ban at Footy park? Has it been enforced or was it just a scare tactic? I don't want to be kicked out!

i would say 33,000 will be the crowd. No more than that.

With the swearing you can basically say anything other than ***. But if you swear your head off ALL game then people might get annoyed and report you.

Chris_23
13 Sep 2001, 13:33
Originally posted by Macca19

i would say 33,000 will be the crowd. No more than that.

With the swearing you can basically say anything other than ***. But if you swear your head off ALL game then people might get annoyed and report you.

*** that! :D

Footy Park holds near 50,000 doesn't it? Oh well, should be a good night regardless.

Boof458
13 Sep 2001, 14:46
What Macca said

Maybe 35,000 - I will be generous.

Sorry I can't make the BigFooty meeting as we have a soccer Championship to win on Saturday arvo.

Chris_23
13 Sep 2001, 15:19

Sorry I can't make the BigFooty meeting as we have a soccer Championship to win on Saturday arvo.

Thats ok mate, all the best. ;)

Pessimistic
13 Sep 2001, 16:40
If it's 33,000 will Mike Shehan write a column saying power fans are 'spoilt' ?

GOALden Hawk
13 Sep 2001, 18:18
33,000???? That's pathetic! How many members do you guys have? Like Pessimistic said, I will be interested to see if there are any articles criticising the crowd if it is that small!

I might have to change my tip with Ripper - I said 47,000!

PS. What's happening with the meet up in Adelaide?

Macca19
13 Sep 2001, 18:48
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
33,000???? That's pathetic! How many members do you guys have? Like Pessimistic said, I will be interested to see if there are any articles criticising the crowd if it is that small!

I might have to change my tip with Ripper - I said 47,000!

PS. What's happening with the meet up in Adelaide?

$41 is a bit bloody steep. It depends how many hawthorn fans show up really...cos im sure the Port quota is fill already. It wont be sold out. I know a lot of Port families that cant afford to spend $41 a ticket to go along.

We have about 31,000 members.

Chris_23
13 Sep 2001, 22:06
On afl.com.au it says that it's a sell out. :confused:

Macca19
14 Sep 2001, 00:31
Originally posted by Chris_23
On afl.com.au it says that it's a sell out. :confused:

well im wrong then! :D

didnt think it would tho

Chris_23
14 Sep 2001, 00:38

well im wrong then! :D

didnt think it would tho

LOL, knowing the AFL you've probably got it right and they're way off the mark! :D

powerboi
14 Sep 2001, 11:54
According to the AFL site, as of last night only 27,000 of 54,400 tickets have been sold.

The price is definitely a little too high for some. As I said earlier, I think a $35 price point would have come close to filling the stadium. There are many supporters and their families who don't appear on the official membership count, and would find $35 far easier to digest than $47.

In defence of those who set the prices, this *IS* the Power's first ever home final, so they have no real precedent to go on. I would have thought they'd err on the low side though, being able to say the game was a sellout is much better for the AFL's image.

Also the numbers have taken a further hit with the Ansett debacle - my sincere commiserations to the Hawks supporters left stranded, many of whom have already purchased plane and football tickets :(

It's all pretty disappointing really.

GOALden Hawk
14 Sep 2001, 12:18
Yep, the whole thing is a complete debacle - I'm sure there were both Hawthorn and Power supporters flying in from interstate. The AFL did a deal with Qantas earlier in the week to fly the Hawks, but if the airport is closed I don't know what happens.

Maybe people like Hitman, Chris, Vanders and myself who are travelling by bus will get a game the way things are going!!! :( :p

Macca19
14 Sep 2001, 14:53
Originally posted by powerboi

The price is definitely a little too high for some. As I said earlier, I think a $35 price point would have come close to filling the stadium. There are many supporters and their families who don't appear on the official membership count, and would find $35 far easier to digest than $47.

There would be a lot of families that go to a season game for about $40 (for a family ticket) but wouldnt be able to afford the $160 just to see the final.

Plus the fact Pensioners have to pay FULL PRICE!?!?!?! Thats just wrong.

Crows supporters are gonna bag the living crap outta the crowd figure, yet they also bag us for being in the lower echelon of society. They cant have it both ways!!

Boof458
14 Sep 2001, 14:58

There would be a lot of families that go to a season game for about $40 (for a family ticket) but wouldnt be able to afford the $160 just to see the final.

Plus the fact Pensioners have to pay FULL PRICE!?!?!?! Thats just wrong.

Crows supporters are gonna bag the living crap outta the crowd figure, yet they also bag us for being in the lower echelon of society. They cant have it both ways!!

You just have less supporters

A lot of our supporters are not rolling in it either

clearly the steretype of Port supporters is exaggerated

All the Port supporters I know are quite well off.

There are probably more working class port supporters as a percentage of their supporter base but the actual numbers are probably very similar

Most Crows suppoters come from happy valley apparantly.

kaysee
14 Sep 2001, 16:20

You just have less supporters

A lot of our supporters are not rolling in it either

clearly the steretype of Port supporters is exaggerated

All the Port supporters I know are quite well off.

There are probably more working class port supporters as a percentage of their supporter base but the actual numbers are probably very similar

Most Crows suppoters come from happy valley apparantly.

Well my Wife and I are both working white collar types still setting up our 1st home and we can only JUST afford to go.

But the footy this week will cost us $100... if we win we would like to go to Melbourne the week after... that would cost between $300-$500 for us both... then if we made the GF and could get across to that it would cost us $500-$700.

Over a 3 week period could cost us upto $1,300... and when we weigh that up against other things we need around our home it is sometimes a difficult decission.

So I can understand how the other less fortunate people can't afford to go.

The AFL says they're providing reasonabably priced entertainment but people can go and see a movie for half the price.

Anyway I am dribbling

topjars
16 Sep 2001, 09:55
A crowd which was a tad over 30,000 was a poor effort.
Bit like Ports really;)
Long live Shaun Rehn...great game when the ball needed to be 1

Macca19
16 Sep 2001, 11:54
Originally posted by topjars
A crowd which was a tad over 30,000 was a poor effort.
Bit like Ports really;)
Long live Shaun Rehn...great game when the ball needed to be 1

You know why this pi$$es me off completly?? The crows never fill up Footy Park. In there most important game of the year against Hawthorn 3 weeks ago...in which if they won they would of got into the finals (history shows they did win), the game was apparently a sell out, yet only 42,000 showed up. That means 14,000 crows 'supporters' stayed away from the game because of the bad weather. The chance of getting wet was obviously enough to lead people away from supporting thier team into the finals.

Ports average crowd this year is about 30,000. We got that last night. We dont have the spare 700,000 supporters that the crows do to 'top up' those that dont renew their memberships.
I will bring up an old chestnut again, this is for before the new grandstand. We are made of one club, one team, that everyone in SA hates except for our own. We get regularly 30,000. The crows are made up of 9 SA teams, including some from the Magpies that still support them (like ant)...yet before the new grandstand you used to only get about 35-36000 to games. 6000, with 9 other teams support and a supposed 800,000 supporter base is not a good effort.

You can compare yourself to Port all you like. What you will show is weve made the finals 2 times in 5 years...it took crows 6 years to do that. Sure we didnt win. Its dissapointing. Yet are people like you going to continue to compare the crows with the power till the day you die??

The crowd was average last night. Im sure people like yourself would of bagged us for having "a whole load of bandwagoners" if we had of filled up football park last night.

We cant win either way....and i for one am ***** sick of it.

WE DONT HAVE 54,000 SUPPORTERS. GET THAT THRU YOUR HEADS.

eddie eagle
17 Sep 2001, 13:10

WE DONT HAVE 54,000 SUPPORTERS. GET THAT THRU YOUR HEADS.

I'm sorry didn't your bid to join the AFL (the second one - not the first backstabbing one) have a business plan sprouted by bucky that showed their research indicated a crowd of 35,000 every week that would watch the power??

PAP's crowds have averaged low 20,000's if you take out the showdowns.
Tickets at the gate were only $37. - compare this to see any concert and it is cheap!! Remember that the port players are being paid $5million bucks per annum- win lose or draw - find the money - do a budget, scrimp save whatever but turn up!!

Imagine is port had a home prelim final where the tickets would be closer to $75.

playing a home final is a huge advantage with the supporter not having travel costs - the cheapest way to see your team in a final and should have been jumped at by all port supporters

30,000 is an absolutely pathetic crowd for your first final - the result made things even worse

Did you hear what Buck Rogers said when he returned from the 25th Century?
“The Power still haven’t won a Final!”

Macca19
17 Sep 2001, 20:06
Originally posted by eddie eagle

Did you hear what Buck Rogers said when he returned from the 25th Century?
“The Power still haven’t won a Final!”

What is it with the fact we havent won a final yet?? What is so funny or amusing about it?
Weve so far played

North Melbourne - who finished 2nd and we had to play them at the MCG. If anyone thought we were gonna win that then they have rocks in their head. North went on to win the flag.

Brisbane - the biggest winning streak of the year, and we were not going to beat them on their own turf...they could well be premiers this year

Hawthorn - a game we should of won.

Compare that to the Crows first three finals:
Hawthorn - they defeated an aging hawthorn who have not had any real success since 91

Carlton - you kicked 8.20! You had 7 MORE scoring shots yet you still lost!! If anything is choking - thats the one there

Essendon - well we all know this one dont we...7 goals up in a prelim at half time and you get overrun in the last half after thinking the game was won!! The classic choke if there ever was one!

Crows arent perfect either idiot. Nor are your beloved eagles (mm hmm 94). Wev eplayed 3 finals, and didnt win them...crows played three finals and won 1...hardly that much better considering you should of won all of those three games.
Shows that both Port and the Crows had young lists and were obviously nervous.

Get a clue and get the *** off our board.

Macca19
17 Sep 2001, 20:18

PAP's crowds have averaged low 20,000's if you take out the showdowns.

Id love to know where you get your facts from tho. we averaged 27,615 minus the two showdowns. Hardly 'low 20,000s' is it :rolleyes: Try and do some facts first.

Crows only averaged 38,417 minus showdowns...and this is the team that is meant to fill out football park every week?? With the 50,000 members and "sell outs" every week!! :rolleyes:
Before the new stand came in you only averaged about 34-36000 this year as well...not good at all for the team for all south australians...pity it doesnt sell out every week. Expect to hear a lot from me next year on that crows board if you ever get under 50,000.

eddie eagle
17 Sep 2001, 21:32

What is it with the fact we havent won a final yet?? What is so funny or amusing about it?

I could not give continental what excuse you come up with for losing all of your finals

I merely write this in the knowledge that the club that was going to revolutionise
football in SA, the club that was going to show the AFC how football clubs
should be run, has now failed in it's first 3 AFL finals including one at
home, that they had to win to make credible their arrogant & self centred
claims they made in the past about their AFL destiny.

Now call me nasty & vindictive if you like, but the pap are not living up to
the extraordinary claims they made of unprecedented success in the AFL
arena. In fact PAP supporters would have to be very, very, very
disappointed with their efforts so far. The boys from alberton have failed
to match the Crows who won their first final in only their third year, and
ran away with 2 flags in their first 8.

Macca19
17 Sep 2001, 21:40

The boys from alberton have failed
to match the Crows who won their first final in only their third year, and
ran away with 2 flags in their first 8.

ok.
We made our second finals series in our fifth year...it took Crows 6
Crows never finished as high as third in the minor round
Crows never won 16 games in a season
Port have 54 wins in our first 5 years, Crows had 52.

I would say there is a lot we are in fron tof

Not to mention the fact the competition now is a lot harder, stronger, faster and more skillful than back in 91-95.

So we havent won a final. Oh well. We will have plenty of other chances and i can tell you know we will make more than 4 finals series in 11 years...and be certain we will win them.

Santos L Helper
17 Sep 2001, 22:04
Eddie the ****, the team that was going to revolutionise football will revolutionise it. The seeds have been sewn and it's just a matter of (short) time.
Your pathetic cows, on the other hand, are in serious trouble with players wanting to leave and an already ageing and useless squad.

Boof458
18 Sep 2001, 12:11
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Eddie the ****, the team that was going to revolutionise football will revolutionise it.

LOL LOL LOL
choke splutter

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

You kill me!!!

oh ho ho ho ho ho

deep breath

That's made my week.

Satay Mat
18 Sep 2001, 13:22
ok...I have made by points on typicial Port v Crows bashing....so I will state what facts I know and not make judgement...

1st 5 years in the comp

Adelaide : 51.5 H&A wins = 46.81%
Made the finals once
Finals played 3
Finals won 1

Port Adelaide : 55.5 H&A wins = 50.45%
Made the finals twice
Finals Played 3
Finals won 0

draw your own conclusions....I still think it is petty. Why is it petty ?

West Coast 66 wins (60%)
Made the finals 3 times
Finals Played 9
Finals won 3.5

so we are really argueing about being 7th or 8th

Satay Mat