View Full Version : APS Football
Allen's Blues
23rd April 2005, 14:52
Who will win the APS Priemership?
ducky18
23rd April 2005, 19:21
you blokes got rocks in your heads, scotch are no chance.
saintgoof
23rd April 2005, 19:37
the ladder at the end will read
1. Haileybury
2. Xavier
3. Scotch
4. Caufiauld
5. Brighton
6. St. Kevins
7. Melbourne Grammer
8. Geelong College
9. Carey
10. Wesley
11. Geelong Grammer
m.diddy
23rd April 2005, 23:14
I went to Xavier so xavier.
Haileybury do have the edge with their ahhh talent, **cough** chequebooks **cough**
m.diddy
23rd April 2005, 23:15
1. Haileybury
2. Xavier
3. Scotch
4. Caufiauld
5. Brighton
6. St. Kevins
7. Melbourne Grammer
8. Geelong College
9. Carey
10. Wesley
11. Geelong Grammer
Carey should be higher than that.
D-Mon
24th April 2005, 17:48
Melbourne should finish ahead of both St. Kevins and Brighton (Brighton didn't kick a goal against Melbourne last year).
However,
Haileybury and Xavier should be top two.
davo4030
24th April 2005, 17:53
1. Haileybury
2. Xavier
3. Scotch
4. Caufiauld
5. Brighton
6. St. Kevins
7. Melbourne Grammer
8. Geelong College
9. Carey
10. Wesley
11. Geelong Grammer
Caulfield won't finish 4th. Supposedly they don't have many people taller then 6"2. Hence they will struggle.
ablett factor
24th April 2005, 19:06
i found out last night off a mte who is at haileybury and is in the firsts squad that out of the 32 players every single player except 1(my mate) who is on a academic scholarship are on sports scholarships.
dutchy12
24th April 2005, 20:34
1. Haileybury
2. Xavier
3. Scotch
4. Caufiauld
5. Brighton
6. St. Kevins
7. Melbourne Grammer
8. Geelong College
9. Carey
10. Wesley
11. Geelong Grammer
MGS will be better than that
danny dickvos
25th April 2005, 22:38
I heard Geelong College have had a great pre season and have dominated in all their praccy matches, who have they got? How do u think they will go this year?
They have been know to upset some bigger schools, eg. Melb Grammar last season.
jmain14
26th April 2005, 13:50
you obviously play at geelong college danny??
D-Mon
26th April 2005, 15:34
They have been know to upset some bigger schools, eg. Melb Grammar last season.
That was the biggest fluke of the century and will never happen agian.
saintgoof
27th April 2005, 19:02
i found out last night off a mte who is at haileybury and is in the firsts squad that out of the 32 players every single player except 1(my mate) who is on a academic scholarship are on sports scholarships.
i can name at least 10 blokes not on scolarships in that squad, and i myself am not on a football scholarship even though most people think i am because i came to the school later in my schooling.
James Magner= non scholarship
roger merret
28th April 2005, 12:18
That was the biggest fluke of the century and will never happen agian.
Great joke mate. It was a great pleasure to christen the new Todd Rd facilities. Does this years Melbourne Grammar 1st team have any year 12's in it?
The Opposition
28th April 2005, 23:40
Ivanhoe Grammar have played against both Hailebury and Geelong Grammar and beaten them both yet Ivanhoe will not be premier in the AGSV comp, actually should finish around 4th. Does this mean that the AGSV comp is better or that Hailebury had a terrible day (admittely it was pouring rain). Cant see how you, danny, can say theyve had a great preseason...
m.diddy
29th April 2005, 08:38
Ivanhoe Grammar have played against both Hailebury and Geelong Grammar and beaten them both yet Ivanhoe will not be premier in the AGSV comp, actually should finish around 4th. Does this mean that the AGSV comp is better or that Hailebury had a terrible day (admittely it was pouring rain). Cant see how you, danny, can say theyve had a great preseason...
most of haileybury's were probably TAC.
dirty_cat44
29th April 2005, 14:33
Yes, against Ivanoe Haileybury did have all ther key players out. It was made up of 2's and 3's players.
m.diddy
29th April 2005, 14:43
Yes, against Ivanoe Haileybury did have all ther key players out. It was made up of 2's and 3's players.
So, the true side.
dirty_cat44
29th April 2005, 14:51
If you would call it that Milney. most teams have bought players but i realise haileybury have alot more than other schools
davo4030
29th April 2005, 14:56
Come down tomorrow morning for the clash of the football titans. The original footballing schools in a battle for the ages. Scotch vs Melbourne Grammar.
A good match up will be, Sherwin(CHB) vs Tom Hawkins(CHF, son of the great Geelong legend). Sherwin is an up-and coming type, in the mould of Josh Thurgood. Courageous, highly skilled and slim muscular build. Djekurra and Rioli will be on stage, 2 highly skilled aboriginals. I'm prediciting a Scotch win with Peter Jacobs kicking 15, after his stunning 12 goals in 3 quarters against Scotch Perth. The depth in the side is massive, some suggesting even Andrew Ainger will struggle to get a role in this quality forward line. With Dicky and Yeo on the bench it is a real indicator of Scotch's depth.
Absentees, will be Ainger,Smith,Rattray,Green and Barlow for Scotch.
Whilst i predict, Ellis will be missing for Grammar.
P.S. it's a practice game, but that does not mean that they will be soft.
At the new Todd Road Grammar Complex at 11.00. Interesting match-up for the Cordner-Eggleston in the last round played on the magnificant Scotch Main.
saintgoof
29th April 2005, 18:30
Would be intereseting to see how many of the scholarship kids will play 2nds
D-Mon
29th April 2005, 19:29
Absentees, will be Ainger,Smith,Rattray,Green and Barlow for Scotch.
Whilst i predict, Ellis will be missing for Grammar.
yes, Ellis is out
but i don't think that Peter Jacobs will kick 15 as Beaumont will probably be full back and he is a step up from some perth hack.
P.S - Second XVIII's are also playing beforehand.
davo4030
29th April 2005, 19:34
P.S - Second XVIII's are also playing beforehand.
I am aware of this as all you big footy fellas can come and watch my good self play in this cracker of a game starting at 9.30 at the same venue.
What should you look out for i hear you ask?
The boy who plays like Josh Thurgood, except has no pace,leap or red dreadlocks, to be precise, a skinny kid running round trying to get a kick.
D-Mon
30th April 2005, 16:21
I am aware of this as all you big footy fellas can come and watch my good self play in this cracker of a game starting at 9.30 at the same venue.
It was hardly a "cracker of a game". For those interested, Melbourne won by 7 goals sending a clear message to all other APS 2nd XVII sides this year.
Melbourne Grammar 2nd's: 11. 7. 73.
Scotch 2nd's: 4. 7. 35
- In the 1st XVIII game, Melbourne Grammar won by two points.
PJ-Rod
30th April 2005, 16:55
Great Start for MGS, defeating old rivals Scotch in both First XVIII and Seconds. TAC cup may have had an influence, but you can only beat who they put on the park.
davo4030
30th April 2005, 17:43
It was hardly a "cracker of a game". For those interested, Melbourne won by 7 goals sending a clear message to all other APS 2nd XVII sides this year.
Yeah, fair blow-out in the 2nds game. Grammar were too strong there.
In the 1sts, Grammar were too strong again and probably should of won by more. Tom Hawkins is a big boy and i assume will be taken under the father son. Grammar's midfield also too strong. Overall Hawkins and Vance were standouts.
For Scotch, Vice-Captain Davis was the best, with the Aboriginal boys playing in bursts. Jacobs at full-forward tried hard all day and finished with 4. Good effort.
Both teams will have massive improvements, in terms of personnel and skill.
lazyhare
4th May 2005, 18:15
How did u play Davo?
brigthons seconds are a top team and they showd it this week easily deafeating haliebury. bgs twos will go underfeated.
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 20:15
brigthons seconds are a top team and they showd it this week easily deafeating halibury. bgs twos will go underfeated.
Until they play xavier, like last year.
Whitefriars in the ACC would smash all the APS schools and Ivanhoe Grammar, so does this mean the ACC is better than the lot of em?
bartos
5th May 2005, 11:01
i seriously wanted to vote for wesley. where are they on the poll?
hahaha
5th May 2005, 12:32
Whitefriars in the ACC would smash all the APS schools and Ivanhoe Grammar, so does this mean the ACC is better than the lot of em?
Maybe, the standard of ACC seems a bit lower then last year.
Having said that there were 18 TAC cup players playing in Friars v Geelong yesterday.
St.Bernards and De La have seemed to drop off the pace a bit.
It's hard to see ANYONE beating Whitefriars this year
Chandra
5th May 2005, 15:54
Where online can we find the fixture for 2005 APS Football?
godees
5th May 2005, 18:32
How did the other teams go on the weekend? Geelong College in particular
roger merret
5th May 2005, 18:56
Oh a mate of mine said they were undermanned against Geelong Grammar but still won by 3 goals or something. I think they've got a couple of boys back this week but are still missing a fair few.
haileybury should win the perimership but their round 2 match against Xavier should be the measure to see if they can go the hole way either haileybury or xavier for me
dutchy12
7th May 2005, 18:02
Scotch beat Brighton by 5 goals. Whilst MGS defeated Assumption College by 2 goals out in Keilor good effort in thier bye weekend.
nicho_magic
7th May 2005, 18:35
Scotch beat Brighton by 5 goals. Whilst MGS defeated Assumption College by 2 goals out in Keilor good effort in thier bye weekend.
wesley got done by geelong grammar not going to be a good year for us.
roger merret
8th May 2005, 08:50
Geelong College beat St Kevins by 33 points 97 - 64. They get banjanin(inj) and schofield (Vic U16) back for the game against Caulfield next week. Who else won this week?
PJ-Rod
8th May 2005, 09:58
Geelong Grammar 10.13 def Wesley 4.9
Xavier 13.15 def Caulfield 4.5
Geelong College 14.13 def St Kevins 9.11
Haileybury 20.13 def Carey 7.6
Scotch 15.13 def Brighton 13.9
Melbourne had the bye, and defeated Assumption in a practice match. Did anybody see these games? Best Players, Goal Kickers. Looks like a long season for some schools. ( WC, SKC, CGS)
franky_mojojo
8th May 2005, 10:05
Wesley had a lot of injuries
Ed cus did his AC joint (was at sady)
Elliott Rose has osteitis (sandy also)
David McMullin did his ankle (was at oakleigh)
Cookie was out also (was a regular last year)
Savvidies hurt himself in an internal game (played more than half the games last year)
Harry Croft had vic metro the next day, so he didn't play.
But yeah the year 12s dont have a lot of depth, next year Wesley will do alright though (they won the 10A premiership last year).
davo4030
8th May 2005, 17:24
next year Wesley will do alright though (they won the 10A premiership last year).
Along with about 3 other schools.
franky_mojojo
8th May 2005, 17:36
Only one team can win the premiership, what pansie sport are u talking about? Or are you one of those people who say that even loosers are winners.
Wesley had a lot of injuries
But yeah the year 12s dont have a lot of depth, next year Wesley will do alright though (they won the 10A premiership last year).
(Didn't Haileybury win it last year.) Anyway, who wins the 10A Premiership is Irrelevant as any good year 10 player is playing 1st’s. Therefore a 'good' 10A team usually just means that it has none of its players in the 1st's.
1st footy is also a hell of a step up from 10A footy and many 'good' 10A players find it very difficult to ajust (some don't even make it).
Only one team can win the premiership, what pansie sport are u talking about? Or are you one of those people who say that even loosers are winners.
there is no ladder in the 10A's and not everyone plays each other therefore there is no real permiership and multiple teams finish on top.
franky_mojojo
8th May 2005, 17:49
everyone plays each other once and Wesley won it last year and hailabry finished 3rd, dunno how many year 10s are in the firsts at other schools, but there were 3 regular year 10s in the wesley firsts last year.
davo4030
8th May 2005, 17:52
If you had your facts right then you'd find that there was a tie for the 10A premiership, between Haileybury,Wesley and maybe Geelong College or Xavier.
Totally agree with D-Mon, as Xavier, Melb Grammar and Scotch had some of its 10A players, playing 1sts last year.
franky_mojojo
8th May 2005, 18:02
If you had gotton your facts you would know that Wesley officially won it, trust me i know. Wesley and Hailabry were both 10-2 but because Wesley beat Hailebry Wesley were OFFICAIL winners. In the last round, Scotch played Hailebry, if scotch won they would have been 1st because they beat Wesley, but if Hailebry won Wesley would finish top unless Wesley lost to Brighton.
franky_mojojo
8th May 2005, 18:03
Wesley also had players in the 1sts, 3 were fairly regular and a couple more played 1-3 or so.
monoccular
8th May 2005, 18:53
it was actually 2.4 - but Scotch were by far the better side most of the day.
insider31
9th May 2005, 17:57
Haileybury had about 7 year 10's play 1st during the year, two played every game and one other played 7 games.
bettsie
9th May 2005, 18:46
Wesley also had players in the 1sts, 3 were fairly regular and a couple more played 1-3 or so.
WHo? Elliot Rose..the other two must of been GW.
mcmullin woulda been one?
slickrick
11th May 2005, 20:57
Does anyone know if Caufield 2nd's have much depth?
bgs05
11th May 2005, 21:59
brighton twos, another win by 4 goals. 2-0
slickrick
12th May 2005, 10:17
As all the pre season ladders have shown, St Kevins were amongst the leaders of the comp. St Kevins aren't much chop as the predicted 4th last finishes beat them by 33 pts.
doggies
12th May 2005, 15:24
Carey should be higher than that.
how would you bloody know?
dirty_cat44
12th May 2005, 20:26
Wesley and Hailabry were both 10-2 but because Wesley beat Hailebry Wesley were OFFICAIL winners. In the last round, Scotch played Hailebry,
Been spelling long Franky Mojo.
Your school must either be a ripper, or your a smart one straight out of kinda
Hailebry is spelt HAILEYBURY
franky_mojojo
12th May 2005, 21:20
Been spelling long Franky Mojo.
Your school must either be a ripper, or your a smart one straight out of kinda
Hailebry is spelt HAILEYBURY
Ive never had to spell HAILEYBURY before, you must a ripper school if u get special classes on how to spell HAILEBURY, our school has more orthadox classes, u know like math, science etc.
Private schools suck period.
:D
slickrick
13th May 2005, 10:43
Round 2 this weekend. What are everyone's thoughts on the games this saturday? Xavier v Haileybury is obviously the match of the round, Geelong College take on Caulfield at Caulfield which should be a tight tussle. Who else is lining up against each other? :D
chapmanmagic35
13th May 2005, 11:06
Scotch has Carey at Scotch at 12.00 this weekend. I would expect Scotch to win. They're side is very even and has a good spread of talls and smalls.
I assume Jacobs will be amongst the goals. In his first game in the 1's last year he kicked 4-5 on their full back.
It seems the side is starting to settle well now, and a good win here will give them great momentum as they head to play Xavier next week (I'm pretty sure it's them) which will be match of the round for sure one would assume. Xavier Vs Haileybury should be a ripper.
Anyone else got any previews?
prince
13th May 2005, 14:30
im predicting a haileybury win by over 10 goals, they are just to good on peper.tarrant will kick 4,kennady will play good muz will kick 5.but certainly a haileybury win.anyone elses thoughts
D-Mon
13th May 2005, 14:35
Melbourne Grammar should be too strong for Brighton this week in what will be the match of the round (after HC vs XC).
Match-up's to watch out for: Young Tom Hawkins on the 19 y.o Marsdon (who apparentally plays CHB for Sandy Reserves (too old for TAC)).
Will Xav Ellis be tagged???
Will Brighton be able to cope with the big ground out at Todd Road??
D-Mon
13th May 2005, 14:37
Draw for round 2:
SC vs Carey
SKC vs WC
HC vs XC
CGS vs GC
MGS Vs BGS
GGS - Bye
dirtycat23
13th May 2005, 14:43
prince i agree, kennedy wont be a worry, d1ckson will be the worry for xavier....can kick goals that kid
D-Mon
13th May 2005, 14:55
if they suck so much then why are you reading a private school's football competition thread and posting waste-of-time comments on it. (How stupid are you?)
prince
13th May 2005, 14:57
hey dirt cat 23 i here magner is playing this week think he will be tagged, if not gonna be an easy 30 possies for him.Cant wait im going to go and watch this match
PJ-Rod
13th May 2005, 16:30
I don't know whether you are from another competition, or just a weirdo who sits at home on his computer, and I don't really care. This is a thread for the Private School Football Competition, if you don't like it, then get the hell of the page, go down to Centerlink and get a job, or go back to your school :mad: .
chapmanmagic35
14th May 2005, 09:50
How tall is Tom Hawkins???
I've seen him before. He was definetly tall then but people have been telling me that he's massive.
PJ-Rod
14th May 2005, 19:09
Melbourne Grammar today defeated Brighton Grammar by 3-4 goals in a tough game at Todd Road. After leading by 45 points at 1/2 hime, Melbourne Gramamar struggled late in the 2nd half, when Brighton decided not to worry about tagging, but actually play football. Best for MGS were Hawkins, Ellis (until knocked out by a BGS thug in the last quarter), Sartori, Paule and Baines (in the ruck). With Sartori, Ellis, Hawkins, Vance and Kruger kicking multiple goals. In other games, the word was that Scotch defeated Carey, 178 to 50. A great start for MGS, and another disappointing loss for Brighton, now 0-2.
PJ-Rod
14th May 2005, 19:09
How tall is Tom Hawkins???
I've seen him before. He was definetly tall then but people have been telling me that he's massive.
195-200cm. With legs like tree trunks.
dirty_cat44
14th May 2005, 19:16
Haileybury led from start to finish and took a 40 point win. Xaviar came hard in the second quarter to get within 5 points of haileybury but there composure and toughness stood out in the second half. Haileybury just much classier and harder at the footy. Xaviar rely on 2 good players, in darvell and kennedy and one dud Tarrant who did nothing, just like his brother.
Good players on the day were Beckwith with 30+ possies, Rebaschini off half back and magner with the lightweight title.
davo4030
14th May 2005, 19:16
Scotch defeated Carey, 178 to 50.
Yeah mate, they absolutely killed them. Rioli kicked 10 from a forward pocket.
tigerT
14th May 2005, 20:03
skevs pumped wesley by abt 80 pts, dont know details yet, will speak to my cuz at a party tonight (plays for skevs)
D-Mon
14th May 2005, 21:02
and another disappointing loss for Brighton, now 0-2.
Yea. Look's like their season is over. (Pity, it couldn't have happened to a nicer, non-arrogant bunch of kids). :D
Marns
14th May 2005, 23:26
Carn Xavvers, pity our talent cant match those idiots down at Haileybury have with luring kids with $$$$
dirty_cat44
15th May 2005, 09:08
Well put Marns, not enough talent. Better go buy some more
dipper920
15th May 2005, 13:37
I voted Xavier just cos i go there
but think we have a chance
with darvall tarrrant and few young guns that might get a game
dal23
15th May 2005, 16:27
well dipper if ya had of seen your schools game yesterday you would of seen them out classed all over the park.. an unstopable onball unit matched with an outstanding back line n forward line was by far a better, tougher, skillful side in the magenta and black
bettsie
15th May 2005, 19:36
Wesley are in alot of trouble this year.
I go there, and am playing 2nds, and i just dont think we have enough good players to win a game to be honest, lots of good tryers, but only a couple match winners.
dal23
15th May 2005, 19:52
saw a great haileybury win yesterday. but they have to travel down to geelong college who are unbeaten this week could it be to hard for them to get over the line down there? wat do u guys think and whos does geelong college have that are capable of winning games off their own boot?
prince
15th May 2005, 20:06
geelong have no one im predicting a haileybury 10 goal win geelong have no one that can win a game off there boot haileybury does with the likes of murry and pylm and flem and magnar and sacuzzo andthe hole team
fevola25_
15th May 2005, 20:18
prince i think two sides have already written off geelong and paid the price (and not by just a few points either) ... haileybury may be another one. Geelong may not have the individual brilliance, but a hardworking team will win a game over a group of star players. i predict geelong by 2 goals in a tight one.
prince
15th May 2005, 20:46
haileybury have the superstars and a hard working team that work as a team of champions. they will destroy geelong and send geelong down the ladder where they belong
D-Mon
16th May 2005, 14:25
haileybury have the superstars and a hard working team that work as a team of champions. they will destroy geelong and send geelong down the ladder where they belong
i hope that haileybury loose two games this year (i don't care to who) so that they can't win the preimership. So arrogant people like you (who support a school who has a higher salary cap than most AFL teams) are put in your place.
dirtycat23
16th May 2005, 17:49
i hope that haileybury loose two games this year (i don't care to who) so that they can't win the preimership. So arrogant people like you (who support a school who has a higher salary cap than most AFL teams) are put in your place.
geeze funny that, from what ive heard haileybury's scholarships are around 200k, when players like crawford riewolt tredrea brown etc are all on 300k a year, dumb comment.....you have the i.q of a piece of wood
D-Mon
16th May 2005, 18:19
dumb comment.....you have the i.q of a piece of wood
That would still be a hell of a lot more than the entire Haileybury midfield group.
dirtycat23
16th May 2005, 18:37
that dominated...the ohh so smart xavier midfield
Chelt_Eagle
16th May 2005, 18:45
How Darvall got a mention within Xaviers midfield is a joke, the kids soft as butter and so arrogant to
chaz051
16th May 2005, 19:11
you blokes got rocks in your heads, scotch are no chance.
na mate, uve underestimated scotch, good, solid and still a chance, carey should definately be bottom material, didnt even put up a fight against scotch.
chaz051
16th May 2005, 19:14
na, hail would have just had a bad day, scotch played them last year in the wet and it wasnt a belting but we werent very convincing either, aps is clearly a better standard.
thats my opinion from watching both leagues
chaz051
16th May 2005, 19:18
na mate, scotch had whitefriars in a pracy and played very well, although both teams no tac cup players and the stars out, scotch still came out on top n whitefriars didnt look special
chapmanmagic35
17th May 2005, 15:31
Xavier have got Scotch this week. That will be a ripper.
bartos
17th May 2005, 16:42
Who do we think will win Scotch for my mind. Just got very good spirit hard at the ball has got its stars Dicky , Smith, Ainger, Rioli, Pike and the Sheetz with just awsome team balance. No arrogece in the team just a team of level headed blokes. look out for jacobs from full forwed and Peters, Ratteray, Green and Davis to get into the Xavier boys all i can say is look out Hailibury. Cause the boys wearing Cardinal, Gold and blue are coming.
slickrick
17th May 2005, 18:47
Exactly how many scolarship players do Hailibury have? Iv'e heard that they even have a couple in the 2nd's.
talent_scout
17th May 2005, 20:35
i think a underrated player that no one really knows about it ned morrison. nephew of Lou Richards, captain of Melbourne Grammar. Maybe not a standout prospect for the future but good player good bloodlines
Fwaygo
18th May 2005, 20:12
Haileybury has consistently produced plenty of their own talent over the years. How else can you explain them sitting undefeated atop the A Grade Amateurs ladder?
Any Caulfield people can point fingers now but wait till the APS athletics.
m.diddy
18th May 2005, 20:56
Haileybury has consistently produced plenty of their own talent over the years. How else can you explain them sitting undefeated atop the A Grade Amateurs ladder?
Any Caulfield people can point fingers now but wait till the APS athletics.
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
You can play amateurs for a side even if you didn't go to the school. By the way amateurs isn't exactly AFL.
danny dickvos
22nd May 2005, 11:57
How do u explain haileybury's seconds being beaten by 50 pts by geelong colleges seconds. Then there firsts won by 40 pts. The lack of depth is bloody obvious. Bit sad for the boys who are playing in the twos for them i think. They obviously arent going to drop any of the scholarship players from the firsts. Its understandable the haileybury seconds didnt even look interested. Poor fellas