View Full Version : Beau McDonald

The Phat Side
29 Apr 2005, 20:36
Hey

I was just wondering if you knew when Beau was gonna be back from injury?

Any feedback appreciated. :)

Maazo
29 Apr 2005, 21:05
I could have been dreaming this, but I think I overheard someone say recently that he had another athroscope done and found a previously unidentified problem that was preventing his knee from healing properly. Back in 7-8 weeks according to the source (what ever it may have been). Don't think we'll see him back in the seniors this year - he'll need at least a month in the magoos.

Anyone else heard anything about this recently?

94_Eagles
29 Apr 2005, 21:13
Hey

I was just wondering if you knew when Beau was gonna be back from injury?

Any feedback appreciated. :)

Beau Waters? Not till round 17 I'm afraid.

Maazo
29 Apr 2005, 21:16
Beau Waters? Not till round 17 I'm afraid.

Are you blind or just trying to be a smartarse?

joshhem
30 Apr 2005, 08:36
7 or 8 weeks....

Tim the Toolman
30 Apr 2005, 10:03
I don't know why they've kept him at Brisbane, in all honesty?

Vidman
30 Apr 2005, 10:08
I don't know why they've kept him at Brisbane, in all honesty?

yes they have shown remarkable patience/loyalty with him. The only thing in his defence is that the new ruck rules probably suit his tap style rather than the keating crash-bash style. If he comes back I could see Keating or even Charman being traded or turned into a permanent forward.

Tim the Toolman
30 Apr 2005, 10:30
I reckon Charmo's got more skills and take a better grab than Beau ever could

campbell
30 Apr 2005, 11:21
I thought it was a bursa.

he is a damned fine ruckman.

I hope he gets better soon, another ruck option.He is far far better then McLaren.

xplo
30 Apr 2005, 11:40
They'll never willingly let Charmo go. He's aggressive and versatile.

But Crackers is here for a good time, not a long time. It would be nice to have Bozo, Betty, Balsa and Charmo fighting for the ruck. Betty can play forward, so he gives you some options. Balsa and Bozo would both offer super tall tap work skills

Tim the Toolman
30 Apr 2005, 13:56
I thought it was a bursa.

he is a damned fine ruckman.

I hope he gets better soon, another ruck option.He is far far better then McLaren.

That's if you consider McLaren a ruck. I thought he must have had a wish to play for the lions granted? :rolleyes:

xplo
30 Apr 2005, 15:05
That's if you consider McLaren a ruck. I thought he must have had a wish to play for the lions granted? :rolleyes:

Maybe that's it. The 'Make-A-Wish Foundation' have us over a barrel. A crook kid somewhere is desperate to see Silly Dilly play 100 games. Makes as much sense as any other explanation as to why he's still getting picked.

The kid tries his heart out, but it's not school sports -- I'd love to take back the 30+ or so games he's played and plug them into Betty, Strawb or Balsa.

campbell
30 Apr 2005, 15:50
McLAren is a dud.Thats the end on my story.

he has had enough goes, I reckon he must have the dirt on a number of selection committee people, no idea how he gets a game.

My 15 year old son who plays ruck is better than he is.

Tim the Toolman
1 May 2005, 14:08
I laughed last night when I told an Essendon supporter mate that McLaren and their lanky ruckman, Laycock, should be wearing "Disabled" stickers whilst they run around and try and pick up the ball.

McLaren did score one very handy goal though and it was worth a laugh as well as applause. I thought he played his best game last night.

xplo
1 May 2005, 16:18
Credit where credit's due. He was good last night. Not much to beat in terms of the ruck though. Laycock will be very good, but he was a carrying the ruck with 3 games under his belt.

In fact, most of the previous week's villains attoned. Crackers was busier than he had been for a while. Notting at least got the footy, although his use of it was average at times. Leppa -- what about that run down the wing? Didn't think he had that sort of pace left.

Really only Brad Scott that struggled.

Maazo
2 May 2005, 18:24
Article on foxsports website (http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,15146159-23211,00.html) about Beau (and other injury news).

Another injury is Tom Logan who dislocated his shoulder for Suncoast in another customary kamikaze attack on the ball