View Full Version : Tasmanian Football Results (April 30 - May 1)

Kingpin
1st May 2005, 20:51
VFL
North Ballarat 12.13.85 - TFC Devils 8.12.60 at North Ballarat Oval

TAC Cup
Tassie Mariners 11.15.81 - Sandringham 11.9.75 at Aurora Stadium

SFL Premier League
North Hobart 26.19.175 - Lauderdale 6.7.43 at North Hobart Oval
New Norfolk 9.10.64 - Glenorchy 8.11.59 at KGV Football Park
Clarence 22.16.148 - Kingborough 7.7.49 at Bellerive Oval
Hobart Lions 6.11.47 - Brighton 5.6.36 at Pontville Oval

SFL Regional League
Cygnet 11.11.77 - Channel 8.15.63 at Snug Park
Dodges Ferry 10.17.77 - Claremont 6.2.38 at Abbotsfield Park
Sorell 11.10.76 - Huonville Lions 10.6.66 at Pembroke Park
Kermandie 11.16.82 - Lindisfarne 12.8.80 at Geeveston Oval

NTFL
South Launceston 13.11.89 - Latrobe 11.14.80 Att: 375 at Latrobe Rec. Ground
Ulverstone 11.12.78 - Smithton 7.12.54 Att: 400 at Ulverstone Rec. Ground
Launceston 10.12.72 - Devonport 9.13.67 Att: 590 at Windsor Park
East Devonport 12.9.81 - Penguin 11.14.80 Att: 395 at Penguin Oval
Burnie 13.17.95 - Wynyard 9.6.60 Att: 600 at West Park

NTFA - Division One
Deloraine 21.15.141 - Bracknell 7.3.45 at Bracknell Football Ground
George Town 15.13.103 - Bridgenorth 4.10.34 at Blue Gum Park
Longford 8.12.60 - Scottsdale 7.11.53 at Longford Oval
Hillwood 14.13.97 - Rocherlea 10.10.70 at Rocherlea Oval

NTFA - Division Two
Campbell Town 20.19.139 - Tamar Cats 13.6.84 at Beauty Point Oval
Perth 15.12.102 - Old Scotch 6.7.43 at Perth Rec. Ground
University/Mowbray 21.19.145 - Old Launcestonians 5.2.32 at NTCA Ground
Fingal Valley 12.9.81 - Evandale 11.11.77 at Fingal Rec. Ground

OSFA
University 18.13.121 - Friends' 7.9.51 at TCA Ground
DOSA 22.17.149 - St Virgil's 6.14.50 at New Town Oval
OHA 23.12.150 - Hutchins 17.16.118 at Queenborough Oval

ODFA
Mt Pleasant 15.21.111 - Triabunna 12.7.79 at Triabunna Rec. Ground
Bothwell 11.9.75 - Oatlands 9.9.63 at Oatlands Oval

NEFU
Branxholm 15.17.107 - Bridport 6.10.46 at Branxholm Rec. Ground
Scottsdale Crows 23.21.159 - Ringarooma 2.3.15 at Scottsdale Rec. Ground
Winnaleah 21.13.139 - Lilydale 7.7.49 at Lilydale Oval

NWFA
Wesley Vale 16.16.112 - Turners Beach 14.13.97 at Wesley Vale Oval
Forth 20.9.129 - Spreyton 9.6.60 at Forth Rec. Ground
Rosebery Toorak 9.9.63 - West Ulverstone 5.5.35 at Rosebery Football Ground
East Ulverstone - Motton Preston at East Ulverstone Rec. Ground (Pending)

Darwin FA
Natone 18.10.118 - Cuprona 12.12.84 at Cuprona Football Ground
Queenstown 21.10.136 - Somerset 10.10.70 at Somerset Football Ground
Yolla 20.16.136 - Ridgley 4.6.30 at Yolla Rec. Ground
South Burnie 11.9.75 - Myalla 10.3.63 at Myalla Rec. Ground

Kingpin
1st May 2005, 22:42
http://www.southernfootball.com.au/images/AFLSthTasmaniaToyota.jpg
Sunday Tasmanian May: 1st 2005 - Eagles lucky to escape with victory
By David Stockdale

New Norfolk maintained its unbeaten record in the Southern Premier League yesterday, but not before Glenorchy had inflicted some damage to its reputation.
After young Magpie Jason Webb's snap on goal went wide in the dying moments at KGV, the Eagles escaped with a five-point win, 9.10 (64) to 8.11 (59).
With the Eagles' goalkicking big guns Sean Salter, Adrian Burdon and coach Mathew Smith quiet, it took the move of Matthew Martin to full-forward to kick-start them.
The ox-shouldered Martin used his great strength, sure hands and straight boot to kick four goals and with Michael Thompson provided targets for the smalls to aim at.
Smith, who played despite nursing a broken rib, conceded it was a below-par performance, especially from his highly regarded on-ballers.
"I thought they were reasonably good early, but then they got lazy except for Roger Belcher, who gave us a lift late in the game when we really needed it," he said.
"Overall, we were very lazy and were lucky to get out of jail in the end."
Shane Bonnitcha also was worthy of mention, curbing the potentially explosive Dean Millhouse.
For the Magpies, Jonathon Bowring was a livewire up forward with four goals until quietened by Leigh Post.
Tim Erends, Nathan Foale, Jessie Crouch and Nathan Henley were also good contributors.
While rival coach David Newett was annoyed to lose such a close game, he was pleased at the way his young Magpies took the fight to the ladder-leading Eagles.
"I thought our backline did especially well to keep their forwards so quiet," he said.
"But the one we did find it hard to match up on was Martin, who hurt us in the second half."
The only other close game of the round was at Pontville, where winless Brighton gave its long-suffering supporters some hope in going down to Hobart by 11 points. In a low-scoring affair, the Lions prevailed 6.11 (47) to 5.6 (36).
At Bellerive, a speedy Clarence used the wide spaces to destroy Kingborough by 99 points, 22.16 (148) to 7.7 (49).
Trent Standen and veteran Gavin Cooney did the damage around goals with five and four respectively.
Standen and Stuart Whitelaw provided on-ball drive, while George Stirling worked hard to keep big Chris Joyce goalless.
In an even bigger blowout, North Hobart crushed Lauderdale by 132 points at league headquarters, 26.19 (175) to 6.7 (43).
Brent Williams and Tom James each booted five goals and Ben Clark four.

Kingpin
1st May 2005, 22:43
http://www.southernfootball.com.au/images/AFLSthTasmaniaToyota.jpg
Sunday Tasmanian: May 1st 2005 - Thomas bags five to get Sorell over line
By Adam Smith

Sorell battled cold, wet and windy conditions as well as a determined Huonville outfit to win a hard-fought Southern Regional League football match at Pembroke Park yesterday.
While the weather never allowed the game to reach any great heights, the Eagles led at every change to win 11.10 (76) to 10.6 (66).
Nathan Thomas proved the difference between the sides, kicking five goals for Sorell at full-forward in the low-scoring encounter.
Eagles coach Anthony McConnon did not hesitate in admitting the most pleasing aspect of the game.
"Actually winning. We didn't play well, we had patches where we were very good and then patches where we were very bad," he said.
Two goals in time-on in the first term and another two early in the second gave the Eagles a three-goal advantage and they threatened to run away with the match.
But the Lions kicked two quick goals to close within eight points.
Another run of three goals allowed the Eagles to open up a handy break just before half-time.
Two goals in time-on from free kicks saw the Lions close the gap to 14 points at the main break.
However, their lack of avenues to goal never allowed them to kick a winning score.
McConnon praised his defensive players, noting the effort they made in the tense final term.
"Our backline was great all day. Without those guys [Josh White, Matty White and Ben Waller] we probably wouldn't have fallen over the line," he said.
Lions coach Michael McGregor was ruing another close loss.
"We're starting to get used to it now -- three weeks in a row," he said. "We couldn't get a contested mark in our forward line and that was the difference. In the second half we had control of the game, but had no marking forwards."
Second-gamer Jarrod Collis was outstanding for the Lions in the midfield, gathering plenty of possessions and kicking one goal.
Cygnet remains undefeated after kicking five goals in the final term to overrun an erratic Channel at Snug, 11.11 (77) to 8.15 (63).
Channel kicked six behinds in the first term to Cygnet's 4.4 and ended up having 23 scoring shots to 22, yet still fell 14 points short.
Dodges Ferry stays in second spot after a comfortable 10.17 (77) to 6.2 (38) victory over the winless Claremont.
Kermandie held on for a thrilling 11.16 (82) to 12.8 (80) win over Lindisfarne at Geeveston.
Lindisfarne hit the front deep into time-on in the final term before Kermandie kicked its only goal for the quarter minutes later to register its second win.

Barge
1st May 2005, 23:28
The Old Scholars clash between DOSA and St Virgils was held at New Town Bike Track not Dominic Oval (love your work otherwise Tiges!).

Dunno how closely many of you follow the Old Scholars but the DOSA Roosters are looking pretty ominous at the minute! Wins over Richmond, OHA and St Virgils by 70 odd, 80 odd and 99 against the previously undefeated Saints makes one wonder can they be stopped?

However, as one source at another club told me recently `They have a very rich tradition of dominating all season and then come September they go the big choke!'

On most recent seasons, must agree!

Megan
1st May 2005, 23:40
I wish the NEFU would update their freaking site once in awhile...

Kingpin
2nd May 2005, 01:22
The Old Scholars clash between DOSA and St Virgils was held at New Town Bike Track not Dominic Oval (love your work otherwise Tiges!).

Dunno how closely many of you follow the Old Scholars but the DOSA Roosters are looking pretty ominous at the minute! Wins over Richmond, OHA and St Virgils by 70 odd, 80 odd and 99 against the previously undefeated Saints makes one wonder can they be stopped?

However, as one source at another club told me recently `They have a very rich tradition of dominating all season and then come September they go the big choke!'

On most recent seasons, must agree!

Oops - only just noticed that...LOL :D
Yeah the Roosters are doing really well at this stage. St Virgil's have fallen away in recent years, used to be a strong outfit once.

Kingpin
2nd May 2005, 01:28
I wish the NEFU would update their freaking site once in awhile...
I never even knew that they even had a website, until you told me. :cool:

Kingpin
3rd May 2005, 17:45
SFL Premier League - Round 4

Glenorchy v New Norfolk at KGV Football Park
NNfk: 2.4 - 4.5 - 7.6 - 9.10.64
Glen: 1.1 - 6.6 - 6.8 - 8.11.59
Goals: (NN) Martin 5, Clayton 1, Thompson 1, Salter 1, Parker 1
Goals: (GL) Bowring 4, Bennetts 2, Glen 1, Kamaric 1
Reserves: New Norfolk 15.15.105 - Glenorchy 11.8.74
Under 19: Glenorchy 11.11.77 - New Norfolk 11.7.73

North Hobart v Lauderdale at North Hobart Oval
NHob: 8.4 - 10.7 - 15.14 - 26.19.175
Laud: 1.1 - 2.2 - 5.4 - 6.7.43
Goals: (NH) Williams 5, James 5, Clark 4, Cochrane 2, Fisher 2, Long 2, Bielski 1, Devine 1, Smith 1, Cumming 1, Palmer 1, Marshall 1
Goals: (LA) Mayne 1, Matthews 1, Hudson 1, Pacey 1, Allen 1, Stewart 1
Reserves: North Hobart 23.24.162 - Lauderdale 2.1.13
Under 19: Lauderdale 12.9.81 - North Hobart 9.6.60

Clarence v Kingborough at Bellerive Oval
Clar: 4.5 - 9.12 - 13.14 - 22.16.148
King: 1.1 - 4.2 - 4.3 - 7.7.49
Goals: (CL) Standen 5, Cooney 4, Leitch 3, Paine 3, O'Toole 2, Read 1, Whitelaw 1, Ellis 1, Tamlyn 1
Goals: (KB) Philp 2, Booth 1, Jones 1, Steele 1, Lamprill 1, De Gooyer 1
Reserves: Clarence 13.8.86 - Kingborough 10.13.73
Under 19: Kingborough 9.10.64 - Clarence 9.7.61

Brighton v Hobart Lions at Pontville Oval
Hobt: 4.5 - 4.8 - 5.11 - 6.11.47
Bton: 0.0 - 2.3 - 3.3 - 5.6.36
Goals: (HB) Nibbs 2, Cassidy 1, Hartnett 1, Lemm 1, S.Gray 1
Goals: (BR) Stevenson 2, Splann 1, Delaney 1, Lynd 1
Reserves: Hobart Lions 15.16.106 - Brighton 3.2.20
Under 19: Hobart defeated Brighton on forfeit

SFL Premier League Ladder - Round 4
New Norfolk..........4-0-0 (408-313 = 130.35%)..16
North Hobart.........3-1-0 (549-286 = 191.95%)..12
Clarence...............3-1-0 (514-341 = 150.73%)..12
Glenorchy..............2-2-0 (383-381 = 100.32%)...8
Lauderdale.............2-2-0 (388-437 = 91.07%)....8

SFL Premier League Leading Goalkickers
C.Joyce - Kingborough - (0) 14
R.Devine - North Hobart - (1) 13
J.Bowring - Glenorchy - (4) 13
S.Salter - New Norfolk - (1) 12

Kingpin
3rd May 2005, 18:23
SFL Regional League - Round 5

Channel v Cygnet at Snug Park
Cygt: 4.4 - 5.7 - 6.10 - 11.11.77
Chan: 0.6 - 3.9 - 7.12 - 8.15.63
Goals: (CY) Darcy 2, Cole 2, Synnott 2, D.Dillon 1, Coulson 1, Fahey 1, Walter 1, Bone 1
Goals: (CH) Chilcott 3, Bowes 3, McGuire 1, Haas 1
Reserves: Channel 14.8.92 - Cygnet 6.6.42
Under 17: Cygnet 9.18.72 - Channel 5.6.36

Claremont v Dodges Ferry at Abbotsfield Park
DFerr: 2.1 - 3.6 - 6.9 - 10.17.77
Cmnt: 2.0 - 3.1 - 5.1 - 6.2.38
Goals: (DF) M.Wiggins 5, J.Wiggins 2, O'Neill 1, James 1, Close 1
Goals: (CM) Watson 2, Brooks 1, Honey 1, Webster 1, Burns 1
Reserves: Dodges 17.17.119 - Claremont 4.3.27
Under 17: Dodges Ferry defeat Claremont on forfeit

Sorell v Huonville Lions at Pembroke Park
Sorell: 3.3 - 8.6 - 10.7 - 11.10.76
Huon: 2.2 - 6.4 - 9.5 - 10.6.66
Goals: (SO) Thomas 5, Haw 1, J.Westbury 1, N.Westbury 1, Donahue 1, Barwin 1, Craik 1
Goals: (HU) Martin 3, Bell 2, Collis 1, Conlan 1, Rick Lovell 1, Jones 1, Sullivan 1
Reserves: Sorell 14.12.96 - Huonville 3.3.21
Under 17: No Match Played

Kermandie v Lindisfarne at Geeveston Oval
Kerm: 4.4 - 9.10 - 10.11 - 11.16.82
Lindf: 2.1 - 8.1 - 10.5 - 12.8.80
Goals: (KE) Bernes 2, Baker 1, Nicholls 1, Nash 1, Greene 1, Lorkin 1, Kaye 1, Fehlberg 1, Pepper 1, Adams 1
Goals: (LF) Bennett 4, Goodsell 2, Thompson 2, Menzie 1, Fleming 1, Fowler 1, Rutherford 1
Reserves: Lindisfarne 13.19.97 - Kermandie 7.4.46
Under 17: Lindisfarne defeated Kermandie on forfeit

SFL Regional League Ladder - Round 5
Cygnet.............5-0-0 (536-383 = 139.94%)....20
Dodges Ferry.....4-1-0 (541-378 = 143.12%)....16
Lindisfarne........3-2-0 (554-499 = 111.44%)....12
Sorell...............3-2-0 (434-478 = 90.79%)......12
Huonville Lions...2-3-0 (522-419 = 124.58%).....8

SFL Regional League Leading Goalkickers
M.Darcy - Cygnet.....................(2) 25
J.Bennett - Lindisfarne...............(4) 15
M.McCulloch - Huonville Lions......(0) 15
J.Howe - Dodges Ferry...............(0) 14

WCL
3rd May 2005, 18:34
pretty unpredictable in the Prem League with Glenorchy getting belted by Clarence and then losing be a slender margin to New Norfolk after New Norfolk belted clarence. Along with North Hobarts fantastic form a good finals series is in the making. The league seems to be much more even this year (except Brighton) with all teams having a win and all very competitive matches.

The Doctor '73
3rd May 2005, 19:29
Unfortunately, and as much as I hate to admit it, you can never count Clarance out of the finals picture. It seems a bit of a familiar picture at the moment with New Norfolk beating all that come in front of them but showing a couple of small signs of weakness as the weeks go on, and Clarance just lurking quitely in the background happy to have New Norfolk be considered the premiership favourites. I really hope that history doesn’t repeat itself with New Norfolk chokeing in the finals, right when Clarance hit their stride.

Unfortunately I couldn’t be there at the game but apparently the conditions at Brighton were ridiculous. The wind was that strong that it was nearly impossible to play proper football. I think Claremont is a pretty good ground to play football but unfortunately when its windy there its just as bad if not worse than at Brighton. I remember back a couple of years during a reserves match a Hobart player was kicking for goal at the clubrooms and he got under it a bit and it must have travelled about 10-15 meters forward before the wind got hold of it and ended up travelling about 20 meters behind him!

Kingpin
3rd May 2005, 19:48
Unfortunately, and as much as I hate to admit it, you can never count Clarance out of the finals picture. It seems a bit of a familiar picture at the moment with New Norfolk beating all that come in front of them but showing a couple of small signs of weakness as the weeks go on, and Clarance just lurking quitely in the background happy to have New Norfolk be considered the premiership favourites. I really hope that history doesn’t repeat itself with New Norfolk chokeing in the finals, right when Clarance hit their stride.

From what I saw of New Norfolk last week, they are good, but nothing special.
Clarence hit half of thier straps, they've got the flag sewn up.

Unfortunately I couldn’t be there at the game but apparently the conditions at Brighton were ridiculous. The wind was that strong that it was nearly impossible to play proper football. I think Claremont is a pretty good ground to play football but unfortunately when its windy there its just as bad if not worse than at Brighton.
I heard from someone who was there, that it was pretty blowy up there (as it can be at times in such a crap location for a footy ground), but that Lions were missing heaps of players through injury or work committments. They were dreadful apparently.
Also heard that Hobart didn't have enough jumpers to go around still :rolleyes: *feigns surprised look* and that some players are still having to double-up wearing jumpers from the different grades.
I thought Brisbane were supposed to be "giving Hobart lots and lots of jumpers"?

I remember back a couple of years during a reserves match a Hobart player was kicking for goal at the clubrooms and he got under it a bit and it must have travelled about 10-15 meters forward before the wind got hold of it and ended up travelling about 20 meters behind him!
I remember a match at the TCA Ground in the final roster match of 1998 when Hobart had to beat Claremont to make the finals in the Reserves.
It was a howling windy day, and I think Doc Balcombe (remember him?) marked at the Cottage End and kicked for goal to put Hobart two goals up deep into time on (they led 11.7.73 - 10.7.67 at the time).
As the ball was flying in the air and looking headed for a goal, this enormous gust of wind took the ball, and dragged it back over his head to where a Claremont player marked it, and ran it down the ground. His kick found the Claremont full-forward who marked on the siren.
He goaled - it was a draw 11.7.73 - 11.7.73 - and Hobart missed out on the Reserves finals by 2 premiership points.
Couldn't believe it!!!

The Doctor '73
3rd May 2005, 20:00
Yeah I do remember Doc Balcolme, I got along with him fine but overall I don’t think he was the most popular guy up at the club, due to some questionable incidents that went on during the time that he was there. I don’t know what it is about New Norfolk but no matter how start studded their lineup is there is always that feeling that they could get knocked over. When Clarance are at the top of their game there is not much you can do as an opposition side, although overall Hobart has done pretty well against them in the past few years.

North Hobart are the ones that have surprised me, but then a again I did think that they underperformed last year which is why they are probably having an even greater impact this season. I know your not supporting the current Hobart side Tigers but I’m sure even you would like to see them get up this weekend against Kingston from a personal point of view it would be nice to keep them down this season.

Kingpin
3rd May 2005, 20:28
Yeah I do remember Doc Balcolme, I got along with him fine but overall I don’t think he was the most popular guy up at the club, due to some questionable incidents that went on during the time that he was there.
Yeah, I got on alright with him, I knew there were a few that didn't.
He ended up with Jungle's eldest daughter and they had a kid together. But busted up not long after. I remember a mate and I nearly ran him over in South Hobart late one night about 6 years ago when he was stoned off his nut and staggering around Macquarie Street - close call.
I think he's in the Army now.

I don’t know what it is about New Norfolk but no matter how start studded their lineup is there is always that feeling that they could get knocked over. When Clarance are at the top of their game there is not much you can do as an opposition side, although overall Hobart has done pretty well against them in the past few years.

Yeah Norfik always seem a little brittle. Clarence on the other hand.......
Might be the mindset of the two clubs - the arrogance factor of Clarence (good and know it too, and use that aura to thier advantage), whereas New Norfolk go potty over any win, but always are a bit pessimistic.
One of the best Hobart wins I ever saw was Hobart putting Clarence out in the Prelim Final by a point a couple of years ago. Awesome game of football.

North Hobart are the ones that have surprised me, but then a again I did think that they underperformed last year which is why they are probably having an even greater impact this season.
Had a few internal problems last year apparently. Wasn't a particularly happy club. And it showed out on the field.
I hate the bastards - all they deserve.

I know your not supporting the current Hobart side Tigers but I’m sure even you would like to see them get up this weekend against Kingston from a personal point of view it would be nice to keep them down this season.
I'm not supporting the club because of the vibe of the place now - they are rude, arrogant and disrespectful.
I also am disgusted with the changing of the colours when it was not necessary.

I hope Kingborough lose every game they play. Good luck to the players this weekend in thier endeavours, but I can't lie to you and say I'm really upbeat about it Doc. I'm really quite blazee about it all. I've lost all my passion for Hobart now.
This "Rumble In The Jungle" Cup thing is a waste of time really. I don't think we should have anything to do with them after how they've f*cked us up as a club in the last seven years.
It was a supporters rivalry more than anything with Kingston - most of our traditional Tiger supporters have stopped following the club.
Notice how Kingborough want to play for a Cup now?
For years and years they wanted nothing to do with it, remember the Tiger challenge?
Whoever wins is the Real Tigers until next time - they skulked away.

Image the pressure people like Baker & Lemm and co will be under if they don't win next Saturday?

The Doctor '73
3rd May 2005, 20:59
This "Rumble In The Jungle" Cup thing is a waste of time really. I don't think we should have anything to do with them after how they've f*cked us up as a club in the last seven years.
It was a supporters rivalry more than anything with Kingston - most of our traditional Tiger supporters have stopped following the club.
Notice how Kingborough want to play for a Cup now?

I agree with you totally on this, considering how they acted towards us, we shouldn’t be doing any favours for them whatsoever. By playing for this cup it actually looks like that we consider them to be on a somewhat equal footing which is something that a lot of people in the club have tried to avoid. Even though there has been a bit of feeling between the two clubs over the past 7 years over the tigers issue, there has never been a rivalry between the 2 clubs on the field. Kingston have always tried to talk it up before our matches but as a club we have never been that interested and would rather restore our tradition against the former TFL clubs. I’ve actually always thought that was a good way to really stick to Kingston as they have always had a “big fish” menatality, where we have always considered playing them no more special than playing Brighton, Lauderdale or Sorell.

I’m not trying to say this to sound arrogant but the matches against Brighton, Lauderadale and Kingston always lack that special feeling that what happens when we play against our traditional rival’s of Clarance, Glenorchy, North Hobart and New Norfolk, and that’s coming from both a playing a supporting view point. Plain and simple we just have no history with the other clubs and even though they might be higher on the ladder at times it is hard to get up “mentally” for these games. Even with a cup involved I don’t think that it will create a difference in regards having rivalry, as a club I think we will always consider Kingston to be a huon club that stole our colours due to politics. Even if this is not entirely correct, that’s the menatility and it won’t change for many years to come.

Barge
3rd May 2005, 22:28
Yeah I do remember Doc Balcolme, I got along with him fine but overall I don’t think he was the most popular guy up at the club, due to some questionable incidents that went on during the time that he was there

Good Ol Doc, now there is a different creature. Ended up at Claremont briefly in '03 with another former Hobart Icon - "The Snookanator" Johnanton Snooks (Got any stories about this fella Boys?) - and got a couple of weeks for elbowing a guy in the 2's v Cygnet. Incidentally, Doc was killing them this day, got sent off and we went on to lose a most winnable game to the Apple Pickers by about 9 points.

Anyhow Doc had a Monday night Tribunal appointment. Claims he went to North Hobart and there was no one there (in the location he was told to go). If he did attend, his story sounded like he went to the wrong Grandstand. For his Non-attendance he was gone for 2 games and FINED $200!

$200 for an failing to front to defened an indiscretion from a Regional League Reserves game! Steven Baker and Alan Didak only got done $900 for wrestling in the AFL last Sunday!

None the less, Doc thought the club would pay it on his behalf! AH-A! She's coming out of your sky rocket Son, he was told!

Following this, as he tends to do, Doc disappeared!

He re-appeared last year - AS A BLOODY UMPIRE! Absolutely crucified Claremont during the year, none more so than in the final Reserves roster game v Channel last year (Didn't matter really, Claremont won the spoon, Channel went Runners up - but you get my drift). So much so that when Claremont were finally awarded a free kick in the final term, they cheered him - along with the Channel boys too!

I did notice an `N.Balcombe' in the goal kickers for Hutchins reserves the other week which made me think `Surely not!' Wouldn't he be a break from the mould down there?!

Shame he's a bit of a rattle head at times. While no star, could be a handy player on his day.

Which brings me to my next story about an ex Hobart boy, one A.McVilly.....

My reliable Clarence sources inform me that, after his last two Senior games yielded single figure possessions tallies (and I'm talking about 5 or 6 per game) had Clarence not lost their usual handful to the Mariners, McVilly would have been dropped to the 2's for the game V Kingston (bugger calling them Kingborough, they'll always be Kingston to me!)

As we all know, because he's a little goody two shoes from all accounts and trains hard with the Devils, he was promoted to the `State Side' to play v North Ballarat. Promoted to the VFL with 10-11 possessions in the last fortnight!

And those supporters call for Armstrong's head because of his swearing?

Surely it's his selections that must be looked at?!

The Doctor '73
3rd May 2005, 22:45
Snooksy there's a name I haven't heard in a while. Last time I heard about him was maybe a year or two ago when he turned up for a solitary preseason training run with Hobart - apparently it was in the middle of the drill and he just came from nowhere to take a handpass and give a kick and vanished pretty much soon afterwards. I'm probably not the best person to tell stories about him but there are plenty of them! To say that he's a little different/unique would be completely underestimating him.

Doc Balcolme could be a very decent 2's player, but agree totally that he hasn't got the most stable head on his shoulders.

McVilley was playing in the two's for most of last year at Clarance and wasn't getting many touches in that. If he couldn't get a senior game at his own club how was he expected to be considered one of the elite in the state and play for the Devils? Wouldn't you feel a little embarressed going to training with ex afl players and the best that tasmanian football has to offer while your out their kicking the dew off the grounds and struggling to get a kick in the two's? Then again like Doc Balcome, McViley could not be described as a thinking mans footballer!

Kingpin
3rd May 2005, 23:21
I agree with you totally on this, considering how they acted towards us, we shouldn’t be doing any favours for them whatsoever. By playing for this cup it actually looks like that we consider them to be on a somewhat equal footing which is something that a lot of people in the club have tried to avoid. Even though there has been a bit of feeling between the two clubs over the past 7 years over the tigers issue, there has never been a rivalry between the 2 clubs on the field. Kingston have always tried to talk it up before our matches but as a club we have never been that interested and would rather restore our tradition against the former TFL clubs. I’ve actually always thought that was a good way to really stick to Kingston as they have always had a “big fish” menatality, where we have always considered playing them no more special than playing Brighton, Lauderdale or Sorell.

I’m not trying to say this to sound arrogant but the matches against Brighton, Lauderadale and Kingston always lack that special feeling that what happens when we play against our traditional rival’s of Clarance, Glenorchy, North Hobart and New Norfolk, and that’s coming from both a playing a supporting view point. Plain and simple we just have no history with the other clubs and even though they might be higher on the ladder at times it is hard to get up “mentally” for these games. Even with a cup involved I don’t think that it will create a difference in regards having rivalry, as a club I think we will always consider Kingston to be a huon club that stole our colours due to politics. Even if this is not entirely correct, that’s the menatility and it won’t change for many years to come.

You know what Kingston remind me of the most?
That little geeky kid at school with the glasses and bad haircut, that constantly hangs around like flies to sh*t with the bigger kids, trying to get in with them. Trying to act all tough while the bigger kids are all around, trying to get noticed, trying to "make a name" for themselves.
But deep down they know full well that they'll never be one of the bigger kids, they'll know that they never be fully accepted as one, and they'll try every little trick in the book to get accepted.
And when they get challenged, they run crying like the little sooks that they are to the teacher or thier "big mates" and dob all the time.

Hobart Tigers >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Kingston.

wattsy
3rd May 2005, 23:36
The Burnie Payne Cup.
Hard to understand why it is the Payne Cup as Bernie has no connection with the Lions colours although he is past Kingston coach all it does is draw the public attention to give a false impression that the black and gold and the maroons are now one happy family.
As far as rivalry is concerned well you never offer the oppostion you hand as is the case when the magnificent 71 voted to rescind the soul of the Hobart football club on the 1 dec .
It is in front of the club come saturday i couldnt care less who wins as both boards are tied to the one brush and i will not recongnize Hobart until the 14 th May when they will be the true Hobart football club until then .......

Kingpin
3rd May 2005, 23:41
Good Ol Doc, now there is a different creature. Ended up at Claremont briefly in '03 with another former Hobart Icon - "The Snookanator" Johnanton Snooks (Got any stories about this fella Boys?) - and got a couple of weeks for elbowing a guy in the 2's v Cygnet. Incidentally, Doc was killing them this day, got sent off and we went on to lose a most winnable game to the Apple Pickers by about 9 points.
Anyhow Doc had a Monday night Tribunal appointment. Claims he went to North Hobart and there was no one there (in the location he was told to go). If he did attend, his story sounded like he went to the wrong Grandstand. For his Non-attendance he was gone for 2 games and FINED $200!

Hehehe yeah that sounds like Doc!! :D
Snooksie, I didn't know all that well to be honest. They reckon he was a funny bastard though.

$200 for an failing to front to defened an indiscretion from a Regional League Reserves game! Steven Baker and Alan Didak only got done $900 for wrestling in the AFL last Sunday!
Sounds like the SFL "trying" to be all professional. It doesn't work though.
I remember a match at Kermandie once where a Bushrangers reserves player
(Ben Greene I think it was) punched "Rabbit" Evans unconscious waiting for a throw in.
The umpire refused to report him for it, because he didn't want to drive to Hobart during the week, and subsequently abandoned the match!!!

None the less, Doc thought the club would pay it on his behalf! AH-A! She's coming out of your sky rocket Son, he was told!

Following this, as he tends to do, Doc disappeared!
HAHAHA as he does.

He re-appeared last year - AS A BLOODY UMPIRE! Absolutely crucified Claremont during the year, none more so than in the final Reserves roster game v Channel last year (Didn't matter really, Claremont won the spoon, Channel went Runners up - but you get my drift). So much so that when Claremont were finally awarded a free kick in the final term, they cheered him - along with the Channel boys too!
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :D

I did notice an `N.Balcombe' in the goal kickers for Hutchins reserves the other week which made me think `Surely not!' Wouldn't he be a break from the mould down there?!
She's pretty open slather in the Scholars now, it might be him!!
I'll have to a bit of digging.

Which brings me to my next story about an ex Hobart boy, one A.McVilly.....

My reliable Clarence sources inform me that, after his last two Senior games yielded single figure possessions tallies (and I'm talking about 5 or 6 per game) had Clarence not lost their usual handful to the Mariners, McVilly would have been dropped to the 2's for the game V Kingston (bugger calling them Kingborough, they'll always be Kingston to me!)

As we all know, because he's a little goody two shoes from all accounts and trains hard with the Devils, he was promoted to the `State Side' to play v North Ballarat. Promoted to the VFL with 10-11 possessions in the last fortnight!

He wasn't even a standout player in Hobart's 1997 TFL that never won a single game. If he was any good he would have made an impact there.
He's never done much at Clarence either from what I've observed of him.
He wasn't all that good at the Southern Cats either.
He gets a game with the Devils because he plays for Clarence, plain and simple.
One of the nicey pie, goody two shoes, Clarence set.

And those supporters call for Armstrong's head because of his swearing?
Surely it's his selections that must be looked at?!

Hehehehe I laughed loudly at the TV Saturday night when I saw they'd lost again on the news.
I knew we'd get the full excuse list on Monday night on WIN Local News, and we'll get it all week in the paper.
You watch, they'll open up the chequebook for next year and spend all that AFL money that is supposed to be used on the sport here, and splash out on ex-AFL imports from the mainland.
They'll get funding to play practice matches on the mainland at the expense of local footy.
You just watch 'em.

Kingpin
4th May 2005, 00:15
The Burnie Payne Cup.
Hard to understand why it is the Payne Cup as Bernie has no connection with the Lions colours
A great former player. One of Hobart's finest in fact.
He walked out on Hobart during the mid 1980's and has hardly been seen at the club since. It had something to do with the way his sons were treated by the club when they played up there.
He's getting some attention now from the board, and is liking it, as you do.
The only time Payne comes out in the media to talk about Hobart is when he reckons they ought merge with some other club.
IE: 1996/97 Mercury article stating Hobart should merge with Clarence, North Hobart or Sandy Bay.
I respect his playing ability and contribution to the club immensely, but not the man himself.

although he is past Kingston coach all it does is draw the public attention to give a false impression that the black and gold and the maroons are now one happy family.
Yes. And that is what makes angry the most. This "we're all friends now" sh*t, that the Hobart board is putting out.
Maybe they could play for a nice, soft, pink teddy bear as a prize.
I will hate those c*nts to my grave.

As far as rivalry is concerned well you never offer the oppostion you hand as is the case when the magnificent 71 voted to rescind the soul of the Hobart football club on the 1 dec.
They would.

It is in front of the club come saturday i couldnt care less who wins as both boards are tied to the one brush and i will not recongnize Hobart until the 14 th May when they will be the true Hobart football club until then .......
Yes it's all too "lets hold hands and be friends" for my liking.
We know that at least two of the higher-up HFC board of directors work in the same building as a couple of Kingborough "higher-up's" and regulary meet and chat.
It's all to cosy and conveniant. I too, no longer recognise Hobart Football Club. This Hobart Lions in my opinion is a cardboard cut-out of the original Hobart - minus playing strip, minus colours, minus emblem, minus characters, minus soul, minus values, of the original.
Even the 14th May it won't be the true Hobart Football Club. That club went with all the characters and spirit it once had.

Kingpin
4th May 2005, 11:19
Any of you blokes happen to catch that article in The Muckery today regarding the Devils losing members?

That article itself and some of the comments by Scott Wade regarding trying to get the supporters of Clarence, Glenorchy & North Hobart into supporting the Devils just reiterates what quite a few of us have been saying all along - that the Devils and AFL Tasmania's sole interest is the Devils, and that they are willing to let local football and the member clubs die to feed thier frenzy for elite level competition.

Disgraceful.

wattsy
4th May 2005, 11:39
With out vision
The people perish.

pekay-norwest
4th May 2005, 16:40
hey Tiger1945,should we call you Mr Wolf or just Winston?

wattsy
4th May 2005, 17:55
Looks like the Devils running on low.
Received cons last year with the number of home games whether this is a factor may be not so.
This VFL compo is seriously faster due to the rule changes with players down from the afl breeding the pace into their reserves.
Also on appearances and results so far the guts of the sides has improved dramatically the Bendigo team a example.
Adminastrators make decsions with out forth site in this state to often maybe a non football commercial board is needed to give the leadership required.

The Doctor '73
4th May 2005, 18:03
"We also need to make people who support community footy, like the Glenorchy, Clarence and North Hobart supporters, to have them support the Devils,'' Wade said.
"We are not competing with that market, we are actually complementing it.”

How the hell are they complementing the market and not competeing against the SFL, when they insist on playing games on the same day as the local teams, thereby creating the situation where people have to choose between the two?

It stuff like this that make me not want to support the Devils, as like I have said previously all they want to do is take and not give anything back to local football. I wouldn’t be upset at all if Wade said something at the end of that first line like “just as we want the devils supporters to also support their local teams”, but I doubt you would ever hear that from any of the people involved with Football Tasmania. This is not a gripe at the devils players or the devils coaches but the people in charge of football in Tasmania, it is because of them why I take absolutley no interest in the Devils whatsoever.

The only people that are left supporting the local teams are the diehards and if you take them away from the clubs then the league will probably fold, but as long as they get another 50 people to a devils match then I suppose it would have been worth it!

Barge
4th May 2005, 19:05
"We also need to make people who support community footy, like the Glenorchy, Clarence and North Hobart supporters, to have them support the Devils,'' Wade said.

Wonder why Wade mentioned these `communty clubs' and not real community clubs like Sorell, Channel or Brighton for example?

The Doctor '73
4th May 2005, 19:25
Wonder why Wade mentioned these `communty clubs' and not real community clubs like Sorell, Channel or Brighton for example?

I doubt he would know who these clubs are considering how little he does for them.

bakerman
4th May 2005, 20:15
That little geeky kid at school with the glasses and bad haircut, that constantly hangs around like flies to sh*t with the bigger kids, trying to get in with them. Trying to act all tough while the bigger kids are all around, trying to get noticed, trying to "make a name" for themselves.
But deep down they know full well that they'll never be one of the bigger kids, they'll know that they never be fully accepted as one, and they'll try every little trick in the book to get accepted.
And when they get challenged, they run crying like the little sooks that they are to the teacher or thier "big mates" and dob all the time.

This shi ts me. You blokes slagging off a team for the reason the, what, "they stole our identity". Have a listen and read what you are writing then read the above thread. Hobart abd supporters are the ones runninh to the teacher saying, "they are picking on me" for fu ck sake, build that bridge and get over it. It is starting to wear thin now.
I bet you guys have never put the bloody Hobart jumper on. I can understand you are ******** ed off but stop running to the bloody teacher. The club is still alive and Kingston were 1 of the clubs that helped them survive so stop winging.

Now it will be a good game on Sat Hob Vs Kingston how about supporting your club and winge to them, not Kinbgston.

bakerman
4th May 2005, 20:16

This shi ts me. You blokes slagging off a team for the reason what, "they stole our identity". Have a listen and read what you are writing then read the above thread. Hobart bad supporters are the ones running to the teacher saying, "they are picking on me" for fu ck sake, build that bridge and get over it. It is starting to wear thin now.
I bet you guys have never put the bloody Hobart jumper on. I can understand you are ******** ed off but stop running to the bloody teacher. The club is still alive and Kingston were 1 of the clubs that helped them survive so stop winging.

Now it will be a good game on Sat Hob Vs Kingston how about supporting your club and winge to them, not Kinbgston.

wattsy
4th May 2005, 21:16
Kingston help Hobart survive absolute non sense.
The Hobart football club members voted to apply to join the then sfl for season 1998 as against remaining a chopping block in the statewide league and adhereing to the policys of Kent .
Sub the club was admitted on the vote of regional delegates but in the process unfortunately forgot to cross the ts and dot the eyes in the process .
The Kingston club started a campain boarding on plain childness when they had no legal right to make or force any changes within the Hobart football club and so i cannot understand you claim of any help from Kingston or the others.
Unfortunatley the last Hobart special and agm meetings will remain a doubtful substance long into the future and there will always be the chance to challenge the changes.

bakerman
4th May 2005, 21:35
Kingston help Hobart survive absolute non sense.
The Hobart football club members voted to apply to join the then sfl for season 1998 as against remaining a chopping block in the statewide league and adhereing to the policys of Kent .
Sub the club was admitted on the vote of regional delegates but in the process unfortunately forgot to cross the ts and dot the eyes in the process .
The Kingston club started a campain boarding on plain childness when they had no legal right to make or force any changes within the Hobart football club and so i cannot understand you claim of any help from Kingston or the others.
Unfortunatley the last Hobart special and agm meetings will remain a doubtful substance long into the future and there will always be the chance to challenge the changes.

Wattsy, Kingston was 1 of the clubs to vote if Hobart joined the competioion, Right ?

Besided Hobart were getting flogged in the statewide comp and were like Brighton, they would of folded like Sandy Bay.
Get over it. Hobart are still alive and I think you all should be greatful for that.

The Doctor '73
4th May 2005, 21:43
This shi ts me. You blokes slagging off a team for the reason what, "they stole our identity". Have a listen and read what you are writing then read the above thread. Hobart bad supporters are the ones running to the teacher saying, "they are picking on me" for fu ck sake, build that bridge and get over it. It is starting to wear thin now.

Which teacher are we running to? We can’t run to Morrison as he is a Kingston supporter!

How come for 7 years Kingston couldn’t build a bridge and get over the fact that Hobart just wanted to retain their traditions by playing in their old colours and by known as the emblem that they carried for over 50 years? Only when Kingston help to defeat this request and could say to themselves “yes were the only tigers left” would they have anything to do with Hobart.

If you want to talk about winging I could write a long article about all the petty things that Kingston tried to enforce against Hobart over the last 7 years such as things so stupid as having to officially call the annual Hobart ball the gold and black ball rather than black and gold ball – because apparently they had the rights to the term black and gold. Or after another Hobart victory down at “The Pit” where Hobart sang the words to their tradional song (Which I might add was lent genourously to Kingston and they took as their own song for many years) which apparently infuriated the president of the Kingston so much that he had to cry to SFL to get it changed. The reason for this was because that it made mention of the word “tigers” once during the song. We were actually going to lose 4 premiership points if we were heard to use this line again! That doesn’t sound like wineing to me!

Kingston never stole Hobart’s identity, what they did do was to help prevent Hobart from retaining their identity. Kingston could NEVER steal Hobart identity. A proud and distinguished identity of playing in the best competition in the state, winning multiple premierships at the highest level and producing many AFL players. Kingston identity of being a former Huon club who play on a sub standard ground, whose playing group consited of ex TFL players past their prime or blokes just not good enough or willing to make it or test themselves in the top level still remains with them and will ALWAYS remain with them.

I still support the Hobart football club and have worn the Hobart jumper out on the field. I hope we win this week but I’ll be looking forward to the next week even more when we get to wear our proper kit and play against a traditional rival, a team we have a history against.

bakerman
4th May 2005, 22:12

Which teacher are we running to? We can’t run to Morrison as he is a Kingston supporter!

How come for 7 years Kingston couldn’t build a bridge and get over the fact that Hobart just wanted to retain their traditions by playing in their old colours and by known as the emblem that they carried for over 50 years? Only when Kingston help to defeat this request and could say to themselves “yes were the only tigers left” would they have anything to do with Hobart.

If you want to talk about winging I could write a long article about all the petty things that Kingston tried to enforce against Hobart over the last 7 years such as things so stupid as having to officially call the annual Hobart ball the gold and black ball rather than black and gold ball – because apparently they had the rights to the term black and gold. Or after another Hobart victory down at “The Pit” where Hobart sang the words to their tradional song (Which I might add was lent genourously to Kingston and they took as their own song for many years) which apparently infuriated the president of the Kingston so much that he had to cry to SFL to get it changed. The reason for this was because that it made mention of the word “tigers” once during the song. We were actually going to lose 4 premiership points if we were heard to use this line again! That doesn’t sound like wineing to me!

Kingston never stole Hobart’s identity, what they did do was to help prevent Hobart from retaining their identity. Kingston could NEVER steal Hobart identity. A proud and distinguished identity of playing in the best competition in the state, winning multiple premierships at the highest level and producing many AFL players. Kingston identity of being a former Huon club who play on a sub standard ground, whose playing group consited of ex TFL players past their prime or blokes just not good enough or willing to make it or test themselves in the top level still remains with them and will ALWAYS remain with them.

I still support the Hobart football club and have worn the Hobart jumper out on the field. I hope we win this week but I’ll be looking forward to the next week even more when we get to wear our proper kit and play against a traditional rival, a team we have a history against.

Good on you and the Hobart LOONS that is right LOONS not Lions.

If you want to get petty, lets bring in the old zone process. You would not of had Andrew Lamprill, no Dickson, Gray and the list is longer than the complaints Hobart have with Kingston.

If you read what I have posted over the years I have been all for Hobart and keeping the Tiger and just wearing a different jumper ask TIGER we have had many chats about it, but how can you say it is Kingston's fault ???
I followed Hobart in the old TANFL days so to come back at me like that is crap. Go and get f u c k e d.

bakerman
4th May 2005, 22:40
This is how good Hobart are travelling, soon they will have to leave the competition and play in the regional league.

From Southernfootball.com.au
Brighton FC message.

Last weeks game saw a close encounter with Hobart under very windy conditions with Hobart holding on to win by 11 points. It was a much improved performance by our team and we look forward to more close games with us being on the winning side. If you are a player, who has not yet committed to a club, drop in or call and have a chat with our coaching staff and we will make you most welcome. Call Garry Splann on 0439 741 624, Marcus Drew 0419 136 075 or Leigh Gray 0418 123 785.

This is a club who need players and lost to Hobart by 11 points. We have to laughable teams in the competition.
Looks to me just like the old says in the statewide.

The Doctor '73
4th May 2005, 22:53

If you want to get petty, lets bring in the old zone process. You would not of had Andrew Lamprill, no Dickson, Gray and the list is longer than the complaints Hobart have with Kingston.

If you read what I have posted over the years I have been all for Hobart and keeping the Tiger and just wearing a different jumper ask TIGER we have had many chats about it, but how can you say it is Kingston's fault ???
I followed Hobart in the old TANFL days so to come back at me like that is crap. Go and get f u c k e d.

Mate I don’t want to get in argument with you, and if you have read previous posts of mine you will see that I also have said that I think that Hobart should wear a different jumper just as I think that Kingston should also be able to retain their former traditions. My point was that you accused Hobart and their supporters of Whineing and I was just pointing out the fact that it wasn’t completely one sided affair. I don’t blame most of the Kingston players and I don’t blame most of their supporters but there are some at the top of the club who can be considered way more guilty of complaining to the SFL for the most stupid and petty of things.

Hobart up until our entry into the SFL had no complaints with Kingston, and I myself went for Kingston in the old Huon competetion – so don’t think that I have always had it in for them. I wouldn’t be as annoyed with them if they were willing to have a talk with the Hobart football club and help come up with a workable comparimise but unfortuantely according to my reliable sources they were never willing to do this. Maybe you might say that they didn’t have to do this and maybe they didn’t, but to carry on the way that they did over just stupid little things such as the naming of the ball was just pathetic and it has effected my whole opinion of the club which is unfortunate as like I said as I have never had anything against the Kingston football club before and I know some very good people that have come from there.

You also accused us of never wearing the jumper of which I felt it right to correct you. My message was not a personal attack on you and if you read what I wrote you should be able to see that I only argued against your points about Hobart being considered whiners and that we needed to “build a bridge and get over it”, if you want to take it as a personal attack then I guess that’s just your problem.

Barge
4th May 2005, 23:00
Getting away from the Tigers argument, did anyone catch the Justin Sherman article in the paper today. Said something along the lines of ............

Sherman says playing for Clarence prepared him for the rigours of the AFL, playing in a hard, tough, physical league - or words to that effect.

Now if the SFL Premier League is of a tough, physical standard that prepares you for AFL footy then I'm dutch!

The Doctor '73
4th May 2005, 23:03
Getting away from the Tigers argument, did anyone catch the Justin Sherman article in the paper today. Said something along the lines of ............

Sherman says playing for Clarence prepared him for the rigours of the AFL, playing in a hard, tough, physical league - or words to that effect.

Now if the SFL Premier League is of a tough, physical standard that prepares you for AFL footy then I'm dutch!

I agree, but that's proberbly the biggest promotion we've ever had of the SFL Priemer League!

Kingpin
5th May 2005, 00:26
This is how good Hobart are travelling, soon they will have to leave the competition and play in the regional league.

From Southernfootball.com.au
Brighton FC message.

Last weeks game saw a close encounter with Hobart under very windy conditions with Hobart holding on to win by 11 points. It was a much improved performance by our team and we look forward to more close games with us being on the winning side. If you are a player, who has not yet committed to a club, drop in or call and have a chat with our coaching staff and we will make you most welcome. Call Garry Splann on 0439 741 624, Marcus Drew 0419 136 075 or Leigh Gray 0418 123 785.

This is a club who need players and lost to Hobart by 11 points. We have to laughable teams in the competition.
Looks to me just like the old says in the statewide.

New Norfolk..........4-0-0 (408-353 = 115.58%)..16
Glenorchy..............2-2-0 (383-381 = 100.52%)...8
Lauderdale.............2-2-0 (388-437 = 88.78%)....8

Kingpin
5th May 2005, 00:45
This shi ts me. You blokes slagging off a team for the reason what, "they stole our identity".
They didn't steal our identity, they whined incessantly to the point of almost killing the Hobart Football Club, and denying it from ever reaching any potential it could ever reach in the SFL with pathetic little arguments.
By the way too, my great-great uncle was on the board of directors at Hobart in 1948 and actually helped raise funds for Kingston, and actually donated to them sets of jumpers to them on more than one occasion.

Have a listen and read what you are writing then read the above thread. Hobart bad supporters are the ones running to the teacher saying, "they are picking on me" for fu ck sake, build that bridge and get over it. It is starting to wear thin now.
I stand by absolutely everything I said. You being a Kingston supporter wouldn't have ever been in the position of knowing how some of those board member cretins down there have acted over the years towards Hobart. I have been in an official position, and seen it, and heard it. It wore thin 5 years ago for me.

I bet you guys have never put the bloody Hobart jumper on.
Your point being?

I can understand you are ******** ed off but stop running to the bloody teacher. The club is still alive and Kingston were 1 of the clubs that helped them survive so stop winging.
Yeah bloody oath I'm p*ssed off. I'm p*ssed off at seeing this crap that Hobart currently is.
Hobart hasn't run to class teacher Mr Noel Morrison have they? That's why the supporters are so angry with the board.
But why shouldn't we? It's alright for Kingston, they've got everything intact - Hobart on the other hand has sod all left.
It's a shell of a football club.
When the very existence of a proud football club is in jeopardy because of narrow-mindedness, politics and bullsh|t - you can stake your life on it, that the voices won't stop.

We've told the club how we all feel, that's why we won't be there.
My club doesn't exist anymore.

Kingpin
5th May 2005, 00:48
hey Tiger1945,should we call you Mr Wolf or just Winston?

You may call me Winston :D
Oh and I'll have my coffee with lotsa cream, lotsa sugar :D

Kingpin
5th May 2005, 01:06
I like the term LIARS better.

Honestly, would Lamprill have been drafted to the AFL through Kingston? Hmmmmmmmm - No.
Dickson & Gray - jingle sparkles.
What else?

If you read what I have posted over the years I have been all for Hobart and keeping the Tiger and just wearing a different jumper ask TIGER we have had many chats about it,
That's correct, but I'm not arguing with you, my argument is with the Boards of Kingston for thier pettiness, Hobart's for the weakness and the SFL's for thier brickwall mentality.

but how can you say it is Kingston's fault???
Got a spare six months?
Brighton never had problems with Kermandie having Red & Blue clubrooms, having a photo of a Robin in thier clubrooms, but not Kingston.
They (Kingston) even ordered things be taken down inside our own changerooms and bar for christ's sake.
We weren't even allowed to display our premiership flags in our own clubrooms because they had a Tiger's head on them.

I followed Hobart in the old TANFL days so to come back at me like that is crap.
So? I (and many, many other Hobart supporters) followed Kingston in the old Huon Association, but that never stopped Kingston from insulting our club, our fans, our history, our colours did it?
No, that's right - it didn't.

Go and get f u c k e d.
Resists...................temptation....................to.. .................make................rude.............joke.. ................here :o

Kingpin
5th May 2005, 01:38
The Mercury: Wednesday 4th May 2005 - Judgment days. Devils warn on lack of members
By Brett Stubbs

Tasmania will never have an AFL presence unless it can fully support the Devils.
AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade says the Devils membership drive has stagnated, causing the same effect on the club's long-term future and that of football in the state.
He said about 1700 members had signed on this year and, despite the poor start that sees the Devils winless and on the bottom of the ladder, the figure is slightly higher than last season.
"But the rate of growth hasn't been what we would like it to be,'' Wade said yesterday.
"I don't think people have any idea how important Devils memberships are to the future direction of Tasmanian football.
"There are a lot of people out there who would love to see Tasmania have a team in the AFL.
"But if we can't get people to support the Devils, I doubt we will ever have a team. It is that basic.''
Wade said memberships were a key performance indicator for the club's ability to go forward.
"What if we could get 5000 to 10,000 paid-up members?'' he said.
"We would have the highest membership base of any club outside the AFL, and more than half of some of the AFL clubs.
"If membership is a key indicator, which it clearly is, most AFL clubs would be unsatisfied with less than 20,000.
"But we have only got about 2000 -- only 10 per cent of that.
"We need to go to 30 per cent or higher -- that is how serious membership is.''
Wade said while crowd attendances remained strong - 4528 and 4024 spectators were at the first two home games -- and sponsorship high, the Devils had identified two areas of concern.
One is the small size of the business community, which he said could sponsor the Devils for between $1000 and $2000 through a series of memberships.
"We are not competing with that market, we are actually complementing it.
"I am being ridiculous, but what if the Devils got 15,000 members? That could not be ignored. We are going to focus so hard on growing our membership base over the next few years.''
The Devils take on Sandringham at North Hobart Oval at 1.10pm on Saturday.

I think we all know where AFL Tasmania's intentions lie with football in this state.

The Doctor '73
6th May 2005, 01:33
Does anybody know what jumper Glenorchy will be wearing next week against Hobart? I heard a rumour a while ago that there were going to wear something different such as a white jumper with a black V on it.

Also how are the crowds going for the regional games? in particular Lindisfarne? I know they have quite a large membership and was wondering if many old supporters have come out of the wood work after so many frustrating years?

The Doctor '73
6th May 2005, 17:49
Does anyone know how Sam Unsworth is playing for Kingston? I haven’t really heard him mentioned too much this year. Should be a good battle if Mat Harvey lines up on him this week which I think he will. Mat is quite underated by other sides but can be brilliant on his day. A couple of years back when he won the best and fairest in 2003 (also the year where we made it to the grand final) he started the first 3 or 4 games on the bench as we had too many talls on the forwardline and Mcgregor didn’t know where to place him. I think we may have had an injury in the backline to one of our regular backline players so Mat being the only biggish person on the bench went to the backline. He ended up playing full back all year and killed them. He completely dominated the best and fairest count which is usually won by onballers. Should be good to watch!

wattsy
7th May 2005, 03:26
Answer to Glenorchy wearing anything but their constitutional uniform is unlikely for who foots the bill the Old Commodore Inn.
The game on the 14th May while it has a lot of upside it would be foolish to think that it is the Hobart Football Clubs last game in the Black and Gold whether 50 or 5000 people attend the TCA.

Unsworth no idea of his form at Kingston not sure of his stats at Hobart to rate him although he finished the year off reasonably well given it was a terrible year for the club rating 42% meaning they won 4 quarters out of 10.

Todays clash is meley a celebration football game to honour those responsible for the off field problems at Hobart.

At the end of the day every body will be happy whatever the result then who will be laughing last.

bakerman
7th May 2005, 11:09
New Norfolk..........4-0-0 (408-353 = 115.58%)..16
Glenorchy..............2-2-0 (383-381 = 100.52%)...8
Lauderdale.............2-2-0 (388-437 = 88.78%)....8

Bloody good point.
I dhould of had a look at that,
Quite funny really.

bakerman
7th May 2005, 11:16
I like the term LIARS better.

Honestly, would Lamprill have been drafted to the AFL through Kingston? Hmmmmmmmm - No.
Dickson & Gray - jingle sparkles.
What else?

I am talking about the olded Gray and Dickson, payne,
But who cares.

That's correct, but I'm not arguing with you, my argument is with the Boards of Kingston for thier pettiness, Hobart's for the weakness and the SFL's for thier brickwall mentality.

Ok, I can deal with that.

Got a spare six months?
Brighton never had problems with Kermandie having Red & Blue clubrooms, having a photo of a Robin in thier clubrooms, but not Kingston.
They (Kingston) even ordered things be taken down inside our own changerooms and bar for christ's sake.
We weren't even allowed to display our premiership flags in our own clubrooms because they had a Tiger's head on them.

I didn't know that Hobart were not allowed to display the flags, I strongly agree, that is complete crap. Every club has a right to display what they are proud of and a flag is the highest honour.

So? I (and many, many other Hobart supporters) followed Kingston in the old Huon Association, but that never stopped Kingston from insulting our club, our fans, our history, our colours did it?
No, that's right - it didn't.

I am a Kingston boy and I don't insult Hobart. Most people down this way are like me and wouldn't mind Hobart wearing a different strip. But generalising Kingston is wrong. I don't (up until a few days ago) attack Hobart FC but the board. Have a go at Kingston's board but leave the supporters out of it.

Resists...................temptation....................to.. .................make................rude.............joke.. ................here :o

Should of.

Guys sorry if I got a bit hot under the coller but I am a supporter and I dont like being attacked, I couldn't give a rats if you were attacking the board.

Boys good luck at least being allowed to display your flags and club history, that is important.

Go Tigers today though !!!! :D

David Votoupal
7th May 2005, 13:22
In the Jim Beam Cup Rugby League comp up here in Sydney, there are no less than THREE clubs called the Magpies- Wentworthville (just about local to me), Asquith and Ourimbah. If a league can find a way to accomodate three magpies, thnen surely there's some way to accomodate two Tigers.

This whole bickering over club colours, to me, only proves that the people running the game in southern Tassie are outrageously amateurish and immature if they can't get over problems like this one. Well done for trying to outdo soccer and rugby league in this country for title of most inept sports administration in history. The similarities are there because in each of the three cases you have a game run by people who ultimately seek to serve themselves rather than the betterment of football. And hence the gap between the NTFL and SFL in terms of professionalism, administration, and consequently in all other facets of the game will remain and become more pronnounced.

wattsy
7th May 2005, 18:18
Kingston now laughing ,crowing and getting drunk out of their skulls knowing that HFC have know submitted both on and off the field.

bakerman
7th May 2005, 21:40
Kingston now laughing ,crowing and getting drunk out of their skulls knowing that HFC have know submitted both on and off the field.

Yeah Kingston won easy.
Sam Gray I thought had a good game, good skills. His brother Dan is carring a few extra KG.
Hobart really were not in the game from the start, they got into Sam Unsworth before the first bounce but that was about it.
I would not say that there was contest and no rivalry for what I saw.

pekay-norwest
9th May 2005, 13:00
You may call me Winston :D
Oh and I'll have my coffee with lotsa cream, lotsa sugar :D
ha ha just make sure you say gday to your aunt Jennie and uncle Conrad for me