View Full Version : Travis Cloke or Lance Franklin?

Coin_Toss
4 May 2005, 12:35
Who would you rather want at your club?

Swifty_446
4 May 2005, 12:36
Franklin

Nightwolf
4 May 2005, 12:37
http://tinypic.com/4uazj5

Easily

Zeke
4 May 2005, 12:38
http://img214.echo.cx/img214/7410/526928325is.jpg

Wildman
4 May 2005, 12:39
Too early to call.

pav_is_god
4 May 2005, 12:40
Man, Travis is U-G-L-Y!

SweedishMeatball
4 May 2005, 12:40
He looks like a mangled truck wreck cloke and franklin will be a better player than him easily

worthy
4 May 2005, 12:48
I voted both, I'm rapt with Buddy but i also think the Pies have got a ripper ( i was going to say beauty but it doesn't fit).

Cassius_Clay
4 May 2005, 13:04
Great Poll :eek:

Stumpy Pete
4 May 2005, 13:07
Meh!

As a person of stumpy proportion I look forward to the day when the game is so full of lumbering so called "athletes" that a couple of players of more reasonable dimensions are able to dominate the game simply because the are quicker and far more skilful.

Eddie Betts for the Brownlow 2008!

Regards

S. Pete

worthy
4 May 2005, 13:09
My early call is:
T. Cloke will be similar to J. Brown.
L. Franklin similar to Riewoldt.
Not comparing ability just style.

EB&W Pieman
4 May 2005, 13:09
I appreciate the 'Both' option, but do we need to vote at all.

Can't we just say "We're happy with our boy, and I am sure they are happy with theirs"

ManWithNoName
4 May 2005, 13:14
Both have played <5 Games, way to early to tell.

fishbowl
4 May 2005, 13:33
It is like saying Nikki Webster vs Jennifer Hawkins.

Wildman
4 May 2005, 13:34
My early call is:
Hope your right. :D

Chelt_Eagle
4 May 2005, 13:54
so people are now comparing 2 players who have played 3 or less games. That is so intelligent. Typical. Why not wait until 3-4 years to see what these guys have shown rather than 3-4 weeks? Stupidity.

celtic_pride
4 May 2005, 14:11
Franklin easily.

MarkT
4 May 2005, 14:23
Honestly. So far neither have achieved as much as John Hassel or Tony Woods. I have seen the odd highlight of Franklin and two senior games and 1 VFL TV game from Travis. I'll bet most people haven't seen any more in total of the two either. Both look to have ability. The query with Travis is contested marking. I have no idea what the query with Franklin is but I am sure there is one. Because the supporters of both clubs are crying out for hope right now they both get opportunities but how they grow and what's between their ears will make the world of difference and we won't know for a while yet. All I can say is I am excited by Travis Cloke’s potential. I was excited by Aaron James, Andrew Tranquili, Leigh Walker and Mark Mcgough at some point as well.

Nightwolf
4 May 2005, 14:27
Honestly. So far neither have achieved as much as John Hassel or Tony Woods. I have seen the odd highlight of Franklin and two senior games and 1 VFL TV game from Travis. I'll bet most people haven't seen any more in total of the two either. Both look to have ability. The query with Travis is contested marking. I have no idea what the query with Franklin is but I am sure there is one. Because the supporters of both clubs are crying out for hope right now they both get opportunities but how they grow and what's between their ears will make the world of difference and we won't know for a while yet. All I can say is I am excited by Travis Cloke’s potential. I was excited by Aaron James, Andrew Tranquili, Leigh Walker and Mark Mcgough at some point as well.

Hey! Tony Woods was a quality player for us....

MarkT
4 May 2005, 14:30
Good bloke, decent player but would you take him at number 1 in the draft?

Nightwolf
4 May 2005, 14:31
Good bloke, decent player but would you take him at number 1 in the draft?

Nope, but i dont know if youd take Travis at 1 either, wasnt he touted as a late first rounder?

tige19
4 May 2005, 14:48
This doesnt even need to be discussed, Franklin by the length of Flemingtons straight times infinity.

superstar
4 May 2005, 14:54
I voted both as i'd be happy to have T.Cloke on our list. He's been impressive and key forwards are rare. You can never have enough young talls coming through.

While i'd like to have both, if I could only choose one, i'd certainly be keeping Franklin.

local
4 May 2005, 15:08
My early call is:

Travis will have to build himself up a bit more. Love to see the two go toe to toe :D

bogan4life
4 May 2005, 15:47
Travis will have to build himself up a bit more. Love to see the two go toe to toe :D

Buddy would kill him toe to toe
Travis will be a Good player but Buddy will be a Champ

SaintsSupporter
4 May 2005, 16:18
Doesn't deserve a poll. Obvious.

Jaymin
4 May 2005, 17:33

Franklin doesn't look like Nikki Webster? :confused:

ManWithNoName
4 May 2005, 17:35
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/Jarryd/52692353.jpg

fishbowl
4 May 2005, 17:56
Franklin doesn't look like Nikki Webster? :confused:
I forgot you are an Essendon Supporter. I forgot I have to explain everything explicitly. Nikki Webster > Travis Cloke.

SaintsSupporter
4 May 2005, 17:58
Nikki Webster > Travis Cloke.Both in looks and footballing ability.

silverphoenix
4 May 2005, 17:58

Can i have both?

FIGJAM
4 May 2005, 18:02
You'd have to prefer Franklin for his upside and the fact that he has no obvious weaknesses except for being a bit erratic at this stage, but seeing as this is BigFooty, I'm going to choose Trav because he's handsome!

Pie 4 Life
4 May 2005, 18:03
What a stupid poll. If clubs could have both they would. It's quite obvious they are both stars in the making so many clubs would want them.

Nightwolf
4 May 2005, 18:04
74 to 14 :eek:

LOL

Im The Gun
4 May 2005, 18:17
Man, Travis is U-G-L-Y!
if looks meant anything on a football field I would have been in the AFL hall of fame at 10.

lazyhare
4 May 2005, 18:22
Franklin easily, Cloke will turn out to be a hack.

vinnie_vegas69
4 May 2005, 19:06
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/Jarryd/52692353.jpg
Dude... That's Cameron Cloke... Your point would have been incoherent enough if you had've had a picture of Travis in the same situation...

Anyway, obviously Lance has had more game time, and a couple of more impressive games, but Travis looks like a quality kid in his own rights. The more practice he gets using that left boot of his, the more dangerous it'll get. you don't get a lot of kids nabbing 70m goals from the half forward flank in their second game.

Yze_Magic
4 May 2005, 19:19
Umm 17 people have voted for Cloke?

Wow

17 people on BigFooty need a psychiatric assessment

Skooks
4 May 2005, 19:20
Both Option is stupid, and Obviously Lance Franklin

Pieyed
4 May 2005, 19:43
Who would you rather want at your club?
I'll let you know in 3 to 5 years

macca_2111
4 May 2005, 19:48
Lance Franklin is way better.

Pieyed
4 May 2005, 19:50
gee so many out of work head recruiters in here, able to determine horse flesh after a couple of games, how is it so many clubs haven't snapped you guys up :confused:

cschreuder61
4 May 2005, 20:07
stupid comparison, franklin by a mile, just cause one of the clokes looks like they can actually play abit doesn't mean he's gonna be a superstar.

Pieyed
4 May 2005, 20:17
Actually if you bother to compare and believe me it is totally meaningless at this stage, Cloke has a monster kick, is accurate and moves like a midfielder, I'm sure they will both be good but how good is totally unknowable

ManWithNoName
4 May 2005, 20:34
Dude... That's Cameron Cloke... Your point would have been incoherent enough if you had've had a picture of Travis in the same situation...

Anyway, obviously Lance has had more game time, and a couple of more impressive games, but Travis looks like a quality kid in his own rights. The more practice he gets using that left boot of his, the more dangerous it'll get. you don't get a lot of kids nabbing 70m goals from the half forward flank in their second game.
It is? Stupid Getty Images. I'll get a better one that actually has Travis in it.

cschreuder61
4 May 2005, 20:37
If we offered Franklin to Eddie Mcquire for Cloke, he'd take it in an instant.

ManWithNoName
4 May 2005, 20:38
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/Jarryd/52692331.jpg

Zeke
4 May 2005, 20:39
Held without the ball...

Bet he didn't get a free kick.

Falchoon
4 May 2005, 20:43
is it just me, or does the poll remind anyone else of this.....

http://www.punchstock.com/image/imageshop/7509030/large/bw0156_001.jpg

ManWithNoName
4 May 2005, 20:46
Held without the ball...

Bet he didn't get a free kick.
If he concentrates hard enough, the ball will turn into a 4th Cloke.

BulldogMike
5 May 2005, 01:45
I feel that Travis Cloke is overhyped and Lance Franklin will easily be the better player.

morto
5 May 2005, 20:26
Frankin
I'd be happy with Travis on our list but I'd be estatic with buddy

quiksilva
5 May 2005, 23:30
Franklin will fit in nicely at the eagles in the coming years.

robb0
31 May 2005, 15:59
Curious to know what everyones thoughts on this topic are now that Cloke's played 5 or 6 games and has shown that he can consistantly hold down the CHF position and kick goals week in week out.

Nightwolf
31 May 2005, 16:00
Curious to know what everyones thoughts on this topic are now that Cloke's played 5 or 6 games and has shown that he can consistantly hold down the CHF position and kick goals week in week out.

Still Franklin, easily

hotpie
31 May 2005, 16:23
Pretty marginal. Cloke seems the better natural footballer, contested mark etc, and stronger physically while Franklin seems more the althletic and capable of turning a game on its ear.

celtic_pride
31 May 2005, 16:27
Pretty marginal. Cloke seems the better natural footballer, contested mark etc, and stronger physically while Franklin seems more the althletic and capable of turning a game on its ear.

How come nearly 100 more people have voted for Franklin then ?

cschreuder61
31 May 2005, 16:35
Franklin > Cloke... all three of them put together

Zeke
31 May 2005, 16:36

Because Travis plays for Collingwood.

hotpie
31 May 2005, 17:25

Partly because Cloke plays for Collingwood
I probably would vote Franklin too, by a whisker. But its a lot closer than people give credit for.

big buddy38
31 May 2005, 17:37
Quicksilva, are u going to be ready to send Judd our way in a couple of years then??

MadMaxx
1 Jun 2005, 09:54
Saw Cloke on the weekend. Good but not great. Reminded me a bit of Matthew Robran.

Poll is closed, but add another for Buddy.

robb0
1 Jun 2005, 14:30
Quicksilva, are u going to be ready to send Judd our way in a couple of years then??

the hawks could have had Judd years ago in the draft, but chose Hodge instead - who's only just coming on now.

Then there were rumours a few years ago of a trade involving Judd for Hay, but the hawks knocked it back... hmmmm a wise move?

Nightwolf
1 Jun 2005, 14:35
the hawks could have had Judd years ago in the draft, but chose Hodge instead - who's only just coming on now.

Then there were rumours a few years ago of a trade involving Judd for Hay, but the hawks knocked it back... hmmmm a wise move?

Rumours, thats right. Doubt it mate, plus back then Hay was the no.1 full back in the country, damn right we wouldnt have gave him up..

lachystar
1 Jun 2005, 15:36
After watching both Cloke and Franklin closely this year and being at the MCG last Saturday, I would say that they are two different styles of player. Franklin won't be able to take the big contested marks and body opponents as well as Cloke will but he does look athletic. Having said that the one thing that stands out to me about Cloke is his mobility. He has a heap for a big bloke and looks to have more footy smarts. He is more aggresive as well.

From last weekend, Cloke had the better day, Franklin got 2 lucky goals, one from a Presti brain explosion and one from a goldspink brain explosion.

I think either team will be happy with their player and we'll see if the Hawks can keep Franklin in Victoria in 3 years time.

choc_a_holic
1 Jun 2005, 16:46
I'd say both....but why are there pictures, it's not about their looks.

robb0
2 Jun 2005, 11:40
Rumours, thats right. Doubt it mate, plus back then Hay was the no.1 full back in the country, damn right we wouldnt have gave him up..

and where is he now? and where is judd?

local
2 Jun 2005, 12:58
Only a fool would rate Cloke over Franklin. In fact Franklin would beat all 3 Clokes hands down.

Zeke
2 Jun 2005, 13:23
Only a fool would rate Cloke over Franklin. In fact Franklin would beat all 3 Clokes hands down.

List your KPP's.

Just for comedy value! :D

Leg_Spinning_Sensation
2 Jun 2005, 20:27
My early call is:
very good comparising. Both will be stars.
2005 draft: my favourite players
1. Buddy Franklin
2. Richard Tambling
3. Chris Egan
4. Travis Cloke

Zeke
3 Jun 2005, 23:56
Another ripper from Travis tonight.

Still hasn't had a bad game.

rfctigerarmy
3 Jun 2005, 23:58
Man, Travis is U-G-L-Y!

You didnt comment on Lance, do you find him attractive?

OneEyedHawk
4 Jun 2005, 00:29
Another ripper from Travis tonight.

Still hasn't had a bad game.
I must admit, Travis Cloke was pretty impressive tonight. Moves well, and handles the ball well below knee level. Definately looking the goods.

Lenny*
15 Jun 2005, 14:15
Both.

CrAckDoGGer
16 Jun 2005, 19:32
my opinion travis cloke will be better player than franklin