4th May 2005, 16:37
who is the best young ruckman in the comp
i belive the 3 standouts are laycock Minson and Seaby
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 16:38
Kosi and minson
weagles_fan
4th May 2005, 16:40
Minson and Seaby.Laycock is too lanky,he can't do much when the balls on the ground.
Kositchzke is crap.
SaintsSupporter
Laycock and Will Minson. Can't decide.
Jaymin
Jaycock for mine.
weagles_fan
4th May 2005, 16:41
CoxDoes Cox qualify as young?He's 23 or 24 I believe
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 16:42
Cox
cox is one of the best ruckman in the comp but isnt he about 25
weagles_fan
4th May 2005, 16:43
Cox is 23 going on 24 this year.
NorthBhoy
4th May 2005, 16:44
Hale > Seaby.
Cox is the best ruckman in the comp, but isn't he 25 or so?
weagles_fan
4th May 2005, 16:45
Hale > Seaby.
Cox is the best ruckman in the comp, but isn't he 25 or so?23
Nah, 23 actually
-oops, since thats already been posted, twice, I'll add that with all young ruckman, more than anything else it seems that they develop way quicker when the challenge is thrown to them.
Cox was a competent understudy when Gardiner was a truly outstanding ruckman- he took around 8-10 weeks as our #1 ruckman and then he started to hit his straps big time.
Obviously Will Minson is way younger than Cox was when Gardiner got injured, but I think that being thrown in the deep end is generally very good for them- if u can't look at the bench and know there's a replacement waiting to bail you out if it gets too tough, it makes you go a lot harder at the contests.
Longy413
4th May 2005, 16:46
Laycock is too lanky,he can't do much when the balls on the ground.
Lanky? The bloke is over 100kg's. Who have you been watching?
weagles_fan
4th May 2005, 16:48
Lanky? The bloke is over 100kg's. Who have you been watching?Doesn't look like it.Maybe because he wears a long sleeve jersey but he seems a bit slow...
Cassius_Clay
4th May 2005, 16:48
Laycock? Dud Board.
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 16:50
Lanky? The bloke is over 100kg's. Who have you been watching?
compared to minson his very lanky
ManWithNoName
I like the look of Chook. Playing alright at a young age, which is rare for big guys, and can go foward and can be damaging.
SaintsSupporter
Laycock? Dud Board.We can also discuss 25 current Collingwood players there too.
Longy413
4th May 2005, 16:51
Laycock? Dud Board.
It's now named the Cameron Cloke Board.
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 16:53
It's now named the Cameron Cloke Board.
i ment to leave C Cloke out because i said best young ruckman not "PLAYERS WHO GET A GAME BECAUSE OF HIS LAST NAME"
ManWithNoName
4th May 2005, 16:53
Laycock? Dud Board.
Well hows it feel for some young dud to have 18 disposals, 7 marks and 2 goals against you?
roostersgal4eva
4th May 2005, 16:55
What about Jamie Charman?????
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 16:56
Minsons game against the Crows was better then Jaycocks against the pies
jaycock only got nab rising star because Will Minson isnt able to win the award due to suspension
weagles_fan
4th May 2005, 16:56
What about Jamie Charman?????He's almost 23.If he is included so is Cox and then Cox would win hands down.
bringbackbucky
4th May 2005, 16:57
Matthew Primus :o
bogan4life
What about Jamie Charman?????
never gets on the park
Seaby for mine, he's going great, except for his hammy.
Cassius_Clay
Well hows it feel for some young dud to have 18 disposals, 7 marks and 2 goals against you?
What a gun :rolleyes:
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 16:58
He's almost 23.If he is included so is Cox and then Cox would win hands down.
21 and under
grimlock
Lewis Roberts-Thomson. 4 hitouts last week!
Longy413
jaycock only got nab rising star because Will Minson isnt able to win the award due to suspension
That doesn't stop you from getting nominated.
Laycock against Collingwood took 7 marks and kicked two goals.
Minson only took 2 marks and has yet to kick a goal in his 8 games.
Minson is going to be more of a pure ruckman, whereas Laycock is going to spend a lot more time down forward.
17 hitouts against Brisbane last week was a good effort from Laycock.
davo dog
4th May 2005, 16:59
big will :cool:
Fwiw, I honestly believe Seaby has quite a bit more natural talent than Cox, which is saying quite a bit given where Cox is at the moment.
Seaby is
- extremely athletic
- naturally coordinated.
- a very good contested mark
- most importantly though, he has an uncanny knack for directing his taps-
just has very good sense of where his teammates are, when he wins knocks he always makes them count. Its the feat which distinguishes the likes of White and Gardiner when they were at their absolute best.
I think Seabs will probably eclipse Coxxy as our lead ruckman in a few years time. Bit of an embarassment of riches really.
weagles_fan
4th May 2005, 16:59
17 hitouts against Brisbane last week was a good effort from Laycock.Who were Brisbane's ruckman?
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 17:00
Minson is going to be more of a pure ruckman, whereas Laycock is going to spend a lot more time down forward.
well i am asking for Best Ruckman not best Forward who can go into the ruck
Longy413
4th May 2005, 17:01
Who were Brisbane's ruckman?
Clarke Keating is pretty handy.
Longy413
4th May 2005, 17:02
well i am asking for Best Ruckman not best Forward who can go into the ruck
What I meant is, when Minson isn't rucking he will be on the bench.
The fact that Laycock can rest forward when he isn't rucking is a feather in his cap.
Laycock reads the play better and has better hands.
roostersgal4eva
4th May 2005, 17:02
never gets on the park
if he gets himself injury free?????
Fwiw, I honestly believe Seaby has quite a bit more natural talent than Cox, which is saying quite a bit given where Cox is at the moment.
Seaby is
- extremely athletic
- naturally coordinated.
just has very good sense of where his teammates are, when he wins knocks he always makes them count. Its the feat which distinguishes the likes of White and Gardiner when they were at their absolute best.
I think Seabs will probably eclipse Coxxy as our lead ruckman in a few years time. Bit of an embarassment of riches really.
Only problem is, is that he is a poor kick and a terrible kick for goal.
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 17:04
Seaby is a super Talent and is going to be god around the ground
Minson is going to be the tough strong pure ruckman who brakes packs and has no fear
Laycock will be a good part time ruckman behind Hille
C Cloke will play C grade VAFL and not get a touch
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 17:05
if he gets himself injury free?????
How old is Charman
problem is that he looks like he will be in and out to much to be a top Ruckman
weagles_fan
4th May 2005, 17:05
Clarke Keating is pretty handy.The week before Seaby got more hitouts than any Brisbane player by playing backup ruckman.Seaby >>>> Laycock
jackson_rules
4th May 2005, 17:06
The fact that Laycock can rest forward when he isn't rucking is a feather in his cap.
you know this how i didnt know you were good freind with eade and he told you exactly how he will use will minson
I think Hale is the best young ruckman going around at the moment. He was right up there with Everitt when the Hawks played the Roos and as many if not more of his taps found a team mate then Everitts in that game.
Will be a great ruckman in years to come.
Now, can we have McIntosh?
Only problem is, is that he is a poor kick and a terrible kick for goal.
16.8 from his career so far. I actually reckon Seaby is a far more reliable set shot than Cox.
He's not a great kick on the run, but he's hardly an orphan in that respect when it comes to young ruckmen. Anyone who watched Gardiner in his first few years would agree with that.
Longy413
4th May 2005, 17:08
you know this how i didnt know you were good freind with eade and he told you exactly how he will use will minson
From watching them play.
How long has Minson spent playing forward when Darcy has been rucking?
Minson may develop this side of his game, but right now Laycock has it and Minson doesn't.
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 17:08
No Minson started out as a full forward at werribee but ATM he goes to the bench because he needs a rest ( Seaby is the same)
No one bar essendon supporters say that Laycock is better then those 2
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 17:11
From watching them play.
How long has Minson spent playing forward when Darcy has been rucking?
Minson may develop this side of his game, but right now Laycock has it and Minson doesn't.
When Darcy was rucking he would be 50 50 on bench up forward
but now with out Darcy he will be in the ruck then into the forward pocket
Coin_Toss
4th May 2005, 17:12
Guy Richards.
Longy413
4th May 2005, 17:15
No Minson started out as a full forward at werribee but ATM he goes to the bench because he needs a rest ( Seaby is the same)
No one bar essendon supporters say that Laycock is better then those 2
Seaby is the better of the three, got no doubt about that.
However, Laycock has been playing better footy than Minson and has proved that he is more than just a ruckman. Both Seaby and Laycock have gone forward and proven they can be weapons. Laycock has proven that he reads the game extremely and undoubtably is the best mark of the three of them.
As well as the Bulldogs have been playing, it is evident that they need another tall forward. If Minson could make an impact down there they would play him down there. Not once has Minson looked dangerous around goals.
Longy413
4th May 2005, 17:16
When Darcy was rucking he would be 50 50 on bench up forward
For all this time he has spent forward I would have thought he would have at least had a scoring shot this season.
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 17:17
Seaby is the better of the three, got no doubt about that.
However, Laycock has been playing better footy than Minson and has proved that he is more than just a ruckman. Both Seaby and Laycock have gone forward and proven they can be weapons. Laycock has proven that he reads the game extremely and undoubtably is the best mark of the three of them.
As well as the Bulldogs have been playing, it is evident that they need another tall forward. If Minson could make an impact down there they would play him down there. Not once has Minson looked dangerous around goals.
also you have got to look at if they can actully tap the ball down to there own team which Laycock carnt
Longy413
4th May 2005, 17:21
also you have got to look at if they can actully tap the ball down to there own team which Laycock carnt
Keep changing your story don't you.
Laycock's ruck work has been good, created several scoring opportunities by getting effective hitouts to team-mates.
I think that Laycock is better than Minson at the moment. Seaby is definitely number 1.
jonny f muleus
4th May 2005, 17:24
Cox, he still could be considered as "young"
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 17:26
Keep changing your story don't you.
Laycock's ruck work has been good, created several scoring opportunities by getting effective hitouts to team-mates.
no laycocks tap work is poor
Both Minson and Seaby can hit the ball to there midfielders
maybe it isnt Laycocks fault its just because Essondon doesnt have a decent midfield
Longy413
4th May 2005, 17:29
no laycocks tap work is poor
Both Minson and Seaby can hit the ball to there midfielders
maybe it isnt Laycocks fault its just because Essondon doesnt have a decent midfield
You're right, we don't have a very good midfield.
That takes nothing away from Laycock's ruckwork.
Laycock has had to lead our ruck division and has performed very very well, after not having a preseason. He came straight into the seniors without any VFL form.
Laycock has a Rising Star nomination.
Minson does not.
crowsarethebest
4th May 2005, 17:36
I can't really decide.. they all are going to be very good.
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 18:37
You're right, we don't have a very good midfield.
That takes nothing away from Laycock's ruckwork.
Laycock has had to lead our ruck division and has performed very very well, after not having a preseason. He came straight into the seniors without any VFL form.
Laycock has a Rising Star nomination.
Minson does not.
minson has more votes then laycock does that say something.
Minson is unable to be nomatied because of suspension
Do u think Laycock will win the award
Longy413
4th May 2005, 18:45
minson has more votes then laycock does that say something.
Minson is unable to be nomatied because of suspension
Do u think Laycock will win the award
Minson has more votes in what than Laycock?
Since when can't suspended players get nominated?
No, Laycock won't win it. I have no idea who will, but Bradley will be ahead of Laycock as far as Essendon is concerned.
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 18:49
Minson has more votes in what than Laycock?
Since when can't suspended players get nominated?
No, Laycock won't win it. I have no idea who will, but Bradley will be ahead of Laycock as far as Essendon is concerned.
minson has more votes then laycock in the poll
it says in the record that a player that has been suspend can not me nominated
but it doesnt say about players suspened in previous years
nicho_magic
4th May 2005, 18:52
i belive the 3 standouts are Jaycock Minson and Seaby
if you mean laycock... its Laycock.
utility
4th May 2005, 18:55
I am quite happy with Hale. Not as developed as Cox but knows how to kick straight.
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 18:56
typing error
bogan4life
4th May 2005, 19:03
I am quite happy with Hale. Not as developed as Cox but knows how to kick straight.
Hale looks ok but hasnt blown a game appart yet
Exeter
4th May 2005, 19:10
Seaby is
- extremely athletic
- naturally coordinated.
Sshh.
SirBloodyIdiot
4th May 2005, 19:20
Seaby is the best of the lot so far, and then with Minson and Laycock it is a much of a muchness.
NorthBhoy
4th May 2005, 19:22
Laycock > Minson.
I think Will is a good player and possibly a better pure ruckman, but as footballers, Laycock has many more strings and is as natural as ANY 200cm footballer in the comp. Will be a gun.
Seaby? Dunno, I just don't see star factor. Athletically strong though.
Who knows? You just cannot predict the futures of young ruckman accurately IMO. King was good at 21 but is only ok now. Cox, for various reasons, was only passable at 21, but is now a stone cold gun and comfortably better than King.
Ricketts
4th May 2005, 19:35
Jaycock for mine.
Yeah, that Jaycock, he'll be a superstar.
TheGeneral
4th May 2005, 19:38
Give me John Meeson for the future.
Thunderstruck
5th May 2005, 11:47
In terms of pure ruckwork and tapping in the one on ones, Minson is excellent. Was the same at school, used agression very effectively, mind u gave away a lot of frees, but is learning more and more how to exactly use his body to maximum effect without giving away frees. he thrashed Hudson, was beaten by Biglands because of Rhett's jumping ability. Broke even with King on the weekend, who used to be one of the best ruckman in the comp 2 or so years ago. Very well built young fella, I expect him to really challenge Cox i a few years time for the best ruckman in the comp. Cox however is in a league of his own atm IMO, thrashes everyone in hitouts and gets around the ground like a rover. Machine.
Seaby is solid, has talent there but in a side with Cox and Gardiner (was the best ruckman in comp till he got injured and also until Cox came along). Strong one-grab mark and can kick goals when he goes forward. Big future here.
Laycock, prolly the least talented of the lot but still a good kid for sure. gets the ball around the ground, works hard and takes very good marks in defence as well as kicking the odd goal. Good value big man.
Minson got my vote however, in terms of ruckman he is already the strongest of the 3 and his tapping and knocking is first class.
I think Hale is the best young ruckman going around at the moment. He was right up there with Everitt when the Hawks played the Roos and as many if not more of his taps found a team mate then Everitts in that game.
Will be a great ruckman in years to come.
Now, can we have McIntosh?
No. He will be our replacement for Sav Rocca.
hahaha
5th May 2005, 12:14
Ricky Mott? :p
bogan4life
5th May 2005, 17:34
Ricky Mott? :p
if he gets a vote then Street must 2
Pie 4 Life
5th May 2005, 18:48
Richards.
bogan4life
5th May 2005, 20:49
Richards.
was that da fake post you no like a Peter Street
Minson isnt too bad, but I voted others because the players in the poll are not that great.
dumesny1
5th May 2005, 21:49
Guy Richards
Kangas_Div
8th May 2005, 22:29
David Hale :cool:
BulldogMike
9th May 2005, 00:45
Will Minson