View Full Version : Travis Cloke Vs Colin Sylvia
No contest in my most humble opinion. Travis has it all over Sylvia.
Colin Sylvia: 8 games / 58 disposals @ 7.25 / 18 marks @ 2.25 / 2 goals @ 0.25
Travis Cloke: 2 games / 29 disposals @ 14.50 / 7 marks @ 3.50 / 2 goals @ 1.00
I know it's early days, but I have a feeling that Trav will continue to make Sylvia look like a mere VFL wonder for years to come.
http://img236.echo.cx/img236/8776/travcloke2vc.jpg
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 19:48
You always bring up meaningless stats
Why dont you show us their stats at VFL level where they play full games?
And how about the Time on Ground for both players in their AFL games?
Sylvia has it over Cloke in every facet of the game
macca_2111
4th May 2005, 19:49
Cloke has played two games, if he's anything like his brothers he will be another dud. Dont get your hopes up yet Collingwood supporters
You always bring up meaningless stats
Is the fact the the kid you have dubbed 'the next Gary Ablett Snr' has kicked 2 goals in 8 matches a meaningless stat?
Sylvia has it over Cloke in every facet of the game
Ok, that's your opinion, now provide some evidence. :)
Longy413
4th May 2005, 19:51
And how about the Time on Ground for both players in their AFL games?
Does that mean he isn't doing enough with his time on the ground to command more game time?
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 19:51
Sylvia is stronger, quicker, more polished, more skilled, will kill the opponent in a tackle, a vastly superior leap, a better mark...
And that is why stats of 2 players that have played less than 10 games are meaningless
dascman03
4th May 2005, 19:54
Zeke FFS get ur hand off it
Sylvia is stronger, quicker, more polished, more skilled, will kill the opponent in a tackle, a vastly superior leap, a better mark...
Sylvia has shown nothing at senior level to suggest he will be anything but an honest toiler. Travis, on the other hand has show a lot in just 2 games. It's not gospel, but it's a pretty damning indication at this stage.
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 19:59
No contest in my most humble opinion. Travis has it all over Sylvia.
Colin Sylvia: 8 games / 58 disposals @ 7.25 / 18 marks @ 2.25 / 2 goals @ 0.25
Travis Cloke: 2 games / 29 disposals @ 14.50 / 7 marks @ 3.50 / 2 goals @ 1.00
I know it's early days, but I have a feeling that Trav will continue to make Sylvia look like a mere VFL wonder for years to come.
http://img236.echo.cx/img236/8776/travcloke2vc.jpg
He is suppose to be the best tackler in the game where are the stats there?
dees 4 life
4th May 2005, 20:00
And his last name is CLOKE!!
Sylvia will be a better player.
And his last name is CLOKE!!
Sylvia will be a better player.
His name is Cloke, so he must be a hack?
Spose that means Wayne Carey was a rubbish footballer cause his brother wasn't up to AFL standard.
dees 4 life
4th May 2005, 20:07
His name is Cloke, so he must be a hack?
You hit the nail right on the head there big fella...
guess_who
4th May 2005, 20:09
Why dont you show us their stats at VFL level where they play full games?
Cloke has played what 3 VFL Games maybe 4? been in the best for at least two of them.
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 20:11
Would take a good young KPP player over a good young midfielder any day of the week.
dees 4 life
4th May 2005, 20:11
Cloke has played what 3 VFL Games maybe 4? been in the best for at least two of them.
That seems to be enough to compare two players these days
cschreuder61
4th May 2005, 20:13
Cloke hasn't done jack.
Pieyed
4th May 2005, 20:13
Cloke has played two games, if he's anything like his brothers he will be another dud. Dont get your hopes up yet Collingwood supporters
Well we cant all pass up Judd for Hodge like you genius's
TheGeneral
4th May 2005, 20:15
I'd rather have Cloke due to his potential as a key forward, rather than a guy who exceeds at lower levels due to his bulk but as always can't cope at the higher grade. Having said that I'd still rather Franklin or Roughead than a Cloke! :p
parrot
4th May 2005, 20:29
Tough call, both would be useful for the Bullants. :)
Nightwolf
4th May 2005, 20:31
1 handball boy certainly looks the goods. I enjoy watching his 1 handball each week....quality stuff
Sylvia Saint
4th May 2005, 20:32
1 handball boy certainly looks the goods. I enjoy watching his 1 handball each week....quality stuff
Considering that has only happened once in his career and everything... :confused:
Pie 4 Life
4th May 2005, 20:33
Cloke but Zeke, if Cloke is so much better than Sylvia why start this thread to make certain that you'll win.
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 20:33
Not as good as the golden Boy Cam Hunter who had 1 kick and that was smothered.
Cloke but Zeke, if Cloke is so much better than Sylvia why start this thread to make certain that you'll win.
Huh? :confused:
COMPARISONS
KICKING DISTANCE: EQUAL
VERTICAL JUMP: SYLVIA BY A BLOODY MILE(Look at the draft camp stats)
TACKLING: SYLVIA BY A ********ING MILE
PACE: EASILY SYLVIA (Look at the dreamteam stats)
OVERHEAD MARKING: SYLVIA FOR HIS SIZE IS MUCH GREATER
ARROGANCE: sYLVIA HAS THAT TOUCH OF ARROGANCE THAT MANY GOOD PLAYERS HAVE I.E AKERMANIS, VOSS, CAREY ETC
GAME SET MATCH
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 20:45
COMPARISONS
ARROGANCE: sYLVIA HAS THAT TOUCH OF ARROGANCE THAT MANY GOOD PLAYERS HAVE I.E AKERMANIS, VOSS, CAREY ETC
GAME SET MATCH
If sylvia has a touch of arrogance then cloke has a truck load.
You all go on about sylvia's tackling but he has only laid 8 tackles in as many games hardly stats of some guru tackler.
FIGJAM
4th May 2005, 20:45
Who is this Saliva guy you're all talking about?
parrot
4th May 2005, 20:46
COMPARISONS
GAME SET MATCH
You're sounding a little desperate, looks like the Dees have wasted their #3 pick on a dud. BTW I've never seen the stocky little fella get both feet off the ground - must have cheated at the draft camp. :)
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 20:46
COMPARISONS
GAME SET MATCH
Game, set, match indeed
Sylvia Saint
4th May 2005, 20:49
You're sounding a little desperate, looks like the Dees have wasted their #3 pick on a dud. BTW I've never seen the stocky little fella get both feet off the ground - must have cheated at the draft camp. :)
http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/52248020.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DEA53A95B58FB16D35E2448CDF731F919C72B953 1E5165F51B
What are the odds, against your beloved Blues too!
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 20:50
http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/52248020.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DEA53A95B58FB16D35E2448CDF731F919C72B953 1E5165F51B
BWAHAHHAA
Parrot, have a look at that photo
YOU IDIOT
Lance Uppercut
4th May 2005, 20:53
Hahahahaha, this thread = classic troll
BWAHAHHAA
Parrot, have a look at that photo
YOU IDIOT
I bet Houlihan is on his knees. :D
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 20:56
I bet Houlihan is on his knees. :D
You just stole Parrots thunder
TheGeneral
4th May 2005, 20:59
There are plenty of photos of 1AW higher on Glass's shoulders so what's your point? Did he take the mark or drop it like Walker did when he showed his leap last year? What a great leap one out on Houlihan who is known for his aerial prowess. :rolleyes:
ManWithNoName
4th May 2005, 21:00
Wheres the "Neither, they're both hacks. I'll take Kepler Bradley" option?
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 21:00
http://melbournefc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/image/012513al.tho
Pfft.. outmarked your love child Thornton despite the cheat holding his jumper, in vain. Its called strength and skill, parrot
cyberdog
4th May 2005, 21:01
Cooney>>>>>>>Sylvia :D Glad we finished last that year :D
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 21:02
There are plenty of photos of 1AW higher on Glass's shoulders so what's your point? Did he take the mark or drop it like Walker did when he showed his leap last year? What a great leap one out on Houlihan who is known for his aerial prowess. :rolleyes:
Pretty sad then you find the most meaningless and trivial thngs to talk a player down
But that is the Carlton way
TheGeneral
4th May 2005, 21:04
Pretty sad then you find the most meaningless and trivial thngs to talk a player down
But that is the Carlton way
No, taking Barassi and Pagan is the Carlton way.
Thewlis Dish
4th May 2005, 21:05
Sylvia for mine, it's a lot easier to get ground time at the Pies this season.
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 21:09
Sylvia for mine, it's a lot easier to get ground time at the Pies this season.
Another great point
Sylvia is attempting to break into the Demons midfield/forward line
Cloke is attempting to break into a rabble
I reckon Id average 20 touches if I played for the Pies
TheGeneral
4th May 2005, 21:11
Another great point
What's a harder position to play CHF as a school kid or half-forward/pocket moving through the midfield?
Hard Yakka
4th May 2005, 21:16
Another great point
Reading some of your Posts, I reckon 20 touches a day would be the minimum for you...careful, you'll go blind!!!:D
Longy413
4th May 2005, 21:19
Another great point
Yet Sylvia has failed to make an impact in the time he has spent on the ground. If he is this great player you speak of, he wouldn't have any problem comanding game time.
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 21:22
Yet Sylvia has failed to make an impact in the time he has spent on the ground. If he is this great player you speak of, he wouldn't have any problem comanding game time.
See his game in round 2?
No impact indeed :rolleyes:
parrot
4th May 2005, 21:24
BWAHAHHAA
Parrot, have a look at that photo...
Looks like Houla's just pushed the little fella away from the ball. Nice work Houla. Perhaps you've got some better pics from his Sandy matches.
Oh, and before I forget.....
http://carltonfc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/image/010538ac.jpg
Nuf said :)
m.diddy
See his game in round 2?
see his game in round 6? Oh yeah that's right.
Longy413
See his game in round 2?
That behind was special.
So was his attempted tackle.
Yze_Magic
see his game in round 6? Oh yeah that's right.
I did actually
he booted 7 goals
Sylvia > Dal Santoverrated
ManWithNoName
4th May 2005, 21:25
See his game in round 2?
15 disposals from a midfielder, meh average.
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 21:26
Looks like Houla's just pushed the little fella away from the ball. Nice work Houla.
yeah it sure 'looks' like that doesnt it
When the reality is he was outmarked, out muscled and outwitted by a better player who wanted the ball more
Thats a fact
Pieyed
4th May 2005, 21:27
Why has this thread not died of it's own volition?
Or any of us from boredom?
Longy413
I did actually
he booted 7 goals
That was Round 6.
I must have missed Syliva's 20 and 30+ possession games.
Sylvia Saint
But McLean was getting similar game time last year. Is he a quality player*?
* Rhetorical question
Nightwolf
Some Carlton supporters are so deluded. Andrew Walker is nothing special.....
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 21:28
I must have missed Syliva's 20 and 30+ possession games.
I doubt it, since he hasnt any
Maybe you are related to Zeke? you both seem obsessed with stats
Longy413
4th May 2005, 21:29
But McLean was getting similar game time last year. Is he a quality player*?
* Rhetorical question
McLean has proven he can mix it at the best level and make an impact on games.
Sylvia hasn't.
Not once have I said Sylvia isn't talented or going to be a good player. But the fact is he doesn't deserve the hype Yze is making for him.
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 21:31
I did actually
he booted 7 goals
The only time he can get near the pill is for Sandy.
Dal Santo = Brownlow Favourite
Sylvie = Handball.
parrot
4th May 2005, 21:33
The only time he can get near the pill is for Sandy.
Dal Santo = Brownlow Favourite
Sylvie = Handball.
But was it a good handball? Did the little fella strut around afterwards? :)
Longy413
4th May 2005, 21:36
I doubt it, since he hasnt any
Maybe you are related to Zeke? you both seem obsessed with stats
Isn't 7 goals only a stat?
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 21:39
But was it a good handball? Did the little fella strut around afterwards? :)
I must admit I didn't see the handball. Can someone enlighten us of the significance or skill that this handball had.
Sylvia's new nickname should be - "the hand of god."
Interesting to note that the majority of Sylvia's votes are from Melbourne supporters, whereas Trav's votes are from a wide cross section of footy fans.
Says a lot.
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 21:54
I must admit I didn't see the handball. Can someone enlighten us of the significance or skill that this handball had.
Sylvia's new nickname should be - "the hand of god."
And in the same game he crunched Leigh Colbert in an aerial contest, putting him out of action
You uneduacted people can go on about your meaningless stats, but its the things like Sylvias attack on the ball and sheer strrength that will set him apart from softies such as Riewdolt
Sylvia has that X factor that all champions have
Nightwolf
4th May 2005, 21:54
Interesting to note that the majority of Sylvia's votes are from Melbourne supporters, whereas Trav's votes are from a wide cross section of footy fans.
Says a lot.
Why make a thread on different types of players?
Is it because big trav couldnt match it with Buddy Franklin in the other one?
Yze_Magic
4th May 2005, 21:56
Is it because big trav couldnt match it with Buddy Franklin in the other one?
he cant match it with Buddy or 'the Kid' Sylvia
in fact, he can barely match it with his 2 brothers
Matt Lokan > Travis CLoke
I actually laughed out loud.
Scared the ******** out of the dog.
Well done.
:D
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 21:59
And in the same game he crunched Leigh Colbert in an aerial contest, putting him out of action
You uneduacted people can go on about your meaningless stats, but its the things like Sylvias attack on the ball and sheer strrength that will set him apart from softies such as Riewdolt
Sylvia has that X factor that all champions have
This X factor is doing wonders ... for Sandy.
If sylvia has a touch of arrogance then cloke has a truck load.
You all go on about sylvia's tackling but he has only laid 8 tackles in as many games hardly stats of some guru tackler.
Its not quantity its quality Milnedog!...You have no idea at all. Last year Krakeour from the tigers laid more tackles than Byron pickett, riccuito, voss etc. Stats are decieving as the 3 named players are all more ferocious than little krakeour. Any response from "MilneDog"?????????????????????????????????????????????????????/
m.diddy
4th May 2005, 22:55
Its not quantity its quality Milnedog!...You have no idea at all. Last year Krakeour from the tigers laid more tackles than Byron pickett, riccuito, voss etc. Stats are decieving as the 3 named players are all more ferocious than little krakeour. Any response from "MilneDog"?????????????????????????????????????????????????????/
Ball, Hayes - 2 best tacklers in the league.
They have quantity and quality. Beat that.
Any response from oooze????????????????????????????? :rolleyes:
worthy
4th May 2005, 23:00
Shouldn't they be playing in the same league to do a comparison. :p
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.