View Full Version : Who Should Captain The Eagles?

Pages : [1] 2

Reveler
5th May 2005, 09:55
With Ben Cousins going against Woosha's advice and continuing to associate with known criminals the West Australian has called for his head.

The article (sorry no link but you can buy it for $4) says that the captaincy of the eagles goes beyond the 2.5 hrs of on field leadership that is shown on at weekend games.

The eagles need a capain that listens to their coach, sets an example to the groups of 17-18yr old kids that come to the club. At the moment Cousins isn't setting this example..

So here is a poll of likely captains of the WCE. I have included Cousins as some may feel this incident should not take away his captaincy.

UNIT
5th May 2005, 09:59
Whats it got to do with a Fremantle Dockers supporter out of interest?.

All i can say is id rather my players be making phone calls to suss blokes, than have them beating woman.

Reveler
5th May 2005, 10:00
I was just reading the morning newspaper and thought it was interesting that that Mark Duffield should call for his head. All the opinions are from the article, none are my own. Just wanting to see what everyone else thought (that is why Ben Cousins is in the poll)

What_the
5th May 2005, 10:04
Chris Judd but would they really take the captaincy away from Cousins?

UNIT
5th May 2005, 10:05
Wheres the Gardy option? Hed be a good captain...always looking out for his mates... ;)

What_the
5th May 2005, 10:06
All i can say is id rather my players be making phone calls to suss blokes, than have them beating woman.
This has as much to do with a Dockers supporter as all the comments you make about the Dockers have to do with a West Coast supporter.

Freo Big Fella
5th May 2005, 10:08

The difference is that Jeff Farmer holds no leadership role at the club, and isn't held up as an example for kids through schools programs like Cousins and Gardiner are. The captaincy is more than 2.5 hours every weekend, as Duffield said.

Looks like they met with Kizon before they were questioned as well, still nothing to hide?

UNIT
5th May 2005, 10:09
This has as much to do with a Dockers supporter as all the comments you make about the Dockers have to do with a West Coast supporter.

Ah no. Ive never started threads regarding the Dockers, which are essentially done with a view to undermining the tenure of their captain. These Dockers supporters are just opportunistic morons who see an opening and go for it. I always focus on the footy. And in regards to Jeff Farmer his 'crimes' are far, far worse than anything Cuz and Gardy are being 'accused' of.

synista
5th May 2005, 10:11
Judd, he's a Brownlow Medalist, you cant ignore that.

Reveler
5th May 2005, 10:13
UNIT why did you vote Judd? you think he is better captain material than cousins?

UNIT
5th May 2005, 10:14
The difference is that Jeff Farmer holds no leadership role at the club, and isn't held up as an example for kids through schools programs like Cousins and Gardiner are. The captaincy is more than 2.5 hours every weekend, as Duffield said.

Looks like they met with Kizon before they were questioned as well, still nothing to hide?

You go on the Dockers official website and tell me Jeff Farmer isnt promoted as 'hero' to the kids. Go to the Galleries section.

Also if as we keep hearing Kizon, Mercanti etc phones have been tapped for years, the cops would know what was and wasnt said. Cousins and Gardy are clearly being targeted by someone either in the media or the police. Or both.
Funny how itll take the heat off the Dockers for a while isnt it...

UNIT
5th May 2005, 10:15
UNIT why did you vote Judd? you think he is better captain material than cousins?

I didnt realize you had Cuz as an option before i voted. If not Cousins, definitley Juddy though. Champion human, on and off the paddock.

Nightwolf
5th May 2005, 10:15
Staker

Milkman
5th May 2005, 10:16
Cousins.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 10:18
With Ben Cousins going against Woosha's advice...
Yes Ben has gone against Woosha's advice.

...and continuing to associate with known criminals the West Australian has called for his head.
And the Eagles should Sack Ben on the spot because?

With all due respect... Freo supporters, of all people, should know how much relevance they should be put on The West, or as Freo say: The Worst.

Ironic that Freo thinks that The West always has it in for them?

The eagles need a capain that listens to their coach, sets an example to the groups of 17-18yr old kids that come to the club. At the moment Cousins isn't setting this example..
Because Cousins associates himself, allegedly, with a Criminal, that automatically makes Ben the No.1 Criminial in the State?

How is Ben not setting an example to the kids?

Ben not listening to the coach? He listened, took on board the advice and decided to reject that advice.... no crime here!

...as some may feel this incident should not take away his captaincy.
Won't happen... period.

Makes for great sales for The West Hey?

Gabbie
5th May 2005, 10:20
1st choice - Tony Soprano ;) if not

Judd

Reveler
5th May 2005, 10:22
I could of done a UNIT and use the words "mickey mouse" but I kept my personal feelings about your mickey mouse captain aside (oh sh*t i did it didn't I?)

Syd Swan
5th May 2005, 10:25
The Bali 9

Cro_Pavo
5th May 2005, 10:35
Chris Judd ;)

Cousins should be stripped from the captainacy and Gardiner stripped from the vice-captainacy immediately. The club should monitor their activities for the rest of the season, if they don't improve. Put them on the trade table at season's end.

pav_is_god
5th May 2005, 10:55
Hmm, shoe's on the other foot is it?

Freo Big Fella
5th May 2005, 10:57
You go on the Dockers official website and tell me Jeff Farmer isnt promoted as 'hero' to the kids. Go to the Galleries section.

Also if as we keep hearing Kizon, Mercanti etc phones have been tapped for years, the cops would know what was and wasnt said. Cousins and Gardy are clearly being targeted by someone either in the media or the police. Or both.
Funny how itll take the heat off the Dockers for a while isnt it...

Cop Out. You're clutching at straws if you think photos come into this. Jeff Farmer has no role in the Schools program (Polak, Cook and Bell came out to mine last year) and isn't in the leadership group. Cousins and Gardiner are both in the leadership group, both take part in the schools program. Until they can show that they won't involve themselves in any way with criminal activities or crime figures, they should be removed from both of those.

and take the heat off the Dockers for what? or are you tacitly acknowledging that the West is anti-Freo and this is the first bit of West Coast Criminal activity that hasn't been swept under the rug by the West now that you're clubs unofficial Publicist John McGrath no longer works for them.

Reveler
5th May 2005, 11:00
I personally think Chris Judd would make an excellent captain. He handles himself on t.v well, answers questions honestly (none of this "I have a gig at 96 huhuh" from kizon cousins). On field he is hard at the ball and fair.

Then Chick as VC would be good as well, another eagle who despite his face lifts, also perfoms well both on/off the field.

jourgo
5th May 2005, 11:01

Cousins & Gardiner are a pair of prawns, but do you really think they're involved in this whole shmozzle? Even they wouldn't be that stupid. The fact that they still obviously have some sort of contact with Kison is a concern, certainly, but they can't control who calls them and the problem Cuzz & Gards find themselves in is once you establish a relationship with someone like Kizon, its damn near impossible to get yourself out of it, no matter how hard you try.

Anyway, none of us know the facts (least of all me) and you could speculate about their involvement until the cows come home. I don't anyone outside of those immediately involved will ever know the full story but because of who they are, Cousins & Gardiner will cop it from all angles and will be guilty purely by association.

For the record, Cousins should now be on his last warning about this kind of ********. Any more hints of impropriety should see him lose the captaincy. As for Gardiner, he's just a ********er and should never have held any sort of leadership role at the club. He's no idol. I'd go as far as to say the club should look at what they could get for him at the trade table (wont be much, I know, but someone would take him I'm sure).

noodle
5th May 2005, 11:02
i don't see why cousins should lose the captaincy. in a season where he hasn't put a foot wrong, the team hasn't put a foot wrong it would be very harsh to take it off him because of this who har. i'm a bit reluctant to use the words media beat up but it certainly is the hottest story in the west for the last year.

Jimthegreat
Chopper Read!

pav_is_god
Judd would definitely make a great captain - he has similar traits to Voss.

Undertaker
5th May 2005, 11:03
This is the first bit of West Coast Criminal activity that hasn't been swept under the rug by the West now that you're clubs unofficial Publicist John McGrath no longer works for them.
Could not agree more Big Fella, these are the same tools that called for Belly to be sanctioned by the club for hiding his face.

noodle
5th May 2005, 11:04
hey rev,

interesting choices that you put forward. glass, kerr, matera, lynch and sampi would be pretty honoured that you think they're captain material. but why no hunter or wooden?

pav_is_god
5th May 2005, 11:04
As for Gardiner, he's just a ********er and should never have held any sort of leadership role at the club. He's no idol. I'd go as far as to say the club should look at what they could get for him at the trade table (wont be much, I know, but someone would take him I'm sure).
He'd only be worth something if he rucks. So look out Gardy if Woosh puts you back in the middle. :D

hoss
5th May 2005, 11:05
Cop Out. You're clutching at straws if you think photos come into this. Jeff Farmer has no role in the Schools program (Polak, Cook and Bell came out to mine last year) and isn't in the leadership group. Cousins and Gardiner are both in the leadership group, both take part in the schools program. Until they can show that they won't involve themselves in any way with criminal activities or crime figures, they should be removed from both of those.

and take the heat off the Dockers for what? or are you tacitly acknowledging that the West is anti-Freo and this is the first bit of West Coast Criminal activity that hasn't been swept under the rug by the West now that you're clubs unofficial Publicist John McGrath no longer works for them.

Exactly. And Farmer doesn't hide what he's done or up too. He has more character and integrity than Cousins and Gardiner put together. He has never been involved in organised crime like them. UNIT, just continue to bury your head the sand. Embly, Kerr, Lynch and for a number of years Cousins and Gardiner. Woosha is soft to put up with this continued criminal activity from his players.

Reveler
5th May 2005, 11:05
hey rev,

interesting choices that you put forward. glass, kerr, matera, lynch and sampi would be pretty honoured that you think they're captain material. but why no hunter or wooden?

I ran out of space... I haven't seen much of Hunter or Wooden so they got the chop. It was always going to be a two horse race with Judd v Cousins.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 11:10
Exactly. And Farmer doesn't hide what he's done or up too. He has more character and integrity than Cousins and Gardiner put together. He has never been involved in organised crime like them. UNIT, just continue to bury your head the sand. Embly, Kerr, Lynch and for a number of years Cousins and Gardiner. Woosha is soft to put up with this continued criminal activity from his players.
Fact - Farmer Beat His Partner and she dropped the charges.

Fact - Gardiner & Cousins are friends with Kizon

I hate bringing up this whole Freo v Eagles BullSh*t but...

The only criminal activity (when comparing Farmer / Cousins / Gardiner) that has occurred was with Farmer.

Am I wrong? Please explain yourself!

eaglesgurl
5th May 2005, 11:11
I cant believe this.... Cousins WILL NOT lose his captaincy.

jourgo
5th May 2005, 11:14

Continued criminal activity? Embley, Kerr & Lynch have done their pennance and haven't done a thing wrong since. And as for Cousins & Gardiner, associating with a known criminal is not a crime in itself.

Nice try though...

Reveler
5th May 2005, 11:14

stick to the topic
FACT - Kizons is a known criminal
FACT - Cousins refused to answer questions relating to the stabbing
FACT - Cousins recieved calls from those involved before and after the incident

the article says that this is enough to warrant the stripping of the captaincy. Do you agree or not?

Freo Big Fella
5th May 2005, 11:15
Continued criminal activity? Embley, Kerr & Lynch have done their pennance and haven't done a thing wrong since. And as for Cousins & Gardiner, associating with a known criminal is not a crime in itself.

Nice try though...

But; according to your coach, it's enough to warrant offical sanctions from the club. Cousins should lose the captaincy for this.

Reveler
5th May 2005, 11:15

yet you vote rowan jones?

hoss
5th May 2005, 11:18
Fact - Farmer Beat His Partner and she dropped the charges.

The only criminal activity (when comparing Farmer / Cousins / Gardiner) that has occurred was with Farmer.

Farmer did wrong, didn't hide it, apologised to his partner and the story is complete. Finito.

Rumours have followed Gardy and Cousins for years. They try and hide their involvement, don't cooperate with police. Now they meet with Kizon before questioned with police. Do you really expect the public to believe that these two are beyond reproach?

As long as the Eagles try and cover up these secretive, sleazy underworld partnerships that Cousins and Gardiner have, the story will never go away.

Ripper
5th May 2005, 11:18
yet you vote rowan jones?

Great candidate. He just oozes leadership.

I reckon he will do a great job!

eaglesgurl
5th May 2005, 11:19
I didnt vote Rowan Jones, I am behind Ben Cousins 100%

TheReason
5th May 2005, 11:19
Let me explain myself a little as well....

Do the Headlines across the front of the West look good for Cousins / Gardy / WCE? No it doesn't.

Would I prefer that Gardy & Cousins had no associations with the people they've been named with? Of Course.

Does this influence their on-field performance? No, not to date.

Does this reflect on their, "teaching the young kids"? Look at the young kids at the club.... a resounding No.

Lets do what some people are saying.... sack them both, on the spot....
I can see the court proceedings... Defamation charges against the WCE for sacking them due to The West's sensationalising the story. Court of Law: We can't prove that Gardy or Cousins did anything the West Alledges. Gardy & Cousins: you are entitled to $10M+ compensation for loss of wages, endorsements..... blah blah

Get Real.

jourgo
5th May 2005, 11:21
But; according to your coach, it's enough to warrant offical sanctions from the club. Cousins should lose the captaincy for this.

I didn't say it wasn't. Both of them need to pull their heads in, sure. But associating with a criminal is not a crime.

Ripper
5th May 2005, 11:23
I didnt vote Rowan Jones, I am behind Ben Cousins 100%

LOL Doesn't look like it here.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/poll.php?do=showresults&pollid=8053

Gabbie
5th May 2005, 11:23
Chopper Read!

:D :D

and Michael Corleone as Vic Captain ;) would have nominated his brother Sonny but for obvious reasons and Uncle Junior as Coach.

larrikin
5th May 2005, 11:24

Aah, no, not a fact at all

Cousins refused to answer questions about phone calls from that night.

A subtle difference perhaps, but the way you wrote it infers a direct involvement, which the police have stated is not the case.

eaglesgurl
5th May 2005, 11:25

lol ********.. woops. well i accidentally voted for Jones then lol.. stupid mouse, I blame the mouse!!!

Reveler
5th May 2005, 11:25

lies, denial and coverups.... I guess she does support the eagles.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 11:28
stick to the topic
FACT - Kizons is a known criminal
FACT - Cousins recieved calls from those involved before and after the incident

the article says that this is enough to warrant the stripping of the captaincy. Do you agree or not?
Okay

No 1 - Yes, it appears so.
Although it should be noted that the Cops have been trying to make anything stick to Kizons for years, with no success. This is a latest attempt to use Cousins / Gardy in the media to embarass them and to try get them to say anything.

No 2 - Yes they have refused to answer questions (ABOUTH THE GUN... NOT A STABBING). Why? I have no idea as do 99.99% of the population.

No 3 - Phone calls, appears that is the case.

The article saying strip the captaincy, is one persons opinion, whether that person has a hidden agenda, I don't know?

Do I agree? How longs a piece of string....?
I say that because the hardest team to judge is always your own because your / my, blinkers are on. However, Inoccent until proven Guilty.

I hope that explains my stance on things.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 11:29
Where does it say that about Woosha?

Or is it the West that believes that Woosha should have sanctions?

Freo Big Fella
5th May 2005, 11:32

Woosha himself stated that he told the players not to associate with known criminals. Now if he's the amazing disciplinarian that you all make out, he should back that up with some action. Replace Cousins and Gardiner with Judd and Cox.

hoss
5th May 2005, 11:32
Doesn't matter if they're innocent or not. As long as they don't cooperate with police and continue to hang out with the likes of Kizon and Mercanti, they'll be guilty by association. Mud finally sticks. People will make up their own minds on innocence. We don't really believe that O J Simpson was innocent do we?

bunsen burner
5th May 2005, 11:35
FACT - Kizons is a known criminalYep

FACT - Cousins refused to answer questions relating to the stabbing His right to do so. If he had nothing to do with it then why would volunteer personal information that is unrelated? Or are you suggesting he's involved in this brawl/stabbing?

FACT - Cousins recieved calls from those involved before and after the incident So what? Might have called up to get some charlie, guy was just about to get engaged in a brawl so asked him to call back in 20. If it doesn't have anything to do with the incident then why should COusins and Gardiner incriminate themselves on an unrelated matter?

At this stage, clearly not. Has done nothing wrong. He just needs to be warned that if anything does come out about any drugs etc that he will be relieved of his captaincy duties.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 11:38
Woosha himself stated that he told the players not to associate with known criminals...
This is almost becoming a slanging match.

Yes, the above is correct.

...Now if he's the amazing disciplinarian that you all make out, he should back that up with some action. Replace Cousins and Gardiner with Judd and Cox.
Why?

What are they guilty of?

This contradicts what you are saying. And you haven't answered my question.

jourgo
5th May 2005, 11:40
Doesn't matter if they're innocent or not. As long as they don't cooperate with police and continue to hang out with the likes of Kizon and Mercanti, they'll be guilty by association. Mud finally sticks. People will make up their own minds on innocence. We don't really believe that O J Simpson was innocent do we?

Comparing Cousins & Gardiner with OJ is a bit of a stretch don't you think? People who will make up their minds about whether Cousins & Gardiner are involved in criminal activity will be those who are predisposed to not liking Cousins & Gardiner. Everyone else will wait & see.

hoss
5th May 2005, 11:44
Comparing Cousins & Gardiner with OJ is a bit of a stretch don't you think? People who will make up their minds about whether Cousins & Gardiner are involved in criminal activity will be those who are predisposed to not liking Cousins & Gardiner. Everyone else will wait & see.

I wasn't comparing them to OJ at all. Just the fact that although OJ was innocent, most people don't believe it. People make their own conclusions.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 11:47
Well done Jourgo.

I am still to engage in a sensible conversation with a Freo supporter, without them resorting to trash talk like: Sack them / OJ / Farmer a model citizen etc...

Where are you people?

Or are you still sitting on the Grassy Knolls?

Freo Big Fella
5th May 2005, 11:48
This is almost becoming a slanging match.

Why?

What are they guilty of?

?

Associating with a known criminal.

Now I'll spell this out slowly.

-Woosha told the players not to associate with known criminals.
-Cousins and Gardiner have constantly thumbed their noses at this by associating with Kizon (and Mercanti; in Gardiners case)
-They should be disciplined for this, in line with what Worsfold said, by their removal from the leadership group and from any involvement in Junior Development programs.

W.C. Fry
5th May 2005, 11:49
******** off troll. You have included even Cousins in the poll have you! Thats such a surprising choice considering he IS our captain. Showing your total lack of knowledge with this thread - and this is why.

1. Rowan Jones hasnt played a game this year and he hasnt missed thru being injured. A VC but probably will get delisted at the end of the year. Yeah make him captain :rolleyes:

2. Daniel Kerr was found guilty of forging a prescription last year. Key word here is GUILTY. Not invited into questioning and not even being charged. If your so concerned about the eagles captain setting the right example for school kids then he shouldnt be on this poll either. :rolleyes:

3. Quinten Lynch was also found GUILTY of drunk driving and failing to pull over for police. Again such a great rollmodel for the kids. BUT HEY you still included Cousins in the poll!

4. Andrew Embley was charged with assault at Club Bay View wasnt he? Later dropped but still "where there is smoke there is fire"? He also broke team rules and was dropped for the 2002 qualifying final.

5. Chad Fletcher broke team rules with Embley and was dropped for the final too. Cousins hasnt broken a team rule and wont be dropped - but of course Fletcher or Embley is a much better choice of captain.

6. Phil Matera - yeh you know that guy you call kickless phil - the one who never performs in finals - the guy you said should have been dropped a few weeks ago - the guy thats over 30 and probably only has a few years left in him. Top choice of captain.

7. Ashley Sampi - Flashy but inconsistant player. Also pretty shy in front of the cameras. Definately captain material tho!

8. Tyson Stenglein - Hes in his first year at our club and played only a handful of games for us. Would like to think that you have to earn the captaincy first - unlike your captain.

9. Drew Banfield - His time to captain is past. Only has 1 maybe 2 more seasons in him. Remember hes our only remaining premiership player... hang on you werent born back then.

The rest on your list could captain - but really its only out of 3 players. Cousins, Judd and Cox. It doesnt take a brain surgeon to work out that Judd would take over the captaincy if Cousins stepped down.

Just another thread to troll Cousins. Kinda backfired on you tho because in calling for his head you put forward a range of candidates who shouldnt be captain for a lot greater reasons than Cousins. But please go ahead and prove me wrong, why should they captain while he should not?

Freo Big Fella
5th May 2005, 11:49
Well done Jourgo.

I am still to engage in a sensible conversation with a Freo supporter, without them resorting to trash talk like: Sack them / OJ / Farmer a model citizen etc...

Where are you people?

Or are you still sitting on the Grassy Knolls?

Find where any Freo supporter has said that? All we're saying is that your club should hold it's players accountable for breaching a rule that the coach set down.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 11:51
Associating with a known criminal.

Now I'll spell this out slowly.

-Woosha told the players not to associate with known criminals.
-Cousins and Gardiner have constantly thumbed their noses at this by associating with Kizon (and Mercanti; in Gardiners case)
-They should be disciplined for this, in line with what Worsfold said, by their removal from the leadership group and from any involvement in Junior Development programs.
Dude

I'll spell this out in Simpleton terms for you:

1. They didn't take Woosha's advice, not an ULTIMATUM, advice. Crime being?

2. Why should they be disciplined?

3. What did he Woosha say, "his advice"? Not making sense.

Please explain?

Reveler
5th May 2005, 11:56
WC Fry, I was giving the audience some options. Its your opinion if you feel they are not captain material.

I believe if cousins would lose his captaincy it would be between Judd, Cox, Chick and Steinglien.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 12:00
Find where any Freo supporter has said that? All we're saying is that your club should hold it's players accountable for breaching a rule that the coach set down.
We are really going around in circles, no onl will answer a direct question from me.

Where does it say that, "breaching a rule that the coach set down." Sensationalising things just like The West has done?

Reveler
5th May 2005, 12:01
don't worry the shadow minister of sport agree's captian cousins should stay captian cousins.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 12:03
don't worry the shadow minister of sport agree's captian cousins should stay captian cousins.
HaHaHa

F***** Hell

This is becoming bigger than Ben Hur. What's this Tosser (Shadown Minister) doing, chipping in.

FFS!

Freo Big Fella
5th May 2005, 12:04
Phht. Reason; Stick your head in the sand all you want. If you think that having your captain and vice captain associate with those sorts of people is acceptable, then we'll have to agree to disagree. I find it disgraceful that the club feels right in holding these two jokers up as an example for Junior Footballers.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 12:11
Phht. Reason; Stick your head in the sand all you want. If you think that having your captain and vice captain associate with those sorts of people is acceptable, then we'll have to agree to disagree. I find it disgraceful that the club feels right in holding these two jokers up as an example for Junior Footballers.
How am I sticking my head in the sand?

My quote earlier:

"Do the Headlines across the front of the West look good for Cousins / Gardy / WCE? No it doesn't.

Would I prefer that Gardy & Cousins had no associations with the people they've been named with? Of Course.

Does this influence their on-field performance? No, not to date.

Does this reflect on their, "teaching the young kids"? Look at the young kids at the club.... a resounding No"

No Freo Big Fella.... we are not Agreeing to Disagree, we are saying the same thing here... up until you made that comment.

But... to then draw the long bow and infer that they are criminals....

Okay so why are they Jokers / Disgraceful?
What influence does the last 2 days have on being an example to Juniors.

Cheers

Exeter
5th May 2005, 12:13
Cousins is highly unlikely to lose the captaincy this year unless the whole thing really goes pear shaped.

However, I don't expect him to be skipper next year given that his patently poor judgement in his choice of friends brings him and the club into disrepute.

Judd will captain next year.

jourgo
5th May 2005, 12:15
I wasn't comparing them to OJ at all. Just the fact that although OJ was innocent, most people don't believe it. People make their own conclusions.

You were comparing peoples' perceptions about seperate incidents. The final OJ verdict was utterly baffling because of amount of evidence against him. In the case of Cousins & Gardiner, there is no evidence that they were involved in any criminal activity. All we know is that one of them (or both perhaps) spoke to one the people involved before & after, AND THAT'S ALL.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 12:23
Hello Freo Big Fella?

I'm still looking to have a sensible & constructive convesation on this topic.

what the!
5th May 2005, 12:29
Hello Freo Big Fella?

I'm still looking to have a sensible & constructive convesation on this topic.

Dont hold your breath.

It is well known that Fremantle supporters cannot string more than 2 intelligible words together.

Count Zero
5th May 2005, 12:32
Go hard Freo fans, every dog has its day.

Reveler
5th May 2005, 12:34
Dont hold your breath.

It is well known that Fremantle supporters cannot string more than 2 intelligible words together.

is that because of all the crack that gardy and cousins sell them?

TheReason
5th May 2005, 12:41
If thats the case then:

Gardy & Cousins = Dumb & Rich Druggies

Freo = Dumb & Poor Druggies

what the!
5th May 2005, 12:44

Nice bit of slander there. Wonder what their lawyers would think of that comment? Bet you feel really brave sitting behind a computer making those types of allegations. Wonder if you would be so free with such derogatory comments in a one on one situation?

kidstyler
5th May 2005, 12:45
If thats the case then:

Gardy & Cousins = Dumb & Rich Druggies

Freo = Dumb & Poor Druggies

orrr whats that?!

dont like being front page news 2 days in a row?!?!

Reveler
5th May 2005, 12:48
Nice bit of slander there. Wonder what their lawyers would think of that comment? Bet you feel really brave sitting behind a computer making those types of allegations. Wonder if you would be so free with such derogatory comments in a one on one situation?

same as your slander against Fremantle Supporters. Thankyou for proving my point.

Slacker
5th May 2005, 12:49
Cousins is highly unlikely to lose the captaincy this year unless the whole thing really goes pear shaped.

However, I don't expect him to be skipper next year given that his patently poor judgement in his choice of friends brings him and the club into disrepute.

Judd will captain next year.

Yeah, that seems to be the way things will pan out for Cousins.

Do you think Gardy will be retained next year? He has been a great player for you guys, but his continuing poor judgement off-field is a real destabilizing influence. Personally, I think a trade to Melbourne could benefit both parties (assuming he is not beyond hope).

TheReason
5th May 2005, 12:52
orrr whats that?!

dont like being front page news 2 days in a row?!?!
Where did I say that?

Kapow!!!
5th May 2005, 12:54
Hmmm, what started off as an innocent poll and a question has turned into another WCE vs Freo fight...once again with the antagonist being UNIT. Funny that.

Back onto the topic of the thread, Cousins really has shown an incredilble lack of respect for the coaches demands. Not saying they should strip him of the captaincy based just on that but at any club the captain has to be a leader of men, an example setter, someone who will show no fear (hence why I got stuck into Riewoldt when he turned on the waterworks) and above all must put the team above anything. From which Cousins has shown by going against Coaches instructions that he didn't put the team above others.

Wirrpunda would be my bet. Always hard at the footy, has been at the Eagles since 95 (or 96?), has been a great asset to the eagles defence. That's just my pick if the Eagles had to pick a new captain.

what the!
5th May 2005, 12:55
same as your slander against Fremantle Supporters. Thankyou for proving my point.

Just run back through this and any other threads and find where I have ever intimated that a Fremantle supporter or player engaged in criminal activity and were drug takers. happy trawling. You wont find anything. Unlike you I have a bit more integrity than that

TheReason
5th May 2005, 12:56
Slander = An unproven point i.e. Selling drugs

No Slander = The Truth being retold i.e. Farmer is a Partner Basher.

To put both in the same pot, shows how one-eyed you are... defending the undefendable.

stylor
5th May 2005, 12:57
Hmm, it's been an interesting read and I will be interested to see how all this pans out! The Cousins and Gardiner thing I mean.

IMO, Cousins should stay as captain as I don't think anything suss is going on other than the fact that they know Kizons. And if him and Gardiner are stupid enough to take drugs then they'll be found out eventually and they'll just be letting themselves and their team down in the long run!

One thing that we can all take from this thread however:

WC supporters like to give out abundant amounts of sh.it and simply cannot take it! WC trolls, go back and read all the trolls started about freo and then pull your head out of your arses and then make an attempt to grow up!

TheReason
5th May 2005, 12:58
Hmmm, what started off as an innocent poll and a question has turned into another WCE vs Freo fight...once again with the antagonist being UNIT. Funny that.

Back onto the topic of the thread, Cousins really has shown an incredilble lack of respect for the coaches demands. Not saying they should strip him of the captaincy based just on that but at any club the captain has to be a leader of men, an example setter, someone who will show no fear (hence why I got stuck into Riewoldt when he turned on the waterworks) and above all must put the team above anything. From which Cousins has shown by going against Coaches instructions that he didn't put the team above others.

Wirrpunda would be my bet. Always hard at the footy, has been at the Eagles since 95 (or 96?), has been a great asset to the eagles defence. That's just my pick if the Eagles had to pick a new captain.
Kapow.....

Congratulations on a well thought out read.

I don't agree with everything you have said but at least you've had the Balls to back up a few things, without resolving to gutter tactics.

wedesweiler
5th May 2005, 13:01
Interesting comparison to Carlton where Pagan told Karl Norman he was not to associate with Laurence Angwin if he wanted to continue his tenure at the club.

However, Cousins when given similar advice by his coach to not associate himself with certain people chooses to ignore that advice.

If Pagan was at the helm of the Eagles, Cousins would be gone for sure.

Slacker
WC supporters like to give out abundant amounts of sh.it and simply cannot take it! WC trolls, go back and read all the trolls started about freo and then pull your head out of your arses and then make an attempt to grow up!
I was just thinking the same thing myself.

Reveler
Just run back through this and any other threads and find where I have ever intimated that a Fremantle supporter or player engaged in criminal activity and were drug takers. happy trawling. You wont find anything. Unlike you I have a bit more integrity than that

I never stated that they sold/took drugs, I asked a question. However you stated that "Fremantle supporters cannot string more than 2 intelligible words together" which is actually more of a slander than what I did.

hoss
5th May 2005, 13:08

Bollocks. You have loved joining UNIT's and Ljp86's troll bandwagon over the past few weeks.

You only hate bringing up the Freo v Eagles thing when there is some heat on the Eagles for once.

40% of the WCE supporters on BF are trolls, and you're one of them.

jourgo
5th May 2005, 13:10

I'd doubt Wirra would want the captaincy. Not that he shuns responsibility - far from it - just that he has the commitment to his foundation taking up basically all of his non-football related time, which would make it very hard for him to devote the kind of time needed for the captaincy. If Cousins were to lose it, Judd would get it.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 13:11
Interesting comparison to Carlton where Pagan told Karl Norman he was not to associate with Laurence Angwin if he wanted to continue his tenure at the club.

However, Cousins when given similar advice by his coach to not associate himself with certain people chooses to ignore that advice.

If Pagan was at the helm of the Eagles, Cousins would be gone for sure.
Bzzzzt wrong answer....

2 completely different scenarios

One was told if you associate with.... you are gone.

The other one was given advice not to associate..

Please put a bit more thought into your post next time.

Reveler
5th May 2005, 13:14
Bzzzzt wrong answer....

2 completely different scenarios

One was told if you associate with.... you are gone.

The other one was given advice not to associate..

Please put a bit more thought into your post next time.

He has a point, If pagan was coach he would of been TOLD not to associate. Then when he does, he would of been gone.

The other thing is that Cousins is a awesome player, and well Norman was Norman.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 13:19
Bollocks. You have loved joining UNIT's and Ljp86's troll bandwagon over the past few weeks.

You only hate bringing up the Freo v Eagles thing when there is some heat on the Eagles for once.

40% of the WCE supporters on BF are trolls, and you're one of them.
BOLLOCKS TO THAT, I hated responding & inflaming the Eagles v Freo thing, but I did because of these comments:

1st Unit (whom I don't disagree with & makes a valid point).
And this Hoss, is where it started becoming an Eagles v Freo thing.
Exactly. And Farmer doesn't hide what he's done or up too. He has more character and integrity than Cousins and Gardiner put together. He has never been involved in organised crime like them.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 13:22
He has a point, If pagan was coach he would of been TOLD not to associate. Then when he does, he would of been gone.

The other thing is that Cousins is a awesome player, and well Norman was Norman.
Maybe, who knows?

Like you have hinted at... pretty easy to have done with Norman as he's a dud & harder to do with Cousins.

TheReason
5th May 2005, 13:24
My wet dream would go something like this:

Cousins wins the Bronlow, gets up on stage with Kizon and on stage gives the finger salute and tells The West: Grow up and get a life.

Reveler
5th May 2005, 13:26

Cousins wins the Bronlow, gets up on stage with Kizon and on stage gives the finger salute and tells The West: Grow up and get a life.
:eek:

hoss
5th May 2005, 13:26

Ostrich.

milo
5th May 2005, 13:28

Kizon's his 'partner' now?

Stumpy Pete
5th May 2005, 13:31
Why don't you let the West Australian choose the captain - they seem to have the running of the Eagles at the moment?

But seriously - why not stick with Cousins, his (alleged) continued association with the criminal underworld is clearly not affecting the team or his own performance. Until it can be proven that it is affecting the team (or until Cousins gets thrown in gaol) he should maintain his role.

As for those people sticking to the good old "what about being a role model for the children!" line. If anything is bollocks - that is it.

Footballers are on public display when they are playing footy and representing the club in an official capacity, any other time their personal issues are their own business.

Mark Viduka put this best when (and this was during an uncontroversial period of his life) asked about being a role model when he said that kids should look to their parents for role models and to learn about values.

Really - if the Dockers didn't exost would this even get a run on this board??

Regards

S. Pete

ps. If Cousins did lose it - Banfield's the man.

jourgo
5th May 2005, 13:32
Ostrich.

Throttler

TheReason
5th May 2005, 13:33
Kizon's his 'partner' now?
Yes Milo....

About the same time Otis became yours.

hawkeye23
5th May 2005, 13:34
Why don't you let the West Australian choose the captain - they seem to have the running of the Eagles at the moment?

But seriously - why not stick with Cousins, his (alleged) continued association with the criminal underworld is clearly not affecting the team or his own performance. Until it can be proven that it is affecting the team (or until Cousins gets thrown in gaol) he should maintain his role.

As for those people sticking to the good old "what about being a role model for the children!" line. If anything is bollocks - that is it.

Footballers are on public display when they are playing footy and representing the club in an official capacity, any other time their personal issues are their own business.

Mark Viduka put this best when (and this was during an uncontroversial period of his life) asked about being a role model when he said that kids should look to their parents for role models and to learn about values.

Really - if the Dockers didn't exost would this even get a run on this board??

Regards

S. Pete

ps. If Cousins did lose it - Banfield's the man.

Nice post Stumpy Pete! Agree with most except the P.S. Banners is too old now.... if Cousins goes, I think the captaincy should go to Judd.