View Full Version : Tasmanian Football Results (May 7th & 8th)
VFL
TFC Devils 19.9.123 - Sandringham 15.12.102 Att: 2685 at North Hobart Oval
SFL Premier League
New Norfolk 19.18.132 - Lauderdale 10.9.69 at Lauderdale Oval
Kingborough 21.11.137 - Hobart Lions 8.10.58 at Kingston Beach Oval
North Hobart 15.15.105 - Glenorchy 12.8.80 at KGV Football Park
Clarence 41.23.269 - Brighton 5.4.34 at Bellerive Oval
SFL Regional League
Sorell 8.11.59 - Lindisfarne 3.14.32 at Anzac Park
Kermandie 21.21.147 - Huonville Lions 9.8.62 at Huonville Rec. Ground
Dodges Ferry 26.15.171 - Channel 6.10.46 at Shark Park
Cygnet 26.17.173 - Claremont 10.12.72 at Cygnet Rec. Ground
NTFL
North Launceston 11.24.90 - Devonport 12.13.85 Att: 760 at Devonport Oval
Latrobe 24.14.158 - Wynyard 10.14.74 Att: 475 at Wynyard Oval
Launceston 15.10.100 - Ulverstone 5.10.40 Att: 450 at Windsor Park
South Launceston 23.12.150 - Penguin 6.10.46 Att: 400 at Youngtown Oval
Burnie 20.23.143 - Smithton 10.1.61 Att: 512 at West Park
NTFA Division 1
Deloraine 16.15.111 - Rocherlea 12.14.86 at Deloraine Racecourse Ground
George Town 24.12.156 - Hillwood 5.2.32 at Hillwood Rec. Ground
Longford 17.14.116 - Bridgenorth 17.8.110 at Bridgenorth Football Ground
Scottsdale Magpies 11.12.78 - Bracknell 10.6.66 at Scottsdale Rec. Ground
NTFA Division Two
Old Scotch 16.16.112 - Tamar Cats 14.11.95 at NTCA Ground
Perth 26.8.164 - Old Launcestonians 9.8.62 at Perth Football Ground
Campbell Town 12.17.89 - Fingal Valley 10.11.71 at Campbell Town Memorial Ground
St.Patricks 13.14.92 - Evandale 9.7.61 at Evandale Rec. Ground
NEFU
Branxholm 28.28.196 - Ringarooma 4.4.28 at Ringarooma Football Ground
Winnaleah 22.6.138 - Scottsdale Crows 8.12.60 at Winnaleah Rec. Ground
Lilydale 21.17.143 - St Helens 9.10.64 at St Helens Rec. Ground
ODFA
Oatlands 24.15.159 - Swansea 3.11.29 at Swansea Rec. Ground
Bothwell 17.20.122 - Mount Pleasant 11.7.73 at Bothwell Oval
OSFA
St Virgils 19.21.135 - Friends' 10.6.66 at TCA Ground
University 14.17.101 - Richmond 6.20.56 at Richmond Oval
DOSA 27.13.175 - Hutchins 11.16.82 at Dominic Oval
NWFA
Forth 23.8.146 - Sheffield 10.17.77 at Sheffield Rec. Ground
Wesley Vale 21.9.135 - Rosebery Toorak 9.10.64 at Pipers Park
Spreyton 15.13.103 - East Ulverstone 14.10.94 at Spreyton Rec. Ground
Turners Beach 15.14.104 - West Ulverstone 9.8.62 at Turners Beach Rec. Ground
Darwin FA
Somerset 22.14.146 - Ridgley 20.10.130 at Ridgley Football Ground
Yolla 18.12.120 - Natone 15.14.104 at Natone Rec. Ground
South Burnie 14.10.94 - Yeoman 5.8.38 at Wivenhoe Sports Ground
Queenstown 27.18.180 - Myalla 6.8.44 at Queenstown Oval
That leaves the ladder looking something like this:
New Norfolk 20
Clarence 16
North Hobart 16
Glenorchy 8
Lauderdale 8
Kingborough 8
Hobart 4
Brighton 0
Reasonably even round (except Brighton) again with some of the lesser teams being more than competitive against the powerehouses (except Brighton). Looking Forward to see how this season unfolds, with probably 4 contenders (the top 4), Glenorchy on their day can match it with any of the top 3 teams while Kingborough and Lauderdale are a little outclassed.
Kingston now laughing ,crowing and getting drunk out of their skulls knowing that HFC have know submitted both on and off the field.
The worst loss in the history of Hobart/Hobart Lions against Kingston/Kingborough.
But it has to be said, that is not a REAL Hobart side.
1998: Rd 02) King 15.17.107 - Hobt 13.12.90 (TCA Ground)
1998: Rd 13) King 16.9.105 - Hobt 3.13.31 (The Pit)
1999: Rd 04) Hobt 11.11.77 - King 6.8.44 (The Pit)
1999: Rd 15) Hobt 17.11.113 - King 6.9.45 (TCA Ground)
2000: Rd 05) Hobt 13.16.94 - King 12.9.81 (The Pit)
2000: Rd 16) Hobt 18.12.120 - King 9.7.61 (TCA Ground)
2001: Rd 10) Hobt 14.18.102 - King 8.6.54 (TCA Ground)
2002: Rd 05) Hobt 16.9.105 - King 11.10.76 (The Pit)
2002: Rd 12) King 12.8.80 - Hobt 9.16.70 (TCA Ground)
2003: Rd 07) Hobt 26.9.165 - King 9.7.61 (TCA Ground)
2003: Rd 15) Hobt 19.12.126 - King 10.7.67 (The Pit)
2003: Rd 21) King 14.11.95 - Hobt 7.11.53 (TCA Ground)
2004: Rd 06) Hobt 11.11.77 - King 11.5.71 (The Pit)
2004: Rd 14) Hobt 5.11.41 - King 5.10.40 (TCA Ground)
2004: Elim F) King 14.9.93 - Hobt 9.14.68 (North Hobart Oval)
Played: 15 (Hobart 10 - Kingston 5)
7 May 2005, 21:44
The worst loss in the history of Hobart/Hobart Lions against Kingston/Kingborough.
But it has to be said, that is not a REAL Hobart side.
1998: Rd 02) King 15.17.107 - Hobt 13.12.90 (TCA Ground)
1998: Rd 13) King 16.9.105 - Hobt 3.13.31 (The Pit)
1999: Rd 04) Hobt 11.11.77 - King 6.8.44 (The Pit)
1999: Rd 15) Hobt 17.11.113 - King 6.9.45 (TCA Ground)
2000: Rd 05) Hobt 13.16.94 - King 12.9.81 (The Pit)
2000: Rd 16) Hobt 18.12.120 - King 9.7.61 (TCA Ground)
2001: Rd 10) Hobt 14.18.102 - King 8.6.54 (TCA Ground)
2002: Rd 05) Hobt 16.9.105 - King 11.10.76 (The Pit)
2002: Rd 12) King 12.8.80 - Hobt 9.16.70 (TCA Ground)
2003: Rd 07) Hobt 26.9.165 - King 9.7.61 (TCA Ground)
2003: Rd 15) Hobt 19.12.126 - King 10.7.67 (The Pit)
2003: Rd 21) King 14.11.95 - Hobt 7.11.53 (TCA Ground)
2004: Rd 06) Hobt 11.11.77 - King 11.5.71 (The Pit)
2004: Rd 14) Hobt 5.11.41 - King 5.10.40 (TCA Ground)
2004: Elim F) King 14.9.93 - Hobt 9.14.68 (North Hobart Oval)
Played: 15 (Hobart 10 - Kingston 5)
Hobart were poor but it was a poor game to watch. Hobart Sam Gray I thought was in the best but it was a poor standerd.
Who cares with the past. Geelong had won 2 out of 11 games until last week and they won, do not get sucked into stats.
bakerman
7 May 2005, 21:45
That leaves the ladder looking something like this:
New Norfolk 20
Clarence 16
North Hobart 16
Glenorchy 8
Lauderdale 8
Kingborough 8
Hobart 4
Brighton 0
Reasonably even round (except Brighton) again with some of the lesser teams being more than competitive against the powerehouses (except Brighton). Looking Forward to see how this season unfolds, with probably 4 contenders (the top 4), Glenorchy on their day can match it with any of the top 3 teams while Kingborough and Lauderdale are a little outclassed.
How can you say reasonably even round.
Kingston flogged Hobart.
You would have to say that Brighton, Hobart and the Dale will be the bottom 3, have a look at the scores
So what, are you living in the past ?????
No. A true Hobart side which supposedly has "good quality players" and a "high standard coach" wouldn't have been bent over and reemed in the arse crack like that miserable effort there.
The 1998 scoreline at The Pit was basically a combination of inexperienced, low skilled players in that game, and an ordinary coach.
Hobart were poor but it was a poor game to watch. Hobart Sam Gray I thought was in the best but it was a poor standerd.
I've yet to see in over seven years of watching SFL a good standard match. What was the turnout like down there bakerman?
Who cares with the past. Geelong had won 2 out of 11 games until last week and they won, do not get sucked into stats.
Not so much a fixation with stats bakes, but that result reflects on the current Hobart Football Club - a nothing club.
How can you say reasonably even round.
Kingston flogged Hobart.
You would have to say that Brighton, Hobart and the Dale will be the bottom 3, have a look at the scores
Average winning margin this Round of the Premier League: 100.5 points.
Average winning margin this Round of the Regional League: 84.5 points.
On current displays Brighton obviously will win the spoon and Lions will finish second last. Good start for the Baker/St Virgils regime at Hobart :rolleyes:
Good start for the Baker/St Virgils regime at Hobart
To those from Suburbs with low socio-economic backgrounds, Please Explain?
Quick wrap from the Old Scholars, DOSA flogged Hutchins, Uni by 6 goals over Richmond. After Round 5, Richmond winless and on the bottom of the ladder! Who would have predicted that on Grand Final Day 2004!
Saw something amazing from a senior footballer today. Whoever No 55 for Hutchins is lead out from full forward, leapt in the air to take a chest mark and mistimed it so badly the ball went under his feet! Had to see it to believe it!
To those from Suburbs with low socio-economic backgrounds, Please Explain?
Most of the people still involved in official positions at Hobart have been involved with junior football with St Virgils. Plus there are a lot of new faces at the club bought in to replace the many that have quit - mostly ex-St Virgils junior team people.
There are the sorts of "better people" that Baker and Co up at Hobart want involved in the club, us mere plebs from working class backgrounds who sweated blood for that club don't mean squat anymore.
Private school club, mate.
Saw something amazing from a senior footballer today. Whoever No 55 for Hutchins is lead out from full forward, leapt in the air to take a chest mark and mistimed it so badly the ball went under his feet! Had to see it to believe it!
:D
bakerman
8 May 2005, 09:46
I've yet to see in over seven years of watching SFL a good standard match. What was the turnout like down there bakerman?
Crowd was poor, maybe 200 people. When Kingston were in the Huon there was a bigger crowd at every game.
Shows that the league is not working.
Crowd was poor, maybe 200 people. When Kingston were in the Huon there was a bigger crowd at every game.
Shows that the league is not working.
Yep, I think you're spot on bakes.
I think the whole thing needs to be separated - Country and amatuer teams playing in the country, and city teams playing in the city.
Despite what people like Morrison, Wade etc say, it's patently obvious that it is just not working.
The general public think the current setup of the SFL is a complete joke - and stay away.
They've been staying away for years, and are continuing to stay away.
And you are spot on about Kingston getting better crowds in the Huon FA, I've seen that too.
SFL Premier League - Round 5
Glenorchy v North Hobart at KGV
NHb: 5.2 - 7.6 - 11.9 - 15.15.105
Glen: 4.1 - 8.4 - 11.5 - 12.8.80
Goals: (NH) Clark 3, James 3, Bielski 2, Wilkinson 1, Cumming 1, Marshall 1, Long 1, Potter 1, Devine 1, Palmer 1.
Goals: (GL) Crouch 3, Henley 2, Millhouse 2, Bowring 2, Ross 1, Newitt 1, Kamaric 1.
Reserves: North Hobart 15.7.97 - Glenorchy 15.4.94
Under 19: Glenorchy 20.12.132 - North Hobart 4.3.27
Kingborough v Hobart Lions at Kingston Beach Oval
King: 7.3 - 11.8 - 15.11 - 21.11.137
Hob: 4.1 - 6.4 - 7.5 - 8.10.58
Goals: (KB) Unsworth 5, Jones 3, Harris 3, Pestrucci 2, Lamprill 2, Steele 1, Joyce 1, Spaulding 1, Philp 1, Parker 1, Godden 1.
Goals: (HB) Dickson 1, Gray 1, Jones 1, Best 1, Nibbs 1, Dodge 1, Cassidy 1, Youd 1.
Reserves: Kingborough 15.16.106 - Hobart Lions 4.6.30
Under 19: Hobart Lions 10.13.73 - Kingborough 7.9.51
Lauderdale v New Norfolk at Lauderdale Oval
NNfk: 3.2 - 5.10 - 10.15 - 19.18.132
Laud: 2.2 - 5.4 - 8.8 - 10.9.69
Goals: (NN) Salter 5, Oakley 2, Burdon 2, Belcher 2, Hodge 2, Martin 2, Ackerley 1, Smith 1, Britten 1, Clayton 1.
Goals: (LA) Allen 2, Lonergan 2, Wade 2, Matthews 1, Farrington 1, Perkins 1, Marriot 1.
Reserves: New Norfolk 28.17.185 - Lauderdale 5.2.32
Under 19: New Norfolk 9.18.72 - Lauderdale 9.7.61
Clarence v Brighton at Bellerive Oval
Clar: 10.8 - 21.14 - 31.17 - 41.23.269
Bton: 0.1 - 0.1 - 1.2 - 5.4.34
Goals: (CL) Archer 10, Tamlyn 4, S.Whitelaw 3, T.Whitelaw 3, N.Leitch 3, Read 3, Doyle 3, Standen 2, Paine 2, Fielding 2, Probert 1, Stirling 1, Beechey 1, Iles 1, Turney 1, Cooney 1, Baker 1.
Goals: (BR) Steele 1, G.Delaney 1, Dilger 1, Rainbird 1, R.Delaney 1.
Reserves: Clarence 38.21.249 - Brighton 1.1.7
Under 19: Clarence defeated Brighton on forfeit
SFL Premier League Ladder
New Norfolk.........20
Clarence.............16
North Hobart........16
Kingborough..........8
Glenorchy.............8
Leading Goalkickers
C.Joyce (Kingborough).........(1) 18
T.James (Nth Hobart)...........(3) 16
J.Bowring (Glenorchy)..........(1) 14
R.Devine (Nth Hobart)..........(1) 14
Barralupo
9 May 2005, 13:26
Sorell vs the farne was a pretty poor game, there mas a massive all in brawl on the boundary during the reserves, the umpires lost control
Sunday Tasmanian: 8th May 2005 - Demons regain a little respect
By James Bresnehan
North Hobart's quest to regain the respect of its Premier League peers gained strong momentum yesterday when it disposed of would-be challenger Glenorchy at KGV.
The fourth-placed Magpies fancied themselves as a chance to beat the second-placed Demons.
And while they appeared to have the cheek to pull off an upset, North Hobart stepped up a gear to secure a 25-point win -- 15.15 (105) to 12.8 (80).
North Hobart's hard-running midfield and solid back half set the tone for the victory, which had coach Brendon Bolton smiling from ear to ear.
"It's all about improving and each and every individual knows they have to keep improving," Bolton said.
"We're not getting too far ahead of ourselves, we've still got a lot of respect to gain from a lot of teams, so it's early days."
Bolton was referring to North Hobart's disappointing season last year after its 2003 premiership.
Second spot on the ladder this early in the season was not something to celebrate.
"We're forgetting about where we are on the ladder, we're forgetting about the scoreboard, we're just worrying about what we do quarter by quarter, contest by contest, game by game," Bolton said.
North Hobart instantly gained Glenorchy's respect when it opened the match with five unanswered goals while the Pies didn't bother the scorers.
That shocked Glenorchy into action, the young Pies responding to the crisis by kicking nine goals to North's two to snatch a nine-point lead by half-time.
Then the sides slugged out a tight third term.
North broke the game open in the final quarter when its defenders kept the Pies to just one goal and its forwards converted four to set up the win.
"I'm really proud of the way our backline played today, they had the right balance between running off and being tight," Bolton said.
No one typified North's hardness at the contests than hard-hitting Leigh Taylor, while Rhys Long's ability to carry the ball in traffic helped break the game open.
In other Premier League games, Clarence smashed Brighton at Bellerive Oval, winning by 235 points - 41.23 (269) to 5.4 (34).
Daniel Archer led the goal-fest kicking 10, while 17 of the Roos' 22 kicked goals.
Kingborough had a big win over Hobart at Kingston, kicking 21.11 (137) to 8.10 (58) to win by 79 points.
Ladder leader New Norfolk maintained its unbeaten run by thrashing Lauderdale at Lauderdale, winning by 63 points -- 19.18 (132) to 10.9 (69).
Sunday Tasmanian: 8th May 2005 - Win compensates "ugly" Eagles
By Adam Smith
It was far from pretty, but Sorell dug deep to defeat Lindisfarne at Anzac Park in their Regional League football match yesterday.
In an error-riddled game, the Eagles held Lindisfarne goalless in the first term, while kicking five themselves to open up a 35-point lead.
And despite only scoring one goal in the second half, the Eagles held off an inaccurate Lindisfarne outfit to win 8.11 (59) to 3.14 (32).
"It was ugly wasn't it?" Eagles coach Anthony McConnon offered after the game.
"The first half was great. We played the way we wanted to but Lindisfarne obviously changed their game plan after the break."
Neither side had any structure going forward, constantly missing targets as both backlines blanketed their opposition.
McConnon is aware of the improvement needed to keep pace with the two top teams.
"If we want to consider ourselves top-three material, we have to be able to lift," he said.
"But to get the four points is good."
Eagles ruckman Jason Harland continued his stellar season, constantly giving his midfield first use of the ball and taking plenty of marks around the ground.
James Penwright, Alan Haw and Justin and Nathan Westbury were chief beneficiaries of Harland's ruck work, gathering numerous possessions and providing plenty of drive through the middle.
Tim Polley and Nathan Thomas both kicked two goals for the Eagles.
"He [Harland] is a big difference," McConnon said.
"You know if you throw him down back he can take a mark or you can put him at centre half-forward and it takes two of their guys to man up on him."
Lindisfarne was best served by Mike Cassidy, who repelled many Sorell attacks from half back. Shaun Goodsell kicked two goals, while Lee Proud added the other.
Coach Jarrod Bennett was not happy with Lindisfarne effort.
"Today was very disappointing. Very, very disappointing," he said.
"We played very unaccountable football.
"We were a bit slow again today, exploited in that area once again."
Dodges Ferry retained second spot on the ladder after thumping Channel by 125 points at Shark Park.
The Sharks kicked 20 goals to four after quarter-time, running away with the game 26.15 (171) to 6.10 (46).
Kermandie and Huonville were expected to provide a close game, but the Robins booted 18 goals to six after the first term to run out 83-point victors, 21.21 (145) to 9.8 (62).
Todd Pepper kicked five for Kermandie, with Brendon Lorkin and Darren Johns adding four each.
In the biggest mismatch of the round, Cygnet continued its unbeaten season with a 101-point demolition of winless Claremont 26.17 (173) to 10.12 (72).
Once again full-forward Michael Darcy was the destroyer, booting 13 goals to take his season tally to 38.
"Today was very disappointing. Very, very disappointing," Bennett said.
"We were a bit slow again today, exploited in that area once again."
Is Jarrod Bennett surprised? Maybe that's what happens when you recruit an abundance of tall, marking forwards and ruckmen (S.Goodsell, Hogan, Proud, Cassidy, L.Goodsell .....)
Dodges Ferry retained second spot on the ladder after thumping Channel by 125 points at Shark Park.
The Sharks kicked 20 goals to four after quarter-time, running away with the game 26.15 (171) to 6.10 (46).
In the biggest mismatch of the round, Cygnet continued its unbeaten season with a 101-point demolition of winless Claremont 26.17 (173) to 10.12 (72).
Once again full-forward Michael Darcy was the destroyer, booting 13 goals to take his season tally to 38.
Wouldn't basic maths suggest the game at Shark Park (125 points) was the biggest mismatch of the round, not the top versus bottom clash down at Cygnet (101 Points)?
What on earth is wrong with Channel? Were expected to be one of the big improvers with their recruiting drive at Kingston! Must have been a case of alot of quantity not alot of quality recruits! They appear to be a worse side than last year! Also, why oh why is big Benny `Banjo' Swards kicking the dew off the grass in the magoo's? If he ain't in their best 21 I'll give up watching footy!
tassieswan
9 May 2005, 20:45
Would Cygnet be as good as they are now without Darcy?
The Doctor '73
9 May 2005, 21:01
Darcy’s a very good full forward but Cygnet would still be the best side in the competition without him. They have good players all over the field and whilst taking nothing away from Darcy, the Cygnet side does feed him the ball quite well and I’m sure they would be able to do the same with another quality full forward.
Nah, they'd be BETTER!
What a stupid question!
Cygnet did flog Lauderdale in the '02 GF without this Full Back's Nightmare so to suggest he is the whole team is silly!
What's he got to do with anything anyway? Please tell me you're not saying Banjo's name in the same sentence as Pud?
tassieswan
10 May 2005, 20:30
well i rekon they'd be f****d without him kicking half there goals each week.
The Doctor '73
10 May 2005, 20:34
Sorry i might sound a little ignorant here but who regulary pull the biggest crowds/have the biggest supporter base in the North (NTFL) besides from when a local derby is going on?
And may I enquire as to who you support locally, tassieswan?
Kingpin
11 May 2005, 00:05
I hear that the Hobart Lions have lost Jeffrey "Joffa" Walter for good to injury.
Apparently last week up at Pontville his neck got hurt badly and and ambulance was required. He retired from football during the week.
Walter played in Hobart's 1999 premiership side, and came back to Hobart this year after going to Channel last year, opting to play regional league rather than play under McGregor.
The Lions are in massive injury trouble apparently. Anymore injuries and Plover Gillbee might have to rethink his decision to stay in retirement - Plover had almost made a comeback to the Hobart reserves at the age of 40 earlier this year.
The Doctor '73
11 May 2005, 00:32
Yeah your not wrong with the injuries, further to the already large toll of injuries Andrew Best went down on the weekend with a calf injury and Mat Harvey got knocked out/concussion from the same game. That’s such a pity about Joffa, as he can be a very useful player when he played to his strengths and kept it simple.
Against half the reserve sides that are running around at the moment, Plover at age 40 could still probably average about 20 possessions a game! I reckon he could still run rings against quite a few blokes that are playing in the 2’s.
Kingpin
11 May 2005, 00:58
Yeah your not wrong with the injuries, further to the already large toll of injuries Andrew Best went down on the weekend with a calf injury and Mat Harvey got knocked out/concussion from the same game. That’s such a pity about Joffa, as he can be a very useful player when he played to his strengths and kept it simple.
Yes, I've been hearing that they are all going down like nine-pins up there.
Probably a smart move by Jof to retire, a neck injury like that is not good. Doing it again and it being permanent would be catastrophic for him.
Hobart will more than likely only beat Brighton and perhaps Lauderdale this year.
Against half the reserve sides that are running around at the moment, Plover at age 40 could still probably average about 20 possessions a game! I reckon he could still run rings against quite a few blokes that are playing in the 2’s.
A-la Garry Williamson when he made his debut for Hobart as Captain-Coach against South Launceston at the TCA Ground in 1996.
Retired from TFL footy after winning the William Leitch medal in 1991 with Clarence, played in the ODFA, Huon and Southern Amatuers in that time.
He got over 40-posessions in that first game and kicked two, his first TFL game in 5 years. A couple of weeks earlier he had been playing in the Southern Amatuers!!!
Plover could do the same.
tassieswan
11 May 2005, 17:48
And may I enquire as to who you support locally, tassieswan?
Lindisfarne.....i mostly support O.H.A in the old scholars.
The Doctor '73
11 May 2005, 20:51
This is a little off the point but does anyone rember the old T.A.N.F.L beer cans that Cascade used to produce? Those things were brilliant.
Lindisfarne.....i mostly support O.H.A in the old scholars.
Ooooh, guess who gets their knickers in a knot when I bag his `beloved' Blues?!
As for OHA what can I say? A club with NO IDENTITY!
The Doctor '73
11 May 2005, 22:31
Here’s another one I was wondering if someone could help me out on, as I take no interest whatsoever in the current Devils side I was wondering if they were using cheerleaders? I only say this because I recall reading something about this a while ago on the the SFL website that they were training up some.
I remember back in the good old days of the Statewide league that Hobart use to have there own band of cheerledaers for a while and used to perform a little dance after we kicked a goal like the swanettes at Sydney (Tigers1945 – you would probably be better at recalling this than me). They used to sit on that concrete sloping behind the goals at the scoreboard end of North Hobart. Imagine an SFL side these days trying to do something like that!
Kingpin
12 May 2005, 00:37
Here’s another one I was wondering if someone could help me out on, as I take no interest whatsoever in the current Devils side I was wondering if they were using cheerleaders? I only say this because I recall reading something about this a while ago on the the SFL website that they were training up some.
Yes, the She Devils. I would has-it-a-guess and say one of the players is probably poking one of these dancer girls, and her friends (who are probably dancers) more than likely thought it'd "be a good idea to encourage the boys", and thought up this little act.
I expect more relationships to follow!!
I remember back in the good old days of the Statewide league that Hobart use to have there own band of cheerledaers for a while and used to perform a little dance after we kicked a goal like the swanettes at Sydney (Tigers1945 – you would probably be better at recalling this than me). They used to sit on that concrete sloping behind the goals at the scoreboard end of North Hobart. Imagine an SFL side these days trying to do something like that!
They would be the Kinetic Dancers. A girlfriend of one of the players back then was involved with them, and they got the gig as-it-were.
Mainly used to dance during the finals or bigger roster matches.
I have a pic around here somewhere (I think I gave one to Hutch to put on the Hobart website and they are in the 1989 Grand Final photo)
I can't recall off the top of my head about the podium behind the Domain End goal, I used to sit in the back of the Horrie Gorringe Stand in those days - our seats now taken over by AFL Tasmania's offices in that giant enclosure - kinda sums up things really.
Kingpin
12 May 2005, 00:43
This is a little off the point but does anyone rember the old T.A.N.F.L beer cans that Cascade used to produce? Those things were brilliant.
They were awesome. The big arse old steel beer cans back in the day too.
A good mate of mine had quite a few of them in his beer can wall in his lounge room when he lived down here several years ago.
He lives waaaaaay up in the bush somewhere now, and I've only caught up with him a couple of times in about the last 7-8 years, so I'm not sure wether he still has them, but he had plenty of 70's & 80's TANFL Grand Final souvenir cans :)
Kingpin
12 May 2005, 00:50
The Kinetic Dancers line up to cheer the Mark Browning led Hobart Tiger side onto North Hobart Oval for the 1989 TFL Statewide League Grand Final against North Hobart as 16,561 fans look on.
http://home.iprimus.com.au/hutch05/90gf1.jpg
The Doctor '73
12 May 2005, 00:53
The Kinetic dancers!!! HAHA :D
Thanks for the info once again Tigers1945, those were pretty good days. I thought that they must have had a link to the club somehow.
I think its a real shame that these days young players coming up through the ranks don't even believe that this type of thing actually happened in the old TFL, and I believe its part of the problem why the standard of football at the moment is so poor. I reckon if a lot of the players we have now had to perform on the bigger stage as the players had to in the late 1980s early 1990's and had to deal with things such as getting recoginised in the streets, having actual media coverage and having to guest star on a show such as Sunday's Wide World of Sport with Peter Sharp then the players level of professionalism would improve out of sight, and thus help improve the standard of football being played.
Kingpin
12 May 2005, 01:09
The Kinetic dancers!!! HAHA :D
Thanks for the info once again Tigers1945, those were pretty good days. I thought that they must have had a link to the club somehow.
I think its a real shame that these days young players coming up through the ranks don't even believe that this type of thing actually happened in the old TFL, and I believe its part of the problem why the standard of football at the moment is so poor. I reckon if a lot of the players we have now had to perform on the bigger stage as the players had to in the late 1980s early 1990's and had to deal with things such as getting recoginised in the streets, having actual media coverage and having to guest star on a show such as Sunday's Wide World of Sport with Peter Sharp then the players level of professionalism would improve out of sight, and thus help improve the standard of football being played.
Yes, they came aboard during the Browning-era.
Those days were just so awesome, it was great to be part of the travelling Tiger-army in those days.
We were generally always outnumbered, but always made twice or three times as much noise as the opposition supporters did.
Just looking at that grand final photo makes me realise just what a load of crap the sport is here now.
I remember even in the late 80's the Statewide clubs all had thier own ClubCall lines - I'll hunt around the place sometime and put them on here.
You rang the hotline, and you got some crappy phone recorded message with Ins & Outs for the upcoming week's match, with the club song playing softly in the background :)
You are absolutely spot on about the professionalism, and to be pretty blunt (as I always am) having watched Hobart in the Winfield League-era (TANFL) and all of the Statewide-era onto the club's first six years of the SFL in its entirety, I personally don't believe that the players running about in the Premier League at the moment (90% of them) would have even got a game in the Statewide League.
I liken the current standard of the SFL Premier League to circa 1983 TANFL reserves - albeit a lot less physical.
I doubt Sharpie, Mal Sutton, Bob Cheek and the gang at WOS would even give it houseroom now, if it were still on air.
The Doctor '73
12 May 2005, 01:24
Yes I agree that a lot probably wouldn't have got a game, but to be surrounded in that amosphere I think would have a major impact on current day players. How could you not improve with the like of Micheal Winter, Jamie Shanaham and Mark Browining around you?
That's why I in previous posts have advocated the need of more money needed to be given to local clubs so that they can use this to pick up mainland players. This is not to simply use these imports to raise the standard of the game but by having these quality players around clubs will help to improve the young local talent, by setting a professional example.
I mean they don't have to come from the mainland, this could be done by using Tasmanian players but where will they come from? The stuffing around with the league over the last 10 years have resulted in their being little to none of these type of older players to go to clubs and help nature the young players habits and talants. Unless they go to the devils, young players who come straight from the Mariners will be exposed to the bad habits of amateur/country footballers, and I think its part of the reason why the standard of the game is going downhill in the South.
Every side can talk about being more professional but the efforts these days are a long way off the standard that was set during the boom period of football in Tasmania.
Kingpin
12 May 2005, 01:55
Yes I agree that a lot probably wouldn't have got a game, but to be surrounded in that amosphere I think would have a major impact on current day players. How could you not improve with the like of Micheal Winter, Jamie Shanaham and Mark Browining around you?
That's why I in previous posts have advocated the need of more money needed to be given to local clubs so that they can use this to pick up mainland players. This is not to simply use these imports to raise the standard of the game but by having these quality players around clubs will help to improve the young local talent, by setting a professional example.
I mean they don't have to come from the mainland, this could be done by using Tasmanian players but where will they come from? The stuffing around with the league over the last 10 years have resulted in their being little to none of these type of older players to go to clubs and help nature the young players habits and talants. Unless they go to the devils, young players who come straight from the Mariners will be exposed to the bad habits of amateur/country footballers, and I think its part of the reason why the standard of the game is going downhill in the South.
Every side can talk about being more professional but the efforts these days are a long way off the standard that was set during the boom period of football in Tasmania.
Agree totally with all of that. It would certainly improve the sport here as it currently is operating, ten-fold.
I think this current generation of senior footy players here, are virtually the "lost generation".
They have no tradition to emmerse themselves in, no supporters at matches, no media coverage to give them some extra incentive, no one to lead by a professional example, no decent professional competition, no real standing in the sport, no recognition.
It's pretty sad.
I personally think we could scream till we're blue in the face and the football administrators of today wouldn't listen.
This again from one of my impeccable sources .........
This will highlight how much "The Powers that Be" care for the SFL and NTFL competitions.......
EVERY SINGLE PLAYER IN THE DEVILS SQUAD must train at Bellerive this Saturday!
That means that the 25-30 odd remaining players from around the state that didn't play versus Sandringham last Saturday - most of whom won't even get close to a game all year - must train rather than play for their local club, quite a number of whom must travel down from up North just for a bloody training session!
This means player like Nathan Henley, Dean Millhouse (fringe players, aligned to Glenorchy) Chris Joyce (Kingborough - Joyce being one player who will probably not play all year for the Devils) Nick Paine (Clarence) who would probably all benefit more from playing, will have to go to a meaningless training session for the `important team' on Saturday Afternoon.
How are the fringe players meant to put their names up before the selectors if they don't have a chance to play?
It may be drawing a long bow, but take Henley and Millhouse out of the Glenorchy side, Paine out of the Clarence line up and it could well be the difference between victory and defeat for their respective clubs! (Most unlikely though as they play Hobart and Lauderdale respectively!) Had they have been playing a New Norfolk or a North Hobart then you know what I mean!
Could Wade, Abel, Armstrong and co care about weakening the SFL and NTFL clubs? NOT ON YOUR BLOODY LIFE!
Puts into perspective just how much they couldn't give a stuff about the respective comps at boths ends of the island, doesn't it?!
And if that's not ridiculous enough as it is, the Devils (Your team, Tasmanian readers!) have a compulsory function on Saturday night, where once again, ALL PLAYERS MUST ATTEND!
AT A COST OF $80 PER PLAYER!
The Doctor '73
12 May 2005, 21:10
I’m sure that one training session will turn around the Devil’s fortune’s this year!
I remember a few years ago when due to the lack of success of the Devils Armstrong banned players training with their local clubs on the Thursday night before the game. Instead of wearing part of the blame himself he tried to pass the buck off onto the local clubs training practices for the reason thay they weren’t going well. The thing is it was only players on the fringe that trained with their local clubs on the Thursday anyway so you were left with the situation that we had a player at Hobart Justin Capaldi who played every game bar one for Hobart that season, never got to train with his team mates and as such couldn’t adapt to the team’s style of play or could bond with the rest of the players, and thereby didn’t improve as a footballer as well as he should have.
It really shows how much the people in charge really care about football in the state, they are focussed on one team and one team only.
Blues_Man
13 May 2005, 19:34
Armstrong is a tosser of the highest order ..wouldn't it be common sense that the players would be far better playing in their local comps and possibly dominate ..pick up a heap of kicks and build their confidence up. rather than a training run with witches hats ???
The Doctor '73
13 May 2005, 19:59
When your not having a good season its just easier to blame the local competition, the local clubs, the fact that they didn’t play any pre-season games against other VFL sides and basically anybody else rather than to face up to the fact that you might be doing something wrong yourself.
Can anyone tell me if in previous years if the Devils played pre-season practice matches against other VFL sides? I can’t recall them doing it before and I don't think by not playing a game that it ever hindered their operformance before, but I suppose they were more successful in previous seasons, it wasn’t really worth mentioning by Armstrong.
Kingpin
13 May 2005, 22:27
When your not having a good season its just easier to blame the local competition, the local clubs, the fact that they didn’t play any pre-season games against other VFL sides and basically anybody else rather than to face up to the fact that you might be doing something wrong yourself.
They are always blaming local football for something, yet they won't do a thing to promote, or enhance local football.
That's what happens when you have glory chasers from football clique in charge.
Can anyone tell me if in previous years if the Devils played pre-season practice matches against other VFL sides? I can’t recall them doing it before and I don't think by not playing a game that it ever hindered their performance before, but I suppose they were more successful in previous seasons, it wasn’t really worth mentioning by Armstrong.
I can't speak for other years, but I do know for certainty that in thier first year they played Box Hill Hawks at North Hobart in a pre-season match.
The Devils were wearing white guernseys with the "Patrick" logo on the front, and Ian Callinin kicked the winning goal for the Devils right on the final siren to the Domain End. It was the only Devils game I've ever watched live, and wasn't pleased with it - it meant & continues to mean zero to me.
I timekept the curtain raiser between Hobart & North Hobart that day, and had to put up with AFL Tasmania General Manager Scott Wade constantly interfering by coming into the timekeepers box during the 5th and 6th quarters of the curtain raiser.
He wanted me to end the game early to "get the proper game on" :mad:
Then when the game was getting close in the curtain raiser he then came in and tried to tell me how many minutes to play.
I told him to f*ck off in the end. We played how many minutes I deemed necessary - as the game was running over-time, I blew the siren three minutes early.
Hobart won by 5 points too.................. :D
Blues_Man
13 May 2005, 23:48
They are always blaming local football for something, yet they won't do a thing to promote, or enhance local football.
That's what happens when you have glory chasers from football clique in charge.
I can't speak for other years, but I do know for certainty that in thier first year they played Box Hill Hawks at North Hobart in a pre-season match.
The Devils were wearing white guernseys with the "Patrick" logo on the front, and Ian Callinin kicked the winning goal for the Devils right on the final siren to the Domain End. It was the only Devils game I've ever watched live, and wasn't pleased with it - it meant & continues to mean zero to me.
I timekept the curtain raiser between Hobart & North Hobart that day, and had to put up with AFL Tasmania General Manager Scott Wade constantly interfering by coming into the timekeepers box during the 5th and 6th quarters of the curtain raiser.
He wanted me to end the game early to "get the proper game on" :mad:
Then when the game was getting close in the curtain raiser he then came in and tried to tell me how many minutes to play.
I told him to f*ck off in the end. We played how many minutes I deemed necessary - as the game was running over-time, I blew the siren three minutes early.
Hobart won by 5 points too.................. :D
Scott Wade is a low life scum
The Doctor '73
13 May 2005, 23:52
Hopefully there will be a big crowd tommorrow for the Glenorchy Hobart clash up at the TCA as it looks like its going to be a very special day considering all the things the Hobart football club have planned. Apparently all Hobart and Glenorchy old players have free entry into the ground which I think is a great idea as I’m sure they will more than pay for themselves over the bar!
Also I have heard that there will be black and yellow ballons and streamers placed around the ground, a presentation of the old tiger jumpers to be worn in the seniors match will be made by former great players of Hobart which is to take place at half time in the reserves, and also a kids game at half time in the seniors. With no Devils game on this weekend it would be great to see a massive crowd up at the TCA.
Kingpin
14 May 2005, 00:13
Hopefully there will be a big crowd tommorrow for the Glenorchy Hobart clash up at the TCA as it looks like its going to be a very special day considering all the things the Hobart football club have planned. Apparently all Hobart and Glenorchy old players have free entry into the ground which I think is a great idea as I’m sure they will more than pay for themselves over the bar!
Also I have heard that there will be black and yellow ballons and streamers placed around the ground, a presentation of the old tiger jumpers to be worn in the seniors match will be made by former great players of Hobart which is to take place at half time in the reserves, and also a kids game at half time in the seniors. With no Devils game on this weekend it would be great to see a massive crowd up at the TCA.
I'll be there with bells on :D
Should be good day up there weatherwise 7-16C and Mainly Fine.
I hope like all hell we get a big crowd up there today, although I'm not entirely confident, knowing how apathetic Hobart supporters can be at times.
I've just dusted off the Black & Gold jacket and the Tigers scarf for the first time in a long time.
Hopefully we see Cat, Toothless, Jungle, Nick, Ollie and the old gang back together for a reunion.
I probably won't be drinking though, I may have a fair bit to say otherwise. ;)