View Full Version : 1st half rubbish !
how in heavens did this side beat the bombers ? unaccountable soft rubbish
killed in the ruck and center , loose all over the ground absolute crap !!
we have aka and vossey going ok in patches,lappin is ok delivery to brown is a disgrace
will it get better ???? dam hope so
3rd a little better only becauce of aka and brown !!
whats the go with black ? not the same player
macdonald off - thank christ
come on lions wake up !
fugitive
7 May 2005, 22:58
No waking up the Lions now...deja vu season 2000... :(
well it finished as bad as it started !! bloody disgrace. there fellas dont wont the dam football ! aka,lappin and voss not included ! they are not attacking the footy dam passengers and i include power in that bunch black might as well be sitting in the stands. our rucks are a waste of time and we are the worst marking team in the league,why do we let the opposition run around unmarked ? michael was great down back but the others ?? johno is stuffing up plays he would do in his sleep,macdonald is not up to this standard and has to go back to the seconds and learn to kick.
what to do ???? what do you do with blokes who dont have any intencity and are running at half pace and donthave a go ???
buggered if i know but we are a shadow of our selves at the moment
campbell
8 May 2005, 00:08
Ok, just got home from the Gabba.
I had an interesting conversation last week about McLaren with a friend, they thought he did a lot of off the ball stuff, thats why he holds his place.
Well tonight I watched him very closely.He is more than crap, he dawdles around no where near the contest, his man is nowhere near him. a shepard what the hell is that.He is a dud.
Too many passengers again,
Merritt again kicked 6 in the ressies. He needs to be sat in the square at FF, we need a good FF, let him have it for the rest of the season, let Brownie be the natural CHF that he is.
Whats up with Power, Johnno, Scotts,too many to name.
As for Umpire Fraser, threre is a reason he was given AFL status at the beginning of the season, he is not up to the level of an AFL Umpire.
SHocking shocking display by him.
BrisGirl
8 May 2005, 00:52
They say a week in footy is a long time, they aren't kidding.
Try 2 weeks, flogged by West Coast, then beating Essendon, then getting done by the Dogs at the Gabba.
3 straight losses at home.
McLaren & McGrath have to be dropped. Let someone else have a go.
Power.............?
Black.......needs a confidence boost to come from somewhere, getting dragged is not a good look.
Sloppy tackling, untidy checking.........
I know they can turn it around when ever they choose, there were moments tonight that gave me hope, getting within 4 points, but we were never were in front all night.
I just feel sad.
As I said, a week in footy is a long time, and we have Adelaide in Adelaide next.........who knows.
campbell
8 May 2005, 01:00
Cameron Wood looked ok in the ressies.
I don't know why Merrett wasn't picked in place of Bradshaw. We are still lacking a bit up forward. Chris Scott shouldn't be playing up forward, neither should Pikey (actually, his time is just about up). And I think it's time to drop Tim Nothing (typo intended).
On the positive side, Browny and Sherman was good again, Lappin did well, and Moody should some good glimpses.
Ive been a big notting critic this year saying how useless he is, however he did alright tonight. Kicked 2 goals in the last quarter, the 2nd from a good bump on Harris.
I agree with most other comments so far. I have a few things i wanted to get off my chest:
- Is Black fit? If he isnt then drop him until he is. Surely hes not that wildly out of form.
- McGrath is as useful as a flywire door on a submarine. His afl career must be going down like a lead balloon.
- Michael, Aker, Brown & Lappin all played well. Aker had a few clangers but they were late in the game and he had run his *ss off.
- Moody & Sherman showing great signs.
- Cameron Wood's game against the eagles was no worse than what mclaren serves up week in week out, so they should give the kid a go.
- Overall we look a very unfit side. Very slow.
- Why did Corrie go back to the reserves? I thought he had dash and was looking ok.
Overall im bitterly disappointed. What wouldve happened if Brown didnt play tonight? We wouldve been belted at home to the Bulldogs, a good running side but also a side I dont rate very highly yet.
IMO tonights performance was our worst for the season. We were bad against hawthorn but we had no voss, lappin and Brown. We had all them tonight and still looked very ordinary.
The 2 Robs
8 May 2005, 05:04
Been overseas for a few weeks, heard the game over the internet - and sms from mates at the Gabba were depressingly informative (especially when they're using your seats!)
The issue of Black being dragged was raised. Is he unfit ie, corckie.. or just out of form - did'nt see the game, how was his mobility?
Also Power seems to be quiet, surely such a reliable contributor has'nt gone missing in action?
campbell
8 May 2005, 08:44
Corrie seemed to be no worse than others in the Ressies, he would have given us pace.
Black is never arrogant, I think he is injured, didn't they say he had a corked thigh last week, and could miss tis week.
I just wish we would put Merritt in the Goal Square for the remainder of the season.Eliminate doubt, give us a tall tackling target in the spine.Help poor Brown out.
Without Brown we would have been screwed, just like without Merritt in the Ressies we would have been screwed.The ressies only got 7 goals, Merrit got 6, and Corrie the other one.
Cam Wood is young and does the same job as McLAren in the Ressies, more athletic though, wasn't seen to be dawdling around, ran a lot more to create contests, where as McLAren was no where to be seen,behind play a lot of time.He is a deadset hack.
From an opposition supporters point of view, Luke Power does not do enough when the likes of Black aren't feeding it out to him. He hasn't played many good games this year and he needs to stand up.
Lions looked slow last night, an injection of pace is needed at draft time.
Wouldnt be too concerned for the future though, you can build a team around Brown - it was always going to be hard with Lynch retiring, you really need 2 gun forwards to win in September.
BrisGirl
8 May 2005, 11:39
The issue of Black being dragged was raised. Is he unfit ie, corckie.. or just out of form - did'nt see the game, how was his mobility?
When I noticed Black was missing and not getting any touches, I thought he might get dragged, and presto! he did. The thing was he went straight over to the bench and dropped his head into his hands, totally dejected.
But to his credit, when he was sent back on, his possessions hit targets and contributed to the minor come-back.
For such a quality and classy player, I think he just needs time on the field, and it will come back.
Blacky and Lappin seem to be men that tend to beat themselves up a bit.
bullish23
8 May 2005, 12:31
As for Umpire Fraser, threre is a reason he was given AFL status at the beginning of the season, he is not up to the level of an AFL Umpire. SHocking shocking display by him.
Geez with the free kick count 17 - 8 your way I don't think you have much to gripe about there. Fraser is shocking.
NoelMugavin
8 May 2005, 13:18
McLaren is a dud...offer him to Collingwood - they'd jump at the chance.
how in heavens did this side beat the bombers ?
Easy..........they are even older and slower than we are at the moment...or at least that's they way it looks.
Even so, if we had not kicked as accurately against them as we did, it may have been a different story.
unaccountable soft rubbish
Hard to argue with this.
When the Dogs had possession, the overall impression was that we were playing a totally innappropriate "zoning" type defence. You don't have to be Einstien to work out that this simply doesn't work against a fast, hard running side that chips short and waits for a mate to run to open space to receive the next possession!
It's not as if we should have been shocked by the Doggies tactics. We have been well and truly stung by this tactic by the likes of the Swans (several times) and more recently by the Hawks.
The way the Doggies had loose men everywhere last night, it's impossible to believe that we were playing anything like man-on-man accountable footy!!
On the other hand,when we had possession, the Dogs did do exactly this, forcing us into kick to one-on-ones with monotonous regularity. There was a period in the second half of the third quarter where it was almost comical (but embarrassing) seeing us trying to clear our defensive 50 but achieving nothing else but arrowing foot passes directly to a Bulldogs opponent.
So why the hell don't we adapt our style of play?...ie go man on man....when it's obvious that this is what is required.
BEATS ME!!!
Either the coaches are missing the bleeding obvious, or the players themselves are just being undisciplned and not following instructions.
I find it hard to accept that a coach of Matthew's nous and experience could fail to recognise what is required...it's not rocket science.
Seems to me the players themselves are just not doing the hard work, whether it be as a result of not being fit enough, having a large component of rookies in the side, plain stubborn pride in refusing to adapt, being undisiplined or a combination of all of these.
Maybe it's time for Matthews to give them a good old fashioned kick in the pants and threaten demotion to anyone and everyone who is not prepared to play to the team rules.
BrisGirl
8 May 2005, 14:04
The contested marks........?
Making leads........?
Wanting the ball....?
Thank God for Browny.
konstas_87
8 May 2005, 14:25
well it finished as bad as it started !! bloody disgrace. there fellas dont wont the dam football ! aka,lappin and voss not included ! they are not attacking the footy dam passengers and i include power in that bunch black might as well be sitting in the stands. our rucks are a waste of time and we are the worst marking team in the league,why do we let the opposition run around unmarked ? michael was great down back but the others ?? johno is stuffing up plays he would do in his sleep,macdonald is not up to this standard and has to go back to the seconds and learn to kick.
what to do ???? what do you do with blokes who dont have any intencity and are running at half pace and donthave a go ???
buggered if i know but we are a shadow of our selves at the moment
unfortunately i had to miss our first home game in like 5 years, black: 8 handballs? was he off injured a bit? maybe his corky isnt right..
Black: Looked like he was in quicksand . Shouldna played.
campbell
8 May 2005, 17:35
Riscatelli don't play in the ressie, so we thought he was playing in the main game.He was dressed in the stands with Marcus Allen and a few others.
He should have replaced Black if he was still injured.
stopeedie
9 May 2005, 10:27
I'd question the tactics for the night. Why were the dogs constantly allowed to run the ball up to the centre with out any of the lions players matching up on them. All night the lions were dropping the entire team behind the ball, but the dogs stil found a way through. Half the time players were not even standing the mark.
What was the point of these tactics? Allowing the opposition to run it freely to the centre of the ground, with no pressure at all!
I just don't understand why this happened!
BrisGirl
9 May 2005, 11:04
What killed me the most, was the Dogs breaking free along the wing, all the way up the ground, without being troubled.
Why was that allowed to happen all night? No accountability.
What killed me the most, was the Dogs breaking free along the wing, all the way up the ground, without being troubled.
Why was that allowed to happen all night?
It's called the 'Notting corridor'. Timmy was out on a wing providing an outstanding avenue to goal all night.
Unfortunately,.. it was always to THEIR goals.
Fair dinkum, I swear Tim had a whistle and a big, green, lollypop sign with 'GO' written on it every time the doggies walked out of defence.