View Full Version : Jobe Watson or Nathan Ablett

Pages : [1] 2 3

hahaha
8th May 2005, 22:15
Just made a bet with a mate that Jobe Watson will play more AFL games then Nathan Ablett, what do you reckon my chances are?

Nightwolf
8th May 2005, 22:16
[insert your name here]

hahaha
8th May 2005, 22:24
It's a good and interesting bet, and one that should run for a long time.

Nathan has the star potential but in reality he's coming from a Club U18's side and has never been that enthusiastic to play.

I reckon Jobe should get at least 100 games up and that will be enough to see him over.

I reckon Nathan might lose interest and just give up footy.

Nightwolf
8th May 2005, 22:27
It's a good and interesting bet, and one that should run for a long time.

Nathan has the star potential but in reality he's coming from a Club U18's side and has never been that enthusiastic to play.

I reckon Jobe should get at least 100 games up and that will be enough to see him over.

I reckon Nathan might lose interest and just give up footy.

Dude, you are deluded. Jobe Watson is in the top 5 hacks of the AFL...

m.diddy
8th May 2005, 22:28
Jobe.

Ablett is a protected species (from the media), once he does something stupid which is inevitable the media will be on to it like a fat kid on a cup cake.

hahaha
8th May 2005, 22:29

But we will persist with him.

Nathan has proven nothing, played in a 2nd rate U18's country competition and has never shown a great interest in footy.

Ricketts
9th May 2005, 20:27
Nabbles!

But Bartel will play more than both of them.

Choota
9th May 2005, 21:16
Watch them slug it out in the VFL for many years to come.

Both complete duds but if you had to choose, i'd take the junkie's son. At least he's tall.

Pie 4 Life
9th May 2005, 21:20
Nablett

JUBJUB
10th May 2005, 10:01
Jobe.

Ablett is a protected species (from the media), once he does something stupid which is inevitable the media will be on to it like a fat kid on a cup cake.

You really are obsessed RapeDog44 :rolleyes:

Longy413
10th May 2005, 10:07

Both complete duds but if you had to choose, i'd take the junkie's son. At least he's tall.

I know the facts have never worried you and you would rather shoot off mindless dribble.

But Ablett and Watson are the same height.

JUBJUB
10th May 2005, 10:10

Both complete duds but if you had to choose

Perhaps Geelong and Essendon should sign them to 5 year contracts worth hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Oh no,only the Dawks are that stupid.
Ain't that right Poo Choota ?

celtic_pride
10th May 2005, 14:51
Probably Nat Ablett.
Jobe Watson is useless and will be delisted at seasons end.
At least Nat Ablett does have an ounce of potential unlike Jobe.

rednugget
10th May 2005, 15:04
Probably Nat Ablett.

gee people can sprout off alot of rubbish, Jobe's barely had a chance to prove himself yet and people come out with this crap, Jobe found some good form towards the end of last season and was one of our best players in the final against Geelong he used the ball very well that night, he hasn't played a senior game since due to injury but if he's fit will come in this week, then hopefully he will stay fit and we'll get a chance to see what he's capable of.

Choota
10th May 2005, 21:40
Perhaps Geelong and Essendon should sign them to 5 year contracts worth hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Oh no,only the Dawks are that stupid.
Ain't that right Poo Choota ?
Ah the surest sign of defeat on Bigfooty... bag a side that is irrelevant to the discussion.

Wouldn't advise steering the conversation the way of overpaid forwards though. Lets not forget your off-season addition or the bloke you pursued 12 months prior.

Wonder Years
11th May 2005, 17:56
Just made a bet with a mate that Jobe Watson will play more AFL games then Nathan Ablett, what do you reckon my chances are?

Seeing as I made the bet with you I reckon your chances are pretty ********!

skywalk750
11th May 2005, 18:59

You obviously gathered that from your regular observations at training and at VFL games :D

At least see the kid play before trying to show you know somthing by copy and pasting what another BF poster wrote. Who too probably has never seen Nathan in the flesh

Wonder Years
12th May 2005, 17:15
But we will persist with him.

Nathan has proven nothing, played in a 2nd rate U18's country competition and has never shown a great interest in footy.

Firstly 98% of footballers in the Under 18 age bracket play in a second rate competition because the other 2% play in the TAC Cup! Suprisingly you didn't mention the senior games he played in the same competition which dare I say is of better standard than almost every Under 18 competition bar TAC Cup. Furthermore he refused the Falcons numerous offers to train and play at the club it wasn't like he wasn't up to the standard.

Secondly if he has never shown a great interest in the game why has he been playing for the last 10+ years? Because he hates it? He wasn't interested in playing at a higher level at the time and just wanted to play with his mates which is understandable he was a 17-18 year old kid, he has since changed his mind and hopefully will have a great career.

Thirdly what has Jobe Watson proved?

Longy413
14th May 2005, 20:33
I hope you all watched the VFL on the ABC today.
Was delighted to see Ablett line up on Watson, the thought of two young, talented, F&S draft picks stand side by side was one I was extremely excited by.

Such a shame Jobe had to give Ablett and absolute footballing lesson and had him moved off him in the first quarter and then dragged. Ablett then went forward to have three very good possessions for the match, especially liked his turnover. He then went back onto Watson for another lesson. Jobe's 25 and 3 goals just didn't compare.

cbreban
14th May 2005, 20:35
Definitely Jobe judging by todays peformance, Jobe was great again for Bendigo while N Ablett was utterly pathetic.

Alberton_Magpie
14th May 2005, 21:02
I say nathan but I think none of them will play past 50 games

JUBJUB
14th May 2005, 22:02
Such a shame Jobe had to give Ablett and absolute footballing lesson and had him moved off him in the first quarter and then dragged. Ablett then went forward to have three very good possessions for the match, especially liked his turnover. He then went back onto Watson for another lesson. Jobe's 25 and 3 goals just didn't compare.

Um.. it was the first time Ablett has played defence and he was okay on Watson.

Jobe Watson can get B.O.Gs in the VFL as much as he likes.It's a whole different standard when he plays AFL.

Longy413
14th May 2005, 22:10
Um.. it was the first time Ablett has played defence and he was okay on Watson.

Jobe Watson can get B.O.Gs in the VFL as much as he likes.It's a whole different standard when he plays AFL.

Okay on Watson?
Come on. Jobe destroyed him.
Ablett got dragged at one stage and walked off the ground. Poor form.

Jobe Watson has played good footy at AFL level. He has played good Finals footy at AFL level. And he has played dominate footy at VFL level.

I hope Nathan Ablett becomes an absolute gun. He obviously has a lot of natural talent and it would be a shame if we didn't get to see him reach his peak. However, the critisism of Jobe is completely unwarranted for someone who has played probably only played about 20 VFL games. He may not be quick, but his ball use is spectacular.

DBAH0
14th May 2005, 22:22
Okay on Watson?
Come on. Jobe destroyed him.
Ablett got dragged at one stage and walked off the ground. Poor form.

Jobe Watson has played good footy at AFL level. He has played good Finals footy at AFL level. And he has played dominate footy at VFL level.

I hope Nathan Ablett becomes an absolute gun. He obviously has a lot of natural talent and it would be a shame if we didn't get to see him reach his peak. However, the critisism of Jobe is completely unwarranted for someone who has played probably only played about 20 VFL games. He may not be quick, but his ball use is spectacular.
Why isn't he in the seniors then? He may use the ball well, but he's looked a bit slow at the AFL level from the brief times I've seen him.

And this will be what Jobe's 3rd season on Essendon's list? This is Nathan's 1st.

Longy413
14th May 2005, 22:32
Why isn't he in the seniors then?

Injury.
He was in our best 22 by season's end last season and played good finals football. Was picked last week, strained his quad in Sydney. Will play next week.

Jobe is in his third season, but injury has kept him to about 20 (if that) VFL games and about half a dozen senior games in that time. In his first year he would have been lucky to play six matches.

Like Ablett, Watson did not play TAC Cup footy. I think he played the first two games and then went back to school footy. So both had similar paths onto an AFL list.

It's easy to dismiss Watson's performance today as only a VFL match, but he is doing this nearly every time he steps onto the field and looks a class above that level. No doubt he would have played at the very least the last two games in the seniors if he didn't break down in Sydney. And probably would have started in the seniors in round 1 if it wasn't for a pre-season injury.

kangaroo19
15th May 2005, 02:11
Jobe, only because he has played more to date, and I can't see either playing again. Hacks. F/S rule is completely overrated. Should only be used if the players ARE good. Collingwood, listen to this!

bomberdude18 2
15th May 2005, 02:13
I say nathan but I think none of them will play past 50 games
Jobe will play plenty more than 50 games.

Wonder Years
22nd August 2005, 15:38
Now any takers for Jobe?

Buddhy
22nd August 2005, 16:10
I think it's pretty clear Nathan Ablett isn't a hack.

Wonder Years
22nd August 2005, 17:01
I think it's pretty clear Nathan Ablett isn't a hack.

It's also pretty clear that Jobe Watson is a hack!

Longy413
22nd August 2005, 17:15
It's also pretty clear that Jobe Watson is a hack!

Only watched Geelong the past two weeks I presume.

cats2rise
22nd August 2005, 20:23
To be fair i havnt seen that much of Essendon this year but..

On potential; Nablett could play either 75-125 games and have a great but short career OR play 250+ and be great. To early to tell
Jobe may reach 75 games

On what will most probably happen:
Nablett could play either 75-125 games and have a great but short career OR play 250+ and be great. To early to tell.
Jobe will be delisted soon.

Overall, Ablett

Longy413
22nd August 2005, 22:16
To be fair i havnt seen that much of Essendon this year

You should have stopped there.

Wonder Years
23rd August 2005, 15:14
Only watched Geelong the past two weeks I presume.

Unless you call 16 possies and then 11 the folowing week and both against two of the 3 dud teams in the league outstanding. 1 goal in both games yet one was a 100 point shellacking your way. Let's not foget Jobe's awesome start to his career, two handballs. Nath has shown more in two games than Jobe in 3 years. Every second Bombers supporter wants him delisted does that not tel you something!

bogan4life
23rd August 2005, 15:56
You should have stopped there.
Lets be fair now he may not have seen much of Essendon but if he has seen a bit of bendigo he would see jobe almost every week, Jobe Watson is slow and is a hack.

celtic_pride
23rd August 2005, 15:58
Lets be fair now he may not have seen much of Essendon but if he has seen a bit of bendigo he would see jobe almost every week, Jobe Watson is slow and is a hack.

Watson is only on an AFL list because of his name.
He is a hack.

Strawberry Pancakes
23rd August 2005, 16:06
Brian Peppers > Jobe Watson

Longy413
23rd August 2005, 16:11
Unless you call 16 possies and then 11 the folowing week and both against two of the 3 dud teams in the league outstanding. 1 goal in both games yet one was a 100 point shellacking your way. Let's not foget Jobe's awesome start to his career, two handballs. Nath has shown more in two games than Jobe in 3 years. Every second Bombers supporter wants him delisted does that not tel you something!

I've never said Watson is or is going to be a better player than Ablett, but 16 and 11 is more possessions than Ablett has had in both of his games.
Jobe spent the second half of the weekends game playing at CHB, so his opportunities to kick goals were diminished. He has also spent a lot of time rotating off the bench as we try and blood as many kids as possible. Jobe had two brilliant finals last season and had an impact on our first finals victory and keeping us in the game against Geelong.
We don't need Jobe to be a superstar, we don't need him to hold down a key post, we just need him to contribute to an already pretty potent forward line.
If he can continue to get between 10-15 possies, kick a goal and set up a couple as he has the last couple of weeks then that is all we can ask and all we require.

I haven't seen to many (if any) Essendon supporters suggest he should be delisted. And I applaud you to go and find any posts that suggest he should be, although you may find it is a wasted effort.

And Bogan, your knowledge of the VFL is a worry. I've seen every Bendigo game this season and Jobe would be coming 2nd behind Doering in the best and fairest account. His form at VFL level has been verging on dominant.

bogan4life
23rd August 2005, 16:25
Yes and Daniel Bandy gets 25 hit outs a game and 20 touchs, Jobe Watson is a good vfl player at best.

He is slow and is only on a AFL list because of his last name, id prefer Salim Hassin then Jobe Watson.

Wonder Years
23rd August 2005, 18:41
I've never said Watson is or is going to be a better player than Ablett, but 16 and 11 is more possessions than Ablett has had in both of his games.
Jobe spent the second half of the weekends game playing at CHB, so his opportunities to kick goals were diminished. He has also spent a lot of time rotating off the bench as we try and blood as many kids as possible. Jobe had two brilliant finals last season and had an impact on our first finals victory and keeping us in the game against Geelong.
We don't need Jobe to be a superstar, we don't need him to hold down a key post, we just need him to contribute to an already pretty potent forward line.
If he can continue to get between 10-15 possies, kick a goal and set up a couple as he has the last couple of weeks then that is all we can ask and all we require.

I haven't seen to many (if any) Essendon supporters suggest he should be delisted. And I applaud you to go and find any posts that suggest he should be, although you may find it is a wasted effort.

And Bogan, your knowledge of the VFL is a worry. I've seen every Bendigo game this season and Jobe would be coming 2nd behind Doering in the best and fairest account. His form at VFL level has been verging on dominant.

16 and 11 possies is hardly dominating against pathetic oppisition, Nathan on the other hand has kicked 6 goals in his first two games of AFL against two top 8 sides which is almost as many as Jobe has kicked in his 12 game career. Shutup u don't need a superstar, if he plays like you say he will get traded even Alistair Nicholson does more than that, you may as well give Bolton a pay rise.

I don't need posts on bigfooty to know that Essendon suporters want him delisted I actualy get out unlike your poor self and believe me they do even you do your just in denial!

He is not dominant at AFL though is he!

thehoff
23rd August 2005, 18:56
How wrong alot of your people were. I have seen several posts now saying that Nathan Ablett is second rate.

How does the humble pie taste? Hopefully it is good because you'll be eating for another 200+ games and 500 + goals!

Leg_Spinning_Sensation
23rd August 2005, 19:54
You really are obsessed RapeDog44 :rolleyes:
scuse me mate? You cant say that fukn ******** when he was proven innocent. Theres freedom of speech then theres going too far

HeLMie
23rd August 2005, 21:29
What an absolute joke, Jobe Watson has shown nothing and if not for hi magical last name he wouldnt have even be drafted.

Nablett by an absolute mile

Longy413
23rd August 2005, 21:48
It seems that it's opposition supporters that treat Jobe as a 'name'.

Essendon supporters are happy just to let him develop and get over his injuries.
Seems opposition supporters are the ones with the expectations.

How did Daniel Cross go in his first few years?
Or Henry Playfair?

Jobe has grown and gone from being a junior midfielder to a senior KPP. That takes time and like all young KPP he should be afforded that time.

JUBJUB
23rd August 2005, 21:58

Essendon supporters are happy just to let him develop and get over his injuries.

Or Henry Playfair?

Well put Longy.It seems people think that the sons or high draft picks have to be superstars from day one.

How many VFL [reserves for the oldies] games did Michael Tuck play before he got a game at Hawthorn ?
I think Gary O'Donnell played a lot of VFL before getting a senior gig.
Andrew Thompson wasn't even drafted until his mid 20's.

dave_27
23rd August 2005, 22:09
jobe was in our best 22 by the end of last year and played well particularly in the finals, funnily enough i didnt see anyone labeling watson a 'hack' or anything else derogatory at that time because people in here didnt have the guts to because they saw what he was producing in the side when fit and given a opportunity.

Stargazer
23rd August 2005, 22:11
Jobe Watson has struggled with a myriad of injuries since his arrival at Windy Hill. Still young, and has ability. Certainly no hack.

Wonder Years
24th August 2005, 14:24
jobe was in our best 22 by the end of last year and played well particularly in the finals, funnily enough i didnt see anyone labeling watson a 'hack' or anything else derogatory at that time because people in here didnt have the guts to because they saw what he was producing in the side when fit and given a opportunity.

No I just hadn't registered yet!

Boopee2
25th August 2005, 01:44
Jobe Watson now that's funny :p

Wonder Years
25th August 2005, 17:28

Or Henry Playfair?

Jobe has grown and gone from being a junior midfielder to a senior KPP. That takes time and like all young KPP he should be afforded that time.

3 years and less than 15 games is a joke. By the way since when has he become a senior KPP.

Longy413
25th August 2005, 17:40
3 years and less than 15 games is a joke. By the way since when has he become a senior KPP.

Slade, Chambers?
Hardly any different.

Jobe grew considerably after he joined the club. He has spent the better part of three seasons battling injury and that has cost him games. Had he been fit he would have played every game in the past two seasons.
Played at CHF and CHB last week and played well.

Fair set of expectations you have on young Jobe. We don't expect him to be the next Tim, just to contribute and that is what he is doing.

Wonder Years
25th August 2005, 18:34
Slade, Chambers?
Hardly any different.

Jobe grew considerably after he joined the club. He has spent the better part of three seasons battling injury and that has cost him games. Had he been fit he would have played every game in the past two seasons.
Played at CHF and CHB last week and played well.

Fair set of expectations you have on young Jobe. We don't expect him to be the next Tim, just to contribute and that is what he is doing.

Slade is far from a big name who has been struck down by OP for over two years and before that played a few games. Chambers in unlucky because he has had to battle for the 2nd ruck job from Peter Street then Brad Ottens and in between Cameron Mooney. Chambers isn't considered a star just the 3rd ruckman and started on the rookie list so from where he has come from to play any games is an achievement.

I don't have any expectations on Jobe I know he's a hack. Honestly he played against a team that got thumped last week and did nothing if not for the youth policy he wouldn't be playing, and if he is injured so much how come he can rack up game after game in the VFL. Give up he's a dud and will be delisted by the end of next year, bookmark it!

Longy413
25th August 2005, 18:41
Slade is far from a big name who has been struck down by OP for over two years and before that played a few games.

So it's okay for Slade to be out injured but not Jobe?
And what makes Jobe a bit name? I haven't heard anyone say he is the next Tim Watson. Just a young kid trying to get a kick, people at Essendon (supporters included) don't treat him as a big name or any different to any other draftee. Seems opposition supporters are the ones that have made him a 'big name.'

if not for the youth policy he wouldn't be playing

Would have played every game the past two years. Played finals footy when we only had one player (a half back flanker) out injured.

and if he is injured so much how come he can rack up game after game in the VFL.

Because he plays 2-4 games in the VFL, gets himself match fit and in form and gets injured again. It's been a constant cycle, gets ready for AFL promotion and has a set back.

Give up he's a dud and will be delisted by the end of next year, bookmark it!

Give up on what?
A 20 year old with talent?

I'm willing to mark a kid on more than two games. Suggest you do the same.

Dazman
26th August 2005, 19:30

Contributing, to what? Bendigo. Jobe is a hack and Nablett will have the better career down at the Cattery.

I believe too many young people are drafted under the successfulness of their parents. Don't worry Essendon supporters, collingwood have done the exact same thing with their Shaw/Cloke duds.

Nablett 4 me

thehoff
26th August 2005, 23:20
Nath by a country mile.

Jobe, bad name, bad footballer.

Longy413
27th August 2005, 12:11
Contributing, to what? Bendigo. Jobe is a hack and Nablett will have the better career down at the Cattery.

And Chris Judd is better than both of them. But that doesn't matter.

Jobe is playing solid footy and for a third round pick that is all you can expect.

Wonder Years
1st September 2005, 15:05
So it's okay for Slade to be out injured but not Jobe?
And what makes Jobe a bit name? I haven't heard anyone say he is the next Tim Watson. Just a young kid trying to get a kick, people at Essendon (supporters included) don't treat him as a big name or any different to any other draftee. Seems opposition supporters are the ones that have made him a 'big name.'

Would have played every game the past two years. Played finals footy when we only had one player (a half back flanker) out injured.

Because he plays 2-4 games in the VFL, gets himself match fit and in form and gets injured again. It's been a constant cycle, gets ready for AFL promotion and has a set back.

Give up on what?
A 20 year old with talent?

I'm willing to mark a kid on more than two games. Suggest you do the same.

I never said it was ok for Will Slade to be out injured you asked about him I told you his deal, he played a few games then got struck down unlike Jobe who has been struck down since he started. I personally believe he should be delisted because he is too injury prone and hasn't shown enough to suggest he will be a long term player.

He is a big name because of who his old man is just like Nathan.

You were positioned 8th in that finals series sugesting your team wasn't that strong anyway and he had done enough in previous games to hold his spot although you did beat Melbourne in the first round but they were down and out.

If he was in your best 22 he wouldn't need 2-4 games in the VFL to get fit it would be 1 or 2 at best.

Where is this talent he has done nothing and not impcated on any game what so ever you said it yourself.

I'm not marking anyone on two games I believe that Nathan is better from he showed in his first two games, I can't mark him to date on any more than the 3 he has played its impossible. When Jobe reaches his 50 after ten years maybe you can mark him.

Look at the stats on the polls board you lose!

Longy413
1st September 2005, 21:55
Look at the stats on the polls board you lose!

But what does Nathan Ablett's career have to do with Watson.
What Ablett does, how many games he players, how good he becomes has absolutely nothing to do with Jobe Watson.

Ablett is extremely talented, an enigma. No one is suggesting Watson is going to be a gun, as good as Ablett or anything of the sort. All I'm saying is he is playing solid footy and has shown enough talent to persist with.

Ablett being better than Watson is irrelevant to Watson's place on the list, Jason Johnson isn't as good as James Hird, but we aren't going to delist him because of that.

Jobe can play, he isn't a superstar but he has talent and we are happy to keep him.

If Nathan Ablett becomes a superstar all the power to him, no one is predicting that for Jobe.

Wonder Years
7th September 2005, 13:35
But what does Nathan Ablett's career have to do with Watson.
What Ablett does, how many games he players, how good he becomes has absolutely nothing to do with Jobe Watson.

Ablett is extremely talented, an enigma. No one is suggesting Watson is going to be a gun, as good as Ablett or anything of the sort. All I'm saying is he is playing solid footy and has shown enough talent to persist with.

Ablett being better than Watson is irrelevant to Watson's place on the list, Jason Johnson isn't as good as James Hird, but we aren't going to delist him because of that.

Jobe can play, he isn't a superstar but he has talent and we are happy to keep him.

If Nathan Ablett becomes a superstar all the power to him, no one is predicting that for Jobe.

The whole point of this thread was to gauge the response as to who would play more games. Generally speaking a better player will play more games than a player of lesser quality although it is not always the case it will occur most of the time. Therefore in this case the gauged response has been that Nathan Ablett will play more games than Jobe Watson because he is a better player.

Longy413
7th September 2005, 13:47
The whole point of this thread was to gauge the response as to who would play more games. Generally speaking a better player will play more games than a player of lesser quality although it is not always the case it will occur most of the time. Therefore in this case the gauged response has been that Nathan Ablett will play more games than Jobe Watson because he is a better player.

That's fine.
But it is also a complete contrast to your, most Essendon fans wanting Jobe Watson off the list, Watson is only on the list because he is 'a name' and that Watson won't be at Essendon in 2007 jibes.

This whole thread is useless, Watson is no lesser player because Ablett is better than him.

Wonder Years
7th September 2005, 17:25
That's fine.
But it is also a complete contrast to your, most Essendon fans wanting Jobe Watson off the list, Watson is only on the list because he is 'a name' and that Watson won't be at Essendon in 2007 jibes.

This whole thread is useless, Watson is no lesser player because Ablett is better than him.

No its not because that is still my opinion and I'm entitled to have it. I was simply pointing out the point of the thread that it is over who will play more games and I made my opinion known throughout the thread as to what I thought which you happen to disagree with.

Unwritten_Law
7th September 2005, 17:29
It should be Watson v. Gardiner.

Two u-18 midfielders that are too slow to play there in the AFL and too unco to play forward.

Longy413
7th September 2005, 17:31
No its not because that is still my opinion and I'm entitled to have it. I was simply pointing out the point of the thread that it is over who will play more games and I made my opinion known throughout the thread as to what I thought which you happen to disagree with.

I don't disagree that Ablett is better.

The rest is rubbish and hardly worth talking about.

Strawberry Pancakes
8th September 2005, 08:28
Watson sucks. End of discussion.

Wonder Years
14th September 2005, 13:58
I don't disagree that Ablett is better.

The rest is rubbish and hardly worth talking about.

Well why even bother posting any comments if you think it is hardly worth talking about!

Longy413
14th September 2005, 14:08
Well why even bother posting any comments if you think it is hardly worth talking about!

Read the quote again spanner.

Wonder Years
14th September 2005, 15:02
Read the quote again spanner.

Give up!

Longy413
14th September 2005, 15:03
On?

My point was, speculating on how many games a player will play is worthless. And it is.

Wonder Years
14th September 2005, 16:31
On?

My point was, speculating on how many games a player will play is worthless. And it is.

No its not it is a topic that came up for discussion so why can't people express their opinion. I expressed mine you expressed your leave it at that.

Wonder Years
1st June 2006, 13:02
Surely Nathan Ablett still has the inside running in this hotly debated topic!

Longy413
1st June 2006, 13:07
Surely....

F/D
1st June 2006, 13:48
Surely....
Quality

:D

Rhombus
1st June 2006, 15:16
Watson would be Top 5 in the Essendon B&F!

Longy413
1st June 2006, 15:25
Top 5?

He'd just about be Top 1.

dumesny1
1st June 2006, 15:31
Give me a Cloke any day.:cool:

Longy413
1st June 2006, 15:53

It's just as well you have three then.

Wonder Years
1st June 2006, 16:13

Here's to Jason appearing on Where are they now? in two years!

eorl
1st June 2006, 16:59
all those who voted for nathan you are screwed in the head where is nathan atm nowhere and where is jobe smack bang in the middle of the bombers mid field

same age people one has 4 games one 22 and i cant see jobe not getting a game each week

davey_magik
1st June 2006, 18:06
How wrong alot of your people were. I have seen several posts now saying that Nathan Ablett is second rate.

How does the humble pie taste? Hopefully it is good because you'll be eating for another 200+ games and 500 + goals!

Well, after two games you judged him. Now there are various Cats supporters who don't want him in the side.
I would have Watson at Melbourne in a flash. Best clearance player this year.

MrAaron
1st June 2006, 18:09
Probably Nat Ablett.

gees you talk crap. Jobe Watson has average over 20 possessions a game this season and how many games has N.Ablett played ? 1 or less right ?

You need a reality check

MrAaron
1st June 2006, 18:09
Jobe Watson >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> An Ant >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Nathan Ablett

Longy413
1st June 2006, 18:10
gees you talk crap. Jobe Watson has average over 20 possessions a game this season and how many games has N.Ablett played ? 1 or less right ?

Check the date turbo....

MrAaron
1st June 2006, 18:20
Check the date turbo....

I did. the post starter was only what 3 weeks ago ?

Bugz
1st June 2006, 18:36
3 weeks + 1 Year.:rolleyes:

Longy413
1st June 2006, 23:29

You're going really well aren't you?

Lunchlady Doris
4th June 2006, 15:54
haha I love seenig AaronMs posts, it's like watching a car crash

Wonder Years
5th June 2006, 15:43
You can say what you like about them both being the same age but their maturity as a player is what counts and face it Jobe has been in the system four years at AFL level plus another two or so at TAC/School comps whereas Nathan has been in the system for one year and came straight out of a country league, this was of his own doing so it is no excuse but just to play has been good but give him four years and see where he is at. Or maybe he could be eight kilos lighter?

Chambo
5th June 2006, 16:47
You can say what you like about them both being the same age but their maturity as a player is what counts and face it Jobe has been in the system four years at AFL level plus another two or so at TAC/School comps whereas Nathan has been in the system for one year and came straight out of a country league, this was of his own doing so it is no excuse but just to play has been good but give him four years and see where he is at. Or maybe he could be eight kilos lighter?

NATHAN ABLETT IS JUNK!!!!!! HE IS THE SOFTEST :D :D :D :D GOING AROUND!!!!

Jobe Watson is a ball magnet and a classy player, whilst n. ablett needs 8 kilos to help him in a KP role!

btw, Paul was a better character than Kevin LOL!!!!, I wonder what Gwendoline "Winnie" Cooper is doing these days, aaahhhh!

tomthetiger
5th June 2006, 16:56

Stop embarrassing yourself kid.

hahaha
5th June 2006, 16:59
In Jobe we trust.

All Essendon supporters knew he had something.

His ball winning ability is amazing.

Read through this thread, no Essendon supporter was prepared to write him off. Yet a plethora of the Essendon fanbase have written off Lucas, Solomon, Mark Johnson, Winderlich, Dyson, Reynolds, Hille and Lovett-Murray (some of it justified) with ease.

ALL essendon supporters knew Jobe would become something special.

chapmanmagic35
5th June 2006, 17:54

Jobe Watson is a ball magnet and a classy player, whilst n. ablett needs 8 kilos to help him in a KP role!

btw, Paul was a better character than Kevin LOL!!!!, I wonder what Gwendoline "Winnie" Cooper is doing these days, aaahhhh!

Oh lord....

Ari
5th June 2006, 17:57

Egg on the face? ;)

bhorjus
5th June 2006, 18:07
Watson by a mile. Jobe is clearly our B&F thus far. Suprising to see people rate him so highly and rate him more than Watson.

:thumbsu:

Wonder Years
5th June 2006, 20:49
In Jobe we trust.

All Essendon supporters knew he had something.

His ball winning ability is amazing.

Read through this thread, no Essendon supporter was prepared to write him off. Yet a plethora of the Essendon fanbase have written off Lucas, Solomon, Mark Johnson, Winderlich, Dyson, Reynolds, Hille and Lovett-Murray (some of it justified) with ease.

ALL essendon supporters knew Jobe would become something special.

How is he something special? Because he standing out in a dud team after 4 years on the list? Let him make all-australian, win a brownlow a norm smith or anything before he call him something special!

Wonder Years
5th June 2006, 20:53

He is not junk how can you judge a guy on 5 games, its like judging Courtney Johns! Course he needs 8 kilos but he wont blow up and not be able to play like Jobe couldnt cause he was too fat and slow lol! Last time I checked she was in CSI!!!!!

grievous
5th June 2006, 21:00
jobe is our perfect player to fill joe misiti's spot.

cats2rise
5th June 2006, 21:05
Will be interested to see in two years.
Nathan IMO is not up to AFL standard yet and has jsut recently shown patches of form in the VFL, but with problems at the cattery her is in the seniors, whichis also good to see.

For essendons sake, i hope Jobe can be a constant performer this year.

After another 18 months, i think we could have a clear winner.

Longy413
5th June 2006, 21:34
He is not junk how can you judge a guy on 5 games

You were more than happy to write off a bloke after 15 games.

Wonder Years
6th June 2006, 12:23
You were more than happy to write off a bloke after 15 games.

Correction I was ready to write him off after 3 years of injuries, poor form and only 15 AFL games combined.

Longy413
6th June 2006, 13:22
Correction I was ready to write him off after 3 years of injuries, poor form and only 15 AFL games combined.

So you did write off a 15 game player.

That's exactly what I said.