Bluey
18th September 2001, 04:30
AFLTips.Com Review News
Semi Finals - 17 September 2001
w: http://www.afltips.com/
e: adrian@afltips.com
* Brought to you in conjunction with BigFooty.com -
http://www.bigfooty.com/
+----------+
INDEX
1) Prize Draw
2) Out Of Bounds - Phil Doyle Returns.
3) "Weekly Round-Up" - Reviews of all matches from the editor.
4) Various info about AFLTips.Com
+----------+
1) Prize Draw
Roos fan 'hooch_dog' (where do you guys get these names?) picked
up a stubby holder, just for being a subscriber. Good on ya
Hoochy boy.
Read about the prize draw here:
http://www.afltips.com/prizedraw.html
Until next time,
Adrian Appleyard
adrian@afltips.com
+----------+
3) Out Of Bounds
by Phil Doyle
http://www.afltips.com/people/phildoyle.html
OUT OF BOUNDS #22 - Absolutely
In a week where too much hype is barely enough Out Of Bounds
reaches into the big bag of cliches to bring you all the action
from the business end of the season.
And boy do we mean business! Big business! Even little
business...
How do you turn a big business into a little business I hear you
ask? Well, you leave it in the care of businessmen.
But more on that later.
First, we honour the greatest coach of all time, at least
according to Kevin Sheedy.
Out Of Bound's Channel Nine sources witnessed a pre-recording of
a special grand final week edition of 'This Is Your Life' that
featured none other than Sheeds himself being fronted by that
pompous galah from A Current Affair.
Our source heard a statement during the show from number one
galah that had him confused. "Well Kevin, welcome to the show.
You are a great coach. Four flags with the Bombers, and a chance
for a fifth this Saturday."
Channel Nine have pre-recorded an entire television show assuming
the fact that Essendon have already beaten Hawthorn and are in
the Grand Final this year. Our source went on to say that all the
Essendonplayers were there, standing around, as one in apparent
agreement with the statement.
"I just about puked." Said our source. "This is a complete insult
to the rest of the competition. Everyone in the crowd was
actually told to keep it very, very quiet and hush, hush and not
to tell anyone about it at all."
Channel Nine is obviously getting good value for money with it's
AFL television rights for 2002. Speaking of rights, Essendon
Football Club has stressed that it has NOT sold its internet
rights as has been suggested in some media reports.
Essendon wasn't prepared to compromise its contractual
obligations with major sponsor Orange as a result of the AFL
stitching up a deal with Telstra. Essendon Football Club has
retained the developmental rights to its website and any revenue
generated therefrom.
The Bombers are arguing that i7 is simply a sponsor of Essendon
Football Club - a deal which includes sponsorship of
www.essendonfc.com.au.
The deal reinforces the club's decision to remain independent of
the AFL's Telstra internet rights deal. "AFL policy allows for
clubs to develop commercial opportunities for their own
websites." Essendon chief executive Peter Jackson said. "It is of
paramount importance to Essendon that we retain and build the
direct relationship with our membership and supporter bases and
not on-sell or outsource this critical activity for a football
club. It was also vitally important that we maintain our long-
term rights as the technology and online medium grow."
Considering that the alternative is Telstra these views are
wholly understandable. Bugger the football, let's just see Orange
take on Telstra come September 29! Aren't the Fitzroy Bears
sponsored by AAPT? There's nothing like a corporate stoush in the
telecommunications industry to capture the imagination of the
Australian public.
In other news from the money-go-round CUB and AFL announced a
landmark sponsorship agreement with Yarra Trams, enabling free
public transport for fans to this year's 2001 AFL Grand Final at
the MCG.
This is a wonderful tribute to the spirit of hard nosed footy.
It's no secret that the best and hardest tackles laid in
Melbourne this year have been from Yarra Trams ticket inspectors
on suspected fare evaders.
Let us move to an area that can be filed under 'lies, damned lies
and statistics'.
Outspoken community activist and champion of the oppressed, Wayne
Jackson, announced the AFL Commission had set admission prices
for the 2002 season with a commitment to keep football affordable
for all sections of the community.
AFL attendances have risen more than three per cent in 2001 but
still ticket prices must also increase. "Our fixture has been of
crucial importance to football supporters in 2001 but, as we head
into the future, we know that the basic price of admission to
games is the most important factor for all football fans," Mr.
Jackson said with a straight face.
"The AFL knows it must always address the cost of football for
supporters and ensure our game is accessible to all fans."
To achieve this end prices of concession tickets have been raised
nearly four percent.
Sadly not everyone is happy with the administration of Wayne
"Champagne Charlie" Jackson.
"The AFL Football Operations report is disgraceful and an insult
to my Club and to WA football." Said the Fremantle Football Club
head cheese, Ross McLean. "It reflects shoddy thinking and shoddy
process. "If this is typical of the level of reporting to the AFL
Commission, then this issue is more a reflection on the AFL than
on the Fremantle Football Club or WA football.
"To come to these conclusions in a rushed one and a half day
stay, when Mr. Crawford came to a much different view following
his extensive enquiry into WA football, is something the AFL in
particular and the
football community generally need to consider.
"The so-called investigation lacked rigor and appears to have
responded too much to speculation and gossip. I personally,
expect much better than gratuitous and ill-considered insults.
[It's a good thing he does not read Out Of Bounds]
"Messrs. Jackson and Demetriou visited WA at a time when the
Fremantle Football Club had sacked a coach, lost its CEO, was
enduring poor on-field results and was suffering financial
setbacks as a result of these performances. WA football was also
feeling some structural tensions, most of which have now been
addressed in the Crawford report.
"We did not need Messrs. Jackson and Demetriou to tell us that
times were tough. Our Club was experiencing these problems on a
daily basis. We did need practical help, but that was not
forthcoming." While Out Of Bounds disapproves of this sort of
namby-pamby response, and would like to know how Mr. McLean and
his board really feel, we nonetheless are surprised that the
Fremantle Chairman didn't take up the offer of the steak knives
and limited edition books that Demetriou and Jackson had brought
with them, which were available at very reasonable prices.
What goes up, must come down.
Out of Bounds is waiting with bated breath for next year's Dunn
and Bradstreet Pre-Season Cup.
The AFL advised Out Of Bounds that it has a contingency plan in
place.
Whether or not this involves football, or merely a regular supply
of Verve Cliqot Champagne, remains unclear at this stage.
A man with a keen sense of irony, AFL Football Operations Manager
Andrew Demetriou, said the AFL had booked flights with Qantas
last Monday as part of a contingency plan for Hawthorn's game
against Port Adelaide at Football Park last weekend. Hawthorn
ended up travelling on a converted mail carrier.
"Qantas has given great assistance to the AFL on very short
notice to ensure we can meet our playing commitments and this has
been greatly appreciated by the league." Said a loyal Demetriou.
"At this time, the AFL also wishes to state that Ansett has been
an absolutely outstanding supporter of Australian Football for
more than 12 years as the AFL's official carrier for all teams
for all matches, as well its support of the Ansett Cup and the
Ansett Pathway program for developing young talent."
Until they went broke.
The AFL has no comment at this time on future implications for
sponsorship and team flights beyond this year.
Fairfax media's Michael Bradley says the demise of Ansett "is set
to ricochet through Australia's sporting community"
Last month the Australian Sports Commission renewed its
partnership with Ansett, ensuring the airline would remain the
preferred carrier until after the Athens Olympics.
"On May 22 the Australian Cricket Board announced that Ansett had
agreed to a new five-year sponsorship of domestic Test matches.
The ACB would not disclose the deal's total value, but said the
multi-million-dollar sponsorship was one of the largest
sponsorships it had ever received." Reported Bradley.
It's enough to make you want to take up smoking Benson and
Hedges.
Ansett had announced a new five-year sponsorship deal with the
AFL on May 10.
Ansett are the major sponsor of the pre-season competition, the
Civil Aviation Safety Authority Cup, until 2003, and the AFL's
Official Airline.
Is the AFL screwed?
Absolutely.
Phil Doyle – running on, having a bounce and looking downfield
for a lead.
Don't Forget!
AFL GRAND FINAL TO BE CALLED LIVE FROM NEWCASTLE!
AFL Grand Final action comes to the heartland of Rugby League,
Newcastle on Saturday September 29 at the Delany Hotel in Derby
St, Cooks Hill with a LIVE CALL OF THE 2001 STONES GREEN GINGER
WINE AFL GRAND FINAL!
The boy from Broome, Shane Jesse Christmass, and the original
half back flanker, Phil Doyle, bring you an afternoon of Prizes,
Giveaways, Insults, Homegrown Halftime Entertainment, Tribalism,
Drinking, W.B Yeats, Strapping Young Men and Hopeless Teenage
Nostalgia.
There's the very sultry doyen-in-waiting of the Melbourne media,
ALICIA SOMETIMES; The writer, RICHARD WATTS, who is co-convenor
of the Official Collingwood Gay and Lesbian Supporters Group; and
what social occasion would be complete without the mad man from
Ballarat, SUTHO THE WONDER BOY.
The afternoon kicks off from 2pm and is brought to you in
conjunction with Conjunctivitis, Herpes Simplex and the Stephen
Michael Literary Salon! There will be some selling done.
If you would like to receive the very irregular and factually
unreliable Out Of Bounds directly via email then send a message
to phildoyle33@hotmail.com. Out Of Bounds can also be seen at the
wonderful http://www.afltips.com/ website.
All of this is copyright Phil Doyle 2001, for whatever that's
worth. Any resemblance to persons living or dead I consider a
compliment.
+----------+
3) Weekly Round-Up
from our Regular Contributors
http://www.afltips.com/people/
(E-mail adrian@afltips.com if you'd like to become a
contributor.)
**********
Carlton v. Richmond
Saturday, September 15
MCG 2:30 PM AEST
Blues fans, talk about the match here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=25
Tigers fans, talk about the match here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=16
Richmond 2.5 17 6.7 43 9.7 61 10.7 67
Carlton 0.2 2 5.5 35 6.10 46 7.14 56
The Tigers were a different team to the one that showed up last
week. The Blues drew first blood with a behind... and stayed
behind for the rest of the match.
Defence was key in this game, reflected in the low scores.
Richmond held on tight to their lead, though the Blues fought
valiantly coming as close as seven points in the last quarter,
even after losing Kouta in the second quarter. But it was not to
be, and the Tigers will now face Brisbane
This tough game was marred only by four reports and some suspect
off-ball push and shove that will be examined thoroughly when the
boys in the tribunal get their hands on the tape.
- AA
**********
Port Adelaide v. Hawthorn
Saturday, September 15
MCG 7:45 PM AEST
Hawks fans, talk about the match here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=19
Port fans, talk about the match here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=28
Port 3.1 19 4.5 29 8.7 55 10.9 69
Hawks 1.1 7 4.6 30 5.8 38 10.12 72
You can't expect to get more than 30,000 or so when you try to
gouge people with a 20% increase in admission prices and delay
the telecast by only 45 minutes.
A lot of people simply decided to get a couple of cartons in and
watch it at home, or sit in their local and watch on the big
screen.
Good conditions saw the Hawks squeak in by three points, though
their form during the match does not bear out this narrow margin.
Not to take anything away from Port, who held the line until the
final quarter when Hawthorn got their second wind and nearly
equalled their own score for the first three quarters, slotting
through 5 goals 4.
But I'm going to go out on a limb here and pick against the Hawks
in next week's battle for a Grand Final spot against Essendon.
If only to annoy my friend Michael at work.
- AA
+----------+
Get a free joke in your e-mail every day from
DailyJokes.com.au!
Go to:
http://www.dailyjokes.com.au/
<mailto:list@dailyjokes.com.au&body=subscribe>
+----------+
4) Info about AFLTips.Com
Feel free to forward this newsletter on to your mates.
AFLTips.Com is not associated with the Australian Football League
in any way. We just talk about them. A lot.
The views expressed by the contributors are not necessarily those
of Adrian Appleyard. I recommend that you do your own independent
research before acting on ANY information found in this e-mail.
In fact I demand it - and let me know what you find out...
If you received this e-mail from a friend and wish to SUBSCRIBE,
go to http://www.afltips.com/ and fill out the form on the front
page.
Copyright (C) Adrian Appleyard, 2001
ENDS
************************************************************ *****
Semi Finals - 17 September 2001
w: http://www.afltips.com/
e: adrian@afltips.com
* Brought to you in conjunction with BigFooty.com -
http://www.bigfooty.com/
+----------+
INDEX
1) Prize Draw
2) Out Of Bounds - Phil Doyle Returns.
3) "Weekly Round-Up" - Reviews of all matches from the editor.
4) Various info about AFLTips.Com
+----------+
1) Prize Draw
Roos fan 'hooch_dog' (where do you guys get these names?) picked
up a stubby holder, just for being a subscriber. Good on ya
Hoochy boy.
Read about the prize draw here:
http://www.afltips.com/prizedraw.html
Until next time,
Adrian Appleyard
adrian@afltips.com
+----------+
3) Out Of Bounds
by Phil Doyle
http://www.afltips.com/people/phildoyle.html
OUT OF BOUNDS #22 - Absolutely
In a week where too much hype is barely enough Out Of Bounds
reaches into the big bag of cliches to bring you all the action
from the business end of the season.
And boy do we mean business! Big business! Even little
business...
How do you turn a big business into a little business I hear you
ask? Well, you leave it in the care of businessmen.
But more on that later.
First, we honour the greatest coach of all time, at least
according to Kevin Sheedy.
Out Of Bound's Channel Nine sources witnessed a pre-recording of
a special grand final week edition of 'This Is Your Life' that
featured none other than Sheeds himself being fronted by that
pompous galah from A Current Affair.
Our source heard a statement during the show from number one
galah that had him confused. "Well Kevin, welcome to the show.
You are a great coach. Four flags with the Bombers, and a chance
for a fifth this Saturday."
Channel Nine have pre-recorded an entire television show assuming
the fact that Essendon have already beaten Hawthorn and are in
the Grand Final this year. Our source went on to say that all the
Essendonplayers were there, standing around, as one in apparent
agreement with the statement.
"I just about puked." Said our source. "This is a complete insult
to the rest of the competition. Everyone in the crowd was
actually told to keep it very, very quiet and hush, hush and not
to tell anyone about it at all."
Channel Nine is obviously getting good value for money with it's
AFL television rights for 2002. Speaking of rights, Essendon
Football Club has stressed that it has NOT sold its internet
rights as has been suggested in some media reports.
Essendon wasn't prepared to compromise its contractual
obligations with major sponsor Orange as a result of the AFL
stitching up a deal with Telstra. Essendon Football Club has
retained the developmental rights to its website and any revenue
generated therefrom.
The Bombers are arguing that i7 is simply a sponsor of Essendon
Football Club - a deal which includes sponsorship of
www.essendonfc.com.au.
The deal reinforces the club's decision to remain independent of
the AFL's Telstra internet rights deal. "AFL policy allows for
clubs to develop commercial opportunities for their own
websites." Essendon chief executive Peter Jackson said. "It is of
paramount importance to Essendon that we retain and build the
direct relationship with our membership and supporter bases and
not on-sell or outsource this critical activity for a football
club. It was also vitally important that we maintain our long-
term rights as the technology and online medium grow."
Considering that the alternative is Telstra these views are
wholly understandable. Bugger the football, let's just see Orange
take on Telstra come September 29! Aren't the Fitzroy Bears
sponsored by AAPT? There's nothing like a corporate stoush in the
telecommunications industry to capture the imagination of the
Australian public.
In other news from the money-go-round CUB and AFL announced a
landmark sponsorship agreement with Yarra Trams, enabling free
public transport for fans to this year's 2001 AFL Grand Final at
the MCG.
This is a wonderful tribute to the spirit of hard nosed footy.
It's no secret that the best and hardest tackles laid in
Melbourne this year have been from Yarra Trams ticket inspectors
on suspected fare evaders.
Let us move to an area that can be filed under 'lies, damned lies
and statistics'.
Outspoken community activist and champion of the oppressed, Wayne
Jackson, announced the AFL Commission had set admission prices
for the 2002 season with a commitment to keep football affordable
for all sections of the community.
AFL attendances have risen more than three per cent in 2001 but
still ticket prices must also increase. "Our fixture has been of
crucial importance to football supporters in 2001 but, as we head
into the future, we know that the basic price of admission to
games is the most important factor for all football fans," Mr.
Jackson said with a straight face.
"The AFL knows it must always address the cost of football for
supporters and ensure our game is accessible to all fans."
To achieve this end prices of concession tickets have been raised
nearly four percent.
Sadly not everyone is happy with the administration of Wayne
"Champagne Charlie" Jackson.
"The AFL Football Operations report is disgraceful and an insult
to my Club and to WA football." Said the Fremantle Football Club
head cheese, Ross McLean. "It reflects shoddy thinking and shoddy
process. "If this is typical of the level of reporting to the AFL
Commission, then this issue is more a reflection on the AFL than
on the Fremantle Football Club or WA football.
"To come to these conclusions in a rushed one and a half day
stay, when Mr. Crawford came to a much different view following
his extensive enquiry into WA football, is something the AFL in
particular and the
football community generally need to consider.
"The so-called investigation lacked rigor and appears to have
responded too much to speculation and gossip. I personally,
expect much better than gratuitous and ill-considered insults.
[It's a good thing he does not read Out Of Bounds]
"Messrs. Jackson and Demetriou visited WA at a time when the
Fremantle Football Club had sacked a coach, lost its CEO, was
enduring poor on-field results and was suffering financial
setbacks as a result of these performances. WA football was also
feeling some structural tensions, most of which have now been
addressed in the Crawford report.
"We did not need Messrs. Jackson and Demetriou to tell us that
times were tough. Our Club was experiencing these problems on a
daily basis. We did need practical help, but that was not
forthcoming." While Out Of Bounds disapproves of this sort of
namby-pamby response, and would like to know how Mr. McLean and
his board really feel, we nonetheless are surprised that the
Fremantle Chairman didn't take up the offer of the steak knives
and limited edition books that Demetriou and Jackson had brought
with them, which were available at very reasonable prices.
What goes up, must come down.
Out of Bounds is waiting with bated breath for next year's Dunn
and Bradstreet Pre-Season Cup.
The AFL advised Out Of Bounds that it has a contingency plan in
place.
Whether or not this involves football, or merely a regular supply
of Verve Cliqot Champagne, remains unclear at this stage.
A man with a keen sense of irony, AFL Football Operations Manager
Andrew Demetriou, said the AFL had booked flights with Qantas
last Monday as part of a contingency plan for Hawthorn's game
against Port Adelaide at Football Park last weekend. Hawthorn
ended up travelling on a converted mail carrier.
"Qantas has given great assistance to the AFL on very short
notice to ensure we can meet our playing commitments and this has
been greatly appreciated by the league." Said a loyal Demetriou.
"At this time, the AFL also wishes to state that Ansett has been
an absolutely outstanding supporter of Australian Football for
more than 12 years as the AFL's official carrier for all teams
for all matches, as well its support of the Ansett Cup and the
Ansett Pathway program for developing young talent."
Until they went broke.
The AFL has no comment at this time on future implications for
sponsorship and team flights beyond this year.
Fairfax media's Michael Bradley says the demise of Ansett "is set
to ricochet through Australia's sporting community"
Last month the Australian Sports Commission renewed its
partnership with Ansett, ensuring the airline would remain the
preferred carrier until after the Athens Olympics.
"On May 22 the Australian Cricket Board announced that Ansett had
agreed to a new five-year sponsorship of domestic Test matches.
The ACB would not disclose the deal's total value, but said the
multi-million-dollar sponsorship was one of the largest
sponsorships it had ever received." Reported Bradley.
It's enough to make you want to take up smoking Benson and
Hedges.
Ansett had announced a new five-year sponsorship deal with the
AFL on May 10.
Ansett are the major sponsor of the pre-season competition, the
Civil Aviation Safety Authority Cup, until 2003, and the AFL's
Official Airline.
Is the AFL screwed?
Absolutely.
Phil Doyle – running on, having a bounce and looking downfield
for a lead.
Don't Forget!
AFL GRAND FINAL TO BE CALLED LIVE FROM NEWCASTLE!
AFL Grand Final action comes to the heartland of Rugby League,
Newcastle on Saturday September 29 at the Delany Hotel in Derby
St, Cooks Hill with a LIVE CALL OF THE 2001 STONES GREEN GINGER
WINE AFL GRAND FINAL!
The boy from Broome, Shane Jesse Christmass, and the original
half back flanker, Phil Doyle, bring you an afternoon of Prizes,
Giveaways, Insults, Homegrown Halftime Entertainment, Tribalism,
Drinking, W.B Yeats, Strapping Young Men and Hopeless Teenage
Nostalgia.
There's the very sultry doyen-in-waiting of the Melbourne media,
ALICIA SOMETIMES; The writer, RICHARD WATTS, who is co-convenor
of the Official Collingwood Gay and Lesbian Supporters Group; and
what social occasion would be complete without the mad man from
Ballarat, SUTHO THE WONDER BOY.
The afternoon kicks off from 2pm and is brought to you in
conjunction with Conjunctivitis, Herpes Simplex and the Stephen
Michael Literary Salon! There will be some selling done.
If you would like to receive the very irregular and factually
unreliable Out Of Bounds directly via email then send a message
to phildoyle33@hotmail.com. Out Of Bounds can also be seen at the
wonderful http://www.afltips.com/ website.
All of this is copyright Phil Doyle 2001, for whatever that's
worth. Any resemblance to persons living or dead I consider a
compliment.
+----------+
3) Weekly Round-Up
from our Regular Contributors
http://www.afltips.com/people/
(E-mail adrian@afltips.com if you'd like to become a
contributor.)
**********
Carlton v. Richmond
Saturday, September 15
MCG 2:30 PM AEST
Blues fans, talk about the match here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=25
Tigers fans, talk about the match here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=16
Richmond 2.5 17 6.7 43 9.7 61 10.7 67
Carlton 0.2 2 5.5 35 6.10 46 7.14 56
The Tigers were a different team to the one that showed up last
week. The Blues drew first blood with a behind... and stayed
behind for the rest of the match.
Defence was key in this game, reflected in the low scores.
Richmond held on tight to their lead, though the Blues fought
valiantly coming as close as seven points in the last quarter,
even after losing Kouta in the second quarter. But it was not to
be, and the Tigers will now face Brisbane
This tough game was marred only by four reports and some suspect
off-ball push and shove that will be examined thoroughly when the
boys in the tribunal get their hands on the tape.
- AA
**********
Port Adelaide v. Hawthorn
Saturday, September 15
MCG 7:45 PM AEST
Hawks fans, talk about the match here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=19
Port fans, talk about the match here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=28
Port 3.1 19 4.5 29 8.7 55 10.9 69
Hawks 1.1 7 4.6 30 5.8 38 10.12 72
You can't expect to get more than 30,000 or so when you try to
gouge people with a 20% increase in admission prices and delay
the telecast by only 45 minutes.
A lot of people simply decided to get a couple of cartons in and
watch it at home, or sit in their local and watch on the big
screen.
Good conditions saw the Hawks squeak in by three points, though
their form during the match does not bear out this narrow margin.
Not to take anything away from Port, who held the line until the
final quarter when Hawthorn got their second wind and nearly
equalled their own score for the first three quarters, slotting
through 5 goals 4.
But I'm going to go out on a limb here and pick against the Hawks
in next week's battle for a Grand Final spot against Essendon.
If only to annoy my friend Michael at work.
- AA
+----------+
Get a free joke in your e-mail every day from
DailyJokes.com.au!
Go to:
http://www.dailyjokes.com.au/
<mailto:list@dailyjokes.com.au&body=subscribe>
+----------+
4) Info about AFLTips.Com
Feel free to forward this newsletter on to your mates.
AFLTips.Com is not associated with the Australian Football League
in any way. We just talk about them. A lot.
The views expressed by the contributors are not necessarily those
of Adrian Appleyard. I recommend that you do your own independent
research before acting on ANY information found in this e-mail.
In fact I demand it - and let me know what you find out...
If you received this e-mail from a friend and wish to SUBSCRIBE,
go to http://www.afltips.com/ and fill out the form on the front
page.
Copyright (C) Adrian Appleyard, 2001
ENDS
************************************************************ *****