View Full Version : the next 2 new AFL teams
Alberton_Magpie
14th May 2005, 20:17
In the next 20 years im posative that there will be two new teams in the AFL one within 5 years the next within 10-15 years.
dumesny1
14th May 2005, 20:22
There will only be relocations. Adelaide and Perth are out.
Alberton_Magpie
14th May 2005, 20:23
and where will they relocate to?
Alphabet Man
14th May 2005, 20:31
i couldnt sdecide cos i like the idea of footy in all those places......
PS: wheres the option for Melbourne? lol
Alberton_Magpie
14th May 2005, 21:30
i couldnt sdecide cos i like the idea of footy in all those places......
PS: wheres the option for Melbourne? lol
No melbourne is ready for an AFL team yet give them 100 years
catfan
14th May 2005, 22:35
One from the NT and one from Tassie.
Kapow!!!
14th May 2005, 22:51
Southport Sharks and a Launceston team
weagles_fan
14th May 2005, 23:25
Gold Coast and Sydney.eg West Sydney and Central Coast
flamethrower
14th May 2005, 23:47
Los Angeles and Tokyo.
Alberton_Magpie
15th May 2005, 10:28
I would say-
Gold Coast Sharks
and
Tasmanian Highlanders
Alberton_Magpie
15th May 2005, 10:29
I would say-
Gold Coast Sharks
and
Tasmanian Highlanders
The sharks would be a great name because the nrl would have the dolphins and that shows how poofy they are compaird to our great game.
amnesiac
15th May 2005, 17:45
tasmania has a vfl team which will keep them content for a while at least. about the right size for the state as well, probably not ready to support an afl team yet.
darwin and the northern territory in general has a large afl supporter base and this would be ideal for a new club in the not too distant future.
wellington in the very long term, new zealand has embraced their own team in australian leagues in a number of sports.
the breakers in the nbl, the football kingz in the nsl and warriors in the nrl. sometime down the track a nz football team would be good, and i think they would also draw fair crowds to their away games in melbourne.
sydney can't support a second team i dont think, maybe the swans could end up playing more games at telstra stadium eventually becoming more of a NSW team than a sydney team.
crowsarethebest
15th May 2005, 19:13
tasmania has a vfl team which will keep them content for a while at least. about the right size for the state as well, probably not ready to support an afl team yet.
darwin and the northern territory in general has a large afl supporter base and this would be ideal for a new club in the not too distant future.
wellington in the very long term, new zealand has embraced their own team in australian leagues in a number of sports.
the breakers in the nbl, the football kingz in the nsl and warriors in the nrl. sometime down the track a nz football team would be good, and i think they would also draw fair crowds to their away games in melbourne.
sydney can't support a second team i dont think, maybe the swans could end up playing more games at telstra stadium eventually becoming more of a NSW team than a sydney team.
It would be freeky to have a NT side because the aborigines would go there and they'd be a speedy side.
viccles
15th May 2005, 19:59
Gold Coast! Yeah!
m.diddy
15th May 2005, 20:05
I am thinking that it will either be in tassie or will be in Perth or Adelaide. The WA and SA clubs are thriving with 40,000+ members each so easily have the space.
catters05
15th May 2005, 20:34
I am thinking that it will either be in tassie or will be in Perth or Adelaide. The WA and SA clubs are thriving with 40,000+ members each so easily have the space.
Gold Coast for sure and Tasmania (1/2 in Lauceston and 1/2 in Hobart)
Alt-F4
15th May 2005, 20:41
I'm inclined to agree with that, the AFL would prefer a truly national competition and have sides from Tassie and the Northern Territory besides there's not a deep enough talent pool nationwide to field another 1 letalone 2 teams.
Possible relocations:
Collingwood to become the Tasmanian Inbreds.
Western Bulldogs to become the Northern Territory Dingoes.
Marklar_33
15th May 2005, 20:41
I personally dont think the AFL would situate more than 2 clubs in Perth and Adelaide, these clubs are well established now and 2 per city is plenty (except Melbourne, of course!)
A team in NZ would be a nightmare! Imagine the uproar of players getting traded and having to relocate to another country! I dont know how they work this in the NRL...
Tassie could possibly support a club in a few years time, we get crowds of 15,000-19,000 now for Hawthorn-StKilda matches, but with York Park upgrades, and a team of our own, we could get 22,000 every home game. Im still not sure that would be enough to survive, but Geelong have over the years...
I think the Gold Coast would be next, with a big population base, and a second Sydney side is definately viable, but will 'Vlad' put another team up there with the risk of boring fans haha. Telstra Stadium definately needs to be used more, its a fantastic venue, maybe just a little too skinny
Marklar_33
15th May 2005, 20:46
Gold Coast for sure and Tasmania (1/2 in Lauceston and 1/2 in Hobart)
Hobart can have the VFL side, cause thats all their facilities could hold. Why build an AFL quality stadium at York Park and not use it if we were to have an AFL team. Let them travel, its only 1 1/2 hours! :D
Ricketts
15th May 2005, 22:41
I reckon there will be 3 new teams.
Christchurch
Auckland
Wellington.
Cro_Pavo
15th May 2005, 23:22
2 New AFL Teams from either:
Tasmania - Hobart/Lanceston
Queensland - Gold Coast
Australian Capital Territory - Canberra (Current Club Relocated maybe the Kangaroos)
Northern Territory - Darwin
I think if the AFL was to bring in a New Zealand before all the states and territories in Australia were to get a team would be a disgrace and would be damaging to the league.
ALwaysNorth
15th May 2005, 23:24
Relocations to one or two out of Gold Coast , Canberra , West Sydney , Tasmania
Sweeteners - new\upgraded stadiums , priority draft picks from new home for 5\10 years , increased salary caps 5\10 years to cover relocation and retaining new players .
lukedarcy14
16th May 2005, 21:24
I think hobart they seem to have alot of talent down there
Alex_au
16th May 2005, 23:54
Peter Hudson was campaigning for a Tassie team in the AFL about 8 years ago. All I know is there was a lot of talk and not much action because our government didn't get behind it. Also our local state competition died a few times in the last 10 years.
carn tigez
31st May 2008, 13:27
Gold Coast and Sydney.eg West Sydney and Central Coast
Good guess :thumbsu:
PaintItRedAndBlack
31st May 2008, 14:01
Christchurch and Wellington? :eek: That would never work.