Dodges Ferry 13.9.87 - Kermandie 9.13.67 at Geeveston Oval
Channel 17.12.114 - Huonville Lions 14.7.91 at Snug Park

Old Scholars FA
DOSA 18.20.128 - University 10.9.69 at University Ground
Richmond 21.12.138 - OHA 13.12.90 at Richmond Oval
St Virgil's 17.12.114 - Hutchins 13.11.89 at Queenborough Oval

Oatlands District FA
Triabunna 14.18.102 - Swansea 7.5.47 at Triabunna Rec. Ground
Oatlands 18.12.120 - Mt Pleasant 7.19.61 at Oatlands Oval (N)

Intra-state Game
NTFL 18.13.121 - NTFA 11.6.72 Att: 2200 at Aurora Stadium

NEFU
Lilydale 37.18.240 - Ringarooma 5.3.33 at Ringarooma Rec. Ground
Scottsdale Crows 20.16.136 - Bridport 11.9.75 at Bridport Rec. Ground
Winnaleah 23.13.151 - St Helens 6.10.46 at Winnaleah Rec. Ground

NWFA
Sheffield 21.13.139 - Turners Beach 8.7.55 at Sheffield Rec. Ground
Spreyton 18.17.125 - West Ulverstone 10.8.68 at West Ulverstone Football Ground
East Ulverstone 20.15.135 - Wesley Vale 16.11.107 at Wesley Vale Oval
Motton Preston 17.11.113 - Forth 13.11.89 at Motton Rec. Ground

Darwin FA
Yeoman 41.25.271 - Cuprona 6.5.41 at Yeoman Rec. Ground
Myalla 17.12.114 - Ridgley 15.10.100 at Myalla Football Ground
Yolla 13.13.91 - South Burnie 6.8.44 at Wivenhoe Sports Ground
Queenstown 15.13.103 - Natone 16.6.102 at Natone Rec. Ground

Leven FA
Castra 18.15.123 - Latrobe Saints 9.5.59 at Castra Football Ground
Railton 18.22.130 - Mole Creek 6.1.37 at Railton Football Ground

Circular Head FA
Scotchtown 26.14.170 - Trowutta-City 7.8.50 at Scotchtown Rec. Ground
Forest-Stanley 13.4.82 - Redpa 11.15.81 at Redpa Rec. Ground

King Island FA
Grassy 25.26.176 - Currie 9.8.62 at Grassy Oval

WCL
22nd May 2005, 21:06
Huge % booster for the pies who seem to be looking better every week, North Hobart brought back to earth and the lions and bombers going down.

So far the leagus has established 4 pacesetters who can beat anyone on any given day.
New Norfolk
Clarence
North Hobart
Glenorchy

fifth spot will be taken up by Lauderdale and Kingborugh and they will just be making up the numbers.

good to see a healthy crowd at the intrastate game between the NTFL and NTFA, just think it was only 400 shy of the VFL V SANFL blockbuster, albeit that game was a corker.

Hopefully next year the NTFL and SFL can play each other again, I am sure if the scheduling is correct they could get in excess of 3,000.

Kingpin
23rd May 2005, 00:07
http://www.southernfootball.com.au/images/AFLSthTasmaniaToyota.jpg
SFL Premier League Review

New Norfolk v Hobart Lions at Boyer Oval
NN: 2.1 - 8.5 - 11.5 - 15.6.96
HB: 1.2 - 2.2 - 4.2 - 6.4.40
Goals: (NN) Thompson 5, Salter 3, Barwick 1, Oakley 1, Belcher 1, Martin 1, Wilton 1, Smith 1, Burdon 1.
Goals: (HB) Dodge 2, Davis 1, Nibbs 1, Lemm 1, Gray 1.
Reserves: New Norfolk 25.13.163 - Hobart Lions 5.6.36
Under 19: New Norfolk 15.17.107 - Hobart Lions 4.4.28

Glenorchy v Brighton at KGV Football Park
GL: 7.5 - 17.12 - 21.17 - 32.22.214
BR: 1-0 - 1.2 ---- 4.4 ---- 6.6.42
Goals: (GL) Webb 5, Millhouse 5, Green 5, Henley 5, Erends 4, Newett 2, Crouch 2, Street 1, Foale 1, Spencer 1, Glenn 1.
Goals: (BR) Stevenson 1, Ford 1, Rainbird 1, Blackwell 1, Delaney 1, Wakefield 1.
Reserves: Glenorchy 28.20.188 - Brighton 5.5.35
Under 19: Glenorchy defeated Brighton on forfeit.

North Hobart v Clarence at North Hobart Oval
CL: 5.2 - 8.5 - 12.7 - 23.10.148
NH: 2.1 - 2.3 - 8.3 - 15.4.94
Goals: (CL) Archer 5, Standen 4, Whitelaw 3, Read 2, Fielding 2, T.Geappen 2, Dutton 1, Leitch 1, Tamlyn 1, Beechey 1, McVilly 1.
Goals: (NH) Bolton 3, Clark 3, James 3, Wilkinson 2, Williams 2, Cumming 1, Veitch 1.
Reserves: Clarence 16.18.114 - North Hobart 7.9.51
Under 19: Clarence 12.20.92 - North Hobart 1.4.10

Lauderdale v Kingborough at Lauderdale Oval
KB: 5.3 - 8.9 - 14.11 - 20.17.137
LA: 4.1 - 8.5 - 10.7 - 15.8.98
Goals: (KB) Unsworth 6, Joyce 6, Godden 2, Philp 1, Lamprill 1, Parker 1, Harris 1, N.Steele 1, K.Steele 1.
Goals: (LA) Perkins 3, Stewart 3, Crossin 3, Lonergan 2, Matthews 1, Tatnell 1, Wade 1, Mead 1.
Reserves: Kingborough 17.21.123 - Lauderdale 2.4.16
Under 19: Kingborough 13.11.89 - Lauderdale 7.10.52

SFL Premier League Ladder - Round 7
New Norfolk...............................28 (181.53%)
Clarence...................................24 (207.02%)
North Hobart..............................20 (155.64%)
Glenorchy..................................16 (131.00%)
Kingborough...............................12 (97.64%)

SFL Premier League Leading Goal Kickers
D.Archer - Clarence..................................27 (5)
C. Joyce - Kingborough.............................26 (6)
S.Salter - New Norfolk..............................25 (3)
M.Thompson - New Norfolk........................20 (5)

Kingpin
23rd May 2005, 00:45
http://www.southernfootball.com.au/images/AFLSthTasmaniaToyota.jpg
SFL Regional League Review

Kermandie v Dodges Ferry at Geeveston Oval
DF: 5.0 - 7.2 - 10.6 - 13.9.87
KE: 1.4 - 3.9 - 6.12 - 9.13.67
Goals: (DF) Howe 4, Griffiths 2, Close 2, M.Wiggins 2, J.Wiggins 1, Cannon 1, Griffith 1.
Goals: (KE) Felmingham 2, Adams 2, Green 2, Pepper 1, Thompson 1, Coulson 1.
Reserves: Kermandie 7.10.52 - Dodges Ferry 7.9.51
Under 17: Dodges Ferry 29.7.181 - Kermandie 0.2.2

Sorell v Cygnet at Pembroke Park
SO: 3.2 - 8.5 - 10.7 - 15.11.101
CY: 7.4 - 8.6 - 9.12 - 10.12.72
Goals: (SO) Cross 3, Haw 2, Polley 2, Penwright 2, Taylor 2, Westbury 2, Barwin 1, Nossiter 1.
Goals: (CY) Darcy 4, Oakford 3, Clark 2, Coulson 1.
Reserves: Cygnet 15.8.98 - Sorell 3.4.22
Under 17: No Match Played.

Channel v Huonville Lions at Snug Park
CH: 2.3 - 5.5 - 11.9 - 17.12.114
HL: 3.3 - 5.3 - 11.6 - 14.7.91
Goals: (CH) Vaastra 5, Swards 3, Haas 2, Knott 2, Williams 2, Jarvis 2, Webster 1.
Goals: (HL) McGregor 7, Jones 3, Lovell 2, Collis 1, Bell 1.
Reserves: Huonville Lions 27.14.176 - Channel 3.5.23
Under 17: Huonville Lions 13.19.97 - Channel 3.3.21

Claremont v Lindisfarne at Abbotsfield Park
LI: 5.0 - 15.3 - 24.7 - 32.14.206
CM: 3.5 - 4.5 - 5.6 - 5.12.42
Goals: (LI) Proud 8, Sturzaker 6, S.Goodsell 4, Myers 4, White 2, Triffett 2, Menzie 1, Fleming 1, Bennett 1, Wighall 1, Cassidy 1, Leale 1.
Goals: (CM) B.Webster 1, Atkinson 1, S.Atkinson 1, Hiscutt 1, Watson 1.
Reserves: Lindisfarne 14.14.98 - Claremont 11.10.76
Under 17: Lindisfarne defeated Claremont on forfeit.

SFL Regional League Ladder - Round 8
Dodges Ferry...........................28 (150.48%)
Cygnet...................................28 (147.50%)
Sorell.....................................24 (113.17%)
Kermandie...............................20 (114.03%)
Lindisfarne..............................16 (114.77%)

SFL Regional League Leading Goal Kickers
M.Darcy (Cygnet)................................52 (4)
M.McGregor (Huonville Lions)..................24 (7)
J.Wiggins (Dodges Ferry).......................22 (1)
A.Haw (Sorell).....................................19 (2)
D.Clark (Cygnet)..................................19 (2)

wattsy
23rd May 2005, 01:18
Rodger Viney was correct in the record a couple of weeks ago that clubs are playing insipid football .
Note in the premier league nn 55 36 364 defeat the mighty hobart rabble 15 14 104 .
Brighton was a grand total return to the league of 13 goals in all grades.
what a load of crap about the 3 year plan at Brighton not in our life time will they be competive let alone get within a bulls roar of the finals which in a true league 8 teams justify a final four only.Why prolong the fith team a nother week.
Who in the name of hell is responsible for the carnage (wide spread slaughter of football)

Barge
23rd May 2005, 19:57
....... in a true league 8 teams justify a final four only.Why prolong the fith team a nother week.

Let me give you a little hint, Wattsy.

A final 4? A total of 4 finals matches.

A final 5? A total of 6 finals matches.

Multiply that by the 3 grades it becomes 12 games and 18 games respectively.

You watch Smackdown, Wattsy? As Theodore Long would say "It's all about the `Dolla Dolla Bills'!"

Money. That's all the Powers that Be care about nowadays.

Stiff sh*t to clubs that flounder in the meantime!

Kingpin
24th May 2005, 05:04
Head 2 Head - With the Master
Taken from the SFL Program on May 14th 2005 - by Kenny Anderson

In a series of football participants, personalities and fans in the outer, The Master spoke this week to former local football devotee and Hobart Tiger supporter Dave Batchelor.

Master I see you as a former devotee of the local football product. How devoted?
Batchelor Rain, hail or shine. I'd go to every game.

Master Which team did you follow and why?
Batchelor The old Tigers mate, Hobart forever. Why? well I used to follow Clarence, the Roos. But when I started work they were all one-eyed Clarence and that cured for all time to such an extent that I now hate the Roos with a passion.

Master When did you stop going?
Batchelor About (Mark) Browning's era. I think the last Grand Final I attended was 1990, when Hobart won. Since then I've hardly been to a game.

Master What's changed?
Batchelor Hard to pinpoint. Life moves on, you get other interests, you get involved with your family's interests. But really the Statewide League really started the break from tradition for me. You started to stop travelling.
Once when it was the TFL you could and would go to every game.
The travel was within the city area, and the longest trip was the best, to New Norfolk.
Once you stopped going every week, other things began to take over and then those interests seemed more important.

Master So you still follow the local league?
Batchelor Yeah but only look at the results.

Master What do you think?
Batchelor Well, the Hobart Lions, hello? What is that all about?
I know all the hoo haa about the formation of the league but I really reckon that has been one of the biggest downfalls for Hobart - their identity.
Have a look at 'em, Only just beat Brighton the other day 6 goals to 5 or something. Who'd really be interested in that?
If they made Kingborough the Seagulls and we'd be back where we started.
Sometimes you've got to go backwards to go forwards. I read that somewhere once, and it made a lot of sense, some of the wars were won like that you know.

Master So you're not happy with the way footy has gone?
Batchelor Not really. And am not that interested anymore.
Now whether that would have happened as I got older or not, who knows.
But the lack of interest from the community, the lack of crowds and the availability of AFL on the telly certainly doesn't inspire me, and obviously a lot of others to go.

Master So what should happen to make it work again?
Batchelor Too hard. Talk about something easier, like getting one of those hostages out of Iraq.

Master OK. So when you went it was considered the golden age of Tassie footy, what stood out to you?
Batchelor Unlike today, everyone supported a TFL side first and an AFL side second. The talk on Friday and Monday at work was about TFL footy.

Master Who were the stars?
Batchelor John Devine, John Bingley, Murray Dickson, Robbie Dykes, Chris Saunders and the Fox brothers.

Master Who were your favourite players, both for the Tigers and the opposition?
Batchelor Tigers were Paul Courto, Warren Cripps, Peter Gray, Ken Luxmoore, Wayne Petterd, Ricky Dolliver, Col Smith, Kerry Wilson, Garry Whittle, Robbie Claridge, Denis Bishop, Peter Ratcliffe, Greg Barnett, Greg Thirgood.
Then for opposition teams there were players like Micky Elliott, Graham Mackay, Don McLeod, "Noddy" Moles, Robin Norris, Terry Mayne, "Rocker" Wylie, "Supa" Linton, "Doola" King, John Mills, Ricky Graham, Des Graham.

Master Geez named a few there!!
Batchelor Well they WERE stars. They could've given the VFL (now AFL) a nudge. They certainly would play for a team like the Devils.
Most of 'em played State footy and had to play against the Vics (VFL now AFL), the South Australians and the West Australians when they played the rep games and carnivals.
Even if their team was being beaten, the individual clashes were worth the trip to watch them play.
You'd be keen to see if someone from your team could hold say someone like "Baldy" Fox or Micky Elliot for example.
Or you would hope they would stop one of their cheeky on-ballers in their tracks, but that didn't happen often.
Those rovers and centremen were damn hard to catch, watching Don McLeod kick it halfway up North Hobart was a treat in itself.
No one cared if it went straight to the opposition because it was worth two kicks anyway.
Today they are dragged for not keeping posession or like kicking it backwards to a team mate.
What a load of crap!

Master You mentioned the Fox boys - they ended up playing for the Tigers.
Batchelor Then were good blokes then though (laughs)

Master You mentioned the Carnivals, we had it in 1966, what was your memory of that?
Batchelor Going midweek with the school. Huge crowds, it seemed everyone in Hobart was there. And the old wooden grandstand at the bottom end goal - it burned down thank god - there was Bill Barwick sitting behind a school desk in amongst the crowd broadcasting. (Laughs) Unbelievable really.

Master Give me some of your favourite memories of these halcyon days.
Batchelor Going to the footy with mayes and rushing down to the boozer at the TCA Ground under the Powell Pascoe Payne Stand at half-time and getting a few sherberts under the belt.
The rivalry between the supporters - seeing the TIGERS win.

Master The supporter rivalry was something to go for...just the entertainment.
Batchelor Damn right. It was as if every club had a few who would give you as much as you wanted. They were quick witted, had an answer to absolutely everything and weren't afraid to let you know about it.
Some were a bit fiery too, so you kept your distance.

Master So where are those blokes now?
Batchelor Who knows. You see the crowds are that small those who want to give a bit of support or cheek stand out now.
In those days they were just a voice in the crowd, no one really knew for certain who they were and they were sort of "protected" by their anonymity.
Go to an AFL game, I went to a few last season in Melbourne, have a look at that, if you aren't preoccupied by the spectators.
Some of those blokes and women are as sharp and as funny as any comedian on telly. That's all gone here now.

Master What about some of the remarkable games?
Batchelor Hobart beating Clarence in the 1st Semi Final in 1973, Kerry Wilson took a mark in the goal square and kicked a goal in the dying minutes, maybe even seconds to put them into the Preliminary Final.
We eventually won the flag. And Peter Hudson's return at the TCA Ground in 1975.

Master What about the Grand Final in 1973, didn't that outweigh the 1st Semi?
Batchelor Yeah, but the shock revival in the 1st Semi stayed with me forever, I think.

Master Tell us about Hudson's return at the TCA Ground
Batchelor Made a big comeback in the 70's with Glenorchy (1975), it was like Elvis was in town.
There were people everywhere (5647-people). Huddo didn't move out of the goalsquare and kicked 13. Hobart got "donkey licked" but it was just a magnificant exhibition. No one could control him.

Master Funny Stories.
Batchelor Hobart were playing New Norfolk at North Hobart with about 30 seconds to go Paul O'Donaghue (NN) took a mark in the broadcast pocket about 30m out on the boundary line, he had to kick a point to draw or a goal to win.
My brother-in-law John and myself proceeded to give him heaps.
The result of the kick was out of bounds, the siren blew and Hobart won.
Paul was not a happy chappy. So he decided to pick up some grass and throw it at us and also run up to the fence and give us a spray. As we were leaving the ground Bill & Max Atwell were talking about the big disturbance at North Hobart. It was only about four of us on the way out - what a beat up.
Mind you, the Atwell's weren't too brave once they came out of the broadcast box at the best of times.
Then one wintry Saturday, it had been snowing at a very muddy TCA Ground, Ian Bremner (who was coaching North Hobart at the time) led his team onto the ground and made them all roll in the mud before the game had started, even the 19th & 20th man as well!! Can you believe that?

Master Did they win
Batchelor Can't remember, it was so long ago but we were all that shocked. It was all we talked about at the time - funny what stays in your mind from the past.
I remember (Graeme) "Stork" Courtney (North Hobart) changing his shorts in the goal square during a match once. All he had on was a jock strap, the women went wild.

Master What takes up your Saturdays now?
Batchelor Restoration work at the Tasmanian Transport Museum out near Glenorchy's ground - King George Fifth (KGV). I note the crowds to those games, gee there aren't too many going anymore.
Shame really, because the players probably put in more now than ever with training and preparation.

Master Will you ever go to local footy either to follow Hobart or even the Devils?
Batchelor I hope to get to a Devils game soon, I went to see Hobart play North Hobart a couple of years ago and it was very disappointing.
Fancy Hobart supporters occupying the Ryde Street Stand, and a crowd of about 400 people. Hobart in mainly yellow jumpers (better than the Lions colours) and North in stripes!!

Master What about AFL sides playing down here?
Batchelor A waste of Government money the pork barrelling involved in spending large sums of money at York Park, it's a disgrace.
With cheap airfares it is easier for people in the South to fly to Melbourne and then you can see whom you want.

Master I tell all you blokes I am but a very simple man and can't comprehend a lot of things with footy these days.
Well Dave, thanks for your thoughts on footy. As an avid Tiger man, the trip down memory lane was terrific.
Batchelor Thanks Master. Just the nostalgia for me has got my enthusiasm up. I might be at a game sooner than I thought, who knows?

____________________________________________________________ __

NOTE As a post-script to this interview being published in the SFL Program on May 14th, Hobart Lions Football Club president, Phillip Baker took the extraordinary step of threatening legal action against OzVox Media (SFL Program and Website publishers) over this interview.
Baker allegedly stated that he wanted Kenny Anderson (The Master) sacked from his voluntary position as an article writer because this interview was "undermining what the club is trying to achieve"
Baker was allegedly told by OzVox Media that Anderson would not be sacked, to which Baker then responded by threatening legal action if a full retraction and apology was not printed in the next program. :rolleyes:
This is on top of the former AMWU Leader and Lennon Government Cabinet staffer Baker's:
[] Numerous threats of legal action against the HFC Old Players & Officials Association in the last 6 months.

[] Threats to start up a rival Old Players Association with Lions players only, if the HFC OP & OA did not adopt the Lion emblem as its official emblem, as opposed to its current Tiger's head.

[] Issuing "How-To-Vote-Cards" to finacial members at the Clubs last AGM.

[] Wrongly accusing a female member of over 50 years of undermining the club via the internet (without apologising when proven wrong)

[] Using Union style tactics to shout down former premiership players and life members opposed to changing the clubs colours.

[] Stacking votes to affect change in the clubs colours and emblem.

[] Deliberately misleading members in matters pertaining to the club's constitution (which HAS been proven)

If this stupid arrogant c*nt hasn't already murdered the Hobart Football Club for his own ego-driven political gains, then they'd better sack him fast before he destroys any last hope of ever getting disaffected people back to the club. :mad:

Kingpin
24th May 2005, 19:32
http://www.themercury.news.com.au/images/masthead.gif
22nd May 2005 - Old-fashioned shoot-out, but Demons fire blanks
By David Stockdale.

Like an old-fashioned western, the second half of yesterday's SFL Premier League match of the day at North Hobart Oval was a shoot-out. North Hobart rattled on 13 goals straight and reigning premier Clarence 12.5.
Sadly, the Demons were firing blanks in the first half as the Roos blew them away in scoring 11.5 to 2.3 to all but assure themselves of victory by half-time.
The final score of 23.10 (148) to 15.4 (94) showed the reigning premier is still the side to beat.
Mind you, that boast will be sorely tested next Saturday when it plays unbeaten ladder leader New Norfolk at Boyer without its Devils and Mariners stars.
"We got off to a good start by denying North a lot of the ball and we had a nice spread of goalkickers who finished off the good work of our running players,'' Clarence coach Nick Davey said.
"We knew a good side like North would come back at us, but the fact we'd come off a few easy wins probably accounted for us not running the game out as well as we should have.''
Not unexpectedly, star full-forward Brad Dutton had a quiet day in his senior comeback after major knee surgery, with one goal.
But it mattered little because Daniel Archer pulled down some skyscrapers in kicking five goals, while Trent Standen chipped in with four and Trent Whitelaw three.
Whitelaw was outstanding on the ball and his finishing around goals capped off a best-afield performance.
Ben Ranger did a good job in subduing the influence of rival coach Brendon Bolton, while Tim Geappen showed his versatility by playing well in both attack and defence.
"Our lack of accountability in the first half was very disappointing and Clarence annihilated us to set up their win,'' Bolton said.
"And losing good players before the game like Kurt Heazlewood, Rhys Long and Josh Smith didn't help.''
Brent Williams shone on the ball, Aaron Veitch excelled with his clearances from the stoppages and Robbie Devine was strong in the clinches.
Kingborough replaced Lauderdale in the five, winning in comprehensive style 20.17 (137) to 15.8 (98). The Tigers dominated the second half and were well served up forward by their twin towers Sam Unsworth and Chris Joyce, who kicked six goals apiece.
A 6.4 to 1.0 second quarter enabled New Norfolk to break the back of Hobart at Boyer for a 56-point win. The Eagles got a lot of drive from running players Zac Clayton, Roger Belcher and David Maddox, while big Michael Thompson finished well up forward with five goals.Glenorchy treated Brighton like a punching bag in its percentage-boosting 172-point demolition of Brighton at KGV. The killer blows came in the second and last quarters when the Magpies slammed on 10.7 to 0.2 and 11.5 to 2.2 respectively.Dean Millhouse, Zac Webb, Nathan Henley and Tim Green each kicked five goals.

Kingpin
24th May 2005, 19:34
http://www.themercury.news.com.au/images/masthead.gif
22nd May 2005 - Sorell savours sweet taste of revenge
By James Bresnehan
IT was a long time coming, but Sorell savoured the sweet taste of revenge at home yesterday when it toppled league giant Cygnet in round eight of the Southern Regional League.
Cygnet, the league's triple reigning premier, went into yesterday's match unbeaten and with three huge wins over Sorell in their past three meetings.
But Sorell found the chink in Cygnet's armour and put Port to the sword, winning 15.11 (101) to 10.12 (72).
Sorell coach Anthony McConnon described it as "the win we had to have''. "When you've been beaten they way we have been by Cygnet over the last two years, a bit of doubt creeps into your mind,'' he said. "Today gives the guys confidence that they are good enough to take the next step.''
The match was played with all the passion and aggression of a final. If Sorell can replicate yesterday's form in September there could be a changing of the guard in the regional competition. Cygnet jumped out to a 30-point lead in the first quarter and it looked as though it was business as usual for the dominant Port.But the Eagles worked their way back into the contest to pull within a point at half-time.The arm wrestle went goal-for-goal in a spiteful third term, Sorell leading by a point at the last charge, setting the stage for a thriller.
However, Cygnet melted under the blow-torch applied by Sorell, the Eagles running away with the win thanks to goals from Peter Cross, Jason Harland, Tim Polley and Zane Nossiter in the final term.
"We've been working hard on the track for the past five weeks, so when we drew level at half-time I was confident then the boys would come home strong,'' McConnon said.
"It's like a fish that's got a bit of blood coming out of it: a shark will go for it and I think the boys sensed that and went for it.''
Dodges Ferry pulled level with Cygnet at the top of the ladder with a 20-point win over Kermandie at Shark Park.
Although Kermandie launched a comeback in the final quarter, Dodges went on to win 13.9 (87) to 9.13 (67).
The Sharks are now in the highest position they have been on the ladder since joining the regional competition two years ago. Only percentage stands between them and outright leadership.
Channel scored a much-needed win over the Huonville Lions at Snug, winning 17.14 (116) to 14.7 (91). Lions' coach Michael McGregor kicked seven goals.
Lindisfarne consolidated fifth spot with a 164-point thumping of hapless Claremont at Abbotsfield Park - 32.14 (206) to 5.12 (42).

Kingpin
25th May 2005, 13:20
25/5/05 - Cygnet 100 and still kicking
By Brett Stubbs
After winning a premiership once every three years on average, it is easy to see why Cygnet has a lot to celebrate for its centenary.
The club, which originally started as Lovett in the Huon association in 1906, has tasted senior success 34 times, including the past three Southern Regional League flags.
It will mark its 100th anniversary on Saturday at home against rival Kermandie and will wear special centenary jumpers, designed around the original Cygnet jumper but including a splash of teal to mark the current guernsey and a 100th anniversary motif.
New coach Anthony Cole said it was not hard to understand why the club has had such prolonged success.
"They have a real hunger for success and they are a close-knit community,'' Cole said.
"All the blokes there, except for me, are from the community but I have family ties to the community.''
In last year's premiership side, 18 of 23 came through the Cygnet mini-league ranks.
Life members will present special medallions to the players pre-match and the jumpers will be auctioned at a centenary ball later in the year.
But while Cole said he would speak to his players about the club's tradition, they must focus on the game.
"You have to be a little bit careful doing too much at this time of year,'' he said.
"We have got a ball later on at the local hall so you can't get carried away with just one game.''
The game takes on more importance after Cygnet slipped to second after losing its first game of the season last week to Sorell.
Kermandie coach Adam Henley said his side was just as excited about the event.
"And it has been proven they are beatable,'' Henley said of Cygnet's loss.
"Earlier in the year it didn't look that way.
"Hopefully this week we can take a bit of confidence from someone finally knocking them off and hopefully continue that trend.''
Cole, a former Clarence premiership player, said Cygnet has a great rivalry with Kermandie.
"It is not a hate rivalry, it is a respect rivalry,'' Cole said.
"Glenorchy and Clarence used to have a decent old stoush, but as much as Kermandie and Cygnet would fly the flag for each other, you don't see too much dirty stuff -- it is great respect.''

http://www.southernfootball.com.au/news/data/upimages/CFC_Centenary_Jumper.jpg
The Port's Centenary jumper.

TigerFan
27th May 2005, 21:05
Reserves: Clarence 16.18.114 - North Hobart 7.9.51

I umpired that, not much of a game. :)

hecks99
28th May 2005, 11:40
How competitive would Cygnet be in the premier league?

Who would win between Brighton and Claremont?

Kingpin
28th May 2005, 16:21
How competitive would Cygnet be in the premier league?

Who would win between Brighton and Claremont?

Cygnet seniors would more than likely be very competitive, they would be down the bottom in the Reserves, and probably wouldn't even be able to field a Colts side.

Brighton v Claremont? On today's result I'd have to say Brighton, but generally the 'Mont.