View Full Version : asthecrowflys has destroyed this site!!!!!!!
outback jack
28 May 2005, 13:48
where has everyone gone????????????????? It can be officially said this site is dead.
And its not as if theres alot at asthecrowflys.com either, we have two pis$ weak forums now. Not good.
Jack, just read up on the process of natural selection, asthecrowsfly will get stronger and this board is going to die, deal with it!
outback jack
28 May 2005, 18:33
Jack, just read up on the process of natural selection, asthecrowsfly will get stronger and this board is going to die, deal with it!
thats not a very good attitude to have.
The thing is asthecrowsfly doesnt have a heap of ppl either. Overall ppl have been lost.
maccas_no1
28 May 2005, 19:12
I have been wondering this week where most people have gone, this board is getting like the Port Board, I swear I seen some tumble weed rolling through here just before :p
macca23
28 May 2005, 20:01
where has everyone gone????????????????? It can be officially said this site is dead.
And its not as if theres alot at asthecrowflys.com either, we have two pis$ weak forums now. Not good.
Jack, you're right of course.
The creation of asthecrowsfly as an information site was a good idea. The addition of another forum was unnecessary as all it did was create another version of this forum, but an insular one which doesn't provide the inter-action with supporters of other clubs that I enjoy.
There has to have been a net leakage of posters because all we have left is, as you say, 2 p*ss weak forums.
Sad really, because previously this site was easily the busiest and most interesting club based forum.
theorangeapple
28 May 2005, 20:18
We went through the same thing last year with EFH. We had quite a busy bf team board, the vast majority of posters left to EFH.Our bigfooty board is pretty poor now but there are advantages in having an independant club site.
EFH is really busy, our bigfooty team board is not. Natural selection.
Stiffy_18
28 May 2005, 20:46
It has been quite on both boards and I am not sure why. We don't get as much stuff posted here but the activity on asthecrowsfly is even somewhat lower.
Its like people got sucked into a vacuum and aren't posting anywhere :confused:
Mad Dog, Noddy, macca23, Wayne's-World, arrowman, dyertribe and some others are hardly around anymore and they don't post a hell of a lot on the other forum either.
Are we running out of things to discuss??????:confused: Do we have an influx on these boards when we travel crap and people need to get some things of their chest??????
Maybe we just need to generate more topics for discussion or come of with something that actually creates debate because its awfully quiet on both boards.
A couple of years ago, I would log off BigFooty on midnight and come back around 1pm the following day and I swear there would have been unread threads that spill onto the second page of the forum. Nowdays, you don't come on for a day and you are lucky if there is half a dozen threads with new posts in them. What the hell is going on :confused:
outback jack
28 May 2005, 21:19
definitely is the new ppl like jack that are missing havent heard from ppl like bigman who started alot of threads, jericho rox, just maybe lately. Theres a tone of them. Time for some new ppl to sign up too theres always 2 or 3 guests viewing the thread each time. Sign up and post whoever you are>..........!
McLeod23
28 May 2005, 21:33
Considering the forum on ATCF is dead as well, maybe it could become simply a link to the this forum?
That way, ATCF would still have all the extra trimmings, but we could all post on this one forum, and retain the involvement of other non-Crow supporters.
Ford Fairlane
28 May 2005, 21:39
Like Stiffy said when things are going well there's not much to do except backslap and that gets boring.
Losing makes it interesting but it's ultimately depressing.
There seems to be quite a bit of the juvenile "Your team is crap, X > Y" stuff happening on BF too, which is off putting. I couldn't believe some people used Nathan Brown's broken leg as an excuse to bag him. Disgraceful.
The sensible posters go a bit quiet which is a shame. After all I found out that some crows supporters are almost human! ;)
Kristof
29 May 2005, 00:57
I think the idea bojt utilising ATCF as a information and article base - linking to articles, having independent reports on things - is good. I don't really check out the forums there thatr much because they are so insular and supporter focussed. I like the opposition supporters (and occasional trolls) coming in and stirring things up.
cro_Magnum
29 May 2005, 01:06
Having joined BF recently but having looked at it for soem time before, the posts are definitely fewer and less interesting.
i only have time to post occasionally but definitely don't have the free time to do 2 boards so have'nt joined the other.
we also need controversy and different opinions eg. Jack and even posters from other boards, otherwise everyone just agrees with each other. An opinion can't be wrong, just stupid, but thats what makes the world go round.
Bockchoy67
29 May 2005, 01:07
It has been quite on both boards and I am not sure why. We don't get as much stuff posted here but the activity on asthecrowsfly is even somewhat lower.
Its like people got sucked into a vacuum and aren't posting anywhere.
Mad Dog, Noddy, macca23, Wayne's-World, arrowman, dyertribe and some others are hardly around anymore and they don't post a hell of a lot on the other forum either.
Are we running out of things to discuss??????:confused: Do we have an influx on these boards when we travel crap and people need to get some things of their chest??????
Maybe we just need to generate more topics for discussion or come of with something that actually creates debate because its awfully quiet on both boards.
A couple of years ago, I would log off BigFooty on midnight and come back around 1pm the following day and I swear there would have been unread threads that spill onto the second page of the forum. Nowdays, you don't come on for a day and you are lucky if there is half a dozen threads with new posts in them. What the hell is going on.
Too true mate.
I don't think ATCF is the problem. It seems that whenever we are losing, there's more things to debate about and argue over.
Though I must admit its a little odd that we were getting more threads during the off-season than we are now. :eek:
It also seems that we haven't created a seriously good debate for a few months. Someone should pull their finger out and bag all of us. At least someone will reply. :p
macca23
29 May 2005, 01:11
Its like people got sucked into a vacuum and aren't posting anywhere :confused:
A couple of years ago, I would log off BigFooty on midnight and come back around 1pm the following day and I swear there would have been unread threads that spill onto the second page of the forum. Nowdays, you don't come on for a day and you are lucky if there is half a dozen threads with new posts in them. What the hell is going on :confused:
Stiffy, just say there are 20 regular posters on a board. You will have a certain level of interaction with the other 19 people plus visitors from other boards.
When you split that into 2 groups of 10 on different boards you don't split the posting activity into 2. Each board's posters now only have 9 posters to respond on half the number of topics and gradually each board disappears up its own funnel because its share of the posters don't see much to respond to.
I prefer this board and I still have been logging on, but barely responding due to the number of worthwhile topics drying up.
It still has a faint heart-beat and I hope it survives as a lively board otherwise I won't be wasting my time.
Macca19
29 May 2005, 01:11
Theres no reason why both boards cant end up having a lot of discussion. ThePowerFromPort is quite popular and theres plenty of posts there. The Port board has the 5th most posts of any team board here and generally theres 1 or 2 days a week that are a bit quiet.
Some people will only post on one site, some will post on both, over time you will find both boards pick up quite a bit.
Macca19
29 May 2005, 01:15
It also seems that we haven't created a seriously good debate for a few months. Someone should pull their finger out and bag all of us. At least someone will reply. :p
The Crows suck, youre all f**ked, youre a franchise with no history, no heart, Bickley is a thug pr*ck, youre supporters are pathetic, your cheer squad is non existant, Hentschels crap, Riccuitos overrated, Watts is a dud and Toby Thurstans is still better than Kenny Mcgregor.
Will that work? :D
macca23
29 May 2005, 01:17
The Crows suck, youre all f**ked, youre a franchise with no history, no heart, Bickley is a thug pr*ck, youre supporters are pathetic, your cheer squad is non existant, Hentschels crap, Riccuitos overrated, Watts is a dud and Toby Thurstans is still better than Kenny Mcgregor.
Geez that was good. :D
I'm feeling better already!! ;)
Stiffy_18
29 May 2005, 01:23
Stiffy, just say there are 20 regular posters on a board. You will have a certain level of interaction with the other 19 people plus visitors from other boards.
When you split that into 2 groups of 10 on different boards you don't split the posting activity into 2. Each board's posters now only have 9 posters to respond on half the number of topics and gradually each board disappears up its own funnel because its share of the posters don't see much to respond to.
I prefer this board and I still have been logging on, but barely responding due to the number of worthwhile topics drying up.
It still has a faint heart-beat and I hope it survives as a lively board otherwise I won't be wasting my time.
Macca, that would be true if the other board is remotely active but it isn't. On the other board you can log out now and check back in 48 hours and you might find a total of 10 posts on all the forums. I don't think its because of the other board simply because people don't post there either. There are people who just aren't posting as much as we are used to. I'll put my hand up for this simply because 1) there isn't a hell of a lot to talk about and 2) things are pretty hectic at work.
A lot of older poster can back me up on this but back in the old days, around the time I joined we had topics left right and center. Now we are struggling and the only things that seem to be discussed are the after game thoughts and votes. Nothing else.
This board has been getting quieter in the last 6 months but in the last week or so its ridicilously quiet.
In all honesty, what can we discuss that hasn't been discussed already??????:confused: Have you got topics on your mind that we could discuss.
Lets start something because this quietness gives me the ********s:mad:
Stiffy_18
29 May 2005, 01:24
:D
dyertribe
29 May 2005, 01:40
Pork Powder are chokers ... established in 1997 not 1788 when captain cook landed :rolleyes: ... choke-o is a hack who cannot coach ... Brown/Hall/Riewoldt/Richo/Perrie/Milne > Tredrea ... all your supporters are on the dole ... teal is the new magenta ... you stabbed the SANFL in the back ... Max Basheer Reserve > Alberton Oval.
Deuce? :p
Bockchoy67
29 May 2005, 01:42
Thanks mate. :D
outback jack
29 May 2005, 01:43
Macca, that would be true if the other board is remotely active but it isn't. On the other board you can log out now and check back in 48 hours and you might find a total of 10 posts on all the forums. I don't think its because of the other board simply because people don't post there either. There are people who just aren't posting as much as we are used to. I'll put my hand up for this simply because 1) there isn't a hell of a lot to talk about and 2) things are pretty hectic at work.
A lot of older poster can back me up on this but back in the old days, around the time I joined we had topics left right and center. Now we are struggling and the only things that seem to be discussed are the after game thoughts and votes. Nothing else.
This board has been getting quieter in the last 6 months but in the last week or so its ridicilously quiet.
In all honesty, what can we discuss that hasn't been discussed already??????:confused: Have you got topics on your mind that we could discuss.
are you having fun moderating these boards<? Must be tough work i'd imagine ;)
You used to start threads as well, so you have some blame in this. Dont see you writing as much crap either recently. If you write more jack can have a go at it and get things going. James fantasia is always a good start....
and seriously it is the smaller posters that have dropped off as well as a couple of regulars. However its mainly the newer ppl that have stopped. The new website is mainly to do with it as it has taken away a couple that posted a lot like arrowman hence there isn’t as much argument and then not as many ppl can come in with their comments on a issue. Also, the main topics that ppl are worried about like NC’s appointment or the playing list have either pasted or our form means it cant really criticised. Eitherway there should be plenty of things to post about in a footy season…
Bockchoy67
29 May 2005, 01:49
Its obvious that lately there has been a complete lack of exciting threads and topics.
The Waters one was okay but other than that there's seriously been nothing since the "What is [someone] thinking right now" which involved images.
People just have to use their imaginations rather than coming out with a "What's happened to Jack?" or "That bloady Birdman" or "Perrie giving me the heebie jeebies" or "Thommo OmG FuTUre cAPTain!!!!1111" threads...
dyertribe
29 May 2005, 01:59
People just have to use their imaginations rather than coming out with a "What's happened to Jack?" or "That bloady Birdman" or "Perrie giving me the heebie jeebies" or "Thommo OmG FuTUre cAPTain!!!!1111" threads
I may have to start work on an Eddie McGuire Porky Pig to compliment my Leigh Matthews Elmer Fudd... ;)
Bockchoy67
29 May 2005, 02:01
I may have to start work on an Eddie McGuire Porky Pig to compliment my Leigh Matthews Elmer Fudd... ;)
:D
I loved that thing. :D
Bullshirt.
There have been plenty of good threads started on this board lately.
Here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=172653) is one.
And another (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=173260).
But wait there's more (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=173394).
However I am getting a tad tired of doing your dirty work. Pretty bad when you have to start your own threads just so you can do a bit of trolling. :mad:
I think that this site has been destroyed by all of the main posters. They have their little ego stroking group where they kiss each others ass' and only really reply to each others posts. If you want to feel apart of this forum then you have to do alot of ass kissing and post at least 10 posts per day doing it.
There is a very warm welcome when you join but as soon as you show a difference of opinion it's like you've been black listed. After that, putting any effort into your posts just seems like a waste of time, time that many people don't have to be sitting on the internet.
I've noticed the little jokes that the "it" group have. Like the whole "meh" thing and "nail.hammer.head".
My advice is that if you aint up with this school girl lingo, don't even bother trying.
Kristof
29 May 2005, 10:18
I think that this site has been destroyed by all of the main posters. They have their little ego stroking group where they kiss each others ass' and only really reply to each others posts. I've noticed the little jokes that the "it" group have. Like the whole "meh" thing and "nail.hammer.head". My advice is that if you aint up with this school girl lingo, don't even bother trying.
Sheesh - dude, relax. I don't get why anyone would get so offended ...
Site has been destroyed? It's not the parthenon, mate - it IS its posters, good and bad.
These are public forums, some folks are going to give more time and whatever to it. People who see each other a lot on the baord are going to get a better sense of each other's opinions - they end up just knowing each other a bit better, and will be more familiar.
I hardly ever post here, but I've never noticed anyone being overly rude to each other, and certainly no-one's been rude to me. Except that ar$eclown Crow-mosome, but that's a different story.
Relax, mate. Post - I'll read your stuff. I like lurking here and seeing what folks say.
Wayne's-World
29 May 2005, 10:21
I concur completely - view regularly but participate less frequently for several reasons:
1. The thread holds no interest
2. The board thanks to several posters has become more like the main board and not a serious discussion board.
3. We're in a period where there's very little contraversy
I also have also visited this board to get info that is not available to mainstream media - sadly we're getting very little of that simply words of "wisdom" from Outback Jack, Pext, and co
If you want to lose this board as a serious discussion board then moderators continue to allow this board to degenerate into a clone of the main board.
I have also noticed in particular the loss of a number of our female posters???
Is this connected with my comment above?
Wayne's-World
29 May 2005, 10:27
I think that this site has been destroyed by all of the main posters. They have their little ego stroking group where they kiss each others ass' and only really reply to each others posts. If you want to feel apart of this forum then you have to do alot of ass kissing and post at least 10 posts per day doing it.
There is a very warm welcome when you join but as soon as you show a difference of opinion it's like you've been black listed. After that, putting any effort into your posts just seems like a waste of time, time that many people don't have to be sitting on the internet.
I've noticed the little jokes that the "it" group have. Like the whole "meh" thing and "nail.hammer.head".
My advice is that if you aint up with this school girl lingo, don't even bother trying.
That could not be further from the truth - in fact most would like to converse with a wider array of posters - but as I have already posted if the post is crap Im not going to bother responding
But I welcome a difference of opinion if there is a solid argument behind comments ;)
Pork Powder are chokers ... established in 1997 not 1788 when captain cook landed :rolleyes: ... choke-o is a hack who cannot coach ... Brown/Hall/Riewoldt/Richo/Perrie/Milne > Tredrea ... all your supporters are on the dole ... teal is the new magenta ... you stabbed the SANFL in the back ... Max Basheer Reserve > Alberton Oval.
Deuce? :p
Why dyertribe don't tell me you have finally lifted the eyes. :D
Have not posted as much as i use to for several reasons but i wont bore you with them, have tried to even out my time to both this board & ATCF but to be honest for some strange reason the quality/quantity of discussion has dropped off especially on BF.
I am one who believes in as much freedom of banter as possible as long as it doesn't become personal & downright excessive abuse & that the use of the "BAN" should only be delivered in the most extreme of cases.
That's why posters like our mate Jack & Knobby etc should be tolerated as they do add to the general amusement at times like these when traffic becomes pedestrian.
In any case the way the Port board have been up & down like a bloody yo-yo lately (i guess in sympathy of their club :) ) then maybe they could be ripe for a take-over bid & we can absorb what's left of them into our own fold. :cool:
outback jack
29 May 2005, 12:25
That could not be further from the truth - in fact most would like to converse with a wider array of posters - but as I have already posted if the post is crap Im not going to bother responding
But I welcome a difference of opinion if there is a solid argument behind comments ;)
he raises a very good point. Lets not delude yourself ok. When jack joined you yourself was doing all the ass kissing in the world. That’s the truth isn’t it. The board should probably value the opinion of new posters more as lots of ppl make some posts and then dont stay.
Wayne's-World
29 May 2005, 12:39
he raises a very good point. Lets not delude yourself ok. When jack joined you yourself was doing all the ass kissing in the world. That’s the truth isn’t it. The board should probably value the opinion of new posters more as lots of ppl make some posts and then dont stay.
:rolleyes: And that comment reflects your ability to absorb and rationalise POV - could not be further from the truth - I call a spade a spade!
cro_Magnum
29 May 2005, 12:40
meh/nail/hammer/head
Always wanted to say that. Am I "in" now?
Also might be the last time anyone uses these words
outback jack
29 May 2005, 13:04
:rolleyes: And that comment reflects your ability to absorb and rationalise POV - could not be further from the truth - I call a spade a spade!
we know thats not the truth. You did your bit of sucking up a fair bit. I did quite the opposite so i dont know how you can say that. I am perfectly reasonable and rational when i want to be, i think you take what i say too seriously at times. If you try and be rational you get shot down half the time anyway, so i choose to be moronic instead. Blaming jack for the downfall of the board is a bit rich too. It is definitely the fact that there was a small grp of posters some of which have left and consequently there are none outside this grp confident enough to start threads etc, also many have been lost too.
Wayne's-World
29 May 2005, 13:23
we know thats not the truth. You did your bit of sucking up a fair bit. I did quite the opposite so i dont know how you can say that. I am perfectly reasonable and rational when i want to be, i think you take what i say too seriously at times. If you try and be rational you get shot down half the time anyway, so i choose to be moronic instead. Blaming jack for the downfall of the board is a bit rich too. It is definitely the fact that there was a small grp of posters some of which have left and consequently there are none outside this grp confident enough to start threads etc, also many have been lost too.
Give me one example - If I agree with a POV Iam not (unlike you) going to disagree for the sake of a debate.
You on the other hand on most occasions are stirring the pot for a reaction.
Just my opinion but BF offers an opportunity to discuss and debate with not only Crows supporters but other club supporters - really not sure what ATCF offers which is superior to what we had b4 but I know it lacks the interaction with other clubs ( I welcome port supporters and Orangepeoples comments as well as others)
I certainly agree that post and thread numbers have been down across both boards.
I don't think this has anything to do with the creation of ATCF, because if people wanted to really express their ideas online, they'd find a way and post on at least one of the forums.
But new material has been down all round (probably due to our reasonable form), and I'm not sure that can be entirely blamed on ATCF.
And I think there is certainly some truth to crowie's assertions, though not quite to that extent. However, there is definitely more commentary and discussion around the more recognised posters, a lot of agreeing on ideas and as mentioned, mutual ego stroking.
To be honest, this doesn't particularly trouble me, it's only natural this will occur. It happens in real life situations and it happens on internet forums.
But I can understand though why some people can't be bothered posting.
Crow-mosone
29 May 2005, 20:39
I hardly ever post here, but I've never noticed anyone being overly rude to each other, and certainly no-one's been rude to me. Except that ar$eclown Crow-mosome, but that's a different story.
give it a rest, I tells you, your sister was well up for it :p
dyertribe
29 May 2005, 20:44
Odd sentiment from those making the strongest 'ego stroking' and 'mutual agreeance' calls.
Bemoaning this supposed lack of differing opinions but by the same token regularly melting those who hold them?
Wayne's-World
29 May 2005, 20:46
Odd sentiment from those making the strongest 'ego stroking' and 'mutual agreeance' calls.
Bemoaning this supposed lack of differing opinions but by the same token regularly melting those who hold them?
Name names
Mad Dog
29 May 2005, 20:47
Well for my part.....I still post as much as I can on both boards........ I have been fairly quiet the last couple of weeks only because I have been flat chat at work and home. End of financial year for me means I've got very little time to spare.......but I still get on as much as I can. I certainly intend supporting ATCF as much as I can, but like Macca23, I enjoy the diversity of this board and the opportunity to slag losers from other clubs and other walks of life, as well as some of our own .... ;) ..... :D ....so I definately wont be slowing down on this board.
I think the reason for the quietness lately can be attributed to EOFY, Uni assignments due, some threads being done over and over, the Paps not being as smartypantsy as last year, and our relative success.....but I certainly encourage everyone to fire up and get stuck in..!
itd be kinda ironic to say "nail. hammer. head"
anyhow youre not imagining things
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=144637
SpringChoke
29 May 2005, 21:22
I have also dropped off due to work commitments and building a house.
Also, it does bore me to tears that some on here label you as anti-crows, fickle etc if you level any sort of criticism towards the AFC. IMO we still have major problems with our list that are being hidden by a dream run with minimal injuries.
Crow-mosone
29 May 2005, 21:29
I think the reason for the quietness lately can be attributed to EOFY, Uni assignments due, some threads being done over and over, the Paps not being as smartypantsy as last year, and our relative success.....but I certainly encourage everyone to fire up and get stuck in..!
right on all counts
macca23
29 May 2005, 21:32
IMO we still have major problems with our list that are being hidden by a dream run with minimal injuries.
Fair point there Springy.
Apart from an obvious weakness up forward, our best 22 is a pretty good 22.
Because we have had a pretty good run with injury, our depth or lack of depth hasn't been tested yet - long may that be the case. :)
A few injuries to key players would find us out a bit against the better sides IMO.
Whether that happens or not we all must be pleased with one aspect of the Crows game - effort.
Craigy has got them playing very honest footy.
crows98
29 May 2005, 23:51
Considering every single post from Jack is a negative slap in the face to the football club or the AFL in general, no one is spared from a Jackisum or it’s just a smart-ass comment, maybe if you took time to have a bit of common sense to your posts jack and stoped trying to create some manufactured conflict posters can get back to discussing football.
Maybe some posters just have had enough and that’s why they are not posting any more.
Ford Fairlane
30 May 2005, 00:04
I can tell you a near 20 goal loss livens things up a bit!
outback jack
30 May 2005, 00:32
Considering every single post from Jack is a negative slap in the face to the football club or the AFL in general, no one is spared from a Jackisum or it’s just a smart-ass comment, maybe if you took time to have a bit of common sense to your posts jack and stoped trying to create some manufactured conflict posters can get back to discussing football.
Maybe some posters just have had enough and that’s why they are not posting any more.
Oh lordy, another surprising post. :cool: You have a nice little trend going thats for sure. I'm not sure if you actually think jack cares. And yes hate is unhealthy, learn to love....
I have not posted in months. Reasons being:-
1. Too busy.
2. Other sites I talk at (Gridiron).
3. During the season I go to the games, don't need to hear how players are doing, I watch them with my own eyes.
4. Can't be bothered fighting with anyone.
5. Drafts and Trading is all that really interests me.
6. I have a life away from the computer.
7. How many times can u discuss a POV or need?
8. Researching for my FFL drafts which start soon.
See there are lots of reasons why posters such as myself drop off this board for extended periods of time. Boards the whole web over are struggling for posters. The world wide wait is losing its appeal IMO.
Kristof
30 May 2005, 01:43
I have not posted in months. Reasons being:-
1. Too busy.
5. Drafts and Trading is all that really interests me.
6. I have a life away from the computer.
7. How many times can u discuss a POV or need?
8. Researching for my FFL drafts which start soon.
See there are lots of reasons why posters such as myself drop off this board for extended periods of time. Boards the whole web over are struggling for posters. The world wide wait is losing its appeal IMO.
Well, hopefully 1 and 6y are the same thing, but I'm similar. I like reading, but there's only so much you can talk about when it's not drafting or trading time.
How can we throw around our opinions for improving our team when we can't actually improve our team?
Year round trading, people ... do it for Bigfooty ...
Oh, and world wide wait? Get broadband and join 2004.
I think that this site has been destroyed by all of the main posters. They have their little ego stroking group where they kiss each others ass' and only really reply to each others posts. If you want to feel apart of this forum then you have to do alot of ass kissing and post at least 10 posts per day doing it. I wouldnt go that far, but there are people who have formed ''relationships etc'' by posting here and like a marriage there are forms of shorthand that others may not understand but those ''in the group'' do. This will change over time.
There is a very warm welcome when you join but as soon as you show a difference of opinion it's like you've been black listed. After that, putting any effort into your posts just seems like a waste of time, time that many people don't have to be sitting on the internet.Why do you feel as if you have been blacklisted? All that is asked is if you have a difference of opinion you give some credence to your argument..apart from ''coz jack says''
Also, it does bore me to tears that some on here label you as anti-crows, fickle etc if you level any sort of criticism towards the AFC. IMO we still have major problems with our list that are being hidden by a dream run with minimal injuries.You are allowed your opinion but when someine rebuts your argument , its when the original poster gets defensive that causes some issues I feel.
eg if I say Perrie hears footsteps I get a million''but he presents'' I really dont give a flying f*ck what he presents he is soft as butter. But if someone refutes that then I have 2 choices. I can stick by my guns and attack the other poster for their lack of knowledge or I can accept that the other person doesnt agree with my POV and move on..but link that thread for the day I am proved right :D
And jack you are a negative tosser and I read the shyte from your typewriter and I click Favourites and head to ATCF.But FFS your there as well :o
As a very infrequent visitor, I've never heard of the As The Crow Flies site. May I have a link please?
I used to be a regular contributor here, but I've developed other interests, and most of my internet time's devoted to those interests. Plus, I stopped visiting because there were some very strange posts, way back when, which didn't interest me at all. It looks like those people aren't here any more, so maybe I might visit more frequently from now on.
Mad Dog
30 May 2005, 10:26
Gotta say ..... although a small fraction of what Jack says is entertaining....the majority might seem negative and confronting to some people. Have you ever asked Jack if the thought had crossed his mind that people might have dropped off for that reason ??
Wood_Duck
30 May 2005, 10:46
I tend to agree with Crowie a bit on this one. I think at times it is quite difficult for some of the newer posters to develop any sort of meaningful conversation. There are many good posts made by some of the less frequent posters that get very little attention just because of the low profile of the poster. The board does seem to be dominated by a dozen or so posters that converse mainly with each other. I think the other issue that has turned people away are some of the tools that just dont get it. I have seen on many occassions some fairly thought provoking posts get totally slagged by people that were too stupid to get the point. Thirdly no-one is very confident to start threads about delisting certain players anymore because they are just as likely to come out the following week and play a blinder, eg. Bock and Skipworth.
Mad Dog
30 May 2005, 10:58
I tend to agree with Crowie a bit on this one. I think at times it is quite difficult for some of the newer posters to develop any sort of meaningful conversation. There are many good posts made by some of the less frequent posters that get very little attention just because of the low profile of the poster. The board does seem to be dominated by a dozen or so posters that converse mainly with each other..
There is no substitute for quality WD......good posts will always attract a response no matter who they're from..... :)
Thirdly no-one is very confident to start threads about delisting certain players anymore because they are just as likely to come out the following week and play a blinder, eg. Bock and Skipworth.
confidence in your own conviction you must have.....fear criticism you should not.... :D
arrowman
30 May 2005, 13:20
I think there's not doubt that the volume has dropped off on both sites lately, but as others have noted there's probably a range of reasons for that. This includes a split of posters between the sites, not doubt, but it's too early to judge the consequences of that. And it must be said, like it or not, that bad news and poor results tend to generate more discussion; let's be thankful, perhaps, that the Crows boards aren't all that active right now ;)
It's only just over 3 weeks since ATCF launched so I think it's too early to draw conclusions.
For starters, ATCF could attract a range of people who have never heard of BF, or who for whatever reason don't want to post on BF. We can hope that the two sites will expand our "poster population".
I have to agree that ATCF has less interaction from non-Crows people, but again it is early days.
Crow54: www.asthecrowsfly.com
Thanks Arrowman.
That explains why I got something different when I copied the link from the first page of this thread. (asthecrowflys.com) :rolleyes:
dA Crow
30 May 2005, 16:06
We could always ask the mods to let Bulldogmike back onto the Crows board; he is always good value for moronic comments which so richly deserve to be hammered into place.
outback jack
30 May 2005, 17:15
Gotta say ..... although a small fraction of what Jack says is entertaining....the majority might seem negative and confronting to some people. Have you ever asked Jack if the thought had crossed his mind that people might have dropped off for that reason ??
You are a slight jack hater too, well not that long ago you were anyway, but how can you honestly blame jack for the board. It is as has been said that there is a small grp which you are part of, that does not include others. This is one of the reasons. The major reason is i feel an good deal of the posters are students like dyertribe and co so and they have a busy time of yr atm. And really i simply argue or take the pis$ out of most posters that take themselves way too seriously, which there are quite a few unfortunately. To be honest i dont mind getting a little abuse back makes it slightly more fun. The board seems to have a lot more ppl now anyway.
Jack, if I was to come on here and take joy by getting stuck into the Crows everytime you lose (apart from Showdowns that is), than I hope Kane, Dave or Dyertribe would give me a holiday from this board.
Unfortunately you don't seem to get that.
Markthirtytwo
30 May 2005, 18:28
I've just come back after a couple of busy weeks. Things must be slow if some a dropping off. Well I'm back to give some jack stick. :)
Thats my two jacks worth.
outback jack
30 May 2005, 20:46
Jack, if I was to come on here and take joy by getting stuck into the Crows everytime you lose (apart from Showdowns that is), than I hope Kane, Dave or Dyertribe would give me a holiday from this board.
Unfortunately you don't seem to get that.
what are you talking about?
You seem to have a need to rub it into Port every single chance you get. Ease it up a bit.
Mad Dog
31 May 2005, 10:45
As I've said before - hate is a very strong and inappropriate word - Jack shouldn't flatter himself to think that his games could so move me to that kind of emotion.
And BTW...tell Jack I don't think I exclude anyone.....I apologise if I do.....but I'm always up for a chat with anyone. I think he may be under this misconception for 2 reasons.
1).....new people to the boards will sometimes start threads that have been done recently....and some may feel they have nothing more to offer on the subject.
2).....time breeds familiarity with longer term posters.....and most of them have memories like elephants.. :D .....so this will occasionally result in a bit more banter than usual.....ie Macca23's obsession with Stiffy's left testicle....Old farts club membership, etc....thats just the way it is....even Jack has experienced those changes.....the longer he has been here I think the more people realise that he isn't really a moronic troll, but just a very naughty boy.
Tell Jack to get over it and focus on the footy......I suggest the "FIFO" approach....it's generally the easiest.
;)