View Full Version : Scotch v Haileybury. The decider

tubs21
28th May 2005, 20:53
In round 9, early term 3, the decider for the premiership will be played between the 2 strongest teams. The haileybury almost unstoppable force, which includes as many scholarship players you could poke a stick at against the couregous scotch side, a team which will need all their skill and heart to beat haileybury. this match will no doubt be an awsome constest to see. the scotch team will hopefully be at its strongest, as star player/ potential first round draftee cam rob-smith is due to be back next week, however along the grape vine, due to displince reasons will be sitting out against wesley next week. the kid who has beutiful skill on foot, and hand as well as being able pluck the ball from the air whenever he wants will no doubt be a massive strenght to the side. cam combined with other standout players including "danger man" ainger, smitty, dead eye ********, hard nut peters, etc. will prove to be a very capable oposition against the strnght of the haileybury side. What are your thoughts, does scotch have a chance?

trapper16
28th May 2005, 21:03
i heard bout the cam robo kid, is he really that good? also do u know if he plays TAC cup, or has he not been picked up because of injury? i think it will be a close game, too hard to call right now, haileybury are so strong which is shown clearly by their win against wesley. scotch well need to play bloody good if they want to win, hopefully we can see what the young robo-smith kid has to offer.

nutcase
28th May 2005, 21:05
Yous dont know what your on about, GGS is on the way up- maybe not today but itll happen

~GURU~
28th May 2005, 21:12
omg there is another APS thread but at least this time it isnt about Xavier. oh and haileybury will dominate and it will b a no contest by looking at todays result in the wet. :rolleyes:

Esham
29th May 2005, 02:28
will be a ripper, just to correct you though its round 8 (july 23) on haileybury's main oval. both these teams will go undefeated besides the loser of this match. but im tipping haileybury probably about 4 goals, but we'll have a better idea closer to match.

tubs21
29th May 2005, 09:36
Esham thats not really a valid opion ther mate. If you think that Hail will flogg scotch and it wont b a contest then you are totally wrong. Scotch has the most school spirit in the aps and dont you worry the boys will be so fired up its not funny its been 8 years since the premeirship has won the premeirship and scotch arnt going to let some scholoship school win the game will be a cracker to close to call it will be by far the most physicall game of the year and the scotch boys will be the aggresser dont fnk with the scotch team this year

Esham
29th May 2005, 11:49
Esham thats not really a valid opion ther mate. If you think that Hail will flogg scotch and it wont b a contest then you are totally wrong. Scotch has the most school spirit in the aps and dont you worry the boys will be so fired up its not funny its been 8 years since the premeirship has won the premeirship and scotch arnt going to let some scholoship school win the game will be a cracker to close to call it will be by far the most physicall game of the year and the scotch boys will be the aggresser dont fnk with the scotch team this year
pardon?? i said it would be a ripper of a contest, and tipped haileybury by about 4 goals..i did not say haileybury will flog scotch at all, that was someone else above me, numbnuts

brownlowbruce
29th May 2005, 11:59
Henry "sniper rifle" Peters and George "pneumatic drill" ******** will have to be at their agressive best sending players six feet under at every oportunity. Other players that will need to step up for scotch are Sherwin, Sheetz and Njoku who's Schwartznegger type body sizes will need to be utilised in inducing fear into the Hailerbury players. Clearly if Scotch are to win they will have to be the more physical unit.

trapper16
29th May 2005, 11:59
pardon?? i said it would be a ripper of a contest, and tipped haileybury by about 4 goals..i did not say haileybury will flog scotch at all, that was someone else above me, numbnuts

hey lets not go and call people numbnuts, we all know it is going to be a clash of titans, a standard that no other aps team can compete with (especially those xavier hacks). it will know doubt be cracker of a match. i predict the scotch side will just have to much balls for hail, and win by a small margin of a couple of goals.

tubs21
29th May 2005, 13:09
hey lets not go and call people numbnuts, we all know it is going to be a clash of titans, a standard that no other aps team can compete with (especially those xavier hacks). it will know doubt be cracker of a match. i predict the scotch side will just have to much balls for hail, and win by a small margin of a couple of goals.

I agree with you trapper, The scotch side is bursting at the seams with gut's, however do you think they will bring in Hummerston to draw the line in the sand in this ripper of a game?

tubs21
29th May 2005, 13:10
or even Cam robbo for his high flying marks?

trapper16
29th May 2005, 13:51
I agree with you trapper, The scotch side is bursting at the seams with gut's, however do you think they will bring in Hummerston to draw the line in the sand in this ripper of a game?

theres a good chance these two will be playing in team against the hail side. rumour is cam robo smith will playing in two weeks where he will no doubtly be racking up the poseys. with such an athletic body he seems to find the ball whenevr he wants. hummer has all shown good form in the recent weeks, stepping up to show the 1st selection committee that he has real talent. if he keeps this up the next few week, the 1s will need to clear a spot for him as he would be a very valuable asset.

tubs21
29th May 2005, 14:59
Couldn't agree more trapper. I have spoken to a few of the scotch heroes in the ones and they all agree the dynamic duo of Hummerston's courage and terrific marking skills and the silky skills of cam robbo will be greatly appreciated.

brownlowbruce
29th May 2005, 17:16
Richard Hummerston aka The Grim Reaper aparently put some unsuspecting CHF in hospital yesterday. Can anyone confirm the rumour?

tubs21
29th May 2005, 17:22
I would like to confirm that rumor. Hummerston was running back with the flight and hit the Brighton CHF with his pulsating bicep. He was knocked out cold, and only woke up in the ambo on the way to mercy private.

tubs21
29th May 2005, 19:51
however, Jimmy McCubbin played a large role in the Brighton players injury. Although it was Hummerstons bicep that sent him into next year, It was Jimmy's giant quaddie that did the real damage. Possibly the most tonned player playing 4ths footy.

~GURU~
29th May 2005, 21:51
Who is Tubs...Sounds like a one-eyed Scotch Supporter just like those Xavier hacks that come on here . Cannot give credit to other players from other schools

chaz051
29th May 2005, 22:03
so much for this thread to be dedicated to the scotch hail game...

trying to bring back the main topic, i want some thoughts from some unbiased and/or neutral supporters/watchers on the round 9 clash coz im sick of this crap from tubs n the offie n bruce about the 4ths!!who gives a rats rectum???/

tombo
29th May 2005, 22:23
what a stupid thread...it's just scotch guys talkin up their buddies in a chance to get themselves some penis ;) if I were anyone else I'd steer clear of making a serious comment because you'll just get slammed by these cardinal wearing poofs. wtf is cardinal anyway, just call it red.

also, nutcase, you are an idiot, have you been paid to scan for aps threads and post how good you think your mates at GGS are?

btw george ******** is a bit of a ********er and is no where near as good as hamish is/was.

tombo
29th May 2005, 22:24
what a stupid thread...it's just scotch guys talkin up their buddies in a chance to get themselves some penis ;) if I were anyone else I'd steer clear of making a serious comment because you'll just get slammed by these cardinal wearing poofs. wtf is cardinal anyway, just call it red.

also, nutcase, you are an idiot, have you been paid to scan for aps threads and post how good you think your mates at GGS are?

btw george ******** is a bit of a ********er and is no where near as good as hamish is/was.

LOL you can't even post his name

chaz051
29th May 2005, 22:27
i presume u are talking about george d*ck there tommo, and im with you, as much as i am a proud scotch collegian, i certainly dont condone this stupidity written by some current students and i think its a disgrace they are trying to get themselves known on bigfooty by posting crap about 4ths players!!

get onto the real issue of the 1st XVIII premiership which is in the balance and will be for a long time to come!!

theoffie
29th May 2005, 22:32
ok, the scotch hail game is going to be an absolute, outright ripper. Scotch will win it too. Not because im biased. but how much does haileybury mean to those sport scholars (and im sure there aren't as many as everyone says)? can they say that they have an intense pride for their team and school, or is it just another stepping stone towards being drafted for them? For the scotch guys, i know for a fact that every single individual would give everything they had for their team mates and school. They will be fired up beyond belief, and without exaggerating, their form is above description

tubs21
29th May 2005, 23:28
I go to scotch, as does the offie, and i will be the first to admit that he is a homosexual

theoffie
29th May 2005, 23:36
unfortunately for tubs, he thinks that his babble is entertaining to someone, somewhere out there. He is sadly mistaken. noone cares about who lachie rough or angus knight is, let alone their prospects of winning the brownlow. His mind numbing bull********, makes me feel for his parents (as was stated in a certain school publication), as their hard earned money has been wasted on tubs' education at one of melbourne's premier schools. Back in your box young man, you are a major contributor to the degradation of the football culture and society as we know it

brownlowbruce
29th May 2005, 23:40
unfortunately for tubs, he thinks that his babble is entertaining to someone, somewhere out there. He is sadly mistaken. noone cares about who lachie rough or angus knight is, let alone their prospects of winning the brownlow. His mind numbing bull********, makes me feel for his parents (as was stated in a certain school publication), as their hard earned money has been wasted on tubs' education at one of melbourne's premier schools. Back in your box young man, you are a major contributor to the degradation of the football culture and society as we know it
I'm getting a massive laugh out of tubs. Sorry mate you lose.

~GURU~
30th May 2005, 22:14
ok, the scotch hail game is going to be an absolute, outright ripper. Scotch will win it too. Not because im biased. but how much does haileybury mean to those sport scholars (and im sure there aren't as many as everyone says)? can they say that they have an intense pride for their team and school, or is it just another stepping stone towards being drafted for them? For the scotch guys, i know for a fact that every single individual would give everything they had for their team mates and school. They will be fired up beyond belief, and without exaggerating, their form is above description

geeze and you say your not biases. You have no idea how the game will go because all you are writting about is how your team would die for each other. But have you ever been to a Hail training session, have you ever spoken too any of the blokes? you have no clue and i know for a fact that the guys that go to Hail on a scholarships want to play for the school and want to do their best. You havent watched the intensity that they train or play at and the desire to play every Sat for the school. They know that they can go back to the TAC cup and play after the schools finished. So at the moment all they are concentrating and putting their efforts into the school. When you write sumthing like that Offie at least have sum evidence as too what you are writing on.

The game will b close but the bloods will most likely come out on top cos of the pure talent and team work that they produce. Just ask the schools that we have played so far. :rolleyes:

Skevies
2nd June 2005, 17:06
I believe that Haileybury are by far the best team and will comprehensibly beat Scotch in the match you are all hailing as the match of the year. Everybody says that Haileybury have no heart and that Scotch play for the school, well this is a load of crap. All the boys in Haileyburys first believe that they have been given a great oppurtunity and are proud of their school (they are also definitely no soft because they all play TAC Cup) and u can't be a soft ******** to play that.

My final prediction
Haileybury 14.12.96
Scotch 10.10 70

Skevies
2nd June 2005, 17:30
Anyone wanna take a shot at naming the APS team this year to verse AGS,
a lot of very good players playing this year and will be a avery hard job.
So far you would have to throw in the mix Aaron Murray (haileybury), Anthony Raso (haileybury) Tory Dickson (Haileybury), Chris Cain ( St Kevins), Rob Eddy (Caulfield), Andrew Ainger (Scotch), Nick Smith (Scotch), Tom Hawkins (Melbourne), Josh Kennedy (Xavier), James Magner (haileybury), Andrew Mcguinness (Brighton) thats all that i can remember so far, but everyone else add your comments and we'll try and get a dream team up and going and see if it matches the final team at the end of 2005!!!!!!

~GURU~
2nd June 2005, 17:30
Go The BlooDs :D

bazlik
2nd June 2005, 21:49
The Haileybury football squad is the closest group of MATES i have ever played in. Everyone gets along real well, and dispite what those Xavier tools were saying about how we dont even know each others name or whateva, we are one of, if not the closest groups in the APS. And this TEAM is going to wipe the floor with ALL opposition this year, including Scotch. Just because you might die for each other boys, wont win you a footy game.
Go Bloods

Skevies
7th June 2005, 10:14
Come on boys keep talking up this game, interested about what everyone has to say about it, should be a great game, but i think the class of Haileybury will be too strong and the fat full forward from scotch will be kept to no goals.

jimbo1
7th June 2005, 11:57
i couldn't agree more there full forward will be lucky to get a kick let alone a goal! he is a mess the full forward from scotch he will defendly be kept to 0 goals

Wizzfizz
7th June 2005, 12:00
Yer i agree jimbo, someone should recomend weight watchers or sumthing.....poor guy.

bettsie
7th June 2005, 18:11
Yep he is huge.
I think Haileybury by 50+
Scotch are the best REAL team, but you cant compete with what hailerbury do.

Skevies
12th June 2005, 21:48
Yer i agree jimbo, someone should recomend weight watchers or sumthing.....poor guy.

Yep definitely agrree the full forward of scotch is a fat mother ********er and really doesnt deserve to be in a good team such as scotch is. He needs to learn no to eat 32 pies after a game and leanr to get a kick and kick some goals

hodgey111
12th June 2005, 22:07
scotch's FF has kicked more goals this season than the top 3 goalkickers combined at skevies has this season to date

cfc05
13th June 2005, 10:43
scotch's FF has kicked more goals this season than the top 3 goalkickers combined at skevies has this season to date

So he must have kicked the majority of Scotchs goals, Skevies have that many options up foward they are not always going to one person. So probs the reason there goals are spread amongst a variety of players.

So are you saying if scotchs FF is stopped then they are in trouble??

Leg_Spinning_Sensation
13th June 2005, 11:21
Leave Xavier out of this. Haileybury to win by 10 points in a ripper.

hodgey111
13th June 2005, 18:36
So he must have kicked the majority of Scotchs goals, Skevies have that many options up foward they are not always going to one person. So probs the reason there goals are spread amongst a variety of players.

So are you saying if scotchs FF is stopped then they are in trouble??

no. scotch have a greater spread of goalkickers who kick more goals than stkevins. MORE goalkickers who kick MORE goals. hence why stkevins have kicked about 30 goals less than scotch season to date. you'll struggle this week buddy prob time to shut your ********n ********-sucking mouth cuz you cant talk st kevins up when all they do is ******** each other over wanting to be as good as the catholics up glenferrie rd in kew

footystar
13th June 2005, 19:00
This Game is going 2 be easily the best game of the season:

Key Match ups:
Jacobs
Chadwick

Ainger
Raso

Sheetzy
Murray

Johnsey
Dickson

And Midfield Battles Between:
Scotch
Smith
Djerrkura
Rattray
Davis

And Hail
Magner?????????
Flemming
Plymin

Who could possible pick a winner?

Skevies
15th June 2005, 15:47

Key Match ups:
Jacobs
Chadwick

Ainger
Raso

Sheetzy
Murray

Johnsey
Dickson

Scotch
Smith
Djerrkura
Rattray
Davis

And Hail
Magner?????????
Flemming
Plymin

I can, my mate Chris Casey recons Haileybury will win by about 25 points.

SCARD
16th June 2005, 09:39
I can, my mate Chris Casey recons Haileybury will win by about 25 points.
Is Chris Casey an expert or something? Who is he?

CAPPERisGOD
17th June 2005, 18:06

Key Match ups:
Jacobs
Chadwick

Ainger
Raso

Sheetzy
Murray

Johnsey
Dickson

Scotch
Smith
Djerrkura
Rattray
Davis

And Hail
Magner?????????
Flemming
Plymin

I could pick a winner, Haileybury will win hands down, even though like majority of them are on scholarship, you cant forget, they are an awesome side. Scotch have alot of determination, skill and sprit, but your cant match Haileybury's game, they are unstoppable.

Prediction: Haileybury by 5-6 goals

dirtycat23
18th June 2005, 16:31
Djerrkura
Rattray
Davis
who are these kids?surely they could not contend with the all conqering. fleming absolute star and has been in best players just about every game haileyburys played in the last two years
plymin the big bodied midfielder who cannot be matched up, kid will run all day, very consistent.
and magner who has only played one game with haileybury since year 10?whats going on with this kid, probably the weak link in the midfield

superstar_09
19th June 2005, 14:46
magner who has only played one game with haileybury since year 10?whats going on with this kid, probably the weak link in the midfield

Magner the weak link? Are you on drugs kids or is you face just ********ed up. Although flemming and plymin are guns magner was vic metro until he broke his thumb and would have been a certain starter. To call magner weak is a joke. Would knock you head off mate.

service
19th June 2005, 15:29
The Haileybury football squad is the closest group of MATES i have ever played in. Everyone gets along real well, and dispite what those Xavier tools were saying about how we dont even know each others name or whateva, we are one of, if not the closest groups in the APS. And this TEAM is going to wipe the floor with ALL opposition this year, including Scotch. Just because you might die for each other boys, wont win you a footy game.
Go Bloods
stupid,, cause clearly your not the closest group.. most other schools are playing with mated they have known their entire life....

Anyway, as much as i hate to say it, Haileybury will absoloutely, comprehensively, destroy scotch - who are no where near as good as they think they are. I honestly believe if Scotch lose by under 40 points they should be proud of their efforts. Scotch think their the best only because you beat xavier when xavier was at their worst (if only that match could be played again).. Scotchies i cant wait for you to be PUMPED by a team so much better than you, and put your arrogant ********er school back into place

oldfart
19th June 2005, 19:02
Come on boys keep talking up this game, interested about what everyone has to say about it, should be a great game, but i think the class of Haileybury will be too strong and the fat full forward from scotch will be kept to no goals.

Have seen all the GGS games for the last 5 years so I can only comment on the teams I have seen and compare them below against the last 5 years' APS teams:

WC - the worst WC football team in 40 years.

St.K - a below average St.K team that would be beaten by any of the previous St.K teams of the last 5 years.

CG - an even and average APS team that would be competitive with CG teams of the last 5 years. Better in the dry than wet which is a measure that their foot and hand skills as a team may be good but not excellent.

SC - a very even and good APS team but has no special physical presence and plays well against less capable teams when their players can take time to make good passes to Jacobs at full forward. He has the strongest pair of hands I have seen in the last 5 years of APS football. However, when under pressure the SC players delivery to him is poor and he is ineffective once the ball hits the ground. SC would rank about 12th - 15th of best APS team over the last 5 years.

MGS - a very even and good average aps team. More physical than SC. Similar ranking to SC. Saw quite a few cheap shots off the ball by MGS boys on Saturday, not sure whether that was because they play like that or whether it was because their were 3 AFL scouts at the game.

HC - the best APS team of the last 5 years, full stop. The players are as skillful by foot and hand whether or not they are under pressure and in dry or wet.

CAPPERisGOD
19th June 2005, 22:45
magner who has only played one game with haileybury since year 10?whats going on with this kid, probably the weak link in the midfield

Yeh that magner kid, heard his an absolute beast, benches like 125kg. plays stingrays yeh, JUMPER NO 23.....lol..... good footballer, saw him play once, tore things apart. He needs to play more aps games, the kid would rip it up. I think i heard his injured though.

johnodicko
20th June 2005, 11:53
Have seen all the GGS games for the last 5 years so I can only comment on the teams I have seen and compare them below against the last 5 years' APS teams:

WC - the worst WC football team in 40 years.

St.K - a below average St.K team that would be beaten by any of the previous St.K teams of the last 5 years.

CG - an even and average APS team that would be competitive with CG teams of the last 5 years. Better in the dry than wet which is a measure that their foot and hand skills as a team may be good but not excellent.

SC - a very even and good APS team but has no special physical presence and plays well against less capable teams when their players can take time to make good passes to Jacobs at full forward. He has the strongest pair of hands I have seen in the last 5 years of APS football. However, when under pressure the SC players delivery to him is poor and he is ineffective once the ball hits the ground. SC would rank about 12th - 15th of best APS team over the last 5 years.

MGS - a very even and good average aps team. More physical than SC. Similar ranking to SC. Saw quite a few cheap shots off the ball by MGS boys on Saturday, not sure whether that was because they play like that or whether it was because their were 3 AFL scouts at the game.

HC - the best APS team of the last 5 years, full stop. The players are as skillful by foot and hand whether or not they are under pressure and in dry or wet.

You must be kidding......didnt you see the Scotch v Skevvies game on Saturday, great game and Skevvies unlucky to lose in the end.............certainly had Scotch worried

oldfart
20th June 2005, 13:57
You must be kidding......didnt you see the Scotch v Skevvies game on Saturday, great game and Skevvies unlucky to lose in the end.............certainly had Scotch worried

I was watching the GGS vs MGS game on Saturday so I did not have a chance to watch the SC vs St.K game. I am not surprised that St.K went close because the SC boys delivery is not so good when they are under pressure. But that does not mean the St.K team is either a bad team or that it is better than St.K teams of the last 5 years. I see them only once a year and I have seen them in each of the last 5 years. You should not get offended. Remember also that, apart for HC, this year's APS competition is weaker that 2002 and 2003 where the overall standard was a lot higher. In each of those years there were at least 3 teams that were quite a lot better than this year's SC team.

oldfart
20th June 2005, 14:22
Anyone wanna take a shot at naming the APS team this year to verse AGS,
a lot of very good players playing this year and will be a avery hard job.
So far you would have to throw in the mix Aaron Murray (haileybury), Anthony Raso (haileybury) Tory Dickson (Haileybury), Chris Cain ( St Kevins), Rob Eddy (Caulfield), Andrew Ainger (Scotch), Nick Smith (Scotch), Tom Hawkins (Melbourne), Josh Kennedy (Xavier), James Magner (haileybury), Andrew Mcguinness (Brighton) thats all that i can remember so far, but everyone else add your comments and we'll try and get a dream team up and going and see if it matches the final team at the end of 2005!!!!!!

It seems to me that there is an too much emphasis on players in good APS teams. A good player in a poor team gets no easy kicks because his team mates' delivery is always poor, when they run to good spots their team mates do not have the vision to see them so those good players spend all their time earning hard ball gets. For example, any player at WC that get 30 possessions against HC is a gun and you can bet at least half of those will be hard ball gets. Also, the good gteams soon figure out who those few good players are in th epoor teams and tag them heavily and try to take them out off the ball so they really have to be tough. A gun player in a gun team mostly gets quality delivery and does not suffer the same heavy treatment. I would like to see much more emphasis on an APS team based on the players who consistently earn the most hard ball gets, weak in and weak out. There will be gems like that in each of the poor APS teams. Put any of those players in a good team and they will absolutely shine against the very best opposition because they know how to get the hard ball.

headovathepill
21st June 2005, 11:15
You make a very good point old fart!
Last week when there was 3 afl scouts at the GGs Vs MGS game, do you know what clubs they were from? I can bet you that they just made the short trip from Kardinia Park after watching NB roosters take on the VC under 18's. There may also of been a couple at the GC Vs Carey game.

oldfart
21st June 2005, 11:33
You make a very good point old fart!
Last week when there was 3 afl scouts at the GGs Vs MGS game, do you know what clubs they were from? I can bet you that they just made the short trip from Kardinia Park after watching NB roosters take on the VC under 18's. There may also of been a couple at the GC Vs Carey game.

The 3 were from Geelong Football Club plus Bobby Davis, Ian Cover and Jack Hawkins watching his boy play who twisted his ankle in the first quarter and was restricted by that for the rest of the game.

CAPPERisGOD
23rd June 2005, 18:19
Djerrkura
Rattray
Davis
who are these kids?surely they could not contend with the all conqering. fleming absolute star and has been in best players just about every game haileyburys played in the last two years
plymin the big bodied midfielder who cannot be matched up, kid will run all day, very consistent.
and magner who has only played one game with haileybury since year 10?whats going on with this kid, probably the weak link in the midfield

Rattray and Davis are awsome players both have teared up the APS throughout there years and are easily good enough to play TAC but choose not 2 because they want 2 concentrate on their studies.
Nathan Djerrkura is one of the best players in the APS, is going 2 be playing in the National U/18 Champs for Northern Terrirory and he will carve it up against Haileybury

who are flemming and plyminn? just ur average TAC players?????

dirtycat23
24th June 2005, 11:43
2 players that were pushing for vic selection, haileyburys midfield will dominate scotch fullstop, how do you no magner capper?

TheRedPill
25th June 2005, 20:46
Yeah it's evident that the Haileybury team, on paper, would be able to beat Scotch, but you have to look at what it means to each of the teams.

The Haileybury 1st XVIII.. they play footy, get a free education, thrust into the limelight and get exposure, good chance of getting drafted. What does an APS premiership mean to them? Nothing. NOTHING

The Scotch 1st XVIII. A group of talented mates who are all proud of their school. They're hungry for this premiership, and the thought of winning Scotch's first footy premiership in 8 years means something to them.

But still it has the potential to be a great game. Haileybury are an absolute unit - yet you cant write Scotch off. If Scotch can play at their capacity they can match Haileybury man for man, but if they are off their game at all then it will be a walkover. If they play like did in the first quarter against Xavs then it will be a thriller of a match.

A safe tip would be Haileybury but Scotch are definitely in with a chance.

CAPPERisGOD
26th June 2005, 19:06
how do you no magner capper?

I saw him play, like round two for Haileybury against Xavier. He caved it up, And my mate goes to Haileybury...

CAPPERisGOD
26th June 2005, 19:12
Yeah it's evident that the Haileybury team, on paper, would be able to beat Scotch, but you have to look at what it means to each of the teams.

The Haileybury 1st XVIII.. they play footy, get a free education, thrust into the limelight and get exposure, good chance of getting drafted. What does an APS premiership mean to them? Nothing. NOTHING

The Scotch 1st XVIII. A group of talented mates who are all proud of their school. They're hungry for this premiership, and the thought of winning Scotch's first footy premiership in 8 years means something to them.

But still it has the potential to be a great game. Haileybury are an absolute unit - yet you cant write Scotch off. If Scotch can play at their capacity they can match Haileybury man for man, but if they are off their game at all then it will be a walkover. If they play like did in the first quarter against Xavs then it will be a thriller of a match.

A safe tip would be Haileybury but Scotch are definitely in with a chance.

Winning a APS premiership in footy, does not mean "nothing. NOTHING", I don’t care how many scholarships the school has, it still means something to the boys, but scotch will come off second best in this battel, better luck next year… I hope Scotch play at the their "capacity", they will need all the luck they can get...

TheRedPill
26th June 2005, 19:31
You can write Scotch off all you like, and you may very well be right, but there's always a chance that they'll win. And sorry but I think that the APS title means thousands more to the Scotch boys than the Haileyburians

Tazza_20
27th June 2005, 14:05
i recon the checkbook will overcome Scotch in a close one

MadRyan
28th June 2005, 13:59
Chadwick[/B]

Darrah Chadwick?

CAPPERisGOD
28th June 2005, 20:48
Darrah Chadwick?

Paul Chadwick... From Haileybury, think he plays for Eastern, His a GUN!!

TheRedPill
28th June 2005, 22:20
I guess you might have a point, and I may have been wrong, but my point remains the same: Scotch is a chance. However small it may be, they may win.

dirtycat23
29th June 2005, 15:44
pinghead, scotch beat st kevs by something like 7 points, haileybury 80 points, scotch defeated caufield by a few goals only haileybury won by 160 points. stop double dropping come down and realise they are no chance. id say there might be a few scuffles during this game by the looks of things, new sorta topic who will be targeted and who will deliver the big hits?

CappersIsGod
29th June 2005, 22:06
Theres a guy called Magner i think he apparently likes to hit people, dont know someone in here said he was injured? not sure anyway if he plays im sure he will pack a few punches

TheRedPill
30th June 2005, 16:12
Scotch beat Caulfield by about 10 goals, mate..

CappersIsGod
30th June 2005, 18:24
So what dude Haileybury has pumped teams by more than scotch i think that was the dudes point, Haileybury is a better team.

theoffie
30th June 2005, 20:50
rattray for scotch always gets fired up. scotch may not be the better side but they'll definantely put in physically. no matter who's beaten other sides by more i think is irrelevant, it will be a totally different game on the day, that will be played according to the circumstances on the day. will no doubt be the best game of the year if scotch are having a good one

CAPPERisGOD
1st July 2005, 01:02
... I wish that Scotch played Haileybury round 1, so you could see how Haileybury dominated and all this small talk would ******** off.

TheRedPill
2nd July 2005, 15:32
Thats not the point, comparing how teams beat other teams is completely irrelevant and has no bearing on the result of the match.

St Kilda beat Collingwood by 38 points.

Port beat St Kilda by 23 points.

Shouldn't Port have then beaten Collingwood by 61 points, or at least beaten them? But they ended up losing by 31 points...

Using margins that two teams beat another team as an argument that one team is better than the other is ridiculous. Two different teams, two different game plans, they work differently with other teams. Who the f**k didn't know that...

dirtycat23
2nd July 2005, 15:48
seee pill your wrong there because afl teams have similar players and any team has a chance to beat any team any week, could you see haileybury losing to wesley if the played them again? aps is different to afl mate, and nearly lost to st kevins, haileybury won by 70 points and my sources told me that they played ********house, apparently magner will be back for scothc game if all goes according to plan....

theoffie
2nd July 2005, 16:31
mate, west coast is gonna beat carlton every time, just like haileybury will beat wesley every time; yes there are always mis-matches like that in ANY competition. However, like pill said, with more even teams (and scotch is more even with Hail than Wesley) it depends on how the two teams match up on the day. one team may have strengths that exploit another teams weaknesses etc, but its different for each team. Maybe hail will blow scotch out of the water, but u can't predict that for sure on who has beaten who and by how much.

TheRedPill
2nd July 2005, 17:01
I'm not denying Scotch will be underdogs (and more), but I'm saying comparing winning margins by 2 teams against another team is stupid.

aker_rulz1
6th July 2005, 10:49
ok boys lets get back to the subject, recon it should be a good game, at hailbury though u would have to think that they would be too strong, but u never know scotch are a strong team with a list of good players going around.

davo4030
19th July 2005, 18:55
Well, the game is this Saturday down at Keysborough. Shocking to get to but i'll turn up nonetheless. No doubt extra preparation has been put into this weekend and with the rumour that Raso has been injured it gives Scotch an extra boost.
With Ainger, Smith and Barlow playing well last week for Oakleigh it bodes well for Scotch's team but Haileybury have all the 'imported' boys who are keen to impress to enhance their AFL prospects.
I predict the Scotch & Haileybury boys to come out firing with both schools showing a lot of passion and possibly the match will boil over and a few 'spotfires' break-out. Raso,Fleming,Magner,Plymin and Dickson will be a handful but will have little impact as the Scotch boys will overcome these fellas and play for their school with the most passion ever seen on a football field.
Jacobs and Rioli to kick 5 each with G.Di ck chiming in with a couple. Scheetz will stitch up some blokes as will Peters and Rattray with the class of Smith and Djerrkura shining in the midfield.
Scotch in a close one. 13 points.

Chandra
19th July 2005, 19:04
Paul Chadwick... From Haileybury, think he plays for Eastern, His a GUN!!

Saw him relieve Heath Hocking in the Eastern Ranges midfield on the weekend and go really well around the stoppages. They tell me he has played more fullback fior Haiylebury. Good enough for a TAC midfield - I'd be getting him into the action

Esham
20th July 2005, 18:42
Well, the game is this Saturday down at Keysborough. Shocking to get to but i'll turn up nonetheless. No doubt extra preparation has been put into this weekend and with the rumour that Raso has been injured it gives Scotch an extra boost.
With Ainger, Smith and Barlow playing well last week for Oakleigh it bodes well for Scotch's team but Haileybury have all the 'imported' boys who are keen to impress to enhance their AFL prospects.
I predict the Scotch & Haileybury boys to come out firing with both schools showing a lot of passion and possibly the match will boil over and a few 'spotfires' break-out. Raso,Fleming,Magner,Plymin and Dickson will be a handful but will have little impact as the Scotch boys will overcome these fellas and play for their school with the most passion ever seen on a football field.
Jacobs and Rioli to kick 5 each with G.Di ck chiming in with a couple. Scheetz will stitch up some blokes as will Peters and Rattray with the class of Smith and Djerrkura shining in the midfield.
can you get any more biased??
from a neutral perspective (i do not attend either schools), Haileybury should win by a minimum 4-5 goals. I have seen both teams play this year, and haileybury are by far the better team, but im sure scotch will put up a good fight, but simply they will not be good enough. haileybury's midfield is far better than scotches. the only way scotch could win this game, is if they were totally switched on all day, and haileybury were not. unlikely to happen, but will be a great game to watch.

cfc05
20th July 2005, 20:02
With Ainger, Smith and Barlow playing well last week for Oakleigh it bodes well for Scotch's team but Haileybury have all the 'imported' boys who are keen to impress to enhance their AFL prospects. Jacobs and Rioli to kick 5 each with G.Di ck chiming in with a couple. Scheetz will stitch up some blokes as will Peters and Rattray with the class of Smith and Djerrkura shining in the midfield.

Clearly a biased opinion here, haileybury are a much better side than scotch - just an all round classier team.

You mention the "imported" players of haileybury, but then neglect to mention that Scheetz is on a half boarding scholarship, and you have two very talented young aboriginal boys on "specialised programs" - funny how they happen to be two of your better players!!!
There would onyl be 3 max schools who dont have ANY scholarship players running round, so they can be the only ones to even mention it.

theoffie
20th July 2005, 22:18
jeez how many people wanna bring up rioli and djerrkura being on 'scholarships'. get with the program mate. there's hundreds of people who talk about it without knowing jack

jimbo1
21st July 2005, 10:33
Yous dont know what your on about, GGS is on the way up- maybe not today but itll happen

Mate, GGS are that bad it's not funny! you guys are never going to be on the way up you have to win more than 1 game a year to be on the way up.

Esham
23rd July 2005, 17:25
looks like someone knew exactly what they were talking about

TheRedPill
23rd July 2005, 19:27
What I find hilarious was that there were more people from Scotch at Haileybury than there were people from Haileybury.

Magner looks like a knob reminds me of Pietersen - good player though. Well done to haileybury for getting Harry Potter to do the boundary umpiring

dirtycat23
23rd July 2005, 20:23
red pill eat your words mate, anyways apparently the nexs is that a bird ********ted on magners head thats why he looks like pieterson,????

TheRedPill
23rd July 2005, 20:36
Eat my words? Why?

What the hell are you talking about..

dirtycat23
24th July 2005, 10:30
You can write Scotch off all you like, and you may very well be right, but there's always a chance that they'll win. And sorry but I think that the APS title means thousands more to the Scotch boys than the Haileyburians

there was never a chance

TheRedPill
24th July 2005, 10:33
Well, I was wrong. But one thing that stood out was - the lack of turn out of support for Haileybury and how unenthused the Haileybury boys were at winning another premiership. (And the fact that Scotch 10A's beat Haileybury's 10A's by 150 points)

dirty_cat44
24th July 2005, 11:34
I think the lack of support may have been caused because Scotch thought they had a chance and Haileybury supporters had a fair idea of the result, and once Haileybury kicked the first 3 goals in 5 minutes that was that.

CAPPERisGOD
24th July 2005, 11:37
(And the fact that Scotch 10A's beat Haileybury's 10A's by 150 points)

Thats coz the haileybury 10a's are just crap, you cant win a game with 5 ppl..... and good try by the scotch 1st XVIII but better luck next year. :D

TheRedPill
24th July 2005, 12:26
I think the lack of support may have been caused because Scotch thought they had a chance and Haileybury supporters had a fair idea of the result, and once Haileybury kicked the first 3 goals in 5 minutes that was that.
No, that is idiotic. Why wouldn't you go down and support your school, simply because you thought you were going to win? And the fact that Haileybury is in the middle of nowhere and yet still alot of Scotch supporters made the trip, whereas there were hardly any Haileybury students, who LIVE in Keysborough.

theoffie
24th July 2005, 13:14
Scotch played bloody poorly yesterday and would have beaten haileybury on another day i reckon. There were no Haileybury guys down there because they are all indian people who dont give a siht about footy. in fact haileybury have so many scholarship people (not just footy players) that theyre self-absorbed and there IS NO school spirit. Scotch new that Haileybury were big favorites, but still got down there because we wanted to support our side in the biggest game in years. Yeah, hail wouldnt be phased at all by the 150 point drubbing at the hands of the scotch 10a's. their scholars dont come til next year, and the word depth is openly condemned down in that hole.

CAPPERisGOD
24th July 2005, 18:54
[QUOTE=theoffie]Scotch played bloody poorly yesterday and would have beaten haileybury on another day i reckon. [QUOTE=theoffie]

OMG mate.... this whole thread was for ppl to talk about the deciding match between two good sides, Haileybury and Scotch. Then finally they play each other and ppl like you go and say crap like that, get over it, Scotch lost, no excuses, Haileybury WON mate, so don’t say crap like "Scotch played bloody poorly yesterday and would have beaten haileybury on another day" coz that’s bull********...

TheRedPill
24th July 2005, 20:01
Its true that Haileybury have a better team it's stupid to say otherwise, but if all you care about is having a footy team that wins premierships then you've got all you ever wanted, but one thing you don't have is school spirit and you'll be nothing when scholarship funds begin drying up..

theoffie
25th July 2005, 09:45
CapperisGod, how are they excuses buddy? there are reasons footy sides win games, and there are reasons teams lose, and one of the reasons Scotch lost was that they played bloody poorly. Barlow, Rattray, Davis, Sherwen all had their worst games of the season, so mate, i reckon its a fair comment. You can have the premiership, its forever tainted though cos you bought it. Haileybury i challenge you to do well with a team you build from year 7, a feat you certainly won't acheive in the near future (see your yr 10's 150 point drubbing)

ollie33
25th July 2005, 15:15
CapperisGod, how are they excuses buddy? there are reasons footy sides win games, and there are reasons teams lose, and one of the reasons Scotch lost was that they played bloody poorly. Barlow, Rattray, Davis, Sherwen all had their worst games of the season, so mate, i reckon its a fair comment. You can have the premiership, its forever tainted though cos you bought it. Haileybury i challenge you to do well with a team you build from year 7, a feat you certainly won't acheive in the near future (see your yr 10's 150 point drubbing)

to true mate.
lille u are so up Haileybury 1's and dont worry bout ur 10a team which you play in. 150 point loss on the weekend well done mate. the future is bright for Haileybury. :confused:
good luck against mgs 10a's

D-Mon
30th July 2005, 20:51
In round 9, early term 3, the decider for the premiership will be played between the 2 strongest teams. The haileybury almost unstoppable force, which includes as many scholarship players you could poke a stick at against the couregous scotch side, a team which will need all their skill and heart to beat haileybury. this match will no doubt be an awsome constest to see. the scotch team will hopefully be at its strongest, as star player/ potential first round draftee cam rob-smith is due to be back next week, however along the grape vine, due to displince reasons will be sitting out against wesley next week. the kid who has beutiful skill on foot, and hand as well as being able pluck the ball from the air whenever he wants will no doubt be a massive strenght to the side. cam combined with other standout players including "danger man" ainger, smitty, dead eye ********, hard nut peters, etc. will prove to be a very capable oposition against the strnght of the haileybury side. What are your thoughts, does scotch have a chance?

Sorry mate, but you got your thread title wrong. It should read:

Scotch v Melbourne Grammar. The decider

CAPPERisGOD
30th July 2005, 21:49

The comment that i was getting at was, "Scotch played bloody poorly yesterday and would have beaten haileybury on another day".. like what i mean is, you could say that about any game, MGS beat us today, it was a great effort from grammar, they won fair and square, but no one would go and say, "aww Haileybury would have beaten MGS on another day... just goes to show that $$$ doesn't win your premierships, the MGS had a s h i t load of sprit today. well done - good win

TheRedPill
31st July 2005, 10:40
Haha, $500,000 well spent, good one :D

theoffie
15th August 2005, 17:19
yeah capperisgod, i think we're talking bout the same thing. everything needs to come together on the day if ur side is the underdog. it didnt for us when we played hail, and indeed it did for grammar when they played u