View Full Version : Ags
Super_Dal
30th May 2005, 16:40
Just ot sick of hearing bout the APS, they're all tossers with money
who are the players to watch in the AGS this year?
Can any team get close to PEGS, they look unbeatable after beating ACK who beat Ivanhoe who beat Trinity who beat Marcellin.....???
The Slitherin' Snake
30th May 2005, 17:03
You'd think PEGS would be odds on favourite to win it this year having pulled Assumption's pants down.
McPhee
30th May 2005, 19:06
Trinity are strong favourites this year, along with Marcellin. Its very tough to choose a winner at this point in time in the season
The Slitherin' Snake
31st May 2005, 11:31
If Trinity win it I'll eat my hat. Even if they were unbeaten and pantsing everyone they still wouldnt be my favourite. History tells us they are useless
McPhee
31st May 2005, 14:03
If Trinity win it I'll eat my hat. Even if they were unbeaten and pantsing everyone they still wouldnt be my favourite. History tells us they are useless
Pfft...who gives a crap about history, no one cares anymore. It's all about now and what they can do to the AGS
The Slitherin' Snake
31st May 2005, 16:49
Pfft...who gives a crap about history, no one cares anymore. It's all about now and what they can do to the AGS
Good point... Trinty are sitting 4th, and there are still 2 teams unbeaten.
What the can do to the AGS? Trinity will probably feature as the team that is a good warm-up for the serious contenders to work out their kinks before the important games. And thats the role they've played with aplomb for years and will continue to do so
Super_Dal
31st May 2005, 23:32
TRINITY won't bother PEGS, proabably not even Assumption.....the win against a massively depleted line up was hardly anything to go by
good midfield, will give em that but lack anything else
Marcellins percentage will help with a 170, 120, 80 and 70 point wins, but will have to overcome their injuries to beat ivanhoe and ACK.....a few players for them look impressive with Winstanley and Montagna (b0th non TAC) playing good football
Ivanhoe will crumble no doubtedly again but seem to have a strong spine but with little depth...gianfagna is a player to watch as well as Colbert
anyone got any idea on how to stop PEGS.....who are the match winners??
Dasha39
1st June 2005, 09:51
Ivanhoe will crumble no doubtedly again but seem to have a strong spine but with little depth...gianfagna is a player to watch as well as Colbert
Ivanhoe will not crumble this year. Much more mature side with one or two players playing seconds pushing hard for selection.
There's much more hunger this year in the Ivanhoe camp than previous years
frenzal01
1st June 2005, 21:07
yes agreed ivanhoe are a solid side this year with a good blend of experience and youth, players to watch out for are the knights boys gianfagna, colbert n riddle all solid contributers and in the best every week but also have good depth especially in the spine
But PEGS n Assumption are definitely lookin like they will be top 2 this yr very hard to beat, with marcellin, trinity n ivanhoe not far behind
Dons06
1st June 2005, 21:10
Just ot sick of hearing bout the APS, they're all tossers with money
who are the players to watch in the AGS this year?
Can any team get close to PEGS, they look unbeatable after beating ACK who beat Ivanhoe who beat Trinity who beat Marcellin.....???
Dal mate... The APS is where footballers are made.. forget the AGS.
Dasha39
1st June 2005, 21:20
Dal mate... The APS is where footballers are made.. forget the AGS.
Substitute 'made' for 'bought' and I might agree with you mate
Dons06
1st June 2005, 21:22
Substitute 'made' for 'bought' and I might agree with you mate
haha like it mate... dont speak to me.. im not a hailbury, scotch or xavier boy... see where it comes from. Hailbury should be in the TAC they are so bad in buying footballers.
Dasha39
1st June 2005, 21:31
Fair enough mate.
And Hailebury aren't all they cracked up to be...just get 'em in the wet. :D
Skevies
1st June 2005, 21:57
Fair enough mate.
And Hailebury aren't all they cracked up to be...just get 'em in the wet. :D
Haileybury have not lost a game all year, especially in the wet. They played Wesley on the weekend in wet and windy conditions and destroyed them by over 180 points and from what ive heard they nearly set a school record
Dasha39
1st June 2005, 22:47
Haileybury have not lost a game all year, especially in the wet.
Well, I recall a practice match...vs Ivanhoe where they went down. Anyway, I'm not here to start an argument. And anyway, isn't this supposed to be about AGSV schools. Let's get back to that.
Super_Dal
2nd June 2005, 17:14
Even in an AGS thread the APS boys have to get their noses in....
looks like it will be a good game ivanhoe vs marcellin whenever it occurs
McPhee
2nd June 2005, 21:45
yeah good call super_dal, rack off aps boys, you have your own 30,000 threads about yourselves so why dont u go and keep chatting yourselves up and let hard earned footballers get a voice in
Skevies
3rd June 2005, 18:51
Well, I recall a practice match...vs Ivanhoe where they went down. Anyway, I'm not here to start an argument. And anyway, isn't this supposed to be about AGSV schools. Let's get back to that.
Mate i recall that practice match in where i actually went to that match with my mate from haileybury, he plays 3rds this year for fun and even he was playing in that game, which means aswell as haveing only two first XIII players they also had 16 players made of 2nds and 3rds players and still only lost to a full strength team of Ivanhoe which i might add have no players in Tac Cup, (Haileybury 15)
so mate dont talk ******** till ya get ya facts right, AGS players are all a crock of ******** and will never have any teams which can match it in the APS
tombo
3rd June 2005, 21:29
Mate i recall that practice match in where i actually went to that match with my mate from haileybury, he plays 3rds this year for fun and even he was playing in that game, which means aswell as haveing only two first XIII players they also had 16 players made of 2nds and 3rds players and still only lost to a full strength team of Ivanhoe which i might add have no players in Tac Cup, (Haileybury 15)
so mate dont talk ******** till ya get ya facts right, AGS players are all a crock of ******** and will never have any teams which can match it in the APS
andre gianfagna plays for ivanhoe
The Opposition
4th June 2005, 21:52
See here mate, the thing is you are baggin other people about not getting their facts right. Ivanhoe have gianfagna, riddle and colbert playing TAC..."so mate, dont talk ******** till ya get ya facts right"
McPhee
5th June 2005, 19:28
marcellin beat peninsula. marcellin were very short of some quality players
big upset. mentone beat trinity out at keysborough. any other news from anyone?
bendova
5th June 2005, 19:35
Check the aps team of the decade and try to match it with a ags side.
have to of gone to an aps school in the last 10 years and have to of had a significant influence on the afl game, not aps/ags game.
juDDa
6th June 2005, 12:41
after making the aps team, can u tell how many of those players were "bought" from the school?????
the APS is a crock of s hit to be honest...most of the kids are on scholarships and premierships are bought and sold....(i know some schools in APS don;t give scholarships) but most do which i think is wrong...
how bout at the end of the year AGS play APS and the kids on scholarships aren't allowed to play...would be very interesting!!
dirtycat23
6th June 2005, 15:15
considering it was made up of there seconds and thirds team, nothing to be proud of, considering there whole team is nearly tac, they were were missing due too tac
bazlik
6th June 2005, 19:14
Are u serious mate, we played you guys with raso, murray, beckwith, succuzzo, magner, rebaschini, pymin, fleming, james salter, combon, erikson, chadwick, hill and luxa out, they are all in our starting 18. u guys are dreaming APS is a superior comp
jimbo1
6th June 2005, 19:35
A.P.S Competition dommonates A.G.S Competition in every department!
demondavey
6th June 2005, 22:30
ACC isnt far behind with teams like Parade, Friars, De La and St Bernards
Moto_GP
11th June 2005, 12:18
Who is the best player in the AGSV and why?
Dasha39
11th June 2005, 14:28
Are u serious mate, we played you guys with raso, murray, beckwith, succuzzo, magner, rebaschini, pymin, fleming, james salter, combon, erikson, chadwick, hill and luxa out, they are all in our starting 18. u guys are dreaming APS is a superior comp
*Sigh* I thought I ended this talk of APS, but fine.
Congradulations mate, you were missing the recruits. How about I do what you boys do, I'll take them all on scholarships to Ivanhoe. Imagine that for a moment, we've just recruited more than half a starting football team. So now that would mean that in just a few moments, you lost every player that is not on a scholarship. Ivanhoe has just purchased, for a few hundred grand (don't quote me on how much, I don't really do the figures on how much these boys don't have to pay for school) the title of best team in the AGSV, they are now better than any team in the APS, and possibly Victoria. Hailebury is now 'stuck' with playing people who have just come through the school. Unlucky, your now in Ivanhoe's position.
Now, in the one game that seems to have sparked this debate, you were missing all of these players, who have been bought by your school in the last year or so, meaning the normal, human people who go to learn at your school don't even get a crack at playing 1sts footy, coz it's full of ring ins. Ivanhoe, who, admittedly, does not have as many TAC cup boys as Hailebury, were also down their three TAC cup boys. However, I would like the point out a diffence between the TAC boys from the two schools. One of the three has been at the school since prep, another has been at the school for a fair while not quite sure how long, and I don't know whether the third bloke is scholarshiped or now.
What I'm really trying to say through all that, is that the guys who have come through the years at each school are better at Ivanhoe. When the TAC cup boys were removed and put on a level playing field, guess who won.
That argument can't be beat by what you boys seem to have been saying, which I'll quote roughly as "We had our TAC boys out", which I'm tranlating to "We didn't have our recruits"
On an unrelated note, did Mentone seriously beat Trinity? Wow...
juDDa
11th June 2005, 15:24
yehh well said.....
and to finalise things about which comp is the best,
the premier league to play in is the TAC Cup and that's all that needs to be said...
on another topic, whats the fixture for the next ags round??
Dasha39
15th June 2005, 18:49
the premier league to play in is the TAC Cup and that's all that needs to be said...
Yes it is.
The fixture this week is -
Camberwell vs Mentone
Yarra Valley vs Assumption
Marcellin vs P.E.G.S
Ivanhoe vs Peninsula
and Trinity have the bye
Super_Dal
16th June 2005, 18:22
Peninsula vs Ivanhoe looks like a ripper game
PEGS vs Marcellin will show if any team can compete with PEGS
Super_Dal
16th June 2005, 18:27
good question, could go through every team and pick the best couple
what do other people think....a few ive seen or heard of include
IGS: gianfagna, riddell and colbert
MARCELLIN: McCasker, Coghlan and Montagna
PEGS: Tanner, Williams
TRINITY: Iezzi....other couple of midfielders (sorry cant think of names)
CAMBERWELL: Carey
who else would people include?
what about the AGS side for 2005?...any thoughts
macca_2111
16th June 2005, 18:41
good question, could go through every team and pick the best couple
what do other people think....a few ive seen or heard of include
IGS: gianfagna, riddell and colbert
MARCELLIN: McCasker, Coghlan and Montagna
PEGS: Tanner, Williams
TRINITY: Iezzi....other couple of midfielders (sorry cant think of names)
CAMBERWELL: Carey
who else would people include?
what about the AGS side for 2005?...any thoughts
I'd include Ryan Anderson from Marcellin
McPhee
16th June 2005, 21:55
Some other names would be:
Marcellin: Coughlan
Trinity: Banfield, MacKay
Dasha39
18th June 2005, 11:44
Peninsula vs Ivanhoe looks like a ripper game
PEGS vs Marcellin will show if any team can compete with PEGS
Yeah, Ivanhoe vs Peninsula was a great contest, Ivanhoe won by about a goal and a bit, I'll get the exact results when they come up.
McPhee
18th June 2005, 17:58
ivanhoe are nothing this year. Peninsula are not as strong as they have been in previous years.
Dasha39
18th June 2005, 18:05
ivanhoe are nothing this year. Peninsula are not as strong as they have been in previous years.
Ivanhoe...are...nothing!? I feel shocked and amazed that a team that has only lost one game, and have dub deep in some good contests to come out on top can be nothing.
Guess I'll just have to take your word for it.
Moto_GP
18th June 2005, 18:19
some good players there. Anyone wanna have a crack at the best two or three?
Any certainties for ags team this year?
McPhee
19th June 2005, 09:13
Ryan Anderson from Marcellin would have to be one of the best 3. Is an emergency this weekend for the Vic Metro games and hes still 17. He will definately make AGS team this year.
McPhee
19th June 2005, 09:15
Ryan Anderson from Marcellin would have to be one of the best 3. Is an emergency next weekend for the Vic Metro games and hes still 17. He will definately make AGS team this year.
juDDa
4th July 2005, 18:02
yeh definately agree with you there mate.. anderseon and jones would be top 2 but the next is a hard one to decide...probably sylver after that i'd say!can i ask someone how many TAC players are playing in the AGS???
vazie31
8th July 2005, 02:26
i think mayb even a gianfagna could be in top 3 because the top 2 are all including bottom agers i think top age needs to be in there
juDDa
13th July 2005, 10:01
wots the fixture for this weeks games????
aker_rulz1
13th July 2005, 13:46
Go Mentone
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=182538
Wrighty
14th July 2005, 22:14
Jones, easily number 1 in the AGS
2 & 3 could be a toss up between anderson and Sylv
Tim Scarpella of Peninsula recentally tagged GianFAGna and killed him, didnt get a kick the hole day, except for when he kicked out!!
J McCarthy, any one noticed him brother of Matt Mc Carthy Listed Geelong AFL footballer who is number 26# in the Peninsula best everyweek
J Grant = GUN u/16 last 29 Vic Metro
Z Rodwell & D Whelan
vazie31
15th July 2005, 09:12
yeah mate they would need to tag him cause he is ********in better than sylv
del_santos
18th July 2005, 22:02
re the AGS side for 05...
what about Clarke (CGS) and Mackay (TGS)?
very good midfield players
is there anyone from Mentone?
ACK16
2nd August 2005, 12:26
No. But i haven't seen their seconds play too often.
ACK16
2nd August 2005, 12:29
Madison Hardimann. Super athlete, super smart, super looking. Assumption have been keeping him under wraps and will look to unleash come August 12th. Utility, at 191 cm's he is a key position prospect or can adapt to a Riewoldt/Goodes type game on the wing. Definitely one to watch.
mick90
3rd August 2005, 14:52
does anyone one no what happened to the captain of trinity this year nathan bachli? (number 15 i think). used to be a gun played, oakleigh. does anyone no anything about him?
burgartron
3rd August 2005, 17:36
does anyone one no what happened to the captain of trinity this year nathan bachli? (number 15 i think). used to be a gun played, oakleigh. does anyone no anything about him?
yeah he's just one of them blokes that never really came on after under fifteens, he was always bigger than everyone else, now everyones caught up to him he doesn't really stand out as much...still he's a not a bad player, probably better than a few that made the initial ags squad still.
tombo
3rd August 2005, 19:33
nathan bachli is trinity's co-captain with brendan iezzi
has had it real tough this year, he's been knocked out and concussed three times
he is still a very good strong defender who provides some great drive off the half back flank
mick90
3rd August 2005, 20:07
i reckon he was stiff to miss out on an ags spot? could slot in nicely on a back flank?
McPhee
3rd August 2005, 20:12
i reckon he was stiff to miss out on an ags spot? could slot in nicely on a back flank?
couldnt agree with you more there mate. would fit perfectly in half back flank. he was quite ********ed off that he didnt make it and some others did. not a happy chappy
tombo
3rd August 2005, 21:23
couldnt agree with you more there mate. would fit perfectly in half back flank. he was quite ********ed off that he didnt make it and some others did. not a happy chappy
agreed mcphee although you have to think that he never had a game where he stood out. i can understand why he may have been overlooked
its simply just the selectors who choose too many midfielders and forwards probably.
he deserved to be in there though, fot he amount that he has put in
future29
28th August 2005, 18:36
top 3 does anyone not now angus graham or marcus webb of ack webb captained the agsv team and graham predicted to go in the draft. One team could run it up to pegs it was a.c.k
ACK01
29th August 2005, 09:37
You're kidding yourself you good looking man!! Seasons over champ no need to do the suck up job anymore stick to the bball...and boundary...
Disco
29th August 2005, 18:01
top 3 does anyone not now angus graham or marcus webb of ack webb captained the agsv team and graham predicted to go in the draft. One team could run it up to pegs it was a.c.k
Mate if hardiman isnt in ur top 3 ur a joke
future29
30th August 2005, 18:28
disco has to be up there for the top 3 playing more first games than hardiman ever has moved from 3rds in yr 11 to the top of the ones scale in yr12 disco or choclate as he is formally known one of the real inspirations to all us who didnt really make the grade this yr thanks choco ure a true hero
meatray
9th September 2005, 12:36
disco has to be up there for the top 3 playing more first games than hardiman ever has moved from 3rds in yr 11 to the top of the ones scale in yr12 disco or choclate as he is formally known one of the real inspirations to all us who didnt really make the grade this yr thanks choco ure a true hero
Clearly you are my hero Future and most of the boys inspiration for next year as you have been reffered to as the future
meatray
9th September 2005, 12:39
You're kidding yourself you good looking man!! Seasons over champ no need to do the suck up job anymore stick to the bball...and boundary...
Clearly he should stick to something his good at.. It has me clueless
future29
9th September 2005, 13:03
luke keslso looks to take on a pivotal role as the most unco looking footballer in the world also converted from bball after not recieving much game time during the ack vs sa wekend good luck son
meatray
9th September 2005, 13:42
luke keslso looks to take on a pivotal role as the most unco looking footballer in the world also converted from bball after not recieving much game time during the ack vs sa wekend good luck son
Well clearly he might so with a hard pre-season he could make an impact and yet he seemed to have minimal court due to the year 12s final game yet he was effective as he had scored 4 points in 5 minutes of court time which shows promising season ahead for him..
Invigoration
20th September 2005, 21:05
The readers have stated their opinions and it comes with no great surprise they believe Luke Kelso should stick to what his actually good at....
And that is obviously body building
Or even stick to shootin up with the Eltham boys
Brick
30th September 2005, 12:54
re the AGS side for 05...
what about Clarke (CGS) and Mackay (TGS)?
very good midfield players
is there anyone from Mentone?
any one from mentone, yarra valley and camberwell r hacks. they shouldnt get a game for the AGS side
vantheman32
30th September 2005, 16:38
is that u S Mcintyre? the man with the massive arms?
Graham1
30th September 2005, 18:32
Peninsula 2006 team is already training the boys are keen for next year and are looking to give something also in 2007 the are favourites for the flag i post my comment now we will see in years to come..
Players to watch
John McCarthy
Ryan Barnett hard as a rake
Robert Beswick if hes still at school
Ryan Wells the next big thing
Kepler
1st October 2005, 03:18
Cmon Mate seriously, Barnys as soft as butter
Graham1
1st October 2005, 13:51
Not that soft who r u n e way Kepler?
U from Peninsula way who u play 4
Brick
1st October 2005, 18:54
is that u S Mcintyre? the man with the massive arms?
Nar this isnt S Mcintyre T-rav, but i am massive
Graham1
2nd October 2005, 17:38
barny is a absolutely gun
meatray
10th October 2005, 12:24
The readers have stated their opinions and it comes with no great surprise they believe Luke Kelso should stick to what his actually good at....
And that is obviously body building
Or even stick to shootin up with the Eltham boys
Its great to see that you like to pay the boy out yet you keep your identity closed.. Why don't you tell me who this is... I know that you are from the "Seymour Gang"
Brick
10th November 2005, 10:43
Brick you are the most arrogant person on this whole board, you abviously are no good, because you go to Assumption College, and the only players with noticable achievements there are Barlow, Graham, Coff, Silver, Webb and McIntyer. Of which you are none of them. So go jack yourself off to your own fantisies about being a "top-notch" big bustling footballer and leave the real football chat to the actual players.
on the whole board thats a little far, isnt it.
and u must be something special r ya.
i think there may be a few boys disappointed by being left of that list of noticable achievements. dont u? seeing u no so much bout everything.
Kepler
11th November 2005, 01:15
barny is a absolutely gun
Na, i agree he is, i was only baiting ya. Sorry lol
Brick
14th November 2005, 18:06
yeah hall, and wat bout hunter, summers, tassie and hede and then from year 11 nixon, scandleton, downes and smith.
probably a few more soz boys.
but there to name a few, whats no good but them
uncletoby
14th February 2006, 17:55
ack are looking the goods this pre-season with some pritty strong players under the belt. they havelooked to put in a pritty big pre-season and are a very good chance to go back to back to back to back to back to back did i miss a back???
BLOODS!
25th February 2006, 12:50
fellas, if you want an actual good footy team go watch HAILEYBURY play, they are easily the best footy school in australia and will make any opposition look like u9's.
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
ohhhkid
1st March 2006, 16:55
fellas, if you want an actual good footy team go watch HAILEYBURY play, they are easily the best footy school in australia and will make any opposition look like u9's.
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Ok well Im glad we can get another baised person from their club as most of the people in here are indeed up themselves thinking their team is awsome and its more than likely "BLOODS" that your some hack that can't even play football, so keep up the good work making yourself look foolish.