View Full Version : APS 2nd XVIII
Dons06
1st June 2005, 20:14
Just wondering what some results have been in the seconds the last few weeks. Anybody know?
bettsie
1st June 2005, 20:55
Wesley 2's got thumped by Xav's by 92 i think it was
To skevvys by 24
To Caufield by 60ish?
To Haileybury by 60ish?
Dons06
1st June 2005, 21:02
Wesley 2's got thumped by Xav's by 92 i think it was
To skevvys by 24
To Caufield by 60ish?
To Haileybury by 60ish?
Cheers mate
yehrighto
1st June 2005, 21:04
brighton 2's havnt lost a game yet, beat scotch, melbourne and had the bye, in which we played assumption college, and won. also played an average hailbury team in a praccy game
xavier v's brighton this week will be huge, 12 at roach
Dons06
1st June 2005, 21:06
Xavs are competitive... Caulfield hasnt lost a game either.. won all their games by about 70 points but beat the other xavier team by 24 points in the wet last week who were a good side
yehrighto
1st June 2005, 21:08
wat is the other xav team...there 3rds? who hav caulfield played...?
Dons06
1st June 2005, 21:19
wat is the other xav team...there 3rds? who hav caulfield played...?
Xav have 2 seconds sides cause Gee Gram are so bad that their seconds are playing in the thirds... THe xavier team split in two and made 2 seconds sides.. Xav (1) are crap.. caulf punished them on thier home turf.. but their side (2) were pretty good... still beat them tho.. massive boys in thier team.
Catas05
1st June 2005, 21:31
are skevs a competitive side in the 2's it sounds like CGS vs BGS will be a great game
Dons06
1st June 2005, 21:37
heard about this guy from cgs.. Ben Price.. Carved it up against Xavs last week and against College from all reports... Watch out for him.. goes very well i hear.
Dons06
1st June 2005, 22:19
How do Skev 2nds go?
mark_johnson#1
2nd June 2005, 16:19
anyone heard of a chris richards from CGS 2nd XVII, told me himself he should be playing 1's, bit soft at the ball but has got a great left foot and a awesome mark, look out for this guy
slickrick
2nd June 2005, 20:39
what are melbourne grammer 2nd's like?
m.diddy
2nd June 2005, 20:41
Xav have 2 seconds sides cause Gee Gram are so bad that their seconds are playing in the thirds... THe xavier team split in two and made 2 seconds sides.. Xav (1) are crap.. caulf punished them on thier home turf.. but their side (2) were pretty good... still beat them tho.. massive boys in thier team.
It's much better than pumping every side like we did last year.
Dons06
2nd June 2005, 21:46
It's much better than pumping every side like we did last year.
Once again Milnedog... it really doesnt matter how the seconds go, its great to be successful but the premiership is won in the firsts. You can only play 22 players each week in the firsts and seconds and its great having good players but can they play together. Xavier boys play for thier own satisfaction not each other.
Dons06
2nd June 2005, 21:52
anyone heard of a chris richards from CGS 2nd XVII, told me himself he should be playing 1's, bit soft at the ball but has got a great left foot and a awesome mark, look out for this guy
yeah that chris richards guy is a good seconds player but is harder at it than u think. Gets some of the leather and uses it well but the support from his mates around him is reflected by the scorline each week.
m.diddy
3rd June 2005, 08:57
Once again Milnedog... it really doesnt matter how the seconds go, its great to be successful but the premiership is won in the firsts. You can only play 22 players each week in the firsts and seconds and its great having good players but can they play together. Xavier boys play for thier own satisfaction not each other.
One Word mate.
Depth.
YOu may buy 22 players such as Haileybury, but a few injuries to some key players would mean their downfall, Xavier would still be a force.
dacame
3rd June 2005, 15:50
Xavs V BGS 2nds should be huge this saturday at roach 12. Watch out for number 18 for Xavier. Dominant forward
Catas05
3rd June 2005, 20:30
yeah that chris richards guy is a good seconds player but is harder at it than u think. Gets some of the leather and uses it well but the support from his mates around him is reflected by the scorline each week.
I agree that CGS do have a strong team but Richards is not a good player he tries hard and loves the game but not much skills :p
slickrick
5th June 2005, 14:09
Geelong College 2nd XVIII beat Melbourne Grammer 2nd XVIII by 9 points making that 3 wins and 2 losses. College looking pretty good this season with alot of depth in both their 1st XVIII and 2nd XVIII teams. what were some other 2nd XVIII results from this weekend?
D-Mon
5th June 2005, 14:55
heard about this guy from cgs.. Ben Price.. Carved it up against Xavs last week and against College from all reports... Watch out for him.. goes very well i hear.
Played club footy with him, (East Brighton) - good (not great) all round footballer. Maybe a little small??
D-Mon
5th June 2005, 14:58
Geelong College 2nd XVIII beat Melbourne Grammer 2nd XVIII by 9 points making that 3 wins and 2 losses. College looking pretty good this season with alot of depth in both their 1st XVIII and 2nd XVIII teams. what were some other 2nd XVIII results from this weekend?
I wouldn't talk them up too much. Melbourne Grammar kicked 12 behinds. Missed too many easy shots on goal and this cost them the match. The point is that they (geelong college) are hardly a 2nd XVIII permiership chance / top side.
footygun
7th June 2005, 20:00
caulfield seconds are the best seconds football team going around
davo4030
7th June 2005, 20:04
Why are scotch firsts the best in the competition whilst there seconds have only beat carey,wesley and geelong college and their thirds have not lost a game.
Interesting stat there.
ablettjnr
7th June 2005, 20:07
I wouldn't talk them up too much. Melbourne Grammar kicked 12 behinds. Missed too many easy shots on goal and this cost them the match. The point is that they (geelong grammar) are hardly a 2nd XVIII permiership chance / top side.
I think you mean Geelong College
Dons06
7th June 2005, 20:29
Played club footy with him, (East Brighton) - good (not great) all round footballer. Maybe a little small??
Well mate... i play footy with him now and he is much better than what he might have been in U/12's when u last played with him or what ever age group it was. Has got great skills with a strong over head mark and has got a big engine to run all day and run his oppenents into the ground. Dedicated footballer who is a key part to the cgs structure and week in week out is always playing well and isnt so small as u think he is D-Mon.
nick mccarr
7th June 2005, 21:57
Well mate... i play footy with him now and he is much better than what he might have been in U/12's when u last played with him or what ever age group it was. Has got great skills with a strong over head mark and has got a big engine to run all day and run his oppenents into the ground. Dedicated footballer who is a key part to the cgs structure and week in week out is always playing well and isnt so small as u think he is D-Mon.
yeah im with you priceys stacked on that height, really become an influential player for the cgs maybe you should get down and have a look see D-mon
jimbo1
7th June 2005, 22:19
I wouldn't talk them up too much. Melbourne Grammar kicked 12 behinds. Missed too many easy shots on goal and this cost them the match. The point is that they (geelong grammar) are hardly a 2nd XVIII permiership chance / top side.
I am talking them up because they lost to scotch because they played a 22minute 1st quarter in which those 2 minutes scotched kicked two goals and a point. Also they bet Melbourne Grammer pretty easily took alot of good players off, let them get back in the game abit when good players were off but never really looked like losing!
D-Mon
13th June 2005, 15:08
what are melbourne grammer 2nd's like?
Not too bad this year. A few disappointing losses but are defiantly competitive and push the top sides. Also, several injuries in the 1st have thinned the ranks of the 2nds.
D-Mon
13th June 2005, 15:11
yeah im with you priceys stacked on that height, really become an influential player for the cgs maybe you should get down and have a look see D-mon
i'll have to check him out when we play Caulfield.
kangacasino
14th June 2005, 14:46
theres a bloke from melbourne called Sandy Robinson
has had osteitus for the last two years but seriously thyis kid can play
only spent a week in the 2's before getting moved up after two years off football!!!!
6-6 giant and with a real mean streak in him
Since being back has stepped in line as North Ballarat's Best Player easily
Seriously Watch out for this kid
Dons06
16th June 2005, 22:09
Melb must be pretty bad cause Caulf beat Gee College by about 70 points.
bettsie
17th June 2005, 17:42
Wesley 2's will have one of there better teams tomorrow with 3/4 big guys coming back from injury and starting in the 2's. So 100 point loss should be achievable :p, nah thats firsts
D-Mon
18th June 2005, 14:14
Xavier 2nds defeated Melbourne 2nds today at Xavier by about 7-8 goals.
D-Mon
18th June 2005, 14:15
Melb must be pretty bad cause Caulf beat Gee College by about 70 points.
Let's just wait until melbourne play caulfield.
rule of four
18th June 2005, 14:40
Let's just wait until melbourne play caulfield.
YEAH!!
macdaddy69
19th June 2005, 11:58
jarrod nash for st kevins carved it up yesterday, kicked 5 had 35+ possessions probably will get moved up to the firsts next week
slickrick
19th June 2005, 12:02
geelong college 2nd XVIII defeated carey convincenly on colleges home turf.
footymate
19th June 2005, 21:31
mate pricey isnt that good compared to some of the other talent around the 2's scene, he is tall, but with no muscle or real grunt gets pushed out of it and intimedated a fair bit. Needs to get a case of the angry bug, or put on a few pounds, not bad skills but thier usless if u dont get the ball..
bettsie
20th June 2005, 11:49
Wesley 2's went down by about 4 goals to BG
yehrighto
20th June 2005, 17:40
wesley v brighton was not 4 goals, brighton won by 40 points!! they got smashed.
yehrighto
20th June 2005, 17:52
wat are all the 2nds teams standings at the end of term 2 now?
brighton have only lost 1 game to xavier at xavier. they still have caulfield, skevs and hailbury to come, wat are some of the others??
Esham
20th June 2005, 18:21
brighton have only lost 1 game to xavier at xavier. they still have caulfield, skevs and hailbury to come, wat are some of the others??
caulfield 2's beat haileybury 2's by 27pts on the weekend, caulfield 2's are supposedly one of the best 2's side this year, but they were not very convincing on saturday, only beat haileybury's 2's because of one good quarter of football and some shocking umpiring decisions
tigers2005
20th June 2005, 18:34
caulfield 2's beat haileybury 2's by 27pts on the weekend, caulfield 2's are supposedly one of the best 2's side this year, but they were not very convincing on saturday, only beat haileybury's 2's because of one good quarter of football and some shocking umpiring decisions
This was because many of the 2nds players played in the 1sts because some of the 1sts players were going on a cricket trip to england. This shows the depth of the caulfield 2nds.
footygun
20th June 2005, 18:43
Caulfield have not lost a game as yet, and look to keep doing the same for the rest of the season. the lowest winning margin for caulfield was this week only beating hailbury by about 5 goals and this was because many of the normal 2nds players had to play in the 1st this week.
davo4030
20th June 2005, 20:37
Scotch's 2's are under-rated, they just need to gel as a team and they'll play good, high quality footy. Got killed by Xavier and just lost to Skevies and Brighton.
D-Mon
21st June 2005, 14:22
Scotch's 2's are under-rated, they just need to gel as a team and they'll play good, high quality footy. Got killed by Xavier and just lost to Skevies and Brighton.
... and Melb in the prac round by 40 something points.
SCARD
22nd June 2005, 10:08
New way to win a 2nd XVIII game. The home-school appoints the Umpires who send off opposition players while totally disregarding indiscretions by their own players. Pull off the same trick in the 10 A's and you have had a good day. Worked well at the weekend for one school. Can't happen in the firsts though
D-Mon
22nd June 2005, 13:56
New way to win a 2nd XVIII game. The home-school appoints the Umpires who send off opposition players while totally disregarding indiscretions by their own players. Pull off the same trick in the 10 A's and you have had a good day. Worked well at the weekend for one school. Can't happen in the firsts though
what game are you talking about? (cos when Melb played Geelong College (a few weeks back) one of our midfielders was sent off for swearing.)
SCARD
22nd June 2005, 16:57
what game are you talking about? (cos when Melb played Geelong College (a few weeks back) one of our midfielders was sent off for swearing.)
Not that game, mate. This was last Saturday. I have no problem with a player being sent off provided there is equal treatment for both teams.
tigers2005
22nd June 2005, 18:19
Not that game, mate. This was last Saturday. I have no problem with a player being sent off provided there is equal treatment for both teams.
Obviously you are talking about the caulfield game and are a little winging prick who is soft and cant handle a loss. The 10A's won by over 100 pts so it didnt matter what the umpires did and in the 2nds game after the 2 players were sent off Hailebery acuallly came back. Stop winging or go play netball.
CAPPERisGOD
23rd June 2005, 17:56
The Umpires were a complete joke that day,, would of had to be on the pay roll of the school.
footygun
23rd June 2005, 21:36
Mate first off the umpires would have sent caulfield players off if they had been so rude as to swear at other players and umpires. But the caulfield players had a little respect for people. Its not like u would have won anyway coz the caulfield side is undefeted and is a top side. Dont spoil your teams well tried performance with being a sore loser
SCARD
24th June 2005, 17:32
Obviously you are talking about the caulfield game and are a little winging prick who is soft and cant handle a loss. The 10A's won by over 100 pts so it didnt matter what the umpires did and in the 2nds game after the 2 players were sent off Hailebery acuallly came back. Stop winging or go play netball.
If you tell me what netball team you play for, I'll come and play too. On the way I will give you some spelling lessons as these seem to be missing from your school's curriculum.
tigers2005
24th June 2005, 23:37
If you tell me what netball team you play for, I'll come and play too. On the way I will give you some spelling lessons as these seem to be missing from your school's curriculum.
Sorry mate i didnt realise that it was a spelling contest. I thought it was a footy forum. My mistake. u are clearly are a toser and should ******** off or go study in the library u nerd. These are football forums not spelling championships.
CAPPERisGOD
26th June 2005, 19:22
Mate first off the umpires would have sent caulfield players off if they had been so rude as to swear at other players and umpires. But the caulfield players had a little respect for people. Its not like u would have won anyway coz the caulfield side is undefeted and is a top side. Dont spoil your teams well tried performance with being a sore loser
Well if the umpires weren’t so byest toward Caulfield, then the Haileybury boys would have had no reason to be rude. The Caulfield boys had no reason to be arking up, getting all the proper treatment from the umps and all….
CappersIsGod
28th June 2005, 22:26
Dude i dont want to spoil your little parade but i was playing in that game and i can tell you there was just as many caulfield players swearing as there was haileybury and one of the haileybury players was sent off swore at missing a goal not at the umpires or players, five minutes later a caulfield player did the same thing when i questioned the umpire he happened to not hear the caulfield player standing two metres away from him. fair? i dont think so.
ablettjnr
28th June 2005, 22:28
GGS 2's moving up into the 2nds division for term 3.....
CappersIsGod
28th June 2005, 22:37
Too bad we didnt get to play geelong grammer and thump them by 100 points like last year we could do with a win
Arma
29th June 2005, 08:28
GGS 2's moving up into the 2nds division for term 3.....
Does that mean Xavier will only be fielding one 2nds team now?
CappersIsGod
18th July 2005, 13:00
I guess b/c otherwise there will be too many teams, and one team will have to have a bye
meat cleaver
18th July 2005, 14:22
how do xav's twos go- are they up there in terms of 2nds teams
bomberboy2
25th July 2005, 22:18
i think xavs hav only lost to caufield, preseuming that caufield won last week, its a huge match this weekend between caufield and brighton whove only lost the one match, anyone got any comments on good players from either team? 2pm at brighton
FootyGuru
28th July 2005, 19:57
i have been watching abit of 2nds football before 1sts, id have to say that brighton caulfield and xavier (2nds not 3rds) are the best teams in the 2nds competition. the match between bgs and cgs will be a good one. bgs have a young bloke by the name of chris pharr (number 6) with lightning pace and great hands, coming back from injury will no doubt be playing 1sts next week, and if he gets completely over this injury could get rookie drafted if he is lucky, so cgs find someone to tag him. and from what iv seen of caulfield they have no stars they are just an even team. my prediction bgs by 16 points because they are clearly the hardest team in the comp and with the inclusion of pharr and at home are hard to go past.
bomberboy2
28th July 2005, 22:19
yeah i heard that pharr has got a fair bit of pace bout him, hes played well in a few matches hasnt he, should be a hard tag???
FootyGuru
28th July 2005, 22:32
i actually im almost cirtain this is chriss pharrs first game back from a neck injury, its his first game for the season are you sure u saw pharr, what number did u see.
bomberboy2
28th July 2005, 22:47
yeah fair enough, how do caufield go as a team?
FootyGuru
28th July 2005, 22:53
i almost cirtain this is chris pharrs first game well in the seconds anyway he might have played the first match in the 1sts, and yes because of his pace, football smarts, and great hands he will be very hard to tag
FootyGuru
28th July 2005, 22:55
caulfield have some good players, the likes off ben price, tall midfeilder, but other than that they are a very even side
bgs05
1st August 2005, 21:29
yep for sure pharr will need to be tagged, they may need to drop a player from the ones to shut him out of the game...if thats possible
ablettjnr
1st August 2005, 21:33
Geelong College? Any good?
The big one is on this Sunday, that's right, the Geelong local derby!!
tiger coll
2nd August 2005, 20:29
would anyone here be able to predict a ladder of the 2nd XVIII comp
yehrighto
3rd August 2005, 16:52
there were 4 players in for brighton in that game from the 1's, thats hardly alot. And they were people coming back from injury and they played a half each. not really that much of a difference. brighton were just better all around
FootyGuru
3rd August 2005, 22:56
i reckon there should be an aps vs ags seconds games, youd think lachie batt would hold down the centre half back position smashing every centre half forward this season, and possible tom williams on a wing averaging 24 possies a game.
Blockersfooty
4th August 2005, 10:13
i reckon there should be an aps vs ags seconds games, youd think lachie batt would hold down the centre half back position smashing every centre half forward this season, and possible tom williams on a wing averaging 24 possies a game.
Lachie Batt is a hack who wouldn't know what a footy is if it bit him on the arse. souldn't even be in the 2nds would be better in the 4ths.
bgs05
4th August 2005, 19:24
lachie batt, now that kid is a gun. best chb in the 2nds league, has represented msjfl and vafa even at his young age. this guy cant be beaten, i heard he weighted 90 kilos and was 194 cm with a huge leap. hes the brick wall of the back line for the bgs twos, impossible to beat.
smoking
4th August 2005, 19:27
So how come he plays 2nd's football
bgs05
4th August 2005, 19:37
i heard lachie batt has made come back from two shoulder recos, and the coaches of bgs dont want him risking another injury in the ones.
Blockersfooty
4th August 2005, 20:02
The only thing L.Batt has come back from is an arse rapeing
bomberboy2
5th August 2005, 22:27
i heard lachy batt played 5th and comes in at about 178cm and 60 kg? MAybe make it into the 5th dream team
TheRedPill
6th August 2005, 12:08
One kid who I think has huge potential from the 2s is James Lynch of Scotch - he's a man mountain, very athletic, tries hard. Skills and footy smarts need some work, but I think he has pretty much got all he needs
talent_scout
7th August 2005, 14:43
i almost cirtain this is chris pharrs first game well in the seconds anyway he might have played the first match in the 1sts, and yes because of his pace, football smarts, and great hands he will be very hard to tag
Chris Pharr?? that guys a fat dud.
rosejam
10th August 2005, 20:24
Chris Pharr?? that guys a fat dud.
pharr is very fast and strong (no way fat....)....he is on the fringe of the 2nds team and always puts in his best effort