View Full Version : SA Knockout Competition 1st XVIII
Rossi Boys
1st June 2005, 23:18
I think the two leading teams so far are definetly Rostrevor and Sacred Heart. Both have good teams and have started the year well. PAC also look alright. What are some SA (or anywhere) peoples thoughts on which skool might win? There are definelty some big names running around in the 1st XVIII comp, so it should be interesting!
Dogwatcher
2nd June 2005, 10:43
How's Trinity looking?
Harold22
4th June 2005, 20:11
by the all reports, rostrevor and pac have thrown around some money in search of some quality talent. pac bought three and rostrevor three i think also... these teams look, on paper, to be the front runners but as pac showed a few weeks ago, they lack depth and the three players couldnt win the game for them... howver, pac had a couple of their recruits out so next shc vs pac encounter will be tough...rostrevor will be looking to use their height this year, as well as freeing up their smaller players, Tom Hurley etc, to win games. SHC have a well rounded team by reports but lack height which may prove costly against rostrevor...BUT can u expect the "bought" players from both teams to play with any pride for their school if they have only come their to play footy?? interesting question considering shc dont give sporting scholarships, unlike the popular myth everyone hears...st peters have some good players and will be strong again but there are really only the four sides mentioned with any chance of playing in the state k/o final... trinity yet to be proven and immanuel are big but lack any skill, even with darren jarmen as their "skills" coach.
ghetto blasters
5th June 2005, 12:12
rostrevor yesterday beat pac by 5 goals, with pac kicking the last 5 goals of the game.
Rossi Boys
5th June 2005, 17:34
Tim Davey apparetnyly had 42 possesions yesterday and 2 goals for rostrevore, this kid is a fair gun.
Dashing DC
5th June 2005, 19:21
yerr....from all reports, sacred heart and rostrevor are looking the teams to beat. However St Peters look a dark house after some big spending over the holidays...
Rossi Boys
5th June 2005, 20:04
Yeh saints look alright, except, strangely they havent entered into the state knockout. I am not sure why. Has anyone got any thoughts on the top 5-10 players in the 1st XVIII comp this year?
ghetto blasters
5th June 2005, 20:38
nick smith(st peters), sam elliot(sacred heart), anyone of heath ward ben arbon josh cubillo(rostrevor), brendan littler. not t. hurley that kid is a dud. lacks leg speed and is a hog.
RUTHLESS_RUFUS
6th June 2005, 14:38
rostrevor yesterday beat pac by 5 goals, with pac kicking the last 5 goals of the game.
Interesting stuff. From what ive heard, Sacred Heart beat PAC by 15 goals. Maybe Rostrevor had an off day or something. I await the Rostrevor v Sacred Heart match with anticipation. Should be an absolute rip snorter.
Scottroo
6th June 2005, 18:31
Yeh saints look alright, except, strangely they havent entered into the state knockout. I am not sure why. Has anyone got any thoughts on the top 5-10 players in the 1st XVIII comp this year?
N Forster(Sacred Heart)
ghetto blasters
6th June 2005, 20:39
if you think nick forster is in the top five in the comp, you must be on drugs or something. what has he done as a player, the kid played 2nds last year, which means that he simply isnt that good!!!
gumbyman
8th June 2005, 14:58
Rostrevor are hacks and will go no where in the k/o comp this year. They only beat the lowly Pembroke a few weeks back by about 8 goals after an injury ravled Pembroke faded out terribly in the last qrt.
Rostrevor = Pretenders
As for the top players. Kym Williams has shown great potential for Sacred Heart with his unorthodox kicking style :D lol
Nah but seriously Lachlan Button the ruckman for Sacred Heart is absolutely carving up this year. The year 11 man mountain would be leading the B&F atm and look for him in next years draft. Also the inclusion of Shaun Rice to the forward line has made for a very potent forward line.
Sacred Heart = State champs....5 years running
Good luck the rest of the comp getting anywhere near us!
ghetto blasters
9th June 2005, 16:07
shc cant talk when they only beat the medioka westminster by 5 goals.
i think shc are to arrogant to forget the dud team that they actually have. rostrevor have the best team on paper without a doubt.
Shaun Rice would not go close to getting a game at Rostrevor!!!!
gumbyman
9th June 2005, 18:23
shc cant talk when they only beat the medioka westminster by 5 goals.
i think shc are to arrogant to forget the dud team that they actually have. rostrevor have the best team on paper without a doubt.
Shaun Rice would not go close to getting a game at Rostrevor!!!!
I cannot wait for the State knockout game between SHC and Rostrever(If they make it :p ). Im sure the 'best team on paper' as you have quoted will be comprehensively flogged at the hands of the might of SHC. Remember the 100 point flogging in last years final???? Even after buying players there is no chance Rostrevor will turn this around in one season.
ghetto blasters
9th June 2005, 20:00
where did you get the idea that rostrevor bought players. thats bull********. rostrevor did not buy any players. yeh the knockout game should be good but who said shc will make it.
stop living in the past. after this year that is all you will have, cos this year rostrevor will not lose a game!!!
Dogwatcher
10th June 2005, 10:48
You boys are all going a little bit overboard aren't you?
King_Neptune
11th June 2005, 17:29
got a bit defencive mate wen someone mentions "sporting scholarships"..it is well known fact that rostrevor and pac have thrown around a lot of money to players who were looking to goto shc in the first place...its amazing wat "good" players and offer of 2 free schooling years will get u....tom hurley is a very good player, the captain, dont know his name is a star..the chf is good and ruckman is handy...tim davie is too overweight and vertically challenge to even present a danger to a brain dead back pocket...rc will struggle against shc who i saw thrash a very good pac team...better start getting ur soccer and basketball teams ready cos they will keep u in this yrs intercol
ghetto blasters
12th June 2005, 12:26
so who were the boys that were going to go to shc in the first place???
Dogwatcher
14th June 2005, 17:17
Did Tom Hurley originally live in Loxton?
His old man's a doctor yeah?
ghetto blasters
14th June 2005, 19:48
yes tom hurley did live in loxton and his dad is a doctor
Dogwatcher
15th June 2005, 12:20
thought so.
nice family.
Capitalist
15th June 2005, 16:47
I think people should forget the whole sports scholarship business every college does it but in a variety of ways. I had a mate who played guitar so a certain college gave him a "music scholarship" just happens that he was a gun footballer aswell.
Rostrevors problem was they decided to stop doing it around 2000 as well as a reduced number of borders and an increase in the involvement of soccer (well consdering the suburb they are in)
anyhow SHC have been doing it for years and years and years they are still bitter at the 10 yr undefeated run rostrevor had in the 90;s (i think it was ?)
RUTHLESS_RUFUS
15th June 2005, 17:00
I think people should forget the whole sports scholarship business every college does it but in a variety of ways. I had a mate who played guitar so a certain college gave him a "music scholarship" just happens that he was a gun footballer aswell.
Rostrevors problem was they decided to stop doing it around 2000 as well as a reduced number of borders and an increase in the involvement of soccer (well consdering the suburb they are in)
anyhow SHC have been doing it for years and years and years they are still bitter at the 10 yr undefeated run rostrevor had in the 90;s (i think it was ?)
Not one scholarship available at Sacred Heart, footy, music or anything.
Capitalist
15th June 2005, 17:13
Not one scholarship available at Sacred Heart, footy, music or anything.
so there you are - none has scholarships ???
(are you sure about that I thought all catholic schools had scholarships as part of their community approach ??)
RUTHLESS_RUFUS
15th June 2005, 17:21
(are you sure about that I thought all catholic schools had scholarships as part of their community approach ??)
positive mate ;)
RooDog
15th June 2005, 17:57
so there you are - none has scholarships ???
he's right, they dont have any scholarships.
Capitalist
15th June 2005, 19:07
positive mate ;)
fair enough so schools have dropped them - I remember scholarships for talented aboriginals or from areas without scholls(the government paid the schools a fair bit for these)
but they must have stopped them as well I suppose.
shooter#9
26th June 2005, 18:28
PAC are absolute duds. definitely lack depth. Rostrevor and sacred heart are best 2. St peters clearly 3rd.
the double brews
27th June 2005, 17:59
shc has one schollarship which is presented to a student which already attends sacred heart hence the schollarship does not lure out side 'TALENTS' to the school. sacred heart college si just naturally brilliant!
straylan
27th June 2005, 18:05
Well to all you sacret heart idiots who lack the proper education received at other SA schools, i can tell you, as a fact, that Sacret Heart give out scholarships. My family, (who have a history at SHC, i dont go there) gives out one a year to an under-privaliged boarder who ohterwise wouldnt be able to pay the expenses. Thats right, it is given out to a boarder (who 95% of the time is a gun footballer as well).
So to all you naive sacret heart boys out there, every time you open your mouth that "we dont give out scholarships, we just have natural talent" is telling bull ****.
I know personally Aaron Day who got given a scholarship to SHC in year 8 whos just one of many other examples.
SHC are a team of lying hacks make up so much ******** about potential draft picks its not funny. There's another post going round trying to say half the team is gonna play AFL, wake up an smell the roses Sacret Heart boys, your era is over!!!
ghetto blasters
27th June 2005, 18:06
evey college gives out scholarships including shc. its been going on for ever and is just one of things that every school does
straylan
27th June 2005, 18:17
But the thing that gets to me is that Sacret Heart are the only college that deny it
the double brews
27th June 2005, 19:39
oi staylan, obviously u dont know who you are talking too mate. shc doesnt give out sporting schollarships, you idiot, i said sacred heart do give out schollarships, are you blind, just not too people who can just kik a footy unlike rostrevor who giv schollarships (and sexual favors) to potential draftees to beat sacred heart, yep just to beat sacred heart(jeez its good to wear the blue and blue). it takes alot to be the best but it takes a lot more to beat the best! aaron day was not given a schollarship in yr 8 MATE if you were his mate you may know BUT obviously you dont. there is not a price tag on the knokout cup rossi and we will show you that later this year. also the funny thing is, shc only has 1 or 2 potential draftees and it is considered a SLUMP, i cant imagine wat a high would be for shc, the afl would probably send them to ireland to play in the international rules. cmon rostrevor come to terms with the greatness of sacred heart, winning is no longer a honour, its a tradition!
RUTHLESS_RUFUS
27th June 2005, 19:46
oi staylan(daveys), obviously u dont know who you are talking too mate. shc doesnt give out sporting schollarships, you idiot, i said sacred heart do give out schollarships, are you blind, just not too people who can just kik a footy unlike rostrevor who giv schollarships (and sexual favors) to potential draftees to beat sacred heart, yep just to beat sacred heart(jeez its good to wear the blue and blue). it takes alot to be the best but it takes a lot more to beat the best! aaron day was not given a schollarship in yr 8 MATE if you were his mate you may know BUT obviously you dont. there is not a price tag on the knokout cup rossi and we will show you that later this year. also the funny thing is, shc only has 1 or 2 potential draftees and it is considered a SLUMP, i cant imagine wat a high would be for shc, the afl would probably send them to ireland to play in the international rules. cmon rostrevor come to terms with the greatness of sacred heart, winning is no longer a honour, its a tradition!
Totally agree with you double brews.
kangasmann
27th June 2005, 19:48
My family, (who have a history at SHC, i dont go there) gives out one a year to an under-privaliged boarder who ohterwise wouldnt be able to pay the expenses. Thats right, it is given out to a boarder (who 95% of the time is a gun footballer as well).
perhaps you should go further on your fact finding mission straylan, because your case has nothing to answer for. If you really want to know, it was actually a girl boarder who won the scholarship your talking about. There's not one 1st XVIII footballer that has a scholarship at sacred heart.
gumbyman
27th June 2005, 19:48
Totally agree with you double brews.
Here, Here! I third that motion!
RUTHLESS_RUFUS
27th June 2005, 19:52
My family, (who have a history at SHC, i dont go there) gives out one a year to an under-privaliged boarder who ohterwise wouldnt be able to pay the expenses. Thats right, it is given out to a boarder (who 95% of the time is a gun footballer as well).
perhaps you should go further on your fact finding mission straylan, because your case has nothing to answer for. If you really want to know, it was actually a girl boarder who won the scholarship your talking about. There's not one 1st XVIII footballer that has a scholarship at sacred heart.
Hahaha, good work. The year before that it also went to a bloke who didnt even play the great game. Youve been made to eat your own words and scholarship. Hahaha.
the double brews
27th June 2005, 19:59
We Are The Double Blues,
We Are The Gooooood Ooollldddd Double Blues,
We're The Team, We're Proud And Tall,
We're The Mighty Boys From Paringa Hall;
We've All The Champions,
We Play Hard And True, We're Loyal To The Blue,
And They Will Know That they Are Playing,
Against The Famous Sacred Heart Blues.
Practise The Words Rossi Cause You May Want To Sing Along When Intercol Comes Rolling Round The Corner!
King_Neptune
28th June 2005, 08:37
evey college gives out scholarships including shc. its been going on for ever and is just one of things that every school does
u obviously go to sacred heart cos u "know" soooo much about the school...before u go shooting ur mouth off, get some facts. shc have good players, not because the school throws around money to buy players, but because the school has a good name in sport and education. any country ppl who want their son to have a good education but cant afford the exclusive rostrevor or st peters, send them to shc as it is cheap....so mr "wu-tang, dada, in the hood" ghetto blaster, before u hang it on shc for giving out scholarships, check the facts....all u do on here is hang ******** on players and teams......u have obviously never been good enough at football and suffer a huge case of tall poppy syndrome, other-wise known as jealousy
King_Neptune
28th June 2005, 08:44
how the hell would know if rostrevor gave scholarships to people just because they can kick a footy??? i cant believe how arrogant and obnoxious you sacred heart people really are. you are all a bunch of c*nts who think youre the best thing walking on earth. i cant wait till we actually play you and expose you pathetic team who are all a bunch of soft cocks, which will be exploited when you come up against a hard, tough team of rostrevor. it will be so good to see all of your ugly faces after you get thumped by a much better team!!!
heres the deal....we win every game, we have a rite to be arrogant...u win every game but the big ones, intercol, state k/o and ur melbourne exchange and ur still arrogant!!! maybe if u beat us we will stop, but thats not going to happen so deal with it!! here's a thought, watch last yrs k/o GF and analyse why u lost by over 70pts...cos thats the last impression shc have of rostrevor....pride wins games, not money
ghetto blasters
28th June 2005, 13:10
but the difference is that rostrevor are not arrogant. fair enough you have the right to be, but stop living in the shadows of last years win cos this year it will be a hell of a lot different.
the double brews
28th June 2005, 15:11
News just in: Tom Hurley spoke to the State u/18 coach and asked him how he would become a better midfeilder and the reply was, "hey sam(elliot shc) come here and you can help tom, give him some pointers!" The bottom line is rossi boys that you blokes are one step behind and will be, you will need more than a few possible draft picks, the Stae u/18 team consists of Elliot (shc), Redden (shc) and sugars (shc). And rostrevor had a bench player come on and got handball recieves from those three blokes who were winning the hard ball. The fatcs are that ur best player is no more than an apprentice to the mentor that is Sammy Elliot.
straylan
28th June 2005, 17:04
The thing is double brews is that no one is disputing that Elliot is a gun. You probably shouldnt be writing off Hurley either as he is gun as well. I reckon both schools should stop slandering until you actually play each other, winner of course having the right to rub it in
the double brews
28th June 2005, 17:22
wat do u believe is more important to win intercol or state knok out?
the double brews
28th June 2005, 17:35
and by the way ill state it agen so we make it clear, ROSTREVOR IS ARROGANT and you arent good! we may not win intercol and we may not even win state knok out but on paper we've been at the top for the past 4 years straight we proved our point, prove yours lets see how long you can stay at the top, well acctually try and get to the top first! we will go top again and you will watch us and we will pitty you bunch of scum bags AGAIN!
ghetto blasters
28th June 2005, 19:19
rostrevor are not arrogant and dont believe that they will definatly win intercol and knockout, all i am saying is that we have a good chance. redden and sugars unless they repeated yr 12 are irrelevant as they are not at the school anymore.
by the way, tom hurley did not need to win the hard ball because he gets so much of it that it doesnt matter. he had more possessions in a half than elliot did the whole game.
fact is they are both very good players, so next time you think about paying out tom hurley, think of what level of football he is playing in comparison to you and keep dreaming of playing in an u18s championships.
i dont think any of shc are soft cocks.
name who you think are from rc.
ghetto blasters
28th June 2005, 19:24
and i will name a few arrongant people from shc. talking to the captain of shc (not football, but the captain of college) and you know who im on about claimed that sam elliot is arrogant. he may have the right to be but he is one. playing cricket earlier in the year i know for sure that a couple of your players were arrongant (harris) as they were standing in the slip cording talking about how much they were going to beat us in football. and all of the shc people who post threads on here sound to me like they are talking themselves up a bit.
any thoughts double brews???
the double brews
28th June 2005, 19:56
I have thoughts, i think that us being up ourselves is a bit rich coming from a pumpy ginge that gets on his mates "rossi boys" name and puts himself in the 1st 18 dream team. u are dreaming davey! and as for harris and our school capatain who your to pussy to mention they can say what they want bcoz until you prove yourself to shc, not ur team coz THEY have done that but u! Plus who got best for state???? oh sorry! the reason hurley didnt get best is bcoz he sat outside while sammy gave him the footy. ask trevenus!
RUTHLESS_RUFUS
28th June 2005, 19:58
heres the deal....we win every game, we have a rite to be arrogant...u win every game but the big ones, intercol, state k/o and ur melbourne exchange and ur still arrogant!!! maybe if u beat us we will stop, but thats not going to happen so deal with it!! here's a thought, watch last yrs k/o GF and analyse why u lost by over 70pts...cos thats the last impression shc have of rostrevor....pride wins games, not money
Sorry to correct your great comment there king neptune but the final margin was actually 101 points.
SHC 17.15, ROS 2.4.
Once again Rostrevor close, but no cigar. Hahaha. ;)
gumbyman
28th June 2005, 21:35
and i will name a few arrongant people from shc. talking to the captain of shc (not football, but the captain of college) and you know who im on about claimed that sam elliot is arrogant. he may have the right to be but he is one. playing cricket earlier in the year i know for sure that a couple of your players were arrongant (harris) as they were standing in the slip cording talking about how much they were going to beat us in football. and all of the shc people who post threads on here sound to me like they are talking themselves up a bit.
any thoughts double brews???
Talking about beating you at football....i wouldn't say that he was being arrogant. He was speaking facts which is not being arrogant but rather being honest. ;)
ghetto blasters
28th June 2005, 23:51
until you prove yourself to shc, not ur team coz THEY have done that but u!
quote db.
im not tim davey, but i would have thought he proved himself to shc last year, as he was one of the best players when you flogged us last year, and has also caused havoc in a number of intercols. but if you think he cant play thats your own opinion and i, and tim will accept that.
but you would not want to underestimate him come intercol as he could slip under the radar and cause some havoc.
King_Neptune
29th June 2005, 08:43
but the difference is that rostrevor are not arrogant. fair enough you have the right to be, but stop living in the shadows of last years win cos this year it will be a hell of a lot different.
well until we beat u again, we will keep living off BOTH wins
King_Neptune
29th June 2005, 08:50
until you prove yourself to shc, not ur team coz THEY have done that but u!
quote db.
im not tim davey, but i would have thought he proved himself to shc last year, as he was one of the best players when you flogged us last year, and has also caused havoc in a number of intercols. but if you think he cant play thats your own opinion and i, and tim will accept that.
but you would not want to underestimate him come intercol as he could slip under the radar and cause some havoc.
ummmm...wat intercols?? i rmber watching the "arrogant" Harris playing on Davey in a yr 10 intercol, then again in a 1st 18 intercol and i rmber that distinct smell of smoke as harris burnt davey at every contest....so b4 u start slagging off on harry, u should think back to wen hemade u look like the team joker!!
ghetto blasters
29th June 2005, 11:50
well last years intercol at rostrevor, i cant remember who it was i think it was harris but i believe he was dragged at half time. so next time you say he burnt davey at every contest think about what actually did happen.
jo172
1st July 2005, 18:51
Marryatville are looking good in B Divison! Will play Brighton High School next including Bryce Gibbs.
cozdawg#09
6th July 2005, 21:43
Marryatville are looking good in B Divison! Will play Brighton High School next including Bryce Gibbs.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA..... Marryatville
jo172
7th July 2005, 19:25
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA..... Marryatville
Anything relevant to say?
Preverbial
8th July 2005, 15:16
I have played both RC and SHC and if these games are anything to go by SHC will absolutely thump RC. SHC have got an extremely solid back six with Cilento as their anchor, their rebounding game is far better than RC's and from wat I saw RC forwards dont like to chase so they could be in some trouble.
colin custard
13th July 2005, 15:17
Whilst this forum has plenty of slagging matches between whoever, obviously SHC currently own the bragging rights, living off last years football team.
Has anyone got any constructive thoughts on how any of the college teams would compete against the top say U17's or 19's team in the SANFL.
From what I have seen over the past couple of years my thoughts are.
2004 SHC team would make very good competition against an U19 team. Probably as good a college team as I have seen. However generally I would say that because of the lack of depth of the college teams, and I understand that they all have some very good players, that the teams I have seen this year St. Peters, PAC, Pembroke, Westminster, Rostrevor, Trinity would find it difficult to compete against the top U17 team (North), purely on the basis of depth.
Can anyone tell me how many players the top colleges, ie SHC, Rostrevor and St. Peters have playing SANFL level.
As the saying goes, you are only as good as your weakest player and from what I have seen, take away the top 6 from above sides and you end up with a distinct lack of depth in these sides.
To those that just want to talk up their own school, don't bother to answer, lets hear some constructive comment on this forum.
on the grape vine
13th July 2005, 23:34
shc have good depth every year that is why they win the hard games!!! Many college players would get games for their sanfl clubs if they didn't play college footy!! north 17's i didn't know that they were that good!
i know those college teams you mentioned have at least ten each capable of playing 17/19's
Henley4flag
20th July 2005, 14:29
Lol, all u college #*&$*(&$# are all jokes, u rostrevor boys if u are waiting to play the final against Sacred Heart, u gotta get through Henley, who u seemed to hav a little trouble with 2 years ago, remember that semi final at woodville, u guys just wernt up to the challenge were ya, sacred heart boys if u reckon forster is a star ur wrong, hes nothin but a little ugly retard.
Us Henley Boys, all hav experience with sanfl clubs, 2 of our players play A grade Amueture, and need i tell u about that on baller, mcdonnell, hes just like travis johnstone, only aint a heavy gambler.
shooter#9
21st July 2005, 00:19
Whilst this forum has plenty of slagging matches between whoever, obviously SHC currently own the bragging rights, living off last years football team.
Has anyone got any constructive thoughts on how any of the college teams would compete against the top say U17's or 19's team in the SANFL.
From what I have seen over the past couple of years my thoughts are.
2004 SHC team would make very good competition against an U19 team. Probably as good a college team as I have seen. However generally I would say that because of the lack of depth of the college teams, and I understand that they all have some very good players, that the teams I have seen this year St. Peters, PAC, Pembroke, Westminster, Rostrevor, Trinity would find it difficult to compete against the top U17 team (North), purely on the basis of depth.
Can anyone tell me how many players the top colleges, ie SHC, Rostrevor and St. Peters have playing SANFL level.
As the saying goes, you are only as good as your weakest player and from what I have seen, take away the top 6 from above sides and you end up with a distinct lack of depth in these sides.
To those that just want to talk up their own school, don't bother to answer, lets hear some constructive comment on this forum.
st peters have smith playing sturt reserves and hardy playing north 19s all the rest carve up in 17s because theyr clubs dont bother plying them in 19s because of college comitments.... I speak of schulz, thomas, white, christie and harry. (theres a few others who r reasonable 17s players)
colin custard
21st July 2005, 12:25
who are henley playing in the quarter finals of the knockout comp??? they have always had a reasonable side, can anyone tell me who they have this year and how they have been going???
Henley4flag
21st July 2005, 12:39
custard boy, we got PAC in quarters, shud hav beaten em last yr, lost by under a goal, free kick count 4 - 31 there way, they had the umpire, we hav played unley-big win, nurioopta-wth hurn- 10 goal win, blackwood -35 goals
too many names to say, all hav played sanfl at some stage, 2 play A grade amaetur, 5 hav been involved in the state under 16s, the dynamo is mcdonnell though, just plays amaeturs, but has bays 19s after him, possess a kick like T.Johnstone.
custard where u at, i wanna be singin the song with a little more gusto when i know we just rolled ur skool.
P.S PAC r they anything special
colin custard
21st July 2005, 12:46
havent seen pac play but they seem to be ok. they lost to shc by 10goals+ and rostrevor by 6 i think. be a close game though. if you beat pac in the quarters, will you then go on to play shc??? you probly wont have a chance against shc, so i doubt whether henley will be playing in the final!!!
Henley4flag
21st July 2005, 13:25
we play for fun and we still compete better than u college $#@&*$ we wud be playin the 2nd rank college team, so yes a GF spot is within reach. Who has beaten Sacred, no 1 i dont think. we r the best of the rest. where r u from custard boy, if ur rostresovr, u must be hate being the Cactus Club.
Its a shame you wont be good enough to play in the GF
Fall Out Boy
21st July 2005, 14:10
Please don't use sms speak, it upsets me.
Footyman07
21st July 2005, 18:33
Having two players playing A grade for amateur league is nothing special. Over half of the SHC side could play A Grade but instead they play for SANFL clubs. Having 5 under 16 state players is alright, but maybe your team is a bit young??
Henley4flag
21st July 2005, 18:45
i doubt whether half cud play A grade, the team they play for is top so there no easy beats, they wud be step up starts in sanfl ressies, under 16s not from this yr, 1 is, others were there last yr, we wil c, we arnt expected to win any games against private skools so when we do its quite sweet, as they put everything in these things
colin custard
25th July 2005, 16:44
st peters have smith playing sturt reserves and hardy playing north 19s all the rest carve up in 17s because theyr clubs dont bother plying them in 19s because of college comitments.... I speak of schulz, thomas, white, christie and harry. (theres a few others who r reasonable 17s players)
So, from what you have just said shooter, you support my theory. You have named 7 players, and yes Smith and Hardy are very good, White and Christie being in SA U16's obviously good players, Schulz and Thomas are not dominating for Norwood in U17 despite being top age players. Minson has great potential now fit. I am not talking about your good players, I am referring to your depth and unless you have a full list of SANFL players, as did SHC last year, then the teams will struggle.
colin custard
25th July 2005, 16:57
we play for fun and we still compete better than u college $#@&*$ we wud be playin the 2nd rank college team, so yes a GF spot is within reach. Who has beaten Sacred, no 1 i dont think. we r the best of the rest. where r u from custard boy, if ur rostresovr, u must be hate being the Cactus Club.
Its a shame you wont be good enough to play in the GF
Are you always so angry "Henley4flag", just so you know the Independent Schools side of the knockout is divided into two separate divisions, with the top two sides in each division going through into the quarter finals. This year SHC, St Michaels, PAC and Rostrevor went through. St. Peters do not enter for unknown reasons. On results this year it seems that SHC and Rostrevor are undefeated, St Peters probably third best team, Westminster next. However don't dismiss PAC, they are reasonable and will provide good competition for your gun outfit.
Your suggestion that you have players playing A Grade Amateur League is good, what team and what grade. If they were playing for Henley in Div 1, who are top, then they would be at a SANFL club without doubt and probably dominating. What position do you play and number are you Henley so if you happen to progress further, we can judge you on what you do and not what you write on this forum.
colin custard
25th July 2005, 18:28
sorry shulz i believe is an underage U17. just found that out
Henley4flag
25th July 2005, 22:32
i play in the guts and swap at half forward, we dont hav set guersey numbers as we only play k/out games, and dont hav a set team, wil grab 18 tho for ya to asses me.
who ru anyway, do u even play if so what numba, i dont expect us to beat ur mob if u r SHC, ur a quality line up who train all year together, we hav 22 blokes from like 7 different clubs. yes the amauter legue players r from henley, one in a fringe player, the other out and out star, possibly off to hawthorn in late draft pik, as recruitment officer is at skool. Picked in AMaetur League STate Under 23 squad. wud ******** on whoever u hav, whether it is ur little forster, smith, elliot, just pikn who i c is popular in these things...flanagan even, there all ******** compared to our bloke.
Flying Joey
26th July 2005, 08:39
i play in the guts and swap at half forward, we dont hav set guersey numbers as we only play k/out games, and dont hav a set team, wil grab 18 tho for ya to asses me.
who ru anyway, do u even play if so what numba, i dont expect us to beat ur mob if u r SHC, ur a quality line up who train all year together, we hav 22 blokes from like 7 different clubs. yes the amauter legue players r from henley, one in a fringe player, the other out and out star, possibly off to hawthorn in late draft pik, as recruitment officer is at skool. Picked in AMaetur League STate Under 23 squad. wud ******** on whoever u hav, whether it is ur little forster, smith, elliot, just pikn who i c is popular in these things...flanagan even, there all ******** compared to our bloke.
hmmmm..... i think ur credibility is now shot....an amatuer league player being better than a state u/18 player who was robbed of an all-australian spot as said not by me but by the REAL hawthorn recruitment manager and geelong assistant coach....name names henley and rmber one man dont make a team
shooter#9
26th July 2005, 09:03
So, from what you have just said shooter, you support my theory. You have named 7 players, and yes Smith and Hardy are very good, White and Christie being in SA U16's obviously good players, Schulz and Thomas are not dominating for Norwood in U17 despite being top age players. Minson has great potential now fit. I am not talking about your good players, I am referring to your depth and unless you have a full list of SANFL players, as did SHC last year, then the teams will struggle.
Schulz took in excess of 20 marks on the weekend against glenelg and got over 30 possesions from CHB and used the footy well, rebounded all day, all while keeping his man to 0 goals and about 2 marks for the whole game. Lead norwood 17's to only their 2nd win of the season. I would call that domination from an U16's player. Minson also played well with some excellent overhead grabs and some timely goals
colin custard
26th July 2005, 12:21
henley, if your so called gun was starring for henley in A1, he would have to be in the system (at a league club, state squad etc...). do you honestly think he will get picked up because your teacher is a recruiting manager. keep dreaming mate and when you play a decent independent school your depth will get found out and by the way you have been speaking on here you are a one man team, which will be exploited by other schools with greater depth and quality than your star team.
Henley4flag
26th July 2005, 12:39
what u talkin about 1 man team, we all are contributors u ************, who do u play for, why dont u answer that u little fag, why dont u name ur players aswell, all u seem to name are ur state players
Henley4flag
26th July 2005, 12:40
u shud be aware of our other players i told ya where they play!
Flying Joey
26th July 2005, 13:17
what u talkin about 1 man team, we all are contributors u ************, who do u play for, why dont u answer that u little fag, why dont u name ur players aswell, all u seem to name are ur state players
i dont have to prove myself to u..... we've been there and won it..come back wen u win a state k/out final...and stop swearing
Henley4flag
26th July 2005, 13:20
dont u like the swearing, u must be at a private skool, i wasnt talkin to u anyway, i was talkin to custard boy. but now that i got ur attention tel me what numba ya are, so i can take u out when u go near the ball, we all know college fags don't like it rough, unless its in the bedroom with another guy.
T ravv O
26th July 2005, 18:09
All right all right all right. Now boys, henley may not be well known but their team this year is bloody good. I play first 18's for St. Micks and im great mates with some of Henleys players. Although i dont like to admit it, they've definately got the potential. Their two A1 players are lagite, they're the real deal. Their ruckman troubridge has shown more progress than Dean Cox and their depth is unvelievable. Their backline are full of hardnuts but they also posess talent. Im good mates with Seamus McDonnell, ( nickname Shamo!) and hes a genuine class act. He will lead them in the midlfield with hard at it style and also skill. He only players ametuer for Henley 17's but hes been hunted by the SANFL. He's rumoured to play like Travis Johnstone from the Demons. Troubridge palms it into his lap more than enough and Troubrige is near impossible to go with around the ground.
colin custard
26th July 2005, 20:33
mate, before you start talking up your mates and their schools, you have to realise that henley are good compared to your school, but i think when they match up against the likes of saints, rostrevor and shc, they will more likely lose.
not saying henley are bad, they must be good, but it is obvious they will lack the depth required to beat a good college team, who train and play together all year, in stark contrast to a public school who get together and play only a couple of games.
T ravv O
26th July 2005, 21:27
custard, u cant sit there and talk about depth when u obviosuly have no idea whos in their team! Im not saying the private schools aren't good mate but ive seen whos in henleys team so i can talk, and i will! If u think u guys are awesome cause uve got ur little competition every saturday, ur gonna get a shock when u come across henley. U guys may train together but these guys are the best of friends, they play for eachother and its known that they have more pride than private schools. College players are in it for themselves, these guys are an actual team who put their bodies on the line for eachother. Get an idea mate before u talk urself up!
Fall Out Boy
26th July 2005, 23:11
dont u like the swearing.
I don't know what he likes, but i certainly don't like it and i'm the one you need to worry about.
I'm leaving your rubbish up so others can see what not to do.
Bye.
Flying Joey
27th July 2005, 08:34
dont u like the swearing, u must be at a private skool, i wasnt talkin to u anyway, i was talkin to custard boy. but now that i got ur attention tel me what numba ya are, so i can take u out when u go near the ball, we all know college fags don't like it rough, unless its in the bedroom with another guy.
1st of all, i go to a private college and its co-ed so no im not gay...sorry to disappoint u!!! and second, IF u make the k/out then ull see plenty of my number then and u can take me out as much as u want cos ill be first to the ball.....ive played againts u guys in a k/out game and in amatuer league and uve talked ur players up way too much....compared to a good college school, who has 100 years tradition and pride, u wont win....henley are the best public school but cant compare to a private school like rc, sts or shc till u beat us......
RooDog
27th July 2005, 18:07
All right all right all right. Now boys, henley may not be well known but their team this year is bloody good. I play first 18's for St. Micks and im great mates with some of Henleys players. Although i dont like to admit it, they've definately got the potential. Their two A1 players are lagite, they're the real deal. Their ruckman troubridge has shown more progress than Dean Cox and their depth is unvelievable. Their backline are full of hardnuts but they also posess talent. Im good mates with Seamus McDonnell, ( nickname Shamo!) and hes a genuine class act. He will lead them in the midlfield with hard at it style and also skill. He only players ametuer for Henley 17's but hes been hunted by the SANFL. He's rumoured to play like Travis Johnstone from the Demons. Troubridge palms it into his lap more than enough and Troubrige is near impossible to go with around the ground.
you have to be kidding abnout Dean Cox, you are comparing a 17 year old ruckman to the best ruckman in the AFL??? Cox didnt show a lot of potential as a youngster because rumour has it west coast hid him from the other clubs and just stuck him on the rookie list while he finished maturing.
I know if i wanted to be an elite midfielder i woudlt want to be comparred to Travis Johnstone, cant tackle, lacks fitness, lacks toughness, you may say hes winning the hard ball gets at Melbourne but that is with a stat that doesnt place him anywhere near the top 20 in the league and is in team with the 2nd to least hard ball gets..
henley are not real contenders, it will be a SHC vs Rostrevor Grand Final.
to Henley4Flag, it doesnt matter whether or not he likes swearing, whats the need to bring it into what has been a reasonable debate so far, it shows your true class, and the comment about hitting someone before they get to the ball shows that all your team is a team of dirty little thugs, you guys have no hope.
Flying Joey
28th July 2005, 08:33
you have to be kidding abnout Dean Cox, you are comparing a 17 year old ruckman to the best ruckman in the AFL??? Cox didnt show a lot of potential as a youngster because rumour has it west coast hid him from the other clubs and just stuck him on the rookie list while he finished maturing.
I know if i wanted to be an elite midfielder i woudlt want to be comparred to Travis Johnstone, cant tackle, lacks fitness, lacks toughness, you may say hes winning the hard ball gets at Melbourne but that is with a stat that doesnt place him anywhere near the top 20 in the league and is in team with the 2nd to least hard ball gets..
henley are not real contenders, it will be a SHC vs Rostrevor Grand Final.
to Henley4Flag, it doesnt matter whether or not he likes swearing, whats the need to bring it into what has been a reasonable debate so far, it shows your true class, and the comment about hitting someone before they get to the ball shows that all your team is a team of dirty little thugs, you guys have no hope.
here here....a well written reply...u cant compare a junior to an elite afl player cos theres still plenty of water to go under the bridge
T ravv O
28th July 2005, 17:00
buddy, u obviously have no idea about footy cause what your saying is hilarious. Johnstones not an elite midfielder, ha! He can barley play the poor fella cause hes constantly injured, evryones on his back saying he hasnt played enough footy and the two main seasons that he's been fit in, he has absolutely cut teams to threads. Now he has to contend with a tag every single week and still comes up with 25 possies plus! Im a melbourne fan and see a lot more of him than you and know a lot more about AFL than anyone and he does the hard things he has to do. Pull your head in mate, ha!
colin custard
28th July 2005, 20:36
how good travis johnstone is, isnt the point. the point is that you cant compare a 17 year old kid playing amatuer footy for his club, to an afl player.
RooDog
29th July 2005, 14:54
buddy, u obviously have no idea about footy cause what your saying is hilarious. Johnstones not an elite midfielder, ha! He can barley play the poor fella cause hes constantly injured, evryones on his back saying he hasnt played enough footy and the two main seasons that he's been fit in, he has absolutely cut teams to threads. Now he has to contend with a tag every single week and still comes up with 25 possies plus! Im a melbourne fan and see a lot more of him than you and know a lot more about AFL than anyone and he does the hard things he has to do. Pull your head in mate, ha!
for someone that comes up with 25 possesion plus a week he has only done it 7 times this season, a season where he has played every game, a seaon where he was had under 20 9 times, so that would suggest he struggles with the tag... and he doesnt beat it to often, less than 50% of the time actually. Compare him to a real elite midfielder that gets tagged every week like Ben Cousins, who has had 11 games over 25 possies, he has only been below 20 once. You may say that he has Judd to divert attention from him, Melbourne have Cam The Bruce whos was brownlow fave until his shoulder injury who probably gets tagged as hard... Well if hes been innjured so much how can we call him an elite midfielder, lets face it he is an average midfielder, whos unfit.
colin custard
29th July 2005, 15:51
johnstone's best year has been this year by far. i think he is finally playing up to the standard he should be as a no. 1 pick. probly cant call him an elite midfielder at this stage, but is on his way. has probly the best foot skills going round atm, hardly ever misses a target! i think he will poll well in the brownlow.
T ravv O
29th July 2005, 17:14
when he was fit in 2002 he chalked up forth in the brownlow, thats a pretty good effort for a non elite midfielder i think! He's doing it again this yr cause he's got himself fit and ready although cameron the bruce, green and robbo will steal some of his votes. I watch him like a hawk cause he's my no. 1 player and he is all class. He might not poll that well anymore because the dees are losing but he'll win there b & f dont u worry about that! Boo yeah!
T ravv O
29th July 2005, 17:20
Who face it roodog? what is there to face? it's a matter of opinion whether he's elite or not. When you do as much damage as travis does with his feet you dont need the ball a whole lot. Who said he was elite in the first place? not me? i just backed him up after someone said he wasnt elite. If you dont want to get compared to the DEADLIEST mifielder in the game (maybe not elite), you're kidding urself buddy
betterthantherest
2nd August 2005, 12:06
any team who needs to buy players is definately struggling...
SHC ALL THE WAY
T ravv O
2nd August 2005, 15:38
henley had lack of players and just took care of PAC, next is sacred heart
colin custard
2nd August 2005, 17:02
did henley beat pac? when was it played? margin? when are they playing shc?
potholes
3rd August 2005, 10:16
Henley beat PAC by 10 points or something around that margin. But you henley boys seem to be a little big for your boots. Sacred Heart beat wirreanda in a shortened match by 18 goals. with a number of noticeable players missing. Sam Elliott, Aaron Day, Lachlan Button, Jace Power, Jack Fosdike, Richard O'Grady and Sean Rice(season). Probably missed a few to.
First18
3rd August 2005, 11:04
did henley beat pac? when was it played? margin? when are they playing shc?
pac got pumped by st. michaels on the weekend. but they were missing some state players. still, st michaels aren't exactly awesome. and rostrevor beat saints, they're making a pretty good charge towards intercol!
colin custard
3rd August 2005, 16:42
how much did rostrevor beat saints by??? i believe there are 4 teams left in knockout, shc, rc, st micks and henley.
Footyman07
3rd August 2005, 17:07
pac got pumped by st. michaels on the weekend. but they were missing some state players. still, st michaels aren't exactly awesome. and rostrevor beat saints, they're making a pretty good charge towards intercol!
Yea they're making an awesome charge :rolleyes: They only beat St. Peters by 5 points on a perfect day for footy whereas SHC beat St. Peters by 3 goals in the worst conditions seen this year for footy.