this is just rediculous
bettsie
3rd June 2005, 18:53
C Brown (scotch)
N Ries (wesley)
F Watts (wesley)
wingman
3rd June 2005, 18:56
ferg watts hasnt played that well for adelaide i wouldnt had him into my team.
Skevies
3rd June 2005, 19:00
Paul Corrigan 100 games for Geelong went to Haileybury
BrettMoyle played over 50 games for St Kilda went to Haileybury
Dylan Smith Haileybury Currently playing for Freemantle every week
davo4030
3rd June 2005, 19:01
Luke Williams (St Kevins)
Chris Heffernan (Geelong College)????
Marns
3rd June 2005, 19:06
Luke Williams (St Kevins)
Chris Heffernan (Geelong College)????
I doubt they'd make the cut
bettsie
3rd June 2005, 19:14
Tom Roach hasnt done much either.
wingman
3rd June 2005, 20:02
true roach hasnt been performing that well.
bendova
3rd June 2005, 20:11
thats true roach hasnt been performing that well but still i didnt want carey to feel bad not having anyone inclusion to the aps team of the decade. wesley i can deal with not having anyone.
ghetto blasters
3rd June 2005, 20:13
jackson(carey)???
bendova
3rd June 2005, 20:19
yeha that is a very good call dan jackson
talent_scout
3rd June 2005, 20:24
Andrew Thompson (melbourne)
Simon Beaumont (melbourne)
bendova
3rd June 2005, 20:29
andrew the great depression thompson that is a good call and also beaumont.
aps team over the last 10 years looks strong how would it match compared to ags
tombo
3rd June 2005, 21:35
AGS have crawford so they would top everyone
go hawks
ducky18
3rd June 2005, 21:38
go hawks
chris Judd :D
tombo
3rd June 2005, 21:42
chris Judd :D
pleeeasssee wait till he wins another brownlow then come to me
crawford shoulda won more than one
hodgey111
3rd June 2005, 22:38
McQualter
jimbo1
4th June 2005, 00:42
Tim Clarke? (Geelong College) is doing very well at hawthorn at the moment, somthing to think about?
nutcase
4th June 2005, 20:03
Charlie Gardiner is playing some alright footy, though not a standout hes kicked a couple and on the improve- captained GGS 1's back in 2000
nutcase
4th June 2005, 20:06
plus can you add deledio to the list considering he went to caulfield grammar for the first three weeks of this year. But the AGS undoubtedly have one of the greatest young guns going round- Travis Cloke is a wizard (does yr. 12 at Yarra Valley) with braces, the man could go b&f this year at the pies.
mudgeathon
4th June 2005, 22:54
Just want some clarification, is APS team based on what they did at school, or what the've done afterwards?
bendova
5th June 2005, 10:17
The aps dream team is based on wat aps students have done at afl level in the past ten years. some names have been added to the list that may be contraversial. the question is wat would your best 22 players from aps in the last 10 years be????
ducky18
5th June 2005, 11:58
ryan o'keefe (st kevins)
cfc05
5th June 2005, 13:04
distinct lack of KPP, could few people from each school put foward a few names who are a realistic chance - not names like the xavs boys throw around ( like the one gamers), however atm charlie gardiner is one of the few KPP and could almost get a spot.
jimmy12
5th June 2005, 13:15
what does KPP mean. keep clear of the one gamers. post players that have made an impact in the afl. post a name then some infor bout them. make it easier to justify the choices of players.
There should be a team posted. including positions. but need more info on players added to the list.
wingman
5th June 2005, 13:19
deledio has made an impact on afl football, but i doubt his few weeks at an cgs qualifies him as an aps representive. nethertheless it is one more star that ags dont have. aps team is shapping up
cfc05
5th June 2005, 13:29
Josh mahoney (SKC) would also have to be looked at, premiership player. KPP means key position players, besides schuable???, maybe beumont, gardiner - really know one
wingman
5th June 2005, 15:32
who would be the captain of the aps team of the decade. this should be based on their leadership, not performance. judd would be the captain based on performance. ala brownlow. but i was thinking bout it and i belive maxfield shows captain quality as he has been captaining sydney since paul kellys retirement. anyone else want to make call on it ???
bendova
5th June 2005, 19:09
Chaffy or Maxfield as captain
McPhee
5th June 2005, 19:21
plus can you add deledio to the list considering he went to caulfield grammar for the first three weeks of this year. But the AGS undoubtedly have one of the greatest young guns going round- Travis Cloke is a wizard (does yr. 12 at Yarra Valley) with braces, the man could go b&f this year at the pies.
wtf??? are you being serious or this a stupid joke?? best and fairest this year. You have got to be kidding. Hes a good player with a huge future, guarantee that but b&f, thats just crazy talk
meat cleaver
5th June 2005, 20:02
Meat cleaver thinks nutcase has a valid point there. i mean just look at the kind of play the young lad is dishing up each week, he may as well open a cafe and i reckon that may very well score three hats in THE AGE'S 'good food guide' next whenever. im not a fan of the pies but he plays salivating footy, b&f aint such a long shot, hes certainly the top cloke of them all.
D-Mon
6th June 2005, 17:54
Brett Deledio (caulfield)
anyone want to add to the list
I don't know if you can really count him? Wasn't he only at Caulfield for about a week (now gets "home-schooled" at Richmond??)
mighty mole
6th June 2005, 20:02
He was still at the school, even though it wasn't for long
doggies
7th June 2005, 14:45
leoncelli, mcdonald, schauble (XAV)
sebastien
11th June 2005, 17:18
thats true roach hasnt been performing that well but still i didnt want carey to feel bad not having anyone inclusion to the aps team of the decade. wesley i can deal with not having anyone.
Kieran McGuiness, Julian Rowe (Carey)
meat cleaver
11th June 2005, 19:23
look lets end the debate we are only embarrassing the boys of the ACC, and AGS. They claim they have more that have played AFL footy. for 1. the APS has by far had more as weve all seen from the above posts and 2. the boys that actually play AFL from the APS make an impact unseen before- i only point to Ball and Judd as evidence. The APS is the Premier League of schoolboy footy as far as all are concern. END OF STORY.
Skevies
5th July 2005, 10:40
Chris judd is by the far the best to come out of the aps system for a long time for obvious reasons.
look lets end the debate we are only embarrassing the boys of the ACC, and AGS. They claim they have more that have played AFL footy. for 1. the APS has by far had more as weve all seen from the above posts and 2. the boys that actually play AFL from the APS make an impact unseen before- i only point to Ball and Judd as evidence. The APS is the Premier League of schoolboy footy as far as all are concern. END OF STORY.
Here is an ACC side currently playing AFL mate so just hold what you say before you read this:
John Barker
Cameron Ling
Matthew Scarlett
James Bartel
Heath Black
Jude Bolton
Blake Caracella
Trent Croad
Daniel Giansiracusa
Aaron Hamill
Ben Johnson
Matthew Lloyd
Scott Lucas
Matthew Robbins
Rohan Smith
David Spriggs
Nick Maxwell
Daniel Harford
Ricky Dyson
They are some just off the top of my head
meat cleaver
5th July 2005, 12:49
very well mate but the fact remains that that group would have played about 10 ACC games between the lot of them because no one in that competition gives a ******** about their school, they all want to go and play TAC. If they guys in the APS were playing in the TAC instead of APS i guarantee there would be exponential growth in the numbers of APS boys in the AFL. Talk up your comp all you want but the fact remains that it is merely a shadow of the prestige that the APS is because absolutely no one in the ACC that can kick more than 30m gives a ******** about playing in it.
davo4030
5th July 2005, 14:27
very well mate but the fact remains that that group would have played about 10 ACC games between the lot of them because no one in that competition gives a ******** about their school, they all want to go and play TAC. If they guys in the APS were playing in the TAC instead of APS i guarantee there would be exponential growth in the numbers of APS boys in the AFL. Talk up your comp all you want but the fact remains that it is merely a shadow of the prestige that the APS is because absolutely no one in the ACC that can kick more than 30m gives a ******** about playing in it.
Agree.
If this is true then the APS is bad for football, as it is holding back potential AFL players.
Also Bartel, Reynolds and Maxwell were all at St Joseph's when I was there and all 3 played just about every game for the school
meat cleaver
6th July 2005, 15:44
congratulations you had three boys play a game for in the past 10 years. if you have read any posts from the people at your old school about st joeys current crop ie. that out of the 11 falcons at the school 1 will play ACC football goes to show the ACC is merely a joke of a comp
linger_isgod
6th July 2005, 15:56
congratulations you had three boys play a game for in the past 10 years. if you have read any posts from the people at your old school about st joeys current crop ie. that out of the 11 falcons at the school 1 will play ACC football goes to show the ACC is merely a joke of a comp
What makes school football so important? I've been through the whole similar system with another sport, and I can tell you - what do you get out of playing a lower standard of football like APS as opposed to being available to play TAC cup all the time? Compulsory sport on Saturdays takes away opportunites for the best school sportsmen (and probably sportswomen) to be able to put themselves on the various pathways that various sports set out for their youngsters.
Instead we see people having their development delayed by the APS and AGS program. Sure, guys like your Judds and your Balls will still get drafted, but what about your DeBruins, Newnhams and Remmers' who get pulled away from the natural progression for footballers, and if they had have had the chance to play TAC and go through the Football Victoria progam the whole time might end up on rookie lists or late draft picks, instead of the footballing wilderness.
What the ACC progam allows is for the schools to try and find a balance between letting their talented sportspeople progress, while occassionally asking for something back with the odd game here and there. In the end, there is very little as inconsequential in the scheme of things - no matter how much your school tells you - as school sport.
theoffie
6th July 2005, 20:22
yeah but they're catholic
linger_isgod
7th July 2005, 09:00
yeah but they're catholic
Class. :rolleyes:
What makes school football so important? I've been through the whole similar system with another sport, and I can tell you - what do you get out of playing a lower standard of football like APS as opposed to being available to play TAC cup all the time? Compulsory sport on Saturdays takes away opportunites for the best school sportsmen (and probably sportswomen) to be able to put themselves on the various pathways that various sports set out for their youngsters.
Instead we see people having their development delayed by the APS and AGS program. Sure, guys like your Judds and your Balls will still get drafted, but what about your DeBruins, Newnhams and Remmers' who get pulled away from the natural progression for footballers, and if they had have had the chance to play TAC and go through the Football Victoria progam the whole time might end up on rookie lists or late draft picks, instead of the footballing wilderness.
What the ACC progam allows is for the schools to try and find a balance between letting their talented sportspeople progress, while occassionally asking for something back with the odd game here and there. In the end, there is very little as inconsequential in the scheme of things - no matter how much your school tells you - as school sport.
Sensational post. Where are you on that one meat clever?
mighty mole
7th July 2005, 21:25
Some kids still play TAC but most just think that playing with their mates in a good comp is more important at this stage of their careers instead of playing in a great comp because they still have a hell of alot of competitive footy aheadof them
linger_isgod
8th July 2005, 09:28
Some kids still play TAC but most just think that playing with their mates in a good comp is more important at this stage of their careers instead of playing in a great comp because they still have a hell of alot of competitive footy aheadof them
They don't get a chance to "think". They are forced to play in the APS. And a hell of a lot of competitive "U/19 Old Xavs/Skevs/Scotch" or VFL Seconds instead of getting paid $40 000 a year to play football for an AFL club? Its not doing the right thing by the kid.
PMS24/7
8th July 2005, 10:51
I do think you have gone off the track with APS footy, as an eleven year old, little johnny has bugger all say in the school he goes to, this is a parental choice, if parents can afford to send them to an APS school, they will and they can find one with all religions catered for.
A large number of parents give up a lot to have little johnny attend a private school, so when he is not one of the 70 or so out of the 20 million population that is picked each year he can actually get a job which he may enjoy doing as well as play football on the weekend for the enjoyment of the game.
So, when you all apply for jobs and some well mannered and presented little prick gets the job before you, ask yourself would you have liked your parents to make the sacrifice and have sent you to one. Not for one minute would I suggest that all private school kids are well mannered or presented or that non private school kids are any less mannered or presented but generally thats in part what parents pay $16K a year for.
The slagging that goes on in this thread tends to show how we as Australians still like to chop the tall poppy, as I have stated, you as a child have little or no say in your schooling and I will bet when you have your own little buggers, you will check out private schools for them when it comes to education.
linger_isgod
8th July 2005, 11:10
No, they don't have a choice in the majority of cases (barring scholarshipping [which, in fact, often suprises me that so many are keen to take the bait thrown at them. As opposed to cricket, where you find that the best near always knock back scholarships for the chance to play Premier Cricket week in week out).
But there seems to be far too much emphasis on how good the APS (and other similar school sports competitions) is for the development of footballers in this forum, and how they produce so many AFL players, etc. when in all honesty, it is these sort of school sport programs that hold back the elite youngsters, as opposed to promote them.
linger_isgod
8th July 2005, 11:14
Also, I went to a Private school myself, and I'd be looking forward to sending my child to a Private school if I'm lucky enough to have the finances to when I have a child (fingers crossed).
That doesn't mean that school football (on the Saturdays, overriding other competitions) is beneficial for a talented youngster, or indeed superior to other competitions that don't implement this, which is what I'm arguing about.
Especially when you consider that most of the targeting for TAC cup comes from the best of the junior football leagues, as opposed to school football.
PMS24/7
8th July 2005, 11:37
Also, I went to a Private school myself, and I'd be looking forward to sending my child to a Private school if I'm lucky enough to have the finances to when I have a child (fingers crossed).
That doesn't mean that school football (on the Saturdays, overriding other competitions) is beneficial for a talented youngster, or indeed superior to other competitions that don't implement this, which is what I'm arguing about.
Especially when you consider that most of the targeting for TAC cup comes from the best of the junior football leagues, as opposed to school football.
You are right in what you say, totally, and I agree with the Saturday Competition being a pain in the r's for talented kids who have no choice in playing for school, but again it comes down to a life choice by parents.
The APS competition is not the be all and end all and never will be but it does produce a few players that can take the next step to AFL, and if scouts and TAC staff are doing there job they will find them one way or another.
Obviously by your previous post you are a good cricketer, if so I would suggest you go to the cricket victoria web site and see how many kids have been in the Victorian Pathway Squads that originate from the private school system along with the debuts made in Premier Firsts over the last few years, it does tend to dispell you ascertion that they do not take up scholarships or come out of the private system.
Have a nice day, I do agree with a lot you say
The Wizard
13th July 2005, 18:06
Josh mahoney (SKC) would also have to be looked at, premiership player.
Chris & Brad Scott - multiple premiership winners. No APS school has produced as many premiership players than SKC in the last few years.
meat cleaver
13th July 2005, 20:07
Sensational post. Where are you on that one meat clever?
what are you talking about pepi. This thread was started under the guise of a discussion about who the the best APS players have been in the past decade. However as has become the case in so many school football threads jealous TAC cup middle-aged male fanatics who sadly look up to kids a thrid of their age hijack the thread trying to u-turn it into a discussion on how great the TAC cup is. This frustrating occurence has sadly become a daily ritual for those who do not understand that the sub-heading of 'school football' means just that - SCHOOL FOOTBALL and that threads of 'APS Team of the Decade' again involves discussion about the best players in the APS of the past decade, not the ACC, not the AGS and certainly not the TAC cup. For those of you that cannot understand this it proves that your education has most likely been spent playing table tennis during English class.
Thursfield7
14th July 2005, 08:53
[I]
Brett Deledio (caulfield)
did brett deledio even go to caufield :confused:
linger_isgod
14th July 2005, 09:46
did brett deledio even go to caufield :confused:
He's going there, doing Yr 12 over two years, since he's come down from Kyabram.
Pepi
14th July 2005, 12:15
Does that post look familiar meat clever? It seems that you were the one who started the argument. No one had even mentioned the ACC until this post by you. As for all that crap you said about the TAC, I dont see where I have written anything about the TAC, so mate you are really struggling.
Thursfield7
14th July 2005, 13:53
He's going there, doing Yr 12 over two years, since he's come down from Kyabram.
didnt know that... shows how much i know
meat cleaver
14th July 2005, 13:57
go hawks
The main point of my previous post was to outline the frustration of AGS and ACC talk becoming discussion in APS forums, whether the ACC had been mentioned at that point in the thread is neither here nor there. Had you checked on the first page of this thread you will see that your AGS friends have in fact started this debate as seen in Tombo's quote- please check the records before you begin to make any more ill-conceived comments. And if you had realised the point of my last post, it was to illustrate many peoples frustration at those who enter school football threads to merely talk up how great the TAC cup is and how unnecessary school boy football is- which you are obviously are a part of in your support of Linger_isgod's post. Please try to understand the basic point of the post before you lash out in future, that would be greatly appreciated.
nicho_magic
16th July 2005, 17:38
i emphasise that this is an aps dream team not an AFL/APS dream team and hence, ferg would get in along with ries
jimmy12
20th July 2005, 18:35
F.Watts is alligable thats for sure played for wesley and now adelaide but the aps team of the decade would be the best 22 that played aps then afl. and coz F.Watts has rairly played that well for adelaide i agree wouldnt select him to play in the team of the decade.
Mr Wong
20th July 2005, 20:04
All school APS, ACC teams would beat SHC from SA :p
Burleigh :p
Flying Joey
29th July 2005, 08:37
All school APS, ACC teams would beat SHC from SA :p
Burleigh :p
correct u no-brainer....everyone knows the melb colleges are the strongest in the land..... ur progressively losing more and more credibility cos ur always wong
Powers manager
27th August 2005, 22:13
Its hard to know where to draw the line on how few games players can have played in either the APS or the AFL. McQualter and Ellis I believe will without a doubt prove their ability and if we had this thread in a year or two they would I assume be on it. Brett Deledio's short time at Caulfield surely makes him inalegible.
APS_talentscout
6th September 2005, 17:51
PEGS have the player that is leading posession getter in the AFL this year, Scott West, he would be one of the best grabs for AGSV!
A_Kerr
7th September 2005, 17:23
definitely ryan o'keefe (st kevins)
Main Man
22nd September 2005, 15:06
AGS has the two biggest Shanes of them all Crawford and Warne... The APS can go and suck on a lemon!
Johnny Utah #9
24th October 2005, 21:25
KPP look no further than L Penny from St Kevin's.
Plus S Garlick (SKC), S Powell (SKC). Both close to 200 game players at AFL level.
Before people name the likes of Daniel Jackson who has played about 5 games, should look at Bowen Lockwood (PA and Geel Coll), David Clarke (Carl/Geel & Geel Coll), A Kellaway, Chaffey, Damian Ryan all Caulfield 1995.
David Bourke (Xav's).
Andrew Scauble (Xav's)
Chad Davis (Carey)
Worth mentioning also Donald & David Cockatoo-Collins (Melbourne & Wesley). In 1996 they played one week for Melbourne seniors then the next for Wesley First XVIII. Can;t imagine that happening in AGS or ACC.
FootyGuru
26th October 2005, 17:13
there would have been alot of players that could deserve a spot in the aps team of the decade that didint go on to make afl.
i cant believe people are naming brett deledio, as i remember he didnt even play one game with caulfield
username
6th November 2005, 12:48
as if goddard, most overrated player ever... yet he did alrite in his school footy years
Number 8
7th November 2005, 13:41
There would be quite a few guys from MGS 2004/05 team get a gig. LIKe Ellis, Hawkins, Gooleys x 2, Leslie, morrison,thomas, They all dominated at APS level and some very unlucky not to get picked especially when people like Watts and erickson have been picked up in recent years
brian speaking
25th November 2005, 22:32
Add Nick Stone(Haw, Coll, StK) Wesley, Simon Arnott Wesley.
brian speaking
25th November 2005, 22:36
leoncelli, mcdonald, schauble (XAV)
Mac Donalds did not go to Xavier, they went to BAllarat High School.
brian speaking
25th November 2005, 22:37
Andrew McQualter StK(Caulfield)
brian speaking
25th November 2005, 22:40
who would be the captain of the aps team of the decade. this should be based on their leadership, not performance. judd would be the captain based on performance. ala brownlow. but i was thinking bout it and i belive maxfield shows captain quality as he has been captaining sydney since paul kellys retirement. anyone else want to make call on it ???
Pretty obvious that Chris Scott would be captain. Vice-Captain at Brisbane in 3 flags.
brian speaking
25th November 2005, 22:42
Matt Lucas St Kevs Western Bulldogs...absolute freak show.
brian speaking
25th November 2005, 22:48
Handy 1997 Skevs APS premiership team
Ryan O'Keefe- drafted
Luke Penny- drafted
Luke Williams-drafted
Matt Lucas-drafted
Dan Sadler- Port Melbourne Seniors
Josh Radford- Vice Captain Sandringham Seniors
Luke Kalasaren- Western Jets
Nick Perret- Calder Cannons
Jon Pangrazio- Oakleigh Chargers
Steve O'Connor AAFC All Australian Amateur
No handouts and no scholarships... A once in a lifetime happening
Thank Christ they won it that year.
MOJOE
25th November 2005, 22:52
Handy 1997 Skevs APS premiership team
Ryan O'Keefe- drafted
Luke Penny- drafted
Luke Williams-drafted
Matt Lucas-drafted
Dan Sadler- Port Melbourne Seniors
Josh Radford- Vice Captain Sandringham Seniors
Luke Kalasaren- Western Jets
Nick Perret- Calder Cannons
Jon Pangrazio- Oakleigh Chargers
Steve O'Connor AAFC All Australian Amateur
No handouts and no scholarships... A once in a lifetime happening
Thank Christ they won it that year.
It was a pity Penny got shafted that year - whereas O'Keefe stuck with Skevs when offered the chance to play for the state.
Matty Lucas should have made it, but the knee ruined his hopes.
peternorth
28th November 2005, 13:31
Simon Arnott - Wesley College
lazyhare
30th November 2005, 18:34
Chris Langford (mgs) he was a decent full back :D