View Full Version : VFL: Devils v Northern Bullants at Devonport.
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 14:54
Second Quarter: 12 mins
Tasmania Devils 3.2.20 - Northern Bullants 2.5.17
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 15:00
Second Quarter: 19 mins
Tasmania Devils 3.5.23 - Northern Bullants 2.8.20
Current Conditions at Devonport: 14C
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 15:09
Second Quarter: 27 mins
Tasmania Devils 3.6.24 - Northern Bullants 3.10.28
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 15:14
Half-Time
Tasmania Devils 3.6.24 - Northern Bullants 3.10.28
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 15:45
Third Quarter: 12 mins
Tasmania Devils 4.7.31 - Northern Bullants 4.12.36
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 15:55
Third Quarter: 21 mins
Tasmania Devils 4.7.31 - Northern Bullants 6.16.52
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 16:03
Three Quarter Time
Tasmania Devils 6.7.43 - Northern Bullants 6.16.52
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 16:12
Final Quarter: 7 mins
Tasmania Devils 7.7.49 - Northern Bullants 7.17.59
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 16:20
Final Quarter: 17 mins
Tasmania Devils 7.7.49 - Northern Bullants 9.19.73
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 16:29
Final Quarter: 24 mins
Tasmania Devils 9.8.62 - Northern Bullants 9.19.73
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 16:45
Final Score
Northern Bullants 10.20.80 - Tasmania Devils 9.8.62
footyman
4th June 2005, 19:52
Good job with the updates. How did you get those?
Bullants seem wasteful with their kicking for goal, but at least the Devonport conditions must have been better than when Werribee went down there last year.
TigerFan
4th June 2005, 20:26
did Todd Grima wind up playing? if so, how did he go?
What was the crowd like at Devonport, heard that if they don't get over 2,000 then VFL games will not be played there. To be honest I don't think the Nor-west cares about VFL or the Devils, they are more interested in their local footy.
First nail in the coffin of the Devils! :D
Kingpin
4th June 2005, 22:50
Good job with the updates. How did you get those?
Bullants seem wasteful with their kicking for goal, but at least the Devonport conditions must have been better than when Werribee went down there last year.
Thankyou Footyman. They were being given out on every 10-15 mins on 7ZR today.
Apparently it was pretty windy at Devonport Oval this afternoon. According to the commentator at the ground it was quite swirly, that would be a pretty good reason for the poor kicking at goal.
I remember the weather conditions that day against Werribee, a traditional Coastal storm day.
WCL: Crowd of around 2000.
onslaught
5th June 2005, 10:22
The Devils win/loss record this season wouldn't be doing much to encourage people to the games.
What have their crowds been like at North Hobart and Bellerive Oval this year?
I think that they have been getting crowds between 2,000 and 5,000, still pretty good in the south. Whereas in the North the numbers have dropped off considerably and new intrest in the local comp seems to be taking over.
Kingpin
5th June 2005, 17:58
The Devils win/loss record this season wouldn't be doing much to encourage people to the games.
What have their crowds been like at North Hobart and Bellerive Oval this year?
Still getting around 2000-3500 in the South generally.
The Devils are still hogging the press in the South, offering every conceivable excuse sa to why they are not winning.
Devonport Oval being too big was the excuse yesterday, even though Bellerive and York Park are roughly the same size.
The local crowds in the SFL Premier League are still very poor, although the Regional (Country) League are getting a fair few to thier games, by in large.
The North & North West aren't particularly interested in the Devils, because it is seen as a Hobart-centric side, and because it is run by AFL Tasmania
Watching todays game live at Manuka Oval is why I love local footy so much and why I am such a fan of the way the NTFL is going about their business. It was a game with a fair bit of skill but went no-where, all they did all day was go backwards and turn it over. I still love Geelong and they are always going to be my No.1 team in the country, but as a neutral supporter of teams in Local comps I prefer to watch them anyday. The great thing about Local footy is that their all mates who have come together at their own free will, whereas in the AFL they are really thrown together, but that's not to say they arn't mates, they just don't have the camararderie.
This is why I don't like the Devils because they are just a thrown together side each week from "the best" in tasmania. I am a huge fan of the SANFL, WAFL and VFL, I just don't like the Devils because they ruined Local football in the South of Tas and they are always a representative team rather than a club.
footyman
5th June 2005, 19:40
Thankyou Footyman. They were being given out on every 10-15 mins on 7ZR today.
Apparently it was pretty windy at Devonport Oval this afternoon. According to the commentator at the ground it was quite swirly, that would be a pretty good reason for the poor kicking at goal.
I remember the weather conditions that day against Werribee, a traditional Coastal storm day.
WCL: Crowd of around 2000.
Good to hear it got a bit of publicity on the radio. No station do actual match calls down there do they?
Next week you supposedly get the Devils vs Werribee game on ABC TV Tasmania. I'd rather that than the Coburg v Port Melbourne game we get here in Victoria.
TigerFan
5th June 2005, 20:29
This is why I don't like the Devils because they are just a thrown together side each week from "the best" in tasmania. I am a huge fan of the SANFL, WAFL and VFL, I just don't like the Devils because they ruined Local football in the South of Tas and they are always a representative team rather than a club.
the 'Hobart Devils' has been a running joke for a while in my circles. Tasmania has a top 10 ground sitting unused at York park, with a sublime surface, yet the team is based in the South with Scott Wade (a chap I rate as one of the biggest w*nkers I have ever met) running his mouth every 5 seconds.
to be frank, I can't really see the Devils lasting unless moves are made to 'unify' the side. I find it outrageous that players would have to travel to, or even worse, move to the South of the state just to put themselves in contention (the latest 'import' being North launnie's Alan Bielski I noted last weekend).
it may not be geographically recognised, but the divide between North and South of Tasmania is MASSIVE, and these attitudes may be the death of the Tasmanian Devils FC.
I think it wil bring the end of them. This is why footy in the North is so good because the good players don't bother playing for the devils because it is to far to travel to training.
This Hate realationship could be turned into a Healthy rivalry agian with the North and the South comps to become strongholds of Tasmanian football again, with the centerpiece the Intra-state game betwen the North and the South, as well as a state game against either the SANFL, WAFL or VFL.
Kingpin
5th June 2005, 21:46
Good to hear it got a bit of publicity on the radio. No station do actual match calls down there do they?
The match received updates by Rod Morris every ten or fifteen minutes on 7ZR during the Richmond v West Coast match.
There have been no live radio broadcasts of Tasmanian matches since 2000 on the ABC.
This was in part due to the breakup and in some ways decentralisation of the Sports Department at ABC Radio 7ZR.
Most of the callers from TFL football are calling AFL matches interstate, with Peter Walsh and Michael Maney now being based in Adelaide, Rod Kilner calling Brisbane home matches and Rob Waters calling matches in Melbourne.
Roger Wills, Tim Lane and also Neville Oliver were also callers who were poached throughout the years.
Next week you supposedly get the Devils vs Werribee game on ABC TV Tasmania. I'd rather that than the Coburg v Port Melbourne game we get here in Victoria.
Personally, I find it rather absurd that we are watching VFL matches over here. I can understand them broadcasting Devils matches, as it has public interest, but the general public is not interested in North Ballarat and Coburg and Northern Bullants etc.
Basically we are just given a live feed from Victoria, because we only have a part-time Sports Department at ABC-TV in Tasmania.
They should be reforming the TANFL and broadcasting those matches.
The 'Hobart Devils' has been a running joke for a while in my circles. Tasmania has a top 10 ground sitting unused at York park, with a sublime surface, yet the team is based in the South with Scott Wade (a chap I rate as one of the biggest w*nkers I have ever met) running his mouth every 5 seconds.
There should equal number of matches split between North, North West and the South. I couldn't believe the threats made by Wade in the paper the other day, threatening to pull future VFL games from the North West Coast if the crowd wasn't big on Saturday.
I felt that, that was only exacerbating the anti-Southern feeling in regard to football.
It seems to me that the Devils are NOT about giving the best young footballers throughout the state a chance to showcase thier skills in a higher league, rather it is about key administrators sucking up to the VFL and Ken Gannon, trying to a*se-lick thier way in to future AFL positions.
I too, view Scott Wade (and that d*ckhead son of his) as a complete bastard.
I feel ashamed that he was a Premiership player at the Hobart Tigers, I once threw a beer can at his photo hanging up on the wall at the TCA.
To be frank, I can't really see the Devils lasting unless moves are made to 'unify' the side. I find it outrageous that players would have to travel to, or even worse, move to the South of the state just to put themselves in contention (the latest 'import' being North launnie's Alan Bielski I noted last weekend).
The Devils folding would be the very best thing for the sport of Australian Rules football in Tasmania. Followed by mass sackings of all personel at AFL Tasmania. Force them to rebuild the sport here.
It may not be geographically recognised, but the divide between North and South of Tasmania is MASSIVE, and these attitudes may be the death of the Tasmanian Devils FC.
You're not wrong!! :D
Mainlanders cannot understand the deep seated hatred between the North and South.
It is absolutely enormous.
The Devils folding would be the very best thing for the sport of Australian Rules football in Tasmania. Followed by mass sackings of all personel at AFL Tasmania. Force them to rebuild the sport here.
This is so true, but sad in a way, that they have to be forced to re-build the sport.
I can see the Devils folding as soon as attendances and membership drops to under 1,500.
You are so right Tigers, why would anyone in Hobart want to watch a glorified reserves competition affiliated with old amatuer clubs. They only want to see the devils and even they are losing interest. I am sure that in 1999 the TV audience and attendances were much more than what the devils have now.
Kingpin
5th June 2005, 22:17
This is so true, but sad in a way, that they have to be forced to re-build the sport.
If the Devils had been used for the purpose it had been originally designed for, it would have statewide appeal. But it's only an ego-driven vehicle for a select few to big-note themselves while selling out the rest of the sport.
"All aboard the Gravy Train"
You are so right Tigers, why would anyone in Hobart want to watch a glorified reserves competition affiliated with old amatuer clubs. They only want to see the devils and even they are losing interest. I am sure that in 1999 the TV audience and attendances were much more than what the devils have now.
Well, that's right. Nobody watches it. It has absolutely no bearing or meaning for us at all here.
The TV audiences during the TFL days on ABC TV were apparently very good.
It was taken off the air because the TFL collapsed, and because the ABC were restructuring because of budget constraints.
Tasmanian sport was hit very hard by this, and when Varsha Sidwell became head of ABC Programming here, she wanted more womens sport shown on Saturday afternoons.
So after suffering the intolerably painful THL Hockey from Bell Street, New Town which was usually played in front of three people and two dogs. Followed by the equally painful TNL Netball from BarterCard Stadium at Moonah, usually played in front of 90-100 sqealing children, the ratings were so low that they were finally yanked off air a year or so back. Now we have VFL.
I watched some of one fo those Hockey games last year before heading off to the Tacca to see Hobart play, it was so painfully boring, I would even put the VFL ahead of that.
Do you think that there is any chance of the Devils ever folding, I believ once the North is free of them, the NTFL will take off and become the states premier football competition and will have teams capable of matching the Devils. Once this happens the "Hobart" Devils will go okay for a year or so with revamped interest with the name change and then they will be thrown on the scrap heap and I really hope this happens before 2008 before I come down to tassie so there is some real football to be a part of.
Barge
5th June 2005, 22:37
Not much to do Sat arvo Tigers, updated every 20 mins on a game not even you cared about?
No one wants to watch Non-Devils VFL games? Speak for yourself! I'd rather watch Williamstown v whoever than a Devils game due to "Willy" being Collingwood's reserves so as to allow me to see fringe players and the up and comers!
Devils games have "public interest"? As John Elliott used to say "Pigs Arse!"
Don't hold your breath waiting for the Devils to fold! They, the powers that be, would rather see the SFL and NTFL die before the Devils carked it!
Finally, Re: Northern players not wanting to commit to the Devils, can someone tell me why a quality player from the North or North West would want to commit all the time and effort of driving down here to train, and not be guaranteed of a game mind you, when they can get a couple of hundred dollars or so playing for their local club compared to the pittance they'd be paid as a fringe player for the Wade/Abel 1st XVIII?
Kingpin
5th June 2005, 22:39
I watched some of one fo those Hockey games last year before heading off to the Tacca to see Hobart play, it was so painfully boring, I would even put the VFL ahead of that.
Ya not wrong. We were gonna make up a huge banner one day and drape it over the fence at Bell Street saying "Show us yer Growler" and another saying "Where's my dinner?" and see if they made it onto ABC :D
Do you think that there is any chance of the Devils ever folding, I believ once the North is free of them, the NTFL will take off and become the states premier football competition and will have teams capable of matching the Devils. Once this happens the "Hobart" Devils will go okay for a year or so with revamped interest with the name change and then they will be thrown on the scrap heap and I really hope this happens before 2008 before I come down to tassie so there is some real football to be a part of.
I dunno if it'll fold in the forseable future. It is still fairly strong in the South, although not as strong as it once was, mind you.
The blanket coverage it gets in the Southern media and AFL Tasmania's use of every resource to gain sponsorships for them, and of course thier use of "protected sponsors" will keep them around for some time yet, I think.
I can, however see the day that they will be exclusively playing every home match in Hobart, unfortunately.
With current disarray of football in Hobart at a local level, and the pathetic standard of football played, and the smalltown mentality of the games administration currently on offer, local football will not be challenging the Devils in the South for quite some time to come.
Lets face it, they are all in together. The SFL, AFL Tasmania - if they really wanted to see local football get stronger in Hobart they would've done a hell of a lot more to fix the current problems.
Morrison from the SFL is only helping out the former Huon clubs in the SFL, while not giving two sh*ts for the rest.
The public continue to avoid local footy like the bubonic plague.
Kingpin
5th June 2005, 22:50
Not much to do Sat arvo Tigers, updated every 20 mins on a game not even you cared about?
Stuck in bed with the dreaded flu Barge. Not much else to do. I was so f*ckin bored :(
Thought I'd stick 'em on here for something to do.
No one wants to watch Non-Devils VFL games? Speak for yourself! I'd rather watch Williamstown v whoever than a Devils game due to "Willy" being Collingwood's reserves so as to allow me to see fringe players and the up and comers!
Well yes, there is that I suppose!!
Actually I remember Catweazle telling me he went to a Devils game and barracked for Coburg (because of Richmond) and was abused by some Devils supporters for not supporting the local team. Devils fans are w*nkers generally.
Devils games have "public interest"? As John Elliott used to say "Pigs Arse!"
Well unfortunately they do from a ratings perspective.
I can't stand them, never will like them in fact, but I'm just a dwindling voice in the background.
But unless they fix the standard of local football, that's what'll continue to get shown here.
Don't hold your breath waiting for the Devils to fold! They, the powers that be, would rather see the SFL and NTFL die before the Devils carked it!
That's exactly right.
Finally, Re: Northern players not wanting to commit to the Devils, can someone tell me why a quality player from the North or North West would want to commit all the time and effort of driving down here to train, and not be guaranteed of a game mind you, when they can get a couple of hundred dollars or so playing for their local club compared to the pittance they'd be paid as a fringe player for the Wade/Abel 1st XVIII?
That's spot on. Not only that, but there's always that pressure to be from or to go to that "Devils preferred regional club" - as you once pointed out to me, and as I've seen from players who were aligned with Hobart in the past.