View Full Version : Western Tasmanian FA

Mobbenfuhrer
12 Jun 2005, 09:13
I'm a bit short on info for this league, looks like it came to grief after 1991 ...

There was a club called "City" in 1976, but I have no record of it an any other time. Anyone know if its just another name at the time for "Queenstown"?

Mobbenfuhrer
19 Jun 2005, 20:45
Thank you to the fellow who saw my post and gave me the info on the Queenstown FA and City FC.

Have consequently padded out the QFA, though still quite patchy! http://www.footypedia.com/00005668.htm

Queenstown Football Association (SA)

Timeline :
1926 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1934 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1937 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1939 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1940 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1941 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1947 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1948 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1952 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1953 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1957 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).

1958 :
Grand Final - Lyell drew Smelters.
Grand Final Replay - Lyell defeated Smelters by 9 pts.

1960 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1963 - Participating clubs included City (premiers).
1964 - The Queenstown FA and the Rosebery FA merged to form the Western Tasmanian FA.

WTFA : http://www.footypedia.com/00004242.htm

Western Tasmanian Football Association (Tas)

Quick Premiers List :
1976 - Lyell-Gormanston.
1977 - ?.
1978 - ?.
1979 - ?.
1980 - ?.
1981 - ?.
1982 - ?.
1983 - ?.
1984 - ?.
1985 - ?.
1986 - ?.
1987 - ?.
1988 - ?.
1989 - ?.
1990 - ?.
1991 - Lyell-Gormanston.

Timeline :
1964 :
The Queenstown FA and the Rosebery FA merged to form the Western Tasmanian FA.
Founding clubs were (complete) :
- City,
- Gormanston,
- Lyell,
- Rosebery,
- Smelters and
- Toorak.

1976 - Grand Final : Lyell-Gormanston 26.25.181 defeated City 8.12.60.

1979 :
Participating clubs included :
- Toorak,
- Tullah and
- Zeehan.

1980 :
- Queenstown and
- Rosebery.

1981 :
- Queenstown,
- Toorak and
- Zeehan.

1982 :
- Queenstown,
- Rosebery,
- Tullah and
- Zeehan.

1983 :
- Lyell-Gormanston and
- Tullah.

1984 :
- Lyell-Gormanston,
- Queenstown and
- Toorak.

1985 :
- Lyell-Gormanston,
- Queenstown,
- Rosebery,
- Toorak and
- Tullah.

1986 :
- Lyell-Gormanston,
- Queenstown,
- Rosebery (final season due to merger) and
- Zeehan.

1987 :
- Rosebery-Toorak (debut, result of merger),
- Tullah and
- Zeehan.

1988 :
- Lyell-Gormanston,
- Queenstown and
- Zeehan.

1989 :
- Lyell-Gormanston,
- Rosebery-Toorak and
- Zeehan.

1990 :
- Lyell-Gormanston,
- Queenstown and
- Zeehan.

1991 :
1. Lyell-Gormanston,
2. Zeehan,
3. Queenstown and
4. Strahan (debut, 0 H&A wins).
Finals Series :
- First Semi-Final - Strahan defeated Queenstown.
- Second-Semi Final - Lyell-Gormanston defeated Zeehan.
- Preliminary Final - Strahan defeated Zeehan.
- Grand Final - Lyell-Gormanston defeated Strahan.

No info yet on Rosebery FA.

The Majestic
19 Jun 2005, 21:27
Gormanston's oval has been torn down, I am not sure when this happened, but I travelled through there a few weeks ago and the ground's no longer there.

Kingpin
19 Jun 2005, 21:30
I'm not up with all the stats on the WTFA and the rest of Western football, but a good friend of ours (a Hobart Tiger life member) came from Queenstown and played on the West Coast before he starred for Hobart.

So I'll have a good chat to him for you in regard to all the Associations up there.
He came to Hobart in 1959, so he'd know about a lot of that stuff.
I'll have a hunt around for some of the WTFA premiers for you.

From my recollections, the WTFA folded up in around 1992-93.

Some of the clubs from that time were:
Queenstown Blues: Navy Blue & White.
Lyell-Gormanston Lions: Red, Blue & Gold.
Zeehan Bulldogs: Green & Gold.
Rosebery-Toorak Hawks: Brown & Gold
Strahan Seals: (Colours unknown)

Kingpin
19 Jun 2005, 21:35
Gormanston's oval has been torn down, I am not sure when this happened, but I travelled through there a few weeks ago and the ground's no longer there.
Yes It was gone when we drove through last September. Been gone awhile apparently.

The Majestic
19 Jun 2005, 21:37
I beleive most of those clubs have also folded, I know that Queenstown are still around, not sure the league but they are now called the Queenstown Crows.

Kingpin
19 Jun 2005, 21:40
I beleive most of those clubs have also folded, I know that Queenstown are still around, not sure the league but they are now called the Queenstown Crows.

Queenstown and Rosebery-Toorak joined the Darwin Football Association.
The rest of the clubs have gone.

Mobbenfuhrer
19 Jun 2005, 21:47
Cheers thanks folks.

Actually I'll be heading through there early next month, heading over to Tassie for a long weekend drive around, and will probably do that side. Won't be stopping at many footy ovals though, missus hates footy and this trip is for her b'day :)

Kingpin
19 Jun 2005, 22:07
Sweet. No worries Mobs.
If you get a chance, do go into the Queenstown Oval (The Gravel), it is a truly unique footy ground :D

Barge
19 Jun 2005, 22:27
It's your missus' Birthday and you're taking her to Queenstown?

Don't expect her to hang around!

That tourism magazine was right the other week - Queenstown = Ugliest town in Australia!

Captain Charisma
20 Jun 2005, 07:46
Queenstown and Rosebery-Toorak joined the Darwin Football Association.
The rest of the clubs have gone. Rosebery-Toorak are in the NWFA

Kingpin
20 Jun 2005, 15:09
Rosebery-Toorak are in the NWFA

Doh!! :o I shouldn't type half asleep.
You're spot on. They played Turners Beach at home on the weekend in the NWFA.

Palace03
20 Jun 2005, 15:49
Sweet. No worries Mobs.
If you get a chance, do go into the Queenstown Oval (The Gravel), it is a truly unique footy ground :D

Unbelievable ground, i dunno how you could play footy on it. The day we were there the wind was up, and you could see the ground from miles away with the big cloud of dust above the ground.

I heard players wear wet suit material bottoms to protect themselves, does anyone know if this is true.

moony
20 Jun 2005, 17:28
i actually play for the queenstown crows and we dont wear any protective clothing other than the usual footy clothes i do wear a long sleeve jumper though.

Barge, queenstown was actually the second ugliest town in australia behind zeehan which is only half hour drive away

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Jun 2005, 20:03
Sweet. No worries Mobs.

Cheers, yeah I saw the references in Paul daffey's pictorial book.

Its your missus' Birthday and you're taking her to Queenstown?

I'm taking her to Tassie :) ... don't worry I have already heard that when we get to Queenstown, we should leave the windows up and don't make eye contact :D

Queenstown was actually the second ugliest town in australia behind zeehan which is only half hour drive away

And apparently Strahan is the loneliest, have I got that right?

Captain Charisma
20 Jun 2005, 20:08
i actually play for the queenstown crows and we dont wear any protective clothing other than the usual footy clothes i do wear a long sleeve jumper though.

Barge, queenstown was actually the second ugliest town in australia behind zeehan which is only half hour drive away
I could be moving down to Queeny, and i wanna keep playin footy, how do i get started at Queeny FC?

Blues_Man
20 Jun 2005, 21:05
Cheers thanks folks.

Actually I'll be heading through there early next month, heading over to Tassie for a long weekend drive around, and will probably do that side. Won't be stopping at many footy ovals though, missus hates footy and this trip is for her b'day :)
best you both pack a spare cardigan

Motty
21 Jun 2005, 00:37
John Stoward's book "Football in Tasmania" has a list of premiers for the WTFA from 1964-1993 with a note that the Association went into recess for 1994.

Clubs included Gormanston, Lyell, City, Railway, Smelters, Mines United, Toorak, Queenstown, Lyell-Gormanston, Rosebery, Strahan, Tullah-Savage River, Rosebery-Toorak and Zeehan.

Toorak made it to 12 GF's in a 16 year period in the 60s and 70s, winning just 2 flags.

The B&F was the Bartram Medal.

The WTFA was new name for the Queenstown FA (1923-1963).

Motty
21 Jun 2005, 00:42
Santo Caruso, a mate of mine, owns Melbourne Sports Book (80 Flinders Street, Melbourne - Ph 03 9662 1086) and may have a copy of the John Stoward book mentioned above.

He also has many other footy and club history books, as well as books from other sports.

I was also wondering if any Tassie forum fans could enlighten me as to the "Footy Record" situation down there. I am heading there in time for this weekend's matches and want to know which leagues issue them.

I know that the SFL, NTFL and NTFA issue them, but I don't know about Leven, Darwin, CHFA, NEFU, NWFA and Oatlands. Can anyone help???

The Majestic
21 Jun 2005, 03:11
Mobs, I hope your missus enjoys long drives, I travelled to Queenstown from Hobart and it took over 5 hours. Would probably take 4 hours from Devonport if you are coming over on the Spirit. It was a nice drive, apart for the stop in Derwent Bridge, if you are travelling through Gretna don't blink you'll miss it.

moony
21 Jun 2005, 16:54
I could be moving down to Queeny, and i wanna keep playin footy, how do i get started at Queeny FC?
yeah captain its pretty easy we train tuesday and thursday nights so just rock up for a run at training and go from there

The Majestic
21 Jun 2005, 16:59
yeah captain its pretty easy we train tuesday and thursday nights so just rock up for a run at training and go from there
No offense, but can Queenstown field 3 sides (i.e Reseves, Seniors, Colts)? The reason I ask is I wouldn't think there would be many people in the Colts age group living there, unless you get them from Zeehan.

Not knocking Queenstown, just curious.

moony
21 Jun 2005, 17:26
No offense, but can Queenstown field 3 sides (i.e Reseves, Seniors, Colts)? The reason I ask is I wouldn't think there would be many people in the Colts age group living there, unless you get them from Zeehan.

Not knocking Queenstown, just curious.
we only have reserves and seniors, which does make it hard for the younger fellas when they come straight out of high school footy and if they are not good enough to go straight in to reserves or senior footy they have to miss out

Kingpin
21 Jun 2005, 18:04
Santo Caruso, a mate of mine, owns Melbourne Sports Book (80 Flinders Street, Melbourne - Ph 03 9662 1086) and may have a copy of the John Stoward book mentioned above.

I had a quick flip through that book in the Hobart Library about two months, when I was waiting for my girlfriend to finish getting info for her assignments.

Was pretty good from what I read. Next time I get down there, I'll hunt around for it.

As to the question on League Programs, I don't know what leagues other than the SFL & NTFL do, a mate of mine from the bowl plays for DOSA so I'll ask him whether the OSFA do them.

BTW: Great to see plenty of Tassie people coming on to the boards. :)

Motty
21 Jun 2005, 22:17
Melbourne Sports Books has run out of the Stoward book.

The author has moved from Tassie back to his native Victoria and he is trying to convince Stoward to do a small run through a QuikCopy or Snap to get him another half dozen or so copies.

He reckons it will be a slim chance though - that said it is a magnificently detailed book with records on clubs, leagues and players in Tassie. If you see a copy, GRAB IT!

Mobbenfuhrer
21 Jun 2005, 22:26
Thanks to everyone for their warnings :), yes we know its cold, and we also know its a longer trip than it looks on a map. We are staying near to Cradle Mtn on the first night, and then are going to drive all day probably, the next day, to get down souther. So timing is taken care of. We have an ex-Taswegian chauffeur so we should be ok.

Motty thank you for that list of teams! If I ever get hold of the Stoward book, I'll be after that list of premiers.

Motty
21 Jun 2005, 22:56
1964 Lyell 15-17-107 def Gormanston 9-5-59
1965 Gormanston 9-10-64 def Lyell 4-14-38
1966 Gormanston 16-11-107 def Lyell 13-9-87
1967 Toorak 8-9-57 def Rosebery 6-17-53
1968 Gormanston 10-16-76 def Toorak 8-12-60
1969 Gormanston 12-14-86 def Rosebery 8-5-53
1970 Gormanston 19-11-125 def Toorak 16-13-109
1971 Rosebery 20-18-138 def Toorak 19-12-126
1972 Rosebery 11-12-78 def Toorak 10-10-70
1973 Smelters 15-13-103 def Toorak 12-14-86
1974 Rosebery 16-17-113 def Smelters 7-12-54
1975 Rosebery 15-17-107 def Toorak 15-13-103
1976 Lyell/G'town 26-25-181 def City 8-12-60
1977 Toorak 15-21-111 def Lyell/G'town 12-18-90
1978 Queenstown 16-26-122 def Toorak 14-15-99
1979 Rosebery 15-12-102 def Toorak 13-12-90
1980 Rosebery 12-17-89 def Toorak 10-12-72
1981 Lyell/G'town 20-18-138 def Rosebery 13-13-91
1982 Lyell/G'town 14-14-98 def Toorak 9-17-71
1983 Queenstown 7-13-55 def Lyell/G'town 4-4-28
1984 Queenstown 15-19-109 def Lyell/G'town 7-21-63
1985 Zeehan 22-10-142 def Lyell/G'town 14-14-98
1986 Lyell/G'town 12-15-87 def Queenstown 12-14-86
1987 Lyell/G'town 9-16-70 def Tullah/Savage River 7-14-56
1988 Lyell/G'town 11-18-84 def Zeehan 7-9-51
1989 Lyell/G'town 14-22-106 def Queenstown 16-8-104
1990 Lyell/G'town 22-21-153 def Queenstown 16-8-104
1991 Lyell/G'town 18-18-126 def Strahan 14-7-91
1992 Lyell/G'town 20-19-139 def Zeehan 13-12-90
1993 Lyell/G'town 17-19-121 def Queenstown 12-12-84
1994 In Recess

A number of these WTFA Grand Final were pretty close - worth following this League!

Motty
21 Jun 2005, 22:56
Ask and you shall receive!

Mobbenfuhrer
22 Jun 2005, 06:29
Motty, I love you ... and I want to have your baby :)

Thanks very much for the info!

Kingpin
22 Jun 2005, 11:53
Great work Motty :)
Lyell-Gormanston winning the last 8 WTFA premierships in a row, amazing stuff.

Motty
22 Jun 2005, 15:15
And I can tell you that Strahan wore blue and gold.

The Majestic
22 Jun 2005, 17:52
we only have reserves and seniors, which does make it hard for the younger fellas when they come straight out of high school footy and if they are not good enough to go straight in to reserves or senior footy they have to miss out
What is the average age of the players for Queenstown?

moony
22 Jun 2005, 19:05
What is the average age of the players for Queenstown?
in the reserves it would be around the 28 mark and in the seniors more like 25

The Majestic
22 Jun 2005, 21:04
in the reserves it would be around the 28 mark and in the seniors more like 25
Cheers mate, good luck for the rest of the season.