View Full Version : Sydney AFL
Spin Doctor
15th June 2005, 18:52
i play for the suthourn sharks...................anyone else here play in the sydney competition?
Pantsless
15th June 2005, 19:10
I used to play for Manly a few years back before I moved back to Melbourne.
Your mob has the worst ground I've EVER seen...I broke my arm there in 1999.
Tara plays for South-West and Pekay-Norwest basically runs the Norwest Jets..they're the only two I know who currently play...
Bomber Spirit
16th June 2005, 00:10
I don't play - I never had any ability, and my knee couldn't stand up to it. But I follow the competition closely.
I write a weekly review of the Sydney AFL competition on http://www.redandwhiteonline.com - mainly focusing on the premier division, but including scores and fixtures from 1st and 2nd divisions as well. I'm also now doing a column in the footy record - again mainly on premier division but also including fixtures for 1st and 2nd divisions and the u18s.
Mighty Tigers
16th June 2005, 11:06
I ran around with North Shore in 99 before playing a couple of years at Mac Uni (great club), would agree that Cronulla's ground is pretty bad, played a game there in 01 were the wind was at gale force coming down the ground, only 1 goal was scored at the top end of the oval & you had to continually shield your eyes from the sand being flicked up off the cricket pitch!
Spin Doctor
16th June 2005, 11:52
I used to play for Manly a few years back before I moved back to Melbourne.
Your mob has the worst ground I've EVER seen...I broke my arm there in 1999.
Tara plays for South-West and Pekay-Norwest basically runs the Norwest Jets..they're the only two I know who currently play...
yes we are trying to move grounds but the council are just a bunch of ******** heads....... i hate the ground as well, i love it when we play away
tara
16th June 2005, 17:28
Yep your ground sux big time and your not alone with ********ing council problems. Then again I broke my arm and wrist against you blokes at Rosedale last year and havnt had any injuries at Gawley.
Spin Doctor
16th June 2005, 19:07
Yep your ground sux big time and your not alone with ********ing council problems. Then again I broke my arm and wrist against you blokes at Rosedale last year and havnt had any injuries at Gawley.
what club and devision u at?
tara
16th June 2005, 19:42
South West Sydney in your league. Hey Pekay things are sucking at the club big time. Looks like only playing one grade this weekend. Missing over thirty civis and army boys. ******** this league ********s me.
Spin Doctor
16th June 2005, 19:59
South West Sydney in your league. Hey Pekay things are sucking at the club big time. Looks like only playing one grade this weekend. Missing over thirty civis and army boys. ******** this league ********s me.
u play in 1st grade, 2nd grade or 3rd grade?
Mobbenfuhrer
16th June 2005, 22:40
I need two things.
1. A better understanding of the Sydney FA/FL history (see the site history, I'm all over the place), and
2. A medal to pin on Pantsless for his signature. Its been a long time since I've laughed this hard. Thank you.
Pantsless
16th June 2005, 22:47
I need two things.
1. A better understanding of the Sydney FA/FL history (see the site history, I'm all over the place), and
2. A medal to pin on Pantsless for his signature. Its been a long time since I've laughed this hard. Thank you.
The history is all over the place. The Sydney AFL (http://www.sydneyafl.com.au) website lists medal winners and premiers but not much else although there is a club section where a few of them have histories.
Smme of the guys I played with, played Under 20's and would reminisce about the time they thrashed Bankstown and travelled to away games at Camden. When I played they didn't exist. I believe Bankstown was a forerunner to South West Sydney but who knows who happened to Camden...
Clubs appear and then disappear, so it's so hard to keep up.
tara
17th June 2005, 07:54
The history is all over the place. The Sydney AFL (http://www.sydneyafl.com.au) website lists medal winners and premiers but not much else although there is a club section where a few of them have histories.
Smme of the guys I played with, played Under 20's and would reminisce about the time they thrashed Bankstown and travelled to away games at Camden. When I played they didn't exist. I believe Bankstown was a forerunner to South West Sydney but who knows who happened to Camden...
Clubs appear and then disappear, so it's so hard to keep up.
Pantless I originally played for Bankstown and copped many a flogging from you guys but am happy to say for a fair while after merging to form SWS the tables turned.
Camden now play in the South Coast league our former coach is now their. Chook aka Peter Free.
Spin Doctor I have been playing both grades this season but am Captain of ressies. At 34 getting too old for this ********. Happily (not) sitting on the sidelines after doing a bad quad tear against Penrith last game.
Mappa
17th June 2005, 09:08
Mobs,
PLEEEEEASE don't get me started on the Sydney AFL. It would have to be the worst, most politically motivated League in the country (apologies to those in Tassie). Rather than bore the other listeners here into how John Livy, in association with the AFL, ripped the heart out of the game in NSW (which is still a shambles), maybe we'll catch up for a Coke and a Hot Dog at the Reds one day, and I will fill you in.
Mighty Tigers.....Mac Uni ? Which years ? Did we share a premiership beer or 10 in 2000 ?
As for the year 2005, it looks to be Manly, UTS and Sydney Uni then an enormous amount of daylight. Good to see Hogarth and co back in the Seniors at the Wolves too, even though he was a fair handful as a backman.
Bombers 2003
17th June 2005, 09:58
Spin Doctor I have been playing both grades this season but am Captain of ressies.
So you are a Resi?.
BTW-Going by your Nic,Tara,i've always thought you are a female.
tara
17th June 2005, 10:44
So you are a Resi?.
BTW-Going by your Nic,Tara,i've always thought you are a female.
Eldest daughters name. Ive also been a Lesbian since birth so that probably adds to the confusion.
Spin Doctor
17th June 2005, 15:38
Mobs,
PLEEEEEASE don't get me started on the Sydney AFL. It would have to be the worst, most politically motivated League in the country
u couldnt be more correct, and in result payers and competition suffers..... u have no idea how much stuff i have been through with the sydney afl in terms of the guys at the office......... it ********s me to tears
Spin Doctor
17th June 2005, 18:20
Versin Sydney Uni tomoz, at sydney uni............ hopin to kick ass
tara
17th June 2005, 18:49
Spin Doc I wish you all the best tom but the only hope you have is if the uni boys have taken uni hols early. I nearly came and played with you guys 14 years ago as I was a shire boy but Bankstown was closer to my girl friend and Kelso at the time was a far better ground.
Next time we play Ill have a beer with you. Im pretty easy to spot as I have quite a few Tatts. One large 3/4 japense sleeve on my right arm not complete yet. Probably the only heavily tattooed accountant playing footy Sydney :D
Spin Doctor
18th June 2005, 13:48
hahaha, no doubt it will be good......... yeh we smashed uni last lime we played them, but this week we had no ruckman and i played a shocker, missed 3 right in front and continuously hit the uni boys on the chest. We lost, but not by much
Bombers 2003
19th June 2005, 16:05
Eldest daughters name. Ive also been a Lesbian since birth so that probably adds to the confusion.
Fair enougth
Bomber Spirit
22nd June 2005, 01:01
I need two things.
1. A better understanding of the Sydney FA/FL history (see the site history, I'm all over the place),
The history of Sydney football is all over the place. A lot of clubs have come and gone over the years.
Even getting a list of what clubs competed when is hard to come by. Fullpointsfooty.net had the ladders and grand final scores, but I don't seem to be able to find them on that site any more - possibly the page is still there but there's no link to it any more.
A brief history of most of the current clubs (such as was written in 2003) is up at http://www.sydneyafl.com.au/default.aspx?s=historydisplay&aid=91867 - but finding out stuff about defunct clubs, and there have been many, could be a challenge.
tara
23rd June 2005, 10:30
The history of Sydney football is all over the place. A lot of clubs have come and gone over the years.
Even getting a list of what clubs competed when is hard to come by. Fullpointsfooty.net had the ladders and grand final scores, but I don't seem to be able to find them on that site any more - possibly the page is still there but there's no link to it any more.
A brief history of most of the current clubs (such as was written in 2003) is up at http://www.sydneyafl.com.au/default.aspx?s=historydisplay&aid=91867 - but finding out stuff about defunct clubs, and there have been many, could be a challenge.
Had a good laugh the first time I looked at that site and the South West page. Not only too my suprise did I see myself in the photo (3rd on left) but learned new nicknames for blokes Ive played with for years. Who writes this stuff?
pekay-norwest
23rd June 2005, 10:51
what a surprise to see a thread on Sydney footy..and so many responses...Sydney footy in my opinion needs the guts ripped out of it,and started from scratch,but thats a story for another day..some good comments in this thread(especially about Gwawley the ground of all weather conditions-but Sharks are good blokes)it is good to see Jaret Hogarth playing again,i only wish we had the numbers to stay in Div1,after losing 72 players in the space of 7 wks we had no choice.there are many people of the opinion that NorWest dropped down to win a flag----nothing could be more wrong.the decision was either fold or marge with.........PENRIFF..QUICK POLL-who would play for Penriff??and sorry Tara,tried to get you a few boys for this week,but the coach wasnt real keen,and all the boys had planned a weekend off.
tara
23rd June 2005, 12:57
No worries Pekay. Things arnt good at the moment and we didnt field a ressies side last week. I dont like the way things are at the moment but am not in a postition to commit to being more actively involved because of work. Basically we need a few guys who have stopped playing in recent years to take up the admin positions so players can worry about playing. Just need to struggle thru the remainder of the year and make a concerted effort to rebuild. If only you could get some support from the AFL NSW/ACT(not ....ing likely).
Spin Doctor
23rd June 2005, 15:35
my little brother (age 15) could run the sydney afl better then it is run now........ have u guys ever heard of a man named Mick Clift??????? he needs to be shot http://67.18.37.15/2257/199/emo/gun.gif
i think its because the guys at the office get payed rubbish $$ so anyone with half a brain can get better pay somewhere else.........
Pantsless
23rd June 2005, 15:50
The problem when I was there was that the AFL (NSW-ACT) didn't give a rats about the SFA and it seems it still doesn't. And now the SFA is suffering from 3 strong teams, 2 semi-decent sides and heaps of beltings. Things are not good.
sherb
24th June 2005, 00:48
i only wish we had the numbers to stay in Div1,after losing 72 players in the space of 7 wks we had no choice.there are many people of the opinion that NorWest dropped down to win a flag----nothing could be more wrong.the decision was either fold or marge with.........PENRIFF..QUICK POLL-who would play for Penriff??
At least "Penriff" are still running around with two sides each week in First Division Pekay - which would suggest at least 50 odd guys want to play for them. Maybe you should look at the reasons why your club lost so many players, rather than having a dig at another club. ;)
That very attitude which I just highlighted is one of the main reasons senior footy in the outer west struggles. The playing resources out there are so spread out (even thin) that it is essential that all parties co-operate - instead, everyone wants to pull apart. The end result is that the several senior clubs out that way battle on separately, with little chance of ever matching the uni/inner city sides in First Division - let alone any higher competition. Second Division is the only chance for success, as you are now finding out, and as St Clair has shown in its short existence.
No doubt the Jets will aim to get back into First Division next season - and two First Division clubs half an hour apart in the Nepean area virtually guarantees success for neither. History strongly suggests that is the case. It is nigh time for the resources in the outer west - one way or another - to be pooled or restructured, so that the area can do justice to the playing talent out there. And if people don't want to do that, that is fine - but I hope they don't complain when season after season provides little or no return for their efforts.
pekay-norwest
24th June 2005, 08:49
At least "Penriff" are still running around with two sides each week in First Division Pekay - which would suggest at least 50 odd guys want to play for them. Maybe you should look at the reasons why your club lost so many players, rather than having a dig at another club. ;)
That very attitude which I just highlighted is one of the main reasons senior footy in the outer west struggles. The playing resources out there are so spread out (even thin) that it is essential that all parties co-operate - instead, everyone wants to pull apart. The end result is that the several senior clubs out that way battle on separately, with little chance of ever matching the uni/inner city sides in First Division - let alone any higher competition. Second Division is the only chance for success, as you are now finding out, and as St Clair has shown in its short existence.
No doubt the Jets will aim to get back into First Division next season - and two First Division clubs half an hour apart in the Nepean area virtually guarantees success for neither. History strongly suggests that is the case. It is nigh time for the resources in the outer west - one way or another - to be pooled or restructured, so that the area can do justice to the playing talent out there. And if people don't want to do that, that is fine - but I hope they don't complain when season after season provides little or no return for their efforts.
1.perhaps i shouldve explained myself a little more..what i meant was i wasnt going to lose the identity of my club just to boost the ranks of what is our strongest rivalry,the way it wouldve worked is the best from my club play in Rams colours and the worst from their club play for NorWest...if you were left with a club you and a few friends started at u18 level,and had the choice to 1.merge:2.fold:or 3.drop down.. 2.the dig i had at Penrith is no different to what we get out here,or what we cop from inner city teams...there is a push for a consolidated effort from all west clubs,but since we lost most of our club,it hasnt been heard of..my fault in one blokes opinion.there is also a spot on our committee(about a dozen spots in fact)if you wish to put your good ideas to use...otherwise ive heard em all before
tara
24th June 2005, 09:25
Sherb I reckon you have over reacted to Pekays DIG. When playing for Bankstown I hated Liverpool, Manly and Hawkesbury. Other than Manly I enjoyed a beer with opposition players after each game.
Now at South West not only did we have to overcome our fiece hatred over Liverpool (think Coll Carl) because of merger but we had to become mates. In our first three years we did so with huge success and now we had rivalries with other sides. The difference with our merger we formed a new identity. We were neither Liverpool or Bankstown but South West, we wernt Anzacs or Bombers but now Magpies. In Norwests situation it would have meant losing their identity.
For the record I hate Penrith they are my opposition and have been involved in a number of scuffles with them over the years. Off the field I will always chat and have a beer with the blokes. Three weeks ago we played them and took the field with a number of players missing and a number of us were also to back up in seniors incl myself. I tore my quad bad in the last qtr and we finished with 16 on the ground (seniors took four at 3 qtr time). The game was umpired by a former Penrith player who did a great job. After the game he came up to me to thank me for the way my boys conducted themselves - no back chat and respect for the ump. There were still a few scuffles but thats footy.
As far as looking at the reasons why Norwest lost players etc you cant blame the club. I know for a fact the amount of effort those blokes put in and they should be proud of themselves, the same as my club. The league should have a hard look at itself. The provide support to SFL clubs but little to SFA. Clubs in the west need help promoting themselves and the league should do all it can to assist. The unis have a huge base to start with as well as funding and facilites available to them that most other clubs would love. Very shortly AFL in Sydney with consist of 7 SFL sides and 6 SFA clubs. One north, One west, South and three unis (NSW not included becuase the found it too tough). ******** hey 13 sides which would be the equiv of 1000 players in a city of millions.
sherb
24th June 2005, 09:56
Sherb I reckon you have over reacted to Pekays DIG. When playing for Bankstown I hated Liverpool, Manly and Hawkesbury. Other than Manly I enjoyed a beer with opposition players after each game.
I just saw a certain irony in Pekay's statement, that is all. The bulk of my post really was not aimed at having a dig, it is what I believe should happen out there.
Now at South West not only did we have to overcome our fiece hatred over Liverpool (think Coll Carl) because of merger but we had to become mates. In our first three years we did so with huge success and now we had rivalries with other sides. The difference with our merger we formed a new identity. We were neither Liverpool or Bankstown but South West, we wernt Anzacs or Bombers but now Magpies. In Norwests situation it would have meant losing their identity.
I wasn't suggesting a takeover of the Jets by Penrith, nor would I suggest the reverse for that matter. What I was alluding to was something different, maybe like what South-West Sydney did and create a totally new entity.
As far as looking at the reasons why Norwest lost players etc you cant blame the club. I know for a fact the amount of effort those blokes put in and they should be proud of themselves, the same as my club. The league should have a hard look at itself. The provide support to SFL clubs but little to SFA. Clubs in the west need help promoting themselves and the league should do all it can to assist. The unis have a huge base to start with as well as funding and facilites available to them that most other clubs would love. Very shortly AFL in Sydney with consist of 7 SFL sides and 6 SFA clubs. One north, One west, South and three unis (NSW not included becuase the found it too tough). ******** hey 13 sides which would be the equiv of 1000 players in a city of millions.
I wasn't trying to blame the Jets, all I was saying was that if you get a lot of players leave in a hurry there must be a reason. You need to identify that reason (or reasons) in order to get things back on the right track.
pekay-norwest
24th June 2005, 10:04
I just saw a certain irony in Pekay's statement, that is all. The bulk of my post really was not aimed at having a dig, it is what I believe should happen out there.
I wasn't suggesting a takeover of the Jets by Penrith, nor would I suggest the reverse for that matter. What I was alluding to was something different, maybe like what South-West Sydney did and create a totally new entity.
I wasn't trying to blame the Jets, all I was saying was that if you get a lot of players leave in a hurry there must be a reason. You need to identify that reason (or reasons) in order to get things back on the right track.we lost that amount of players in a hurry because-A.we are a RAAF affiliate, and a quick eye over the blokes that left sees most of those 70 being sent to Iraq Solomon Islands and other exotic locales all in the name of NATIONAL DEFENCE(Tara is in the same boat with Holsworthy) 2. the other 9 players went to Balmain Penno Sydney Uni;F.i dont believr there's enough depth in the west.Paul Hibbins has a great idea with his GW committee,i was sceptical at the start but now see its merit,just whether it takes off is another matter-i hope it does.
sherb
24th June 2005, 10:09
1.perhaps i shouldve explained myself a little more..what i meant was i wasnt going to lose the identity of my club just to boost the ranks of what is our strongest rivalry,the way it wouldve worked is the best from my club play in Rams colours and the worst from their club play for NorWest...if you were left with a club you and a few friends started at u18 level,and had the choice to 1.merge:2.fold:or 3.drop down.. 2.the dig i had at Penrith is no different to what we get out here,or what we cop from inner city teams...there is a push for a consolidated effort from all west clubs,but since we lost most of our club,it hasnt been heard of..my fault in one blokes opinion.there is also a spot on our committee(about a dozen spots in fact)if you wish to put your good ideas to use...otherwise ive heard em all before
I understand why you wouldn't want to lose your identity, and I apologize if I gave the impression you should.
I take your point about the rivalry, really all I was trying to say is somehow this rivalry needs to be put to constructive use to ensure senior football in that area thrives - rather than continue to struggle. Maybe that means a new club (as I posted above), or clubs agreeing to run in separate divisions and split resources accordingly, or whatever.
I am happy to stand corrected, but I don't know if either Penrith or Hawkesbury have ever participated in First Division finals - which means that the setup out there just isn't working. Something needs to happen to get it right.
If you are copping blame for anything out there Pekay that astounds me, as you seem to be the one holding things together with your club at the moment.
desie
24th June 2005, 12:48
I am happy to stand corrected, but I don't know if either Penrith or Hawkesbury have ever participated in First Division finals - which means that the setup out there just isn't working. Something needs to happen to get it right.
Penrith have made the finals twice without winning one, Hawkesbury (Jets)are yet to do so to the best of my knowledge.
I have bought this topic up a few times as people might know and it's fair to say I'm in agreement with most of what Sherb has said.
I've been involved with Penrith for a long time and know all about the rivalry with the Hawkesbury boys which goes back to the late 80's early 90's when the two clubs pretty well dominated what was in effect the 3rd Division competition as it was at that time. I'm sure all would agree that although rivalries between clubs can be fierce, at the end of the day they are relatively friendly. The way I look at things, the real enemy are other sports such as Rugby League.
What we tend to forget is that the corridor west of Homebush provides almost 10% of the entire population of this country, yet it doesn't even have one Premier Division club. The Commission have a five year plan on their website, and it is quite specific in their desire to have a 10 team competition. The fact that they held a meeting at the end of last year of all the senior clubs in the area, along with the population and demographical figures which are undeniable, indicate that they want a club in the greater western region within the next two-three years. The Blacktown facility just confirms their thinking.
Pekay knows as well as I do that there is no one club that has the capabilities or resources to fill this role. On field results over the last 10 years back this up. The question then becomes how do we bring about a Premier Division presence in the area given that you accept that one is inevitable, which I do.
You can't create a new club from scratch as no one has any ownership or attachment to it. We all know that footy clubs are made up of volunteers and people willing to put in the hours for something that they are passionate about. If the Commission went down this path it would be the virtual death of the existing clubs anyway as any decent playing talent that was either produced from the juniors or moved to the area would be far more likely to take the step up due to the easier locality.
Which to me leaves one option that is feasible as well as giving the existing clubs some sort of ownership and that is a new entity that uses our scant playing and administrative resources to the full, and will hopefully attract the best talent from the area and from the junior competition which is progressing really well. Certainly it won't be easy, and I know that there have been some problems already. At the end of the day everyone has to really want to go down this path for it to work, and it's only each individual and each club that can decide what they want to do, which is absolutely their right. Perhaps the Commission need to show some leadership and set out exactly what they want to happen and how they want things to look. At the end of the day they're the ones who run the show.
Tara, I was at the game the other week and I'm not trying to be patronising but people like Pekay and myself know more than most exactly what your club is going through. Hopefully things pick up pretty soon, just like they seem to be for the Rams, for the moment anyway ;) Good to see the Jets boys thumping everyone that gets in their way as well.
Mappa
24th June 2005, 13:54
The NSWACTAFL not only have the worlds longest acronym, but they are gutless, plain and simple. Why don't they reshuffle the whole league and Form a REAL Div 1 and Div 2. Every other league in the country has a promotion and relegation system. The likes of North Shore wont have it though, they rule the roost at the NSWAFL.
For what it's worth, they NSWAFL renamed the leagues Premier and First to funnell more players to the top league. They must have, as nothing else has changed. Having the SFA and SFL meant that new players were able to form their opinion of a club without being told it is a secondary, or premier club. By highlighting a PREMIER league, it almost ensures that a star player will go to one of their clubs.
Spin Doctor
25th June 2005, 11:48
The NSWACTAFL not only have the worlds longest acronym, but they are gutless, plain and simple. Why don't they reshuffle the whole league and Form a REAL Div 1 and Div 2. Every other league in the country has a promotion and relegation system. The likes of North Shore wont have it though, they rule the roost at the NSWAFL.
For what it's worth, they NSWAFL renamed the leagues Premier and First to funnell more players to the top league. They must have, as nothing else has changed. Having the SFA and SFL meant that new players were able to form their opinion of a club without being told it is a secondary, or premier club. By highlighting a PREMIER league, it almost ensures that a star player will go to one of their clubs.
in the U18's comp this year they introduced the regulation system.... they played 7 rounds and then they spit the comp in 2 divisions....... a GREAT SYSTEM!!!!! at least i thought.................the stupid jerks from north shore refused to play in the 2nd division even tho they didn’t qualify for the 1st. I actually don’t know what happened with that coz my club pulled out of the U18's comp and that’s the reason im playing seniors now...... anyway the Sydney afl is run on the basis of who you know, not how good you are.
Bomber Spirit
25th June 2005, 12:20
North Shore did qualify for the 1st division, it was East Coast who missed out from the premier division clubs in the northern division.
There had been a lot of lopsided results during the divisional stages, and the Sydney AFL (the official line was in consultation with all the clubs, but I'm reliably told that at least one club didn't know anything about it till their opposition club mentioned it on game day) decided to change the seedings so 4 clubs from the northern and 5 from the southern divisions would go to the 1st division and the remaining 2 from each to the 2nd division.
But when Southern Sharks pulled out, that would have left 2nd division as a 3-team comp; so from there the only decision they really could make was to have the one division.
Spin Doctor, have your former U18 team-mates been able to get a game? I hope they haven't been squeezed out of the game by all this.
arceri
26th June 2005, 13:47
who is the new guy commentating on the SFL.
His voice sends me to sleep. Where do they find these blokes?
Spin Doctor
26th June 2005, 14:08
Spin Doctor, have your former U18 team-mates been able to get a game? I hope they haven't been squeezed out of the game by all this.
Unfortunately most of the team lost motivation to continue playing and have seem to disappeared from the club, however a hand full of players still come to training and do get a game every week weather it be 1sts, 2nds and 3rds.
Bomber Spirit
27th June 2005, 18:44
who is the new guy commentating on the SFL.
His voice sends me to sleep. Where do they find these blokes?I didn't catch the telecast last Friday (I forgot to cue up the VCR) so I didn't see the Balmain v East Coast game - I'm not sure who was calling, but they'd have needed a substitute for one of the callers. Matt Gray's called most of the games this year, and does an excellent job; but he wasn't able to do last Sunday's game.
The Digital Sports/Fox Footy people do an excellent job with the telecast - often working from on top of cherry-pickers in blustery winds. They've had quite a few one-sided games this year, but the one they called yesterday went right down to the wire; and saw Campbelltown record their first win since 2003.
Bomber Spirit
29th June 2005, 01:40
I write a weekly review of the Sydney AFL competition on http://www.redandwhiteonline.com - mainly focusing on the premier division, but including scores and fixtures from 1st and 2nd divisions as well. Unfortunately it seems RWO's technical problems are ongoing. The alert page on RWO is pointing people to BigFooty; so welcome to any RWO refugees, especially those from the NSW/ACT Footy board, who end up here.
So (gratuitous spam alert - move on to next post to avoid) I've uploaded this week's article onto a temporary page; which can be found at http://www.geocities.com/mds2005pics/Sydney_AFL_Round_11.htm . The page layout looks completely different to inside an RWO page, but that can't be helped - at least it's something until RWO's back up.
Spin Doctor
29th June 2005, 20:06
^^^^champ^^^
arceri
30th June 2005, 18:23
mate, this new bloke was absolutely terrible.
I don't care if he was calling it from the south pole let alone a cherry-picker.
Who is on the panel?
tara
30th June 2005, 18:46
Everyone will be pleased to know there will be no footy in Sydney this weekend due to the wet weather. What a ********ing joke. Personnly dont mind given im injured anyway.
arceri
30th June 2005, 18:53
what a joke alright.
no wonder people on the Murray don't take the SFL seriously..I can't believe it
tara
30th June 2005, 19:21
what a joke alright.
no wonder people on the Murray don't take the SFL seriously..I can't believe it
Its more to do with the councils up here than they AFL. They sprew when the grounds get chewed up. Saying that though the ground I play on drains well and handles wet weather games pretty well. They were a few councils up here that were closing grounds last year becase on the lack of rain. Scared of getting sued by people.
sherb
30th June 2005, 22:43
Its more to do with the councils up here than they AFL. They sprew when the grounds get chewed up. Saying that though the ground I play on drains well and handles wet weather games pretty well. They were a few councils up here that were closing grounds last year becase on the lack of rain. Scared of getting sued by people.
That is my understanding too. It is fine to be critical of the AFL when they deserve it, but this is a case of councils closing grounds. I would guess that most of the grounds to be played on this weekend are council controlled, as would be most of the possible alternative venues.
If you go ahead and play regardless when the council has closed the ground I would imagine that legally you wouldn't have a leg to stand on. So there is little option but to cancel matches - or reschedule them. It appears the latter wasn't an option in this case.
Spin Doctor
1st July 2005, 17:34
yay, no games means i don’t have to cry over missing a week thru injury......lol. (how selfish)
arceri
4th July 2005, 15:56
nobody seems to know the identity of the new SFL commentator. Apparently he comes from Shepparton.
Someone told me he looks like Osama Bin Laden and makes as much sense as him.
Spin Doctor
8th July 2005, 13:35
looks like im heading of to uni again this week!!!! hopefully we can get a win and i dont loose the game for us again. lol.
good luck to everyone elses games
Bomber Spirit
11th July 2005, 18:40
nobody seems to know the identity of the new SFL commentator. Apparently he comes from Shepparton.
Someone told me he looks like Osama Bin Laden and makes as much sense as him.I was sitting just near the TV "box" at North Dalton on Saturday, and spoke to him briefly at half time. Forgot to ask his name - he's a big bloke, but no beard so he's not really an Osama look-alike. Don't know why Matt Gray's not calling any more.
BTW (spam alert), for those who read RWO, it's back online (thank goodness) - this week's roundup of the Sydney AFL is up at http://redandwhiteonline.com/content.php?id=610_0_3_0_C and the message board is also back up.
arceri
12th July 2005, 12:12
Has he got dark hair, talks slowly and is a man mountain?
Someone told me his name is Brendan Hoads, not sure if that's correct.
The only thing for certain is his commentatary need a bit of work.
Bomber Spirit
13th July 2005, 21:00
Has he got dark hair, talks slowly and is a man mountain?Yep, that's him.
pekay-norwest
20th December 2005, 11:18
I must disagree,no-one calls with more passion or knowledge of the game than Brendan Rhodes,a great bloke,and a fellow footy nerd,like me.Actually makes watching Fox Footy interesting.And he had to get excited calling the games this year,how many lop sided games do we want???Not only that,its boring on RWO at the moment,so Sydney Footy is back on BigFooty
Get Smart 86
27th December 2005, 18:30
Interesting Read.
Played Sydney Uni 1985 - 1987.
Bankstown 1988 and 1989.
Now playing Masters Footy (Over 35's)
Anyone who may have played at these clubs the above years, would be good to know.
Also any oldies that would like to play Masters Footy also let me know and I will give you contact numbers.
pekay-norwest
28th December 2005, 10:34
Interesting Read.
Played Sydney Uni 1985 - 1987.
Bankstown 1988 and 1989.
Now playing Masters Footy (Over 35's)
Anyone who may have played at these clubs the above years, would be good to know.
Also any oldies that would like to play Masters Footy also let me know and I will give you contact numbers.
Dont normally reply to anyone with Sydney Uni as part of their background,but you seem alright!!Tara,one of the BigFooty members,was at Town about the same time,he may know you,and you him.I'm at NorWest Jets (formerly Hawkesbury)at the foot of the Mountains.Who you play Supers with?Do you know the genius named Glenn Whitney?
Get Smart 86
29th December 2005, 09:41
Try
www.mafnsw.com
Maxwell