View Full Version : Tasmanian Football Results: 18-19 June.

Kingpin
19th June 2005, 23:40
SFL Premier League
Clarence 18.19.127 - Hobart Lions 14.6.90 at Bellerive Oval
Glenorchy 14.16.100 - Lauderdale 4.9.33 at KGV Football Park
New Norfolk 14.20.104 - North Hobart 13.7.85 at North Hobart Oval
Kingborough 19.12.126 - Brighton 8.7.55 at Pontville Oval

SFL Premier League
Huonville Lions 17.18.120 - Cygnet 8.7.55 at Cygnet Rec. Ground
Dodges Ferry 19.14.128 - Lindisfarne 12.13.85 at Anzac Park
Channel 11.15.81 - Sorell 12.8.80 at Snug Park
Kermadie 22.18.150 - Claremont 3.10.28 at Geeveston Oval

NTFL
North Launceston 16.12.108 - Ulverstone 10.12.72 Att: 603 at Ulverstone Rec. Ground
South Launceston 18.8.116 - Smithton 7.13.55 Att: 700 at Smithton Football Ground
Launceston 31.12.198 - East Devonport 9.2.56 Att: 420 at Girdlestone Park
Penguin 21.9.135 - Latrobe 20.13.133 Att: 700 at Penguin Rec. Ground
Devonport 15.15.105 - Wynyard 8.16.64 Att: 500 at Wynyard Oval

NTFA - Division One
Deloraine 24.11.155 - Longford 8.5.53 at Deloraine Racecourse Ground
Hillwood 10.8.68 - Scottsdale Magpies 5.17.47 at Hillwood Rec. Ground
Bridgenorth 22.18.150 - Bracknell 9.6.60 at Parrot Park
George Town 21.11.137 - Rocherlea 6.7.43 at Blue Gum Park

NTFA - Division Two
Fingal Valley 18.10.118 - Tamar Cats 12.5.77 at Beauty Point Oval
Perth 19.15.129 - St Patricks 12.6.78 at Perth Rec. Ground
University-Mowbray 26.9.165 - Evandale 10.4.64 at University Oval
Campbell Town 16.7.103 - Old Launcestonians 10.6.66 at NTCA Ground

OSFA
St Virgil's 18.10.118 - DOSA 15.9.99 at Dominic Oval
University 15.21.111 - Friends' 14.8.92 at TCA Ground
Hutchins 17.24.126 - OHA 8.9.57 at Gielston Bay Oval

ODFA
Oatlands 23.15.153 - Swansea 4.4.28 at Oatlands Oval
Bothwell 18.13.121 - Mt Pleasant 8.3.51 at Pawtella Football Ground

Darwin Football Association
Yolla 27.25.187 - Somerset 6.1.37 at Somerset Rec. Ground
South Burnie 23.11.149 - Natone 13.6.84 at Natone Rec. Ground
Queenstown 48.19.307 - Cuprona 7.6.48 at Queenstown Oval
Yeoman 19.14.128 - Ridgley 8.8.56 at Ridgley Football Ground

NEFU
Winnaleah 28.7.175 - Bridport 7.8.50 at Bridport Football Ground
Branxholm 16.13.109 - St Helens 16.7.103 at Branxholm Rec. Ground
Scottsdale Crows 25.12.162 - Lilydale 10.9.69 at Scottsdale Rec. Ground

NWFA
Forth 20.11.131 - East Ulverstone 13.7.85 at Forth Rec. Ground
Sheffield 32.12.204 - Wesley Vale 11.7.73 at Wesley Vale Oval
Rosebery-Toorak 19.11.125 - Turners Beach 5.11.41 at Pipers Park
Motton-Preston 18.17.125 - West Ulverstone 10.3.63 at Motton Rec. Ground

Circular Head FA
Redpa 16.10.106 - Scotchtown 8.8.56 at Redpa Football Ground
Irishtown 13.13.91 - Trowutta-City Bulldogs 7.6.48 at Trowutta Rec. Ground

Leven FA
Castra 11.8.74 - Latrobe Saints 10.6.66 at Castra Football Ground
Railton 16.6.102 - Mole Creek 7.14.56 at Railton Football Ground

King Island FL
Grassy 17.18.120 - North 11.9.75 at Grassy Rec. Ground

Kingpin
19th June 2005, 23:41
http://www.themercury.news.com.au/images/masthead.gif
19/6/05 - Eagles savour value of victory
By David Stockdale

As woeful as its kicking for goal was, the four points New Norfolk collected against North Hobart yesterday were as valuable as bars of gold.
That's because it was the only Southern Premier League game the Eagles were scheduled to play at North Hobart Oval before the finals.
New Norfolk's 14.20 (104) to 13.7 (85) win was its 10th from as many games and showed it has the blend of talls and smalls to win a premiership at league headquarters and erase the bitter memories of last season's grand
final loss to Clarence.
"Apart from our kicking for goals, I was pretty happy with the win," coach Matthew Smith said.
"We played a side today that knows North Hobart better than any other in the competition, we missed a lot of pretty easy shots for goal and still won.
"We would like to have played more games here because it's where the finals are played, but we have a good balance of talls and smalls for North Hobart and I don't see it as an issue for us in the finals."
Indeed, had New Norfolk's key forwards kicked straight the margin would have been more like 60 points.
While Michael Thompson was the pick of them with four goals, Sean Salter the worst offender with 2.6, including a poster from 10m out.
Roger Belcher and Shane Bonnitcha were livewires around the ground, Zeb Graham subdued the influence of rival coach Brendon Bolton and also kicked two goals, while Zac Clayton led a defence which rebounded well.
While North Hobart was uncannily accurate around goals - Robbie Devine shot the lights out with five from not many more kicks - Bolton was disappointed in its failure to hit targets under pressure.
"Our decision-making needs to improve and our inability to find our forwards really cost us," he said.
Tim Peterson was the best of the Demons' talls, Brent Williams was good around the stoppages and Dane Cumming was solid in defence.
Hobart showed its youth policy is starting to produce results when it went down to reigning premier Clarence at Bellerive by 37 points.
After the Roos slammed on 7.4 to 3.2 in the first quarter, the Lions hit back with 6.1 to 3.3 in the second to be only 10 points down at half-time.
The work ethic and run provided by Stuart Whitelaw, Scott McCallum, Stewart Beechey and Ben Ranger were key factors in the win, while captain Daniel Gray, Andrew Lemm and Markham Johnson shone for Hobart. Kingborough all but secured its spot in the top five with a 61-point away win over bottom side Brighton, burly Tigers full-forward Chris Joyce finished with eight goals to give him a competition-high 41 for the season.
At KGV, Glenorchy produced a 6.6 to 1.3 second quarter to set up its 67-point disposal of Lauderdale and hang on to fourth spot.

Kingpin
19th June 2005, 23:42
19/6/05 - Channel responds to hot-gospelling rev-up
By Brett Stubbs

There was just that feeling at three-quarter time.
Channel, coming off a loss to bottom-placed Claremont, was three goals down at the last break after being 39 points behind at quarter-time against Sorell at Snug Park - but it was coming home.
Certainly Saints coach Craig Roberts thought so.
The eyes were bulging as he implored his players on with a hot-gospelling sermon which would have done any TV evangelist proud.
He reminded his side of the embarrassing loss to Claremont the game before and how it could be erased if they were able to run over their third placed opponents.
And respond they did, completely overrunning the wilting Eagles, slamming on 3.3 to two behinds to win in the dying seconds by a point, 11.15 (81) to 12.8 (80).
Saints centre half-forward Aaron Vince marked a wayward Sorell kick out of defence and found Adam Crane 35m out on a 45-degree angle.
The young Saint, with a less than textbook-perfect kicking style, calmly slotted the goal with less than 90 seconds to play to give Channel the lead for the first time all game. Roberts said it was a victory his side could build around.
"I knew at half-time we could win the game," Roberts said.
"We probably should have won by a lot more than what we did, we kicked poorly.
"I would have been disappointed if we had lost, we had a lot more
scoring shots than them." But a win looked far from possible at quarter time.
The Eagles did as they pleased throughout the first term, kicking seven goals to one, and it appeared a Saint-belting was on the cards.
But Roberts switched Vince from defence to half-forward to provide a target and put Andrew Chilcott into the midfield with telling effect.
It was a long climb back, but the Saints slowly worked their way into the game.
"In the first quarter we were too flat-footed and waited for them," Roberts said.
As Channel moved within a goal, the game resembled a tennis match with Eagles ruckman Jason Harland and his Saints equivalent Michael Gowans impassable across their respective half-back lines.
The ball rebounded consistently with little effect -- until Crane's heroics in the last two minutes -- and extended Sorell's losing streak to three.
The win keeps Channel's finals hopes alive, but fifth-placed Huonville is not going to give up its spot lightly.
The young Lions pulled off a massive upset with a caning of previous top team and reigning three-time premiers Cygnet at Cygnet, 17.18 (120) to 8.7 (55).
Up by 11 points at quarter-time, Huonville smashed the Port in the second term, piling on 8.5 to a point to set up its huge victory.
Lions midfielder Jarrod Collis kicked five goals while teammate Jason Lange was best on ground.
Cygnet's surprise loss saw Dodges Ferry take top spot after continuing Lindisfarne's fadeout by 43 points at Anzac Park, 19.14 (128) to 12.13 (85).
In the final game, Claremont was not able to build on its victory over Channel, after being on the receiving end of a 122-point hiding from Kermandie at Geeveston, 22.18 (150) to 3.10 (28).
Kermandie's Andrew Nash, the brother of Hobart Chargers basketballer Mark, kicked six goals. The win elevates Kermandie to third spot at Sorell's expense.

Kingpin
19th June 2005, 23:43
17th June 2005: HCC to look at oval upgrade
By James Bresnehan

The Tasmanian Devils could be enticed to stay based at North Hobart Oval with upgraded facilities through a review of the venue by the Hobart City Council.
Lord Mayor Rob Valentine said yesterday the HCC had a working group in place to review all sporting facilities in its jurisdiction, including North Hobart Oval.
Council will wait for the working group to bring back a list of potential projects for the venue and we'll go from there.'' AFL Tasmania believes North Hobart has fallen far behind the state's main football venues, Bellerive Oval in Hobart and Aurora Stadium in Launceston.
Its general manager Scott Wade said $3 million to $4 million must be invested into North Hobart to bring it into the 21st century.
We have always presented North Hobart in a very high standard, ''Ald Valentine said.
If AFL Tasmania has any thoughts on upgrading the facilities there it needs to direct its thoughts to the working group, which will consider if their suggestions are reasonable.''
The playing surface at North Hobart Oval would not be altered, given space restrictions on the precinct.
There would be nothing major council would do to North Hobart, ''Ald Valentine said. It would be more for general maintenance.''

Kingpin
19th June 2005, 23:44
18th June 2005: Too ancient, too tired a lair for a Devil
By David Stockdale

Devils coach Mathew Armstrong has called for the North Hobart Oval to be redeveloped as a multi-sports ground.
Armstrong said yesterday that as much as he and the public at large loved the historic oval, it needed a multi-million facelift to remain the home of the Devils in the VFL.
"Look at other capital cities around Australia and they've gone for multi-purpose grounds which can service two, three or more sports which makes them viable," he said.
"At North Hobart only football is played on it, whereas in Launceston Aurora Stadium can host not only AFL, VFL and NTFL, but other sports like rugby union, rugby league and soccer."
Armstrong's comments follow hard on the heels of those from AFL
Tasmania general manager Scott Wade, who warned on Tuesday unless $3 million to $4 million was spent on North Hobart the Devils could well relocate to Aurora Stadium.
"North Hobart is the traditional home of footy and some great games have been played over here over many years," Armstrong said.
"But it's been this way for a long, long time. It's not moving forward and I have to agree with Scott Wade about the amount of money that needs to be spent on it - if not more."
Armstrong had read Hobart Lord Mayor Rob Valentine's reply to Wade's comments about the ground and felt the improvements to the ground he was talking about appeared minimal.
"We play at four different venues around the state, but we're trying to find a real home for the Devils," he said.
"It's a very good training venue for us, but it also needs major improvements for fans off the ground so more revenue can be generated," he said.
"Don't get me wrong. The council has done a great job to get extra lighting in and as far as the surface goes they've worked their hardest with what they've been given.
"At times we've had to share the ground on training nights with North Hobart, a situation which [Demons coach] Brendon Bolton has been terrific about.
"But when you're a team representing your state you do need better facilities both on and off the ground to go forward and be a successful team Tasmanians can feel proud of."

Blues_Man
20th June 2005, 00:01
leave the Hobart devils on the bog hole that is north hobart oval ..the two compliment each other ..a c rap team with a c rap home ground.

Kingpin
20th June 2005, 00:10
leave the Hobart devils on the bog hole that is north hobart oval ..the two compliment each other ..a c rap team with a c rap home ground.

http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/2/26/Ac.bacon.jpg
"Thanks Jim, for getting millions spent on rebuilding a crap York Park and turning it into an AFL Stadium for Launceston"

WCL
20th June 2005, 16:30
I tell you what the NTFL season is hotting up!
Only a game and percentage seperates positions 4th-7th, while it is a log jam at the top of the table with North Launceston, Launceston and Burnie, who all have been beaten by sides lower on the ladder than them. It will be a great race to the finals and with this weekends combined crowd figure of about 3,000 with an average of around 600 an exciting finals series awaits. An average of 600 to a local footy match in the middle of winter, just shows that this comp is worth saving and building.
The highlights of the weekend must be:
- Penguin having a 2pt win over latrobe in a goal fest at latrobe
- Ulverstone leading ladder leaders North Lonnie by 25pts at half time, only to be over-run in the last quarter.
- Burnie slipping to 3rd on the ladder with the bye, which ultimately means they haven't won for a month, after losing 2 games and having the general bye for intra-state duties and a normal bye.

In the SFL PL It was good to see the Pies return to the winners list, while Hobart is showing vast improvement on previous weeks by going toe-toe with the reigning premiers. North Hobart threw away a valuable opportunity to topple the eagles at NHO, while Brighton suffered yet another huge loss at home.

goalpie
20th June 2005, 20:00

Burn it down. Why would anyone want to waist money on a dump like that when you already have better grounds in York Park and Bellrieve. Armstong is wally and gives Tasmanian's a bad name.

Blues_Man
20th June 2005, 21:59
http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/2/26/Ac.bacon.jpg
"Thanks Jim, for getting millions spent on rebuilding a crap York Park and turning it into an AFL Stadium for Launceston"
York Park has always been the best football ground in the state ..big wide open flanks with excellent drainage ...only a fool would prefer the tiny bog hole that is North hobart (arctic oval)

Captain Charisma
20th June 2005, 22:11
York Park has always been the best football ground in the state ..big wide open flanks with excellent drainage ...only a fool would prefer the tiny bog hole that is North hobart (arctic oval)
I've played on York park only last year, terrific ground best i've ever played on, the wide open flanks are real good.

Barge
20th June 2005, 22:52
Just one quick question to my fellow Devisl hater, Tigers 1945.....

Where were these calls for North Hobart to be redeveloped last year, when the Devils were flying and came within one game of competing in the VFL Grand Final?

They didn't have a problem with the ground 12 months ago? All of a sudden it's not up to scratch?!

wattsy
20th June 2005, 23:04
Devils lock stock and barrel to York Park.
Developes a habit for football followers.
Looking to 2006 perhaps up to 6 afl games + 10 devils = 16 games.
Best ground for the patrons all under cover.
Will continue to deteriate into nothing in the present struture of the devils.
What is required is stability for both the devils and auroa stadium.
It is also a fair call the devils select their squad and only if struck with long term injuries should any top ups be obtained from a settled local compotion.
After all the way the Devils train is most intense and i think that dropping back to club level in the local leagues is thereofore unnessary.

Motty
21st June 2005, 00:51
I'm going to be in Tassie this weekend coming up. Can anyone tell me who plays where this week in all the leagues, and which leagues issue "Footy Records" (I know the SFL, NTFA and NTFL do, but do the "smaller" ones like Leven, CHFA, NWFA, DFA and the like do so too?).

The Majestic
21st June 2005, 03:15
Burn it down. Why would anyone want to waist money on a dump like that when you already have better grounds in York Park and Bellrieve. Armstong is wally and gives Tasmanian's a bad name.
Bellerive is a poor ground, it's in a terrible spot, whoever decided to put it there is an idiot. North Hobart if upgraded would be a fine ground, just access to this ground, and Bellerive is limited due to where they sit.

The Majestic
21st June 2005, 03:17
I'm going to be in Tassie this weekend coming up. Can anyone tell me who plays where this week in all the leagues, and which leagues issue "Footy Records" (I know the SFL, NTFA and NTFL do, but do the "smaller" ones like Leven, CHFA, NWFA, DFA and the like do so too?).
All leagues will be in action this week, I haven't got a roster for DFA, or any Northern League only the NTFL. So I am not sure who plays where on the weekend.

Motty
22nd June 2005, 16:43
I'll be there tomorrow, so I'll scour the local rags over Thursday and Friday (guaranteed then) to see what's doing on the island (or do you guys see north of Bass Strait as the island) ;)

The Majestic
22nd June 2005, 17:56
I'll be there tomorrow, so I'll scour the local rags over Thursday and Friday (guaranteed then) to see what's doing on the island (or do you guys see north of Bass Strait as the island) ;)
We class ourselves as an island, and you guys as the Mainland, papers to look in are the following if you are in the North you would have to check out The Advocate, in the Derwent area would be The Derwent Express, in Hobart you'd want to check out The Mercury. In The Mercury they have the teams on Friday, and the leagues matches on I think Saturday.

Captain Charisma
22nd June 2005, 20:26
if ya wanna know the NTFL roster for this weekend this is it. All Games Saturday, Under 19's-9:40am Reserves-12:00pm and Seniors-2:10pm

Devonport Vs Latrobe-At the Devonport Oval

Smithton Vs The Great East Devonport Swans-At the Smithton Oval

South Launceston Vs Wynyard-At South Launny Oval

Burnie Vs Penguin-Burnie Oval

North Launceston Vs Launceston-At Aurora Stadium

With Ulverstone having a bye

my Tips are, Devonport, East Devonport, South Launceston, Burnie and Launceston.

WCL
22nd June 2005, 20:47
My tips for NTFL are:
Devonport
East Devonport
Wynyard
Burnie
and Launceston in front of a good crowd at York Park in the top of the table clash.

Captain Charisma
22nd June 2005, 20:52
My tips for NTFL are:
Devonport
East Devonport
Wynyard
Burnie
and Launceston in front of a good crowd at York Park in the top of the table clash.
Good pick that one.

WCL
22nd June 2005, 20:59
Yeah my dad goes for them, he likes the crest on the front of the guernsey, we both don't know a lot about the North as we are born an bred southerners, although I have been folowing the Lonnie Blues for a while.
East should smash Smithton.

Captain Charisma
22nd June 2005, 21:25
Yeah my dad goes for them, he likes the crest on the front of the guernsey, we both don't know a lot about the North as we are born an bred southerners, although I have been folowing the Lonnie Blues for a while.
East should smash Smithton. Yeah East is a Great Club. Don't be shocked to see smithton win, I play for East we've lost good players this year through the season for reasons, so we aint as good. I'm only Unders player so don't pay any attention to us we pretty much suck.

WCL
22nd June 2005, 21:35
Are you a colts player? Still be good to see East do well, I think they are a great club and deserve to pay tribute to their history with some good performances.
I play colts to, but in canberra, similar club to East, Weston Creek, made 5 prelims in a row in the mid 90's without making a GF appearance. We have only won a handfull of games in the last 4-5 years, but the atmosphere at the club is awesome. I reckon it is better to be part of these sort of clubs than those high profile clubs that expect success.

Motty
22nd June 2005, 23:05
What do East's jumpers look like - which one had the white with a red vee, didn't that used to be East?

Captain Charisma
23rd June 2005, 05:28
What do East's jumpers look like - which one had the white with a red vee, didn't that used to be East?
yeah its still The Red Vee, now with an emblem on the front, except for my guernsey its an old one thats just the Red Vee because they didn't have my number in the new jumpers, i've been wearing that number since i played Mini League.

Kingpin
25th June 2005, 08:59
All scores now updated. Apologies for the delay, been a very busy week.

WCL
25th June 2005, 12:37
Are you able to put the scores from today up tonight, if you can't do any other leagues could you do the SFL.
Thanks in Advance

Kingpin
25th June 2005, 16:14
Are you able to put the scores from today up tonight, if you can't do any other leagues could you do the SFL.
Thanks in Advance

I'll try too, I'm going down the pub for a few so I might be gone before they release the results.

Latest Premier League scores to three quarter time:

New Norfolk 7.8.50 - Glenorchy 6.4.40
Hobart Lions 10.14.74 - Brighton 5.3.33
Clarence 14.6.90 - Kingborough 12.4.76
North Hobart 16.9.105 - Lauderdale 4.4.28

WCL
25th June 2005, 17:04
C'mon you pies, if we won it would be so awesome and we would be back in the hunt.

Another good game down at the "pit" Kingborough could cause an upset in a goal fest down there.

Other games going to plan.

Thanks again Tigers, you champ!

Barge
26th June 2005, 19:14
Good pick that one.

Smithton 13.12.(90) Easts 12.13.(85)

Would appear not!

Captain Charisma
26th June 2005, 20:18
Smithton 13.12.(90) Easts 12.13.(85)

Would appear not!
now i tryed to tell myself it wasn't you, but it was. howed the mont go buddy? howed the wobbles go pal?

Barge
27th June 2005, 20:30
YES IT IS ME, CC!

Collingwood lost because they were inaccurate and kicked more behinds than goals, somewhat like another team I know up in the North West of our wondeful state!

Let's get this into perspective, you guys lost to the BOTTOM TEAM whereas ....

My team lost to the TOP TEAM, a well drilled unit known as Dodges Ferry who under former Glenorchy Premiership Captain Coach Danny Ling could well go all the way!

Don't you worry about the Mont! Although not so strong at the moment, we do have 18 senior flags on the wall!

How about your team?

Captain Charisma
27th June 2005, 20:57
Well Barge ass, i don't think we need to go into flags because lord knows we've one more. One more thing how many players ahwell known or have been recruited from the mont? i'll name a couple from East. The Legendery Vin Waite, "Gypsy" Lee, Darrel Baldock. Those three have all worn the Magnifecent Red and White!

Barge
27th June 2005, 21:06
Have a gander at all the AFL lists.

There's heaps of current AFL players from Claremont!

Captain Charisma
27th June 2005, 21:16
Have a gander at all the AFL lists.

There's heaps of current AFL players from Claremont!
name one

Barge
28th June 2005, 16:51
What about the magical Krakouer Brothers, Jim and Phil?

All Australian half back flanker Guy McKenna ......

I could go on and on!

Captain Charisma
28th June 2005, 20:43
What about the magical Krakouer Brothers, Jim and Phil?

All Australian half back flanker Guy McKenna ......

I could go on and on!
yeah for the Western Australian Claremont not Tassie Claremont

WCL
28th June 2005, 21:06
By the way, thanks Tigers 1945 for bringing these results to us each week.

Barge
3rd July 2005, 22:29
name one

Dare I mention the legendary St Kilda and Footscray great .....

**************** BRUCE DUPERUZEL (sp?) *********************

Motty
4th July 2005, 15:54
close ... Duperouzel!!!

Barge
4th July 2005, 20:06
One letter off?

That's as good as spot on!

Captain Charisma
4th July 2005, 20:12
Typical Hobartion/Collingwood supporter only can do a half as*ed Job ;)