View Full Version : Huonville To join PL

WCL
22nd June 2005, 20:18
I have been in contact with the president of Huonville and I asked him what wa happening with the inclusion of Huonville into the Premier League and this question unveiled some interesting results.

Firstly Huonville is looking at entering the Premier League either Next season or the season after.

Because of the Hobart "Lions" they are forced to change their identity. This is what they have proposed:
Re- name the Club from Huonville to Huon ??? F/C or Huon Valley ??? F/C or Southern ??? F/C to reflect the whole of the region.
Could we see the re-birth of the Southern Cats?
Because of the fact that they want to represent the whole region, they are looking at breaking away from the Huon -mini-leagues (Junior) and placing a team in the STJFL (Hobart based Junior league).
Back on the identity issue, talks are being had with AFL clubs and possible allignments, which strengthens the possibilities of the Southern Cats.

Other things discussed were, all Premier League Clubs (except Brighton) want to split the leagues and go solo, this is a fantastic idea in my opinion, the only thing stopping it is apparently umpiring ranks and the fact that the profile of the Regional league would suffer.

Also I found out that Huonvilles average attendances to games this year are 7-800, not bad figures and have a membership base of almost 500.

I'm all for it, suddenly the future of Tasmanian Football doesn't look so bleak.

bsg7
22nd June 2005, 20:29
And are you saying that brighton would drop back into the reginal league or we have a buy each week?

WCL
22nd June 2005, 20:37
I would assume so.
Welcome bsg7, who do you support in Tasmania.

Captain Charisma
22nd June 2005, 20:37
I'm all for it, suddenly the future of Tasmanian Football doesn't look so bleak.
I really want to know why you think Football in TASMANIA as a whole is Bleak, the south might be ******** but the North is good and gettin much stronger.

WCL
22nd June 2005, 20:43
Sorry Mate, I didn't mean the whole of Tasmania, I reckon the NTFL is an awesome comp and they have done really well to make it probably better than the old Statewide League, it is a really exciting competiton. But back to the matter of hand, Huonville, I want to know what everyone thinks of this move and wether (like me) you think it will make the Southern league as strong as the NTFL, by doing what has been stated above.
By the way, go you Launceston Blues ;)

The Majestic
22nd June 2005, 21:00
I am not sure about this move, sadly for Brighton they have had major trouble atracting and keeping any talented players they have had. If given a chance to atract some players they could be able to compete.

To be honest, Huonville will be in the same boat as Brighton competing wise for at least their first few season, will they see this through? Will people be calling for them to be dumped?

I would personally rather see Cygnet join the league, as they are the stronger of the clubs down in the Regional league. But I give Huonville a lot of credit wanting to step up.

WCL
22nd June 2005, 21:15
Huonville will definatley see this through, they have already disscussed the move with their members, and will discuss these further options in 3-4 months so I've been told.

I don't know what it is, but players seem to be atracted more to the Huon, than brighton. Plus They will sort of be representing the whole area so if players want to step up to the top level then they don't have to go to Hobart to do it. 2/3's of the 1999 Glenorchy TSFL Premiership are down their, quite a few are with Huonville and Kermandie and given the right price, will probably play for the Southern ????. They will definatly have the personel and money to entice players and be competitive.

What does everyone think about if the 2 leagues split, I personally would think it would be awesome as then the premier League would be called something appropriate and get the exposure it deserves and we can then start to compete with the NTFL for the best comp in the state.

Kingpin
22nd June 2005, 23:19
Sounds like a good thing. Who's El Presidente at Huonville Lions now, still Scotty Wilcox is it?
Great bloke, Tiger premiership player from 1990.

Hobart Lions will be lucky to see it through to 2007/08 at the rate they're going, anyway. Wouldn't matter if Hobart reverted back to what they were, a hell of a lot wouldn't go back.
Hobart'll Lions be the next Southern Cats I'm tipping.

I kind of wondered how the Franklin contingent of the Huonville Lions would take losing their part of the Huonville identity, but it seems that the club have dropped the Lions part of thier name, which they were so pedantic about for many years after the merger.

I think a Huon club will be a strong club, just wonder how the locals will find it. A Huonville club, or a wholly Huon club.
I think they should bring back the TANFL, and have Huon side in there.
Over a century of proud footballing pedigree and a rabid following should count for something.

I'll look on with interest.

Motty
22nd June 2005, 23:40
You just beat me to the punch Tigers, what can AFLT or the SFL do to "fix the broken wagon" that is southern footy. It's not a new problem either is it. I remember when I was there around 1990 that there were "murmurs of discontent" about the statewide TFL with Devonport and Burnie Hawks being a point of hatred amongst the southern clubs. Why? I've forgotten unfortunately.

I believe that the ODFA is a mess with 4 teams (a league that size in Victoria would either be forced into extinction or its sides would merge into 1, 2 or 3 teams and join a neighbouring league). Examples of this are the Mount Noorat FL, Southern Mallee FL, Northern Mallee FL, Heytesbury-Mount Noorat FL, Riviera FL and the Panton Hill FL.

Should there be seperate leagues? How many teams in each of these leagues? Or should the leagues remove the compulsion to field reserves side to allow troubled clubs some breathing space.

If need be - should there be enough clubs in that boat - they could form a seperate comp and a side could be allowed to exit if they are strong enough to field 2 again without putting a strain on the club's viability in the short to medium term.

We might even see some old clubs come out of hibernation and live to fight another day.

Speaking of that, what happened to the old Tasman FA and its teams? Did they all just vanish at once or merge up?

Kingpin
23rd June 2005, 00:10
You just beat me to the punch Tigers, what can AFLT or the SFL do to "fix the broken wagon" that is southern footy. It's not a new problem either is it. I remember when I was there around 1990 that there were "murmurs of discontent" about the statewide TFL with Devonport and Burnie Hawks being a point of hatred amongst the southern clubs. Why? I've forgotten unfortunately.
I'm not sure what the hate was towards the Coastal teams was to be honest, all I remember was that the Northerners were the evil peril and the enemy. That was how it was back then.

I believe that the ODFA is a mess with 4 teams (a league that size in Victoria would either be forced into extinction or its sides would merge into 1, 2 or 3 teams and join a neighbouring league). Examples of this are the Mount Noorat FL, Southern Mallee FL, Northern Mallee FL, Heytesbury-Mount Noorat FL, Riviera FL and the Panton Hill FL.
Yep, The ODFA is back to 4 teams at present.
Woodsdale, Tunnack, Kempton & Colebrook have all gone.
There was news about recently that thr remaining 4 ODFA sides are looking at combining into two sides and joining the SFL Regional League next year.
Whether that happens or not, who knows.

Should there be seperate leagues? How many teams in each of these leagues? Or should the leagues remove the compulsion to field reserves side to allow troubled clubs some breathing space.

If need be - should there be enough clubs in that boat - they could form a seperate comp and a side could be allowed to exit if they are strong enough to field 2 again without putting a strain on the club's viability in the short to medium term.
I think things in the South especially are getting to desperation-stations in some parts. I think they may soon have to look at having Seniors only to bump up senior player numbers.

We might even see some old clubs come out of hibernation and live to fight another day.
It may do, or it may not. But it's definately worth a try.

Speaking of that, what happened to the old Tasman FA and its teams? Did they all just vanish at once or merge up?
The whole league went under.
Swansea and Triabunna went to the ODFA, Richmond Lions went to the Old Scholars FA, Dodges Ferry went to the SFL Regional League.
Cambridge & Risdon Vale folded.
Also the Peninisula Football Association and all its member clubs went under about 3 years ago.
Eaglehawk Neck, Koonya, Nubeena, Port Arthur etc all gone.

WCL
23rd June 2005, 09:55
The President at Huonville is Tim Griggs, scotty Wilcox is the Youth Development Officer.
Tim, responded to parts of my question and Cameron Smith (football operations director) filled in the rest.

I think that this move is going to be the one that saves Southern Tasmanian Football, for the mean time anyway. Because of the fact that they are at least going to make an effort to embrace the whole comunity, by calling themselves Southern ??? or whatever is such an important factor. The way that I believe they are going to do this is possibly allow Cygnet, Kermandie and Channel members discounts for Membership and admittance. This would be so good and I can see them having a very big following. The fact that thi team won't be thrown on to the people like the TFL Southern Cats were, it has sprouted out of a club looking for better things.

I agree with you tigers, make an 8 team TANFL out of this comp. This could become reality, because as I said earlier, all the premier League clubs (except brighton) want to split leagues (lets hope so).
This is My 8 Team TANFL:

Glenorchy Magpies
Clarence Roos
New Norfolk Eagles
North Hobart Demons
Southern Cats
Hobart Lions
Lauderdale Bombers
Kingborough Tigers

This is a great mix of teams and with the Kingborough Tigers starting to create a following it looks even better. I believe they got 1,200 to watch Kingborough V New Norfolk at the "pit". These might not sound like big figures, but late in the Statewide League days crowds were around this and at times less.

The teams with the biggest followings in this league would be IMO.
New Norfolk
Glenorchy
Southern Cats
North Hobart

bsg7
23rd June 2005, 10:55
Thanx for the welcome, i go for Clarence and just like you blokes want to see a southern competition stronger than the NTFL.

WCL
23rd June 2005, 11:09
Ah a rooboy. I go for Glenorchy. What do you think about this situation? Do you like the Devils? I don't and I don't think many people on this forum or for that matter Tasmania do either.

bsg7
23rd June 2005, 21:33
while we just have a northern and southern comp i think the devils are good, but i much rather see a state wide league happening again, the TFL days were awesome, just imagine if the devils left the VFL and joined their local clubs and we had a statewide league, i think we could have a pretty good standard again.

WCL
23rd June 2005, 21:40
Of course it would be a good standard, and as the old saying goes, you never know how much you loved something untill it left. But of course costs and stuff would be a problem.

I can't see any reason why we can't go back to the pre-statewide days and have the 2 strong comps and just compete against each other in the intra-state south v north game.

Just have the TFL (Hobart based) and the NTFL northern based, it gives good players lots of options, if they want to live in the North and play at a high standard then they can and vice-versa.

wattsy
24th June 2005, 00:17
Yep sound a good structure with the inclusion of Huonville.
How does it happen.
Do the supporters or will they travel thru thick or thin.
Its amazing the present formant has been allowed to continue as it is totally out of control .
No point in talking up crowds just to feel good .
The honesty becomes real when the cash is in the bank.
Clubs are only ticking over most clubs in the premier league are still in debt from the statewide days it is a situation better addressed at the end of a era rather than as was done making a too quick decision to hasten the Clarences,North Hobarts and Glenorchy into a much inferior standard without thinking about the worst case scenario which is now.
Remember the roster in 2001.Absolute comedy
After all the sfl league was in 2000 running along smooth there is no doubt about it as the attendences statistics say more supporters attended in 2000.
And remember that not only did they shovel the teams into the sfl but inthe same year the devils were born in a great time of chaos .
Too much too quick.
One can only hope we can sometime learn from the past maybe ask the general public for some input instead of letting over qualified experts take control and make the decisions lacking forthsight.

Barge
26th June 2005, 19:05
The President at Huonville is Tim Griggs, scotty Wilcox is the Youth Development Officer.
Tim, responded to parts of my question and Cameron Smith (football operations director) filled in the rest.

I think that this move is going to be the one that saves Southern Tasmanian Football, for the mean time anyway. Because of the fact that they are at least going to make an effort to embrace the whole comunity, by calling themselves Southern ??? or whatever is such an important factor. The way that I believe they are going to do this is possibly allow Cygnet, Kermandie and Channel members discounts for Membership and admittance. This would be so good and I can see them having a very big following.

Don't for one second think the other teams in the Huon area - Cygnet, Kermandie and Channel - would hop into bed straight away with Huonville just because they're joining the almighty Regional League! These four clubs hate each other with a passion you would not believe! Do you expect all the Cygnet home grown talent to just up and leave to their despised neighbour?!

Will simply not happen.

The teams with the biggest followings in this league would be IMO.
New Norfolk
Glenorchy
Southern Cats
North Hobart

So you're saying the Southern Cats Mk II/Huonville Cowmilkers or whatever it is gonna be called is gonna be more supported than the current title holder in the Premier League, Clarence?

You seriously are a clown.

Stick to football in the nation's capital!

WCL
26th June 2005, 22:07
Clarence's supporters are so fickle, they have very little core support anymore, all bandwagoners.

Hey barge how about you stick to your precious bush footy mate!

bsg7
27th June 2005, 20:09
as well as the intra state game, i'd luv to see the State Grand Final up and running again.

Barge
27th June 2005, 20:16
Clarence's supporters are so fickle, they have very little core support anymore, all bandwagoners.

Hey barge how about you stick to your precious bush footy mate!

Clarence's supporters are so fickle? Little core support anymore?

HOW THE BLOODY HELL WOULD YOU KNOW FROM 1000KM'S AWAY?

As for my "Bush Footy" last I checked Claremont is 5 minutes up the road from your beloved Glenorchy, right in the heart of the Northern SUBURBS!

WCL = IDIOT!

WCL
28th June 2005, 21:00
Barge, you have been bad news ever since you raised your head on these boards. Not only have strayed from topics to have personal cracks at people, but you just like stirring things up and telling peole they are doing a sh*t job at everything. I know plenty about Tasmanian football and trust me I have more contacts than you can poke a stick at.

By the way thanks to everyone except Barge who have stuck to this topic and I will update you to the situation in the coming days.

Captain Charisma
29th June 2005, 19:45
Sorry WCL, But Barge is a terrifc bloke and great poster, I've learnt alot from him about football and southerners ;) , i don't have opinion on you as yet. ON topic i think Huonville needs to stay in Regional League, SFL need respect and to do that they need stop changing things around give things time ******** clubs will go good, thats how life is up and down, the higher they get the harder they fall.

Barge
30th June 2005, 22:56
Oh No! WCL doesn't like me! I'm devastated! It's so upsetting to hear this I'm never gonna post on this website again!

Newsflash! NO ONE CARES WHAT YOU THINK!

You know nothing about the Premier League let alone the Regional League!

I've strayed from the topic have I? All I've said on this BORING TOPIC is state my opinion and questioned yours! If that's straying off the topic, then I'm guilty as charged!

bsg7 starts talking about rep games and state Grand Finals, yet you say nothing about him straying off topic? You GALAH! (not you bsg7, the other crank!)

WCL, have a look how Lauderdale are going in the Premier League? Finished Runner Up in 02 and 03 in the Regional League and have snatched one against Hobart (somehow - next time Hobart did them by 20 goals) and have beaten Brighton a couple of times! (the most recent of which was by a couple of goals!). The remainder of games - clearly out of their depth. This Huon mob will be even worse!

Huonville have not yet, in the 3 years of the Regional League even made the finals! And you think they're going to turn the Premier League on it's head?! Yet more evidence that you don't have a clue!

Have you counted on numerous Huonville players taking the soft option and remaining in the Regional League with neighbouring clubs, a la the strong Lauderdale alumni that now plays under the name of Sorell? I think not!

You claim all I do is tell people they're doing a shyt job at "everything"? Where have I done that? Only person I've even come close to saying that to is YOU (surprisingly!) as you seem to tip Glenorchy almost every week and make many other nonsensical selections!

Oh you have more contacts than I can poke a stick at?! You're 17 or 18 and you're carrying on like you're connected like Eddie McGuire!

Your QUALITY IN THE KNOW SOURCES informed you the crowd at the recent Kingston v New Norfolk game at Kingston attracted 1200 people!!?? I think that says it all for your reliable sources!

Wattsy has asked probably the best question on this post - will their supporters travel through thick and thin? What if, say they replace Brighton, and become the League's new whipping boys, will their supporters religiously go to away games? They won't have the nice little 15 minute drive to Cygnet, Kermandie and Snug anymore. They'll have trips to Bellerive, Boyer, KGV, North Hobart and the TCA to watch their kids get flogged! And these trips will be every two weeks!

And I re-iterate they won't get the other Huon clubs on side just by calling the club "Huon whatevers" - they all hate each others guts!

Discount Memberships? So you expect Cygnet supporters to buy Cygnet Memberships and also follow this Huon side in the Premier League? Which side are they going to watch week in, week out? ANOTHER STUPID COMMENT FROM YOU!

To quote Big Brother .......... THAT IS ALL!

Motty
4th July 2005, 15:46
From what I have seen in recent years, the SFL Premier should only have six sides (drop Lauderdale and Brighton). This way there is a reduced likelihood of twenty goal thrashings each week and also it will put Lauderdale and Brighton closer to "their level" and help them retain support and viability into the future.

That of course leaves 10 in Regional. Do you add in the seven OSFA clubs and give Regional an 8-9 split? Please don't put the proposed "East Coast" and "Midlands" teams from the ODFA into the Regional, that will just help to kill off interest in footy in that region - the travel will mean that supporters just won't travel round trips of between 150-300kms every second week "just for a game of footy".

Ozguy
7th July 2005, 13:47
Just to correct a couple of people in this thread, but the ODFA is actually 5 teams, not 4.

Kingpin
7th July 2005, 15:01
Just to correct a couple of people in this thread, but the ODFA is actually 5 teams, not 4.

Oatlands, Bothwell, Mt Pleasant, Swansea & Triabunna.