North Hobart 22.19.151 - Lauderdale 6.5.41 at Lauderdale Oval
SFL Regional League
Cygnet 12.12.84 - Channel 12.7.79 at Cygnet Rec. Ground
Dodges Ferry 18.16.124 - Claremont 5.10.40 at Shark Park
Huonville Lions 17.16.118 - Sorell 8.14.62 at Huonville Rec. Ground
Kermandie 24.18.162 - Lindisfarne 12.9.81 at Anzac Park
NTFL
Devonport 20.16.136 - Latrobe 10.10.70 Att: 800 at Devonport Oval
Smithton 13.12.90 - East Devonport 12.13.85 Att: 650 at Smithton Football Ground
South Launceston 17.14.116 - Wynyard 9.11.65 Att: 400 at Youngtown Oval
Burnie Dockers 22.24.156 - Penguin 5.7.37 Att: 660 at West Park
Launceston 15.9.99 - North Launceston 13.13.91 Att: 2000 at Aurora Stadium
NTFA - Division One
Scottsdale Magpies 12.8.80 - Deloraine 8.8.56 at Scottsdale Rec. Ground
Hillwood 24.28.172 - Bracknell 4.8.32 at Bracknell Rec. Ground
Bridgenorth 15.12.102 - Rocherlea 12.13.85 at Rocherlea Oval
George Town 29.11.185 - Longford 2.4.16 at Longford Oval
NTFA - Division Two
St Patricks 20.20.140 - Tamar Cats 8.3.51 at St Patricks Oval
Perth 21.21.147 - Evandale 13.6.84 at Evandale Oval
Campbell Town 14.15.99 - University-Mowbray 8.11.59 at Campbell Town Rec. Ground
Old Launcestonians 12.10.82 - Old Scotch 11.10.76 NTCA Ground
NEFU
Bridport 21.13.139 - St Helens 16.16.112 at Bridport Oval
Branxholm 21.9.135 - Lilydale 8.12.60 at Lilydale Rec. Ground
Winnaleah 40.17.257 - Ringarooma 2.5.17 at Winnaleah Rec. Ground
OSFA
St Virgil's 20.18.138 - Friends' 12.5.77 at New Town Oval
DOSA 22.6.138 - Hutchins 8.9.57 at Queenborough Oval
Richmond 17.13.115 - University 7.10.52 at University Oval
ODFA
Bothwell 14.17.101 - Triabunna 8.6.54 at Bothwell Oval
Mt Pleasant 20.11.131 - Swansea 5.14.44 at Swansea Rec. Ground
NWFA
Wesley Vale 16.10.106 - West Ulverstone 5.8.38 at West Ulverstone Football Ground
Sheffield 27.25.187 - Rosebery-Toorak 10.4.64 at Sheffield Rec. Ground
Motton-Preston 24.25.169 - Spreyton 11.4.70 at Spreyton Rec. Ground
Forth 20.19.139 - Turners Beach 9.4.58 at Turners Beach Oval
Darwin FA
Yolla 19.19.133 - Queenstown 10.10.70at Yolla Rec. Ground
Cuprona 27.22.184 - Ridgley 6.7.43 at Cuprona Football Ground
Yeoman 17.17.119 - Natone 9.5.59 at Yeoman Rec. Ground
Somerset 18.13.121 - Myalla 17.12.114 at Myalla Football Ground
Circular Head FA
Forest-Stanley 11.12.78 - Irishtown 8.9.57 at Irishtown Rec. Ground
Redpa 19.18.132 - Trowutta-City Bulldogs 14.2.86 at Redpa Football Ground
Leven FA
Mole Creek 10.15.75 - Castra 5.5.35 at Mole Creek Oval
Railton 43.23.281 - Latrobe Saints 4.6.30 at Railton Rec. Ground
King Island FL
North 18.19.127 - Currie 10.19.79 at Currie Football Ground
Ah Poo! Glenorchy! Oh well, teams have done worse going up to the valley of love this year. :rolleyes:
Something to savour out at Kingston. Pity the Tigers didn't win. I tell you what, we are in for one hell of a finals series. All 5 teams can beat each other on any given day. Glenorchy just better hope they finish 4th or above otherwise another early exit beckons. Kingborough is a good side and have created quite following down there. I believ they got 1,500 (unconfirmed) there to watch New Norfolk play and I would say they got a similar turn up today (weather depending). It must have been one hell of a game out there, 43 goals scored and 2pts the margain.
Hobart won as was expected although they were missing some key youngsters away at the U18 champs.
North Hobart keep going along steadily and will be a big contender come finals time.
Kingpin
25 Jun 2005, 17:48
Kingborough is a good side
At Kingston Beach, yes.
and have created quite following down there. I believe they got 1,500 (unconfirmed) there to watch New Norfolk play and I would say they got a similar turn up today
Around 650 in the Kingborough - New Norfolk game, the Kingston Beach Oval doesn't even hold 1000 people.
Also, from the news footage on WIN, there wasn't a huge crowd there.
Clarence nowdays has nowhere near the following New Norfolk has, thanks to the Devils. So there would have been fewer people today.
(weather depending).
http://www.weatherzone.com.au/images/wxicons/30/animated/sunny.gif 11C
It must have been one hell of a game out there, 43 goals scored and 2pts the margain.
Would've been an excellent game. The tiny ground at The Pit seems to lend itself to the end to end goal-fests that have been happening down there this year. Also the renovation to the playing surface seems to have helped things.
Around 650 in the Kingborough - New Norfolk game, the Kingston Beach Oval doesn't even hold 1000 people
Fair enough, still better than a lot of the old statewide games near the end and better than a lot of VFL games (melbourne based) have drawn.
Yeah it sucks how clarence don't have a supporter base like they used to, it used to be so much fun baiting all the chardonnay sets on the terraces at KGV. Oh well if the Southern "Cats" get off the ground and the leagues split, then we may once again re-visit those days. Only Time will tell.
By the way did you happen to catch the final score in the top of the table clash in the NTFL
Kingpin
26 Jun 2005, 01:19
Fair enough, still better than a lot of the old statewide games near the end and better than a lot of VFL games (melbourne based) have drawn.
Yes it is. I can remember clubs like Hobart, Sandy Bay, Launceston and South Launceston drawing less than that in the TFL.
Also the Southern Cats used to draw less after we left.
Yeah it sucks how clarence don't have a supporter base like they used to, it used to be so much fun baiting all the chardonnay sets on the terraces at KGV. Oh well if the Southern "Cats" get off the ground and the leagues split, then we may once again re-visit those days. Only Time will tell.
I used to hate those bastards with a passion. They were the most snotty-nosed, elitist, arrogant pricks ever.
One thing I look back on with pride is, that even though the Tigers had a dreadful record against them in the home & away matches, Clarence only beat us in a final once in all those years (1976).
Used to love rubbing thier poor finals record against us, into them in.
By the way did you happen to catch the final score in the top of the table clash in the NTFL
No ABC never gave the score out. North led by I think 14-points going into time-on in the final quarter, according to Southern Cross news.
I went to the Darwin FA "top two" match between Yolla and Queenstown Crows at Yolla whilst on my holiday.
Reasonable standard game, though the Demons got up by nine goals against a side that usually has "six in, six out" due to most of the town's people working at the nearby copper mine. On top of that, the Crows had one bloke suspended and a couple of injuries.
The ground reminded me of something I would see in the south west of Victoria (Sth West DFL/Colac DFL/Mininera DFL). Set on a hilly landscape, it seemed a world away from the Burnie-Penguin game played just 10 minutes away.
I got to see "The Gravel" on Thursday night and got to know a few of the Crows guys. A great bunch of blokes. Their 300km round trips by bus to away games must be a hoot!
I went to the Darwin FA "top two" match between Yolla and Queenstown Crows at Yolla whilst on my holiday.
Reasonable standard game, though the Demons got up by nine goals against a side that usually has "six in, six out" due to most of the town's people working at the nearby copper mine. On top of that, the Crows had one bloke suspended and a couple of injuries.
The ground reminded me of something I would see in the south west of Victoria (Sth West DFL/Colac DFL/Mininera DFL). Set on a hilly landscape, it seemed a world away from the Burnie-Penguin game played just 10 minutes away.
I got to see "The Gravel" on Thursday night and got to know a few of the Crows guys. A great bunch of blokes. Their 300km round trips by bus to away games must be a hoot!
hey motty, i play for the crows and i can tell you the bus trip back was a hoot we didnt arrive back in queenstown till about midnight after a few stops on the way.i thought we did alright with the amount of players we had out, the last 5 mins of the 2nd quarter where they kicked 5 goals killed us we could get back in it after that.
i hope you enjoyed yourself down this way and you will have to call in and see us again next time your down this way.
I got to see "The Gravel" on Thursday night and got to know a few of the Crows guys. A great bunch of blokes.
All hail Motty - he went to Queenstown and lived to tell the tale!
Invest in a Tattslotto ticket son, because you're in the luck!
Up there they usually slaughter out of towners!
Kingpin
28 Jun 2005, 02:40
http://www.themercury.news.com.au/images/masthead.gif
26th May 2005: Roos Snare Thriller Over Game Tigers
By James Bresnehan
If games were won by courage alone, the four points would have gone to Kingborough in its Southern Premier League thriller against Clarence at Kingston yesterday.
The Tigers fought like lions to overcome the powerful Roos, but the visitors unleashed their main weapon and that was enough to sink the home side in a high-scoring heart-stopper.
Clarence won by three points, 21.15 (141) to 22.6 (138), and it was the boot of Roo full-forward Brad Dutton that did the most damage.
Clarence looked as though it would skip away with the win after kicking three of the first four goals of the last quarter. But successive goals in the space of six minutes to Brady Jones, Josh Kline and Josh Goddens put Kingborough in front at the 16-minute mark.
Clarence kicked two of the next three, including one to Dutton, to win one of the best contests in the Premier League this season.
Dutton's six second-half goals ended Kingborough's hopes and the burly key forward finished with a match-winning haul of eight.
Wily Roo veteran Gavin Cooney was the side's main support act, chipping in with four goals.
For Kingborough, Jason Philp and Sam Unsworth gave the home side hope with four goals apiece, and Chris Joyce kicked three to take his tally for the past two weeks to 11.
Key Roo ball-movers Stuart Whitelaw, Nick Leitch and Scott McCallum were part of the reason Dutton got his hands on the ball so often.
The win means Clarence remains the only real threat to knock New Norfolk off the top of the ladder, however unlikely that may seem.
New Norfolk, still undefeated after 11 rounds, was made to work hard for its 30-point win over Glenorchy at Boyer yesterday, winning 14.10 (94) to 9.10 (64).
Hobart boosted its percentage with a thumping 118 point win over Brighton at the TCA ground. Hobart won 22.20 (152) to 5.4 (34).
Big follower-forward Brent Dickson kicked six goals to be the most successful of the 12 Lion goalkickers.
If six-placed Lauderdale thought it might have had a shot at pushing its way into the league's top five, North Hobart slammed the door in its face at Lauderdale.
The Demons were ruthless in their 110-point win - 22.19 (151) to 6.5 (41) - and pocket dynamo Robbie Devine cashed in on the side's dominance.
"The Whiz" bagged nine goals but that was not enough to earn his best-afield honours.
That went to bigman Leigh Taylor with speedster Leigh Walker a close second.
Kingpin
28 Jun 2005, 02:42
http://www.themercury.news.com.au/images/masthead.gif
26th May 2005: Rampant Robins Beat Lindisfarne By 81 points
By Adam Smith
Kermandie consolidated third spot on the Southern Regional League football ladder after smashing Lindisfarne at Anzac Park yesterday.
An 11-goal burst from time-on in the first term until late in the second quarter was the catalyst for the Robins huge win.
They eventually doubled their opponents score, winning by 81 points, 24.18 (162) to 12.9 (81).
And things could have been even worse for the Two Blues as Kermandie squandered plenty of opportunities in the first term, kicking 3.10.
After a tight opening 15 minutes, the Robins turned a 13-point quarter-time lead into 62 points by half-time thanks to a nine-goal to one blitz. Lindisfarne was not disgraced in the second half, but simply could not match the skills of its opponents.
Robins coach Adam Henley was pleased with his side's performance, especially after quarter time.
"We were kicking around corners a bit [in the first term], we needed to just straighten ourselves up and kick long," Henley said.
"Dave Reynolds was great at centre-half-forward and Kieron Nichols killed them at full-forward."
Adam Coulson was busy all day and Andrew Nash dominated the ruck.
For Lindisfarne, Luke Goodsell kicked three, all in the second half, while Jack Sturzaker ran hard all day.
Kermandie's attention now turns to the upcoming clash with Huonville in what is shaping up as a big game.
"Some people are seeing it as a chance for them to take third spot," Henley said. "We want to cement that [third spot] and the opportunity is there to do that at home."
Dodges Ferry remains on top after demolishing bottom-side Claremont at Shark Park.
The game always threatened to become a blowout, and it eventuated with the Sharks extending their lead at every change to run away 84 point winners 18.16 (124) to 5.10 (40).
At Cygnet, the home side once again came from behind at three-quarter-time to overrun Channel and remain in second spot.
Trailing by four points at the final change, it took a screamer of a mark in the goal square to Cygnet's Sean Butterworth, in the dying stages of the game, for the Power to hit the front and record a 12.12 (84) to 12.7 (79) win.
Daniel Walter and Damien Clark kicked two goals each while full-forward Michael Darcy was held to a solitary goal.
Huonville replaced Sorell in fourth spot after thumping the Eagles by 56 points at home.
The Lions ran away with the game after quarter time, kicking 15 goals to the Eagle's five. Coach Michael McGregor kicked five goals returning from injury, while Scott Dickson also bagged five in the Lions 17.16 (118) to 8.14 (62) victory.
Kingpin
28 Jun 2005, 02:52
http://www.southernfootball.com.au/LindisfarneFCLogo_small.JPG
Seems to have been some unrest at Lindisfarne over the senior coach, Jarrod Bennett. The mail I have, is that Bennett - who it was reported in the media late last week as "Stood down for personal reasons" had lost the players.
Assistant Coach Daniel Willing has taken over the reigns for the rest of the season. Willing was in charge allegedly of the match against Kermandie on Saturday at Lindisfarne.
Apparently up to 15 players had threatened to walk out on the Two Blues, should Bennett not be replaced as coach.
Very interesting. Just when it seemed Lindisfarne were finally getting their act together for once, too.
Appears my internet friend has heard the rumours too!
One rumour I have heard is that Bennett was sacked for taking some of the senior players out on Friday Nights drinking sessions.
I also heard yesterday, that after Saturday's flogging at the hands of Kermandie, Bennett tore strips off Daniel Willing which prompted Willing to declare of the Club "Either he goes or we go (Willing and Brother Tom, and possibly others)" and fearing a mass exodus the club stood Bennett down.
Assistant Coach, or should I say former Lindisfarne Assistant Coach Allan Robinson (aka Allan White) has already moved on to DOSA. Rumour has it he was sacked a week earlier for the heinous crime of telling Bennett to omit players who weren't training! Rumour also has it that after Bennett's sacking, Lindisfarne officials were trying to hold off on Robinson's clearance and coerce him back to the club to coach them in last week's game V Kermandie. This didn't happen and Robinson made his debut for DOSA, being BOG in the Reserves.
I have also heard that Bennett and Wayne Hogan have been sacked are are headed for ..... Claremont. This came from one of my non-Claremont sources. I hadn't heard any of these rumours until Saturday night, least of all in the media. Tigers, through which outlets did you hear "Badger" had stood down for "personal reasons"?
Kingpin
28 Jun 2005, 15:12
Appears my internet friend has heard the rumours too!
One rumour I have heard is that Bennett was sacked for taking some of the senior players out on Friday Nights drinking sessions.
I also heard yesterday, that after Saturday's flogging at the hands of Kermandie, Bennett tore strips off Daniel Willing which prompted Willing to declare of the Club "Either he goes or we go (Willing and Brother Tom, and possibly others)" and fearing a mass exodus the club stood Bennett down.
Assistant Coach, or should I say former Lindisfarne Assistant Coach Allan Robinson (aka Allan White) has already moved on to DOSA. Rumour has it he was sacked a week earlier for the heinous crime of telling Bennett to omit players who weren't training! Rumour also has it that after Bennett's sacking, Lindisfarne officials were trying to hold off on Robinson's clearance and coerce him back to the club to coach them in last week's game V Kermandie. This didn't happen and Robinson made his debut for DOSA, being BOG in the Reserves.
I have also heard that Bennett and Wayne Hogan have been sacked are are headed for ..... Claremont. This came from one of my non-Claremont sources. I hadn't heard any of these rumours until Saturday night, least of all in the media. Tigers, through which outlets did you hear "Badger" had stood down for "personal reasons"?
Yes, it's all got very interesting really, I saw the news on this story on WIN Local News on Friday night from memory.
They just said that Bennett had stood down for "personal reasons", but we were talking about it up here on Saturday night, and a parent of one of the players in the Reserves up at the Hobart Lions said that the boys had been talking a lot about that, and that 15 players were going to walk out if Bennett didn't quit as coach.
Apparently, as is usually the case with Lindisfarne, alcohol was the major cause of the problem.
Also they said that Lizard Hogan had had a 3 day drinking binge some time back, and had turned up to training, VERY 3-sheets to the wind.
Which, I'd have to say, living near him as I do, is pretty well on the money.
I'd have to say, by the looks of it, he isn't enjoying Lindisfarne like he did Swansea.
Any clues as to your identity Moony (name?). You probably guessed that I was wearing the red, white and black jacket and Seeny took me under his wing whilst I was there.
There is little doubt that I will arrange for a day permit and try and get a game at the Rec in 2006!
I loved it in Queeny
Any clues as to your identity Moony (name?). You probably guessed that I was wearing the red, white and black jacket and Seeny took me under his wing whilst I was there.
There is little doubt that I will arrange for a day permit and try and get a game at the Rec in 2006!
I loved it in Queeny
yeah i was wearing number 4, seeny is a legend he took me under his wing when i first moved down here but i soon learned not to drink with him he is a machine.
queeny isnt as bad as what people say it is, ive had no trouble since ive been here.no doubt you would get a game if you want one it would be a good experience for you.
who do you play for at the moment?
I remember you now!
Seeny's won a few B&F's in his time in Western Tassie footy from the research I did when I got home on Tuesday. Still goes alright for a bloke of his age too :) . I evidenced his drinking skills on Thursday night as we went from the rooms to the Commenrcial and on to the Mount Lyell!
I really loved the time I spent in Queeny and the people I met there - pity I couldn't stay longer and a shame that I didn't think quicker to get the paperwork arranged so that I could get a game in the Two's.
Next year, I will ensure that I arrange a visit to coincide with a Crows' home game and pack a pair of boots in my suitcase! I reckon that I would have fitted in alright in the Two's line-up, but I am not much better than that.
I do media work with the Eastern Football League here in Melbourne on most Saturdays, calling matches or radio as well as doing around the grounds reports. When my duties allow it, I slip on the black and white (in the style of the Port Adelaide Magpies) of Surrey Park and play a game in the Twos' here and there.
Thanks Tigers,
can't wait for todays games.
Good Ol WCL posting at 10.29am on a Saturday morning?
Dare I ask What's the go there? Seeing as you play for Weston Creek Under 18's?
Got the bye or something, sport?
General Bye, because AFL Canberra played AFL Queensland.
And got pumped too I see!
Kent Abey chipping in with 3 goals for the Winners!
Yeah and we are looking at playing against the VFL next year at Manuka, what a joke!
Let's run a sweep for that game.
We'll make it easy by saying that the VFL will beat AFL Canberra. Entries are $1 each with the margin range tickets offered being between 60 and 200!
What a waste of time that game will be!
Why don't the VFL stick to matches against SA, WA and Tassie (State team, NTFL or SFL) instead?
To be fair, we (ACTAFL) had a few key players out that could of swayed the result our way, but we will still get done by over 10 goals by the VFL, they are only playing this game because the VFL have next season off (representative wise), similar to why WA played QLD this year, as for getting a crowd to that game, we struggle to draw 150 to a match of the round so I would expect between 500 and 1,000 to the game. A Tassie state side wouldn't fair that much better than the ACT, which is sad considering Tassie beat the VFL, SANFL and WAFL in consecutive years in the late 90's.
The Majestic
5 Jul 2005, 17:08
AFLACT VS AFLST? Could be a fair game.
Tassie travelled to WA to play Westar Rules and got pumped one year.
Captain Charisma
5 Jul 2005, 19:49
To be honestly fair if Tassie were to put a team together i think they could beat WA or SA or VIC you won't no just how good we actually are Tassie Devils would be winning Premierships if they actually looked for the best Players in Tassie, NTFL could put a team together that would dominate the Devils.
Barralupo
5 Jul 2005, 20:11
All your posts on the farne are com[pletely wrong. The tuesday b4 he was sacked a club meeting was held where anyone who had something to say got a chance to say it, a lot of people didnt like how players werent being picked on form, training etc. in the end it was decided the bennet would step down, 2 players left with him not 15
Of course the NTFL/SFL could put in a team that could dominate the Devils, but the fact is the Devils can't win a game in the VFL, so a combined VFL side would still get over the line of a Tassie side.
P.S. 1999 was when we got pumped by WA at Kalgoorlie.
I Have to be honest WCL, i doubt that a combined NTFL/SFL team could beat the devils? would you care to pick a rough squad of 25 for me?????
It really depends on the Criteria, there are a lot of good footballers that are on the Devils list that may play 1 or 2 or no games for them. If They are eligible then I think that they could give it a real shake.
tassieswan
6 Jul 2005, 16:42
All your posts on the farne are com[pletely wrong. The tuesday b4 he was sacked a club meeting was held where anyone who had something to say got a chance to say it, a lot of people didnt like how players werent being picked on form, training etc. in the end it was decided the bennet would step down, 2 players left with him not 15
i wouldnt be suprised if he was sacked.
Captain Charisma
6 Jul 2005, 19:10
I Have to be honest WCL, i doubt that a combined NTFL/SFL team could beat the devils? would you care to pick a rough squad of 25 for me?????
Devils Don't have a side that has the best Tassie Talent, guys like: Nigel White, Adam Derbyshire, Adam Sanders, Matt Muir, Adrian Partridge, Nick Derrico, Kurt Hartnett, Trent McCrossen, Darren Banham, Brad Davis some of the most talented players in the NTFL and i've only named a handful, there not playing for the devils and they would be alot better than some of the players in the devils team.
I think you've misinterpreted the great Tigers 1945:
He said up to 15 players threatened to leave if Bennett STAYED as coach!
I think the Blues are finally regretting their decision over summer to employ someone as coach who is widely renowned as an out and out idiot!
Onto you my good friend WCL, when you make reference to the victories over the SANFL and the WAFL I think you're forgetting that they bulk of these Tassie sides were interstate imports way back when local clubs had money to buy interstate players. And the 1990 win over Victoria was really only a win a Victorian Seconds side!
Sanders and Davis are champions, Sanders played awesome in the 1999 Statewide GF and Davis went within 4 votes of the Leitch Medal that year.
You could easily name the side, but it depends a lot on the criteria as I said before, I mean Tim Pears was on the list a couple of years ago and he played maybe 1 or 2 games for them (I think) and he is a fantastic ruckman, (now plays for Weston Creek) he would of been in my side for sure. But from the south players like Brendan Bolton, Gavin Cooney, Sean Salter, Brad Carver, David Kameric, Chris Glenn, David Newitt, Chris Joyce even some regional players, such as Matty Bernes, Jamie Kaye and Darcy from Cygnet.
All of these players would more than hold their own against the Devils.
Barge, mate you may well be true, but still this is state footy their is always going to be a few imports, but players like, Benny Careless, Atkin, Carter, Styles from Glenorchy were all home brand so it evened up, I am sure there were others in that lineup as well so it is not all imports although there were some of course. Also the VFL would of been nothing against South Australia this year had it not been for Ben Atkin, Ken Hall, Ben Beams, Ian Callinan and Matthew Jovanovic.
Also those results were:
(Fullpoints Footy)
TAS 14.15 99
SANFL 12.12 84
TAS 19.6 120
WAFL 10.13 73
TAS 13.10 88
VFL 6.17 53
Here's my go at the southern part of the NTFl/SFL State side:
Jarrod Read (Cla)*
Gavin Cooney (Cla)*
Jonathon Bowring (Glen)
Tim Green (Glen)
David Newett (Glen)
Chris Glenn (Glen)
David Kamaric (Glen)
Chris Joyce (King)
Brock Akerley (NN)
Sean Salter (NN)
Adrian Burdon (NN)
Brad Carver (NN)
Shane Bonnitcha (NN)
Scott Allen (Laud)
Sam Lonergan (Laud)
Brendon Bolton (NH)
Robbie Devine (NH)
Brent Williams (NH)
*Would have more Clarence players in this team though most of them are listed for the devils, as are some North Hobart Players.
Out of the North I only know a couple of players and that is from the statewide days.
Adam Sanders (Laun)
Jason French (NB)
Brad Davis (Burn)
Feel free to add names.
Captain Charisma
7 Jul 2005, 19:31
Here's my go at the southern part of the NTFl/SFL State side:
Jarrod Read (Cla)*
Gavin Cooney (Cla)*
Jonathon Bowring (Glen)
Tim Green (Glen)
David Newett (Glen)
Chris Glenn (Glen)
David Kamaric (Glen)
Chris Joyce (King)
Brock Akerley (NN)
Sean Salter (NN)
Adrian Burdon (NN)
Brad Carver (NN)
Shane Bonnitcha (NN)
Scott Allen (Laud)
Sam Lonergan (Laud)
Brendon Bolton (NH)
Robbie Devine (NH)
Brent Williams (NH)
*Would have more Clarence players in this team though most of them are listed for the devils, as are some North Hobart Players.
Out of the North I only know a couple of players and that is from the statewide days.
Adam Sanders (Laun)
Jason French (NB)
Brad Davis (Burn)
Feel free to add names.
Adrian Partridge
Nigel White
Darren Banham
Tretn Mcrossen
Justin Hays
Jason Anthony
Mathew Langmaid
Greg Pilkington
Dallas Gallagher
Kurt Harnett
Darren Crawford
Grant Birchall
Todd Grima
Cameron Blight
Nathan Howard
Just to name a few......
ExTasDeeMan
7 Jul 2005, 19:40
I think you've misinterpreted the great Tigers 1945:
He said up to 15 players threatened to leave if Bennett STAYED as coach!
I think the Blues are finally regretting their decision over summer to employ someone as coach who is widely renowned as an out and out idiot!
I second that - i played in the same team as Badger Bennett a few years back - No one, and i mean NO ONE liked the guy, a complete deadsh1t.
We also had jason philp in the team so he was up against some strict competition...
I am pretty sure that people would not like to be coached by him let alone play in the same team.
Who does Nathan Howard play for these days.
Nigel White kicked 10 on the weekend and has been performing well, he would be in the side for sure.
Cameron Blight is good value.
Is Grima signed to the Devils or not? If not he would be in the side for sure.
Langmaid is another strong performer.
Don't know a whole heap about the rest of them.
Could someone else help so we can post the State Side against the Devils best side so we can see the comparison.
yeh i'm still not convinced, alot of the players mentioned in this have had their try at devils already (blight, howard, cooney, bolton etc.) and i whilst i think the players mentioned are all good players i still think the devils would have too many first class players (beams, plapp, callinan, hall etc.). Interesting to note that no-one mentioned Dutton (clar) or Thompson (nn) in their sfl squad?
As for big Brad Dutton, as you probably know bsg7 being a Clarence man, he is already in the Devisl aquad and give it a couple of weeks will most likely be in the team, so he can't possibly be in the "SFL team".
WCL says Cameron Blight is "good value". I wonder if he'd say that if he knew his rumoured wage this year? Somewhere between $39-41,000! One-fifth of the Devils salary cap!
On this SFL squad we're talking about, in 2 posts mentioning names WCL hasn't made mention of a guy who, when playing underage against him, everyone used to rant and rave about being a future AFL player! I must ask the question: Doesn't anyone rate New Norfolk coach Matthew Smith anymore?!
I think you're being a bit generous with some of the names you're mentioning WCL! Whilst I agree they're fair players, dunno how Big Brad Carver and Chrissy Glenn would go against Devils players! Heck, with Huonville in 2003 Chris Glenn didn't really do that much in the Regional League!
Finally, to you North-West guys, how come Matty Langmaid has never had a crack at the Devils? Lazy, possibly? Don't know the guy so I wouldn't know!
Captain Charisma (and others)
Is Brad Davis the same one that played at Fitzroy in their dying days? I think he's the same player who flew in and played for North Ringwood in the Eastern FL here for 1-2 years?
If so, where is he now? Back at Burnie Dockers???
Please help me solve the mystery ....
Captain Charisma
8 Jul 2005, 05:47
Captain Charisma (and others)
Is Brad Davis the same one that played at Fitzroy in their dying days? I think he's the same player who flew in and played for North Ringwood in the Eastern FL here for 1-2 years?
If so, where is he now? Back at Burnie Dockers???
Please help me solve the mystery ....
Yeah thats him, pretty much dominated the league last year in the ruck, was good all round the ground and won just about every hit out, has had a few injuries this year though. But yeah playin for the dockers.
Barge I was going to put both Smith and Thompson in but then realised that only half of the team could be from the SFL so didn't. But they both are exceptional players in the SFL. With Glenn and Carver I am only going on what I've seen, Glenn played an awesome GF in 1999 and when I saw him earlier this year he seemed to be doing quite well again. Carver is such an imposing figure and considering the Devils lack of talls and size, I think he could really upset them, plus when I saw him play against Hobart last year he kicked 6, 3 of which were in the last 1/4 he single handedly got the eagles home after being down by 1pt at 3 1/4 time they won by 32 pts.