View Full Version : 3SER 97.7FM TRUenergy VFL football coverage
To all VFL fans out there, a change of scheduling for this weekend's match will see 3SER 97.7FM cover SATURDAY'S game between Geelong and the Coburg Tigers live from Skilled Stadium, Geelong, beginning at 12.45pm or thereabouts. We were originally scheduled to be covering the Port Melbourne v Bendigo Bombers game on Sunday, but that has now changed, so please everyone tune in and listen to me and the boys hopefully give you a terrific day's commentary,
Thanks Anthony Brady.
To all VFL fans out there, a change of scheduling for this weekend's match will see 3SER 97.7FM cover SATURDAY'S game between Geelong and the Coburg Tigers live from Skilled Stadium, Geelong, beginning at 12.45pm or thereabouts. We were originally scheduled to be covering the Port Melbourne v Bendigo Bombers game on Sunday, but that has now changed, so please everyone tune in and listen to me and the boys hopefully give you a terrific day's commentary,
Thanks Anthony Brady.
Why would a community radio station cover the same game SEN are broadcasting when you could do another game? Doesn't make sense to me.
Dear Kooley and everyone,
you are spot on, I thought that myself when our head of football told us we were doing that game, which brings me to this...we are now NOT doing that game, there's been a late change, we are doing the Box Hill v Werribee game live from Box Hill. So again tune in to 97.7FM from 12.45pm on Saturday. I'll be calling along with a few others, so let's hope it's a great game and a great call,
Cheers, Anthony.
Anthony
Are you covering the Under 18 Nationals on Sunday at Optus Oval.
Dear Kooley and everyone,
you are spot on, I thought that myself when our head of football told us we were doing that game, which brings me to this...we are now NOT doing that game, there's been a late change, we are doing the Box Hill v Werribee game live from Box Hill. So again tune in to 97.7FM from 12.45pm on Saturday. I'll be calling along with a few others, so let's hope it's a great game and a great call,
Cheers, Anthony.
Good work. The Werribee V Box Hill will be a hell of alot better spectacle of game than Geelong V Coburg.
footyman
1 Jul 2005, 16:57
They double up with SEN again next week doing Northern Bullants v Box Hill at Cramer St.
As far as I know, we won't be covering the Under 18s on Sunday, though I will ask tomorrow and if we are, I'll post it on here tomorrow night. Also, I'm unsure what will happen next week, I mean at the moment there's no guarantees the game we are scheduled to do will in fact be the game we do, especially if SEN are covering it. We'll see what happens, I'll keep you all posted,
Thanks, Anthony.
footyman
1 Jul 2005, 19:08
As far as I know, we won't be covering the Under 18s on Sunday, though I will ask tomorrow and if we are, I'll post it on here tomorrow night. Also, I'm unsure what will happen next week, I mean at the moment there's no guarantees the game we are scheduled to do will in fact be the game we do, especially if SEN are covering it. We'll see what happens, I'll keep you all posted,
Thanks, Anthony.
Good work Anthony, I tune in and have a listen every now and then if I can get reception.
Whoever bagged Geelong v Coburg you're a bit cruel, 12th v 13th but the result is hardly clear. But the Burgers will be odds on for the spoon if they lose tomorrow. A rabble of a football club. No genuine football club drops one of their VFL listed players who was named one of their best the previous week so an AFL player can step in and play because the AFL have a bye. No wonder they sit bottom of the ladder. Serves them right.
Anthony,
Is there any chance the reception of 3SER could be improved. You guys do a great job but it is very difficult to hear clearly on the radio.
Hi guys,
firstly I'd like to apologise for not posting sooner, sorry about the delay. We were not able to commentate the Under 18s championships today, as we had a prior commitment to a Melbourne Tigers basketball function in Dandenong. But, next weekend, we have a football double-header happening. On Saturday, we will be commentating the game between the Northern Bullants and Box Hill live from Cramer St, Preston. Then on Sunday, we'll be doing the TAC Cup match between Sandringham Dragons and Oakleigh Chargers, some of the guys who played for Victoria Metro in the championships will be lining up, so that should be good. Also, I must say that I'm really sorry, our reception is really bad and it's something that we have to address. I don't know what's happening as regards to that. One thing they have been trying to get happening is for us to broadcast over the internet, though I don't know what the latest is regarding that. We have been trying for that for a long time. My Dad usually can't get us when we commentate at Box Hill and he is at the ground, but yesterday he was able to, so that was something good, maybe we can be moving in a positive direction now. I'll keep you posted on any developments we have in this area, and finally, thanks for listening in guys, we desperately need as many listeners as possible, so the support is much appreciated,
Thanks, Anthony.
Hello Anthony,
Thanks for your response - I have listened to the Saturday morning VFL footy show on 97.7 as well as your broadcasts of VFL Footy.
There have been some excellent interviews, ie Steve Harrison over the last few weeks. Can you advertise this informative show in the Record each week.
I am glad there is work being done on the reception as this will only increase listeners.
Keep up the good work.
Hello Anthony,
Thanks for your response - I have listened to the Saturday morning VFL footy show on 97.7 as well as your broadcasts of VFL Footy.
There have been some excellent interviews, ie Steve Harrison over the last few weeks. Can you advertise this informative show in the Record each week.
I am glad there is work being done on the reception as this will only increase listeners.
Keep up the good work.
Thanks a lot for that cisco, I'm unsure if we'd be able to advertise the Saturday morning VFL Footy Show in the Record, the head of football at the station is a guy named Kain Pollard, who is on that show, so I will put it to him and see if he can maybe have a chat with some people he knows about advertising the show, We'll see what happens. It's a shame next weekend that we clash with SEN in the game we do, we're a bit hamstrung because of us having a commitment to the TAC Cup game on the Sunday, but hopefully a few people will listen in and enjoy the coverage. Fingers are crossed anyhow,
Thanks, Anthony.
footyman
10 Jul 2005, 21:15
we're a bit hamstrung because of us having a commitment to the TAC Cup game on the Sunday, but hopefully a few people will listen in and enjoy the coverage. Seems like they pulled the pin on this TAC Cup coverage today (it was being promoted yesterday in the VFL show that it was going to be broadcast). The bloke in the studio said they were going to have their head of sport on after 3pm to discuss the progress of the VFL/TAC Cup coverage, I didn't hear that. Did anyone else?
In all seriousness if they are going to advertise matches it is poor to just not have them broadcast. It is the second time within a month that it has happened.
From an extended coverage last year which was great it has gone downhill this year. I'm not sure what sort of listening audience they have, but as someone who spends most of their weekend at VFL and TAC Cup I appreciate the service they provide and I'm sure there are others in the same position.
Hopefully they can get a good coverage happening for the rest of the season. And promote the bloody coverage a bit better and build a larger audience. They get Paul Amy on that Saturday morning show and he's got news pieces coming here there and everywhere and it is great listening.
Anyway, do you know what's going on Anthony?
Dear footyman,
I must say I was not aware of what happened yesterday, and to hear that our coverage of the TAC Cup didn't go ahead disappoints me greatly. I will endeavour to ask about this and see what happened here, this is the last thing we need. I'll send off an email now to our head of football, and see what happened, hopefully I'll have an answer for you soon. Sorry to disappoint you, I share your disappointment, and let's hope that something like this doesn't happen again,
Cheers, Anthony.
footyman
11 Jul 2005, 21:09
Dear footyman,
I must say I was not aware of what happened yesterday, and to hear that our coverage of the TAC Cup didn't go ahead disappoints me greatly. I will endeavour to ask about this and see what happened here, this is the last thing we need. I'll send off an email now to our head of football, and see what happened, hopefully I'll have an answer for you soon. Sorry to disappoint you, I share your disappointment, and let's hope that something like this doesn't happen again,
Cheers, Anthony.
Thanks Anthony, if you can find out that'd be great. Was looking forward to hearing some of that game yesterday!
Hey guys,
the head of our footy department said we had difficulties with the tieline at the ground during last Sunday, unfortunately, apologies for that. Also, for this weekend, the scheduled game is Northern Bullants v North Ballarat on Saturday, but at this stage there's no guarantees it's going ahead. Fingers crossed all problems can be fixed and we can get broadcasting, I'll keep you all posted,
Thanks, Anthony.
footyman
14 Jul 2005, 15:18
So if the Saturday game doesn't go ahead, does that mean SER will not cover a game this week?
ROOBOY_10
14 Jul 2005, 18:23
Hi Anthony,
I am a loyal listener to your coverage and i was listening in on saturday to the nothern bullants box hill match.
And there was this fantastic caller, he sounded really good and fluent.
Think his name was Jay or James...
Where did he come from?
Bad news if 3SER doesnt cover a game this weekend, thats a bummer. Lets hope they go ahead with the game out at Cramer St..
Keep up the good work anthony hope to hear you on soon.
Regards,
Greg
footyman
14 Jul 2005, 19:15
And there was this fantastic caller, he sounded really good and fluent.
Think his name was Jay or James...
Where did he come from?
Yeah I'll call that kid Mr McGuire, seemed to be some Box Hill supporter calling their game. Got told off by the other caller about 10 minutes into the game for talking over the special comments bloke as well.
Admittedly I didn't hear the whole coverage, only the first quarter, and I agree on his fluency and clarity being good, but possibly a little less drooling over Box Hill would have been nice!!!
Hi people,
just first of all letting you know that our coverage this Saturday IS going ahead. We are doing the Northern Bullants v North Ballarat game live from Cramer St. Oval, so tune in from around 2pm, I (Anthony Brady) will be calling the game along with Anthony Donaldson, and Jim Hines will be doing Special Comments.
As far as the commentator you guys are interested in, this guy is a new guy, what happened is that a few weeks back when we were at Box Hill to cover the game between the Hawks and Werribee, we were positioned right next to the ground announcers, which was this guy and a couple of others. The guy is very young, not sure of his exact age, but looks only late teens-early twenties, but he has some real good qualities going for him: 1) knows the players really well (especially Box Hill); 2) projects his voice very well and speaks very fluently and confidently; and 3) has had experience as a ground announcer, and thus knows what it is like to be going out to an audience.
He just approached us on that particular day and said he'd like to have a try, and no doubt he'll be on again in the near future, an excellent pick-up for the station.
Let's hope that this weekend, my commentary can improve a bit from last time, fingers crossed, and Anthony Donaldson is a complete professional, so fingers crossed the 2 Anthony's can put in a good one and do the station proud. Thanks everyone for listening, and keep on tuning in this weekend,
Anthony.
Hey everyone,
got some great news. 3SER has finally managed to get the broadcast going over the internet, so now everyone can tune in when they are at home. The web address is http://www.3ser.org.au/intro.htm and u just click on the Listen Live icon up near the top. I hope everyone will be able to receive us loud and clear over the 'net. Also, I today received the schedule for the remainder of the Home and Away season, so here it is:
Round 16- Sunday July 24th
Sandringham v Tasmania- Brad Beitzel?? and Michael Leeds
Special Comments: Anthony Brady
Roving Mic: Phil Pearce
Round 17- Sunday July 31st
Sandringham v Bendigo Bombers- Nigel Carmody and Anthony Donaldson
Special Comments: Phil Pearce
Roving Mic: Kain Pollard
Round 18- Sunday August 7th
Box Hill Hawks v Scorpions- Simon Petch and Cameron Scott
Special Comments: James Willoughby
Round 19- Sunday 14th August
Northern Bullants v Werribee- Anthony Donaldson and Michael Leeds
Special Comments: Kain Pollard
Roving Mic: Jeremy Orr
Round 20- Sunday 21st August
Sandringham v Northern Bullants- Brad Beitzel and Cameron Scott
Special Comments: James Willoughby
***Also sent a email to Gordon Oldham of the Age who is from The Age who is interested in helping out with special comments and he will be used when ive found out what games he wants to do...
Ok thanks guys, tune in and let's hope we can finish the season on a strong note.
Regards, Anthony.
Does anyone know what game SEN are covering this weekend?
Round 16- Geelong vs Port Melbourne
Round 17- Port Melbourne vs Williamstown
Round 18- Port Melbourne vs Coburg Tigers
Round 19- North Ballarat vs Williamstown
Round 20- North Ballarat vs Scorpions
footyman
21 Jul 2005, 18:36
Thanks Anthony, good luck with the broadcast.
Do you have any more TAC Cup games for broadcast this year on 3SER?
Hey footyman,
I don't get given the TAC Cup schedule as I'm not personally involved with it, but I will write an email to the head of football and see when we are covering it next, and if and when I get a reply, I'll post it on here, Thanks.
Don't take this the wrong way boys because I think what you are doing is really good but to be brutaly honest how many people do you think will tune into your calls each week? By the sounds of it the bl.oody reception is terrible and with SEN covering VFL football and the amount of AFL that is available on radio every Saturday as well as commnity stations covering local leagues do you really think it is worth all the trouble?
As I said don't take this the wrong way it is just a general observation and you obviously enjoy what you do. I would say that you may having a listening audience of no more than 30 or 40 and alot of them would be friends and family.
footyman
22 Jul 2005, 18:07
Don't take this the wrong way boys because I think what you are doing is really good but to be brutaly honest how many people do you think will tune into your calls each week? By the sounds of it the bl.oody reception is terrible and with SEN covering VFL football and the amount of AFL that is available on radio every Saturday as well as commnity stations covering local leagues do you really think it is worth all the trouble?
As I said don't take this the wrong way it is just a general observation and you obviously enjoy what you do. I would say that you may having a listening audience of no more than 30 or 40 and alot of them would be friends and family.
From what was said above it seems they are now broadcasting online, surely that will increase their audience. Also they seem to do Sunday games which avoids SEN.
My view is that it's no where near the standard that Stereo 974 had when they did VFL two years ago, but I still find it handy to tune in on occasions and hear 97.7 for a short time or hear a score. Some of the callers are terrific, but some aren't much good at all and that's a real turnoff as well.
As someone with an interest in the VFL/TAC footy I reckon it is great what these people do, and it is vital that they remain covering it. Last year they were the only broadcaster of VFL footy, and if SEN get their mits on AFL they'll drop the VFL like a hot spud.
Yeah Kooley you are right, it is a very difficult battle. Now we have gone online, fingers crossed it'll increase our listening audience by a helluva lot. It will be interesting to see where SEN goes, and whether they have a crack at the AFL or not. I wish we knew what our listening audience was, unfortunately we don't get any figures. I have been told that it could be around 1000, which sounds ok, but when you look at the numbers of other stations, it really is only a drop in the pond. Because we are a community station servicing the Casey region, we are limited as to how far our reception can go, which is unfortunate, I believe (don't quote me on this) it's something like a 20km radius from our studios in Cranbourne. Thankfully we now are up-and-running on the net, which is a Godsend. So, if you are on the net today between 1.30-4.30pm please go to our website www.3ser.org.au/intro.htm and go to the Listen Live section and tune in, as we need all the listeners we can get. We do have some really good quality commentators, including Brad Beitzel and Simon Petch, those guys are well-known in community radio circles. Brad will be commentating today I believe, he's rostered on to anyway, so hopefully as many people tune in either on the radio or through the net, and fingers crossed our commentators (including me) can rise to the occasion and put in a good performance. Cheers guys.
Thanks Anthony, good luck with the broadcast.
Do you have any more TAC Cup games for broadcast this year on 3SER?
Hey footyman, just letting you know that, all things going ahead as planned, we will be covering this Saturday's TAC Cup match between the Northern Knights and Bendigo at Cramer Street Oval, Preston, from 2pm. I should think and hope it will go ahead, so fingers crossed it does.
My view is that it's no where near the standard that Stereo 974 had when they did VFL two years ago, .
What happened to Stereo 974?
Where are they Now? Why were they so good footyman? I'm interested in footy broadcasting at any level. Who were people involved in that coverage because I have heard also that they were pretty professional.
footyman
26 Jul 2005, 21:32
What happened to Stereo 974?
Where are they Now? Why were they so good footyman? I'm interested in footy broadcasting at any level. Who were people involved in that coverage because I have heard also that they were pretty professional.
They only did the VFL for one season but they really were very good. Had exciting commentary, good commentary team, and most importantly terrific post game analysis with interviews with coaches, players...went for a good half hour. Mark Stone and Heath Buck (who are now used on SEN's VFL coverage) along with Mick Gallus (who SEN use somtimes), plus a couple of others as well.
Hey footyman, just letting you know that, all things going ahead as planned, we will be covering this Saturday's TAC Cup match between the Northern Knights and Bendigo at Cramer Street Oval, Preston, from 2pm. I should think and hope it will go ahead, so fingers crossed it does.
Thanks Anthony. Hopefully it does go ahead, certainly if it does, might be an idea for the link to the online broadcast to go up on the draft board (or I'll link it to footydraft) it should attract a few listeners for the station. Might be a suggestion you can put forward to your station's head of sport.
Hey everyone,
just letting everyone know, in round 19 we were scheduled to broadcast the Sunday game between the Northern Bullants and Werribee, live from Cramer St. Oval. However, due to this game being moved to a Saturday ABC TV game, along with SEN now covering it, there will be a change to who we are broadcasting on that weekend. As soon as I find out who we will be officially broadcasting, I will let you all know. Thanks.
footyman
3 Aug 2005, 17:51
Hey everyone,
just letting everyone know, in round 19 we were scheduled to broadcast the Sunday game between the Northern Bullants and Werribee, live from Cramer St. Oval. However, due to this game being moved to a Saturday ABC TV game, along with SEN now covering it, there will be a change to who we are broadcasting on that weekend. As soon as I find out who we will be officially broadcasting, I will let you all know. Thanks.
Thanks Anthony, not many options left for that weekend for you blokes to pick from.
Also, Round 20 Sandy v Bullants has also been moved to the Saturday, will you be changing that game as well?
Thanks Anthony, not many options left for that weekend for you blokes to pick from.
Also, Round 20 Sandy v Bullants has also been moved to the Saturday, will you be changing that game as well?
Hey footyman, I would think we will be changing our broadcast for round 20, I'll let you know as soon as I find out for sure. Also, if anyone is interested, we have a Sportsman's Night coming up to raise money to buy some quality Outside Broadcast equipment before the finals. Speakers on the night include Debbie Lee from the Hammerheads on channel 7 a few years back, Geoff Ablett and a couple of others. The details are as follows:
Casey Radio's Sportsmen/Auction
Friday August 19 (7.30pm Bar open at 6.45pm)
Hallam Rec Reserve
Tickets $25 per head includes Buffet Meal
Special Guests and Auction Items
This is soley for new outside broadcast equipment before the VFL Finals start so we can match it with the big boys let get behind this so if it works we can produce a good call
Casey Radio 97.7FM
www.3ser.org.au
Station Number: (03) 59 966 977
Thanks for everyone's support, fingers crossed our finals coverage will be our best yet.
Hey everyone, just letting you know that due to the VFL switching the round 20 game between Sandringham and the Northern Bullants to Saturday, we will now be commentating the TAC Cup clash between Dandenong and Gippsland (first versus second) on that Sunday, and on Saturday night of that weekend we will be covering a Superrules game between Vic Metro and Vic Country live from Hallam Reserve, starting at 6pm. Former AFL players such as Tony Liberatore and Paul Hudson will be in action, among others. Thank you.
footyman
10 Aug 2005, 22:59
Hey everyone, just letting you know that due to the VFL switching the round 20 game between Sandringham and the Northern Bullants to Saturday, we will now be commentating the TAC Cup clash between Dandenong and Gippsland (first versus second) on that Sunday, and on Saturday night of that weekend we will be covering a Superrules game between Vic Metro and Vic Country live from Hallam Reserve, starting at 6pm. Former AFL players such as Tony Liberatore and Paul Hudson will be in action, among others. Thank you.
What is the Round 19 VFL game Anthony?
I'm a bit confused for the Round 20 weekend because that TAC game Dandenong v Gippsland in fixtured for the Saturday. So are you doing that game and then going straight to do the superrules game? And is there no VFL coverage on that weekend?
Thanks for the post mate, hopefully you can clarify for me.
Cheers
What is the Round 19 VFL game Anthony?
I'm a bit confused for the Round 20 weekend because that TAC game Dandenong v Gippsland in fixtured for the Saturday. So are you doing that game and then going straight to do the superrules game? And is there no VFL coverage on that weekend?
Thanks for the post mate, hopefully you can clarify for me.
Cheers
Hey footyman, this weekend's game to be covered will be the last hurrah at Newcomen Road Oval for the Scorpions, when they take on Port Melbourne. Thanks for pointing out to me that this TAC Cup clash is taking place on the Saturday, I was led to believe it was on the Sunday, so I will ask the powers-that-be exactly what is going on there. I think the SuperRules game is a station commitment, so because we have to be in Hallam by 6, it may preclude us from covering a VFL game that afternoon, with having to get the gear out to Hallam, etc. I will look into this and hopefully get back to u soon, cheers.
Hey everyone, just got word, we will be covering the TAC Cup clash between Dandenong and Gippsland next Saturday. Despite the fact we have a SuperRules game that evening. Thank you.
Hi everyone, just letting people know, there appears to be some late, but good, news for our broadcast this weekend. Along with our broadcast of the TAC Cup and SuperRules clashes on Saturday, on Sunday it appears we'll also be covering the game between Williamstown and Tasmania. Commentators will include former Scorpion Cameron Scott and Michael Leeds, with special comments to be provided by Scorpions reserves coach Brad Sinclair. Hope everyone tunes in, and it turns out to be a great game. Cheers.
Gee you guys have alot of late changes.
footyman
18 Aug 2005, 18:22
Hi everyone, just letting people know, there appears to be some late, but good, news for our broadcast this weekend. Along with our broadcast of the TAC Cup and SuperRules clashes on Saturday, on Sunday it appears we'll also be covering the game between Williamstown and Tasmania. Commentators will include former Scorpion Cameron Scott and Michael Leeds, with special comments to be provided by Scorpions reserves coach Brad Sinclair. Hope everyone tunes in, and it turns out to be a great game. Cheers. Very good news Anthony, nice to hear you got the three games on the weekend the TAC and VFL games promise to be very good.
Gee you guys have alot of late changes.
Yeah it is a bit frustrating Kooley, I can tell you, but that's the lot of a community radio station, so we just have to grin and bear it and do the best job we can. Cheers.
footyman
21 Aug 2005, 21:34
on Sunday it appears we'll also be covering the game between Williamstown and Tasmania. Commentators will include former Scorpion Cameron Scott and Michael Leeds, with special comments to be provided by Scorpions reserves coach Brad Sinclair. Hope everyone tunes in, and it turns out to be a great game. Cheers. I tuned in today on my way back from the TAC Cup at Geelong, hoping to hear how things were going but the game wasn't broadcast. The Sunday Roast was on with a couple of blokes in the studio giving a few footy scores and playing music.
So like the TAC Cup yesterday, there is another cancelled broadcast.
Can you find out what is going on Anthony? You are doing your best promoting these broadcasts for the fans who are interested, thanks for that, but it is disappointing when the coverage doesn't go ahead. I think the VFL and TAC need media coverage, so I hope 3SER stick at it and just get things on track again.
Dear footyman,
I wrote a few days ago to the head of football at our radio station. Apparently there weren't enough experienced broadcasters available, and also we had the SuperRules game at Hallam on Saturday night. I believe one of the reasons we didn't have the necessary experienced commentators was because Scorpions reserves coach Brad Sinclair was up in Ballarat. Unfortunately, I can't get the station on either internet or through the wireless where I live. I really hope things will go okay this weekend. I mean I can only promote it, and fingers crossed that the coverage goes ahead. At this preliminary stage, we are doing both games from TEAC Oval this weekend. The commentators for this Saturday's game between Northern Bullants and Sandy will be Simon Petch and Anthony Donaldson. For Sunday's game between Port Melbourne and Box Hill, it will be Cameron Scott and Michael Leeds. Now I can only assume things will go ahead as planned on both days, fingers crossed. I hope u and others tune in, and let's hope we don't let people down. Fingers crossed. Cheers.
My North
24 Aug 2005, 11:13
Dear footyman,
I wrote a few days ago to the head of football at our radio station. Apparently there weren't enough experienced broadcasters available, and also we had the SuperRules game at Hallam on Saturday night. I believe one of the reasons we didn't have the necessary experienced commentators was because Scorpions reserves coach Brad Sinclair was up in Ballarat. Unfortunately, I can't get the station on either internet or through the wireless where I live. I really hope things will go okay this weekend. I mean I can only promote it, and fingers crossed that the coverage goes ahead. At this preliminary stage, we are doing both games from TEAC Oval this weekend. The commentators for this Saturday's game between Northern Bullants and Sandy will be Simon Petch and Anthony Donaldson. For Sunday's game between Port Melbourne and Box Hill, it will be Cameron Scott and Michael Leeds. Now I can only assume things will go ahead as planned on both days, fingers crossed. I hope u and others tune in, and let's hope we don't let people down. Fingers crossed. Cheers.
Hopefully both games we be broadcast on the radio, but I suspect one of the games wont go to air.
onslaught
24 Aug 2005, 12:42
Any news on the Live streaming? I have tried connecting to it a couple of times without success. It would be a big boost to the listnership, as a lot of us struggle for radio reception with 3SER. Also you can then post links to the coverage on sites like this and on vflfooty.com. Can only be a good thing.
onslaught
24 Aug 2005, 12:43
Ignore my comments regarding the Streaming not working, I've tried today and its working like a charm.
footyman
27 Aug 2005, 23:39
Hopefully both games we be broadcast on the radio, but I suspect one of the games wont go to air.
Try both. Looks like they have cancelled both games this weekend.
There are a heap of community radio stations throughout Victoria who call local footy each weekend and I don't ever hear of them having problems, I don't know why SER have problems every week. For the sake of the VFL lets hope they can improve things for the 2006 season (if they still plan to keep the coverage going).
jezzaharford
28 Aug 2005, 12:43
Hi Guys,
We at 3ser sincerely apologise for no coverage of week 1 of the True Energy VFL final series. Last week when trialling our equipment at Williamstown in preparation to call the Williamstown v Tasmania game there was an incompatibility between their system and our equipment which has resulted in us having to get it repaired. It should be ok for next weeks round of the finals. We have only called at Williamstown once previously, however since then their system has been upgraded which therefore resulted in this incompatibility between their system and our equipment. 3ser prides itself on being the main station for calling VFL in this state. The station has been calling it for approximately 10 years and has commentators that understand and appreciate this competition. So please stick with us as we will repay your faith as we call the remaining part of the final series. We also call District Cricket and you can hear the Sunday Roast between 1 and 5 in conjunction with the football coverage during winter and every week throughout the Summer.
My North
28 Aug 2005, 13:17
again there was no broadcast of VFL games when they said they would. What going on there.
I wonder if 3SER 97.7 will give it away at the end of the season with all the problems they had this year. Its gone beyond a joke
jezzaharford
28 Aug 2005, 13:21
My north,
We are an extremely committed bunch of volunteers working with a tight budget to produce a good football call. You must admit when you tune into our VFL call it is of a very impressive standard. We are learning all the time about dealing with the technical issues that arise that have prevented us going to air. Even the commercial stations have technical problems. We hear you loud and clear it is frustrating we aren't going to air. it is much frustrating for you as it is for us. We will be back better than ever from next week
jezzaharford
28 Aug 2005, 13:28
My North,
We will not give it away. We hope to raise funs at a sports man night later in the year which will improve the quality of equipment we have at our disposal. Commercial stations committ little resources to the coverage of VFL and District cricket however we call both competitions religiously year in year out. Once our equipment is enhanced we will provide a reliable professional high standard coverage and your loyalty towards our coverage will be rewarded.
My North
28 Aug 2005, 13:35
My north,
We will be back better than ever from next week
will wait and see if you are. I :eek:
jezzaharford
28 Aug 2005, 13:40
My north,
I actually strongly encourage you too communicate with our station manager David Lentin. As feedback from our listeners is truly appreciated. Our listeners count greatly. He will only be aware that the listeners are frustrated with our football coverage not going to air if you advise him.
Postal Address:
PO Box 977
Cranbourne DC 3977
Phone:
Studio (03) 5996 6977
Office (03) 5996 6933
Fax:
(03) 5996 6900
Email:
David Lentin
Station Manager dlentin@3ser.org.au
footyman
28 Aug 2005, 19:42
Appreciate the feedback jezzaharford.
I agree 100% on with the comment about the commercial stations. Today's game at TEAC had no radio coverage, can't understand why SEN didn't bother to cover it. Was a shame your equipment didnt work cos you would have had the 'exclusive' call of the game.
I don't want to come across as being negative, you do a great job on there for a community station that relies on volunteers and the call quality is very good. Hopefully you're equipment is all working again and you are back next week.
VFL needs every bit of exposure it can get, aside from Inside Footy and a few of the Regional papers nobody wants to give anything on it. I hope you stick at it for next year and beyond.
jezzaharford
3 Sep 2005, 10:24
Hi Guys,
We have had the all clear 3ser has repaired its equipment and is calling todays semi final between Bendigo and Port Melbourne at Teac Oval.
Simon Petch and Anthony Donaldson Commentators
Special Comments Me and Phil Pearce
Boundary Rider: Bec Beed
12.30 pm on air...
So tune into Casey Radio 97.7 3ser from 12.30 with its prematch and then call from 1.10 of todays game. The most accurate and informative call in the business. Or listen to the call at www.3ser.org.au.
Please also tune into the Sunday Roast between 12.30 and 5 for a comprehensive look back at todays vfl action and preview of Tasmania v Northern Bullants, Look at the AFL finals, scores from all the various football competitions, scores and discussion on other sports including Rugby League, Tennis, Basketball, Horse Racing and other sporting events that are currently happening.
Your Panel Kain Pollard, Jeremy Orr, Paul Jefferies
P.S We apologise not going to air last week, but our equipment is fine this week and we hope you all tune in to our coverage
footyman
3 Sep 2005, 17:48
Hi Guys,
We have had the all clear 3ser has repaired its equipment and is calling todays semi final between Bendigo and Port Melbourne at Teac Oval.
Simon Petch and Anthony Donaldson Commentators
Special Comments Me and Phil Pearce
Boundary Rider: Bec Beed
12.30 pm on air...
So tune into Casey Radio 97.7 3ser from 12.30 with its prematch and then call from 1.10 of todays game. The most accurate and informative call in the business. Or listen to the call at www.3ser.org.au.
Please also tune into the Sunday Roast between 12.30 and 5 for a comprehensive look back at todays vfl action and preview of Tasmania v Northern Bullants, Look at the AFL finals, scores from all the various football competitions, scores and discussion on other sports including Rugby League, Tennis, Basketball, Horse Racing and other sporting events that are currently happening.
Your Panel Kain Pollard, Jeremy Orr, Paul Jefferies
P.S We apologise not going to air last week, but our equipment is fine this week and we hope you all tune in to our coverageGood work Kain, I tuned it for a bit today as I was in the car.
Pity you aren't doing the TAC Cup final tomorrow, that would have been good.
jezzaharford
9 Sep 2005, 22:06
Hi Guys,
Tune into the vfl preliminary finals coverage on 3ser on both saturday and sunday from approximately 12.45. Both games commencing from at 1.10. Werribee v Northern Bullants on Saturday and Sandringham v Bendigo on Sunday. The most accurate and informative call in the business. Tune into radio frequency 97.7 fm or on the internet at www.3ser.org.au.
cheers
on behalf of the 3ser commentary team
footyman
9 Sep 2005, 22:54
on behalf of the 3ser commentary team
who are your commentators this week?
jezzaharford
10 Sep 2005, 10:26
Commentary teams.
Saturday: Werribee v Northern Bullants
Commentators: Simon Petch and Nigel Carmody
Special Comments: Brad Sinclair
Boundary Rider: Bec Beed and Phil Pearce
Sunday: Sandringham v Bendigo Bombers
Commentators: Michael Leeds and Cameron Scott
Special Comments: James Willoughby and Gordon Oldham
Boundary Rider: Phil Pearce
jezzaharford
11 Sep 2005, 10:18
Tune into the best local call of VFL football this afternoon to hear whether Sandringham can make their second VFL Grand final in a row and have a tilt at back to back premierships. Or whether Bendigo will continue the cinderella story of this season. Michael Leeds and Cameron Scott will bring you every bump, goal, tackle and create the scene as they call this afternoons Preliminary final from Teac Oval between Sandringham and Bendigo. You will hear it all on 97.7 3ser or at www.3ser.org.au from approximately 12.45.
Noticed SEN broadcasted both VFL preliminary finals on the weekend.
The sound and quality of thier call especially on the Saturday was outstanding.
Also noticed 3LO have hopped on the bandwagon as well and 3AW are broadcasting the grandfinal.
puddingfactor
12 Sep 2005, 14:39
Also noticed 3LO have hopped on the bandwagon as well and 3AW are broadcasting the grandfinal.
That's interesting.
Great to see the VFL get as much exposure as possible, but would have thought SEN would have tried to get an exclusive deal with the VFL to be the only commercial station broadcasting the GF - especially given they've been broadcasting a match a week for the entire season.
My North
12 Sep 2005, 14:50
With a Doubt SEN 1116 is the main station to listen to the VFL Grand Final this week. 3SER have got a weak signal and I still have doubts that they will be on the air from there previous record this year. 3AW and 3LO stations know very little about the VFL and the players. I suspect both statons will have there number 2 teams calling the game which shows that they really dont rate the VFL at all.
3aw will have Tony Leonard (who's become something like mouthpiece fot the competition) as one of their callers.
SEN's call is pretty entertaining and very informative. The sound is excellent as well.
Too true Kooley.
It was always going to take time to bed the coverage in, but, the mix is about right (despite what I think of Schwarz!)
Too true Kooley.
It was always going to take time to bed the coverage in, but, the mix is about right (despite what I think of Schwarz!)
he actually isn't a bad caller but i agree he certainly has an ego. I think getting the right mix in the box is the key in calling and SEN have certainly progreesed well this year in calling the VFL.
footyman
12 Sep 2005, 18:28
ABC radio had Drew Morphett and Dan Lonergan yesterday who are their main AFL callers. Brad Gotch did special comments with Jarrod Molloy. Not a bad line up, Gotch is insightful to listen to.
I don't really like SEN's coverage of the VFL. Pickering and Schwarz are irritating and Mark Doran is just fair.
3SER do a good job when they are on, but you can't really ever listen to them at the ground unless you are at Springvale, Frankston, Sandringham or Box Hill.
If 3SER want to be a little different this week what they should do is start early and broadcast the reserves grand final as well, let it be known up Ballarat way that they are and people might tune in online to listen to the Roosters game?
jezzaharford
12 Sep 2005, 20:04
Hi Guys,
I am glad I have generated some discussion on the coverage of VFL footy on the radio. Just responding to some of your comments. Casey Radio has been broadcasting VFL football for approximately 10 years. We are the one station year in year out stands by our promise to always cover the VFL. Other stations call the VFL for one or two years or just call the Grand final. If you are driving anywhere between Camberwell right down through Cranbourne you can pick up our coverage. Those that are not at the game next week can play it through the internet with the sound down on the television. There is conjecture are whether SEN is calling the VFL as a stepping stone to calling AFL in the near future. Rest assured Casey Radio may of had its problems with going to air this season. However those problems are ironed out and we will most likely start our coverage from about 1pm but still to be confirmed. Guys support a radio station that is passionate about its VFL. We appreciate the efforts of the VFL listed players aswell as those of the AFL listed players. We are calling VFL football as we have a community conscience and will not walk away from our obligation to call the competition that we all dearly love. We have talented callers and capture all angles of the games we are calling.
So tune in on Grand Final day and hear the Casey Radio football team bring home the joy and sorrows of the last week of VFL football for 2005. Whether you barrack for Sandringham, Werribee or for the VFL in general
jezzaharford
12 Sep 2005, 20:05
Footy man.
I will suggest to station management about us calling the VFL reserves but due to the late notice it may be difficult. But I appreciate your suggestion.
footyman
12 Sep 2005, 21:18
Footy man.
I will suggest to station management about us calling the VFL reserves but due to the late notice it may be difficult. But I appreciate your suggestion. No worries, the VFL reserves continues to improve, it'll be a good game and it might make you a little different to the rest of the stations who are just there for the main game. A few country stations broadcast the local Grand Final day from the morning with the reserves and senior games, could be worth you blokes giving it a go for the VFL if the equipment is already set up and what not.
Good post the first one you made too, for your info I've picked up the 3SER coverage in the car in Geelong and in Preston so it goes a bit further than you think with the aerial up.
Just on SEN for a minute Kooley and others, what do you think of Adam Houlihan doing special comments during the finals? He's the last person I expected to have heard in that role!
He is an interesting choice for mine, but, because he plays at that level and the others involved don't, he would have a lot of knowledge and understanding of the VFL players.
jezzaharford
12 Sep 2005, 22:02
Kooley and Pazz,
One our callers is Nigel Carmody current vice captain of the Scorpions who also has a very good understanding of the VFL. Although the end of the season is upon us. Throughout the season on a saturday morning from 9am, Casey Radio has the VFL show where we interview anyone and everyone connected withthe VFL. Neil Brown who has been involved with the Scorpions in an adminstrative role hosts it. Scorpions assistant coach Brad Sinclair is involved with this show aswell Paul Amy from Inside Football rings in. Tune into the VFL footy show from 9am on Saturday for the last show of the season.
I don't really like SEN's coverage of the VFL. Pickering and Schwarz are irritating and Mark Doran is just fair.
I can hear what you're saying here.
Don't get me wrong i don't make a habit of listening to alot VFL football but when i do i like the general banter associated with SEN. I suppose what I'm saying is that SEN don't take themselves too seriously when they are caling the games. For example there is alot of sh.it hung on eachother when they calling which i find amusing.
They are also have a good boundary rounder and an excellent statiscian who provides some good analysis. Not quite sure who they are but they really add to the call.
ben.carbonaro
13 Sep 2005, 11:19
Mark Stone is the boundary rider, former media manager with the WRFL and Heath Buck does the stats used to work for 3SER.
jezzaharford
13 Sep 2005, 11:24
Heath Buck was involved with Stereo 974
is that Bucky the full-forward from the Hammerheads? if it is he also works with K-Rock.
ben.carbonaro
13 Sep 2005, 11:34
Yeah, pretty sure it is.
He also played down in Geelong fer Newcomb from memory when media commitments allow.
footyman
13 Sep 2005, 12:08
I can hear what you're saying here.
Don't get me wrong i don't make a habit of listening to alot VFL football but when i do i like the general banter associated with SEN. I suppose what I'm saying is that SEN don't take themselves too seriously when they are caling the games. For example there is alot of sh.it hung on eachother when they calling which i find amusing.
They are also have a good boundary rounder and an excellent statiscian who provides some good analysis. Not quite sure who they are but they really add to the call.
If you enjoy hearing the same jokes all day, which ends up becoming all year then SEN are fantastic. The "Huge Foot" gag has become all a bit annoying, as did hearing about Adam Houlihan polling no votes in the Liston virtually all weekend. Same gag, all boring.
They provide a good service if I want scores, but as for listening to Pickering, Schwarz and Doran, three of the most irritating men on radio and two of which simply can't call to save themselves for the duration of a game...NO THANKS.
Plus any station who have wannabe media people who support Box Hill working for them don't do much for me either.
3SER as far as callers go are great generally, a few times this year there have been duds on there. One game I listened to Bullants v Frankston was dreadful
but normally fairly good. Just no crowd sound makes it sound weird. And they have no time aftermatch which is a pity.
Used to listen to Stereo 974 at every Werribee game I was at, they were great.
I'll listen to 3AW this week from the ground I reckon, depending on who they have as special comments.
Plus any station who have wannabe media people who support Box Hill working for them don't do much for me either.
good post footyman. I agree they can be irritating but i suppose everyones taste are different. What do you mean by the above comment?
jezzaharford
13 Sep 2005, 16:35
Footyman,
What do you mean by that comment ?.
Originally Posted by footyman
Yeah, pretty sure it is.
He alos played down in Geelong fer Newcomb from memory when media commitments allow.
I think he's at Werribee Centrals now
jezzaharford
13 Sep 2005, 16:53
Footy man,
We do have post match, but for a reduced time. We have the best boundary rider in the business Phil Pearce who usually gets about 3 or 4 interviews straight after the game. The boys also go over the game in as much details as time allows. Unfortunately our coverage has to fit with a wide range of other shows. Other program presenters are not necessarily interested in footy and do get stroppy if we continually cross over into their time
footyman
13 Sep 2005, 19:17
Footy man,
We do have post match, but for a reduced time. We have the best boundary rider in the business Phil Pearce who usually gets about 3 or 4 interviews straight after the game. The boys also go over the game in as much details as time allows. Unfortunately our coverage has to fit with a wide range of other shows. Other program presenters are not necessarily interested in footy and do get stroppy if we continually cross over into their time
Yeah it goes 5 minutes, I have heard Phil Pearce's interviews which are good value, he does well. But by the time I walk out of say Trevor Barker Oval, get to my car and turn the engine on the coverage has ended.
I used to like Stereo 974 going for half an hour after the game, having a run through of the players, the coach would come out for an interview. Was really good to hear on the way home.
SEN post game doesn't go for very long either, you aren't on your own.
good post footyman. I agree they can be irritating but i suppose everyones taste are different. What do you mean by the above comment?
It just seems that all the young male blokes that get into media work in VFL are Box Hill supporters. There are two of them going around at the moment. There have been others in the past.
SEN have the problem of also taking the 2GB NRL live feed as well.
jezzaharford
13 Sep 2005, 20:03
Footy man your comments about the post match are well founded but there are other issues that determine why our coverage ends when it does. As far as there being Box Hill influence amongst the different commentary teams . We have one very young member of our commentary team who is only 14 but has talent to burn but unfortunately he hasn't yet realised you have to remain neutral when involved in any form of the media. He will continue to learn about the fundamentals of the media. But people have to remain objective when involved with the commercial or community media.
footyman
13 Sep 2005, 20:17
Footy man your comments about the post match are well founded but there are other issues that determine why our coverage ends when it does. As far as there being Box Hill influence amongst the different commentary teams . We have one very young member of our commentary team who is only 14 but has talent to burn but unfortunately he hasn't yet realised you have to remain neutral when involved in any form of the media. He will continue to learn about the fundamentals of the media. But people have to remain objective when involved with the commercial or community media.
Don't take it as criticism please, you do a great job on 3SER and I listen to you over SEN if you are doing the same match. I hope the coverage is extended in 2006, and get into the TAC Cup a bit more as well. The VFL needs every bit of publicity it can get, I can remember seeing your station calling VFA at Oakleigh from a mini-van when I was a young kid so you have been fantastic for the competition over quite a long time. Unlike others who brush it aside after 12 months (maybe SEN?).
On the aftermatch, from my point of view I go to quite a few different games of footy every weekend and often get to the car and tune straight in hoping to have caught the end of the 3SER match to hear a score on the radio so I do get annoyed when I miss the end of the coverage that's all. At the same time, your game might end 10 minutes earlier than the game I'm at cos of the number of goals kicked so that could be why it happens a lot as well. I understand you call from social clubs that fill up quickly and sometimes there isn't a lot to say after 10 minutes.
jezzaharford
13 Sep 2005, 20:56
Footy man,
You are one of our big supporters so keep listening when you can. Hope you enjoy the game during the summer. I am not sure if you are interested in cricket but we also call the Premier cricket throughout the summer. We watch the budding stars of the future and have some good cricket callers. So if you have a chance tune into Premier cricket throughout the summer every saturday between 1.20 and 6 pm. We call Frankston Penninsula, Dandenong, St Kilda and Camberwell Magpies home games.
the impression i get from alot of the feedback i get back from community stations is that they can be just as, and if not more political than the commercial networks even though the workers are working on a honoury basis.
Hey everyone,
just got word of what our Grand Final commentary team will be. The main callers will be Anthony Donaldson and Michael Leeds. The Special Comments people will be Cameron Scott and James Willoughby. Phil Pearce and Bec Beed will do boundary riding. Brad Sinclair and Nigel Carmody may also pop in from some station, if they are able to. So please everyone tune in, either through the radio on 97.7FM or on the internet at www.3ser.org.au and hopefully everyone can enjoy what should be a great coverage of the Grand Final. Fingers crossed the match is a pearler. We did have a think about covering the reserves game, due to other program commitments, it's unfortunately very difficult for us to be accommodated, so it looks as though it won't be happening this year, though people at the station are still considering it. Hope everyone has a great Grand Final day, and may the best team win, Cheers.