View Full Version : moderator job
just interested to know why every one seems to be fighting for a spot in the mod job?
-to ban people? - sorry to say that is not with in your powers
-ditto to suspend.....
-to have greater respect?- people will always be a smart arse to you.(particuarly opp supporters)
-to be bold blue? -the point?
etc
negetives against the job (im a mod at www.my AFL.com)
- becoming the 'police' and spending time sorting out problems between users (which can often go on and on.)
-continuously editing people avoiding swear filter
-deleting posts continuously, especially if people quote each other or replying to a posts (meaning you may have to delete 10+ posts instead of one)
- takes the extra time of your hands (needed for outside internet life)
- decreases your freedom to post as you need to become very sensible
-unable to ban/ suspend users
- prevents you from having a dissagreement as you know you will need to shut your mouth etc etc
the list can go on, but you get my drift, its nothing exciting. I became a mod at my afl because the richmond board had no more than 3 threads and i knew what i wanted to do to get the place up and running. it is now starting to go well. its a very clean site where bugger all is accepted. its for footy talk, and im happy to be a mod for a site that is clean and will always be clean. bigfooty however on the other hand is much bigger and involves many more trolls which means plenty of efforts is involved to keep things clean.
if you want to become a mod have a good think about why. also think about how much you talk yourself up, i garentee the users to get the job will be the quiet ones etc, Darth tiger and rfctigerarmy would be where id put my money. thats if they were both happy to have their hands put up. also i have no doubt that people who can talk themselves up can become good mods eg true tiger etc but its not what the admins are looking out for.
Tambo
silky-smooth
15 Jul 2005, 17:58
Hit the nail right on the head there Tambo. It's nothing special. Really, it's more trouble than fun. Usually, the only people suitable for the job are the ones who don't publicly campaign for it; are well established, mature and in turn, trusted; are a positive and topic-knowledgeable poster; able to withstand groups of posters who choose to persistently bait mods for fun; won't use their position just to make a name for themselves AND, aren't a 'Bentleigh'.
Hit the nail right on the head there Tambo.
It's nothing special. Really, it's more trouble than fun.
cheers mate.
and you dont know until you have been in the situation, this is why i cant understand all the fights over it, just simply put your name up and if the admins think u are suitable then its a bonus, but dont espect it to be an easy ride.
I agree, there are like 5 differrent threads on this board about the moderator jobs. CJH and Richmondfan#1 should stay on but obviously they can't and I cannot really see anyone else doing it
Hit the nail right on the head there Tambo. It's nothing special. Really, it's more trouble than fun. Usually, the only people suitable for the job are the ones who don't publicly campaign for it; are well established, mature and in turn, trusted; are a positive and topic-knowledgeable poster; able to withstand groups of posters who choose to persistently bait mods for fun; won't use their position just to make a name for themselves AND, aren't a 'Bentleigh'.
You forgot being a mean bugger.
Looks like it's me for the job then. :D
You forgot being a mean bugger.
Looks like it's me for the job then. :D
Really, aren't the candidates good enough? Surely you can give one or two a trial
just interested to know why every one seems to be fighting for a spot in the mod job?
-to ban people? - sorry to say that is not with in your powers
Mods here can ban.
-to have greater respect?- people will always be a smart arse to you.
Strangely enough, I don't have that problem. Not more than once anyway. :D
negetives against the job (im a mod at www.my AFL.com)
- becoming the 'police' and spending time sorting out problems between users (which can often go on and on.)
-continuously editing people avoiding swear filter
-deleting posts continuously, especially if people quote each other or replying to a posts (meaning you may have to delete 10+ posts instead of one)
- takes the extra time of your hands (needed for outside internet life)
- decreases your freedom to post as you need to become very sensible
-unable to ban/ suspend users
- prevents you from having a dissagreement as you know you will need to shut your mouth etc etc
Close to the mark, apart from the banning.
Tambo[/QUOTE]
The team board mods at b/f have more or less total control over their boards, within the overall site rules. Some don't mind outsiders coming in and having arguments while others have zero tolerance. They (and the teams posters) set the tone of their board.
Really, aren't the candidates good enough? Surely you can give one or two a trial
We don't have trials. Appointing a new mod is a serious business because of the information and powers they have.
That's why the time is taken to get it right.
We don't have trials. Appointing a new mod is a serious business because of the information and powers they have.
That's why the time is taken to get it right.
Fair enough, but how can you decide on 2 people who have never done it before and hope they do well? Will they be on some probation type thing?
One more thing what do you base your pickings for the job on? (Just curious)
Post quality, maturity and commonsense are probably the most important.
The ability to be a part of the board as a poster yet able to be firm when neccessary without losing the respect of the posters ie, firm without being tyrannical. That's where maturity and commonsense are important.
They can't treat mates differently as they then aren't fair and unbiased.
oh, i didnt realise u can ban people....... :o and no one is yet to post up why they would want the job? :cool:
I reckon Mog should do it. He knows everything there is to know about football.
Darth_Tiger
16 Jul 2005, 00:52
yeah GO MOG! why would they want the job? three words: POWER! UNLIMMITED POWER!!! :D Maybe some see it as a way of increasing thier low self esteem.
seriously tambo, you should do it, you even have experience!
silky-smooth
16 Jul 2005, 00:54
NO! He's mine over there! :D
why they would want the job? three words: POWER! UNLIMMITED POWER!!! :D
my name has been put forward as richmondfan#1 believes i can do the job. but i dunno how i would go with the amount of ******** that can happen, i also would not want to drive people away from the site from being too strict.
why wouldnt you be a candidate for the job? would you be able to come in regularly? rfctiger army is another of my favourites along side Tiger Of old, but they lack in the amount of time spent on the site. ditto to weaver.
silky-smooth
16 Jul 2005, 01:00
Want someone - which I'm sure Fred is well aware of...
rfctigerarmy
- Established
- Knowledgable
- Helpful to 'newbies'
- Mature for his age
- Is the exact opposite of Bentleigh (isn't it nice how you can compare Bentleigh with so many things :) )
rfctigerarmy would be perfect but who else?
metallichris
16 Jul 2005, 01:05
Speaking of rfctigerarmy, (sorry to go off topic) I'm surprised to see he hasn't posted up our Fantasy Footy game results against the Dockers yet. If you didn't know we won! 37 points down and came back like the like the tiger of old. :)
Thank you for spoiling it ;) Did I play well?
silky-smooth
16 Jul 2005, 01:10
Thank you for spoiling it ;) Did I play well?
No. You played like crap....... and I'll kick your ass if you make a 'I made 6,000 posts - WOO, GO ME!!!!111' thread.
;)
metallichris
16 Jul 2005, 01:12
Lol, sorry. Yeah 17 touches, 6 marks and a goal. Top job! Myself, I got 12 touches and 1 mark from back pocket in my first game. :)
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=182159
Lol, sorry. Yeah 17 touches, 6 marks and a goal. Top job! Myself, I got 12 touches and 1 mark from back pocket in my first game. :)
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=182159
Sweet
Well done Furies!!!!
And silky, thanx for the thread ;) (But its meant to be in the General Talk Board :D)
Darth_Tiger
16 Jul 2005, 01:37
my name has been put forward as richmondfan#1 believes i can do the job. but i dunno how i would go with the amount of ******** that can happen, i also would not want to drive people away from the site from being too strict.
why wouldnt you be a candidate for the job? would you be able to come in regularly? rfctiger army is another of my favourites along side Tiger Of old, but they lack in the amount of time spent on the site. ditto to weaver.
maybe i would if i was asked, dont like the idea of spending more time here than i already do, but i also want to see the job done well....
yer i think thats what most of us want, no over powering thier jobs. if they did then i spose people would leave, ............... and then come to My afl :D
rfctigerarmy
16 Jul 2005, 10:25
yer i think thats what most of us want, no over powering thier jobs. if they did then i spose people would leave, ............... and then come to My afl :D
Get the sponsors in :D
It would be good to get the moderating position but if I dont, I know that the people CJH and RF#1 choose will be fantastic. I have no doubting who they choose will be fantastic mods.
You're right though Tambo, people are over reacting about the position. I still think its pretty sad to see these two rippers step down.
Get the sponsors in :D
It would be good to get the moderating position but if I dont, I know that the people CJH and RF#1 choose will be fantastic. I have no doubting who they choose will be fantastic mods.
You're right though Tambo, people are over reacting about the position. I still think its pretty sad to see these two rippers step down.
spot on mate! hope you do get the job! ;)
beaver's army
16 Jul 2005, 23:43
looks like beaver wont even be considered for the job. oh well ill just carry on without a care in the world :) .